DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takano (WO2019044902A1, Examiner is using US20200106130A1 as an English equivalent) and in view of Mochizuki (US20180277901A1) and Huang (US20180047982A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takano discloses a solid-state battery comprising: a positive electrode layer [0015, fig. 1 (11), Takano]; a negative electrode layer [0015, fig. 1 (12), Takano]; and a solid electrolyte layer interposed between the positive electrode layer and the negative electrode layer[0015, fig. 1(13), Takano], wherein the negative electrode layer includes a conductive additive comprising a metal material [0034, Takano], the conductive additive being oriented in the negative electrode layer such that in a section view an area ratio of the conductive additive is 7% to 28% with respect to the negative electrode layer [0036, Takano].
For clarity of the record Takano discloses a negative electrode with a conductive agent coating the negative electrode material and having a volume proportion of the conductive auxiliary agent (equivalent to conductive additive) of 0.1-35 vol% [0036, Takano]. Additionally, Table 2 provides explicit examples that the volume proportion of the conductive auxiliary agent is 11% [Table 2, Takano].
Takano discloses that the coated mixture was prepared by kneading the negative electrode active material with the conductive agent [0068, Takano]. Takano is explicitly silent to the uniformity of the electrode mixture.
Prior to the effective filing date, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill within the arts to make the conductive agent have a uniform distribution of conductive agents in the electrode mixture. Doing so would provide uniform properties throughout the electrode allowing for a conductive pathway to be established throughout the electrode.
The examiner is notes that each section view has an area ratio and the average of the summation of all area ratios/section views of an object(s) would produce the volume percentage of that object. As such, the section view of this volume proportion would produce a section view with conductive auxiliary agent approaching 0.1-35% (or 11% in disclosed examples) in an area ratio with respect to the negative electrode layer. As such, a volume percent of 0.1% to 35% (or 11% in disclosed examples) reads on the applicants claimed range as negative electrode disclosed by Takano would possess a section view with a conductive additive in the range of 0.1%-35% (or 11% in disclosed examples).
Additionally, the instant specification presents disclosed examples include a negative electrode active material, a solid electrolyte powder, a flattened Ag powder A as a conductive additive in an elongated shape, and a sintering aid that are kneaded together with a binder, alcohol, and resin to prepare a slurry [0307, instant spec]. The instant specification additionally notes that the volume ratios of the negative electrode active material, solid electrolyte, conductive additive, and sintering aid were adjusted to be (60-x) : 35 : x : 5 (10≤x≤25) wherein Example 1 x was 20 [0307, instant spec]. In Table 4, it is noted that Example 1 has the area ratio of the flattened conductive additive with respect to the negative electrode layer being 19.5% [Table 4, instant spec].
As such, the examiner notes that a volume percentage of a conductive additive (that is uniformly mixed) can be used to approximate the area ratio of a section view of the material being examined.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (see MPEP 2144.05).
In regards to the limitation “ wherein the section view is taken at a cross section that is parallel to the laminating direction of the positive electrode layer, the solid electrolyte layer, and negative electrode layer, and passes through a center of gravity of the solid-state battery in a planar view thereof”.
The examiner notes that in light of the instant specification disclosing that the volume percentage of the conductive additive is approximately equal to the area ratio of the conductive additive and that the Takano as presently modified has the conductive additive in a uniform mixture in the electrode mixture. Then final structure of the electrode layer would have a section view when taken at a cross section parallel to the laminating direction and passing through the center of gravity would still produce an area ratio approximately equal to that of the volume percentage. As such, Takano as presently modified reads upon the applicant’s claimed language.
Takano discloses the conductive additive may have metals or an elongated shape (e.g. carbon nanotubes) [0034, Takano].
However, Takano is explicitly silent to 1) having a conductive additive comprising a metal material having an elongated shape. 2) in the section view, 20% or more of the metal material having the elongated shape with respect to a total of the conductive additive is at an orientation angle of 30o or less with respect to a direction perpendicular to a laminating direction of the positive electrode layer, the solid electrolyte layer, and the negative electrode layer.
In regards to 1) Mochizuki discloses using an auxiliary conductive agent (equivalent to conductive additive) comprising a metal [0006, 0010, Mochizuki], having an aspect ratio of 1.5 or more [0082, Mochizuki], and having an elongated shape [0096, Mochizuki. Examples: a needle shape, a tubular shape, a dumbbell shape, a disc shape, an elliptical shape].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Takano such that the conductive additive was utilized as a conductive additive with an elongated shape (an aspect ratio of 1.5 or more) as disclosed by Mochizuki. Doing so would allow one to obtain an electrode in which the active material and the conductive agent can form a conductive path for electron conductivity [0090, Mochizuki].
In regards to 2) Huang discloses a cathode with uniformly aligned graphite (or other conductive material) in which 60% or more and most preferably 95% or more of the conductive material are substantially aligned [0064, Huang]. Substantial alignment being determined by projecting an imaginary axial line of each particles elongated axis [0064, Huang]. The specified percentage (i.e. 95% or more) of such imaginary axial line are within range of preferably no more than 30 degrees of one another [0064, Huang]. Having the graphite be oriented relative to the anticipated current flow such as, in line parallel with the current flow allows for improvement in electronic conductivity and ionic diffusivity [0054, 0062, fig. 2A, Huang].
In regards to the line parallel in which the current flows, the examiner notes that dependent claim 11 requires the current collector to be on an end side surface of the negative electrode layer perpendicular to the lamination direction. This is further elaborated/depicted in the instant specification [0127-0128, instant spec] and as depicted in figure 1B of the instant application.
As such, one of ordinary skill within the arts would appreciate, that when the current collector is on a side end of the negative electrode layer perpendicular to the lamination direction, then the anticipated current flow will be perpendicular to the laminating direction.
While Haung disclose the use of oriented graphite in a cathode and is silent to their use as an anode, the work is translatable as anodes still use conductive additives. Having the conductive additives highly oriented in an anode will beneficial from improving electronic conductivity and ionic diffusivity.
Prior to the effective filing one of ordinary skill within the art would find it obvious to further modify Takano such that the conductive additive had a highly oriented structure. The conductive additive being oriented such that 60% or more of the conductive additive are within 30 degrees of one another. One of ordinary skill within the arts would also find it obvious to have the conductive additive to be oriented relative to the anticipated current flow, such as with respect to a direction perpendicular to a laminating direction (as required by dependent claim 11). Doing so allows for one to form an electronic connection that can improve electronic conductivity and ionic diffusivity [0062, Haung].
Regarding claim 2, Takano as modified above discloses the solid-state battery, wherein the negative electrode layer includes a negative electrode active material having a molar ratio of Li to V of 2.0 or more [0008, Takano].
Regarding claim 3, Takano as modified above discloses solid-state battery, wherein the metal material having the elongated shape is a flattened conductive additive [0096, Mochizuki. The examiner is interpreting a disc shape to be “flattened”].
Regarding claim 4 and 5, Takano as modified above discloses the solid-state battery, wherein the metal material having the elongated shape has an average aspect ratio of greater than 1.5 [0082, Mochizuki].
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 6, Takano as modified above discloses the solid-state battery, wherein the metal material having the elongated shape has an average short-side length of preferably 5 μm or less and 5nm or more [0093, Mochizuki].
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 7, Takano as modified above discloses the solid-state battery, wherein the metal material having the elongated shape includes one or more selected from the group consisting of Ag, Cu, Sn, Ni, and alloys thereof [0034, Takano].
Regarding claim 8, Takano as modified above discloses the solid-state battery, wherein metal material having the elongated shape is included at 35% or more in area ratio with respect to a total of the conductive additive.
Tanako as modified above discloses the use of a single conductive additive. As such the area ratio of the conductive additive to the total conductive additive will be 100%.
Regarding claim 12, Takano as modified above discloses the solid-state battery, wherein
Takano discloses using Li3.2(V0.8Si-0.2) O4 as a negative electrode active material which satisfies the claimed equation when x = 0, y = 0.8, and B = Si [0023-0024, Takano].
Regarding claim 13, Takano as modified above discloses, wherein 0≤x≤0.5 and 0.55≤y≤1.0 [0023-0024, Takano].
Takano discloses using Li3.2V0.8Si-0.2O4 as a negative electrode active material which satisfies the above equation when x = 0, y = 0.8, and B = Si.
Regarding claim 14, Takano as modified above discloses the solid-state battery, wherein 0≤x≤1.0; and y = 1 [0023-0024, Takano].
Takano discloses using Li3VO4 as a negative electrode active material which satisfies the above equation when x = 0 and y = 1.
Regarding claim 15, as modified above discloses the solid-state battery, wherein
Takano discloses using a general formula (Li[3-ax+(5-b)y] Ax ) (V1-y By )O4 , where A = Zn, B = Si x= 0.05, y = 0.8, a = 2, and b = 4 [0023-0024, Takano].
Regarding claim 16, Takano as modified above discloses the solid-state battery, wherein the negative electrode active material has a βII-Li3VO4-type crystal structure or a γII-Li3VO4-type crystal structure [0025, Takano].
Regarding claim 17, Takano as modified above discloses making a solid state battery sealed in a 2032 type coin cell [0069, Takano], but is silent to the thickness of the negative electrode.
However, Mochizuki discloses using a solid-state battery in a 2032 type coin case with a negative electrode active material layer of 30 µm which meets the applicants claimed range [0236, Mochizuki].
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Takano such that the thickness of the negative electrode were 30 µm as this is a known thickness for producing a solid-state battery for a 2032 type coin cell that will lead to predictable results.
Regarding claim 18, Takano as modified above discloses the solid-state battery, wherein at least one of the negative electrode layer and the solid electrolyte layer further includes a sintering aid [0040, Takano], and the sintering aid is a compound that has a chemical composition containing Li, boron, and 0, and with a molar ratio of Li to boron of 2.0 or more [0040-0041, Takano discloses using Li4B2O5 as a sintering aid].
Regarding claim 19, Takano as modified does not explicitly state that their positive and negative electrode layers are layers capable of occluding and releasing lithium ions. However, Takano does use the same material disclosed in the instant application and would therefore inherently be capable of occluding and releasing lithium ions from the positive and negative electrode layers, see MPEP 2112.
Takano discloses using a positive electrode with lithium-containing phosphate compounds having a NASICON-type structure [0018, Takano]. Applicant does explicitly state the positive electrode layer may be a lithium-containing phosphate compounds having a NASICON-type structure capable of occluding and releasing lithium ions [0139, instant specification].
Takano discloses using a negative electrode active material containing Li, V, and O with a Li:V ratio of 2.0 or more [0022, Takano]. Examples of the negative electrode active material include an active material represented by a general formula (Li[3-ax+(5-b)y] Ax ) (V1-y By )O4 , where A is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Mg, Al, Ga, and Zn; B is at least one element selected from the group consisting of Zn, Al, Ga, Si, Ge, P, and Ti; 0≤x≤1.0; 0≤y≤0.6; a is an average valence of A; and b is an average valence of B. In the general formula (Li[3-ax+(5-b)y] Ax ) (V1-y By )O4 , Li may be partially substituted with, for example, Na, K, Ca, Fe, Cr, or Co. Further, in the general formula (Li[3-ax+(5-b)y] Ax) (V1-y By )O4 , V may be partially substituted with, for example, Zn, Al, Ga, Sn, As, Mo, W, Fe, Cr, or Co [0023, Takano]. Specific examples of the negative electrode active material may include Li3 VO4 and Li3.2 V0.8 Si0.2 O4 [0024]. The negative electrode active material has, for example, preferably a βII -Li3 VO4 structure or a γII -Li3 VO4 structure, further preferably a γII -Li3 VO4 structure [0025, Takano].
The applicant discloses using a negative electrode layer is a layer capable of occluding and releasing metal ions, preferably a layer capable of occluding and releasing lithium ions. The negative electrode active material included the molar ratio of Li (lithium) to V (vanadium) is 2.0 or more [0058, instant specification]. The negative active material has the formula (Li[3−a×+(5−b)(1−y)] Ax )(V y B1−y )O4 [0060-0061, instant specification]. x has a relationship of 0≤x≤0.06, and is more preferably 0 and y has a relationship of 0.55≤y≤1.0, more preferably 0.8≤y≤1.0, is still more preferably 1 [0065-0066]. Specific examples of the negative electrode active material may include Li3 VO4 and Li3.2 V0.8 Si0.2 O4 [0076, instant specification]. Finally, the applicant discloses that the negative electrode material preferably has a βII -Li3 VO4 -type structure or a γII -Li3 VO4 -type structure [0080, instant specification].
Regarding claim 20, Takano as modified above discloses the solid-state battery, wherein the solid electrolyte layer and the positive electrode layer, and the solid electrolyte layer and the negative electrode layer, have sintered bodies sintered integrally with each other [0015, Takano].
Claim(s) 10-11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Takano as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yang (US20180013119A1).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Takano is silent to the solid-state battery, wherein the negative electrode layer includes a negative electrode current collector at an end surface of the negative electrode layer and that is constructed to be electrically connected to a negative electrode terminal.
However, Yang discloses a lithium ion battery with a negative electrode current collector (111) at an end surface of the negative electrode layer (112a) [fig. 4, Yang].
Prior to the effective filing dates, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Takano such that the negative electrode current collector is located at an end surface of the negative electrode layer as shown by Yang. Current collectors are common and a known technique within the art for collecting electrical current generated at the electrode. One would further find it obvious to connect the negative electrode current collector to a negative electrode terminal as this would allow one to productively use the current collected from the electrode for electronic devices.
Regarding claim 11, Modified Takano discloses the solid-state battery, wherein the negative electrode current collector (111) has an upper surface that is flush with an upper surface of the negative electrode layer (112a) and a lower surface that is flush with a lower surface of the negative electrode layer [fig. 4, Yang. ] in a laminating direction of the positive electrode layer (102a, 105), the solid electrolyte layer (120), and the negative electrode layer (112a, 115) [0070, 0057, 0087, fig. 4, Yang].
Annotated fig. 4 , Yang (Left) showing the lamination direction [0087, Yang] and (Right) showing the current collector being flush with an upper and lower surface (i.e. the top view surface is flush across all portions of the surface) of the electrode layer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See below of details.
After additional search and consideration, in addition to reviewing the instant specification the examiner has concluded that claim 1 as presently amended has not introduced allowable subject matter. As noted in the instant specification (and cited above in the rejection of claim 1) one can include a conductive additive with a volume percentage (e.g. 20%) and obtain an area ratio that approaches that volume percentage (as noted by the examiner and the applicant in table 4). Furthermore, after additional consideration, the examiner maintains that it would be obvious for Takano to be modified such that the conductive additive is uniformly mixed into the electrode layer. At which point a uniform mixture would maintain a uniform area ratio regardless of where the section view is taken.
The examiner maintains their rejection.
Conclusion
/QUINTIN D. ELLIOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724