Election/Restrictions
Claim 27-38 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicant’s election of 1 in the reply filed on 10/03/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 08/31/2022 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because a translated copy of the internation search report has not been provided. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 5-9, 12-15, 20, 22-23, and 25-26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 13, 20, and 22 recites “first of the first plurality of anchoring component” but should recite “first of the first plurality of anchoring components”
Claims 1, 14, and 22 recites “of remaining of the plurality or anchoring components” but should recite “of the remaining anchoring components of the plurality of anchoring components”
Claims 5 and 7 recites “an adjusting apparatus for delivery and controlling” but should recite “an adjusting apparatus for delivering and controlling”
Claim 6 recites “driving the retractor being to wind” but should recite “driving the retractor to wind”
Claim 8 recites “drive the retractor ao as to wind” but should recite “drive the retractor to wind”
Claim 9 recites “the delivery member being passed” but should recite “the delivery member is passed”
Claim 9 recites “the delivery sheath to the spacer” but should recite “the delivery sheath against the spacer”
Claim 9 recites “the spacer” but should recite “the at least one spacer”
Claim 12 recites “and inserted into the delivery sheath” but should recite “and is inserted into the deliver sheath”
Claims 15 and 23 recites “to couple the tightening string” but should recite “to couple to the tightening string”
Claims 22 and 26 recites “a left wall and a right ventricle wall” but should recite “a left wall or a right ventricle wall”
Claim 22 recites “a part of the anchoring component exposed” but should recite “a part of the anchoring component is exposed”
Claim 25 recites “after the anchoring component being implanted” but should recite “after the anchoring component is implanted”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Anchoring components” in claims 1, 10—15, 17, 19-20, and 22-25
“Delivery member” in claims 1-3, 6, 9-11, and 14
“Adjusting apparatus” in claims 5 and 8
“Anchoring apparatus” in claims 12-14, 17-18, and 23
“Anchoring member” in claims 15-17 and 23
“Threading structure” in claims 15-17 and 23
“Blocking member” in claims 18-19 and 24-25
“Guide apparatus” in claims 20
For example, “Anchoring components” structure is shown in figures 8-10
For example, “Delivery member” is described in paragraph [0052] and [0054] as “circular, oblate, rectangular, square or other shapes” and can be a “elongated string including two head ends”
For example, “Adjusting apparatus” is described in paragraph [0095] as possibly including “a threading rod 82, a rotating tube 84 and an outer sheath 86”
For example, “Anchoring apparatus” is described in paragraph [0073] as being “made of metal materials or polymer materials, preferably metal material with higher hardness such as stainless steel” and including “the driving tube 12 and a connecting tube sleeved on outside the driving tube 12”
For example, “Anchoring member” structure is shown in figures 8-10
For example, “Threading structure” is described in paragraph [0066] as “a threading eyelet”
For example, “Blocking member” is described in paragraph [0081] as made of “shape memory materials such as but not limited to shape memory alloys, including nickel-titanium, nickel-titanium-based shape memory alloys, copper-based shape memory alloys, iron-based shape memory alloys, etc; and shape memory polymers, including high molecular weight polynorbornene, polycaprolactone”
For example, “Guide apparatus” is described in paragraph [0047] as possibly being “a first guide sheath 71 and a second guide sheath 72 inserted into the first guide sheath 71.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 9, and 22 refer to a contraction in “size” of the heart tissue, but it is unclear if the heart tissue itself is changing in size or the opening of the annulus is what is changing in size.
Claim 11-12, 14-15, 17, 19, and 22-25 recite “the anchoring component” without proper antecedent basis, it is unclear if “the anchoring component” is the same as “a plurality of anchoring components,” “a first of the plurality of anchoring component,” or “each of remaining of the plurality of anchoring components”
Claim 23 recites “the lumen” without proper antecedent basis.
Dependent claims are likewise rejected
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16, 20-22, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kasher (US 20210145584 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kasher teaches a method for contracting heart tissue using a transcatheter annuloplasty system (fig 3a-3b, [0352]), wherein the transcatheter annuloplasty system comprises a plurality of anchoring components (anchors 120, fig 3a-3b, [0352]), a tightening string (part of wire 112 extending through anchors, fig 3a-3b, [0352]) and a delivery member (part of wire 112 excess that is cut and removed [0352], or second wire [0069]), the tightening string and the delivery member are both flexible (fig 3a-3b, [0348]), a distal end of the tightening string is coupled to a first of the plurality of anchoring component ([0352]) a distal end of the delivery member is coupled to a proximal end of the tightening string ([0352], is coupled before being cut), and the method comprises: implanting the first of the plurality of anchoring component into the heart tissue, the tightening string entering a body of a patient along with the first of the plurality of anchoring component ([0352], wire delivered with anchor), and a proximal end of the delivery member extending outside the body ([0346] , see percutaneous); delivering each of remaining of the plurality of anchoring components, along the delivery member, to the tightening string ([0007], fig 3a-b), and implanting each of remaining of the plurality of anchoring components into the heart tissue in sequence ([0007], fig 3a-b),; tightening the tightening string thereby adjusting a spacing of the plurality of anchoring components to contract a size of the heart tissue (([0352]).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein the method further comprises: separating the delivery member from the tightening string, and withdrawing the delivery member (part of wire 112 excess that is cut and removed [0352]).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein the transcatheter annuloplasty system further comprises a retractor ([0255], wire tensioning mechanism), tightening the tightening string comprises: delivering the retractor, along the delivery member to the tightening string (can be attached to anchor, therefore delivered along wire [0352]); before the delivery member is separated from the tightening string (anchors are delivered before wire is cut [0352]), driving the retractor to wind the tightening string to tighten the tightening string until the heart tissue contracts to a desired size ([0255]).
Regarding claims 4 and 7, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein when the retractor stops winding the tightening string, the tightening string is locked by the retractor ([0259]).
Regarding claims 5 and 8, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein the transcatheter annuloplasty system further comprises an adjusting apparatus for delivery and controlling the retractor ([0269], adjustment tool); driving the retractor to wind the tightening string comprises: driving the adjusting apparatus to drive the retractor, so as to wind the tightening string ([0269], adjustment tool).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein the transcatheter annuloplasty system further comprises a retractor([0255], wire tensioning mechanism), tightening the tightening string comprises: delivering the retractor, along the delivery member, to the tightening string (can be attached to anchor, therefore delivered along wire [0352]); before the delivery member is separated from the tightening string (anchors are delivered before wire is cut [0352], driving the retractor being to wind the tightening string; after the delivery member is separated from the tightening string ([0255]), driving the retractor to continue winding the tightening string until the heart tissue contracts to a desired size (the tensioning mechanism does this.
Regarding claim 9, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein the transcatheter annuloplasty system further comprises a locking pin ([0538]); tightening the tightening string comprises: before the delivery member is separated from the tightening string, tightening the tightening string until the heart tissue contracts to a desired size ([0352]); delivering the locking pin, along the delivery member (see fig 40a), to the tightening string; driving the locking pin to lock the tightening string ([0536]).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein the transcatheter annuloplasty system further comprises at least one spacer ([0012]), the method further comprises: delivering the at least one spacer in sequence, along the delivery member, to the tightening string ([0085], fig 22a), and one of the at least one spacer being provided between at least two adjacent anchoring components [0012].
Regarding claim 11, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein the transcatheter annuloplasty system further comprises a delivery sheath (delivery tool 150, fig 2a), and the anchoring component is movably inserted therein (fig 2a); delivering the at least one spacer in sequence, along the delivery member, to the tightening string ([0085], fig 22a), comprises: after the proximal end of the delivery member being passed through one of the at least one spacer ([0085], must be passed proximal end to be delivered), pushing the spacer to be delivered along the delivery member (fig 22a); abutting a distal end of the delivery sheath to the spacer (fig 22 a, at slot delivery sheath and spacer are abutted); pushing the delivery sheath to move distally, to push the spacer to continue moving, along the delivery member, until the spacer is delivered onto the tightening string (fig 22a, [0482-0483], spacers are moved liked anchors, pushing the delivery sheath to the target site and pushing the anchor drive moves the spacers along the delivery member).
Regarding claim 12, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein the transcatheter annuloplasty system further comprises a delivery sheath and an anchoring apparatus (anchor driver, [0014]), the anchoring component is detachably coupled to a distal end of the anchoring apparatus and inserted into the delivery sheath ([0014], [0346]), the anchoring apparatus is configured to drive the anchoring component to be implanted into the heart tissue ([0014]).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein implanting the first of the plurality of anchoring component into the heart tissue comprises: detachably coupling the first of the plurality of anchoring component to the distal end of the anchoring apparatus and inserting the first of the plurality of anchoring component into the delivery sheath (fig 2a, [0346]); pushing the delivery sheath until a distal end of the delivery sheath abuts the heart tissue (fig 2a); driving the anchoring apparatus to drive the first of the plurality of anchoring component to be implanted into the heart tissue (fig 2a).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein delivering each of remaining of the plurality of anchoring components, along the delivery member, to the tightening string and implanting each of remaining of the plurality of anchoring components into the heart tissue in sequence comprises: detachably coupling one of the remaining of the plurality of anchor components to the distal end of the anchoring apparatus and inserting the one of the remaining of the plurality of anchor components into the delivery sheath ([0352], fig 3a); coupling the anchoring component to the proximal end of the delivery member ([0352], fig 3a); pushing the delivery sheath until a distal end of the delivery sheath abuts the heart tissue (fig 3a), and the anchoring component is delivered (fig 3a), along with a pushing of the delivery sheath (fig 2a pushing the delivery sheath to the target site delivers the anchors), along the delivery member to the tightening string (fig 3a, sheath travels along center wire); driving the anchoring apparatus to drive the anchoring component to be implanted into the heart tissue ( fig 3a).
Regarding claim 15, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein the anchoring component comprises an anchoring member (element 130, fig 1) and a threading structure (aperture 146, fig 1), the anchoring member is configured to be anchored into the heart tissue ([0344]), and the threading structure is configured to couple the tightening string ([0344]).
Regarding claim 16, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein the anchoring member is rotated to anchor into the heart tissue ([0010]), and the threading structure is rotatably sleeved on the anchoring member ([0376]).
Regarding claim 20, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein the transcatheter annuloplasty system further comprises a guide apparatus (tube 252, fig 5a) having a channel (slit 256, fig 5a, the method further comprises: before the first of the plurality of anchoring component is implanted into the heart tissue, establishing a delivery pathway from outside the body to the heart tissue through the guide apparatus ([0379]).
Regarding claim 21 and 26, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein the heart tissue is one of a mitral annulus, a tricuspid annulus, a left ventricular wall, and a right ventricular wall ([0288]).
Regarding claim 22, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher teaches a method for contracting heart tissue using a transcatheter annuloplasty system (fig 3a-3b, [0352]), wherein the transcatheter annuloplasty system comprises a plurality of anchoring components (anchors 120, fig 3a-3b, [0352]), a tightening string (part of wire 112 extending through anchors, fig 3a-3b, [0352]) and a delivery sheath part of wire 112 excess that is cut and removed [0352], or second wire [0069]); the tightening string is flexible (fig 3a-3b, [0348]),, a distal end of the tightening string is coupled to a first of the plurality of anchoring component ([0352]), a tube wall of the delivery sheath (tube 252, fig 5a) defines a through slot extending from a distal end of the delivery sheath towards a proximal end of the delivery sheath (slit 256, fig 5a),, and a part of the anchoring component exposed from the through slot (fig 5a-5b), the method comprises: implanting the first of the plurality of anchoring component into the heart tissue ([0352], fig 2a or 3a); delivering each of remaining of the plurality of anchoring components to the tightening string and implanting each of remaining of the plurality of anchoring components into the heart tissue in sequence string ([0007], fig 3a-b); and tightening the tightening string to adjust a spacing of the anchoring components to contract a size of the heart tissue ([0352]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-19 and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kasher (US 20210145584 A) in view of Davidson (US 20070118151 A1).
Regarding claim 17, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein a tube wall of the delivery sheath defines a through slot extending from a distal end of the delivery sheath towards a proximal end of the delivery sheath (slit 256, fig 5a), and the through slot interconnects with a lumen of the delivery sheath ([0386]), a distal end of the through slot defines an opening (fig 5a), and the method further comprises: after the anchoring component is detachably coupled to the distal end of the anchoring apparatus, withdrawing the anchoring apparatus proximally so that the anchoring member is received into the lumen of the delivery sheath, such that the tightening string is separated from the anchoring member (fig 5a, fig 17a).
Kasher fails to teach wherein the threading structure is at least partially located outside the delivery sheath. Davidson teaches a system for treating a patient’s heart valve (abstract) with a threading structure is at least partially located outside the delivery sheath (fig 28a-29c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device taught by Kasher by including a partially external anchor thread, as taught by Davidson, in order to combine prior art elements, such as a slot and anchor design, according to a known method to yield predictable results of an anchor staying in a secure and fixed position that prevents entangling and allows freedom of suture adjustments ([0117-0118]).
Regarding claim 18, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein the transcatheter annuloplasty system further comprises a blocking member (spur and pull wire, [0057], [0452]), the blocking member extends along an axial direction of the delivery sheath (element 478, fig 18, a distal end of the blocking member is adapted to a circumference of the delivery sheath to close the opening of the through slot (element 480, fig 18); the method also comprises: before the anchoring apparatus is withdrawn proximally, pulling the blocking member proximally to open the opening of the through slot ([0451-0452], [0454]); after the anchoring apparatus is withdrawn proximally, releasing the blocking member such that the blocking member closes the opening of the through slot ([0451-0452], [0454]).
Regarding claim 19, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein the method further comprises: after the anchoring component is implanted into the heart tissue, pulling the blocking member proximally to open the opening of the through slot to release the anchoring component from the delivery sheath ([0451-0452], [0454]).
Regarding claim 23, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein the transcatheter annuloplasty system further comprises an anchoring apparatus for driving the anchoring component to be implanted into the heart tissue (anchor driver, [0014]),; the anchoring component comprises an anchoring member (element 130, fig 1) and a threading structure (aperture 146, fig 1); the anchoring member is configured to be anchored into the heart tissue ([0344]); the threading structure is configured to couple the tightening string ([0344]); a distal end of the through slot defines an opening; the method also comprises: detachably coupling the anchoring component to a distal end of the anchoring apparatus and inserting the anchoring component into the delivery sheath([0014], [0346], fig 2a), so that the anchoring component is received in the lumen of the delivery sheath.
Kasher fails to teach wherein the threading structure is at least partially located outside the delivery sheath. Davidson teaches a system for treating a patient’s heart valve (abstract) with a threading structure is at least partially located outside the delivery sheath (fig 28a-29c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device taught by Kasher by including a partially external anchor thread, as taught by Davidson, in order to combine prior art elements, such as a slot and anchor design, according to a known method to yield predictable results of an anchor staying in a secure and fixed position that prevents entangling and allows freedom of suture adjustments ([0117-0118]).
Regarding claim 24, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein the transcatheter annuloplasty system further comprises a blocking member (spur and pull wire, [0057], [0452]), the blocking member extends along an axial direction of the delivery sheath (element 478, fig 18), a distal end of the blocking member is adapted to a circumference of the delivery sheath to close the opening of the through slot (element 480, fig 18); the method also comprises: before the anchoring component is inserted into the delivery sheath, pulling the blocking member proximally to open the opening of the through slot ([0451-0452],[0454]); after the anchoring component is inserted into the delivery sheath, releasing the blocking member so that the blocking member closes the opening of the through slot ([0451-0452], [0454]).
Regarding claim 25, as best understood based on the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues identified above, Kasher further teaches wherein the method further comprises: after the anchoring component being implanted into the heart tissue, pulling the blocking member proximally to open the opening of the through slot to release the anchoring component from the delivery sheath ([0451-0452], [0454]).
Conclusion
/H.L.P./
Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799