DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 3, Claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 1/5/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasuda et al. [US 2013/0169048 A1] in view of Hendrik [EP 2290834 A1].
Regarding claims 1-2, Yasuda et al. discloses a filter arrangement for a converter module [figures 2-5B], comprising:
- a magnetic core [50, figure 3], wherein the magnetic core is ring-shaped or tubular, has an opening, and wherein the magnetic core is configured to: receive, through the opening [figures 2A-2B, 5A-5B], at least a first phase of the converter module and a first conductor of a DC voltage for the converter module, and form a choke for the converter module and a choke for the DC voltage [figures 5A-5B].
Yasuda et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific of the magnetic core.
Hendrik discloses a toroid/ring core for a filter [112], wherein the toroid core formed of ferromagnetic material such as Mn-Zn or Ni-Zn [para 0030] for a power converter.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use ferromagnetic material for the magnetic core of Yasuda et al., as suggested by Hendrik, for the purpose of providing high permeability to boost inductance while reducing energy loss.
The intended use of the power converter in a wind power installation would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of intended use.
Regarding claim 3, Yasuda et al. discloses the use of the filter in a multi-phase power converter system [figures 2A-2B, 5A-5B] with multiple lines/conductors [22, 26] forming different devices for the system.
Regarding claim 4, the specific “combination cores” for the ring core would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose facilitating different magnetic flux/field.
Regarding claim 5, Hendrik uses ferromagnetic material having permeability of 1000 or more and inductance value between 1µH and 100µH. The combination of Yasuda et al. and Hendrik with exhibit the inductance and permeability, as claimed.
Regarding claims 6-7, Yasuda et al. further discloses capacitors [34, 38, 40] connected to the filter. This structure would exhibit the functional, as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, the specific use of the filter [EMC] or configure to filter in different applications [note Yasuda discloses in figure 1, the target frequency configuration] would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose facilitating filtering.
Regarding claims 9-10, the specific using the filter in a highly rate power converter would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of intended use.
Regarding claims 11-12, Yasuda et al. in combination of Hendrik structure could be installed in a cabinet of any device [dimensionally fit]. The specific arrangement would and/or connection/operation would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating manufacturing/assembling and operation.
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steffan et al. [DE 102019130838 A1] in view of Hendrik [EP 2290834 A1].
Regarding claims 1-2, Steffan et al. discloses a filter arrangement for a converter module [figures 1-4, abstract], comprising:
- a magnetic core [figures 1-6], has an opening, and wherein the magnetic core is configured to: receive, through the opening [figures 5-6], at least a first phase of the converter module and a first conductor of a DC voltage for the converter module, and form a choke for the converter module and a choke for the DC voltage [figures 1-4]
Steffan et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for the specific of the magnetic core.
Hendrik discloses a toroid/ring core for a filter [112], wherein the toroid core formed of ferromagnetic material such as Mn-Zn or Ni-Zn [para 0030] for a power converter.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use ferromagnetic material for the magnetic core of Steffan et al., as suggested by Hendrik, for the purpose of providing high permeability to boost inductance while reducing energy loss.
Steffan et al. further discloses the use of the filter in a wind turbine [wind power installation].
Regarding claim 3, Steffan et al. discloses the use of the filter in a multi-phase power converter system [abstract] with multiple lines/conductors [figures 2-4] forming different devices for the system.
Regarding claim 4, Steffan et al. the magnetic core includes a combination of cores or multiple core elements [figures 5-6].
Regarding claim 5, Hendrik uses ferromagnetic material having permeability of 1000 or more and inductance value between 1µH and 100µH. The combination of Yasuda et al. and Hendrik with exhibit the inductance and permeability, as claimed.
Regarding claims 6-7, Steffan et al. further discloses capacitors [C26-28, C36-38, C46-48 of figures 2-4]] connected to the filter. This structure would exhibit the functional, as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, the specific use of the filter [as EMI filter] would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of improving electromagnetic filtering.
Regarding claims 9-10, the specific using the filter in a highly rate power converter would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of intended use, note Steffan’s arranged is used in a wind turbine [high power system].
Regarding claims 11-12, Steffan et al. in combination of Hendrik structure could be installed in a cabinet of any device [dimensionally fit]. The specific arrangement would and/or connection/operation would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating manufacturing/assembling and operation.
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837