Status of the Claims
Applicant’s amendment filed 1/5/26 (hereinafter Response) including election to Group 1 and Species I made without traverse has been entered. Examiner notes that claims 15-20 have been cancelled, and claim 21 is new but as requested is withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-15 and 21remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2007/0240917 A1 to Duceppe in view of Camso Inc., Camso ATV T4S, Installation Guidelines / Directives d’installation (version L), 50000-0500075-MAN, 2016, Canada (provided in IDS filed 8/31/22) (hereinafter Camso).
Regarding claim 1, Duceppe discloses a method for mounting a track assembly (50) to a vehicle (10) (Fig 3a[Wingdings font/0xE0]3b & [0098]-[0099] discloses replacing and installing the wheels depicted in Fig. 1 with a track assembly) comprising:
pivotally connecting a frame (108,110) of the track assembly (50) to a distal end portion of an A-arm (76) of the vehicle (10) for permitting rotation of the track assembly (50) about a steering axis (230) (Figs. 3a[Wingdings font/0xE0]3b, Fig. 6, and Fig. 6c[Wingdings font/0xE0]6d & [0093], [0099], and [0103]-[0104]); and
fastening an anti-rotation device (111) of the track assembly (50) to the distal end portion of the A-arm (76) …, the anti-rotation device (111) being connected to the frame (108,110) (Fig. 6 & [0103] discloses the anti-rotation device 111 is fastened on one end, i.e., the distal end, of the lower a-arm and the second end of the anti-rotation device is connected to the link 110 which si part of the frame 108,110).
Although Duceppe disclose that the anti-rotation device is fastened to the distal end portion of the A-arm Ducppe does not appear to explicitly disclose or depict inserting a fastener through a fastener aperture defined in the distal end portion of the A-arm; and fastening an anti-rotation device … with the fastener.
Camso teaches that it was old and well known in the art of tracked retrofit vehicles, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, inserting a fastener (F) through a fastener aperture (G) defined in the distal end portion of the A-arm (A); and fastening an anti-rotation device (B)… with the fastener (F) (Annotated Fig. 22 and p. 16 step 8. See also Fig. 18 & p. 14 step 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of tracked retrofit vehicles before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the retrofit track apparatus/method disclosed by Duceppe to incorporate inserting a fastener through a fastener aperture defined in the distal end portion of the A-arm; and fastening an anti-rotation device … with the fastener as taught by Camso in order to fasten the anti-rotation arm to the A-arm, e.g., see Camso step 8 and Duceppe [0103], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Examiner notes that Duceppe [0103] specifically states the anti-rotation “[c]onnector 111 is fastened on one end to the lower A-arm 76” and Camso is merely relied upon for teaching that anti-rotation connectors are attached by inserting a fastener through an aperture of the A-arm and an aperture of the anti-rotation connector. Assuming, arguendo, that one were to raise an argument about the aperture G being in a bracket and not being part of the A-arm itself, this argument would not be found persuasive because (A) Duceppe does not disclose the connector is attached to a bracket, and instead states it is connected to the A-arm and (B) even if a bracket was used, the MPEP states "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice."
Regarding claim 2, depending on claim 1, the modified combination of Duceppe/Camso further discloses wherein a longitudinal axis of the fastener (Camso - F) passes through an end portion of the anti-rotation device (Duceppe – 111 / Camso – B) (Duceppe – Fig. 6 & [0103]/Camso – Annotated Fig. 22).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duceppe in view of Camso and further in view of US 2018/0297429 A1 to Elterman and further in view of PowerModz, “Installing Polaris Tracks on the Ranger, PowerModz!,” YouTube, published June 15, 2013, available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wYlCPOi3ZVk (hereinafter PowerModz).
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 1, the modified combination of Duceppe/Camso further discloses wherein:
the fastener aperture (Camso – G) is a first fastener aperture (Camso – G) (Camso -Annotated Fig. 22);
pivotally connecting the frame (Duceppe - 108,110) to the distal end portion of the A-arm (Duceppe - 76) comprises:
operatively connecting a drive sprocket (Duceppe - 112) of the track assembly (Duceppe – 50) to a knuckle (Duceppe – 66), the drive sprocket (Duceppe - 112) being rotationally connected to the frame (Duceppe – 108,110) of the track assembly (Duceppe - 50) (Figs. 3a/b,6 & [0093]), the knuckle (Duceppe - 66) being pivotally connected to the distal end portion of the A-arm (Duceppe - 76).
Although Camso disclose the knuckle is connected to the distal end portion of the A-arm with a ball joint 290, e.g., see Camso Fig. 10b & [0113], the modifed combination of Duceppe/Camso does not appear to explicitly disclose the knuckle being pivotally connected to the distal end portion of the A-arm with a knuckle fastener, the knuckle fastener being inserted in a second fastener aperture defined in the distal end portion of the A-arm and a center of the first fastener aperture is disposed laterally between a center of the second fastener aperture and a proximal end of the A-arm.
Elterman teaches that it was old and well known in the art of vehicle suspension, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the knuckle (22) being pivotally connected to the distal end portion of the A-arm (32) with a knuckle fastener (34), the knuckle fastener (34) being inserted in a second fastener aperture defined in the distal end portion of the A-arm (32) (Fig.2 & [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of suspension systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the suspension system disclosed by the modified combination of Duceppe/Camso to incorporate for the knuckle being pivotally connected to the distal end portion of the A-arm with a knuckle fastener, the knuckle fastener being inserted in a second fastener aperture defined in the distal end portion of the A-arm as taught by Elterman in order to enable the knuckle and A-arm to be rotatably fastened, e.g., see Elterman [0024], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
PowerModz teaches that it was old and well known in the art of tracked vehicle conversions, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a center of the first fastener aperture (Z) is disposed laterally between a center of the second fastener aperture (Y) and a proximal end of the A-arm (X) (Annotated PowerModz at 3:00).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of tracked vehicle conversions before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the tracked vehicle conversion method disclosed by the modified combination of Duceppe/Camso/ PowerModz to incorporate a center of the first fastener aperture is disposed laterally between a center of the second fastener aperture and a proximal end of the A-arm as taught by PowerModz in order to make alignment of the first aperture easier/with less interference with the knuckle ball joint, e.g., see PowerModz at 3:00, and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duceppe in view of Camso and further in view of US 6257602 B1 to Joerg.
Regarding claim 15, depending on claim 1, although Duceppe discloses a steering system including a steering column connected to a steering link 64 for steering the knuckle 66 and thereby the tracks, e.g., see Figs. 2 or 9b & [0097], the modified combination of Duceppe/Camso does not appear to further disclose mounting at least one spacer to a rack of a rack and pinion assembly of a steering system of the vehicle for limiting a steering angle of the track assembly.
Joerg teaches that it was old and well known in the art of steering systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, at least one spacer (4) to a rack (1) of a rack (1) and pinion assembly of a steering system of the vehicle for limiting a steering angle (Figs. 1-5 & col 1 lns 51-64 and col 2 lns 53-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of steering systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steering system disclosed by the modified combination of Duceppe/Camso to incorporate mounting at least one spacer to a rack of a rack and pinion assembly of a steering system of the vehicle for limiting a steering angle of the track assembly as taught by Joerg in order to limit the steering angle in a simple cost effective manner, e.g., see col 1 lns 43-64 and col 2 lns 53-59, and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER B WEHRLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611