Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 10, 14, 15, 19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN-111816686-A by Yuan (hereinafter YUAN).
Claim 1. YUAN discloses a display device (Fig. 1 and 2) comprising:
a plurality of substrates each including a transparent conducting oxide material (2, which can
be transparent oxides that conduct, as they serve as electrodes; see at least p. 7, para. 2 of the attached translated description);
a subpixel positioned on each respective substrate (Fig. 2 components positioned on 2);
a plurality of transistors respectively disposed on the plurality of substrates and provided in the plurality of subpixels, respectively (11, positioned on both sides of 3);
a plurality of data lines extending in a column direction between the each of the plurality
of substrates (Data1); and
a plurality of light-emitting elements respectively disposed in the plurality of subpixels
and electrically connected to the plurality of transistors (20, connected to 11 by 9), wherein the plurality of substrates are spaced apart from one another (the Fig. 2/1, further seen as Fig. 1/33, are spaced apart), and
wherein each of the plurality of data lines has a majority of its area that does not
overlap any substrate of the plurality of substrates and each of the plurality of data lines overlaps a space between adjacent substrates of the plurality of substrates that are spaced apart from one another by a space (Data1 does not overlap 33).
Claim 2. YUAN discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of substrates extends in a column direction (subpixels arranged in array, p. 2 para. 3, line 2).
Claim 6. YUAN discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein there is one subpixel on each substrate (2 has one subpixel on it) and each of the plurality of substrates are spaced apart from one another so as to correspond to the plurality of subpixels, respectively (the 2 are spaced apart from one another).
Claim 9. YUAN discloses the display device of claim 6, wherein the plurality of substrates is arranged in a matrix shape so as to correspond to a selected shape of the plurality of subpixels, respectively (subpixels arranged in array, p. 2 para. 3, line 2, and they are on the 2 in a one-to-one shape correspondence).
Claim 10. YUAN discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of reference lines (Fig. 1/VDD) extending in a column direction between the plurality of substrates and configured to transmit reference voltages to the plurality of subpixels (p. 6, para. 9, line 3), wherein the plurality of reference lines is disposed in the region in which the plurality of substrates is spaced apart from one another (VDD do not overlap the 2, as shown by the outline33, p. 6, para. 6, line 5).
Claim 14. YUAN discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein all of the area of the column portion of the data line does not overlap any substrate of the plurality of substrates (Fig. 2/Data1 does not overlap Fig. 2/2 as further seen as Fig. 1/33).
Claim 15. YUAN discloses a display device (Fig. 1 and 2) comprising:
a plurality of substrates each including a transparent conductive oxide (2, which can be transparent oxides that conduct, as they serve as electrodes; see at least p. 7, para. 2);
a pixel area on each substrate having at least one subpixel within the pixel area of the substrate (Fig. 2 subpixel components arranged on 2);
a plurality of transistors electrically connected to and disposed in each subpixels, respectively (11, positioned on both sides of 3);
a plurality of signal lines extending in a column direction between the plurality of substrates and configured to transmit alternating current voltages (Datal - signal lines are necessarily alternating current by definition - p.6, para. 9, lines 6-7); and
a plurality of light-emitting elements respectively disposed in the plurality of subpixels and electrically connected to the plurality of transistors, respectively (20, connected to 11 by 9), wherein each of the plurality of substrates are spaced apart from one another (Fig. 2/2, further seen as Fig. 1/33, are spaced apart), and
wherein each of the plurality of signal lines has a majority of its area not overlapping any substrate of the plurality of substrates and each of the plurality of signal lines overlaps a space between adjacent substrates that are spaced apart from one another by a space (Data1 do not overlap the (the Fig. 2/2 or Fig. 1/33 and are located where the 2 are spaced apart).
Claim 19. YUAN discloses a display device (Fig. 1 and 2) comprising:
a base layer (1);
a plurality of substrates positioned on the base layer, each of the substrates including a
transparent conductive oxide and the plurality of substrates being spaced apart from each other (2, which can be transparent oxides, spaced apart, that conduct, as they serve as electrodes; see at least p.7, para. 2);
a pixel area on each substrate (Fig. 2 components arranged on 2);
a plurality of transistors electrically connected to and disposed in each pixel area,
respectively (11, positioned on both sides of 3 and electrically connected by 9); and
a plurality of data signal lines extending in a column direction between the plurality of
substrates and configured to transmit a data signal (Data1, p.6, para. 9, lines 6-7), each of the plurality of
data lines having a majority of their area located in position between the substrates and not
overlapping any substrate of the plurality of substrates, each of the plurality of data signal lines overlapping a space between adjacent substrates of the plurality of substrates, the adjacent substrates spaced apart from one another by the space (Datal does not overlap 33).
Claim 22. YUAN discloses the display device of claim 19 further including a plurality of reference signal lines (Fig. 1/VDD) extending in a column direction between the plurality of substrates and configured to transmit a reference signal (p.6, para. 9, line 3), each of the reference signal lines having a majority of their area located in position between the substrates and not overlapping any substrate (VDD do not overlap the 2, as shown by the outline 33, p.6, para. 6, line 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the
invention was made.
U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUAN as applied above in
view of US-9911799-B2 by Cho (hereinafter CHO).
YUAN discloses the display device of claim 9.
YUAN does not disclose wherein a rim of the substrate, which faces a respective data line is generally parallel for portions of its length to the respective data line.
CHO teaches wherein a rim of the substrate, which faces a respective data line is generally parallel for portions of its length to the respective data line (Fig. 2/DL are parallel to left and right edges of 10a). It is well-known in the art to arrange the pixels (Fig. 2/EP, col. 7 line 31) in an orthogonal array parallel to edges of the display panel. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the parallel data lines of CHO into the display panel of YUAN to get the best display effect.
Claims 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUAN as applied
above.
Claim 13. YUAN discloses the display device of claim 1.
YUAN does not disclose wherein the conductive oxide layer is a transparent oxide
semiconductor layer.
YUAN does teach the use of ZnO (which is transparent), among others, as a transparent
semiconducting layer (Fig. 2/11, p.9, para. 9, lines 1-2). It is a matter of simple substitution to
provide a semiconducting transparent oxide layer for a conducting one, to obtain the predictable
result of a charge-transporting material with transparency (see MPEP § 2141 (III)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the transparent semiconductor of Fig. 2/11 into the substrate 2 of Fig. 2 to combine transparency and electrical conduction.
Claim 21. YUAN discloses the display device of claim 19.
YUAN does not disclose wherein each substrate is comprised of a semiconductor oxide layer. YUAN does teach the use of ZnO (which is transparent), among others, as a transparent semiconducting layer (Fig. 2/11, p.9, para. 9, lines 1-2). It is a matter of simple substitution to provide a semiconducting transparent oxide layer for a conducting one, to obtain the predictable result of a charge-transporting material with transparency (see MPEP § 2141 (III)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the transparent semiconductor of Fig. 2/11 into the substrate 2 of Fig. 2 to combine transparency and electrical conduction.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUAN as applied above in view of US-8748889-B2 by Sasaki (hereinafter SASAKI).
YUAN discloses the display device of claim 19.
YUAN does not disclose wherein the base layer is transparent polarizing plate.
SASAKI teaches wherein the base layer is transparent polarizing plate (col. 19, lines 50-
51). There is a motivation to provide an anti-reflection property to the device so as to reduce
glare (col. 21, lines 25-26). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the instant application to incorporate the polarizing substrate of
SASAKI into the display device of YUAN to improve the display effect.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/22/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments are as follows:
(1) Yuan does not teach or suggest a plurality of substrates, and a capacitor electrode of Yuan would not be treated as a substrate or an equivalent structure of a substrate.
(2) Yuan does not teach or suggest a data line Data1, Data2 overlaps a space between two adjacent electrodes 2 of Yuan, i.e., “each of the plurality of data lines overlaps a space between adjacent substrates of the plurality of substrates that are spaced apart from one another by the space," as recited in claim 1.
Examiner's responses are as follows:
(1) Yuan discloses and illustrates a plurality of substrates each including transparent conducting oxide material (2 which can be transparent oxides that conduct, as they serve as electrodes; see at least p. 7, para. 2 of the attached translated description), as noted in the previous rejection analysis. As presently claimed, at least element 2 can be reasonably interpreted as an ordinary meaning of a substrate or an equivalent structure of a substrate. No specific definition is identified within the current disclosure of a “substrate”
(2) As presently claimed, Yuan discloses and illustrates (see at least Figure 1) wherein each of the plurality of data lines has a majority of its area that does not overlap any substrate of the plurality of substrates and each of the plurality of data lines overlaps a space between adjacent substrates of the plurality of substrates that are spaced apart from one another by a space (Data1 does not overlap 33).
Contact Information
should be directed to TOAN TON whose telephone number is (571)272-2303. The examiner can
normally be reached M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool.
To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview
Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The fax phone number for the organization
where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of
published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application
information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent
center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business
Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TOAN TON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2882