DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 11/21/2025, claims 1, 7, 8, 12, and 18 have been amended, and claims 5, 6, and 15 are cancelled. Claims 4, 16, 19, and 20 were previously cancelled. Claims 1-3, 7-14, 17, and 18 are pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan et al. (CN 215838750U, cited on 06/05/2023 IDS, hereinafter Duan), in view of Wu et al. (CN 113545717A, hereinafter Wu), Gill et al. (US 2020/0022553, hereinafter Gill), Bo (CN 215227304U), and Zhang (DE 112020001864T5, hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Duan discloses a docking station for use in conjunction with a cleaning device (figs. 1 and 4, a base station main body 20 [corresponds to the recited docking station] is used with a cleaning robot 10 [corresponds to the recited cleaning device]), comprising:
a station body having a docking region and a guiding assembly on a side of the station body, the guiding assembly being in the docking region (see annotated Duan fig. 11 below), the docking region being configured to receive the cleaning device, the guiding assembly being configured to be in guiding fit with a mating assembly (second positioning part 14) of the cleaning device (fig. 21 and Duan English translation, p. 15:32-35, the first positioning part 60 is used for connecting with the second positioning part 14); and
a liquid feeding assembly on the station body, the liquid feeding assembly comprising a liquid feeding connector (main body part 51), the liquid feeding connector having a liquid outlet (joint part 53) oriented toward the docking region (see annotated Duan fig. 18 below),
wherein the liquid outlet is configured to be butted and communicated with a connector of the cleaning device under the guiding fit of the guiding assembly and the mating assembly (fig. 17 and Duan English translation, p. 12:26-28, the liquid feeding assembly of the base station is connected to the water replenishing port 16 of the cleaning robot when the robot is docked with the base station), but does not disclose the guiding assembly comprises a second guiding structure, the second guiding structure is located at a bottom of the docking region, and the second guiding structure is configured to be in guiding fit with a second mating structure of the mating assembly.
Wu teaches, in an analogous cleaning system field of endeavor, the guiding assembly comprises a second guiding structure, the second guiding structure is located at a bottom of the docking region, and the second guiding structure is configured to be in guiding fit with a second mating structure of the mating assembly (figs. 2 and 6, and Wu English translation, p. 8:23-31, a cleaning system comprises a base station 100 [corresponds to the recited docking station] and a robot 200. The base station comprises a guide block 1111 [corresponds to the recited second guiding structure] at a bottom of the base station and the robot comprises a matching guide block 1111 using a groove-shaped interface 201a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Duan to provide the second guiding structure for guided fitting as taught by Wu in order to ensure the robot docks to the base station accurately (Wu English translation, p. 8:29-31).
However, Duan as modified by Wu does not disclose the station body comprises a base and a cleaning bracket detachable on the base, the docking region is defined by the base, the cleaning bracket is located on a side of the docking region, and the second guiding structure is on the cleaning bracket.
Gill teaches, in an analogous cleaning system field of endeavor, the station body comprises a base and a cleaning bracket detachable on the base, the docking region is defined by the base, the cleaning bracket is located on a side of the docking region, and the second guiding structure is on the cleaning bracket (fig. 2 and ¶ 0087, a cleaning system comprises a docking station 200 and a robotic vacuum cleaner 202. The docking station 200 comprises a docking station dust cup 204 [corresponds to the recited base] and a base 206 [corresponds to the recited cleaning bracket]. As seen in annotated Gill fig. 2B below, the base 206 has a bracket form wherein a docking station suction inlet 216 can be coupled to it. The docking station suction inlet 216 is configured to be coupled with the robot 202. Thus, it is equivalent to the second guiding structure on the cleaning bracket. The docking region 15 of instant application refers to a side wall of the base facing the robot (¶ 0020). Thus, Gill also discloses a docking region on a sidewall of the docking station dust cup 204 [corresponds to the recited base] facing the robot, and the base 206 [corresponds to the recited cleaning bracket] is located on a side of the docking region to face the robot. As seen in fig. 2B and 8, the base 206 [corresponds to the recited cleaning bracket] is detachable from the docking station dust cup 204 [corresponds to the recited base]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Duan as modified by Wu to provide the detachable cleaning bracket as taught by Gill so that when a user requires service with the docking station, a part of the docking station can be removed for convenient service.
Duan as modified by Wu and Gill does not disclose the cleaning bracket comprises a filter, the docking region accommodates at least part of the filter, and the second guiding structure is on the filter.
Bo teaches, in an analogous cleaning system field of endeavor, the cleaning bracket comprises a filter, the docking region accommodates at least part of the filter, and the second guiding structure is on the filter (fig. 1 and Bo English translation, p. 6:15-25, a cleaning system comprises a cleaning robot and a water changing device. A lower part of the water changing device [corresponds to the recited docking station] includes a water changing port 2 having a sewage port 22. The sewage port 22 is added with a filter screen, and the water charging port 2 is configured to be fitted with the cleaning robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Duan as modified by Wu and Gill to provide the filter as taught by Bo in order to avoid foreign matter blocking pipeline or nozzle in a sewage tank (Bo English translation, p. 6:22-23).
Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, and Bo does not disclose the filter has an opening facing downwards and a bottom opposite to the opening.
Zhang teaches, in an analogous cleaning system field of endeavor, the filter has an opening facing downwards and a bottom opposite to the opening (fig. 6 and Zhang English translation, p. 14:24-27, a cleaning system comprises a supply station 70 [corresponds to the recited docking station] and a cleaning robot 100. The supply station 70 comprises a filter screen 782 protruding from a low side of the supply station. The filter screen 782 has openings toward a bottom of the supply station. The openings of the filter screen for filtering channels. The sewage port 22 of Bo can be combined with Zhang to have the filter screen opened downward of the docking station behind the water charging port 2. Claim recites “a bottom opposite to the opening”. Because the opening is at a bottom of the filter, the recited bottom can be considered simply as an upper side of the filter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, and Bo to provide the recited filter as taught by Zhang in order to keep water from contamination (Zhang English translation, p. 14:24-30).
Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, Bo, and Zhang teaches the second guiding structure is spaced apart from the liquid feeding connector, the second guiding structure is a guiding boss, and the guiding boss protrudes outwards from the bottom of the filter towards the liquid feeding connector (Wu fig. 6, the guide block 1111 [corresponds to the recited second guiding structure] of the base station 100 comprises a guiding boss which protrudes outward from the bottom of the docking region. It fits with a groove-shaped interface 201a of the robot 200. The main body part 51 [corresponds to the recited liquid feeding connector] of Duan is located at a space above from the bottom of the docking region. On the other hand, the guide block 1111 [corresponds to the recited second guiding structure] of Wu is disposed at a lower side of the docking region but above the filter 782 of Zhang. Therefore, the docking station of Duan as modified by Wu and Zhang would have the second guiding which is spaced apart from the liquid feeding connector, a guide block 111 would protrude from an upper side of the filter [corresponds to the recited bottom of the filter], and an upper surface of the guide block 111 would face the liquid feeding connector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, Bo, and Zhang to provide the second guiding structure as a guiding boss as taught by Wu in order to achieve secure connection between the docking station and the robot.
Annotated Duan Fig. 11
Annotated Duan Fig. 18
Annotated Gill Fig. 2B
Regarding claim 2, Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, Bo, and Zhang teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the guiding assembly comprises a first guiding structure (Duan, fig. 11, first positioning part 60), the docking region has an opening and is configured to receive the cleaning device through the opening (Duan, fig. 11, the docking region of the base station main body 20 [corresponds to the recited docking station] has an opening for the cleaning robot 10 to be placed for charging and replenishing water, and so on), and the first guiding structure comprises a guiding protrusion protruding from the side of the station body where the docking region is toward the opening of the docking region (Duan, fig. 11, the first positioning part 60 comprises protrusion from a side of the station body toward the opening), wherein the first guiding structure is spaced apart from the liquid feeding connector (see annotated Duan fig. 18 above).
Regarding claim 3, Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, Bo, and Zhang teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein the guiding protrusion is tapered, and a cross section of the guiding protrusion decreases along a direction from the side of the station body where the docking region is toward the opening of the docking region (Duan, fig. 18, the protrusion of the first positioning part 60 [corresponds to the recited first guiding structure] is tapered such that a cross section decreases along a direction from the side of the station body toward the opening).
Regarding claim 7, Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, Bo, and Zhang teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the second guiding structure is configured to be in guiding fit with the second mating structure comprising a guiding chute (Wu figs, 2 and 6, the guide block 1111 [corresponds to the recited second guiding structure] of the base station 100 and the groove-shaped interface 201a [corresponds to the recited second mating structure] of the robot 200, which comprises a guiding chute, fit together).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, Bo, and Zhang to provide the second guiding structure and the second mating structure as taught by Wu in order to achieve secure connection between the docking station and the robot.
Regarding claim 8, Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, Bo, and Zhang teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 7, wherein the cleaning bracket surrounds the side of the docking region (Gill, fig. 2, the base 206 [corresponds to the recited cleaning bracket] surrounds the side of the docking region), the filter protrudes from a side of the cleaning bracket facing toward the docking region, the filter has comprises a plurality of filtering strips spaced apart from each other at the opening, and a gap between two adjacent filtering strips defines a filtering channel (fig. 6 and Zhang English translation, p. 14:24-27, a cleaning system comprises a supply station 70 [corresponds to the recited docking station] and a cleaning robot 100. The supply station 70 comprises a filter screen 782 protruding from a low side of the supply station. The filter screen 782 has openings as filtering channels).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, Bo, and Zhang to provide the recited filter as taught by Zhang in order to keep water from contamination (Zhang English translation, p. 14:24-30).
Regarding claim 9, Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, Bo, and Zhang teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 1, further comprising a sealing member (Duan, fig. 18, sealing part 52), wherein the sealing member has a first end and a second end opposite to each other along a length direction of the sealing member, the first end of the sealing member is fitted over the liquid feeding connector (Duan, fig. 18, main body part 51), and the second end of the sealing member is configured to accommodate at least part of the connector of the cleaning device and allow the connector to be communicated with the liquid feeding connector when the cleaning device is parked in the docking region (see annotated Duan fig. 18 above and fig. 8, a first end of the sealing part 52 is fitted to the liquid feeding assembly, and a second end of the sealing part 52 accommodates a water replenishing port 16 of the cleaning robot),
the second end of the sealing member comprises a plurality of sealing ribs protruding along a radial direction of the sealing member, the plurality of sealing ribs is spaced apart along the length direction of the sealing member, and the plurality of sealing ribs has protrusion heights sequentially increasing from the second end of the sealing member to the first end of the sealing member (see annotated Duan fig. 18 above and Duan English translation, p. 14:20-25, the sealing part 52 is made of a soft material and comprises ribs wherein heights of the ribs are increasing from the second end to the first end of the sealing part).
Regarding claim 10, Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, Bo, and Zhang teaches the docking station as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the liquid feeding assembly further comprises a liquid feeding bracket, the liquid feeding bracket is connected to the station body, the station body has a through hole, and the liquid feeding connector is on the liquid feeding bracket and passes through the through hole into the docking region (a liquid feeding bracket is defined as shown in the annotated Duan fig. 18 above; fig. 19, a lower part of the base station main body 20 [corresponds to the recited station body] has a through hole or space for the liquid feeding bracket to be place proximate to the docking region)
Regarding claim 18, Duan discloses cleaning system, comprising:
a cleaning device (a cleaning robot 10), comprising:
a cleaning body comprising a mating assembly on a side of the cleaning body (fig. 7, a second positioning part 14 [corresponds to the recited mating assembly] is disposed on a side of the robot); and
a liquid guiding assembly on the cleaning body and comprising a connector (fig. 8, a water replenishing port 16), and
a docking station (a base station main body 20) comprising:
a station body having a docking region and a guiding assembly on a side of the station body, the guiding assembly being in the docking region (see annotated Duan fig. 11 above), the docking region being configured to receive the cleaning device, the guiding assembly being configured to be in guiding fit with the mating assembly (second positioning part 14) of the cleaning device (fig. 21 and Duan English translation, p. 15:32-35, the first positioning part 60 is used for connecting with the second positioning part 14); and
a liquid feeding assembly on the station body, the liquid feeding assembly comprising a liquid feeding connector (main body part 51), the liquid feeding connector having a liquid outlet (joint part 53) oriented toward the docking region (see annotated Duan fig. 18 above),
wherein the cleaning device is configured to enter the docking region of the docking station, and the connector is configured to be butted and communicated with the liquid outlet of the liquid feeding connector of the docking station under the guiding fit of the guiding assembly and the mating assembly (figs. 17 and 18, the water replenishing port 16 [corresponds to the recited connector] of the robot is connected to the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited liquid outlet] of the docking station when the robot is coupled to the docking station), but does not disclose the guiding assembly comprises a second guiding structure, the second guiding structure is located at a bottom of the docking region, and the second guiding structure is configured to be in guiding fit with a second mating structure of the mating assembly, and the mating assembly comprises a second mating structure, and the second mating structure is at a bottom of the cleaning body and configured to be in guiding fit with a second guiding structure of the docking station.
Wu teaches, in an analogous cleaning system field of endeavor, the guiding assembly comprises a second guiding structure, the second guiding structure is located at a bottom of the docking region, and the second guiding structure is configured to be in guiding fit with a second mating structure of the mating assembly (figs. 4 and 6, and Wu English translation, p. 8:23-31, a cleaning system comprises a base station 100 [corresponds to the recited docking station] and a robot 200. The base station comprises a guide block 1111 at a bottom of the base station and the robot comprises a matching guide block 1111 using a groove-shaped interface 201a), and
the mating assembly comprises a second mating structure, and the second mating structure is at a bottom of the cleaning body and configured to be in guiding fit with a second guiding structure of the docking station (figs. 4 and 6, and Wu English translation, p. 8:23-31, the robot 200 comprises the guide block 1111 using the groove-shaped interface 201a at a bottom of the robot for fitting with the guide block 1111 of the base station 100 [corresponds to the recited docking station]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Duan to provide the second guiding structure and the second mating structure for guided fitting as taught by Wu in order to ensure the robot docks to the base station accurately (Wu English translation, p. 8:29-31).
However, Duan as modified by Wu does not disclose the station body comprises a base and a cleaning bracket detachable on the base, the docking region is defined by the base, the cleaning bracket is located on a side of the docking region, and the second guiding structure is on the cleaning bracket.
Gill teaches, in an analogous cleaning system field of endeavor, the station body comprises a base and a cleaning bracket detachable on the base, the docking region is defined by the base, the cleaning bracket is located on a side of the docking region, and the second guiding structure is on the cleaning bracket (fig. 2 and ¶ 0087, a cleaning system comprises a docking station 200 and a robotic vacuum cleaner 202. The docking station 200 comprises a docking station dust cup 204 [corresponds to the recited base] and a base 206 [corresponds to the recited cleaning bracket]. As seen in annotated Gill fig. 2B below, the base 206 has a bracket form wherein a docking station suction inlet 216 can be coupled to it. The docking station suction inlet 216 is configured to be coupled with the robot 202. Thus, it is equivalent to the second guiding structure on the cleaning bracket. The docking region 15 of instant application refers to a side wall of the base facing the robot (¶ 0020). Thus, Gill also discloses a docking region on a sidewall of the docking station dust cup 204 [corresponds to the recited base] facing the robot, and the base 206 [corresponds to the recited cleaning bracket] is located on a side of the docking region to face the robot. As seen in fig. 2B and 8, the base 206 [corresponds to the recited cleaning bracket] is detachable from the docking station dust cup 204 [corresponds to the recited base]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the docking station of Duan as modified by Wu to provide the detachable cleaning bracket as taught by Gill so that when a user requires service with the docking station, a part of the docking station can be removed for convenient service.
Duan as modified by Wu and Gill does not disclose the cleaning bracket comprises a filter, the docking region accommodates at least part of the filter, and the second guiding structure is on the filter.
Bo teaches, in an analogous cleaning system field of endeavor, the cleaning bracket comprises a filter, the docking region accommodates at least part of the filter, and the second guiding structure is on the filter (fig. 1 and Bo English translation, p. 6:15-25, a cleaning system comprises a cleaning robot and a water changing device. A lower part of the water changing device [corresponds to the recited docking station] includes a water changing port 2 having a sewage port 22. The sewage port 22 is added with a filter screen, and the water charging port 2 is configured to be fitted with the cleaning robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Duan as modified by Wu and Gill to provide the filter as taught by Bo in order to avoid foreign matter blocking pipeline or nozzle in a sewage tank (Bo English translation, p. 6:22-23).
Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, and Bo does not disclose the filter has an opening facing downwards and a bottom opposite to the opening.
Zhang teaches, in an analogous cleaning system field of endeavor, the filter has an opening facing downwards and a bottom opposite to the opening (fig. 6 and Zhang English translation, p. 14:24-27, a cleaning system comprises a supply station 70 [corresponds to the recited docking station] and a cleaning robot 100. The supply station 70 comprises a filter screen 782 protruding from a low side of the supply station. The filter screen 782 has openings toward a bottom of the supply station. The openings of the filter screen for filtering channels. The sewage port 22 of Bo can be combined with Zhang to have the filter screen opened downward of the docking station behind the water charging port 2. Claim recites “a bottom opposite to the opening”. Because the opening is at a bottom of the filter, the recited bottom can be considered simply as an upper side of the filter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, and Bo to provide the recited filter as taught by Zhang in order to keep water from contamination (Zhang English translation, p. 14:24-30).
Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, Bo, and Zhang teaches the second guiding structure is spaced apart from the liquid feeding connector, the second guiding structure is a guiding boss, and the guiding boss protrudes outwards from the bottom of the filter towards the liquid feeding connector (Wu fig. 6, the guide block 1111 [corresponds to the recited second guiding structure] of the base station 100 comprises a guiding boss which protrudes outward from the bottom of the docking region. It fits with a groove-shaped interface 201a of the robot 200. The main body part 51 [corresponds to the recited liquid feeding connector] of Duan is located at a space above from the bottom of the docking region. On the other hand, the guide block 1111 [corresponds to the recited second guiding structure] of Wu is disposed at a lower side of the docking region but above the filter 782 of Zhang. Therefore, the docking station of Duan as modified by Wu and Zhang would have the second guiding which is spaced apart from the liquid feeding connector, a guide block 111 would protrude from an upper side of the filter [corresponds to the recited bottom of the filter], and an upper surface of the guide block 111 would face the liquid feeding connector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, Bo, and Zhang to provide the second guiding structure as a guiding boss as taught by Wu in order to achieve secure connection between the docking station and the robot.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan in view of Wu, Gill, Bo, and Zhang, as applied to claim 10 above, in view of Wang et al. (US 2020/0367714, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 11, Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, Bo, and Zhang teaches the cleaning device as in the rejection of claim 10, but does not disclose the liquid feeding assembly further comprises an elastic retractable member having two ends connected to the liquid feeding bracket and the liquid feeding connector respectively.
Wang teaches, in an analogous cleaning system field of endeavor, the liquid feeding assembly further comprises an elastic retractable member having two ends connected to the liquid feeding bracket and the liquid feeding connector respectively (fig. 2 and ¶ 0035, 0052, a cleaning system comprises a floor sweeping robot 1 and a dust collection device 2 [corresponds to the recited docking station]. The dust collection device 2 includes a communication assembly for fluidic communication between the robot and the collection device. Reset springs 232 [correspond to the recited elastic retractable member] are mounted on the communication assembly on either side of the bracket 213, and are coupled to trigger elastic sheets 21, 22 which come in contact with corresponding alignment sheets of the floor sweeping robot)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Duan as modified by Wu, Gill, Bo, and Zhang to provide the elastic retractable member as taught by Wang. When a robot docks to a docking station, it will squeeze the contacting structure of the docking station. The retractable member such as springs help restoring the contacting structure into a position after the robot leaves the docking station (Wang ¶ 0052).
Claims 12-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan et al. (CN 215838750U, cited on 06/05/2023 IDS, hereinafter Duan), in view of Wu et al. (CN 113545717A, hereinafter Wu) and Jeong et al. (US 2022/0047139, hereinafter Jeong).
Regarding claim 12, Duan discloses a cleaning device, for use in conjunction with a docking station (figs. 1 and 4, a base station main body 20 [corresponds to the recited docking station] is used with a cleaning robot 10 [corresponds to the recited cleaning device]), comprising:
a cleaning body comprising a mating assembly on a side of the cleaning body (fig. 7, a second positioning part 14 [corresponds to the recited mating assembly] is disposed on a side of the robot), the mating assembly being configured to be in guiding fit with a guiding assembly of the docking station (Duan English translation, p. 15:32-35, the second positioning part 14 of the robot 10 is connected to the first positioning part 60 of the docking station 20); and
a liquid guiding assembly on the cleaning body and comprising a connector (fig. 8, a water replenishing port 16), the connector being configured to be butted and communicated with a liquid feeding connector of the docking station (fig. 17, the water replenishing port 16 of the robot is connected to the main body part 51 [corresponds to the recited liquid feeding connector] of the docking station when the robot is coupled to the docking station),
wherein the cleaning device is configured to enter a docking region of the docking station, and the connector is configured to be butted and communicated with a liquid outlet of the liquid feeding connector of the docking station under the guiding fit of the guiding assembly and the mating assembly (figs. 17 and 18, the water replenishing port 16 [corresponds to the recited connector] of the robot is connected to the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited liquid outlet] of the docking station when the robot is coupled to the docking station), but does not disclose the mating assembly comprises a second mating structure, and the second mating structure is at a bottom of the cleaning body and configured to be in guiding fit with a second guiding structure of the docking station.
Wu teaches, in the analogous cleaning system field of endeavor, the mating assembly comprises a second mating structure, and the second mating structure is at a bottom of the cleaning body and configured to be in guiding fit with a second guiding structure of the docking station (figs. 4 and 6, and Wu English translation, p. 8:23-31, the robot 200 comprises the guide block 1111 using the groove-shaped interface 201a at a bottom of the robot for fitting with the guide block 1111 of the base station 100 [corresponds to the recited docking station]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning device of Duan to provide the second mating structure for guided fitting as taught by Wu in order to ensure the robot docks to the base station accurately (Wu English translation, p. 8:29-31).
Duan as modified by Wu teaches the second mating structure is spaced apart from the connector of the liquid guiding assembly. The water replenishing port 16 [corresponds to the recited connector of the liquid guiding assembly] of Duan is located at a space above from a bottom of the robot. On the other hand, the interface 201a [corresponds to the recited second mating structure] of Wu is located at the bottom of the robot. Therefore, the robot of Duan as modified by Wu would have the second mating structure of the robot would be spaced apart from the connector of the liquid guiding assembly.
However, Duan as modified by Wu does not disclose the cleaning device further comprises a sensor, and the sensor is arranged at a bottom of the guiding groove, the sensor is configured to be triggered by the first guiding structure of the docking station to send a detection signal when the cleaning device is parked in the docking region of the docking station.
Jeong teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the cleaning device further comprises a sensor, and the sensor is configured to be triggered to send a detection signal when the cleaning device is parked in the docking region of the docking station (¶ 0132, a docking terminal 130 of a cleaning robot 10 is connected to a charging terminal 25 of a docking station 20. A sensor is disposed on the docking terminal 130 which enables determining that docking is completed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning device of Duan as modified by Wu to provide the sensor as taught by Jeong. By indication the completion of docking, the robot and the docking station can execute preparation of next cleaning operation so that effective cleaning can be continued automatically.
Duan as modified by Wu and Jeong does not disclose the sensor is at a bottom of the guiding groove and the sensor is configured to be triggered by the first guiding structure. However, Jeong discloses the sensor is disposed at the docking terminal 130 of the cleaning robot, and the sensor is triggered by the charging terminal 25 of the docking station. While the sensor can be a contact sensor, it can be disposed at any structures of the cleaning robot and the docking station as long as those structures make physical contact as the cleaning robot docks to the docking station. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning device of Duan as modified by Wu to provide the sensor at the docking terminal as taught by Jeong since the applicant has not disclosed that the sensor being disposed at the bottom of the guiding groove solves any problem or is for a particular reason. It appears that the claimed invention would perform equally well with the sensor being disposed at the docking terminal in triggering the detection signal that the cleaning robot is parked in the docking region of the docking station.
Regarding claim 13, Duan as modified by Wu and Jeong teaches the cleaning device as in the rejection of claim 12, wherein the mating assembly comprises a first mating structure configured to be in guiding fit with a first guiding structure of the guiding assembly, wherein a direction in which the cleaning device drives into the docking region of the docking station is a forward direction of the cleaning device, and the side of the cleaning body where the mating assembly is located is opposite to the docking station in the forward direction of the cleaning device (Duan English translation, p. 15:32-35 and fig. 7 and 21, the second positioning part 14 of the robot is considered to be the recited first mating structure to be coupled with the first positioning part 60 of the docking station; As seen in figs. 11 and 21, the first positioning part 60 and the second positioning part 14 are coupled along a forward direction of the robot driving into the docking station).
the first mating structure comprises a guiding groove, and the guiding groove is recessed from the side of the cleaning body where the mating assembly is (Duan, fig. 7, the second positioning part 14 [corresponds to the recited first mating structure] is formed as a groove which is recessed from the side of the robot],
wherein the first mating structure is spaced apart from the connector of the liquid guiding assembly (Duan fig. 7, the second positioning part 14 is disposed next to the water replenishing port 16 [corresponds to the recited connector of the liquid guiding assembly], thus there is a space between them because the groove of the second positioning part 14 and the aperture of the water replenishing part 16 are not coincident).
Regarding claim 14, Duan as modified by Wu and Jeong teaches the cleaning device as in the rejection of claim 12, wherein a cross section of the guiding groove increases along the forward direction of the cleaning device (Duan fig. 7, a cross section of the second positioning part 14 increases along the forward direction of the robot in order to be fitted with the tapered first positioning part 60 of the docking station).
Regarding claim 17, Duan as modified by Wu and Jeong teaches the cleaning device as in the rejection of claim 12, wherein the connector comprises a connecting pipe body configured to be communicated with the liquid feeding connector and a receiving portion at an end of the connecting pipe body, and at least part of the connecting pipe body extends into the receiving portion (see fig. 4 and annotated Duan fig. 8 below, the water replenishing port 16 [corresponds to the recited connector] of the robot is in a pipe form and it is coupled to a receiving portion of the robot and the main body part 51 [ corresponds to the recited liquid feeding connector] of the docking station).
Annotated Duan Fig. 8
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Duan, Wu, Gill, Bo, and Zhang do not teach or suggest the second guiding structure is located on the filter, and the guiding boss protrudes outwards from the bottom of the filter towards the liquid feeding connector. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant asserts the Bo’s water exchange port 2 (second guiding structure) does not protrude from a bottom of the sewage port 22 (filter). However, the second guiding structure as shown in fig. 2 of the instant application is a protrusion on the docking station to be fitted with a robot. There is no stated reason to have the guiding boss of the second guiding structure to be protruded from the filter. On the other hand, there is no reason to have the filter as a protrusion (tank shape) on the docking station. The filter is used for passing collected sewage water. It can be located anywhere on the docking station as long as the water can be collected to a bottom of the docking station. Bo teaches a structure (exchange port 2) on the docking station to be fitted with a robot and the exchange port has the sewage port 22. Regarding the direction of the protrusion, it is taught by combining teachings of Duan, Wu, and Zhang. Claims of the instant application refer the bottom of the filter is an upper side of the filter as discussed in the rejections of claims 1 and 18. When combining the liquid feeding connector of Duan, the second guiding structure of Wu, and the filter of Zhang, they teach the second guiding structure would protrude from the upper side of the filter toward the liquid feeding connector.
Applicant argues repeatedly that references do not disclose the recited features. However, Duan teaches the robot and the docking station having the guiding assembly and the liquid feeding assembly, Bo and Zhang teach the filter, and Wu teaches the second guiding structure. The part can be rearranged in a different position (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)). In addition, the test of reference combination for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2145(III)). While the cited references teach the recited components, each component is combined to teach the docking station of the instant application.
Applicant argues Jeong does not teach or suggest the cleaning device further comprises a sensor, and the sensor is arranged at a bottom of the guide groove. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Jeong does disclose a sensor, but the sensor is located at a charging terminal, not at the bottom of the guide groove. The purpose of having the sensor is to determine whether the robot is parked at the docking station. Applicant does not provide any particular reason to dispose the sensor only at the bottom of the guide groove. Thus, the rejection was made that it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to provide the sensor at the docking terminal because it performs equally well to determine the parking status of the robot.
For the reasons above, the arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723