Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Summary of Claims
This action is a reply to the communication filed on 04/28/2026.
Claims 1–3 are amended, Claim 10 is new, Claim 6 was canceled previously. Claims 1–5 and 7–10 are pending.
Response to Amendment
The rejection of claims 1–5 and 7–9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (US 2016/0197285 A1, hereinafter “Zeng”) in view of Li et al. (US 2002/0076576 A1, hereinafter “Li”) is overcome due to the Applicant’s amendment dated 04/28/2026. The rejection is withdrawn.
However, as outlined below, new grounds of rejection have been made.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on page 8–11 of the reply dated 04/28/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1-5 and 7-9 as set forth in the previous Office Action have been fully considered and they are persuasive.
Applicant's argument – Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to further define L1 to be a naphthylene group or a phenanthrenylene group. Applicant argues that Zeng fails to include a naphthylene group or a phenanthrenylene group at a position that may be said to correspond to L1 of Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1.
Examiner's response – The examiner agrees. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn. However, after another search, new art has been found which reads on Applicant’s amended claims, as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–5, 7–8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (WO 2022/080993 A1, hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Li et al. (US 2002/0076576 A1, hereinafter “Li”). An English translation of Kim has been provided in this Office Action.
Regarding Claims 1–5, 7–8, and 10, Kim discloses compound BH 1-6 [423]. Kim teaches organic light emitting devices comprising compounds of Kim’s Formula 1 and Formula 2 in the emissive layer result in low operating voltage, excellent efficiency characteristics, and excellent lifespan [29]. Additionally, compounds represented by Chemical Formula 1 have a high triplet energy level which can further increase efficiency [30].
BH 1-6 nearly reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1. However, BH 1-6 does not comprise deuterium, which is required by Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1.
BH 1-6 is represented by Kim’s Chemical Formula 1 [14] (shown below),
wherein:
Ar1 is an unsubstituted triphenylene group,
L1 is an unsubstituted arylene group (naphthalene),
n1 is 1,
X1 is O,
R1 to R8 are each hydrogen
Kim teaches R1 to R8 can be deuterium [19]. Kim further teaches that “substituted or unsubstituted” can refer to deuterium [42]. Therefore, Kim’s Chemical Formula 1 allows compounds to be fully deuterated.
Li teaches the carbon-deuterium chemical bond is stronger, more stable, and reacts more slowly than the carbon-hydrogen chemical bond, so that the deuterated organic system has better thermal stability and longer lifetime in optoelectronic devices [0009].
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of Kim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute each hydrogen with deuterium in BH 1-6, because Kim teaches the variable may suitably be selected as deuterium. The substitution would have been one preferred element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as a host in the light emitting layer of the organic light emitting device of Kim and possess the benefits taught by Li. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose deuterium, because it would have been choosing between the substituents taught by Kim, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the host in the light emitting layer of the organic light emitting device of Kim and possessing the benefits taught by Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Kim’s Chemical Formula 1 having the benefits taught by Li in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Per Claim 1, the modified version of compound BH 1-6 (hereinafter “Modified BH 1-6”) reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1 (shown below),
wherein:
X1 is O,
L1 is a naphthylene group substituted with deuterium,
R1 to R5 are each deuterium,
m1 to m3 are each 4, m4 and m5 are each 3.
Per Claims 2–4 and 10, L1 is a naphthylene group substituted with deuterium and R1 to R5 are each deuterium in Modified BH 1-6.
Per Claim 5, Modified BH 1-6 is represented by Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1-2 (shown below), wherein X1, L1, R1 to R5, and m1 to m5 are defined the same as those of Chemical Formula 1.
Per Claims 7 and 8, Kim teaches an organic light emitting device including an anode, a cathode, and a light emitting layer comprising compounds of Kim’s Formula 1 and Formula 2, such as Modified BH 1-6 [9] – [14].
Kim teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer wherein Modified BH 1-6 is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use Modified BH 1-6 in the organic layer with the device structure of Kim as Kim demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Li as applied to claim 1–5, 7–8, and 10 above, and further in view of Hong et al. (Adv. Mater. 2021, 33, 2005630, hereinafter “Hong”).
Kim in view of Lee teaches Modified BH 1-6, as described above. Kim further teaches an organic light emitting device including an anode, a cathode, and a light emitting layer comprising compounds of Kim’s Formula 1 and Formula 2, such as Modified BH 1-6 [9] – [14].
However, Kim is silent with respect to a display device.
Hong teaches organic light emitting diodes are colored light sources, used in displays of smartphones and TV screens as well as in panels for lighting applications [Introduction ⁋1].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the organic light emitting device, taught by Kim, in a display device, because this would have been combining the prior art elements of Kim and Hong according to known methods to yield predictable results of a display device with low operating voltage, excellent efficiency characteristics, and excellent lifespan, as taught by Kim. See MPEP 2143.I.(A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takashima et al. (US 8.940,412 B2, hereinafter “Takashima”) discloses compound 3-48 [column 235] which nearly reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1. However, it does not comprise deuterium. Takashima teaches the compounds may comprise heavy hydrogen [column 4, line 11]. Therefore, a similar modification as shown above may be done in view of Li.
/J.R.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789