DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 11/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
2. Applicant argues the amended claim(s) 1 is/are allowable over Sobue et al. (US-20220198856-A1) in view of Riedel (US-20170282856-A1) and further in view of Nagata et al. (US-20170352206-A1) and the other cited references.
3. Indeed, the newly amended features of “a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device,” “determine whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold,” and “determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed periods less than the threshold ” have necessitated new reference Ji (US-20170160786-A1), which upon review was found to also teach a number of other features of the dependent claims and therefore has fully replaced Riedel (US-20170282856-A1) and this reference is no longer relied upon for the rejection of the claims. Applicant is referred to the new rejection of the claims in Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 section.
4. As such, this argument is unpersuasive.
5. Applicant argues independent claim(s) 5, 7-10 has/have been amended similar to independent claim 1 and it/they is/are allowable for reasons similar to those presented in favor of patentability of claim 1.
6. This argument is unpersuasive as each independent claim has been fully rejected and for the reasons given above.
7. Applicant argues dependent claim(s) is/are patentable by the virtue of their dependency on one of the independent claims and the additional features recited in the dependent claims.
8. This argument is unpersuasive as each independent claim and dependent claim has been fully rejected and for the reasons given above.
Status of Claims
9. This office action is in response to Amendments and Remarks filed on 11/14/2025 for application number 17/900,294 filed on 08/31/2022, in which claims 1-10 were previously presented for examination.
10. Claim(s) 11-15 has/have been previously added as new, claim(s) 3 has/have been previously canceled, and claim(s) 1, 2, 5 and 7-10 has/have been amended. Accordingly, claim(s) 1-2, and 4-15 is/are currently pending.
Priority
11. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2021-158414, filed on 09/28/2021.
Examiner Notes
12. For Applicant’s convenience, the Examiner cites specific paragraphs, columns and lines, or page numbers in the relevant references as applicable to the rejection of the claims. While the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the prior art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, Applicant is respectfully requested to fully consider the references in their entirety. These references may potentially teach all or part of the claimed invention. The Applicant is also required to clearly address the objections to the claims and the rejections of the claims in their response. Additionally, Applicant should specifically point out the support for any claim amendments made within their specification. See MPEP §2163.06. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. See MPEP §2111.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 9 and 12
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobue et al. (US-20220198856-A1) in view of Ji (US-20170160786-A1) and further in view of Nagata et al. (US-20170352206-A1).
In regard to claim 1
, Sobue discloses an information processing device, comprising (Sobue, in at least [0025] discloses the vehicle includes a communication control system [i.e., an information processing device] that restricts the actuation of the vehicle):
a memory (Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0074] discloses the devices that form the communication control system 20 are configured to be a computer system including one or more processors and a non-transitory memory [i.e., a memory] that stores instructions executable by the processor to implement various types of processes);
a processor coupled to the memory (Sobue, Fig. 1, and [0074] discloses the devices that form the communication control system 20 are configured to be a computer system including one or more processors and a non-transitory memory [i.e., a processor coupled to the memory] that stores instructions executable by the processor to implement various types of processes):
receive, from a user, setting processing for setting a time at which control of a vehicle using the information processing device is suppressed (Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0025-0026] discloses the communication control system 20 includes an acquisition unit 33 that obtains the setting information Da input by the user, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 when a condition based on the setting information Da is satisfied. The restriction unit 34 restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da),
in response to determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle at a different time from the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed, (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1, 3-6, and [0020 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal [i.e., in response to determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle], which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. Examiner notes, the restriction is only applicable during a time period that is specified in the setting information. Therefore, outside of the restriction time period, the control of the vehicle is permitted. That is, determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle at a different time from the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed),
(Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0020-0021 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal, which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal [i.e., transmit, to the vehicle, a second signal configured to permit control of the vehicle by the information processing device] from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. When determining that exterior smart verification has been accomplished, the verification ECU 6 locks or unlocks the vehicle door or permits the locking and unlocking of the vehicle door [i.e., to perform a function that includes at least one of locking and unlocking of an opening/closing section, turning on a power source, or starting an engine of the vehicle]. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3 also includes restriction on the shifting of the state of the vehicle power supply, that is, a restriction on the starting of the engine),
in response to determining that the first signal is received from the vehicle at the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed, (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1, 3-6, and [0020 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal [i.e., in response to determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle], which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. Examiner notes, the restriction is only applicable during a time period that is specified in the setting information. That is, determining that the first signal is received from the vehicle at the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed);
Sobue is silent on a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device; and
a processor coupled to the memory and the vibration sensor,
determine whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold;
in response to determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold,
in response to determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold,
in response to determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold, transmit, to the vehicle, a third signal that (i) indicates the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold and (ii) suppresses control of the vehicle, and
not transmit the second signal and transmit the third signal to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold or is less than the threshold.
However, Ji teaches a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0074-0075] teaches the sensor unit 500 receives a sensing command from the controller 400 to sense a movement of the smart key 100. The sensor unit 500 includes at least one of a vibration sensor 510 [i.e., a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device] for sensing a degree of vibration, an acceleration sensor 520 for sensing a change in acceleration, and a gyro sensor 530 for sensing a change in position); and
a processor coupled to the memory and the vibration sensor, (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0075] teaches the controller 400 includes a FOB Micro Control Unit (MCU) [i.e., a processor coupled to the memory and the vibration sensor] which is a processor for controlling components in the smart key 100, and a memory (not shown) to store information. Examiner notes, as illustrated by Fig. 5, the vibration sensor 510, is coupled with the controller 400. That is, a processor coupled to the memory and the vibration sensor)
determine whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0076-0077] teaches the controller 400 determines whether information about a movement of the smart key 100 sensed by the sensor unit 500 corresponds to a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition is the number of times by which a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed for a predetermined time period. For example, the predetermined condition may be set as a condition of determining that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed when a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times [i.e., determine whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold] for one second. In this case, if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times or more for one second, the controller 400 determines that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed, and if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed four times or less for one second, the controller 400 determines that no movement of the smart key 100 is sensed),
in response to determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0076-0077] teaches the controller 400 determines whether information about a movement of the smart key 100 sensed by the sensor unit 500 corresponds to a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition is the number of times by which a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed for a predetermined time period. For example, the predetermined condition may be set as a condition of determining that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed when a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times [i.e., determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold] for one second. In this case, if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times or more for one second, the controller 400 determines that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed, and if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed four times or less for one second, the controller 400 determines that no movement of the smart key 100 is sensed),
in response to determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0076-0077] teaches the controller 400 determines whether information about a movement of the smart key 100 sensed by the sensor unit 500 corresponds to a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition is the number of times by which a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed for a predetermined time period. For example, the predetermined condition may be set as a condition of determining that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed when a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times for one second. In this case, if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times or more for one second, the controller 400 determines that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed, and if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed four times or less for one second, the controller 400 determines that no movement of the smart key 100 is sensed [i.e., determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold]),
(i) indicates the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0076-0077] teaches the controller 400 determines whether information about a movement of the smart key 100 sensed by the sensor unit 500 corresponds to a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition is the number of times by which a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed for a predetermined time period. For example, the predetermined condition may be set as a condition of determining that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed when a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times for one second. In this case, if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times or more for one second, the controller 400 determines that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed, and if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed four times or less for one second, the controller 400 determines that no movement of the smart key 100 is sensed [i.e., indicates the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue in view of Ji with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and use the output of a vibration sensor to determine whether information about the movement of the smart key sensed by the sensor unit corresponds to a predetermined condition or not and the combination would provide for performing a series of authentication process with the smart key (Ji, see at least [0101]) and preventing vehicle theft.
Sobue, as modified by Ji, is silent on transmit, to the vehicle, a third signal that (ii) suppresses control of the vehicle,
not transmit the second signal and transmit the third signal to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold or is less than the threshold.
However, Nagata teaches transmit, to the vehicle, a third signal that (ii) suppresses control of the vehicle (Nagata, in at least Fig. 1, 4, and [0035-0036 & 0086-0089], teaches the on-vehicle apparatus control system 100 includes an on-vehicle control device 10 and a portable machine 20. In the on-vehicle apparatus control system 100, control on an on-vehicle apparatus mounted on a vehicle 30 is performed on the basis of radio signals which are transmitted and received between the on-vehicle control device 10 and the portable machine 20. The control on an on-vehicle apparatus indicates control on a door lock device 7 which locks or unlocks a door of the vehicle 30. If the passive request switch 5 is operated (YES in step S11 in FIG. 4), the control unit 1 of the on-vehicle control device 10 transmits a first response request signal from the LF transmission unit 2 to the portable machine 20. If the LF reception unit 22 of the portable machine 20 receives the first response request signal transmitted from the on-vehicle control device 10 (YES in step S31a in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 checks the present mode. At this time, if the present mode is the permission mode (NO in step S32 in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 transmits a first response signal to the on-vehicle control device 10 from the UHF transmission unit 23 (step S33 in FIG. 4). (step S12a in FIG. 4). If the present mode of the portable machine 20 is the prohibition mode (YES in step S32 in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 transmits a first illegality notification signal [i.e., transmit, to the vehicle, a third signal that (ii) suppresses control of the vehicle] to the on-vehicle control device 10 from the UHF transmission unit 23 (step S34a in FIG. 4)),
not transmit the second signal and transmit the third signal to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold or is less than the threshold (Nagata, in at least Fig. 1, 4, and [0035-0036 & 0086-0089], teaches the on-vehicle apparatus control system 100 includes an on-vehicle control device 10 and a portable machine 20. In the on-vehicle apparatus control system 100, control on an on-vehicle apparatus mounted on a vehicle 30 is performed on the basis of radio signals which are transmitted and received between the on-vehicle control device 10 and the portable machine 20. The control on an on-vehicle apparatus indicates control on a door lock device 7 which locks or unlocks a door of the vehicle 30. If the passive request switch 5 is operated (YES in step S11 in FIG. 4), the control unit 1 of the on-vehicle control device 10 transmits a first response request signal from the LF transmission unit 2 to the portable machine 20. If the LF reception unit 22 of the portable machine 20 receives the first response request signal transmitted from the on-vehicle control device 10 (YES in step S31a in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 checks the present mode. At this time, if the present mode is the permission mode (NO in step S32 in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 transmits a first response signal to the on-vehicle control device 10 from the UHF transmission unit 23 (step S33 in FIG. 4). (step S12a in FIG. 4). If the present mode of the portable machine 20 is the prohibition mode (YES in step S32 in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 transmits a first illegality notification signal [i.e., not transmit the second signal and transmit the third signal to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold or is less than the threshold] to the on-vehicle control device 10 from the UHF transmission unit 23 (step S34a in FIG. 4). Examiner notes, as mentioned above, when the control of the vehicle is supposed to be suppressed, the smart key does not transmit the second signal and transmits the third signal to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold or is less than the threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji, in view of Nagata with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and the smart key transmits illegality notification signal to suppress the control of the vehicle and the combination would provide for stopping relay attack and also to leave a trace of the relay attack (Ji, see at least [0023]).
In regard to claim 2
, Sobue, as modified by Ji and Nagata, teaches the information processing device of claim 1, accordingly the rejection if claim 1 is incorporated.
wherein the processor is configured to:
Further Ji teaches in response to determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0076-0077] teaches the controller 400 determines whether information about a movement of the smart key 100 sensed by the sensor unit 500 corresponds to a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition is the number of times by which a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed for a predetermined time period. For example, the predetermined condition may be set as a condition of determining that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed when a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times for one second. In this case, if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times or more for one second, the controller 400 determines that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed, and if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed four times or less for one second, the controller 400 determines that no movement of the smart key 100 is sensed [i.e., in response to determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji and Nagata, in view of Ji with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and use the output of a vibration sensor to determine whether information about the movement of the smart key sensed by the sensor unit corresponds to a predetermined condition or not and the combination would provide for performing a series of authentication process with the smart key (Ji, see at least [0101]) and preventing vehicle theft.
Further Nagata teaches transmit the third signal such that an accidental control of the vehicle is prevented even after the first signal is received at the different time from the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed (Nagata, in at least Fig. 1, 4, and [0035-0036 & 0086-0089], teaches the on-vehicle apparatus control system 100 includes an on-vehicle control device 10 and a portable machine 20. In the on-vehicle apparatus control system 100, control on an on-vehicle apparatus mounted on a vehicle 30 is performed on the basis of radio signals which are transmitted and received between the on-vehicle control device 10 and the portable machine 20. The control on an on-vehicle apparatus indicates control on a door lock device 7 which locks or unlocks a door of the vehicle 30. If the passive request switch 5 is operated (YES in step S11 in FIG. 4), the control unit 1 of the on-vehicle control device 10 transmits a first response request signal from the LF transmission unit 2 to the portable machine 20. If the LF reception unit 22 of the portable machine 20 receives the first response request signal transmitted from the on-vehicle control device 10 (YES in step S31a in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 checks the present mode. At this time, if the present mode is the permission mode (NO in step S32 in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 transmits a first response signal to the on-vehicle control device 10 from the UHF transmission unit 23 (step S33 in FIG. 4). (step S12a in FIG. 4). If the present mode of the portable machine 20 is the prohibition mode (YES in step S32 in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 transmits a first illegality notification signal [i.e., transmit the third signal such that an accidental control of the vehicle is prevented even after the first signal is received at the different time from the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed] to the on-vehicle control device 10 from the UHF transmission unit 23 (step S34a in FIG. 4. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, when the control of the vehicle is supposed to be suppressed, the smart key transmits the third signal to the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji, in view of Nagata with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and the smart key transmits illegality notification signal to suppress the control of the vehicle and the combination would provide for stopping relay attack and also to leave a trace of the relay attack (Ji, see at least [0023]).
In regard to claim 7
, Sobue discloses an information processing method, the method being executable by an information processing device including a computer and (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1-7, and [0015 & 0074] discloses a communication control system and a communication control method is described with reference to FIGS. 1 to 7. The devices that form the communication control system 20 are configured to be a computer system including one or more processors [i.e., the method being executable by an information processing device including a computer] and a non-transitory memory that stores instructions executable by the processor to implement various types of processes):
receiving, from a user, setting processing for setting a time at which control of a vehicle using the information processing device is suppressed (Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0025-0026] discloses the communication control system 20 includes an acquisition unit 33 that obtains the setting information Da input by the user, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 when a condition based on the setting information Da is satisfied. The restriction unit 34 restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da);
in response to determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle at a different time from the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed, (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1, 3-6, and [0020 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal [i.e., in response to determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle], which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. Examiner notes, the restriction is only applicable during a time period that is specified in the setting information. Therefore, outside of the restriction time period, the control of the vehicle is permitted. That is, determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle at a different time from the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed);
(Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0020-0021 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal, which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal [i.e., transmitting, to the vehicle, a second signal configured to permit control of the vehicle by the information processing device] from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. When determining that exterior smart verification has been accomplished, the verification ECU 6 locks or unlocks the vehicle door or permits the locking and unlocking of the vehicle door [i.e., to perform a function that includes at least one of locking and unlocking of an opening/closing section, turning on a power source, or starting an engine of the vehicle]. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3 also includes restriction on the shifting of the state of the vehicle power supply, that is, a restriction on the starting of the engine);
in response to determining that the first signal is received from the vehicle at the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed, (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1, 3-6, and [0020 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal [i.e., in response to determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle], which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. Examiner notes, the restriction is only applicable during a time period that is specified in the setting information. That is, determining that the first signal is received from the vehicle at the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed);
Sobue is silent on a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device,
determining whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold,
in response to determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold,
in response to determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold, transmitting, to the vehicle, a third signal that (i) indicates the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold and (ii) suppresses control of the vehicle, and
not transmitting the second signal and transmitting the third signal to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold or is less than the threshold.
However, Ji teaches a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0074-0075] teaches the sensor unit 500 receives a sensing command from the controller 400 to sense a movement of the smart key 100. The sensor unit 500 includes at least one of a vibration sensor 510 [i.e., a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device] for sensing a degree of vibration, an acceleration sensor 520 for sensing a change in acceleration, and a gyro sensor 530 for sensing a change in position),
determining whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0076-0077] teaches the controller 400 determines whether information about a movement of the smart key 100 sensed by the sensor unit 500 corresponds to a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition is the number of times by which a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed for a predetermined time period. For example, the predetermined condition may be set as a condition of determining that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed when a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times [i.e., determining whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold] for one second. In this case, if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times or more for one second, the controller 400 determines that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed, and if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed four times or less for one second, the controller 400 determines that no movement of the smart key 100 is sensed),
in response to determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0076-0077] teaches the controller 400 determines whether information about a movement of the smart key 100 sensed by the sensor unit 500 corresponds to a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition is the number of times by which a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed for a predetermined time period. For example, the predetermined condition may be set as a condition of determining that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed when a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times [i.e., determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold] for one second. In this case, if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times or more for one second, the controller 400 determines that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed, and if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed four times or less for one second, the controller 400 determines that no movement of the smart key 100 is sensed),
in response to determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0076-0077] teaches the controller 400 determines whether information about a movement of the smart key 100 sensed by the sensor unit 500 corresponds to a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition is the number of times by which a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed for a predetermined time period. For example, the predetermined condition may be set as a condition of determining that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed when a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times for one second. In this case, if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times or more for one second, the controller 400 determines that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed, and if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed four times or less for one second, the controller 400 determines that no movement of the smart key 100 is sensed [i.e., determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold]),
(i) indicates the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0076-0077] teaches the controller 400 determines whether information about a movement of the smart key 100 sensed by the sensor unit 500 corresponds to a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition is the number of times by which a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed for a predetermined time period. For example, the predetermined condition may be set as a condition of determining that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed when a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times for one second. In this case, if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times or more for one second, the controller 400 determines that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed, and if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed four times or less for one second, the controller 400 determines that no movement of the smart key 100 is sensed [i.e., indicates the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue in view of Ji with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and use the output of a vibration sensor to determine whether information about the movement of the smart key sensed by the sensor unit corresponds to a predetermined condition or not and the combination would provide for performing a series of authentication process with the smart key (Ji, see at least [0101]) and preventing vehicle theft.
Sobue, as modified by Ji, is silent on transmitting, to the vehicle, a third signal that (ii) suppresses control of the vehicle,
not transmitting the second signal and transmitting the third signal to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold or is less than the threshold.
However, Nagata teaches transmitting, to the vehicle, a third signal that (ii) suppresses control of the vehicle (Nagata, in at least Fig. 1, 4, and [0035-0036 & 0086-0089], teaches the on-vehicle apparatus control system 100 includes an on-vehicle control device 10 and a portable machine 20. In the on-vehicle apparatus control system 100, control on an on-vehicle apparatus mounted on a vehicle 30 is performed on the basis of radio signals which are transmitted and received between the on-vehicle control device 10 and the portable machine 20. The control on an on-vehicle apparatus indicates control on a door lock device 7 which locks or unlocks a door of the vehicle 30. If the passive request switch 5 is operated (YES in step S11 in FIG. 4), the control unit 1 of the on-vehicle control device 10 transmits a first response request signal from the LF transmission unit 2 to the portable machine 20. If the LF reception unit 22 of the portable machine 20 receives the first response request signal transmitted from the on-vehicle control device 10 (YES in step S31a in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 checks the present mode. At this time, if the present mode is the permission mode (NO in step S32 in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 transmits a first response signal to the on-vehicle control device 10 from the UHF transmission unit 23 (step S33 in FIG. 4). (step S12a in FIG. 4). If the present mode of the portable machine 20 is the prohibition mode (YES in step S32 in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 transmits a first illegality notification signal [i.e., transmitting, to the vehicle, a third signal that (ii) suppresses control of the vehicle] to the on-vehicle control device 10 from the UHF transmission unit 23 (step S34a in FIG)),
not transmitting the second signal and transmitting the third signal to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold or is less than the threshold (Nagata, in at least Fig. 1, 4, and [0035-0036 & 0086-0089], teaches the on-vehicle apparatus control system 100 includes an on-vehicle control device 10 and a portable machine 20. In the on-vehicle apparatus control system 100, control on an on-vehicle apparatus mounted on a vehicle 30 is performed on the basis of radio signals which are transmitted and received between the on-vehicle control device 10 and the portable machine 20. The control on an on-vehicle apparatus indicates control on a door lock device 7 which locks or unlocks a door of the vehicle 30. If the passive request switch 5 is operated (YES in step S11 in FIG. 4), the control unit 1 of the on-vehicle control device 10 transmits a first response request signal from the LF transmission unit 2 to the portable machine 20. If the LF reception unit 22 of the portable machine 20 receives the first response request signal transmitted from the on-vehicle control device 10 (YES in step S31a in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 checks the present mode. At this time, if the present mode is the permission mode (NO in step S32 in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 transmits a first response signal to the on-vehicle control device 10 from the UHF transmission unit 23 (step S33 in FIG. 4). (step S12a in FIG. 4). If the present mode of the portable machine 20 is the prohibition mode (YES in step S32 in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 transmits a first illegality notification signal [i.e., not transmitting the second signal and transmitting the third signal to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold or is less than the threshold] to the on-vehicle control device 10 from the UHF transmission unit 23 (step S34a in FIG. 4). Examiner notes, as mentioned above, when the control of the vehicle is supposed to be suppressed, the smart key does not transmit the second signal and transmits the third signal to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold or is less than the threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji, in view of Nagata with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and the smart key transmits illegality notification signal to suppress the control of the vehicle and the combination would provide for stopping relay attack and also to leave a trace of the relay attack (Ji, see at least [0023]).
In regard to claim 9
, Sobue discloses a non-transitory recording medium storing a program that is executable by a computer equipped with an information processing device and (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1-7, and [0015 & 0074] discloses a communication control system and a communication control method is described with reference to FIGS. 1 to 7. The devices that form the communication control system 20 are configured to be a computer system including one or more processors and a non-transitory memory that stores instructions executable by the processor [i.e., a non-transitory recording medium storing a program that is executable by a computer equipped with an information processing device] to implement various types of processes):
receiving, from a user, setting processing for setting a time at which control of a vehicle using the information processing device is suppressed (Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0025-0026] discloses the communication control system 20 includes an acquisition unit 33 that obtains the setting information Da input by the user, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 when a condition based on the setting information Da is satisfied. The restriction unit 34 restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da);
in response to determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle at a different time from the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed, (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1, 3-6, and [0020 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal [i.e., in response to determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle], which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. Examiner notes, the restriction is only applicable during a time period that is specified in the setting information. Therefore, outside of the restriction time period, the control of the vehicle is permitted. That is, determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle at a different time from the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed);
(Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0020-0021 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal, which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal [i.e., transmitting, to the vehicle, a second signal configured to permit control of the vehicle by the information processing device] from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. When determining that exterior smart verification has been accomplished, the verification ECU 6 locks or unlocks the vehicle door or permits the locking and unlocking of the vehicle door [i.e., to perform a function that includes at least one of locking and unlocking of an opening/closing section, turning on a power source, or starting an engine of the vehicle]. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3 also includes restriction on the shifting of the state of the vehicle power supply, that is, a restriction on the starting of the engine);
in response to determining that the first signal is received from the vehicle at the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed,(Sobue, in at least Figs. 1, 3-6, and [0020 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal [i.e., in response to determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle], which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. Examiner notes, the restriction is only applicable during a time period that is specified in the setting information. That is, determining that the first signal is received from the vehicle at the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed).
Sobue is silent on a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device,
determining whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold;
in response to determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold,
in response to determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period has not occurred with the vibration magnitude equal to or greater is less than the threshold, transmitting, to the vehicle, a third signal that (i) indicates the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold and (ii) suppresses control of the vehicle, and
not transmitting the second signal and transmitting the third signal to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold or is less than the threshold.
However, Ji teaches a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0074-0075] teaches the sensor unit 500 receives a sensing command from the controller 400 to sense a movement of the smart key 100. The sensor unit 500 includes at least one of a vibration sensor 510 [i.e., a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device] for sensing a degree of vibration, an acceleration sensor 520 for sensing a change in acceleration, and a gyro sensor 530 for sensing a change in position),
determining whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0076-0077] teaches the controller 400 determines whether information about a movement of the smart key 100 sensed by the sensor unit 500 corresponds to a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition is the number of times by which a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed for a predetermined time period. For example, the predetermined condition may be set as a condition of determining that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed when a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times [i.e., determining whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold] for one second. In this case, if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times or more for one second, the controller 400 determines that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed, and if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed four times or less for one second, the controller 400 determines that no movement of the smart key 100 is sensed);
in response to determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0076-0077] teaches the controller 400 determines whether information about a movement of the smart key 100 sensed by the sensor unit 500 corresponds to a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition is the number of times by which a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed for a predetermined time period. For example, the predetermined condition may be set as a condition of determining that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed when a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times [i.e., determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold] for one second. In this case, if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times or more for one second, the controller 400 determines that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed, and if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed four times or less for one second, the controller 400 determines that no movement of the smart key 100 is sensed),
in response to determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period has not occurred with the vibration magnitude equal to or greater is less than the threshold (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0076-0077] teaches the controller 400 determines whether information about a movement of the smart key 100 sensed by the sensor unit 500 corresponds to a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition is the number of times by which a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed for a predetermined time period. For example, the predetermined condition may be set as a condition of determining that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed when a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times for one second. In this case, if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times or more for one second, the controller 400 determines that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed, and if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed four times or less for one second, the controller 400 determines that no movement of the smart key 100 is sensed [i.e., determining that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period has not occurred with the vibration magnitude equal to or greater is less than the threshold]),
(i) indicates the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0076-0077] teaches the controller 400 determines whether information about a movement of the smart key 100 sensed by the sensor unit 500 corresponds to a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition is the number of times by which a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed for a predetermined time period. For example, the predetermined condition may be set as a condition of determining that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed when a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times for one second. In this case, if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times or more for one second, the controller 400 determines that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed, and if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed four times or less for one second, the controller 400 determines that no movement of the smart key 100 is sensed [i.e., indicates the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue in view of Ji with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and use the output of a vibration sensor to determine whether information about the movement of the smart key sensed by the sensor unit corresponds to a predetermined condition or not and the combination would provide for performing a series of authentication process with the smart key (Ji, see at least [0101]) and preventing vehicle theft.
Sobue, as modified by Ji, is silent on transmitting, to the vehicle, a third signal that (ii) suppresses control of the vehicle,
not transmitting the second signal and transmitting the third signal to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold or is less than the threshold.
However, Nagata teaches transmitting, to the vehicle, a third signal that (ii) suppresses control of the vehicle (Nagata, in at least Fig. 1, 4, and [0035-0036 & 0086-0089], teaches the on-vehicle apparatus control system 100 includes an on-vehicle control device 10 and a portable machine 20. In the on-vehicle apparatus control system 100, control on an on-vehicle apparatus mounted on a vehicle 30 is performed on the basis of radio signals which are transmitted and received between the on-vehicle control device 10 and the portable machine 20. The control on an on-vehicle apparatus indicates control on a door lock device 7 which locks or unlocks a door of the vehicle 30. If the passive request switch 5 is operated (YES in step S11 in FIG. 4), the control unit 1 of the on-vehicle control device 10 transmits a first response request signal from the LF transmission unit 2 to the portable machine 20. If the LF reception unit 22 of the portable machine 20 receives the first response request signal transmitted from the on-vehicle control device 10 (YES in step S31a in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 checks the present mode. At this time, if the present mode is the permission mode (NO in step S32 in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 transmits a first response signal to the on-vehicle control device 10 from the UHF transmission unit 23 (step S33 in FIG. 4). (step S12a in FIG. 4). If the present mode of the portable machine 20 is the prohibition mode (YES in step S32 in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 transmits a first illegality notification signal [i.e., transmitting, to the vehicle, a third signal that (ii) suppresses control of the vehicle] to the on-vehicle control device 10 from the UHF transmission unit 23 (step S34a in FIG)),
not transmitting the second signal and transmitting the third signal to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold or is less than the threshold (Nagata, in at least Fig. 1, 4, and [0035-0036 & 0086-0089], teaches the on-vehicle apparatus control system 100 includes an on-vehicle control device 10 and a portable machine 20. In the on-vehicle apparatus control system 100, control on an on-vehicle apparatus mounted on a vehicle 30 is performed on the basis of radio signals which are transmitted and received between the on-vehicle control device 10 and the portable machine 20. The control on an on-vehicle apparatus indicates control on a door lock device 7 which locks or unlocks a door of the vehicle 30. If the passive request switch 5 is operated (YES in step S11 in FIG. 4), the control unit 1 of the on-vehicle control device 10 transmits a first response request signal from the LF transmission unit 2 to the portable machine 20. If the LF reception unit 22 of the portable machine 20 receives the first response request signal transmitted from the on-vehicle control device 10 (YES in step S31a in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 checks the present mode. At this time, if the present mode is the permission mode (NO in step S32 in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 transmits a first response signal to the on-vehicle control device 10 from the UHF transmission unit 23 (step S33 in FIG. 4). (step S12a in FIG. 4). If the present mode of the portable machine 20 is the prohibition mode (YES in step S32 in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 transmits a first illegality notification signal [i.e., not transmitting the second signal and transmitting the third signal to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold or is less than the threshold] to the on-vehicle control device 10 from the UHF transmission unit 23 (step S34a in FIG. 4. Examiner notes, as mentioned above, when the control of the vehicle is supposed to be suppressed, the smart key does not transmit the second signal and transmits the third signal to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is equal to or greater than the threshold or is less than the threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji, in view of Nagata with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and the smart key transmits illegality notification signal to suppress the control of the vehicle and the combination would provide for stopping relay attack and also to leave a trace of the relay attack (Ji, see at least [0023]).
A non-transitory recording medium storing a program that is executable by a computer equipped with an information processing device to perform processing, the processing comprising: ([0074] The devices that form the communication control system 20 are configured to be a computer system including one or more processors and a non-transitory memory that stores instructions executable by the processor to implement various types of processes.)
receiving, from a user, setting processing for setting a time at which control of a vehicle using the information processing device is suppressed; ([0025] The communication control system 20 includes an acquisition unit 33 that obtains the setting information Da input by the user, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3. [0026] The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da.)
in response to determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle at a different time from the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed, (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Figs. 4-6, [0020] When the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal, which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. The wake signal acts as the first signal. [0025] If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. [0026] The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. The restriction is only applicable during a time period that is specified in the setting information; Therefore, outside of the restriction time period, the control of the vehicle is permitted.)
transmitting, to the vehicle, a second signal configured to permit control of the vehicle ([0020] When the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal, which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. The acknowledgment signal is the second signal. [0025] If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da.) by the information processing device to perform a function that includes at least one of locking and unlocking of an opening/closing section, turning on a power source, or starting an engine of the vehicle; and ([0021] When determining that exterior smart verification has been accomplished, the verification ECU 6 locks or unlocks the vehicle door or permits the locking and unlocking of the vehicle door. [0026] The restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3 also includes restriction on the shifting of the state of the vehicle power supply, that is, a restriction on the starting of the engine. As mentioned above, if the smart verification process is successful and control of the vehicle is permitted, the user is allowed to perform locking/unlocking of the vehicle or start the engine.)
in response to determining that the first signal is received from the vehicle at the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed, (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, Figs. 4-6, [0026] The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da.)
Sobue does not teach determining whether a vibration of the information processing device has occurred with a vibration magnitude equal to or greater than a threshold,
in response to determining that the vibration of the information processing device has occurred with the vibration magnitude equal to or greater than the threshold,
in response to determining that the vibration of the information processing device has not occurred with the vibration magnitude equal to or greater than the threshold, transmitting, to the vehicle, a third signal that suppresses control of the vehicle, and
not transmitting the second signal and transmitting the third signal to the vehicle without determining whether the vibration of the information processing device has occurred or not.
However, Riedel teaches wireless keyless entry systems for automotive vehicles that employ activity, fitness, biometric, and/or location data for identifying authorized operators of the automotive vehicles ([0027]). Data pertaining to the proximity of the wearable key fob 102 to the automotive vehicle 104 are compared with predetermined threshold criteria by the processor 204 of the wireless keyless entry system 108. For example, such predetermined threshold criteria may specify a predetermined radius (e.g., a few meters) around the parked location of the automotive vehicle 104, a predetermined perimeter around the parked location of the automotive vehicle 104, or any other suitable threshold criteria ([0047], Figs. 1-2). As depicted in block 512, data pertaining to the direction of movement of the wearable key fob 102 relative to the automotive vehicle 104 are compared with predetermined threshold criteria by the processor 204 of the wireless keyless entry system 108. Such predetermined threshold criteria specify a predetermined movement direction approaching (or departing from) the automotive vehicle 104, or any other suitable threshold criteria ([0049], Fig. 5). The automotive operator 101 may execute a vertical hand gesture, graphically illustrated by a directional arrow 122 ([0068], Fig 1) which acts as the movement or vibration magnitude. According to paragraph [0007] of Applicant’s specification “in a case in which the transmission section has received the first signal from the vehicle at a time that is different from the time during which control of the vehicle is suppressed, a second signal is transmitted to enable control of the vehicle to be permitted in response to vibration or movement of the information processing device.” Accordingly, Examiner asserts the vibration language in the claim was interpreted under its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Applicant’s specification and the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art as the movement of the information processing device. The predetermined threshold criteria acts as the threshold and the wearable key fob 102 acts as the information processing device. As such, Riedel teaches determining whether a vibration of the information processing device has occurred with the vibration magnitude equal to or greater than the threshold. This also covers determining whether vibration has occurred or not.
Nagata teaches the on-vehicle apparatus control system 100 includes an on-vehicle control device 10 and a portable machine 20. In the on-vehicle apparatus control system 100, control on an on-vehicle apparatus mounted on a vehicle 30 is performed on the basis of radio signals which are transmitted and received between the on-vehicle control device 10 and the portable machine 20. The control on an on-vehicle apparatus indicates control on a door lock device 7 which locks or unlocks a door of the vehicle 30. ([0035]-[0036], Fig. 1). If the passive request switch 5 is operated (YES in step S11 in FIG. 4), the control unit 1 of the on-vehicle control device 10 transmits a first response request signal from the LF transmission unit 2 to the portable machine 20. If the LF reception unit 22 of the portable machine 20 receives the first response request signal transmitted from the on-vehicle control device 10 (YES in step S31a in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 checks the present mode. At this time, if the present mode is the permission mode (NO in step S32 in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 transmits a first response signal to the on-vehicle control device 10 from the UHF transmission unit 23 (step S33 in FIG. 4). (step S12a in FIG. 4). If the present mode of the portable machine 20 is the prohibition mode (YES in step S32 in FIG. 4), the control unit 21 transmits a first illegality notification signal to the on-vehicle control device 10 from the UHF transmission unit 23 (step S34a in FIG. 4) ([0086]-[0089], Fig. 4). The first response request signal acts as the first signal. The first response signal which is sent by the portable device to the on-vehicle control device acts as the second signal. The first illegality notification signal which is send by the portable device when the vehicle is in prohibition mode acts as the third signal. As such, Nagata teaches not transmitting the second signal and transmit the third signal to the vehicle without determining whether the vibration of the information processing device has occurred or not.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify communication control system and communication control method of Sobue, by incorporating the teachings of Riedel and Nagata, such that vibration data pertaining to the direction of movement of the key fob relative to the automotive vehicle is compared with predetermined threshold criteria, such as the magnitude of the movement being equal to or greater than a threshold, to determine whether vibration or movement is occurring or not, as taught by Riedel, and when this condition is satisfied during the time frame that the control of the vehicle is permitted, a response signal for acknowledging the permission is transmitted to the vehicle, and when the response request signal is received during a time frame that the control of the vehicle is not permitted, an illegality notification signal is transmitted to the vehicle, regardless of the vibration or movement of the key fob.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Riedel In regard to claim 1.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Nagata In regard to claim 1.
In regard to claim 12
, Sobue, as modified by Ji and Nagata, teaches the information processing device of claim 1, wherein, after the second signal is transmitted, at least one electronic control unit (ECU) on board the vehicle is controlled by the information processing device (Sobue, in at least [0021] discloses when determining that exterior smart verification has been accomplished, the verification ECU 6 locks or unlocks the vehicle door [i.e., after the second signal is transmitted, at least one electronic control unit (ECU) on board the vehicle is controlled by the information processing device] or permits the locking and unlocking of the vehicle door).
4 Claim(s) 4 and 11
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobue et al. (US-20220198856-A1) in view of Ji (US-20170160786-A1) and further in view of Nagata et al. (US-20170352206-A1) and further in view of Yang et al. (US-20150116100-A1).
In regard to claim 4
, Sobue, as modified by Ji and Nagata, teaches the information processing device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
in response to determining that the first signal is received from the vehicle at the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed, report that it is the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed (Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0020 & 0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal, which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3 which encompasses the first signal. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. Examiner notes, the restriction is applicable during a time period that is specified in the setting information).
Sobue, as modified by Ji and Nagata, is silent on report that it is the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed.
However, Yang teaches report that it is the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed (Yang , in at least Figs. 1-6, and [0088] teaches Fig. 4 is a flowchart illustrating a method 400 for notifying an owner of a vehicle 102 that the vehicle 102 has been accessed by an unauthorized person and reporting the same to a server 190 [i.e., report that it is the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji and Nagata, in view of Yang with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and report unauthorized access to the vehicle and the combination would provide for providing security functions and providing services including in-vehicle safety and security (Yang, see at least [0002]).
In regard to claim 11
, Sobue, as modified by Ji and Nagata, teaches the information processing device of claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Sobue, as modified by Ji and Nagata, is silent on wherein the second signal is transmitted from the information processing device to the vehicle directly without passing through a network.
However, Yang teaches wherein the second signal is transmitted from the information processing device to the vehicle directly without passing through a network (Yang, in at least teaches Fig. 1, and [0024 & 0028] teaches the CED 135 (consumer electronics device) includes elements such as a transceiver, computer readable medium, processor, and a display. The CED 135 is any number of different portable wireless communications devices, such as personal or tablet computers, cellular telephones, smartphones, etc. The wireless connection is a Bluetooth or BLE connection over a Bluetooth or BLE communication link. In addition, the CED 135 is configured to establish radio communication with the onboard computer system 110 using near field communication (NFC), where the "connection" between the CED 135 and the onboard computer system 110 is detected based on near field communications between the CED 135 and the onboard computer system 110. As is known in the art, NFC standards cover communications protocols and data exchange formats that are based on existing radio-frequency identification (RFID) standards including, for example, ISO/IEC 14443 and ISO/IEC 18092 and those defined by the NFC Forum. Examiner notes, Near-field communication (NFC) is a direct communication without passing through a network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji and Nagata, in view of Yang with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and near field communications (NFC) between the information processing device and the onboard computer system is established and used and the combination would provide for providing security functions and providing services including in-vehicle safety and security (Yang, see at least [0002]).
5 Claim(s) 5-6, 8, 10 and 13-14
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobue et al. (US-20220198856-A1) in view of Ji (US-20170160786-A1) and further in view of Nagata et al. (US-20170352206-A1) and further in view of Krishnan (US-20170349142-A1) and further in view of Yang et al. (US-20150116100-A1).
In regard to claim 5
, Sobue discloses an information processing device, comprising (Sobue, in at least [0025] discloses the vehicle includes a communication control system [i.e., an information processing device] that restricts the actuation of the vehicle):
a memory (Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0074] discloses the devices that form the communication control system 20 are configured to be a computer system including one or more processors and a non-transitory memory [i.e., a memory] that stores instructions executable by the processor to implement various types of processes);
a processor coupled to the memory (Sobue, Fig. 1, and [0074] discloses the devices that form the communication control system 20 are configured to be a computer system including one or more processors and a non-transitory memory [i.e., a processor coupled to the memory] that stores instructions executable by the processor to implement various types of processes):
display a screen configured to enable a user to perform setting processing for setting a time at which control of a vehicle using the information processing device is suppressed (Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0023 & 0026] discloses the terminal device 22 carried by the user is used to input setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 when a condition based on the setting information Da is satisfied. The restriction unit 34 restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. Examiner notes, as shown by Fig. 1, the terminal device has a display 29 to enable a user to input Da which is used by the restriction unit which encompasses displaying a screen configured to enable a user to perform setting processing for setting a time at which control of a vehicle using the information processing device is suppressed),
receive settings according to the setting processing from the user (Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0025-0026] discloses the communication control system 20 includes an acquisition unit 33 that obtains the setting information Da input by the user [i.e., receive settings according to the setting processing from the user], which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 when a condition based on the setting information Da is satisfied. The restriction unit 34 restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da),
in response to determining that a signal is received from the vehicle, (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1, 3-6, and [0020 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal [i.e., in response to determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle], which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. Examiner notes, the restriction is only applicable during a time period that is specified in the setting information. Therefore, outside of the restriction time period, the control of the vehicle is permitted. That is, determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle at a different time from the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed), and
in response to determining that the signal is received from the vehicle, (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1, 3-6, and [0020 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal, which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. The wake signal acts as the first signal. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. The restriction is only applicable during a time period that is specified in the setting information; Therefore, outside of the restriction time period, the control of the vehicle is permitted. That is, determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle at a different time from the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed),
transmit data representing that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold, to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is actually less than the threshold or not, (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1, 3-6, and [0020 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal, which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. The wake signal acts as the first signal. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. Examiner notes, the restriction is only applicable during a time period that is specified in the setting information and when the restriction is active, the vehicle will not be actuated. Furthermore, this limitation, as best understood, was interpreted under its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Applicant' s specification and the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art as restricting the actuation of the vehicle during a time period that is specified in the setting information by the user, without checking the vibration sensor output. As mentioned above, Sobue teaches restricting the actuation of the vehicle during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da without checking the output of a vibration sensor),
wherein, when the control of the vehicle using the information processing device is enabled, the vehicle is controlled by the information processing device to perform a function that includes at least one of locking and unlocking of an opening/closing section, turning on a power source, or starting an engine of the vehicle (Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0020-0021 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal, which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal [i.e., when the control of the vehicle using the information processing device is enabled, the vehicle is controlled by the information processing device] from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. When determining that exterior smart verification has been accomplished, the verification ECU 6 locks or unlocks the vehicle door or permits the locking and unlocking of the vehicle door [i.e., to perform a function that includes at least one of locking and unlocking of an opening/closing section, turning on a power source, or starting an engine of the vehicle]. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3 also includes restriction on the shifting of the state of the vehicle power supply, that is, a restriction on the starting of the engine).
Sobue is silent on a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device;
a processor coupled to the memory and the vibration sensor,
the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device,
determine whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold, and transmit a result of the determination to the vehicle, and
the signal having been transmitted on the basis of the operation of the vehicle corresponding to the digital key registered in the information processing device,
provide a notification, on the information processing device, reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed,
However, Ji teaches a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0074-0075] teaches the sensor unit 500 receives a sensing command from the controller 400 to sense a movement of the smart key 100. The sensor unit 500 includes at least one of a vibration sensor 510 [i.e., a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device] for sensing a degree of vibration, an acceleration sensor 520 for sensing a change in acceleration, and a gyro sensor 530 for sensing a change in position); and
a processor coupled to the memory and the vibration sensor, (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0075] teaches the controller 400 includes a FOB Micro Control Unit (MCU) [i.e., a processor coupled to the memory and the vibration sensor] which is a processor for controlling components in the smart key 100, and a memory (not shown) to store information. Examiner notes, as illustrated by Fig. 5, the vibration sensor 510, is coupled with the controller 400. That is, a processor coupled to the memory and the vibration sensor)
determine whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold, and transmit a result of the determination to the vehicle (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0076-0077 & 0081] teaches the controller 400 determines whether information about a movement of the smart key 100 sensed by the sensor unit 500 corresponds to a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition is the number of times by which a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed for a predetermined time period. For example, the predetermined condition may be set as a condition of determining that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed when a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times [i.e., determine whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold] for one second. In this case, if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times or more for one second, the controller 400 determines that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed, and if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed four times or less for one second, the controller 400 determines that no movement of the smart key 100 is sensed. Also, if the controller 400 determines that the smart key 100 performs at least one operation of Remote Key Entry (RKE) operation, Passive Access Passive Start (PAPS) operation, and developer mode operation, the controller 400 transfers information about the determination in the form of an electrical signal to the power supply 700. The RKE operation is operation of locking or unlocking a vehicle using a remote key at a remote location without inserting a key [i.e., transmit a result of the determination to the vehicle]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue in view of Ji with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and use the output of a vibration sensor to determine whether information about the movement of the smart key sensed by the sensor unit corresponds to a predetermined condition or not and the combination would provide for performing a series of authentication process with the smart key (Ji, see at least [0101]) and preventing vehicle theft.
Sobue, as modified by Ji, is silent on the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device,
the signal having been transmitted on the basis of the operation of the vehicle corresponding to the digital key registered in the information processing device,
provide a notification, on the information processing device, reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed.
However, Nagata teaches provide a notification, on the information processing device (Nagata, in at least Fig. 1, 4, and [0106] teaches the display unit 25 of the portable machine 20 is used as an illegality notification unit, and, in a case where the UHF transmission unit 23 continuously transmits an illegality notification signal twice, the notification of illegality is generated through lighting of the LEDs 25a and 25b of the display unit 25 [i.e., provide a notification, on the information processing device]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji, in view of Nagata with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and the smart key transmits illegality notification signal to suppress the control of the vehicle and the notification of illegality is generated through lighting of the LEDs of the portable machine and the combination would provide for stopping relay attack and also to leave a trace of the relay attack (Ji, see at least [0023]).
Sobue, as modified by Ji and Nagata, is silent on the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device,
the signal having been transmitted on the basis of the operation of the vehicle corresponding to the digital key registered in the information processing device,
reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed.
However, Krishnan teaches the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device (Krishnan, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0015-0016 & 0020] teaches a process or method 1 of operating or using keyless vehicles 2. User 5 utilizes a wireless communication device such as a smartphone 15. The smartphone 15 is programmed to include an app that permits the smartphone to communicate wirelessly with security system 50 of keyless vehicle 2 via a wireless communication device 48 of keyless vehicle 2 [i.e., the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle]. The smartphone 15 is configured/programmed to transmit a security code (digital key) [i.e., corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device] to the security system 50 of keyless vehicle 2 via wireless communication device 48 of keyless vehicle 2. A digital key corresponding to the keyless vehicle is selected by the user 5 at step 18. The smartphone is the information processing device. As mentioned above, the digital key is associated with a vehicle to allow the user to control the vehicle. As such, Krishnan teaches the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device).
the signal having been transmitted on the basis of the operation of the vehicle corresponding to the digital key registered in the information processing device (Krishnan, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0015-0016 & 0020] teaches a process or method 1 of operating or using keyless vehicles 2. User 5 utilizes a wireless communication device such as a smartphone 15. The smartphone 15 is programmed to include an app that permits the smartphone to communicate wirelessly with security system 50 of keyless vehicle 2 via a wireless communication device 48 of keyless vehicle 2 [i.e., the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle]. The smartphone 15 is configured/programmed to transmit a security code (digital key) [i.e., corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device] to the security system 50 of keyless vehicle 2 via wireless communication device 48 of keyless vehicle 2. A digital key corresponding to the keyless vehicle is selected by the user 5 at step 18. The smartphone is the information processing device. As mentioned above, the digital key is associated with a vehicle to allow the user to control the vehicle. As such, Krishnan teaches the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji and Nagata, in view of Krishnan with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and a smartphone with a digital key corresponding to the vehicle is used for controlling the vehicle and used and the combination would provide for preventing unauthorized re-entry of keyless vehicle by a customer who has ended the rental (Krishnan, see at least [0004]).
Sobue, as modified by Ji and Nagata and Krishnan, is silent on reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed.
However, Yang teaches reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed (Yang , in at least Figs. 1-6, and [0088] teaches Fig. 4 is a flowchart illustrating a method 400 for notifying an owner of a vehicle 102 that the vehicle 102 has been accessed by an unauthorized person and reporting the same to a server 190 [i.e., reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji and Nagata, in view of Yang with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and report unauthorized access to the vehicle and the combination would provide for providing security functions and providing services including in-vehicle safety and security (Yang, see at least [0002]).
In regard to claim 6
, Sobue, as modified by Ji and Nagata and Krishnan and Yang, teaches the information processing device of claim 5, wherein the setting processing is for setting one of activation or deactivation of a setting of the time at which control of the vehicle using the information processing device is suppressed, and a start time and an end time of the time at which control is suppressed (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0022 & 0029] The vehicle 3 includes a communication control system 20 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3, during a time period that is set by the user. As shown in Fig. 2, when the engine of the vehicle 3 is off, the user uses the navigation system 21 or the terminal device 22 to set a date and time during which the actuation of the vehicle 3 is restricted. The setting screen 37 includes an input box used to input the setting information Da, which is data about the date and time during which the actuation of the vehicle 3 is to be restricted [i.e., wherein the setting processing is for setting one of activation or deactivation of a setting of the time at which control of the vehicle using the information processing device is suppressed, and a start time and an end time of the time at which control is suppressed]. Examiner notes, a time period necessarily has a start time and an end time).
In regard to claim 8
, Sobue discloses an information processing method, the method being executable by an information processing device including a computer and (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1-7, [0015 & 0074] discloses a communication control system and a communication control method where the devices that form the communication control system 20 are configured to be a computer system including one or more processors and a non-transitory memory that stores instructions executable by the processor to implement various types of processes):
displaying a screen configured to enable a user to perform setting processing for setting a time at which control of a vehicle using the information processing device is suppressed (Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0023 & 0026] discloses the terminal device 22 carried by the user is used to input setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 when a condition based on the setting information Da is satisfied. The restriction unit 34 restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. Examiner notes, as shown by Fig. 1, the terminal device has a display 29 to enable a user to input Da which is used by the restriction unit which encompasses displaying a screen configured to enable a user to perform setting processing for setting a time at which control of a vehicle using the information processing device is suppressed);
receiving settings according to the setting processing from the user (Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0025-0026] discloses the communication control system 20 includes an acquisition unit 33 that obtains the setting information Da input by the user [i.e., receive settings according to the setting processing from the user], which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 when a condition based on the setting information Da is satisfied. The restriction unit 34 restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da);
in response to determining that a signal is received from the vehicle, (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1, 3-6, and [0020 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal [i.e., in response to determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle], which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. Examiner notes, the restriction is only applicable during a time period that is specified in the setting information. Therefore, outside of the restriction time period, the control of the vehicle is permitted. That is, determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle at a different time from the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed), and
in response to determining that the signal is received from the vehicle, (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1, 3-6, and [0020 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal, which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. The wake signal acts as the first signal. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. The restriction is only applicable during a time period that is specified in the setting information; Therefore, outside of the restriction time period, the control of the vehicle is permitted. That is, determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle at a different time from the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed),
transmitting data representing that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold, to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is actually less than the threshold or not, and (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1, 3-6, and [0020 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal, which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. The wake signal acts as the first signal. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. Examiner notes, the restriction is only applicable during a time period that is specified in the setting information and when the restriction is active, the vehicle will not be actuated. Furthermore, this limitation, as best understood, was interpreted under its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Applicant' s specification and the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art as restricting the actuation of the vehicle during a time period that is specified in the setting information by the user, without checking the vibration sensor output. As mentioned above, Sobue teaches restricting the actuation of the vehicle during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da without checking the output of a vibration sensor),
wherein, when the control of the vehicle using the information processing device is enabled, the vehicle is controlled by the information processing device to perform a function that includes at least one of locking and unlocking of an opening/closing section, turning on a power source, or starting an engine of the vehicle (Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0020-0021 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal, which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal [i.e., when the control of the vehicle using the information processing device is enabled, the vehicle is controlled by the information processing device] from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. When determining that exterior smart verification has been accomplished, the verification ECU 6 locks or unlocks the vehicle door or permits the locking and unlocking of the vehicle door [i.e., to perform a function that includes at least one of locking and unlocking of an opening/closing section, turning on a power source, or starting an engine of the vehicle]. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3 also includes restriction on the shifting of the state of the vehicle power supply, that is, a restriction on the starting of the engine).
Sobue is silent on a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device,
the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device,
determining whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold, and transmitting a result of the determination to the vehicle,
the signal having been transmitted on the basis of the operation of the vehicle corresponding to the digital key registered in the information processing device,
providing a notification, on the information processing device, reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed.
However, Ji teaches a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0074-0075] teaches the sensor unit 500 receives a sensing command from the controller 400 to sense a movement of the smart key 100. The sensor unit 500 includes at least one of a vibration sensor 510 [i.e., a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device] for sensing a degree of vibration, an acceleration sensor 520 for sensing a change in acceleration, and a gyro sensor 530 for sensing a change in position); and
determining whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold, and transmitting a result of the determination to the vehicle (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0076-0077 & 0081] teaches the controller 400 determines whether information about a movement of the smart key 100 sensed by the sensor unit 500 corresponds to a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition is the number of times by which a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed for a predetermined time period. For example, the predetermined condition may be set as a condition of determining that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed when a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times [i.e., determining whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold] for one second. In this case, if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times or more for one second, the controller 400 determines that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed, and if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed four times or less for one second, the controller 400 determines that no movement of the smart key 100 is sensed. Also, if the controller 400 determines that the smart key 100 performs at least one operation of Remote Key Entry (RKE) operation, Passive Access Passive Start (PAPS) operation, and developer mode operation, the controller 400 transfers information about the determination in the form of an electrical signal to the power supply 700. The RKE operation is operation of locking or unlocking a vehicle using a remote key at a remote location without inserting a key [i.e., transmitting a result of the determination to the vehicle]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue in view of Ji with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and use the output of a vibration sensor to determine whether information about the movement of the smart key sensed by the sensor unit corresponds to a predetermined condition or not and the combination would provide for performing a series of authentication process with the smart key (Ji, see at least [0101]) and preventing vehicle theft.
Sobue, as modified by Ji, is silent on the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device,
the signal having been transmitted on the basis of the operation of the vehicle corresponding to the digital key registered in the information processing device,
providing a notification, on the information processing device, reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed.
However, Nagata teaches providing a notification, on the information processing device (Nagata, in at least Fig. 1, 4, and [0106] teaches the display unit 25 of the portable machine 20 is used as an illegality notification unit, and, in a case where the UHF transmission unit 23 continuously transmits an illegality notification signal twice, the notification of illegality is generated through lighting of the LEDs 25a and 25b of the display unit 25 [i.e., providing a notification, on the information processing device]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji, in view of Nagata with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and the smart key transmits illegality notification signal to suppress the control of the vehicle and the notification of illegality is generated through lighting of the LEDs of the portable machine and the combination would provide for stopping relay attack and also to leave a trace of the relay attack (Ji, see at least [0023]).
Sobue, as modified by Ji and Nagata, is silent on the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device,
the signal having been transmitted on the basis of the operation of the vehicle corresponding to the digital key registered in the information processing device,
reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed.
However, Krishnan teaches the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device (Krishnan, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0015-0016 & 0020] teaches a process or method 1 of operating or using keyless vehicles 2. User 5 utilizes a wireless communication device such as a smartphone 15. The smartphone 15 is programmed to include an app that permits the smartphone to communicate wirelessly with security system 50 of keyless vehicle 2 via a wireless communication device 48 of keyless vehicle 2 [i.e., the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle]. The smartphone 15 is configured/programmed to transmit a security code (digital key) [i.e., corresponding to the digital key registered in the information processing device] to the security system 50 of keyless vehicle 2 via wireless communication device 48 of keyless vehicle 2. A digital key corresponding to the keyless vehicle is selected by the user 5 at step 18. The smartphone is the information processing device. As mentioned above, the digital key is associated with a vehicle to allow the user to control the vehicle. As such, Krishnan teaches the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device).
the signal having been transmitted on the basis of the operation of the vehicle corresponding to the digital key registered in the information processing device (Krishnan, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0015-0016 & 0020] teaches a process or method 1 of operating or using keyless vehicles 2. User 5 utilizes a wireless communication device such as a smartphone 15. The smartphone 15 is programmed to include an app that permits the smartphone to communicate wirelessly with security system 50 of keyless vehicle 2 via a wireless communication device 48 of keyless vehicle 2 [i.e., the signal having been transmitted on the basis of the operation of the vehicle]. The smartphone 15 is configured/programmed to transmit a security code (digital key) [i.e., corresponding to the digital key registered in the information processing device] to the security system 50 of keyless vehicle 2 via wireless communication device 48 of keyless vehicle 2. A digital key corresponding to the keyless vehicle is selected by the user 5 at step 18. The smartphone is the information processing device. As mentioned above, the digital key is associated with a vehicle to allow the user to control the vehicle. As such, Krishnan teaches the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji and Nagata, in view of Krishnan with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and a smartphone with a digital key corresponding to the vehicle is used for controlling the vehicle and used and the combination would provide for preventing unauthorized re-entry of keyless vehicle by a customer who has ended the rental (Krishnan, see at least [0004]).
Sobue, as modified by Ji and Nagata and Krishnan, is silent on reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed.
However, Yang teaches reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed (Yang , in at least Figs. 1-6, and [0088] teaches Fig. 4 is a flowchart illustrating a method 400 for notifying an owner of a vehicle 102 that the vehicle 102 has been accessed by an unauthorized person and reporting the same to a server 190 [i.e., reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji and Nagata, in view of Yang with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and report unauthorized access to the vehicle and the combination would provide for providing security functions and providing services including in-vehicle safety and security (Yang, see at least [0002]).
In regard to claim 10
, Sobue discloses a non-transitory recording medium storing a program that is executable by a computer equipped with an information processing device and (Ji, in at least Fig. 1, and [0074] The devices that form the communication control system 20 are configured to be a computer system including one or more processors and a non-transitory memory that stores instructions executable by the processor to implement various types of processes):
displaying a screen configured to enable a user to perform setting processing for setting a time at which control of a vehicle using the information processing device is suppressed (Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0023 & 0026] discloses the terminal device 22 carried by the user is used to input setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 when a condition based on the setting information Da is satisfied. The restriction unit 34 restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. Examiner notes, as shown by Fig. 1, the terminal device has a display 29 to enable a user to input Da which is used by the restriction unit which encompasses displaying a screen configured to enable a user to perform setting processing for setting a time at which control of a vehicle using the information processing device is suppressed);
receiving settings according to the setting processing from the user (Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0025-0026] discloses the communication control system 20 includes an acquisition unit 33 that obtains the setting information Da input by the user [i.e., receive settings according to the setting processing from the user], which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 when a condition based on the setting information Da is satisfied. The restriction unit 34 restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da);
in response to determining that a signal is received from the vehicle, (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1, 3-6, and [0020 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal [i.e., in response to determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle], which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. Examiner notes, the restriction is only applicable during a time period that is specified in the setting information. Therefore, outside of the restriction time period, the control of the vehicle is permitted. That is, determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle at a different time from the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed), and
in response to determining that the signal is received from the vehicle, (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1, 3-6, and [0020 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal, which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. The wake signal acts as the first signal. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. The restriction is only applicable during a time period that is specified in the setting information; Therefore, outside of the restriction time period, the control of the vehicle is permitted. That is, determining that a first signal is received from the vehicle at a different time from the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed),
transmitting data representing that the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is less than the threshold, to the vehicle without determining whether the amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within the fixed period is actually less than the threshold or not, (Sobue, in at least Figs. 1, 3-6, and [0020 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal, which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. The wake signal acts as the first signal. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da. Examiner notes, the restriction is only applicable during a time period that is specified in the setting information and when the restriction is active, the vehicle will not be actuated. Furthermore, this limitation, as best understood, was interpreted under its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Applicant' s specification and the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art as restricting the actuation of the vehicle during a time period that is specified in the setting information by the user, without checking the vibration sensor output. As mentioned above, Sobue teaches restricting the actuation of the vehicle during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da without checking the output of a vibration sensor),
wherein, when the control of the vehicle using the information processing device is enabled, the vehicle is controlled by the information processing device to perform a function that includes at least one of locking and unlocking of an opening/closing section, turning on a power source, or starting an engine of the vehicle (Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0020-0021 & 0025-0026] discloses when the vehicle 3 is actuated in the smart verification system, the terminal 1 receives a wake signal, which is transmitted in LF from the radio wave transmitter 9 at regular or irregular intervals. The terminal 1, which is activated upon receipt of the wake signal with the receiver 14, transmits in UHF an acknowledgment signal [i.e., when the control of the vehicle using the information processing device is enabled, the vehicle is controlled by the information processing device] from the transmitter 15 to the vehicle 3. When determining that exterior smart verification has been accomplished, the verification ECU 6 locks or unlocks the vehicle door or permits the locking and unlocking of the vehicle door [i.e., to perform a function that includes at least one of locking and unlocking of an opening/closing section, turning on a power source, or starting an engine of the vehicle]. If the vehicle 3 is actuated or allowed to be actuated through authentication communication performed with the terminal 1, the acquisition unit 33 obtains the setting information Da, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3, when the user inputs the setting information Da. The restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3 also includes restriction on the shifting of the state of the vehicle power supply, that is, a restriction on the starting of the engine).
Sobue is silent on a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device,
the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device,
determining whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold, and transmitting a result of the determination to the vehicle,
the signal having been transmitted on the basis of the operation of the vehicle corresponding to the digital key registered in the information processing device,
providing a notification, on the information processing device, reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed,
However, Ji teaches a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0074-0075] teaches the sensor unit 500 receives a sensing command from the controller 400 to sense a movement of the smart key 100. The sensor unit 500 includes at least one of a vibration sensor 510 [i.e., a vibration sensor that detects a mechanical vibration of the information processing device and outputs time-series data of the vibration of the information processing device] for sensing a degree of vibration, an acceleration sensor 520 for sensing a change in acceleration, and a gyro sensor 530 for sensing a change in position); and
determining whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold, and transmitting a result of the determination to the vehicle (Ji, in at least Figs. 1, 5, and [0076-0077 & 0081] teaches the controller 400 determines whether information about a movement of the smart key 100 sensed by the sensor unit 500 corresponds to a predetermined condition. The predetermined condition is the number of times by which a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed for a predetermined time period. For example, the predetermined condition may be set as a condition of determining that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed when a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times [i.e., determining whether an amount of the time-series data of the vibration output by the vibration sensor within a fixed period is equal to or greater than a threshold] for one second. In this case, if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed five times or more for one second, the controller 400 determines that a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed, and if a movement of the smart key 100 is sensed four times or less for one second, the controller 400 determines that no movement of the smart key 100 is sensed. Also, if the controller 400 determines that the smart key 100 performs at least one operation of Remote Key Entry (RKE) operation, Passive Access Passive Start (PAPS) operation, and developer mode operation, the controller 400 transfers information about the determination in the form of an electrical signal to the power supply 700. The RKE operation is operation of locking or unlocking a vehicle using a remote key at a remote location without inserting a key [i.e., transmitting a result of the determination to the vehicle]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue in view of Ji with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and use the output of a vibration sensor to determine whether information about the movement of the smart key sensed by the sensor unit corresponds to a predetermined condition or not and the combination would provide for performing a series of authentication process with the smart key (Ji, see at least [0101]) and preventing vehicle theft.
Sobue, as modified by Ji, is silent on the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device,
the signal having been transmitted on the basis of the operation of the vehicle corresponding to the digital key registered in the information processing device,
providing a notification, on the information processing device, reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed.
However, Nagata teaches providing a notification, on the information processing device (Nagata, in at least Fig. 1, 4, and [0106] teaches the display unit 25 of the portable machine 20 is used as an illegality notification unit, and, in a case where the UHF transmission unit 23 continuously transmits an illegality notification signal twice, the notification of illegality is generated through lighting of the LEDs 25a and 25b of the display unit 25 [i.e., providing a notification, on the information processing device]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji, in view of Nagata with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and the smart key transmits illegality notification signal to suppress the control of the vehicle and the notification of illegality is generated through lighting of the LEDs of the portable machine and the combination would provide for stopping relay attack and also to leave a trace of the relay attack (Ji, see at least [0023]).
Sobue, as modified by Ji and Nagata, is silent on the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device,
the signal having been transmitted on the basis of the operation of the vehicle corresponding to the digital key registered in the information processing device,
reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed.
However, Krishnan teaches the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device (Krishnan, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0015-0016 & 0020] teaches a process or method 1 of operating or using keyless vehicles 2. User 5 utilizes a wireless communication device such as a smartphone 15. The smartphone 15 is programmed to include an app that permits the smartphone to communicate wirelessly with security system 50 of keyless vehicle 2 via a wireless communication device 48 of keyless vehicle 2 [i.e., the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle]. The smartphone 15 is configured/programmed to transmit a security code (digital key) [i.e., corresponding to the digital key registered in the information processing device] to the security system 50 of keyless vehicle 2 via wireless communication device 48 of keyless vehicle 2. A digital key corresponding to the keyless vehicle is selected by the user 5 at step 18. The smartphone is the information processing device. As mentioned above, the digital key is associated with a vehicle to allow the user to control the vehicle. As such, Krishnan teaches the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device).
the signal having been transmitted on the basis of the operation of the vehicle corresponding to the digital key registered in the information processing device (Krishnan, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0015-0016 & 0020] teaches a process or method 1 of operating or using keyless vehicles 2. User 5 utilizes a wireless communication device such as a smartphone 15. The smartphone 15 is programmed to include an app that permits the smartphone to communicate wirelessly with security system 50 of keyless vehicle 2 via a wireless communication device 48 of keyless vehicle 2 [i.e., the signal having been transmitted on the basis of the operation of the vehicle]. The smartphone 15 is configured/programmed to transmit a security code (digital key) [i.e., corresponding to the digital key registered in the information processing device] to the security system 50 of keyless vehicle 2 via wireless communication device 48 of keyless vehicle 2. A digital key corresponding to the keyless vehicle is selected by the user 5 at step 18. The smartphone is the information processing device. As mentioned above, the digital key is associated with a vehicle to allow the user to control the vehicle. As such, Krishnan teaches the signal having been transmitted on the basis of an operation of the vehicle corresponding to a digital key registered in the information processing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji and Nagata, in view of Krishnan with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and a smartphone with a digital key corresponding to the vehicle is used for controlling the vehicle and used and the combination would provide for preventing unauthorized re-entry of keyless vehicle by a customer who has ended the rental (Krishnan, see at least [0004]).
Sobue, as modified by Ji and Nagata and Krishnan, is silent on reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed.
However, Yang teaches reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed (Yang , in at least Figs. 1-6, and [0088] teaches Fig. 4 is a flowchart illustrating a method 400 for notifying an owner of a vehicle 102 that the vehicle 102 has been accessed by an unauthorized person and reporting the same to a server 190 [i.e., reporting that it is currently the time at which control of the vehicle is suppressed]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji and Nagata, in view of Yang with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and report unauthorized access to the vehicle and the combination would provide for providing security functions and providing services including in-vehicle safety and security (Yang, see at least [0002]).
In regard to claim 13
, Sobue, as modified by Ji and Nagata and Krishnan and Yang, teaches the information processing device of claim 5, wherein the processor is further configured to:
the information processing device is operated within the time period during which control of the vehicle is suppressed (Sobue, in at least Fig. 1, and [0025-0026] discloses the communication control system 20 includes an acquisition unit 33 that obtains the setting information Da input by the user, which is related to a restriction on the actuation of the vehicle 3. The communication control system 20 includes a restriction unit 34 that restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 when a condition based on the setting information Da is satisfied. The restriction unit 34 restricts the actuation of the vehicle 3 during a time period that is specified in the setting information Da),
Further, Krishnan teaches when the vehicle corresponding to the digital key registered in the information processing device is operated within the time period during which control of the vehicle is suppressed, display a message, the information processing device, indicating that operation of the digital key is currently prohibited, and allow the user to invalidate the setting of the time period on the information processing device (Krishnan, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0018] teaches the system is configured to determine if the user 5 has been identified and verified. Identification and verification involves comparing the driver's license information to a database of known driver's licenses, and the credit card information is checked to verify that the customer 5 is authorized to use the credit card. In the event the user is not identified and/or verified at step 10, the interactive screen 58 is configured to provide an optional notification/message to call a remote service desk 60 associated with the rental car company for help with rental of a keyless vehicle 2. If the user is identified and verified at step 10, the interactive screen 10 provides a list of keyless vehicles that are available according to the type of vehicle chosen by the user as shown at steps 14 and 16. As mentioned above, when the user is not identified, which encompasses the case when operation of the digital key is not allowed, a message is displayed to call a remote service which is able to override the setting. That is, displaying a message indicating that operation of the digital key is currently prohibited, and allow the user to invalidate the setting of the time period on the information processing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji and Nagata and Krishnan, in view of Krishnan with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and a message is displayed to the user that allows the user to call a service desk for deactivating or invalidating the time setting on the information processing device and used and the combination would provide for preventing unauthorized re-entry of keyless vehicle by a customer who has ended the rental (Krishnan, see at least [0004]).
In regard to claim 14
, Sobue, as modified by Ji and Nagata and Krishnan and Yang, teaches the information processing device of claim 5, accordingly the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated.
Further, Krishnan teaches wherein the information processing device is a smartphone (Krishnan, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0015-0016] teaches a process or method 1 of operating or using keyless vehicles 2. User 5 utilizes a wireless communication device such as a smartphone 15 [i.e., wherein the information processing device is a smartphone]. The smartphone 15 is programmed to include an app that permits the smartphone to communicate wirelessly with security system 50 of keyless vehicle 2 via a wireless communication device 48 of keyless vehicle 2. The smartphone 15 is configured/programmed to transmit a security code (digital key) to the security system 50 of keyless vehicle 2 via wireless communication device 48 of keyless vehicle 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji and Nagata and Krishnan, in view of Krishnan with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and a smartphone with a digital key corresponding to the vehicle is used for controlling the vehicle and used and the combination would provide for preventing unauthorized re-entry of keyless vehicle by a customer who has ended the rental (Krishnan, see at least [0004]).
6 Claim(s) 15
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobue et al. (US-20220198856-A1) in view of Ji (US-20170160786-A1) and further in view of Nagata et al. (US-20170352206-A1) and further in view of Krishnan (US-20170349142-A1).
In regard to claim 15
, Sobue, as modified by Ji and Nagata, teaches the information processing device of claim 1, accordingly the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Sobue, as modified by Ji and Nagata, does not teach wherein the information processing device is a smartphone on which a digital key corresponding to the vehicle is registered.
However, Krishnan teaches wherein the information processing device is a smartphone on which a digital key corresponding to the vehicle is registered (Krishnan, in at least Figs. 1-2, and [0015-0016 & 0020] teaches a process or method 1 of operating or using keyless vehicles 2. User 5 utilizes a wireless communication device such as a smartphone 15. The smartphone 15 is programmed to include an app that permits the smartphone to communicate wirelessly with security system 50 of keyless vehicle 2 via a wireless communication device 48 of keyless vehicle 2. The smartphone 15 is configured/programmed to transmit a security code (digital key) to the security system 50 of keyless vehicle 2 via wireless communication device 48 of keyless vehicle 2. A digital key corresponding to the keyless vehicle is selected by the user 5 at step 18. Examiner notes, the smartphone is the information processing device. As mentioned above, the digital key is associated with a vehicle to allow the user to control the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify Sobue, as already modified by Ji and Nagata, in view of Krishnan with a reasonable expectation of success, as both inventions are directed to the same field of endeavor – smart verification system – and a smartphone with a digital key corresponding to the vehicle is used for controlling the vehicle and used and the combination would provide for preventing unauthorized re-entry of keyless vehicle by a customer who has ended the rental (Krishnan, see at least [0004]).
Conclusion
7 The prior art made of record
and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kelly (US-20200351665-A1) teaches a method of detecting if a relay is present in a passive entry passive start (PEPS) system.
Proefke et al. (US-20100039215-A1) teaches transmitting a disabling signal to a vehicle.
Chen et al. (US-20200219338-A1) teaches a method and apparatus for controlling vehicle systems including capturing motion data generated by one or more sensors of the mobile device.
Jeon (US-20220355801-A1) teaches a digital key for enabling and disabling a vehicle.
Liu (US-20190389428-A1) teaches a communication apparatus which includes a communication device that communicates with an on-board apparatus installed in a vehicle.
Bauman et al. (DE-102014204111-A1) teaches a vehicle remote function system is provided for use in initiating vehicle operations based on movement of a key fob relative to a vehicle.
Lickfelt et al. (US-8482382-B2) teaches A smart communication system and method for a vehicle.
McCall et al. (US-20090224876-A1) teaches a vehicle transceiver module is provided for use in a synchronous communication system including the vehicle transceiver module and one or more key fobs, each of the key fobs including a key fob transceiver for transmitting and receiving signals.
Nantz et al. (US-20170158168-A1) teaches protocols for wireless communications between controllers in vehicles and key fobs and its sensors, including a movement sensor.
Campbell et al. (US-9646436-B1) teaches a method and apparatus for hands-free activation of vehicle functions such as accessing doors and windows, and establishing driver preferences such as seat positions.
Gautama et al. (US-20140129051-A1) teaches a device location determination includes authenticating a device within range of a vehicle via a node in a vehicle.
Seiberts (US-20140368313-A1) teaches a keyfob that includes an accelerometer.
/P.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661 /RAMYA P BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661