DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is a response to amendments submitted on 01/16/2026. Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the claims have been considered but they are moot in view of the amendments and new ground of rejection.
2. Claims 1-24 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wesson et al. (US 20090218175 A1) in view of MURAOKA (CN 102101615 B) and further in view of VERONESI et al. (WO 2010042118 A1) or in the alternative as being unpatentable over AULANKO et al. (US 20080283341 A1) in view of MURAOKA (CN 102101615 B) and further in view of VERONESI et al. (WO 2010042118 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 11, Wesson discloses and shows (Figs. 1-2) an elevator energy management system (50) and its corresponding method, comprising:
a first variable frequency drive (i.e. 26a, 26b, 25c) configured to deliver electrical power from a power source (20) to an elevator machine during a first operating condition (i.e. normal operation or heavy load conditions) and to receive regenerative energy from the elevator machine (12a-12c, i.e. By controlling operation of the elevator based on the power demands, power produced by the power supply and by the hoist motor during regeneration is efficiently used, see pars. 17, 18, 28) during a second operating condition (i.e. power failure, a partial power failure, a brown-out condition, or a malfunction); that occurs during movement of an elevator car that is coupled to a counterweight (i.e. implicit as counterweights 16-16c are couple to elevator motors 18a-18c which generate storing power that is further manage by controller 31 to ensure power demands are satisfied, pars. 23-27),
implicitly discloses a second variable frequency drive (i.e. 26b, 25c) configured to selectively receive regenerative energy from the first variable frequency drive (26a) during the second operating condition; and
at least one energy receiving device (i.e. 18a, 18b, 18c; 60, 66) coupled with the second variable frequency drive, the at least one energy receiving device being configured to receive regenerative energy from the second variable frequency drive (see pars. 10, 17-18, 24-28); and
implicitly shows at least one additional load device that receives portion of the regenerative energy (i.e. another load such the elevator 12c).
Although Wesson discloses and shows (Figs. 1-2) wherein the amount of regenerative energy to be received by the second variable frequency drive is effectively controlled to be received by the first variable frequency drive, hence it is implicit that a second variable frequency drive (i.e. 26b, 25c) configured to selectively receive regenerative energy from the first variable frequency drive (26a) during the second operating condition, and implicitly shows at least one additional load device that receives portion of the regenerative energy, it is not explicitly disclosed.
However, MURAOKA discloses an elevator system, estimating a storage device (11) when the energy saving rate, VB estimate a deposit amount of the of the ' exceeds a predetermined value, as for storage in the energy storage device (11) to discharge, and the release of at least a portion of the energy in lighting device of lift car (17) and a control device (12), a second variable frequency (14) drive configured to selectively receive regenerative energy from the first variable frequency drive (4) during the second operating condition; at least one energy receiving device (i.e. the energy storage device 11 to the elevator control power supply device 16 or the elevator car illuminating device 17 power supply control, par. 53).
Thus, given the teaching of MURAOKA, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of Wesson or AULANKO in order to control the amount of regenerative energy to be received by any of the interconnected power system as to stabilize the output of new and renewable power without separate management of the remaining amount of energy in the energy storage device, improving the system reliability.
Moreover, VERONESI clearly shows (Fig. 1) and discloses VERONESI regenerative drive of an elevator system acts as a power conditioning interface to couple a wide range of power generation sources to a building power distribution system. An energy storage system can also be coupled to the regenerative drive and at least one additional load device (14) that receives portion of the regenerative energy (i.e. During periods of regeneration of power by elevator motor 28, controller 36 sends AC power back to building power distribution system 12, where it can be used to power non-elevator loads 14, or can be delivered back to utility power grid 16. In either case, total grid power demand of the building is reduced by the regenerated electrical energy).
Thus, given the teaching of VERONESI , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of Wesson or AULANKO as modified by MURAOKA in order provide at least portion of the regenerative power to other loads such external loads, another elevator or just another control peripherals, improving the system power demand and efficiency.
In regards to claims 1 and 20, AULANKO discloses and shows (Figs. 1-5) an elevator energy management system (1) and its corresponding method, comprising:
a first variable frequency drive (i.e. 11/21/31) configured to deliver electrical power from a power source (i.e. electricity network 7) to an elevator machine (i.e. 15/25/36) during a first operating condition (i.e. normal operation) and to receive regenerative energy from the elevator machine (12a-12c) during a second operating condition (i.e. failure of converter unit 11, or during failures of the electricity supply or rectifier unit 9, or failure of the brake, pars. 47-48) that occurs during movement of an elevator car that is coupled to a counterweight (i.e. implicit as counterweight 36 is couple to to motor 32, see pars. 23-24, 29-55),;
a second variable frequency drive (i.e. 21/31/41) configured to selectively receive regenerative energy from the first variable (or vice-versa) frequency drive during the second operating condition (pars. 47-51, i.e. at least one energy receiving device (i.e. 18a, 18b, 18c; 60, 66) coupled with the second variable frequency drive, the at least one energy receiving device being configured to receive regenerative energy from the second variable frequency drive (see pars. 47-51), (i.e. . The system further comprises means 71 for enabling dynamic braking at full speed when the supply of electricity to the motor is interrupted by a contactor 72, and means for enabling elevator operation during a failure of converter unit 11, said means comprising a switch 73. The elevator system is usable for emergency transport even during failures of the electricity supply or rectifier unit 9 by taking the power needed for operation from the flywheel 47. n the event of failure of the brake. In connection with dynamic braking, energy can be supplied to the flywheel 47, and dynamic braking is possible even at full speed. Dynamic braking is made possible by a diode 71, through which power flows to the flywheel when the supply of electricity to the motor has been interrupted by the contactor 72. During failures of power converter unit 11, the supply of power from the electricity network 7 to the motor 12 can be arranged to take place via power converter unit 41 by connecting the output of the power converter 41 to the motor 12 by means of a switch 73. It is also possible to add to the elevator system in FIG. 5 a switch that allows the power converter unit 41 to be used as a rectifier in place of unit 9 when this unit 9 fails); and
implicitly shows at least one additional load device that receives portion of the regenerative energy (i.e. another load such lighting device of lift car 17).
Although Wesson discloses and shows (Figs. 1-2) wherein the amount of regenerative energy to be received by the second variable frequency drive is effectively controlled to be received by the first variable frequency drive, hence it is implicit that a second variable frequency drive (i.e. 26b, 25c) configured to selectively receive regenerative energy from the first variable frequency drive (26a) during the second operating condition, and implicitly shows at least one additional load device that receives portion of the regenerative energy, it is not explicitly disclosed.
However, MURAOKA discloses an elevator system, estimating a storage device (11) when the energy saving rate, VB estimate a deposit amount of the of the ' exceeds a predetermined value, as for storage in the energy storage device (11) to discharge, and the release of at least a portion of the energy in lighting device of lift car (17) and a control device (12), a second variable frequency (14) drive configured to selectively receive regenerative energy from the first variable frequency drive (4) during the second operating condition; at least one energy receiving device (i.e. the energy storage device 11 to the elevator control power supply device 16 or the elevator car illuminating device 17 power supply control, par. 53).
Thus, given the teaching of MURAOKA, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of Wesson or AULANKO in order to control the amount of regenerative energy to be received by any of the interconnected power system as to stabilize the output of new and renewable power without separate management of the remaining amount of energy in the energy storage device, improving the system reliability.
Moreover, VERONESI clearly shows (Fig. 1) and discloses VERONESI regenerative drive of an elevator system acts as a power conditioning interface to couple a wide range of power generation sources to a building power distribution system. An energy storage system can also be coupled to the regenerative drive and at least one additional load device (14) that receives portion of the regenerative energy (i.e. During periods of regeneration of power by elevator motor 28, controller 36 sends AC power back to building power distribution system 12, where it can be used to power non-elevator loads 14, or can be delivered back to utility power grid 16. In either case, total grid power demand of the building is reduced by the regenerated electrical energy).
Thus, given the teaching of VERONESI , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of Wesson or AULANKO as modified by MURAOKA in order provide at least portion of the regenerative power to other loads such external loads, another elevator or just another control peripherals, improving the system power demand and efficiency.
In regards to claims 2 and 12, AULANKO discloses and shows (Figs. 1-2) wherein the second variable frequency drive is configured to communicate with the first variable (pars. 24, 32).
In regards to claims 4 and 14, Wesson discloses wherein the second variable frequency drive (i.e. 26b/26c) controls an amount of regenerative power received by the second variable frequency drive according to the indication of the amount of regenerative energy to be received by the second variable frequency drive (pars. 24, 26, i.e. controller 31 manages the power stored in battery storage module 52 and capacitive storage module 54 to assure that power demands are satisfied efficiently…Controller 31 monitors the voltage across common DC bus 11 (for example, with a voltage sensor or an overvoltage detection circuit) to assure that the power provided to power inverters 26a-26c during positive power demand conditions does not exceed the power rating of the power inverters. This threshold voltage level may be programmed into controller 31. If the voltage across common DC bus 11 reaches the threshold voltage level, controller 31 activates brake transistor 35. This causes the excess energy on common DC bus 11 to be dissipated as heat across brake resistor 36).
In regards to claims 6-7 and 16-17, Wesson further discloses wherein the at least one energy receiving device comprises an energy storage device configured to receive regenerative energy from the second variable frequency drive; wherein the energy storage device comprises a battery or a flywheel. (i.e. power system 50 including battery storage module 52 and capacitive storage module 54 connected across common DC bus 11, Figs. 1-2).
In regards to claims 8-9 and 18-19, Wesson further discloses wherein the at least one energy receiving device comprises at least one energy dissipation component; wherein the at least one energy dissipation component comprises a resistive load. (i.e. resistor 36… the excess energy on common DC bus 11 to be dissipated as heat across brake resistor 36, par. 11).
In regards to claims 10 and 20, Wesson further discloses wherein the second variable frequency drive is configured to selectively deliver electrical power to the first variable frequency drive (i.e. A controller (31) manages power on the power bus (11) by controlling operation of the converter (22) and the inverters (26a, 26b, 26c) to drive a motoring hoist motor with power delivered to the power bus (11) by the converter (22) and generating hoist motors)
In regards to claims 22 and 24, Wesson discloses wherein the second variable frequency drive (26b) adjusts an amount of regenerative energy that is to be absorbed by the at least one additional load device (i.e. elevator system 12c) and the power source (20), (i.e. the hoist motor 18a-18c is energy is needed to transport load of the elevator cabin 14a-14c, or when transporting load regeneration energy. that is, the controller 31 can process the cabin weight sensor 15a-15c data, and before scheduling the elevator 12a-12c, measured in each elevator based 12a-12c the load and stored in the controller 31 of the elevator cabin 14a-14c to the counterweight 16a-16c and weight-related data to determine each expected power demand 12a-12c of the elevator).
In regards to claims 21 and 23, although Wesson as modifies by MURAOKA does not explicitly shows wherein the at least one additional load device comprises another building system. This is an obvious design choice which a person skilled in the art will modify at least one of the plurality of elevator loads on the system of Wesson to be part of an external building or modify external loads (14) on the system of VERONESI so as to transmit the recovered energy from regeneration to said additional load, consequently improving the system power efficiency.
5. Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wesson et al. (US 20090218175 A1) in view of MURAOKA (CN 102101615 B) in view of VERONESI et al. (WO 2010042118 A1) and further in view of Seo Jae-jin (KR 102252799 B1) or in the alternative as being unpatentable over AULANKO et al. (US 20080283341 A1) in view of MURAOKA (CN 102101615 B) in view of VERONESI et al. (WO 2010042118 A1) and further in view of Seo Jae-jin (KR 102252799 B1).
In regards to claims 3 and 13, Although Wesson as modified by MURAOKA and VERONESI discloses and shows (Figs. 1-2) wherein the amount of regenerative energy to be received by the second variable frequency drive is effectively controlled to be received by the first variable frequency drive, hence it is implicit that the fact to be less or higher is an obvious modification in which Wesson control system is capable of, it is not explicitly disclose that the amount of regenerative energy to be received by the second variable frequency drive is less than the amount of regenerative energy received by the first variable frequency drive.
However, Seo Jae-jin discloses that the amount of regenerative energy to be received by the second variable frequency drive is less than the amount of regenerative energy received by the first variable frequency drive (i.e. The power conversion system 110 may include a first DC/AC inverter 112 and a second DC/AC inverter 114. Here, the first DC/AC inverter 112 and the second DC/AC inverter 114 are connected in parallel with the DC/DC converter 116 of the energy storage device 100, and are independently connected to the energy storage device 100 ) Charge and discharge can be controlled… hen the transmission power difference is less than the preset transmission power limit variation value, the first DC/AC inverter 112 converts the difference between the transmission power difference and the predetermined transmission power limitation variation value as the amount of discharge from the energy storage device 100. You can decide… When the transmission power difference (the difference between the transmission power during the first unit time and the transmission power during the second unit time) is less than a preset transmission power limit variation value, the second DC/AC inverter 114 It may be determined whether the sum of the preset transmission power limit variation values is greater than the first temporary charging amount).
Thus, given the teaching of Seo Jae-jin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of Wesson or AULANKO in order to control the amount of regenerative energy to be received by any of the interconnected power system as to stabilize the output of new and renewable power without separate management of the remaining amount of energy in the energy storage device, improving the system reliability.
In regards to claims 5 and 15, Although it is absolutely obvious and that Wesson as modified by MURAOKA and VERONESI must be configured to determine an amount of regenerative energy to be received from the first variable frequency drive during the second operating condition, in fact must be configured to control and determine the amount of regenerative power to be delivered, stored and used to any of the system loads, it is not explicitly disclosed.
Seo Jae-jin further discloses wherein the second variable frequency drive is configured to determine an amount of regenerative energy to be received from the first variable frequency drive during the second operating condition (see Description, i.e. he second DC/AC inverter 114 may monitor the remaining amount of energy in the energy storage device 100. The second DC/AC inverter 114 may set the energy storage device 100 to a charging mode when the energy remaining amount of the energy storage device 100 is smaller than the target energy remaining amount of the energy storage device 100… When the energy storage device 100 is discharging power by the first DC/AC inverter 112, the second DC/AC inverter 114 may limit the amount of charge of the energy storage device 100 to a preset value. I can. For example, the second DC/AC inverter 114 has a difference in transmission power (a difference between the transmission power during the first unit time and the transmission power during the second unit time) in a state in which the energy storage device 100 is set to the charging mode. When) is greater than a preset transmission power limit variation value, the amount of charge of the energy storage device 100 may be limited to a value of 0.).
Thus, given the teaching of Seo Jae-jin, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit/system of Wesson or AULANKO Wesson as modified by MURAOKA and VERONESI in order to control the amount of regenerative energy to be received by any of the interconnected power system as to stabilize the output of new and renewable power without separate management of the remaining amount of energy in the energy storage device, improving the system reliability.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JORGE L CARRASQUILLO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846