DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kostenko (US Serial No. 2021/0394449), in view of Matzner et al. (US Serial No. 2019/0039321).
Regarding claim 17; Kostenko teaches a method of controlled polymerization of a target zone in a photopolymerizable medium for forming 3D objects [abs]. Specifically, Kostenko teaches a method of controlled polymerization of a target zone in a photopolymerizable medium comprising: a processor connectable to an exposure system for illuminating a target zone in a photopolymerizable medium receiving a data representation of a 3D model of an object and using the 3D model to determine volume elements of the target zone, the photopolymerizable medium including a photo-activation compound for activating polymerization of the medium based on a first illumination field of a first wavelength (first light) and a photo-deactivation compound for deactivating the polymerization in the medium based on a second illumination field of a second wavelength (second light) [0032], thus producing a 3D object. Kostenko teaches the illumination system exposes the photopolymerizable medium in a target zone in a reservoir (vat) [0137].
Kostenko teaches the photopolymerizable medium including a photo-activation compound for activating polymerization of the medium, however fails to explicitly teach ring-opening metathesis polymerization of a metathesis-active monomer.
Matzner et al. teaches digitally-controlled three-dimensional printing using ring-opening metathesis polymerization (ROMP), wherein the composition to be used in the present invention includes a ROMP monomer (e.g. unsaturated cyclic monomer; metathesis-active monomer) [0236-0241], a photolatent catalyst for initiating the ROMP reaction (photolatent metathesis catalyst) [0312-0333, 0547], a photosensitizer [0546-0547], and a ROMP inhibitor (slows down a ROMP reaction initiated by catalyst, i.e. deactivating species) [0232-0234]. Kostenko and Matzner et al. are analogous art because they are both directed to the same field of endeavor, namely controlled polymerization in three dimensional printing processes. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to employ the composition of Matzner et al., in the three dimensional printing method of Kostenko (wherein illumination of a first wavelength would activate ring-opening polymerization and illumination of a second wavelength would deactivate polymerization), and would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve three dimensional printed objects which exhibit good mechanical properties and combine both good toughness and high thermal resistance, as suggested by Matzner et al. [0013].
Regarding claims 18-21; Kostenko teaches the invention thus includes methods and systems for rapid three-dimensional fabrication, including a highly multidirectional illumination technique where a large number of illumination beams of variable intensity and are employed to concurrently initiate and/or inhibit a photopolymerization reaction in different parts of the volume of a photocurable resin allowing for an accurate confinement of the photopolymerization reaction within the boundaries of the target three-dimensional polymerization zone [0038]. The Examiner makes note that the context of “patterned” is not explicitly defined in the instant specification, thus light having a variable intensity is deemed to read on “patterned” light.
Regarding claims 22-24; Kostenko teaches continuous liquid interface printing (resin withdrawn from the vat continuously) [0003]. Kostenko teaches a large number of illumination beams of variable intensity and are employed to concurrently initiate and/or inhibit a photopolymerization reaction in different parts of the volume of a photocurable resin allowing for an accurate confinement of the photopolymerization reaction within the boundaries of the target three-dimensional polymerization zone [0038].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that the current claim is distinguishable from the combination of Kostenko and Matzner in that the current claim initiates and deactivates the photopolymerizable resin by the first and second light and does not require the necessary inhibitor as taught by Matzner to deactivated polymerization.
The Examiner points out that the claims of instant application are directed to a method for photopolymerization-based additive manufacturing comprising…”. The transitional term “comprising”, which is synonymous with “including,” “containing,” or “characterized by,” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., > Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (“like the term comprising,’ the terms containing’ and mixture’ are open-ended.”). Invitrogen Corp. v. Biocrest Mfg., L.P., 327 F.3d 1364, 1368, 66 USPQ2d 1631, 1634 (Fed. Cir. 2003). As such, the method as claimed does not exclude additional, unrecited elements (i.e. inhibitor), thus still reads on the limitations of the claim language.
As such, Kostenko in view of Matzner are still relied upon for rendering obvious the basic claimed method, as required by the instant claim language.
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767