DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the claims filed November 26th, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in the case and have been examined. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s amendments to the specification filed on November 26th, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 101 arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 26th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues
Applicant argues that the claims do not recite a judicial exception, they assert that claims 1, 11, and 15 do not recite an abstract idea because the claimed steps allegedly cannot be practically performed in the human mind and involve “inherently technological;” processes such as machine learning training, schema adapting, and automated retraining.
Response. The inquiry under Step 2A, Prong One does not turn on whether the claimed steps can be practically performed by a human at scale, but rather on whether the claims recite conceptual mental processes or abstract information processing, even if such processes are performed on a computer. See MPEP 2106.04(a); Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016). The claims recite at a high level of generality, accessing ad converting data using schemas and mappings, identifying and updating labels associated with data, storing data and labels, and training and retraining a machine learning model based on the data.
These steps collectively amount to collecting, organizing, analyzing, and processing information, which is recognized category of abstract ideas. These steps are performed using a machine learning model or automated computing components, and do not remove them from the abstract idea category. See SAP America, Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 898 F.3d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 2018). Claims directed to statistical analysis and data processing remain abstract even when performed by computers.
Applicant Argues
Applicant further argues that the claims integrate any purported abstract idea into a practical application by improving computer functionality and machine learning pipelines, and analogizes the claims to Finjan, McRO, Classen and USPTO eligibility examples.
Response
Applicant asserts that the claims improve a “machine learning pipeline”, the claims do not recite how any such improvement is achieved in a technical sense. Rather the claims recite desired results (e.g., updating labels, retraining models) without technical details that would reflect an improvement to computer functionality itself. These are result-oriented functional claims, and are insufficient to integrate an abstract idea into a practical application. See ChargePoint, Inc. v. SemaConnect, Inc., 920 F.3d 759 (Fed. Cir. 2019).
Applicants’ arguments towards Finjan, McRO, Classen and USPTO eligibility examples are misplaced as the Applicant misinterprets the basis on which those decision found the claims patent-eligible. The cited cases found patent eligibility based on the recitation of specific technical improvements, such as defined data structures, rule-based processing, or integration of an abstract analysis into a tangible real-world application. The present claims recite a common schema, labels and retaining of a machine learning model only at a high level of generality, without structural, algorithmic, or technical constraints that would reflect an improvement to computer functionality itself. Rather than reciting a specific manner of achieving a technological improvement, the claims merely automate abstract data processing and analysis, which is insufficient to confer patent eligibility.
Applicant Argues
Applicant further argues that the ordered combination of claim elements constitutes an inventive concept because the claimed retraining and reprocessing of data based on delayed labels is allegedly unconventional and not shown in the cited prior art.
Response
The determination under Step 2B is not whether the claimed subject matter is novel or non-obvious over the prior art, but whether the additional elements amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. See MPEP2106.05(d); Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208 (2014).
The additional elements recite only generic computer components (e.g., a device, a repository, a machine learning model) performing their expected functions of data storage, processing, and model training. Updating labels, reprocessing stored data, and retraining a model based on updated information are well-understood and routine practices in machine learning and data analytics, even if performed in different contexts.
For at least the reason discussed above, Applicant’s arguments do not overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101. The claims remain directed to an abstract idea without integration into a practical application and without reciting significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Regarding the 103 arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 18, filed November 26th, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mahanta et al. (US 20230008628 A1), in view of Chickering et al. (US 20160162802 A1), Chickering has a priority date of December 7th, 2014, and is prior art under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
To determine if a claim is directed to patent ineligible subject matter, the Court has guided the Office to apply the Alice/Mayo test, which requires:
Step 1: Determining if the claim falls within a statutory category.
Step 2A: Determining if the claim is directed to a patent ineligible judicial exception consisting of a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or abstract idea; and Step 2A is a two prong inquiry. MPEP 2106.04(II)(A). Under the first prong, examiners evaluate whether a law of nature, natural phenomenon, or abstract idea is set forth or described in the claim. Abstract ideas include mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, and mental processes. MPEP 2104.04(a)(2). The second prong is an inquiry into whether the claim integrates a judicial exception into a practical application. MPEP 2106.04(d).
Step 2B: If the claim is directed to a judicial exception, determining if the claim recites limitations or elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. (See MPEP 2106).
Step 1: Claims 1-10 are directed to a method (a process), Claims 11-14 are directed to a system (a machine), and Claims 15-20 are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium (a manufacture). Therefore, claims 1-20 are directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
Regarding Claim 1
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 1 recites the following mental processes, that in each case under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g., “by a first device”, “by the first device”, “machine learning model”, “repository”, “machine learning algorithm”) [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)].
“converting, …, the historical data into the common schema using the first mapping” (e.g., a human can read data and input different fields of that data into fields to create a schema, organizing data, correlating fields, data conversion)
“identifying, …, one or more labels for one or more pieces of the converted historical data, from the plurality of fields in the common schema” (e.g., a human can read data tables and identify desired descriptions)
“identifying, … based on subsequently available historical data, one or more additional labels for the one or more pieces of the converted historical data previously stored in the repository” (e.g., analyzing information that has been processed, classifying/correlating records and updating labels)
“updating the common schema to include the one or more additional labels identified from the subsequently available historical data” (e.g., data organization/manipulation by modifying a data schema to add labels/fields)
“to identify, based on the updated common schema, one or more updated labels for the one or more pieces of the stored converted historical data, wherein at least one of the identified one or more updated labels corresponds to the one or more additional labels, wherein the one or more additional labels associate one or more pieces of the subsequently available historical data to the one or more pieces of the converted historical data” (e.g., reassessing data and assigning labels using updated categories, information organization)
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of “by a first device”, “by the first device”, “machine learning model”, “repository”, and “machine learning algorithm”, which are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). In particular, the recited “machine learning model” is merely a generic computer component, because it is merely recited to perform the function of implementing “historical data” the claims do not recite any particular structure for how such “machine learning model” is implemented. The examiner notes that this language is used throughout the claim’s limitations, and is rejected thusly for each claim which recites the same language.
Regarding the “accessing historical data” and “accessing a first mapping corresponding to the first schema”, limitations, these additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality and amount to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed system (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the “the historical data having a first schema, the first schema defining a first plurality of fields of each piece of the historical data and one or more attributes of each of the first plurality of fields“, and “the first mapping comprising an indication of how data is mapped from one or more of the first plurality of fields in the first schema to one or more of a second plurality of fields in a common schema, the common schema having the second plurality of fields mapped to at least one schema other than the first schema”, limitations, which are recited at a high-level of generality such they amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use using generic computer components (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding the “storing, …, the converted historical data and the one or more labels in a repository”, and “storing, …, the one or more additional labels in the repository in association with the one or more pieces of the converted historical data and in association with the subsequently available historical data” limitations, merely recite storing the converted historical data and labels in a repository and constitutes insignificant extra-solution activity as they do not add a meaningful limitation to the recited abstract idea/mental process (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the “training, …, a first machine learning model by inputting the converted historical data and the one or more labels from the repository into a first machine learning algorithm”, “subsequent to storing the converted historical data and the one or more labels in the repository”, “reprocessing the stored converted historical data in the repository”, and “retraining, …, the first machine learning model based on the reprocessed stored converted historical data and the one or more updated labels from the repository” limitations, these additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component(See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional element of a “by a first device”, “by the first device”, “machine learning model”, “repository”, and “machine learning algorithm”, which are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “accessing historical data” and “accessing a first mapping corresponding to the first schema”, limitations, these additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality and amount to extra-solution activity of receiving data, i.e. pre-solution activity of gathering data for use in the claimed system. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, “electronic record keeping”, and “storing and retrieving information in memory”) which is also recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “the historical data having a first schema, the first schema defining a first plurality of fields of each piece of the historical data and one or more attributes of each of the first plurality of fields “, and “the first mapping comprising an indication of how data is mapped from one or more of the first plurality of fields in the first schema to one or more of a second plurality of fields in a common schema, the common schema having the second plurality of fields mapped to at least one schema other than the first schema” limitations, which are recited at a high-level of generality such they amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use using generic computer components (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Regarding the “storing, …, the converted historical data and the one or more labels in a repository”, and “storing, …, the one or more additional labels in the repository in association with the one or more pieces of the converted historical data and in association with the subsequently available historical data” limitations, merely recite storing the converted historical data and labels in a repository and constitutes insignificant extra-solution activity as they do not add a meaningful limitation to the recited abstract idea/mental process (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the “training, …, a first machine learning model by inputting the converted historical data and the one or more labels from the repository into a first machine learning algorithm”, “subsequent to storing the converted historical data and the one or more labels in the repository”, “reprocessing the stored converted historical data in the repository”, and “retraining, …, the first machine learning model based on the reprocessed stored converted historical data and the one or more updated labels from the repository” limitations, these additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component(See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, at Step 2B, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding Claim 2
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 2 does not introduce any new abstract ideas, but is directed to the abstract idea identified in claim 1.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of “performed prior to the first machine learning algorithm being selected to be used to train the first machine learning model” limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional element of “performed prior to the first machine learning algorithm being selected to be used to train the first machine learning model”, which is recited at a high-level of generality such it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, at Step 2B, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding Claim 3
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 3 does not introduce any new abstract ideas, but is directed to the abstract idea identified in claim 1.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of “performed in response to an entity controlling the historical data being onboarded onto a machine learning pipeline” limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than defining the steps of data to be input into a system, i.e. pre-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated in the claimed method steps (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional element of a “performed in response to an entity controlling the historical data being onboarded onto a machine learning pipeline”, limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to pre-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, “electronic record keeping”, and “storing and retrieving information in memory”).
Accordingly, at Step 2B, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding Claim 4
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 4 does not introduce any new abstract ideas, but is directed to the abstract idea identified in claim 1.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of “wherein the first schema further includes a sliding window of time, the sliding window of time defining an interval of time” limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than defining the data to be used, i.e. pre-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated in the claimed method steps (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Regarding the “wherein the retraining occurs automatically on a periodic basis using the sliding window of time that processes data within the interval of time” limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than automated scheduling. i.e., post-solution activity insignificant application of retraining based on time(See MPEP 2106.05(g)). The examiner notes that this is insignificant and does not meaningfully limit the abstract idea. This could also be interpreted as 2106.05(f) as applying the abstract idea to generic computer components, as it is stating that the retraining is based on a schedule, comprising generic computer components.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional element of a “wherein the first schema further includes a sliding window of time, the sliding window of time defining an interval of time”, limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to pre-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, “electronic record keeping”, and “storing and retrieving information in memory”).
Regarding the additional element of a “wherein the retraining occurs automatically on a periodic basis using the sliding window of time that processes data within the interval of time”, limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to insignificant post-solution activity of automated scheduling for retraining. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, “electronic record keeping”, and “storing and retrieving information in memory”).
Accordingly, at Step 2B, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding Claim 5
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 5 does not introduce any new abstract ideas, but is directed to the abstract idea identified in claim 1.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of “wherein the historical data accessed includes only historical data that was created during the sliding window of time, as measured from a time at which the historical data is accessed” limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than defining the data to be used, i.e. pre-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated in the claimed method steps (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional element of a “wherein the historical data accessed includes only historical data that was created during the sliding window of time, as measured from a time at which the historical data is accessed”, limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to pre-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, “electronic record keeping”, and “storing and retrieving information in memory”).
Accordingly, at Step 2B, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding Claim 6
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 6 does not introduce any new abstract ideas, but is directed to the abstract idea identified in claim 1.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of “periodically performing a set of operations” limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “wherein the historical data after the set of operations is different than a previous set of historical data by virtue of the sliding window of time having an endpoint that is further in the future than it was during a prior time the operations were performed” limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than defining that data be different for more operations, i.e. post-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated in the claimed method steps (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional element of a “periodically performing a set of operations” limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the “wherein the historical data after the set of operations is different than a previous set of historical data by virtue of the sliding window of time having an endpoint that is further in the future than it was during a prior time the operations were performed” limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to post-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, “electronic record keeping”, and “storing and retrieving information in memory”).
Accordingly, at Step 2B, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding Claim 7
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 7 does not introduce any new abstract ideas, but is directed to the abstract idea identified in claim 1.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of “wherein the first machine learning model is periodically retrained using a most recent version of the converted historical data” limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional element of “wherein the first machine learning model is periodically retrained using a most recent version of the converted historical data”, which is recited at a high-level of generality such it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, at Step 2B, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding Claim 8
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 8 recites the following mental processes, that in each case under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g., “machine learning model”, “repository”, “machine learning algorithm”) [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)].
“counting a number of times a particular categorical feature value appears in the converted historical data” (e.g., a human can read data and count the number of occurrences for a particular category)
“comparing the number of times the particular categorical feature value appears in the converted historical data to a predetermined threshold for compaction” (e.g., a human can compare the occurrences to determine if it meets a threshold required for further work)
“in response to a determination that the number of times the particular categorical feature values appears in the converted historical data does not exceed the predetermined threshold for compaction” (e.g., a human can compare the occurrences to determine if it meets a threshold required for further work and if it does exceed a predetermined amount, exclude that data form the newly created dataset)
“combining historical data containing the particular categorical feature value with historical data containing another particular categorical feature value that has appeared in the converted historical data a number of times that also does not exceed the predetermined threshold for compaction” (e.g., a human can combine data sets containing different data labels, based on their number of occurrences)
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
In accordance with Step 2A, Prong 2, the claim does not include any additional elements and the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding Claim 9
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 9 does not introduce any new abstract ideas, but is directed to the abstract idea identified in claim 1.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of “wherein the common schema indicates that a field corresponding to the particular categorical feature value is required to be obfuscated during the converting” limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than defining that data be different for more operations, i.e. post-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated in the claimed method steps (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional element of “wherein the common schema indicates that a field corresponding to the particular categorical feature value is required to be obfuscated during the converting”, limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to post-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, “electronic record keeping”, and “storing and retrieving information in memory”).
Accordingly, at Step 2B, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding Claim 10
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 10 does not introduce any new abstract ideas, but is directed to the abstract idea identified in claim 1.
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of “wherein the common schema further indicates a mechanism by which the obfuscation will occur” limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than defining that data be different for more operations, i.e. post-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated in the claimed method steps (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional element of “wherein the common schema further indicates a mechanism by which the obfuscation will occur”, limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to post-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, “electronic record keeping”, and “storing and retrieving information in memory”).
Accordingly, at Step 2B, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding Claim 11
Claims 11 recites a system. Which corresponds directly to the method steps recited in claim 1, respectively, with the addition of method instructions and computer-executable instructions which are insufficient to render the claims subject matter eligible for the same reasons described above.
Specifically:
Claim 11 corresponds to claim 1, with the added recitation of a generic computer components executing instructions to perform the same abstract method steps of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12
Claims 12 recites a system. Which corresponds directly to the method steps recited in claim 2, respectively, with the addition of method instructions and computer-executable instructions which are insufficient to render the claims subject matter eligible for the same reasons described above.
Specifically:
Claim 12 corresponds to claim 2, with the added recitation of a generic computer components executing instructions to perform the same abstract method steps of claim 2.
Regarding Claim 13
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claim 13 recites the following mental processes, that in each case under the broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion) or with the aid of pencil and paper but for the recitation of generic computer components (e.g., “machine learning model”, “repository”, “machine learning algorithm”) [see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)].
“wherein the identifying the one or more labels includes referencing the plurality of label fields” (e.g., a human can read data and look up and select particular categories from a list)
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong one, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements of “wherein the plurality of fields in the common schema include a plurality of label fields” limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than defining that data be used, i.e. post-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated in the claimed method steps (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, at Step 2A, prong two, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Step 2B
In accordance with Step 2B, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more that the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional element of “wherein the plurality of fields in the common schema include a plurality of label fields”, limitation, which is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to post-solution activity of selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated. The courts have found limitations directed to obtaining information electronically, recited at a high level of generality, to be well-understood, routine, and conventional (See MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “receiving or transmitting data over a network”, “electronic record keeping”, and “storing and retrieving information in memory”).
Accordingly, at Step 2B, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Regarding Claim 14
Claims 14 recites a system. Which corresponds directly to the method steps recited in claim 8, respectively, with the addition of method instructions and computer-executable instructions which are insufficient to render the claims subject matter eligible for the same reasons described above.
Specifically:
Claim 14 corresponds to claim 8, with the added recitation of a generic computer components executing instructions to perform the same abstract method steps of claim 8.
Regarding Claim 15
Claims 15 recites a non-transitory machine-readable medium. Which corresponds directly to the method steps recited in claim 1, respectively, with the addition of method instructions and computer-executable instructions which are insufficient to render the claims subject matter eligible for the same reasons described above.
Specifically:
Claim 15 corresponds to claim 1, with the added recitation of a generic computer components to execute instructions to perform the same abstract method steps of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 16
Claims 16 recites a non-transitory machine-readable medium. Which corresponds directly to the method steps recited in claim 2, respectively, with the addition of method instructions and computer-executable instructions which are insufficient to render the claims subject matter eligible for the same reasons described above.
Specifically:
Claim 16 corresponds to claim 2, with the added recitation of a generic computer components to execute instructions to perform the same abstract method steps of claim 2.
Regarding Claim 17
Claims 17 recites a non-transitory machine-readable medium. Which corresponds directly to the method steps recited in claim 13, respectively, with the addition of method instructions and computer-executable instructions which are insufficient to render the claims subject matter eligible for the same reasons described above.
Specifically:
Claim 17 corresponds to claim 13, with the added recitation of a generic computer components to execute instructions to perform the same abstract system steps of claim 13.
Regarding Claim 18
Claims 18 recites a non-transitory machine-readable medium. Which corresponds directly to the method steps recited in claim 8, respectively, with the addition of method instructions and computer-executable instructions which are insufficient to render the claims subject matter eligible for the same reasons described above.
Specifically:
Claim 18 corresponds to claim 8, with the added recitation of a generic computer components executing instructions to perform the same abstract method steps of claim 8.
Regarding Claim 19
Claims 19 recites a non-transitory machine-readable medium. Which corresponds directly to the method steps recited in claim 3, respectively, with the addition of method instructions and computer-executable instructions which are insufficient to render the claims subject matter eligible for the same reasons described above.
Specifically:
Claim 19 corresponds to claim 3, with the added recitation of a generic computer components executing instructions to perform the same abstract method steps of claim 3.
Regarding Claim 20
Claims 20 recites a non-transitory machine-readable medium. Which corresponds directly to the method steps recited in claim 7, respectively, with the addition of method instructions and computer-executable instructions which are insufficient to render the claims subject matter eligible for the same reasons described above.
Specifically:
Claim 20 corresponds to claim 7, with the added recitation of a generic computer components executing instructions to perform the same abstract method steps of claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 11, 12, 15, 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahanta et al. (US 20230008628 A1, referred to as Mahanta), in view of Chickering et al. (US 20160162802 A1, referred to as Chickering).
Regrading claim 1, Mahanta teaches, a method comprising:
accessing, by a first device, historical data, the historical data having a first schema, the first schema defining a first plurality of fields of each piece of the historical data and one or more attributes of each of the first plurality of fields (Mahanta, [0004]: Describes “ receiving a plurality of data payloads; converting the plurality of data payloads to a format that conforms to a schema; generating feature vectors for the plurality of data payloads using the schema”, which corresponds to accessing the data.; [0019]: Describes “converting the data payloads to a common schema and extracting feature vectors from the converted data payloads” the data payloads that are received can comprise of past information as indicated in [0024] where it can refer to “data formats can be associated with various business data models (e.g., sales orders, purchase orders, operating agreements, requisitions)” directing the data for processing coming from a past transaction. The data gathered is formatted in a schema, containing fields from that particular data payload containing its own attributes as shown in FIG. 4, ¶ [0049].; [0023-0025]: Describes computing device 210 performing operations and storing payloads/schema/feature vectors in memory. Plurality of data payloads are received by the computing device, which corresponds to historical data being received/stored on payloads. The schema is configured to contain any number of filed definitions for each payload received and contain attributes for those definitions.);
accessing, by the first device, a first mapping corresponding to the first schema, the first mapping comprising an indication of how data is mapped from one or more of the first plurality of fields in the first schema to one or more of a second plurality of fields in a common schema, the common schema having the second plurality of fields mapped to at least one schema other than the first schema(Mahanta, [0019-0020]: Describes that the “generating the schema comprises generating multiple schemas that correspond to multiple sample data payloads, and then generating a consolidated schema based on the multiple schemas. For example, common elements in the multiple schemas can be identified and mapped to the same element in the consolidated schema.” This allows data payloads of similar features to be found between them and easily configure a consolidated schema, creating a mapping between them.; [0028]: Describes using schema field identifier mappings (stored) to correlate/map different field identifiers/names form data payloads to a same field definition in a schema (record_id and _id, which correspond to an id field definition), corresponding to accessing a mapping that indicates how data is mapped from fields in a first schema to fields in a common schema.; [0052]: Describes a common/consolidated schema is generated based on multiple schemas, and a mapping record correlates field definitions across those schemas, which correspond to the common schema having fields mapped to at least one schema other that the first schema and the mapping indicating how fields are translated into the common schema.);
converting, by the first device, the historical data into the common schema using the first mapping(Mahanta, [0019-0020]: Describes that the “generating the schema comprises generating multiple schemas that correspond to multiple sample data payloads, and then generating a consolidated schema based on the multiple schemas. For example, common elements in the multiple schemas can be identified and mapped to the same element in the consolidated schema.” Corresponding to converting the data payloads from similar schemas found between the different payloads from identifying the attributes associated between different schemas. ;[0028-0029] Describes using schema field identifier mappings to map/correlate fields of a data payload to field definitions of a schema, which corresponds to converting data into the common schema using a first mapping. Schema-based representations are generated (feature vectors) from converted payloads using the schema and associated mappings to convert using the mappings.);
identifying, by the first device, one or more labels for one or more pieces of the converted historical data, from the second plurality of fields in the common schema (Mahanta, [0029-0031]: Describes identifying features/fields (labels) of converted payloads via feature vectors derived from the common schema.);
storing, by the first device, the converted historical data and the one or more labels in a repository(Mahanta, FIG. 2, [0023]: Details that “system 200 for determining a suitability of a plurality of data payloads 231-235 for training a machine learning model” comprises processors 221 and a memory 223 to execute the instructions of converting data.);
Although Mahanta teaches accessing, by a first device, historical data, the historical data having a first schema, the first schema defining a first plurality of fields of each piece of the historical data and one or more attributes of each of the first plurality of fields, accessing, by the first device, a first mapping corresponding to the first schema, the first mapping comprising an indication of how data is mapped from one or more of the first plurality of fields in the first schema to one or more of a second plurality of fields in a common schema, the common schema having the second plurality of fields mapped to at least one schema other than the first schema, converting, by the first device, the historical data into the common schema using the first mapping, identifying, by the first device, one or more labels for one or more pieces of the converted historical data, from the second plurality of fields in the common schema and storing, by the first device, the converted historical data and the one or more labels in a repository. It does not teach training, by the first device, a first machine learning model by inputting the converted historical data and the one or more labels from the repository into a first machine learning algorithm.
Chickering teaches, training, by the first device, a first machine learning model by inputting the converted historical data and the one or more labels from the repository into a first machine learning algorithm;(Chickering, [0031-0033]: Describes generating a new labeled observation from an unlabeled observation, then storing it in pools of labeled observations for training.; [0039-0041]: Describes that the system refines the target ML model (limited-capacity) based on the active learning outputs and labeled observations, including selecting features from labeled observations for training the target model.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to have combined Mahanta’s accessing, mapping, converting, labeling, and storing historical data, with Chickering’s identifying additional labels form subsequent data and training. Doing so would have enabled the system to update labels and retrain a model as new data becomes available, improving model accuracy and adaptability over time.
subsequent to storing the converted historical data and the one or more labels in the repository, identifying, by the first device based on subsequently available historical data, one or more additional labels for the one or more pieces of the converted historical data previously stored in the repository (Chickering,[0031-0033], and [0049-0055]: Describes that after the system has established labeled observations (stored in pools of labeled observations), the system later selects additional unlabeled observations (subsequently available data), processes those observations (including by scoring/comparing outputs), and converts them into new labeled observations. These new labeled observations constitute additional labels, generated subsequent to the prior stored labeled data, and are derived form later-available observations, which corresponds to identifying additional labels for previously stored data.);
updating the common schema to include the one or more additional labels identified from the subsequently available historical data (Mahanta [0035-0036]: Describes updating/annotating a schema to produce an annotated (updated) schema, including adding additional feature definitions and/or updating mappings, and then repeating subsequent processing using the annotated schema.);
reprocessing the stored converted historical data in the repository to identify, based on the updated common schema, one or more updated labels for the one or more pieces of the stored converted historical data, wherein at least one of the identified one or more updated labels corresponds to the one or more additional labels, wherein the one or more additional labels associate one or more pieces of the subsequently available historical data to the one or more pieces of the converted historical data (Mahanta, [0035-0036]: Describes annotating/updating a schema (including adding feature definitions and/or editing mappings) to produce an updated/annotated schema, and then repeating processing steps (conversion/feature-vector generation/suitability analysis) using the updated schema, which correspond to reprocessing previously handled/stored converted data based on the updated common schema. ;[0029-0031], and [0058]: Describes generating feature vectors/identifiers using the schema that indicate which schema-defined fields/features are present in a given converted payload. These schema-derived identifiers correspond to labels and when the schema is updated, reprocessing produces updated schema-derived identifiers (updated labels). ;[0028], and [0052-0054]: Describes mapping records that correlate fields from different schemas/data formats to the same common schema field definitions, and further teaches that such mapping records can be generated/updated as additional payloads are analyzed over time, which correspond to using the updated common schema/mappings to correlate subsequently available historical data with previously converted historical data through shared common schema field definitions. These correspond to updating a common schema, reprocessing previously stored/converted data using the updated schema to generate updated schema-derived identifiers (updated labels) that include the newly added fields/features, and using mapping records/common schema field definitions to correlate later-available data with the previously converted data.);
storing, by the first device, the one or more additional labels in the repository (Chickering [0031-0033]: Describes converting subsequently available unlabeled observations into new labeled observations and storing the labeled observations in pools of labeled observations.)in association with the one or more pieces of the converted historical data and in association with the subsequently available historical data (Mahanta [0028], and [0052-0054]: Describes storing schema field identifier mappings and common schema definitions that correlate fields/features across different data payloads and schemas, corresponding to storing labels in association with previously converted historical data through shard common schema fields and mappings. The mapping records and schema correlations can evolve as additional payloads and are analyzed over time.);
Chickering describes storing additional labels derived from subsequently available data in a repository, and Mahanta describes storing such labels in association with both previously converted historical data and subsequently available historical data through common schema field definitions and evolving mapping records.
and
retraining, by the first device, the first machine learning model based on the reprocessed stored converted historical data and the one or more updated labels from the repository (Chickering [0031-0033]: Describes storing newly labeled observations in pools of labeled observations and subsequently using those stored labeled observations in machine learning operations, corresponding to using one or more updated labels from a repository during retraining. ;[0039-0041]: Describes retraining/refining a target machine learning model based on newly labeled observations generated during iterative processing, corresponding to retraining the first machine learning model based on updated labels.).
Regarding claim 2, Mahanta, in view of Chickering further teaches, wherein the converting the historical data into the common schema using the first mapping, the identifying the one or more labels, and the storing the converted historical data and the one or more labels (as described in claim 1) are performed prior to the first machine learning algorithm being selected to be used to train the first machine learning model (Mahanta, [0034]: Describes that after determining a suitability is greater than a threshold, training of a machine learning model can proceed, the suitability is determined after the data payloads are examined to map and create further schemas.).
Regarding claim 3, Mahanta, in view of Chickering further teaches, wherein the accessing historical data, the accessing the first mapping, the converting the historical data into the common schema using the first mapping, the identifying the one or more labels, and the storing the converted historical data and the one or more labels are performed in response to an entity controlling the historical data being onboarded onto a machine learning pipeline (Mahanta, [0024-0028]: Describes that the pipeline begins when a source sends data payloads. After the receipt the system begins to map/convert he target schema and proceeds in its downstream steps. The data payload is sent from the data source corresponding to an entity, and is onboarded into the systems pipeline.).
Regarding claim 11, recites substantially the same limitations as claim 1. Claim 11 further recites a system comprising one or more processors a repository and a machine learning training pipeline including a training data generator(Mahanta, [0005]: Describes “ one or more computer-readable storage media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations…” detailing a system comprising multiple processors and storage mediums operating to execute a machine learning pipeline.; FIG. 2, [0023]: Describes a particular system comprising a processor and memory.; [0034]: Describes a machine learning model to train based on the data payloads corresponding to a training pipeline for the gathered data.) which perform the method steps of claim 1, respectively, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 12 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 2. Claim 12 further recites the implementation (Mahanta, [0034] as described above) of the method instructions od claim 2, respectively, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 15, recites substantially the same limitations as claim 1. Claim 15 further recites a non-transitory machine-readable medium (Mahanta, [0078]: Describes the use of a non-transitory which can be a medium to store the instructions for the machine learning pipeline.) which perform the method steps of claim 1, respectively, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 16 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 2. Claim 16 further recites the implementation (Mahanta, [0034] as described above) of the method instructions od claim 2, respectively, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding claim 19 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 3. Claim 19 further recites the implementation (Mahanta, [0024-0028] as described above) of the method instructions od claim 3, respectively, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 4-7, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahanta et al. (US 20230008628 A1, referred to as Mahanta), in view of Chickering et al. (US 20160162802 A1, referred to as Chickering), in view of Grove et al. (US 10163061 B2, referred to as Grove).
Regarding claim 4, Mahanta, in view of Chickering teaches, the method of claim 1.
But they do not teach, wherein the first schema further includes a sliding window of time, the sliding window of time defining an interval of time, and wherein the retraining occurs automatically on a periodic basis using the sliding window of time that processes data within the interval of time.
Grove teaches, wherein the first schema further includes a sliding window of time, the sliding window of time defining an interval of time, and wherein the retraining occurs automatically on a periodic basis using the sliding window of time that processes data within the interval of time (Grove Col 7. Lines 25-30, Table 1 and Table 3: Describes a sliding window and that the window has a defined size (interval). ; Col. 3, lines 54-67 cont. Col. 4, lines 1-22 :Retraining is initiated by the system itself based on evaluated conditions (continuous incremental evaluation and model quality thresholds), and the machine learning model is retrained using the selected retraining data set.; Col. 5, lines 34-51.; Col. 3, lines 22-31: Describes retraining condition evaluated repeatedly over time, such that retraining occurs again whenever the fixed threshold is exceeded, occurring on aperiodic basis.; Col. 19 lines 52-65: Describes selecting a sliding window amount of the most recent training data, wherein the machine learning model is retrained with the selected retraining data set. ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the schema mapping of Mahant with the labeled training of Chickering with the time windowed, periodic ingestion time cutoffs of Grove. Doing so would keep the pipeline operating on the most recent data, control its volume and enable timely retraining.
Regarding claim 5, Mahanta, in view of Chickering in view of Grove teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the historical data accessed includes only historical data that was created during the sliding window of time, as measured from a time at which the historical data is accessed (Grove Col. 19, lines 52-65, Table 1 : Describes that at the time data is accessed/selected for retraining, the system selects only a sliding window amount of the most recent training data (data within a window measured relative to the current access/selection time), and retrains using that selected data set, which excludes data outside the window.).
Regarding claim 6, Mahanta, in view of Chickering in view of Grove teaches, the method of claim 5 further periodically performing a set of operations comprising (Grove Col. 19, lines 52-65: Describes repeatedly performing the same processing operations over time, and selecting a sliding window amount of the most recent training data. The system performs retraining after prior retraining event and selects updated data relative to a later time, the set of operations is performed again at subsequent times.): accessing the historical data, accessing the first mapping, converting the historical data into the common schema using the first mapping, the identifying the one or more labels, and storing the converted historical data and the one or more labels again, wherein the historical data after the set of operations is different than a previous set of historical data by virtue of the sliding window of time having an endpoint that is further in the future than it was during a prior time the operations were performed (Recites the same language described above, in claims 1-5, by Mahanta in view of Chickering in view of Grove.).
Regarding claim 7, Mahanta, in view of Chickering, in view of Grove teaches, the method of claim 6, wherein the first machine learning model is periodically retrained using a most recent version of the converted historical data (Grove Col. 19 lines 52-65, and Table 1: Describes periodically retraining a machine learning model over time, and retrains using recent training data including selecting a sliding window amount of the most recent training data. Which means the model is periodically retrained using the most recent version of the data.).
Regarding claim 20 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 7. Claim 20 further recites the implementation (Grove Col. 19 lines 52-65, and Table 1, as described above) of the method instructions of claim 3, respectively, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 8 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahanta et al. (US 20230008628 A1, referred to as Mahanta), in view of Chickering et al. (US 20160162802 A1, referred to as Chickering), in view of Matos et al. (“Using Deep Learning for Mobile Marketing User Conversion Prediction”, referred to as Matos).
Regarding claim 8, Mahanta, in view of Chickering teaches the method of claim 1.
However, they do not teach counting a number of times a particular categorical feature value appears in the converted historical data, comparing the number of times the particular categorical feature value appears in the converted historical data to a predetermined threshold for compaction, and in response to a determination that the number of times the particular categorical feature values appears in the converted historical data does not exceed the predetermined threshold for compaction, combining historical data containing the particular categorical feature value with historical data containing another particular categorical feature value that has appeared in the converted historical data a number of times that also does not exceed the predetermined threshold for compaction.
Matos teaches, counting a number of times a particular categorical feature value appears in the converted historical data (Matos, page 3, Section III-B: Describes “sorting the feature levels according to their frequency in the training data” by counting how frequently a feature value is present in a data set.);
comparing the number of times the particular categorical feature value appears in the converted historical data to a predetermined threshold for compaction(Matos, page 3, Section III-B: Describes “Then, the least frequent levels (summing up to a threshold percentage of P) are merged into a single category denoted as “Others”.” Creating a threshold comparison step.; page 5, Section IV: Describes “For the PCP transform, we assume a cutting threshold of P = 10% (shown in Fig. 2) for all input attributes.” Which uses the example predetermined value for that threshold.); and
in response to a determination that the number of times the particular categorical feature values appears in the converted historical data does not exceed the predetermined threshold for compaction, combining historical data containing the particular categorical feature value with historical data containing another particular categorical feature value that has appeared in the converted historical data a number of times that also does not exceed the predetermined threshold for compaction(Matos, page 3, Section III-B: Describes “Then, the least frequent levels (summing up to a threshold percentage of P) are merged into a single category denoted as “Others”. … Finally, the one-hot encoding is applied using the reduced set of levels, which includes the most frequent levels and the “Others” label.” Creating a new category by merging labels that fall below a threshold into a compact category.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the schema mapping of Mahanta with the labeled training of Chickering, with the category compaction of Matos, with the time windowed, periodic ingestion time cutoffs of Grove. Doing so would normalize inputs, reduce categorical cardinality for stable supervised training on new data efficiently.
Regarding claim 14 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 8. Claim 14 further recites the implementation (Matos, page 3, Section III, as described above) of the method instructions od claim 8, respectively, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 9, 10, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahanta et al. (US 20230008628 A1, referred to as Mahanta), in view of Chickering et al. (US 20160162802 A1, referred to as Chickering), in view of Matos et al. (“Using Deep Learning for Mobile Marketing User Conversion Prediction”, referred to as Matos), in view of Paulraj et al. (US 20230214711 A1, referred to as Paulraj).
Regarding claim 9, Mahanta, in view of Chickering, in view of Matos, teaches the method of claim 8.
But they do not teach wherein the common schema indicates that a field corresponding to the particular categorical feature value is required to be obfuscated during the converting.
Paulraj teaches, wherein the common schema indicates that a field corresponding to the particular categorical feature value is required to be obfuscated during the converting (Paulraj, [0020]: Describes “metadata that indicates which features of the new data have been determined to be potentially sensitive and/or biased” and those feature may require protection, corresponding to the schema/metadata to what kind of protection to apply.; [0031]: Describes a schema based sensitivity labeling and applying data protection by setting data flags so downstream components hide values.).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the schema mapping of Mahanta with the labeled training of Chickering, with the category compaction of Matos, with the time windowed, schema-driven data obfuscation of Paulraj. Doing so would enable the system to protect sensitive categorical feature values while converting data into a common schema.
Regarding claim 10, Mahanta, in view of Chickering, in view of Matos, in view of Paulraj teaches, wherein the common schema further indicates a mechanism by which the obfuscation will occur (Paulraj, [0032]: Describes encrypting new data, setting a flag or tag to that data to not display the values of that data, and replacing the data with simulated or synthetic data, these represent mechanisms to hide sensitive data of the schema.).
Regarding claim 18 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 8. Claim 18 further recites the implementation (Matos, page 3, Section III, as described above) of the method instructions od claim 8, respectively, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 13, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahanta et al. (US 20230008628 A1, referred to as Mahanta), in view of Chickering et al. (US 20160162802 A1, referred to as Chickering), in view of Tsoumakas et al. ("Mulan: A java library for multi-label learning.", referred to as Tsoumakas).
Regarding claim 13, Mahanta, in view of Chickering teaches , the system of claim 11.
However, they do not teach wherein the second plurality of fields in the common schema include a plurality of label fields, and wherein the identifying the one or more labels includes referencing the plurality of label fields.
Tsoumakas teaches, wherein the second plurality of fields in the common schema include a plurality of label fields, and wherein the identifying the one or more labels includes referencing the plurality of label fields (Tsoumakas, page 2 cont. page 3, Section 3: Describes “The labels should be specified as nominal attributes with values “0” and “1” indicating absence and presence…” wherein the dataset schema requires labels to be represented as multiple label attributes. The accompanying file then specifies the labels, telling the system which attributes are label fields, then the API loads the dataset by referencing those label attributes followed by a loader that uses them to read the label columns.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention to combine the schema mapping of Mahant with the labeled training of Chickering, with the label fields of Tsoumakas. Doing so would enable labeled data fields common between different schemas, enabling direct identification from designated columns allowing for a more straightforward training approach.
Regarding claim 17 recites substantially the same limitations as claim 13. Claim 17 further recites the implementation (Tsoumakas, page 2 cont. page 3, Section 3, as described above) of the method instructions od claim 13, respectively, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 or additional art.
/D.T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2128
/OMAR F FERNANDEZ RIVAS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2128