DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-20, 22-29 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-20, 22-29 is/are rejected.
Claim(s) 4, 21, 30 is/are cancelled by Applicant.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Objection to Amendment / Specification
Applicant’s Response filed 12/12/2025 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Applicant’s Response filed 12/12/2025 contains pages referencing:
• amendments to the Abstract asserting the presentation of a new Abstract (Applicant’s Response, page 2);
• amendments to the Specification asserting the replacement and deletion of unspecified lines and paragraphs (Applicant’s Response, page 3);
• amendments to the Drawings asserting the presentation of replacement figures (Applicant’s Response, page 4).
It is unclear whether Applicant intended to amend these portions of the disclosure as originally filed (with the amendments being inadvertently omitted), or whether pages 2-4 of Applicant’s Response filed 12/12/2025 were included in error.
Appropriate clarification and correction are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 (AIA )
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-20, 22-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
• WEBER ET AL (US 2019/0315991),
in view of DOMEY ET AL (US 2015/0225285),
and in view of HAYATA ET AL (US 2012/0208915),
and in view of KRAUSE ET AL (US 2003/0019864).
and in view of HILL ET AL (US 2008/0218539),
and in view of KONDO ET AL (US 2006/0155005),
and in view of UMAKOSHI ET AL (US 2020/0407579).
WEBER ET AL ‘991 discloses decorative printed panels useful as components for appliances, wherein the printed panels comprise:
• a transparent glass substrate (1);
• a transparent adhesion-promoting layer (3) (corresponding to the recited “transparent layer” or the recited “first transparent layer”) (e.g., but not limited to, an acrylic-based adhesion-promoting composition, etc.);
• a first curable coloring layer (51) (corresponding to the recited “color layer”) (e.g., but not limited to, an acrylic-based coloring composition, etc.);
• a second curable coloring layer(s) (52) (corresponding to the recited “white layer”) (e.g., but not limited to, an acrylic-based coloring composition, etc.);
• optionally one or more additional coloring layer(s);
• a cover layer (7), wherein the cover layer (7) can be opaque and colored, wherein the color can bright or light, thereby increasing the color intensity of the first coloring layer (51) (corresponding to the recited “concealing layer”) (e.g., an acrylic-based composition, etc.), wherein an intervening layer between the cover layer (7) (corresponding to the recited “concealing layer”) and a second curable coloring layer (52) (corresponding to the recited “white layer”) is not required (corresponding to the recited “directly disposed” or “in direct contact”);
wherein the first coloring layer (51), additional coloring layer(s) (52), and the cover layer (7) are viewed through the transparent substrate (1). The various layers are applied by known digital printing methods (e.g., ink-jet printing; laser printing; etc. utilizing electronic or digital printing templates (corresponding to the recited “color information”)). (Figure 1-2, 6-7, etc.; paragraph 0003-0004, 0008-0009, 0012-0016, 0021, 0033-0035, 0038-0041, 0045, 0047-0051, 0058-0065, 0068-0069, 0082-0093, 0099-0101, etc.) However, the reference does not specifically discuss the color(s) of coloring layer(s) (52).
DOMEY ET AL ‘285 discloses that it is well known in the art to provide high-quality printing on glass, wherein the printed glass comprises:
• a transparent glass substrate (e.g., soda lime glass, etc.);
• an adhesion-promoting layer (e.g., but not limited to, silane compounds; etc.) (corresponding to the recited “transparent layer” or the recited “first transparent layer”);
• a first ink layer (e.g., a UV-curable ink-jet ink layer, which may be transparent; etc.) (corresponding to the recited “color layer”);
• a second or more ink layer(s) which can be an opaque ink layer (e.g., solid white or other suitable colors, etc.) (corresponding to the recited “white layer”), which selectively reduces or eliminates transparency of the transparent substrate and/or to improve clarity of the image of the first curable ink-jet layer; etc.;
• an optional additional colored backing or overprint layer (e.g., white, black, or other suitable colors) (corresponding to the recited “concealing layer”) which selectively reduces or eliminates transparency of the transparent substrate and/or to improve clarity of the image of the first curable ink-jet layer and/or to provide visual “pop”; etc.;
wherein the printed image is viewed through the transparent substrate. (Figure 1, 3-4, 6, etc.; paragraph 0001-0010, 0029-0033, 0035-0036, 0040-0041, 0043, 0052-0053, etc.)
HAYATA ET AL ‘915 discloses that it is well known in the art to utilize radiation-curable colorless ink layers in printed images in order to improve adhesion, resistance to fading, gloss, and/or other properties (e.g., scratch resistance, abrasion resistance, hardness, etc.), wherein the colorless ink layers can be applied under and/or over a colored image. (paragraph 0007-0010, 0037-0039, etc.)
KRAUSE ET AL ‘864 discloses that it is well known in the art to provide a white or gray or metallic background layer adjacent to a colored and/or lustrous decorative coating layer applied to the rear-facing surface (the side away from the user) of a glass substrate in order to obtain specific aesthetic or visual effects. (paragraph 0050-0051, 0085-0087, etc.)
HILL ET AL ‘539 discloses that it is well known in the art, for an printed color image (26) intended to be viewed through a transparent substrate (10), to apply one or more white layer(s) (24) as a background layer over the color layer (26; 61-64) applied to the transparent substrate (10), wherein the white layer(s) (24) are further coated with an optional silver or gray layer (22) and/or an optional black layer (20) as a known method of improving the apparent whiteness of white layer(s) (24),
in order to provide reverse-printed images with excellent visibility and color contrast. (Figure 6C-6D; paragraph 0059-0060, 0065, 0075, etc.)
KONDO ET AL ‘005 discloses that it is well known in the art to utilize white inkjet inks with (in a CIELAB color space): a lightness index L* > 90; and chroma indexes of -2 < a* < +2 and -5 < b* < +5; wherein the white inkjet ink is capable of achieving a transmission density of 0.05 or less, in known white inkjet ink printing applications -- e.g., as a background for printed color images on transparent substrates, wherein: (1) the color image is first printed on the transparent substrate; followed by (2) one or more white layer(s) are printed on top on color image; (i.e., a back printing process) in order to provide the printed color image with sufficient contrast, distinct colors, and high visibility. The reference further teaches that the white inkjet inks of KONDO ET AL ‘005 are radiation-curable acrylic-based inks. (paragraph 0002, 0006-0007, 0009, 0015, 0021-0022, 0039-0042, 0072-0073, 0168, etc.)
UMAKOSHI ET AL ‘579 discloses that it is well known in the art to incorporate polyester resins into radiation-curable inkjet ink compositions in order to improve adhesion to a variety of substrates (e.g., glass, plastics, etc.) while maintaining low viscosity for inkjet printing. (paragraph 0001-0004, 0007-0010, 0013-0026, 0044-0045, 0050, 0054, etc.)
Regarding claims 1, 5-11, 17-19, 22-23, 25, 28-29, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a white layer as the second coloring layer(s) (52) (corresponding to the recited “white layer”) as suggested by DOMEY ET AL ‘285 and HILL ET AL ‘539 and KONDO ET AL ‘005 in the printed panels of WEBER ET AL ‘991 in order to enhance the color intensity and clarity of images or designs provided by the first coloring layer (51) (corresponding to the recited “color layer”) as suggested by HILL ET AL ‘539 and KONDO ET AL ‘005.
Further regarding claims 1, 3, 11, 13, 17, 25, 27, one of ordinary skill in the art would have applied an additional opaque, solid colored cover layer (7) (corresponding to the recited “concealing layer”) with a white or gray or silvery (corresponding to the recited “gray color”) coloration (as suggested by HILL ET AL ‘539 and KRAUSE ET AL ‘864) directly adjacent to a white second curable coloring layer(s) (52) (corresponding to the recited “white layer”) in the printed panels of WEBER ET AL ‘991 in order to provide specific visual or aesthetic effects (e.g., visual distinctness; enhanced color or whiteness appearance; etc. as suggested by HILL ET AL ‘539 and KRAUSE ET AL ‘864) and/or to provide privacy or security for contents located behind the color panel.
Further regarding claim 1, 11, 17, 25, one of ordinary skill in the art would have utilized known pure white acrylic-based inkjet inks with high, neutral whiteness as disclosed in KONDO ET AL ‘005 to form a white second coloring layer(s) (52) (corresponding to the recited “white layer”) in the printed panels of WEBER ET AL ‘991 and thereby provide a high contrast background for the first coloring layer (51) (corresponding to the recited “color layer”) of WEBER ET AL ‘991 which improves and enhances the visual appearance of the first coloring layer (51) (corresponding to the recited “color layer”) as suggested by DOMEY ET AL ‘285 and HILL ET AL ‘539 and KONDO ET AL ‘005.
Further regarding claims, 1, 11, 17, 25, one of ordinary skill in the art would have utilized a high opacity (as characterized by a light transmittance of 10% or less) pure white second coloring layer(s) (52) (corresponding to the recited “white layer”) in the printed panels of WEBER ET AL ‘991 (e.g., by using a known white inkjet ink as disclosed in KONDO ET AL ‘005 which is capable of producing white ink layers with very low transmission density (e.g., 0.05 or less), which corresponds to low light transmittance) in order to: (i) reduce or eliminate undesired transparency (as suggested by DOMEY ET AL ‘285); and/or (ii) to prevent the additional opaque, solid colored cover layer (7) (corresponding to the recited “concealing layer”) from undesirably shifting the tone of the pure white second coloring layer(s) (52) (corresponding to the recited “white layer”) in the printed panels of WEBER ET AL ‘991, thereby maintaining the intended visual effect and design; so that: (1) adverse effects on the desired clarity and/or contrast and/or coloration of the first coloring layer (51) (corresponding to the recited “color layer”) of WEBER ET AL ‘991 are avoided; and/or (2) specific predetermined aesthetic effects and/or security effects (e.g., to protect the identity of items located behind the printed panel, etc.) can be obtained.
Further regarding claims 1, 11, 17, 25, one of ordinary skill in the art would have incorporated effective amounts of known adhesion-promoting polyester resins as suggested by UMAKOSHI ET AL ‘579 into the transparent adhesion-promoting layer (3) (corresponding to the recited “transparent layer” or the recited “first transparent layer”) in the printed panels of WEBER ET AL ‘991 in order to further enhance adhesion between transparent substrate (1) and the first coloring layer (51) (corresponding to the recited “color layer”).
Regarding claims 2, 12, 20, 24, 26, one of ordinary skill in the art would have incorporated an additional colorless adhesion-promoting ink layer as an additional ink layer (corresponding to the recited “second transparent layer”) between the first coloring layer (51) (corresponding to the recited “color layer”) and the second coloring layer (52) (corresponding to the recited “white layer”) in the printed panels of WEBER ET AL ‘991 in order to improve adhesion between the first and second coloring layers and/or to reducing fading and/or discoloration in the second coloring layer (as suggested by HAYATA ET AL ‘915).
Regarding claim 8, one of ordinary skill in the art would have utilized known UV-curable ink-jet ink compositions to form at least the coloring layer (51) (corresponding to the recited “color layer”) in the printed panels of WEBER ET AL ‘991.
Regarding claim 9, one of ordinary skill in the art would have used known laser printing methods (e.g., utilizing toners) to form at least the coloring layer (51) (corresponding to the recited “color layer”) in the printed panels of WEBER ET AL ‘991.
Regarding claims 11-16, one of ordinary skill in the art would have utilized the printed panels of WEBER ET AL ‘991 as conventional components for appliances (e.g., doors, housings, main body, etc.).
Claim(s) 2, 12, 20, 24, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
• WEBER ET AL (US 2019/0315991), in view of DOMEY ET AL (US 2015/0225285), and in view of HAYATA ET AL (US 2012/0208915), and in view of KRAUSE ET AL (US 2003/0019864), and in view of HILL ET AL (US 2008/0218539), and in view of KONDO ET AL (US 2006/0155005), and in view of UMAKOSHI ET AL (US 2020/0407579),
as applied above in claims 1-3, 5-20, 22-29,
and further in view of KAMEN (US 2003/0109599).
KAMEN ‘599 discloses that it is well known in the art to utilize UV-curable, UV-blocking ink layers on transparent substrates (e.g., glass, etc.) in order to prevent damage and deterioration caused by ultraviolet radiation passing through said transparent substrates. The reference further discloses that it is well known in the art that adhesion promoting agents can be incorporated into the UV-curable, UV-blocking ink layers in order to improve adhesion properties. (paragraph 0001-0004, 0006-0009, 0013-0018, 0035-0037, 0043, 0046, 0058-0061, 0065, etc.)
Regarding claims 2, 12, 20, 24, 26, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an additional colorless ink layer with UV-blocking properties (as disclosed in KAMEN ‘599) as an additional ink layer (corresponding to the recited “second transparent layer”) between the first coloring layer (51) (corresponding to the recited “color layer”) and the second coloring layer (52) (corresponding to the recited “white layer”) in the printed panels of WEBER ET AL ‘991 in order to improve adhesion between the first and second coloring layers in addition to reducing fading and/or discoloration in the second coloring layer (52) (corresponding to the recited “white layer”) caused by UV radiation (as suggested by HAYATA ET AL ‘915).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over:
• WEBER ET AL (US 2019/0315991), in view of DOMEY ET AL (US 2015/0225285), and in view of HAYATA ET AL (US 2012/0208915), and in view of KRAUSE ET AL (US 2003/0019864), and in view of HILL ET AL (US 2008/0218539), and in view of KONDO ET AL (US 2006/0155005), and in view of UMAKOSHI ET AL (US 2020/0407579),
as applied above in claims 1-3, 5-20, 22-29,
and further in view of EWE (US 2020/0282754),
and further in view of HILL ET AL (US 6,267,052).
EWE ‘754 discloses that it is well known in the art to apply colored images to glass substrates using laser printing with color toners. (paragraph 0001-0002, 0012-0026, 0032-0033, 0035-0036, etc.)
HILL ET AL ‘052 discloses that it is well known in the art to form digitally printed reverse-print images on transparent substrates (e.g., panels, etc.), wherein the reverse-print images comprise:
• a transparent substrate (14);
• a clear first layer (15) receptive to a reverse-printed design layer (11);
• a reverse-printed design layer (11) formed using digital printing (e.g., inkjet printing; electrostatic printing with toner; etc.);
• a first background color layer (12) (e.g., a white background layer);
• an optional second background color layer (13) (e.g., a black or dark background layer);
wherein the images are viewed through the transparent substrate (14). (Figure 10A-10D, etc.; line 30-61, col. 4; line 25, col. 13 to line 63, col. 14; line 12-46, col. 16; etc.)
Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use known alternative digital printing methods (e.g., laser printing utilizing toners, etc.) as suggested by EWE ‘754 and HILL ET AL ‘052 to form at least the coloring layer (51) (corresponding to the recited “color layer”) in the printed panels of WEBER ET AL ‘991.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
(A) Applicant argues that “because the color consumers see on displays is "color-on-white" (on a white background), placing a white layer on the rear side of the actual color panel in the same manner may help minimize the visual color difference between the color viewed by users and the actual product color. That is, the white layer may function not merely as an opaque background layer but as an optical element determining color reproduction stability.” Applicant further argues that the claimed invention addresses “a fundamentally different technical problem from the opaque layers or white/black overprint layers intended to conceal internal components as intended by Weber, Domey, and Krause, and the cited references do not consider the perspective of color reproduction stability at all.”
However, in response to applicant's arguments, the fact that applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). Applicant has not provided evidence of criticality and/or unexpected results commensurate in scope with the present claims from the recited white color and light transmittance.
(B) Applicant argues that the Examiner “provides no reference to any of the
cited art and appears to be no more than a conclusory statement” with respect to previous claim 4. Applicant further argues that ‘none of the cited references disclose or suggest at least the presently claimed features of (1) "the white layer having a white color satisfying L*= 90 to 100, a*= -5.0 to 5.0, and b*= -5 to 5 (where L* is brightness and a* and b* are chromaticity) in a CIE LAB color space" and (2) the white layer having "a visible light transmittance of 10% or less".’ Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the Claim Amendments filed 12/12/2025.
(C) Applicant argues that with respect to UMAKOSHI ET AL ‘579, “nowhere does the Office Action refer to at least the foregoing feature of previous claim 10 of "the white layer includes a polyacryl-based white ink" in the detailed rejection analysis. Accordingly, the Office Action may be deficient in at least not providing a "full development of reasons rather than by a mere conclusion" as required by MPEP §707.07(g).” However, Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the Claim Amendments filed 12/12/2025, in particular KONDO ET AL ‘005.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ARAI (US 2004/0189772) disclose the use of white background (including pure white) layers in inkjet printed images.
WANG ET AL (US 2017/0107388) discloses the use of white backgrounds under or behind printed images in order to enhance the color performance of the ink image.
The General Information telephone number for Technology Center 1700 is (571) 272-1700.
February 7, 2026
/Vivian Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787