DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 10/23/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the two are not mutually exclusive. This is not found persuasive because Invention I and II are mutually exclusive. Applicant contends that the limitations precluded from claim 1 and 17 have not been identified. However, it is made clear in the restriction which specific limitation is not found in each claim. The fact that these specific limitations are not included in each claim results in both independent or distinct inventions, and serious burden on the Examiner for at least one of,
(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their
different classification;
(b) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching
different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search
queries);
(c) the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to
another invention;
(d) the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35
U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 112(b).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Burnam (US 20230355991).
Regarding claim 1, Burnam teaches a wearable blood pressure measurement device (see fig. 1 and ¶ [0026], smart watch with sensor for blood pressure (BP) and watch position on arm), comprising:
a first set of one or more sensors (fig. 1, BP sensor 12);
a second set of one or more sensors (fig. 1, accelerometer 13); and
a processor configured to, obtain, from the first set of one or more sensors, a first set of one or more sensor outputs indicative of a blood pressure of a wearer of the wearable blood pressure measurement device (¶ [0038], BP sensor 12 outputs measurement); and
obtain, contemporaneously with obtaining the first set of one or more sensor outputs and from the second set of one or more sensors, a second set of one or more sensor outputs indicative of a set of one or more conditions under which the first set one or more sensor outputs is obtained (¶ [0039], “blood pressure is measured in a variety of positions, e.g. elevated, heart level and depressed height position of the arm and the measured value is stored in each arm position” (emphasis added)).
Regarding claim 2, Burnam teaches wherein the processor is configured to, determine the blood pressure of the wearer using the first set of one or more sensor outputs; and adjust the blood pressure of the wearer using the second set of one or more sensor outputs (¶ [0072], “Monitor blood pressure, correct for time of day and arm position”).
Regarding claim 3, Burnam teaches wherein the processor is configured to, determine the blood pressure of the wearer using the first set of one or more sensor outputs; and determine a confidence level for the blood pressure of the wearer using the second set of one or more sensor outputs (¶ [0073-74] and fig. 6, after correcting the BP measurement, it is compared with known corrected BP data. The comparison establishes a confidence level to determine whether the measurement is accurate with confidence).
Regarding claim 17, Burnam teaches a method of determining a blood pressure, comprising: obtaining, from a first set of one or more sensors in a first electronic device, a first set of one or more sensor outputs indicative of a blood pressure (¶ [0028], “the smart watch or smartphone may be linked via blue tooth to a blood pressure sensor embodied in a finger ring” indicating that the finger ring BP device is the first sensor and the watch is a second sensor);
obtaining, contemporaneously with obtaining the first set of one or more sensor outputs and from a second set of one or more sensors, a second set of one or more sensor outputs indicative of a set of one or more conditions under which the first set one or more sensor outputs is obtained, at least one sensor in the second set of one or more sensors in a second electronic device (¶ [0039,0072], the watch monitors position of the arm to then correct the BP );
determining the blood pressure of a user using the first set of one or more sensor outputs (¶ [0072], BP is determined);
and adjusting the blood pressure of the user using the second set of one or more sensor outputs (¶ [0072], the BP measurements are corrected based on at least time of day and arm position).
Regarding claim 18, Burnam teaches wherein adjusting the blood pressure of the user using the second set of one or more sensor outputs comprises:
determining a position of a body part of the user (¶ [0039], “The smart watch 10 is also subject to secondary calibration based on a dynamic measurement of position of arm”); and
adjusting the blood pressure of the user in response to the position of the body part of the user (¶ [0072], “Monitor blood pressure, correct for time of day and arm position”).
Regarding claim 19, Burnam teaches wherein adjusting the blood pressure of the user using the second set of one or more sensor outputs comprises:
determining a position of the first electronic device on a body part of the user (¶ [0039], “The smart watch 10 is also subject to secondary calibration based on a dynamic measurement of position of arm”, “he watch 10 on an arm held above the heart will have a lower measured blood pressure than when the arm is held below the heart, because of the differences in the distance from the pressure source, the heart, and the effect of gravity at step 22. The blood pressure is measured in a variety of positions, e.g. elevated, heart level and depressed height position of the arm and the measured value is stored in each arm position. The data sampling is repeatedly performed during a predetermined number of days (e.g. three) before therapy begins to create a database for the monitored patient as determined.” The provided texts teach that the position of the wrist, is the position of the BP device since the BP device is located on the wrist and therefore the position); and
adjusting the blood pressure of the user in response to the position of the first electronic device on the body part of the user (¶ [0072], “Monitor blood pressure, correct for time of day and arm position,” since the arm position is the position of the device, the BP is corrected based on the position of the device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burnam, as applied to claim 1, in view of Hyde et al. (US 20170164876), hereinafter Hyde.
Regarding claim 4, Burnam teaches where the second set of one or more sensors includes a timer associated with at least one of the second sensors (¶ [0072], “Monitor blood pressure, correct for time of day and arm position based on prior data at step”.
Burnam fails to teach wherein the second set of sensors includes an acoustic transducer; obtaining the second set of one or more sensor outputs includes obtaining a time of emission of an ultrasonic pulse emitted by the at least one acoustic transducer and at least one time of receipt of at least one echo of the ultrasonic pulse; and the processor is configured to, cause the at least one acoustic transducer to emit the ultrasonic pulse and listen for the at least one echo of the ultrasonic pulse; and determine, using the time of emission of the ultrasonic pulse and the at least one time of receipt of the at least one echo, a position of the blood pressure measurement device on the wearer of the wearable blood pressure measurement device.
Hyde teaches a physiological and motion monitoring device 100 comprising an electronics layer 107, formed of electronics assembly 113 that includes interaction devices 780 (¶ [0082-84] and abstract, interaction devices include blood pressure sensor, etc.). Additionally, device 100 comprises a range sensor (ultrasound, e.g. acoustic, or electromagnetic, e.g., optical) that is configured to generate pulse waves to determine the “orientation, motion, rotation, and/or position of the attachment surface [body part] and/or epidermal electronics device [100]” based on the time-of-arrival of the pulse waves (¶ [0066,0113,0119,0125, 0132], “monitor one or more physiological conditions of a subject and one or more movements or positions of a body portion of the subject”). It is noted, the time-of-arrival is the time it takes for an emitted pulse, e.g., ultrasound, electromagnetic, to travel from the transducer, reflect off the object, and return to the receiver, in a time dependent manner, as known to one of ordinary skill in the art. The data generated along with other calculations aid in “a better estimate of unknown variables than one based on one measurement or data point. Additionally, signal noise and inaccuracies may be reduced.” (¶ [0111]).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Burnam, such the second set of sensors includes an acoustic transducer; obtaining the second set of one or more sensor outputs includes obtaining a time of emission of an ultrasonic pulse emitted by the at least one acoustic transducer and at least one time of receipt of at least one echo of the ultrasonic pulse; and the processor is configured to, cause the at least one acoustic transducer to emit the ultrasonic pulse and listen for the at least one echo of the ultrasonic pulse; and determine, using the time of emission of the ultrasonic pulse and the at least one time of receipt of the at least one echo, a position of the blood pressure measurement device on the wearer of the wearable blood pressure measurement device, as taught by Hyde, as it would merely be combining prior art elements (medical monitoring devices) according to known methods (comprising acoustic sensors to determine position of device in relation to the user) to yield predictable results. In addition, the modification can aid in reducing signal noise and inaccuracies. Moreover, Burnam understands the importance to “ establish a mean, standard deviation (SD), other statistical measures of variability of blood pressure as a function of arm position” to aid in determining BP (¶ [0039] of Burnam).
Regarding claim 6, Burnam teaches where the second set of one or more sensors includes a timer associated with at least one of the second sensors (¶ [0072], “Monitor blood pressure, correct for time of day and arm position based on prior data at step” (emphasis added)).
Burnam fails to teach wherein the second set of sensors includes an active optical sensor; obtaining the second set of one or more sensor outputs includes obtaining a time of emission of an optical pulse emitted by the at least one active optical sensor and at least one time of receipt of at least one reflection of the optical pulse; and the processor is configured to, cause the at least one active optical sensor to emit the optical pulse and monitor for the at least one reflection of the optical pulse; and determine, using the time of emission of the optical pulse and the at least one time of receipt of the at least one reflection, a position of the blood pressure measurement device on the wearer of the wearable blood pressure measurement device.
Hyde teaches a physiological and motion monitoring device 100 comprising an electronics layer 107, formed of electronics assembly 113 that includes interaction devices 780 (¶ [0082-84] and abstract, interaction devices include blood pressure sensor, etc.). Additionally, device 100 comprises a range sensor (ultrasound, e.g. acoustic, or electromagnetic, e.g., optical) that is configured to generate pulse waves to determine the “orientation, motion, rotation, and/or position of the attachment surface [body part] and/or epidermal electronics device [100]” based on the time-of-arrival of the pulse waves (¶ [0066,0113,0119,0125, 0132], “monitor one or more physiological conditions of a subject and one or more movements or positions of a body portion of the subject”). It is noted, the time-of-arrival is the time it takes for an emitted pulse, e.g., ultrasound, electromagnetic, to travel from the transducer, reflect off the object, and return to the receiver, in a time dependent manner, as known to one of ordinary skill in the art. The data generated along with other calculations aid in “a better estimate of unknown variables than one based on one measurement or data point. Additionally, signal noise and inaccuracies may be reduced.” (¶ [0111]).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Burnam, such that the second set of sensors includes an active optical sensor; obtaining the second set of one or more sensor outputs includes obtaining a time of emission of an optical pulse emitted by the at least one active optical sensor and at least one time of receipt of at least one reflection of the optical pulse; and the processor is configured to, cause the at least one active optical sensor to emit the optical pulse and monitor for the at least one reflection of the optical pulse; and determine, using the time of emission of the optical pulse and the at least one time of receipt of the at least one reflection, a position of the blood pressure measurement device on the wearer of the wearable blood pressure measurement device, as taught by Hyde, as it would merely be combining prior art elements (medical monitoring devices) according to known methods (comprising acoustic sensors to determine position of device in relation to the user) to yield predictable results. In addition, the modification can aid in reducing signal noise and inaccuracies. Moreover, Burnam understands the importance to “ establish a mean, standard deviation (SD), other statistical measures of variability of blood pressure as a function of arm position” to aid in determining BP (¶ [0039] of Burnam).
Regarding claim 8, Burnam teaches a wireless communication interface (¶ [0028], the smart watch or smartphone may be linked via blue tooth to a blood pressure sensor embodied in a finger ring).
Burnam fails to teach wherein the processor is configured to transmit, to a remote device, at least one of the first set of one or more sensor outputs or the blood pressure; and the second set of one or more sensor outputs.
Hyde teaches transmitting the information gathered from the sensors (first set, BP, second set out outputs) to a remote device (¶ [0148]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Burnam, such that the processor is configured to transmit, to a remote device, at least one of the first set of one or more sensor outputs or the blood pressure; and the second set of one or more sensor outputs, as taught by Hyde, as it would merely be combining prior art elements (monitoring devices) according to known methods (that transmit sensor data and calculated information) to yield predictable results.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burnam in view of Hyde, as applied to claim 4, further in view of Sato et al. (US 9474485), hereinafter Sato.
Regarding claim 5, Burnam-Hyde fail to teach a blood pressure cuff; wherein, each acoustic transducer in the at least one acoustic transducer has a known position with respect to the blood pressure cuff; and the position of the blood pressure measurement device on the wearer of the blood pressure measurement device is a position of the blood pressure cuff on an arm of the wearer of the blood pressure measurement device.
Sato teaches a blood pressure measurement device that includes a cuff and a distance sensor (ultrasound transducer, e.g., sound waves, or electromagnetic transmitter, e.g., light waves) to detect the distance and position of the device in relation to the user (column 4, lines 40-58, and abstract). One skilled in the art understands that components, e.g., sensor embedded, in a housing would require knowing the position of each component in relation to each other for the purpose of manufacturing, this is well known in the medical diagnostics field, but also, in the general design and development of electronic devices. The position of the BP measurement device is the position of the cuff on the arm since the purpose of the device is to correctly measure the BP in relation to the position of the heart/wrist of the patient and are part of the same housing (column 8, lines 24-31, and figs. 1 and 3).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Burnam-Hyde, such that device comprises a blood pressure cuff; wherein, each acoustic transducer in the at least one acoustic transducer has a known position with respect to the blood pressure cuff; and the position of the blood pressure measurement device on the wearer of the blood pressure measurement device is a position of the blood pressure cuff on an arm of the wearer of the blood pressure measurement device, as taught by Sato, to aid in improving the blood pressure measurement accuracy (column 1, lines 37-41). Additionally, the modification is using known techniques (cuff and positional information of the components in relation to the user) to improve similar products (BP measurement devices) in the same way.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burnam, as applied to claim 1, in view of Hyde and Sato.
Regarding claim 7, Burnam teaches determining a position of a body part on which the wearable device is work with respect to hear of the wearer of the wearable blood pressure measurement device (¶ [0039], “[S]mart watch 10 is also subject to secondary calibration based on a dynamic measurement of position of arm,” “blood pressure is measured in a variety of positions, e.g. elevated, heart level and depressed height position of the arm,” “data sampling is repeatedly performed during a predetermined number of days (e.g. three) before therapy begins to create a database for the monitored patient,” “ measures of variability of blood pressure as a function of arm position.” That is, the dynamic position of the arm (body part) is determined with respect to the heart level (also considered the torso) of the user).
Burnam fails to teach the second set of one or more sensors includes an inertial measurement unit (IMU);the second set of one or more sensor outputs includes a gravity angle and the processor is configured to, determine, using an output of the IMU, the gravity angle; and determine, using the gravity angle, at least one of: an orientation of the wearable blood pressure measurement device; a position or orientation of a body part on which the wearable blood pressure measurement device is worn; or a position or orientation of the wearable blood pressure measurement device with respect to a torso or heart of the wearer of the wearable blood pressure measurement device.
Hyde teaches an integrated circuit comprising accelerometers, gyroscopes, inclinometers (¶ [0069], “The sensors may also be part of or supported by integrated circuits,” which is interpreted to define an IMU). The sensor outputs are used to determine “ the direction of gravity,” “orientation of epidermal electronics device 100 relative to the direction of gravity,” and “to measure pitch, roll, and/or yaw”(¶ [0075]). That is the IMU sensor outputs are used to determine the gravity angle, such that the orientation of the BP device is determined.
Sato teaches that the position of the body part on which the BP measurement device is located is important, and must be within a certain range from the user’s heart (column 8, lines 24-49, “The height of your wrist is significantly off from the height of your heart. Please bring your wrist to a higher (lower) position” and “As such, the blood pressure measurement device according to one or more embodiments of the present invention can also improve precision in the blood pressure measurement”).
Burnam further teaches that the position of the BP device on the wrist is relevant and must be accounted for determining BPf (¶ [0039], “blood pressure is measured in a variety of positions, e.g. elevated, heart level and depressed height position of the arm and the measured value is stored in each arm position” (emphasis added); ¶ [0072], “Monitor blood pressure, correct for time of day and arm position”).
As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Burnam-Hyde, such that the second set of one or more sensors includes an inertial measurement unit (IMU);the second set of one or more sensor outputs includes a gravity angle and the processor is configured to, determine, using an output of the IMU, the gravity angle; and determine, using the gravity angle, at least one of: an orientation of the wearable blood pressure measurement device; a position or orientation of a body part on which the wearable blood pressure measurement device is worn; or a position or orientation of the wearable blood pressure measurement device with respect to a torso or heart of the wearer of the wearable blood pressure measurement device, as taught by Hyde and Sato, to aid an improving precision in blood measurement. Additionally, the modification is merely using a known technique (using an IMU to calculate gravity angle to determine orientation and/or position of the body part and/or BP device) to improve similar devices (BP measurement devices) in the same way.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burnam, as applied to claim 1, in view of Lec (US 20130144176).
Regarding claim 20, Burnam fails to teach wherein adjusting the blood pressure of the user using the second set of one or more sensor outputs comprises: determining a movement or activity of the user; and adjusting the blood pressure of the user in response to the movement or activity of the user.
Lec teaches a non-invasive blood pressure sensor system comprising a BP sensor, accelerometer, and gyroscope (¶ [0071] and abstract). The system is configured to correct the BP readings during movement of the users arm (¶ [0071]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the device of Burnam, such that the BP adjustment is based on the determined movement or activity of the user, as taught by Lec, to aid in providing reliable information as to the BP of the user and prevent false alarms (¶ [0071] of Lec).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gu et al. teaches determining the artery position, as the pressure pulse as generated at the artery of the user diffuses more easily than the optical pulse within the tissue of the user. (US 20120316448 A1)
Colburn et al. teaches a general technique for correcting cuffless blood pressure estimates in real time by compensating for external pressure. (US 20210378529 A1)
Lading et al. teaches a blood pressure measurement device may initially be calibrated for the correct arterial properties when a measuring session is started. (US 11337657 B2)
/MARTIN NATHAN ORTEGA/Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /TSE W CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791