DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This action is in response to the papers filed July 16, 2025. Currently, claims 1-9, 11-17, 19, 25, 27-28 are pending. Claims 11-17, 19, 25, 27-28 have been withdrawn as drawn to non-elected subject matter.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-9 in the paper filed July 16, 2025 is acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
This application claims priority to CHINA 202111029341.8, filed September 1, 2021.
It is noted that a translation of the foreign document has not been received.
Drawings
The drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (BBA General Subjects, Vol. 1863, 1235-1242, 2019).
Han teaches culturing tumor cells MCF7 (mammary adenocarcinoma), SW480 and SW620 (colorectal adenocarcinoma cells) with CPT (camptothecin), an apoptosis inducer. The apoptosis inducer CPT was cultured with the tumor cells at 10M for 24 or 48 hours (limitations of Claims 8-9). Han teaches extracellular DNA released by cells can be detected in vitro cell culture medium (page 1237, col. 2). Han teaches
Han also teaches cells were collected at three different time points (page 1236, col. 1). Supplementary Figure 1C illustrates cellular DNA for the different cells with CPT at the 5, 24 and 48 time points (limitations of Claim 4-5). Camptothecin is an apoptosis inducer that binds to topoisomerase-DNA complex and causes DN double strand break (limitations of Claims 2-3, 7).
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marques et al. (European J. of Cancer, Vol. 127, pages 130-138, January 31, 2020).
Marques teaches induction of apoptosis increased sensitivity to detect cancer mutations in plasma. Specifically, Marques teaches doxetaxel was cultured with lung cancer cells and xenografted mice (abstract). Marques teaches performing ctDNA analysis following the treatment. Increasing docetaxel concentrations were used, including 10uM (page 131, col. 2). Marques teaches ctDNA was assessed both in vitro and in vivo (page 132, col. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (BBA General Subjects, Vol. 1863, 1235-1242, 2019) in view of Yang et al. (J. of Cellular and molecular Medicine, Vol. 25, pages 801-812, December 1, 2020).
Han teaches culturing tumor cells MCF7 (mammary adenocarcinoma), SW480 and SW620 (colorectal adenocarcinoma cells) with CPT (camptothecin), an apoptosis inducer. The apoptosis inducer CPT was cultured with the tumor cells at 10M for 24 or 48 hours (limitations of Claims 8-9). Han teaches extracellular DNA released by cells can be detected in vitro cell culture medium (page 1237, col. 2). Han teaches Han also teaches cells were collected at three different time points (page 1236, col. 1). Supplementary Figure 1C illustrates cellular DNA for the different cells with CPT at the 5, 24 and 48 time points (limitations of Claim 4-5). Camptothecin is an apoptosis inducer that binds to topoisomerase-DNA complex and causes DN double strand break (limitations of Claims 2-3, 7).
Han does not teach the apoptosis inducer is gracillin.
However, Yang teaches gracillian shows potent efficacy against colorectal cancer and stimulates apoptosis in human CRC cells. Gracillin significantly reduces viability and migration and stimulates apoptosis in human CRC cells (abstract). Yang teaches SW480 cells were used and apoptosis was induced by gracillian. Yang teaches 10uM of gracillian induces apoptosis of SW480 cells (Figure 1 c).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the apoptosis inducer CPT in the method of Han with the apoptosis inducer gracillin. The ordinary artisan would have appreciated gracillian and CPT were both apoptosis inhibitors and could have been substituted one for another and the results of the substitution would have been predictable. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the CPT apoptosis inducer with another apoptosis inducer, namely gracillian, because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results were reasonably predictable.
Conclusion
No claims allowable over the art.
/JEANINE A GOLDBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682
August 12, 2025