Response to Amendment
The amendment of 02/25/2026 has been entered.
Disposition of claims:
Claims 1–9 are pending.
Claims 1–3 and 6 have been amended.
The amendment of claim 1 has overcome the rejections of claims 1–5, 7, and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ha et al. (KR 2021/0093788, hereafter “Ha”) set forth in the last Office Action. The rejections have been withdrawn.
The amendment of claim 1 has overcome the rejections of claims 1, 4, 5, and 7-–9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Zeng et al. (US 2016/0099422 A1, hereafter “Zeng ‘422”) set forth in the last Office Action. The rejections have been withdrawn.
The amendment of claim 1 has overcome the rejections of claims 1-–9 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being unpatentable over by Zeng et al. (US 2016/0197285 A1, hereafter “Zeng ‘285”) in view of Li et al. (US 2002/0076576 A1, hereafter “Li”) set forth in the last Office Action. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see page 13 of the reply filed on 02/25/2026 regarding the rejections of claims 1–5, 7, and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Ha set forth in the Office Action of 11/26/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments see page 16 of the reply filed on 02/25/2026 regarding the rejections of claims 1, 4, 5, and 7-–9 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being unpatentable over Zeng ‘422 set forth in the Office Action of 11/26/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments see page 18 of the reply filed on 02/25/2026 regarding the rejections of claims 1-–9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (US 2016/0197285 A1, hereafter “Zeng ‘285”) in view of Li et al. (US 2002/0076576 A1, hereafter “Li”) set forth in the Office Action of 11/26/2025 have been fully considered.
The applicants have the burden of explaining the proffered data as evidence of non-obviousness. Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. Evidence relied upon should establish that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance. Evidence of nonobviousness must also be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support. Comparison must be between the claimed subject matter and the closest prior art to be effective to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP § 716.02.
Applicant argues that modified H7 taught by Zeng ‘285 in view of Li includes a phenylene group at a position corresponding to L1 of the instant Chemical Formula 1. Thus, the cited references do not teach or suggest the claimed subject matter. In respect to Applicant’s amendment further limiting L1, Applicant’s argument is persuasive and the rejections from the previous office action have been withdrawn. However, another rejection could be made from Zeng ‘285 in view of Li wherein L1 is biphenyl. This is discussed in detail below under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103.
Applicant further argues that the modification of the compound taught by Zeng ‘285 by deuteration as taught by Li would not be obvious because the claimed compound provides surprising and unexpected improvements in device life-span T97 [see page 20]. Applicant’s support for this assertion is that instant Compound 33 has a 26% higher device life-span T97 in comparison to instant Compound A5. Notably, Compound 33 is the perdeuterated (wherein each position is deuterated) version of Compound A5 (shown below).
Applicant claims many exemplified compounds in instant claim 6, of which only a subset are perdeuterated. Additionally, the full scope of compounds represented by instant Chemical Formula 1 wherein any position may be hydrogen, deuterium, or a substituent with at least one deuterium is exceptionally broad. Evidence of nonobviousness must also be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support. Applicant shows that perdeuteration of a single compound increases the life-span T97%, but does not show that partial deuteration or structural isomers will also have that increased life-span T97%. Therefore, Applicant’s evidence of nonobviousness is not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention.
Additionally, the Examiner respectfully does not agree that an increase in device lifespan from deuterating a compound is surprising and unexpected.
Overcoming a rejection based on unexpected results requires at least the combination of three different elements: (i) the results must fairly compare with the closest prior art in an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.132, (ii) the claims must be commensurate in scope, and (iii) the results must truly be unexpected. MPEP 716.02. Additionally, the burden rests with Applicant to establish the results are unexpected and significant. MPEP 716.02(b).
Li teaches the carbon-deuterium chemical bond is stronger, more stable, and reacts more slowly than the carbon-hydrogen chemical bond, so that the deuterated organic system has better thermal stability, and longer lifespan in optoelectronic devices [0009]. Additionally, Li teaches that perdeuterated Ir(ppy)3 has a higher quantum efficiency [Fig. 8] and higher luminance efficiency [Fig. 9] at different current densities in comparison to Ir(ppy)3 [0075] – [0076]. Li concludes that devices using deuterated organic semiconductor materials exhibit high luminance, excellent stability, and good lifetime [0077]. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect an increase in device lifespan from deuterating an organic compound in a device in view of Li. Thus, Applicant’s argument of unexpected results is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (US 2016/0197285 A1, hereafter “Zeng ‘285”) in view of Li et al. (US 2002/0076576 A1, hereafter “Li”).
Regarding Claims 1–9, Zeng ‘285 teaches devices comprising HIH (also known as Compound H8) [Table 1] which is represented by Formula III [0102] (shown below),
wherein:
X is S,
L2 is a phenyl,
R11 is mono substituted by aryl (phenyl),
R7–R8 are each tetra substituted by hydrogen,
R9–R10 are each tri substituted by hydrogen.
Notably, Zeng ‘285 teaches R7–R11 may each be deuterium [0106]. Zeng ‘284 also teaches L2 may be chosen from a finite list including biphenyl [0104].
However, Zeng ‘285 does not explicitly teach a compound like Compound H8 wherein R7–R11 are each deuterium and L2 is a biphenyl substituted with deuterium.
Regarding L2 being biphenyl, Zeng ‘285 recites L2 is selected from direct bond, phenyl, biphenyl, terphenyl, fluorene, triphenylene, dibenzofuran, dibenzothiophene, dibenzoselenophene, carbazole, and pyridine, and combinations thereof [0104]. Zeng ‘285 teaches devices comprising Compound H8 with high efficiency and long lifetime [0165].
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Zeng ‘285, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute biphenyl for phenyl because Zeng ‘285 teaches the variable may suitably be selected as L2. The substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as a host material in the emissive layer of the organic light-emitting device of Zeng ‘285 and possess the benefits taught by Zeng ‘285. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
Additionally, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Compound H8 by changing L2 from phenyl to biphenyl, because it would have been choosing between a direct bond, phenyl, biphenyl, terphenyl, fluorene, triphenylene, dibenzofuran, dibenzothiophene, dibenzoselenophene, carbazole, or pyridine, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as a host material in the emissive layer of the organic light-emitting device of Zeng ‘285 and possessing the benefits taught by Zeng ‘285. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Formula III having the benefits taught by Zeng ‘285 in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Regarding R7–R11 each being deuterium and substituting L2 with deuterium, Li teaches that C-D bonds are stronger than C-H bonds leading to deuterated molecules being less reactive and more thermally stable than hydrogenated molecules. Optoelectronic devices made using deuterated molecules notice longer operational lifetimes than their hydrogenated counterparts. Additionally, deuterated luminescent materials could lead to a higher electroluminescent quantum yield as a result of their smaller non-radiative quenching rate [0008] - [0009].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Compound H8 by changing R7–R11 to each be deuterium and substitute L2 with deuterium, based on the teaching of Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to produce a compound with stronger bonds for use in an optoelectronic device with longer operational lifetimes, as taught by Li.
Additionally, given the general formula and teachings of Zeng ‘285, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute deuterium for phenyl, because Zeng ‘285 teaches the variable may suitably be selected as R11. The substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as a host material in the emissive layer of the organic light-emitting diode of Zeng’285 and possess the benefits taught by Zeng ‘285. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
Per Claim 1, The modified version of Compound H8 (hereafter “Modified Compound H8”) reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
X1 is S,
L1 is a biphenylene group substituted with deuterium,
R1–R5 are each deuterium,
m1–m3 are each 4, while m4–m5 are each 3.
Per Claims 2 and 3, Modified Compound H8 reads on Applicant’s limitation since L1 is represented by a biphenylene group substituted with deuterium.
Per Claim 4, Modified Compound H8 reads on Applicant’s limitation since R1–R5 are each deuterium.
Per Claim 5, Modified Compound H8 reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1-4 (shown below), wherein the variables are the same as defined above.
Per Claim 6, Modified Compound H8 is identical to Applicant’s Compound 50 of Group 1 (shown below).
Per Claims 7 and 8, Zeng teaches an organic light emitting device comprising an anode and a cathode with an organic layer disposed between the electrodes. The organic layer comprises a compound represented by Formula III, such as Modified Compound H8, as a host material in the emissive layer [0032] and [0165].
Per Claim 9, Zeng teaches that organic light emitting devices fabricated in accordance with embodiments of the invention may be incorporated into a wide variety of electronic component modules (or units) that can be incorporated into a variety of electronic products or intermediate components. Examples of such electronic products or intermediate components include display screens, lighting devices, etc. [0046].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES RICHARD FORTWENGLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789