DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed January 22, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites the limitation “the second organic material” in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret this to mean “the first organic material” to remain consistent with independent claim 1.
Claims 13 and 15-20 would also be rejected as they are dependent on claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et. al. (US 20180175132 A1), hereinafter Lee, in view of Noh at. al. (US 20080284325 A1), hereinafter Noh, in further view of Gao et. al. (US 20210130355 A1), hereinafter Gao, in further view of Seugra et. al. (“Hexaazatriphenylene (HAT) derivatives: from synthesis to molecular design, self-organization and device applications,” Chem. Soc. Rev., Vol-44, Iss-19, 2015), hereinafter Segura.
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a light emitting device comprising (Fig 1 not labeled): a first electrode (Fig 1 first electrode 160, [0028]); a second electrode (Fig 1 second electrode 180, [0028]) overlapping (Fig 1) the first electrode (Fig 1 first electrode 160, [0028]); and a light emitting part (Fig 1 light emitting diode layer 170, [0028]) disposed between the first electrode (Fig 1 first electrode 160, [0028]) and the second electrode (Fig 1 second electrode 180, [0028]), wherein the second electrode (Fig 1 second electrode 180, [0028]) comprises: a metal thin film layer (Fig 1 second electrode 180, [0028]), the metal thin film layer (Fig 1 second electrode 180, [0028]) including a first metal (Al, [0048]) and the light emitting part (Fig 1 light emitting diode layer 170, [0028]) comprises: an emission layer (Fig 2 emission layer 173, [0029]); a hole transport region (Fig 2 hole transfer layers 171 and 172, [0029]) disposed between the first electrode (Fig 2 first electrode 160, [0028]) and the emission layer (Fig 2 emission layer 173, [0029]); and an electron transport region (Fig 2 electron transfer layers 174 and 175, [0029]) disposed between the emission layer (Fig 2 emission layer 173, [0029]) and the second electrode (Fig 1 second electrode 180, [0028]).
Lee fails to teach a first layer disposed on the light emitting part the first layer including a first organic material; and a metal thin film layer disposed on the first layer, and the first layer is disposed on the electron transport region; wherein the first layer comprises a second metal doped into the first organic material; wherein the first organic material comprises a pyrene group.
However, Noh teaches the first layer (Fig 3 buffer layer, [0017]) disposed on the light emitting part (Fig 3 layer with electron transfer layers, light emitting layer, and hole transfer layers corresponds to Lee: Fig 1 light emitting diode layer 170, [0028]) including a first organic material (Formula 3, [0041]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Noh by having a first layer disposed on the light emitting part including a first organic material. This would protect the light emitting layer during fabrication of the light emitting device ([0024]). In modifying Lee with Noh to have a first layer, a metal thin film layer would be disposed on the first layer and the first layer would be disposed on the electron transport region.
Lee and Noh fail to teach the first layer comprises a second metal doped into the first organic material; wherein the first organic material comprises a pyrene group.
However, Gao teaches that it is known in the art that organic materials with a bi-dentate structure (portion of molecule with bi-dentate structure, [0005] corresponds to Noh: bi-dentate structure in Formula 3, [0041]) are doped with a metal (portion of molecule with bi-dentate structure bonded with metal M, [0005]) to improve charge transport efficiency ([0006]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee and Noh to incorporate the teachings of Gao by having a second metal doped into the first organic material. This would improve the charge transport efficiency of the organic layer ([0006]). MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Lee, Noh, and Gao fail to teach the first organic material comprises a pyrene group.
However, Segura teaches that the base compound of Noh (Segura: Scheme 2 7a-I corresponds to Noh: Formula 3) can have many different derivatives (Introduction). Segura teaches akyl and aryl groups added to the base compound (Scheme 2 6c, 6d, 6g, 6h, [left column, page 6864]). These groups are the same as possible groups to add in Noh ([0042]) and the instant invention ([0103]). Further, Segura teaches a derivative of the base compound with aryl groups and a pyrene group (Fig 35, left column page 6878). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that since the base compound is the same in Segura as they are in Noh and the instant invention the base compound would be able to utilize the same groups. This is shown by the utilization of the akyl and aryl groups of Segura, Noh, and the instant invention. Thus, it would have been obvious to try modifying Noh with a pyrene group as taught by Segura having a reasonable expectation of success. In doing so, the material of the buffer layer taught by Noh that modifies Lee would have a buffer group having a pyrene group. MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Regarding claim 2, Lee as modified in claim 1 fails to teach the first organic material forms a coordination bond with the first metal.
Regarding the teaches the first organic material forms a coordination bond with the first metal. Noh teaches the first organic material (Noh: Formula 3, [0041]). The organic material taught by Noh is the same material that is shown in [0102] of the instant application showing coordination bonding sites. Once Lee has been modified by Noh the first organic material would form a coordination bond with the first metal, as the first metal is Al (Lee: Al, [0048]) and the first metal is the same as taught in the instant application (Al, [0101]). MPEP 2112(II)
Regarding claim 3, Lee as modified in claim 1 teaches the first layer (Noh: buffer layer, [0016]) further comprises at least one of a phenanthroline group, a furan group (Noh: aromatic heterocyclic ring, [0042]), and a thiol group.
Regarding claim 5, Lee as modified in claim 1 teaches the second metal (Gao: portion of molecule with bi-dentate structure bonded with metal M, [0005]) comprises at least one of Yb (Gao: Yb, [0015]), Li, Cu, Ag, Au, Al, and Mg.
Examiner notes Yb is used for the invention of Gao but It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it can also be used in a bi-dentate structured molecule.
Regarding claim 6, Lee as modified in claim 1 teaches the first metal (Lee: Al, [0048]) of the metal thin film layer (Lee: Fig 1 second electrode 180, [0028]) is one of Ag, Au, Cu, Al (Lee: Al, [0048]), and Mg.
Regarding claim 7, Lee as modified in claim 1 teaches the second electrode (Lee: Fig 1 second electrode 180, [0028]) further comprises a holding layer (Lee: Fig 1 cover layer 190, [0050]) disposed on (Lee: Fig 1) the metal thin film layer (Lee: Fig 1 second electrode 180, [0028]).
Regarding claim 8, Lee as modified in claim 7 teaches the holding layer (Lee: Fig 1 cover layer 190, [0050]) includes a second organic material (Lee: organic film, [0050]).
Lee as modified by Noh in claim 7 fails to teach the second organic material forms a coordination bond with the first metal of the metal thin film layer.
However, Noh teaches an organic material layer (Noh: Formula 3, [0041]). The organic material taught by Noh is the same material that is shown in [0102] of the instant application showing coordination bonding sites. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the same organic material for the holding layer as was used for the first organic material in order to save time and reduce manufacturing costs. Once Lee has been modified by Noh the second organic material would form a coordination bond with the first metal, as the first metal is Al (Lee: Al, [0048]) and the first metal is the same as taught in the instant application (Al, [0101]). MPEP 2112(II)
Regarding claim 9, Lee as modified in claim 8 teaches the second organic material (Noh: buffer layer, [0016]) comprises at least one of a phenanthroline group, a pyrene group, a furan group (Noh: aromatic heterocyclic ring, [0042]), and a thiol group.
Regarding claim 10, Lee as modified in claim 8 teaches the holding layer (Lee: Fig 1 cover layer 190, [0050]).
Lee as modified in claim 8 fails to teach a third metal doped into the second organic material.
However, Gao teaches that it is known in the art that organic materials with a bi-dentate structure (Gao: portion of molecule with bi-dentate structure, [0005] corresponds to Noh: bi-dentate structure in Formula 3, [0041]) are doped with a metal (Gao: portion of molecule with bi-dentate structure bonded with metal M, [0005]) to improve charge transport efficiency ([0006]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee and Noh to incorporate the teachings of Gao by having a third metal doped into the second organic material, as the second organic material also has a bi-dentate structure. This would improve the charge transport efficiency of the organic layer ([0006]). MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Regarding claim 11, Lee as modified in claim 10 teaches the third metal (Gao: portion of molecule with bi-dentate structure bonded with metal M, [0005]) can comprises at least one of Yb (Gao: Yb, [0015]), Li, Cu, Ag, Au, Al, and Mg.
Examiner notes Yb is used for the invention of Gao but It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it can also be used in a bi-dentate structured molecule.
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches a display device (Fig 1, [0027]) comprising: a transistor (Fig 1 thin film transistor 130, [0028]) disposed on a substrate (Fig 1 substrate 123, [0028]); and a light emitting device (Fig 1 organic light emitting diode LD, [0042]) electrically connected (Fig 1) to the transistor (Fig 1 thin film transistor 130, [0028]), wherein the light emitting device (Fig 1 organic light emitting diode LD, [0042]) comprises: a first electrode (Fig 1 first electrode 160, [0028]); a second electrode (Fig 1 second electrode 180, [0028]) overlapping the first electrode (Fig 1 first electrode 160, [0028]); and a light emitting part (Fig 1 light emitting diode layer 170, [0028]) disposed between the first electrode (Fig 1 first electrode 160, [0028]) and the second electrode (Fig 1 second electrode 180, [0028]), the second electrode (Fig 1 second electrode 180, [0028]) comprises: a metal thin film layer (Fig 1 second electrode 180, [0028]), the metal thin film layer (Fig 1 second electrode 180, [0028]) including a first metal (Al, [0048]).
Lee fails to teach: a first layer disposed on the light emitting part, the first layer including a first organic material; and a metal thin film layer disposed on the first layer, and the first organic material comprises at least one of a phenanthroline group, a pyrene group, a furan group, and a thiol group; wherein the first layer comprises a second metal doped into the first organic material; wherein the first organic material comprises a pyrene group.
However, Noh teaches the first layer (Fig 3 buffer layer, [0016]) disposed on the light emitting part (Fig 3 layer with electron transfer layers, light emitting layer, and hole transfer layers corresponds to Lee: Fig 1 light emitting diode layer 170, [0028]) including a first organic material (Formula 3, [0041]) and the first organic material (Formula 3, [0041]) comprises at least one of a phenanthroline group, a pyrene group, a furan group (aromatic heterocyclic ring, [0042]), and a thiol group. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hwang to incorporate the teachings of Noh by having the first buffer layer including a first organic material. This would protect the light emitting layer during fabrication of the light emitting device ([0024]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hwang to incorporate the teachings of Noh by having the first organic material having one of the listed groups. This would improve the electrical properties of the light emitting device ([0049]).
Lee and Noh fail to teach the first layer comprises a second metal doped into the first organic material; wherein the first organic material comprises a pyrene group.
However, Gao teaches that it is known in the art that organic materials with a bi-dentate structure (portion of molecule with bi-dentate structure, [0005] corresponds to Noh: bi-dentate structure in Formula 3, [0041]) are doped with a metal (portion of molecule with bi-dentate structure bonded with metal M, [0005]) to improve charge transport efficiency ([0006]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee and Noh to incorporate the teachings of Gao by having a second metal doped into the first organic material. This would improve the charge transport efficiency of the organic layer ([0006]). MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Lee, Noh, and Gao fail to teach the first organic material comprises a pyrene group.
However, Segura teaches that the base compound of Noh (Segura: Scheme 2 7a-I corresponds to Noh: Formula 3) can have many different derivatives (Introduction). Segura teaches akyl and aryl groups added to the base compound (Scheme 2 6c, 6d, 6g, 6h, [left column, page 6864]). These groups are the same as possible groups to add in Noh ([0042]) and the instant invention ([0103]). Further, Segura teaches a derivative of the base compound with aryl groups and a pyrene group (Fig 35, left column page 6878). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize that since the base compound is the same in Segura as they are in Noh and the instant invention the base compound would be able to utilize the same groups. This is shown by the utilization of the akyl and aryl groups of Segura, Noh, and the instant invention. Thus, it would have been obvious to try modifying Noh with a pyrene group as taught by Segura having a reasonable expectation of success. In doing so, the material of the buffer layer taught by Noh that modifies Lee would have a buffer group having a pyrene group. MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Regarding claim 13, Lee as modified in claim 12 fails to teach the first organic material forms a coordination bond with the first metal.
Regarding the teaches the first organic material forms a coordination bond with the first metal. Noh teaches the first organic material (Noh: Formula 3, [0041]). The organic material taught by Noh is the same material that is shown in [0102] of the instant application showing coordination bonding sites. Once Lee has been modified by Hwang and Noh the first organic material would form a coordination bond with the first metal, as the first metal is Al (Lee: Al, [0048]) and the first metal is the same as taught in the instant application (Al, [0101]). MPEP 2112(II)
Regarding claim 15, Lee as modified in claim 12 teaches the second metal (Gao: portion of molecule with bi-dentate structure bonded with metal M, [0005]) comprises at least one of Yb (Gao: Yb, [0015]), Li, Cu, Ag, Au, Al, and Mg.
Examiner notes Yb is used for the invention of Gao but It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it can also be used in a bi-dentate structured molecule.
Regarding claim 16, Lee as modified in claim 12 teaches the first metal (Lee: Al, [0048]) of the metal thin film layer (Lee: Fig 1 second electrode 180, [0028]) is one of Ag, Au, Cu, Al (Lee: Al, [0048]), and Mg.
Regarding claim 17, Lee as modified in claim 12 teaches the second electrode (Lee: Fig 1 second electrode 180, [0028]) includes a holding layer (Lee: Fig 1 cover layer 190, [0050]) disposed on the metal thin film layer (Lee: Fig 1 second electrode 180, [0028]); and the holding layer (Lee: Fig 1 cover layer 190, [0050]) includes a second organic material (Lee: organic film, [0050]).
Regarding claim 18, Lee as modified in claim 17 teaches the second organic material (Noh: buffer layer, [0016]) further comprises at least one of a phenanthroline group, a furan group (Noh: aromatic heterocyclic ring, [0042]), and a thiol group.
It is noted for clarity of the record that, similarly to claim 8 above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the same organic material for the holding layer as was used for the first organic material in claim 12 in order to save time and reduce manufacturing costs.
Regarding claim 19, Lee as modified in claim 18 teaches the holding layer (Lee: Fig 1 cover layer 190, [0050]).
Lee as modified in claim 18 fails to teach a third metal doped into the second organic material; and the third metal comprises at least one of Yb, Li, Cu, Ag, Au, Al, and Mg.
However, Gao teaches that it is known in the art that organic materials with a bi-dentate structure (portion of molecule with bi-dentate structure, [0005] corresponds to Noh: bi-dentate structure in Formula 3, [0041]) are doped with a metal (portion of molecule with bi-dentate structure bonded with metal M, [0005]) to improve charge transport efficiency ([0006]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee and Noh to incorporate the teachings of Gao by having a third metal doped into the second organic material, as the second material also has a bi-dentate structure. This would improve the charge transport efficiency of the organic layer ([0006]). MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Once the third metal is doped into the second organic layer, the third metal (Gao: portion of molecule with bi-dentate structure bonded with metal M, [0005]) can comprises at least one of Yb (Gao: Yb, [0015]), Li, Cu, Ag, Au, Al, and Mg.
Examiner notes Yb is used for the invention of Gao but It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that it can also be used in a bi-dentate structured molecule.
Regarding claim 20, Lee as modified in claim 17 fails to teach a thickness of the holding layer is in a range of about 10 angstroms to about 700 angstroms.
However, Lee recognizes the cover layer is formed to protect the second electrode ([0050]). Further, Noh recognizes the organic material can be used as a protective layer, albeit for the organic layers ([0046]). Additionally, one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize the need to reduce manufacturing time and costs by keeping the thickness of the holding layer thin. The thickness of the holding layer is therefore a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the thickness of the holding layer as Lee and Noh have identified the thickness as a result effective variable. Further, one having ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a thickness of the holding layer in a range of about 10 angstroms to about 700 angstroms, in order to achieve the desired balance between the protective function of the holding layer and the manufacturing time and costs, as taught by Lee and Noh. MPEP 2144.05
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed thickness is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed dimensions).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see 35 USC §103 section beginning on the last paragraph of page 8, filed January 22, 2026, with respect to the combination of Lee and Noh not teaching the claimed invention have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Examiner applied the teachings of a first layer of Noh (Fig 3 buffer layer, [0017]) in Lee, as described beginning in the last paragraph on page 4 of the Office Action filed May 05, 2025. The buffer layer of Noh is to protect the light emitting layer during fabrication ([0024]). Examiner does not make use of the lithium layer that Applicant notes as the thin metal film in the arguments section pointed out above. The drawing from Noh shows the lithium layer is an electron injection layer, a part of the light emitting part. Lee teaches the second electrode 180 can be a multilayer structure with metal or conductive oxide, as shown in the excerpt from Lee on page 8. In combining Lee and Noh the buffer layer would be placed on top of the electron injection layer (Lee: Fig 2 electron injection layer 175, [0029]) and to be considered a part of the second electrode (Lee: Fig 2 second electrode 180, [0028]), the second electrode of Lee having metal.
Applicant’s arguments, see 35 USC §103 section in the second to last paragraph beginning with “It does not …” on page 8, filed January 22, 2026, with respect to the amendment of claims 1 and 12 with the composition of the organic material have been fully considered and but are not persuasive.
As disclosed above, the organic compound of the instant invention (Chemical formula 1) is the same as that of Noh and Segura. Thus, it would been known to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that groups attached on the compound as shown in Noh and Segura could be equally used.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813