Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Contrary to the applicant’s argument, claim 16 inherits the limitations of claim 15 which is amended. Thus, finality is proper.
Claim Status
Drawing objections have been overcome.
Claims 1-20 are examined below.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 12 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: "the catheter tube in first state" should read "the catheter tube in a first state". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8, 13, 15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popovic (US 2019/0110848 A1) in view of Khajepour (US 2007/0113700 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Popovic teaches a device comprising:
a catheter (20, introducer, fig. 3);
a first stent (51, end-effector, fig. 7B, Merriam-Webster defines stent as “a short narrow metal or plastic tube,” the end-effector is short and cylindrical in shape and is interpreted as a stent);
a plurality of flexible links coupled to the first platform (43, rods, fig. 6A, since the rods are small enough to access the body, the rods would have at least some level of flexibility due to their smaller diameter);
a second stent coupled to the plurality of compliant links (31, shaft, fig. 7B, Merriam-Webster defines stent as “a short narrow metal or plastic tube,” the end-effector is short and cylindrical in shape and is interpreted as a stent),
configured to steer one or more of the first platform and the second platform in a plurality of degrees of freedom (¶ [0123]),
Popovic fails to teach a soft joint and a plurality of compliant links. However, Khajepour discloses a robot with manipulators for position devices with six degrees of freedom that teaches a soft joint (42, cables, fig. 4); a plurality of compliant links, each compliant link coupled to at least one of the flexible links (42, cables, fig. 4); and wherein at least one of the first platform or the second platform is coupled to at least one of the catheter or the soft joint (fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the rods of Popovic to include cables as taught by Khajepour in order to reduce the moving inertial and lower the manufacturing cost (¶ [0008], Khajepour).
Regarding claim 5, Popovic further teaches at least a portion of the device is sized to fit into a human heart (Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 6, Popovic further teaches a joystick controller (135, controller, fig. 2, ¶ [0098])for controlling the motion of one or more of the first stent and the second stent in six degrees of freedom (¶ [0122).
Regarding claim 8, Popovic teaches a device comprising:
a catheter (20, introducer, fig. 3);
a first platform (51, end-effector, fig. 7B);
a plurality of flexible links coupled to the first platform (43, rods, fig. 6A, since the rods are small enough to access the body, the rods would have at least some level of flexibility due to their smaller diameter);
a second platform coupled to the plurality of compliant links (31, shaft, fig. 7B),
configured to steer one or more of the first platform and the second platform in a plurality of degrees of freedom (¶ [0123]),
Popovic fails to teach a soft joint and a plurality of compliant links. However, Khajepour discloses a robot with manipulators for position devices with six degrees of freedom that teaches a soft joint (42, cables, fig. 4); a plurality of compliant links, each compliant link coupled to at least one of the flexible links (42, cables, fig. 4); and wherein at least one of the first platform or the second platform is coupled to at least one of the catheter or the soft joint (fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the rods of Popovic to include cables as taught by Khajepour in order to reduce the moving inertial and lower the manufacturing cost (¶ [0008], Khajepour).
Regarding claim 13, Popovic further teaches at least a portion of the device is sized to fit into a human heart (Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 15, Popovic teaches a method of making a device comprising:
providing a catheter (20, introducer, fig. 3);
providing a first stent (51, end-effector, fig. 7B, Merriam-Webster defines stent as “a short narrow metal or plastic tube,” the end-effector is short and cylindrical in shape and is interpreted as a stent);
providing a plurality of flexible links coupled to the first platform (43, rods, fig. 6A, since the rods are small enough to access the body, the rods would have at least some level of flexibility due to their smaller diameter);
providing a second stent coupled to the plurality of compliant links (31, shaft, fig. 7B, Merriam-Webster defines stent as “a short narrow metal or plastic tube,” the end-effector is short and cylindrical in shape and is interpreted as a stent),
configured to steer one or more of the first platform and the second platform in a plurality of degrees of freedom (¶ [0123]),
Popovic fails to teach providing a soft joint and a plurality of compliant links. However, Khajepour discloses a robot with manipulators for position devices with six degrees of freedom that teaches providing a soft joint (42, cables, fig. 4); providing a plurality of compliant links, each compliant link coupled to at least one of the flexible links (42, cables, fig. 4); and wherein at least one of the first platform or the second platform is coupled to at least one of the catheter or the soft joint (fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the rods of Popovic to include cables as taught by Khajepour in order to reduce the moving inertial and lower the manufacturing cost (¶ [0008], Khajepour).
Regarding claim 19, Popovic further teaches a joystick controller (135, controller, fig. 2, ¶ [0098]) for controlling the motion of one or more of the first stent and the second stent in six degrees of freedom (¶ [0122).
Claim(s) 2, 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popovic in view of Khajepour as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Yeung (US 2011/0098804 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16 Popovic in view of Khajepour fails to teach the flexible links are made from thermoplastic polyurethane. However, Yeung discloses a stent delivery system that includes materials comprising thermoplastic polyurethane (¶ [0061]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use thermoplastic polyurethane, since it has been held to be within general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the flexible links of Popovic and Khajepour to include being made from thermoplastic polyurethane as taught by Yeung due to its moderate strength, low elastic hysteresis and history of use in biomedical applications (¶ [0061], Yeung).
Claim(s) 3, 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popovic in view of Khajepour as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Simaan (US 2010/0331858 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Popovic in view of Khajepour fails to teach the compliant links comprise nitinol. However, Simaan discloses a device for robot-assisted stenting that includes the compliant links comprise nitinol (¶ [0022] and ¶ [0049]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use nitinol, since it has been held to be within general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Popovic and Khajepour to include the compliant links comprise nitinol as taught by Simaan in order to set the preferred shape to be assumed at a given temperature (¶ [0049], Simaan).
Claim(s) 4, 12, 14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popovic in view of Khajepour as applied to claims 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Leonard (US 2009/0105642 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 18, Popovic in view of Khajepour fails to teach a catheter tube where the device is configured to pass through the catheter tube in a first state and expand outside the catheter tube in a second state. However, Leonard discloses a catheter for deliver to the body of a patient that teaches a catheter tube (17, outer sheath member, fig. 1), wherein the device is configured to pass through the catheter tube in first state (Fig. 1, ¶ [0023]) and to expand outside of the catheter tube in a second state (Fig. 2, ¶ [0023]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the introducer of Popovic and Khajepour to include a catheter tube and the device is configured to expand outside of the catheter tube as taught by Leonard in order to in order to re-collapse the frames for repositioning or removal (¶ [0023], Leonard). For clarity the end-effector and shaft of Popovic are replaced with the frames (13, 14, fig. 2) of Leonard in order to adapt to the shape of the patients’ vessel.
Regarding claim 14, Popovic in view of Khajepour fails to teach the first and second platforms comprise a stent. However, Leonard further teaches the first platform and the second platform comprises a stent (13, 14, frames, fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the platforms of Popovic and Khajepour to include a stent as taught by Leonard since it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predicable results, which courts have recognized supports a conclusion of obviousness (see MPEP 2143).
Claim(s) 7, 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Popovic in view of Khajepour as applied to claim 1, 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Amiri (Modelling and control of a SCARA robot using quantitative feedback theory).
Regarding claims 7, 11 and 20, Popovic further teaches providing a controller (130, control network, fig. 2) for controlling the motion of one or more of the first platform and the second platform in six degrees of freedom (¶ [0074] and ¶ [0123]).
Popovic in view of Khajepour fail to teach the controller used quantitative feedback theory. However, Amiri discloses a robot that teaches a controller uses quantitative feedback theory (pg. 919-920). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller of Popovic and Khajepour to include using quantitative feedback theory as taught by Amiri in order to all the direct design closed-loop robust performance and stability specification (pg. 919, col 2, Amiri).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.M.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/THOMAS C BARRETT/SPE, Art Unit 3799