DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication filed on 8/20/2025.
Claims 1,4-11, and 14-20 are pending.
Claims 1,4-11 and 14-20 are rejected.
Response to Amendments
This communication is in response to Applicant’s reply filed under 3 CFR 1.111 on 8/20/2025. Claims 1 and 11 were amended, claims 3 and 13 were canceled, and claims 1,4-11 and 14-20 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4,5,7-11,14,16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US Pub. 2020/0301720)(C1 hereafter) in view of Colon et al. (US Pub. 2021/0058383)(C2 hereafter) in further view of Nehrenz et al. (US Pub. 2015/0005011)(N1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1,11 and 20, C1 teaches a household appliance (i.e. electronic device [refer Fig. 2; 102] can be an appliance)[paragraph 0194] comprising:
at least one ultra wideband (UWB) (short range communications can be done using UWB)[paragraph 0067] antenna (antennas are used to communication between a first electronic device and a second electronic device)[paragraph 0050];
a UWB [paragraph 0067] communication module [refer Fig. 3; 320] configured to perform short-range wireless communication with a user terminal (i.e. second electronic device)[paragraph 0063];
a network communication module (i.e. communication unit) configured to access a network and wirelessly transmit and receive data (the communication unit includes a wireless communication module to communicate with a cellular network)[paragraph 0063];
a memory [refer Fig. 3; 330] storing one or more instructions [paragraph 0064]; and
at least one processor connected to the memory [refer Fig. 3; 310], the at least one processor is configured to execute the one or more instructions [paragraph 0060] to:
receive a device connection request signal through UWB communication (i.e. short range communication that includes UWB)[refer paragraph 0067] from the user terminal [paragraph 0052];
establish a UWB communication channel [paragraph 0067] between the household appliance and the user terminal [paragraph 0055];
receive network access information to access a network (account related information that includes network provider and service provider account related information)[paragraph 0070] from the user terminal through the established UWB communication channel (the electronic device can obtain account information from another electronic device using UWB)[paragraph 0067]; and
establish a network connection (i.e. to a server)[refer Fig. 2; 108] for the household appliance to access the network based on the received network access information [paragraph 0085].
However, C1 doesn’t expressly disclose obtain location information of the user terminal and establishing a UWB communication channel between the household appliance and the user terminal based on the obtained location information, to establish the UWB communication channel between the household appliance and the user terminal based on the obtained location information, determining whether the coordinates representing the location information of the user terminal are within a first region from the household appliance and establish the UWB communication channel between the household appliance and the user terminal when the coordinates are determined to be within the first region from the household appliance.
C2 discloses the use of location information of a mobile device to be compared to location data to predefined secure location definitions in order to identify that a device is in a trusted location [paragraph 0013], based upon the comparison results, the authentication process can determine whether to allow a mobile device to have access to requested resources or services [paragraph 0014].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of C1 for determining whether a device is positioned at a certain distance and angle [refer C1; paragraph 0141] to incorporate authentication based upon predefined locations as taught by C2. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of quickly securing access network resources in a secure location [refer C2; paragraph 0041].
However, C1 in view of C2 fails to disclose that to obtain the location information of the user terminal, measure an angle at which the device connection request signal is received through a first UWB antenna and a second UWB antenna included in the household appliance and based on the measured angle, obtain coordinates representing the location information of the user terminal.
N1, in the field of location aware smart device communications [refer Abstract], discloses that a device, with multiple antennas, may receive a transmitted signal and using the angle of arrival of the transmitted signal to calculate the location of the transmitting device [paragraph 0066], the location information is defined as coordinate location information [paragraph 0065].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of C1 for a device that can use UWB for communications [refer C1; paragraph 0067] and determines whether a device is positioned at a certain distance and angle [refer C1; paragraph 0141] in view of C2 to incorporate the determination of the location of a transmitting device based upon angle of arrival measurements received at multiple antenna as taught by N1. One would be motivated to do so to provide an accurate means of calculating the location of a transmitting device in a wireless environment [refer N1; paragraph 0066].
Regarding claim 4, C1 doesn’t expressly disclose that the network access information comprises information about an access point (AP) that is accessible, a password with respect to the AP, and a security setting.
C2 discloses that account information used for retrieving account information includes username, password and security information [paragraph 0031], and secure location information can include wireless access points in a geographic location [paragraph 0051].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of C1 for providing an account information that includes login information [refer C1; paragraph 0109] to incorporate the identification of pertinent account and access information that includes security information for authentication as taught by C2. One would be motivated to do so to provide extra security [refer C2; paragraph 0004].
Regarding claims 5 and 14, C1 teaches to receive the network access information to access the network from the user terminal [paragraph 0085], receive access information related to a Wi-Fi network that the user terminal is accessing (i.e. computer network)[paragraph 0049].
Regarding claims 7 and 16, C1 teaches to receive the network access information to access the network from the user terminal through the established UWB communication channel [paragraph 0085], receive, from the user terminal, user account identification information for a server connection [paragraph 0066].
Regarding claims 8 and 17, C1 teaches to receive the network access information to access the network from the user terminal through the established UWB communication channel, receive attribute information (i.e. real-time location service positioning) of the household appliance from the user terminal [paragraph 0141].
Regarding claims 9 and 18. The household appliance of claim 17, wherein the attribute information of the household appliance comprises: at least one of location information i.e. real-time location service positioning) [paragraph 0141].
Regarding claims 10 and 19, C1 teaches receiving, from the user terminal, setting information or history information of a same type of a household appliance previously used by a user [paragraph 0157].
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over C1 in view of C2 in further view of N1, as applied to claims 1 and 11, in further view of Hu et al. (US Pub. 2019/0357014)(H1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, C1 fails to disclose receiving a result of determining that the user terminal is accessing a mobile communication network;
request access information related to a local network in which the user terminal is located based on a location of the user terminal; and
receive the access information related to the local network.
H1 discloses that more than one network can be included within a tracking area list or cell list (i.e. mobile communication network)[paragraph 0050], a UE when providing initial registration or location update re-registration [paragraph 0073] can receive a response that includes a local data network (LDN) list based on the location area the UE is in [paragraph 0074], the UE establishes a session connection using the target local network identifier [paragraph 0080] using existing session establishment processes [paragraph 0068].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of C1 to incorporate the identification of a local network amongst other networks to establish connection with based upon a location of a device as taught by H1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a decrease in processing complexity for network connection when a network coverage area comprises of multiple local networks [refer H1; paragraph 0005].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1,11 and 20, applicant argues that the applied references do not disclose the limitation “determining whether the coordinates representing the location information of the user terminal are within a predetermined region from the household appliance…when the coordinates representing the location information of the user terminal are determined to be within the predetermined region from the household appliance”, as was previously present in claims 3 and 13, as noted on pages 6-7 of the applicants arguments filed on 8/20/2025.
In response to the applicants’ arguments, examiner respectively disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the applied reference, Colon et al. (US Pub 2021/0058383)(C2 hereafter), only discloses a server-centric authentication scenario at an application layer and fails to teach or suggest a feature for determining whether the user terminal is within a specific region relative to the household appliance, a feature for establishing a UWB communication channel only when the user terminal is located within the specific region relative to the household appliance or the use of UWB technology itself [refer Applicants arguments; page 7], the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this case, the rejection as made in view of the combined teachings of Choi et al. (US Pub. 2020/0301720)(C1 hereafter) in view of the teachings of C2. C1 was explicitly noted for disclosing short range communications, such as UWB [refer C1; paragraph 0067], and establishing a UWB communication between an appliance and a user device or terminal [refer C1; paragraph 0055], as noted in the Non-Final rejection. And although C1 is noted for disclosing that a first device can identify whether another electronic device is positioned at a certain distance and angle using real-time services of UWB [refer C1; paragraph 0141], Examiner did note that C1 failed to explicitly teach obtaining location information of a user terminal for the establishing of the UWB connection, determining whether the coordinates representing the location information of the user terminal are within a predetermined region from the household appliance, and when the coordinates representing the location information of the user terminal are determined to be within the predetermined region from the household appliance, then establish that UWB connection. The disclosure of C2 was cited for meeting this limitation, noting that C2 disclosed the use of location information in view of predefined areas for trusted locations (i.e. the predetermined region)[refer C2; paragraph 0013] and using that information to identify whether a device can be authenticated for communication (i.e. establishing communications)[refer C2; paragraph 0014].
In response to applicant's argument that C2 is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the disclosure of C2 is meant to show that in the field of networking, secure location definitions for mobile devices can be used to establish communications [refer C2; paragraph 0014], which include locations that correspond to a home or workplace [refer C2; paragraph 0013].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Ryan Kavleski
/R.C.K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412