DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Amendment filed 1 July 2026 is acknowledged. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 10-16 remain withdrawn from consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 1, “the first capacitor and the second capacitor arranged in the first direction; [and] the first transistor and the second transistor arranged in the first direction,” in combination with, “a second conductor layer extending in the first direction,” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the subject matter of claim 1, “the first capacitor and the second capacitor arranged in the first direction; [and] the first transistor and the second transistor arranged in the first direction,” in combination with, “a second conductor layer extending in the first direction,” must find support in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation, “the first capacitor and the second capacitor arranged in the first direction; [and] the first transistor and the second transistor arranged in the first direction.” Claim 1 further recites, “a second conductor layer extending in the first direction.” These limitations in combination are not supported by the disclosure as originally filed. As best understood by Examiner, the second conductor layer (231) extends in a direction perpendicular to the arrangement direction of the first and second capacitors (MCP) and the first and second transistors (MTR). For the purposes of applying art, because the aforementioned elements exist in a three-dimensional space, they will be considered as arranged or extending in at least three directions.
Claims 2-9 and 17-20 are rejected for merely containing the flaws of the parent claim.
Claims 1-9 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation, “the first capacitor and the second capacitor arranged in the first direction; [and] the first transistor and the second transistor arranged in the first direction.” Claim 1 further recites, “a second conductor layer extending in the first direction.” It is unclear how the second conductor layer (231) extends in the same direction as the first and second capacitors (MCP) and the first and second transistors (MTR). As best understood by Examiner, the second conductor layer (231) extends in a direction perpendicular to the arrangement direction of the first and second capacitors (MCP) and the first and second transistors (MTR). For the purposes of applying art, because the aforementioned elements exist in a three-dimensional space, they will be considered as arranged or extending in at least three directions.
Claims 2-9 and 17-20 are rejected for merely containing the flaws of the parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandhu et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0027477, hereinafter Sandhu ‘477) in view of Han (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0037326, hereinafter Han ‘326) and Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0312552, hereinafter Kim ‘552), all three of record.
With respect to claim 1, Sandhu ‘477 teaches (FIG. 1) a semiconductor memory device substantially as claimed, comprising:
a first conductor layer (48) extending along a plane, the plane including a first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction ([0025]);
a first capacitor (12 associated with memory cell 62a) ([0011]);
a second capacitor (12 associated with memory cell 62b) ([0011]); and
a first transistor (16 associated with memory cell 62a) electrically connected to the first capacitor (12 associated with memory cell 62a) ([0013]),
a second transistor (16 associated with memory cell 62b) electrically connected to the second capacitor (12 associated with memory cell 62b) ([0013]),
wherein the first capacitor (12 associated with memory cell 62a) includes:
a first electrode (18 associated with memory cell 62a) extending in a third direction, the third direction crossing each of the first direction and the second direction, the first electrode electrically connected to the first transistor (16 associated with memory cell 62a) ([0014]);
a dielectric layer (20 associated with memory cell 62a) disposed on an outer periphery of the first electrode (18 associated with memory cell 62a), and on the first conductive layer (48) ([0014]);
a second electrode (22) disposed on an outer periphery of the dielectric layer (20 associated with memory cell 62a), the second electrode electrically connected to the first conductor layer (48), the dielectric layer disposed on an outer periphery of the second electrode (no frame of reference is supplied in the claim from which to define an inner or outer periphery, and thus the second electrode 22 and the dielectric layer 20 are disposed on the outer peripheries of each other) ([0014]); and
a first insulating layer (40 associated with memory cell 62a) disposed between the first electrode (18 associated with memory cell 62a) and the first conductor layer (48), the first insulating layer (e.g. silicon dioxide) containing a material different from a material contained in the dielectric layer (20; e.g. zirconium oxide, hafnium oxide, tantalum oxide, aluminum oxide, strontium titanate (STO), etc.) ([0018, 0021]),
wherein the second capacitor (12 associated with memory cell 62b) includes:
a third electrode (18 associated with memory cell 62b) extending in the third direction, the third electrode electrically connected to the second transistor (16 associated with memory cell 62a), the dielectric layer (20 associated with memory cell 62a) disposed on an outer periphery of the third electrode ([0014]); and
a second insulating layer (40 associated with memory cell 62b) disposed between the third electrode (18 associated with memory cell 62b) and the first conductor layer (48) ([0018, 0021]).
Thus, Sandhu ‘477 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of:
a second conductor layer extending in the first direction; and
the first capacitor and the second capacitor arranged in the first direction;
wherein the first transistor is electrically connected to the second conductor layer;
wherein the second transistor is electrically connected to the second conductor layer, the first transistor and the second transistor arranged in the first direction; and
wherein the second capacitor includes the second electrode.
However, Han ‘326 teaches (FIGs. 10A and 10B) a semiconductor memory device comprising a second conductor layer (81), capacitors (CAP1 and CAP2), and transistors (defined at channel 72) extending in a first direction (I), wherein the transistors are electrically connected to the second conductor layer to function as a word line or bit line of said transistors ([0079, 0085]).
Further, Kim ‘552 teaches (FIG. 3A) first and second capacitors sharing a second electrode (207) ([0035]) in an arrangement that improves the characteristics and yield of the capacitors ([0095]), and allows for the interconnection between said capacitors without an additional metallization or etching step.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the semiconductor memory device of Sandhu ‘447 further comprising a second conductor layer extending in the first direction; and the first capacitor and the second capacitor arranged in the first direction; wherein the first transistor is electrically connected to the second conductor layer; and wherein the second transistor is electrically connected to the second conductor layer, the first transistor and the second transistor arranged in the first direction as taught by Han ‘326 to function as a word line or bit line of said first and second transistors; and to have formed the second capacitor of Sandhu ‘477 including the second electrode as taught by Kim ‘552 in an arrangement that improves the characteristics and yield of the capacitors, and allows for the interconnection between said capacitors without an additional metallization or etching step.
With respect to claim 2, Sandhu ‘477 teaches wherein the first insulating layer (40 associated with memory cell 62a) is in contact with the first electrode (18 associated with memory cell 62a) and the first conductor layer (48) ([0021]).
With respect to claim 3, Sandhu ‘477 teaches wherein the first insulating layer (40 associated with memory cell 62a) contains silicon oxide ([0021]).
With respect to claim 4, Sandhu ‘477 teaches wherein the first insulating layer (40 associated with memory cell 62a) and the first electrode (18 associated with memory cell 62a) have substantially the same shape when viewed from the third direction ([0014, 0021]).
With respect to claim 5, Sandhu ‘477, Han ‘326, and Kim ‘552 teach the device as described in claim 1 above, but primary reference Sandhu ‘477 does not explicitly teach the additional limitation wherein the second electrode includes a first portion and a second portion, the second portion covered with the first portion, the first portion in contact with the first conductor layer, the second portion containing a material different from a material contained in the first portion.
However, Kim ‘552 teaches (FIG. 3A) a second electrode (207 and 207L) including a first portion (207L) and a second portion (207), the second portion covered with the first portion, and the second portion containing a material different from a material contained in the first portion ([0042]) to reduce the resistance of the electrode ([0079]). When the bilayer second electrode (207 and 207L) of Kim ‘552 is applied to the second electrode (22) of Sandhu ‘477, this would result in the first portion (207L of Kim ‘552) being in contact with the first conductor layer (48 of Sandhu ‘477).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second electrode of Sandhu ‘477, Han ‘326, and Kim ‘552 including a first portion and a second portion, the second portion covered with the first portion, the first portion in contact with the first conductor layer, the second portion containing a material different from a material contained in the first portion as taught by Kim ‘552 to reduce the resistance of the electrode.
With respect to claim 6, Sandhu ‘477 teaches wherein a cross section of the first electrode (18 associated with memory cell 62a) perpendicular to the third direction has a circular shape (see FIG. 25; [0066]).
With respect to claim 7, Sandhu ‘477, Han ‘326, and Kim ‘552 teach the device as described in claim 1 above, but primary reference Sandhu ‘447 does not explicitly teach the additional limitation wherein the first transistor includes a channel layer containing an oxide semiconductor.
However, Han ‘326 teaches (FIG. 10B) transistors connected to capacitors (CAP1 and CAP2) including a channel layer (42A and 72) containing an oxide semiconductor as a material having high electron mobility, low leakage current, and low deposition temperature ([0046, 0080]). Further, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) and In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.07.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the first transistor of Sandhu ‘477, Han ‘326, and Kim ‘552 including a channel layer containing an oxide semiconductor as taught by Han ‘326 as an art-recognized material suitable for the intended use as a channel material having high electron mobility, low leakage current, and low deposition temperature.
With respect to claim 17, Sandhu ‘477 teaches wherein the columnar first electrode (18 associated with memory cell 62a) includes an inner electrode (24 associated with memory cell 62a) and an outer electrode (26 associated with memory cell 62a), the outer electrode being outside of the inner electrode and being of a material different from that of the inner electrode ([0016]).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandhu ‘477, Han ‘326, and Kim ‘552 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tanaka et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0271341, hereinafter Tanaka ‘341) of record.
With respect to claim 8, Sandhu ‘477, Han ‘326, and Kim ‘552 teach the device as described in claim 1 above, with primary reference Sandhu ‘477 teaching the additional limitation further comprising: circuits (14 associated with memory cell 62a) disposed on a substrate, wherein the first transistor (16 associated with memory cell 62a) is electrically connected to the circuits ([0012]).
Thus, Sandhu ‘477 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of wherein the circuits include a sense amplifier.
However, Tanaka ‘341 teaches (FIG. 8) circuits formed in a substrate (11) below transistors and capacitors and including a sense amplifier (SA0-SA3) to amplify memory signals ([0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the circuits of Sandhu ‘477, Han ‘326, and Kim ‘552 including a sense amplifier as taught by Tanaka ‘341 to amplify memory signals.
With respect to claim 9, Sandhu ‘477 teaches wherein the first transistor (16 associated with memory cell 62a) is disposed between the circuits (14 associated with memory cell 62a) and the first capacitor (12 associated with memory cell 62a) ([0012]).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandhu ‘477, Han ‘326, and Kim ‘552 as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of Kawasaki et al. (US Patent 5,240,558, hereinafter Kawasaki ‘558) of record.
With respect to claim 18, Sandhu ‘477, Han ‘326, and Kim ‘552 teach the device as described in claim 17 above with the exception of the additional limitation wherein the inner electrode is of an amorphous silicon material.
However, Kawasaki ‘558 teaches (FIG. 8) one of tungsten or amorphous silicon as an art-recognized capacitor electrode (34) material (col. 3, ln. 58 – col. 4, ln. 4). It has been held as obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose. Smith v. Hayashi, 209 USPQ 754 (Bd. of Pat. Inter. 1980). See MPEP 2144.06 II. One of ordinary skill in the art could substitute the tungsten capacitor inner electrode (24 associated with memory cell 62a) material of Sandhu ‘477 with the amorphous silicon capacitor electrode (34) material of Kawasaki ‘558 with a reasonable expectation of success. Further, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) and In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.07.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the inner electrode of Sandhu ‘477, Han ‘326, and Kim ‘552 of an amorphous silicon material as taught by Kawasaki ‘558 as an art-recognized substitute material suitable for the intended use as a capacitor electrode material.
With respect to claim 19, Sandhu ‘477 teaches wherein the outer electrode (26 associated with memory cell 62a) is of a titanium nitride material ([0016]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sandhu ‘477, Han ‘326, and Kim ‘552 as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Lee (US Patent 5,846,859, hereinafter Lee ‘859) of record.
With respect to claim 20, Sandhu ‘477, Han ‘326, and Kim ‘552 teach the device as described in claim 5 above with the exception of the additional limitation wherein the second portion is of an amorphous silicon material.
However, Lee ‘859 teaches an amorphous silicon carbide capacitor electrode to improve the reliability of the capacitor, to provide excellent resistance to electrode oxidation, and to prevent the diffusion of oxygen atoms through a grain boundary (col. 1, ln. 66 – col. 2, ln. 9). Further, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) and In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.07.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second portion of Sandhu ‘477, Han ‘326, and Kim ‘552 of an amorphous silicon material as taught by Lee ‘859 as an art-recognized material suitable for the intended use as a capacitor electrode material that improves the reliability of the capacitor, provides excellent resistance to electrode oxidation, and prevents the diffusion of oxygen atoms through a grain boundary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1 July 2026 with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (remarks, p. 8) that the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the newly presented limitation of claim 1, “the first capacitor and the second capacitor arranged in the first direction; [and] the first transistor and the second transistor arranged in the first direction.” Applicant maintains that as shown in FIGs. 10A and 10B, the first capacitor (CAP1) and the second capacitor (CAP2) are not arranged in a direction along which the element 81 extends. FIG. 10B is a cross-section cut along line D-D’ of FIG. 10A, but as shown in FIG. 10A, the extending direction of element (81) is different from line D-D’. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Han ‘326 teaches (FIGs. 10A and 10B) a semiconductor memory device comprising a second conductor layer (81), capacitors (CAP1 and CAP2), and transistors (defined at channel 72) extending in a first direction (I) ([0079, 0085]). The second conductor layer (81) of Han ‘326 extends in a first direction (I) (see FIG. 10A). The transistors (defined at channel 72) of Han ‘328 are arranged in the first direction (I) (see FIG. 9A). The capacitors (CAP1 and CAP2) are arranged in the first direction (I), a second direction (II), and a third direction (III) (see FIG. 10A). Accordingly, Han ‘326 teaches, “the first capacitor and the second capacitor arranged in the first direction; [and] the first transistor and the second transistor arranged in the first direction,” as claimed for the reasons set forth in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893