DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-17, 19-20, 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 11-12, 16-17, 19-20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weast et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0292575 A1).
As per claim 1, Weast teaches a method (title) comprising: monitoring an environment via one or more sensors of a computing device (fig. 1 el. 100, 110; [0011], [0020-0022]; “sensor interface 110 may also be used to communicate with an array of sensors, distributed in multiple devices, such as … motion devices for recording velocity and acceleration information, cameras for recording images, audio and/or video recorders for recording sound and/or video”); identifying a memory experience stored in a data store based on the environment ([0011], [0017], [0019],[0031], [0033], [0038-0039] [0036]; “data storage module 140 may be configured to be used by apparatus 100 to manage data storage, e.g., to store, retrieve, query, and manipulate sensor data” and “when a user is browsing a photo album, contextual cues associated with the browsing may become an indication that the user may like to playback part of the user experience during the time the photos are taken. Yet as another example, experience generation module 160 may make recommendations for experience creation or recreation based on contextual cues. For instance, experience generation module 160 may recommend enabling desirable physiological conditions, e.g., relaxation state after detecting the user had a stressful day.”) determining a match between trigger data associated with the memory experience and corresponding stored memory experience data, the trigger data comprising at least two data items of multiple data items in the memory experience (fig. 1 el. 130-160; [0021], [0029], [0031-0033], [0034], [0038-0039], [0049]; “the rules identifying a user experience may be predefined or predetermined, and may be based at least on one factor of a location, an environmental parameter, a time, a user, a user command, an object, or an activity. Some example heuristic rules for defining a user experience may include the user remaining in a specific location of interest, the user remaining in a same location for a period of time, the time of arrival and departure from a location, the presence of a specific person detected, the presence of a specific landmark or object, an specific activity detected, and so forth”); based on the match indicating at least a partition math, creating an augmented reality memory experience, a virtual reality memory experience or a combination thereof (fig. 1, el. 130-160; [0018], [0021], [0029], [0031-0032], [0034-0039], [0049]; “ the rules identifying a user experience may be predefined or predetermined, and may be based at least on one on factor of a location, an environmental parameter, a time, a user, a user command, an object, or an activity.” The Examiner notes identifying a user experience based on the above features inherently would necessitate matching contextual information (trigger data) with a user experience); and projecting the augmented reality memory experience, the virtual reality memory experience, or the combination thereof via he computing device (fig. 1 el.160; [0018], [0038], [0045]; “experience generation module 160 may be configured to supplement the user experience with augmented reality (AR) data.”) based on the match indicating at least a partial match, creating an augmented reality memory experience, a virtual reality memory experience, or a combination thereof (fig. 1, el. 130-160; [0018], [0021], [0029], [0031-0032], [0034-0039], [0041], [0044-0045], [0049] and [0088];), and projecting the augmented reality memory experience, the virtual reality memory experience, or the combination thereof via he computing device (fig. 1 el.160; [0018], [0038], [0045]; “experience generation module 160 may be configured to supplement the user experience with augmented reality (AR) data.”).
Although Weast discloses determining a match between trigger data associated with the memory experience and corresponding stored memory experience data, based on the match indicating a match, creating an augmented reality memory experience, a virtual reality experience or a combination thereof, Weast does not explicitly disclose the claimed match value. However, the examiner notes that detecting a user remaining in specific location of interest, same location for a period of time, presence of landmark or object necessitates matching based on a value, this it is obvious that the matching disclosed by Weast has a matching value. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the claimed match value with Weast for the benefit of providing increase accuracy between previous and current data of events.
As per claim 2, Weast teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Weast teaches wherein creating the augmented reality memory experience, the virtual reality memory experience, or the combination thereof, comprises transforming the trigger data into an augmented reality augmentation, a virtual reality augmentation, an avatar, an augmented reality object, a virtual reality object, a smell signal transmissible to a scent project device, a taste signal transmissible to a tasting device, a haptic force, an internet-of-things (IOT) device command, or a combination thereof ([0041], [0044-0045],[0088]).
As per claim 4, Weast teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Weast teaches wherein determining the memory experience is stored in the data comprises comparing the trigger data against memory experience data associated with the memory experience to determine whether there is a match (fig. 1, el. 130-160; [0018], [0021], [0029], [0031-0032], [0034-0039], [0049]; “ the rules identifying a user experience may be predefined or predetermined, and may be based at least on one on factor of a location, an environmental parameter, a time, a user, a user command, an object, or an activity.” The Examiner notes identifying a user experience based on the contextual information necessitates matching contextual information (trigger data) with a user experience).
As per claim 5, Weast teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 4. In addition, Weast teaches wherein the trigger data comprises a picture, a video, a sound, a biosignal, a smell signal, a taste signal, a weather condition, a location, a microlocation, a lighting condition, a time, a data, a person, a pet, a social network or a combination thereof ([0021], [0027], [0029], [0034]).
As per claim 6, Weast teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Weast teaches wherein projecting the augmented reality memory experience, the virtual reality memory experience, or the combination thereof comprises displaying an avatar, displaying a picture, displaying a video, providing a 3D navigation in a volumetric video, projecting a sound, playing music, executing an IOT command, displaying a lighting level, projecting a smell, projecting a taste transforming a biosignal into a visualization or a sound or a combination of thereof ([0011], [0041], [0044] and fig. 1 el. 160).
As per claim 7, Weast teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Weast teaches wherein the one or more sensors are disposed in a head-wearable apparatus, in a drone, in a mobile device, in a portable computing device, or a combination thereof ([0018], [0021], [0041], [0044], [0065], [0076-0077]).
As per claim 8, Weast teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Weast teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprise a sound sensor, a camera sensor, a weather sensor, a light condition sensor, a location sensor, a microlocation sensor, a smell sensor, a taste sensor, a biosignal sensor, or a combination thereof ([0020], [0042] and fig. 1).
As per claim 9, Weast teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. In addition, Weast discloses recording a new memory experience by capturing data comprising a picture, a video, a sound a smell signal, an taste signal, a weather condition, a location, a microlocation, a lighting condition, a person, a time, a data, a pet, a social network, a biosignal, or a combination thereof via the one or more sensors (abstract, [0021-022], [0027-0029] and fig. 1); storing the new memory experience in the data store (fig. 1 el. 140); and indexing the new memory experience by relating data associated with the new memory experience to a second trigger (fig. 1 el. 130-150) and [0032-0033],[0036-0037]).
As per claim 11, which is the corresponding system with the limitations of the method as recited in claim 1, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here. In addition, Weast teaches one or more hardware processors (abstract, [0011], [0016], [0021], and fig. 4) and at least one memory associated with storing instructions that cause the one or more hardware processors to perform operations (fig. 4, [0058], [0061-0063]]).
As per claim 12, which is the corresponding system with the limitations of the method as recited in claim 2, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 2 also applies here.
As per claim 15, which is the corresponding system with the limitations of the method as recited in claim 9, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 9 also applies here.
As per claim 16, Weast (modified by Dotan-Cohen) as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 15. In addition, Weast teaches wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that cause one or more hardware processors to perform operations comprising: applying a second trigger to detect that the new memory experience is stored in the data store based on the monitoring ((fig. 1 el. 130-150; fig. 4, fig. 5 and [0032-0033],[0036-0037], [0061-0063]).
As per claim 17, which is the corresponding system with the limitations of the method as recited in claim 4, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 4 also applies here.
As per claim 19, which is the corresponding machine-readable medium storing instructions with the limitations of the method as recited in claim 1, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 1 also applies here.
As per claim 20, which is the corresponding machine-readable medium storing instructions with the limitations of the method as recited in claim 9, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 9 also applies here.
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weast et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0292575 A1) in view of Aflaki Beni et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0144404 A1; herein referenced as “Beni”).
As per claim 3, Weast teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 2. Weast does not explicitly disclose wherein the augmented reality augmentation, the virtual reality augmentation, or the combination thereof, comprises a three-dimensional volumetric video configured to enable a user of the computing device to view the three-dimensional volumetric video at a plurality of viewpoint depths.
However, Beni teaches wherein the augmented reality augmentation, the virtual reality augmentation, or the combination thereof, comprises a three-dimensional volumetric video configured to enable a user of the computing device to view the three-dimensional volumetric video at a plurality of viewpoint depths ([0004], [0007], [0070], [0094] and fig. 4a-4d).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Beni with Weast for the benefit of providing improved viewing capabilities for a user.
As per claim 13, which is the corresponding system with the limitations of the method as recited in claim 3, thus the rejection and analysis made for claim 13 also applies here.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weast et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0292575) and in view Osman et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/005429 A1).
As per claim 10, Weast as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 1. Weast does not explicitly disclose sending an invitation to a plurality of participants to share the augmented reality memory experience, the virtual reality memory experience, or the combination thereof; and sharing the augmented reality memory experience, the virtual memory experience, or the combination thereof, with one or more participants of the plurality of participants that accept the invitation.
However, Osman teaches sending an invitation to a plurality of participants to share the augmented reality memory experience, the virtual reality memory experience, or the combination thereof (fig. 4); and sharing the augmented reality memory experience, the virtual memory experience, or the combination thereof, with one or more participants of the plurality of participants that accept the invitation (fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Osman with Weast in order to provide an opportunity to incorporate social and inter-personal components to enhance and humanize the VR consumer experience.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weast et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0292575 A1) in view of Aflaki Beni et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/014404 A1; herein referenced as “Beni”) and further in view of Kim et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0073831 A1).
As per claim 14, Weast as a whole teaches everything as claimed above, see claim 13. Weast does not explicitly discloses wherein the one or more sensors comprises a plurality of camera sensors disposed in a head-wearable apparatus in a mobile device, in a drone, in a portable computing device, or in a combination thereof, and wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that cause the one or more hardware processors to perform operations comprising capturing a plurality of video frames via the plurality of camera sensors.
However, Kim teaches wherein the one or more sensors comprises a plurality of camera sensors disposed in a head-wearable apparatus in a mobile device, in a drone, in a portable computing device, or in a combination thereof, and wherein the at least one memory stores instructions that cause the one or more hardware processors to perform operations comprising capturing a plurality of video frames via the plurality of camera sensors ([0008], [0040-0041], [0077-0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim with Weast and configure a mixed-reality (MR) environment and various potential user interactivities for a geographic landmark, a museum, or another tourist destination, and subsequently share the MR environment with other user interaction designers and users (e.g. tourists) who visit that tourist destination.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
JESSICA PRINCE
Examiner
Art Unit 2486
/JESSICA M PRINCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486