DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 03/06/2020. A copy of the CN202010150668.X document was acquired 05/02/2023.
Joint Inventors
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s amendment filed 06/04/2026 has been considered and entered.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments filed 05/06/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
With regards to the rejections of claims 1, 6, and 11 under 35 USC 103, applicant has argued that
“…Chen does not teach a light source emission module that is separate from a board body and configured to emit light to an on-board optics component, as required by claim 1…”,
“…The amended claim further requires that the first connector and the second connector are configured to be inserted into the adapter in a same insertion direction to respectively connect with the third connector and the fourth connector… Chen does not describe external connector 7 as being fastened on circuit board 3 or on a board body of an optical communications board. Rather, Chen's external connector 7 is a separate mating connector for Chen's optical module… Matiss therefore does not cure Chen's failure to teach the claimed configuration in which the first connector and the second connector are both inserted into a board-fastened adapter in the same insertion direction to respectively connect with the third connector and the fourth connector...”
However, examiner respectfully disagrees.
With regards to (1) above, Chen discloses a light emission module in an uncoupled state, and is not relied upon to independently disclose a board body as recited in claim 1. Thus, Chen does disclose a light source emission module that is separate from a board body. Furthermore, Chen discloses a light emission module configured to interface with another device via a set of connectors. The light emission module of Chen is explicitly stated as being capable of converting an electrical signal into an optical signal and outputting the optical signal (See the 35 USC 103 section of this action) with element 42 being an optical interface. Thus, Chen discloses a light emission module that is configured to emit light to an on-board optics component (Such as that taught by Matiss).
With regards to (2) above, Chen discloses a first connector 42 and second connecter 31. The connectors of Chen are both positive features with interfaces disposed on the same respective sides. Thus, the connectors are configured to be inserted into an adaptor in a same insertion direction to respectively connect with a third connector and the fourth connector. Chen is relied upon to disclose features of a light source emission module. The external connector of Chen is not a part of the light source emission module and is not being relied upon. Features relating to the communications board (and associated adaptor) are taught by Matiss. Matiss teaches an adapter fastened to a board, and further teaches connectors 250-2 and 217 as being inserted into the adapter in the same insertion direction to respectively connect with two other connectors (See annotated portion of figure 2C of Mattis below). Thus, Chen and Mattis together disclose the claimed configuration in which a first connector and a second connector are both inserted into a board-fastened adapter in the same insertion direction to respectively connect with a third connector and a fourth connector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 108051893 A) in view of Matiss (US 20190129112 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Chen discloses a light source module, comprising a housing (Chen/Fig3/Housing 2 [Shell]) including an upper housing (Chen/Fig3/Upper housing 21) and a lower plate (Chen/Fig3/Lower plate 22) that together define an accommodating space (Chen/Fig3/Accommodating space [Space in between elements 21 and 22]), wherein the accommodating space is configured to receive a light source emission module (Chen/Light source emission module [Light chip; Not shown]/Paragraph 62; "wherein the light chip may be a chip, not only capable of receiving optical signals and produce a corresponding electrical signal according to the optical signal provided to the circuit board 3, but also the electric signal provided by circuit board 3 into an optical signal and output the optical signal.") disposed in the housing; and a first connector (Chen/First connector 42 [First optical interface]) and a second connector (Chen/Second connector 31 [Gold fingers]) that are disposed on a same side (Chen/Fig3 [Both connectors visible to the far end of the device along axis A]) of the housing, wherein the first connector and the second connector are separately connected to the light source emission module (Chen/Paragraph 78/"one end of the internal optical fibre 41 is connected with the second optical interface 44, and the other end is connected with light chip"; Chen/Fig3/Second connector 31 integrated into circuit board 3; "wherein the light chip may be a chip, not only capable of receiving optical signals and produce a corresponding electrical signal according to the optical signal provided to the circuit board 3, but also the electric signal provided by circuit board 3 into an optical signal and output the optical signal."), the first connector is an optical signal connector (Chen/First connector 42 [Optical interface]), and the second connector is an electrical signal connector (Chen/Second connector 31 [Gold fingers]); and both the first connector and the second connector are pluggable connectors (Chen [Connectors can be received by Optical plug 72 and Electrical socket 71]), wherein the light source emission module is configured to emit light to an optics component through the first connector (Chen/First connector 42 is an optical interface), and wherein the first connector and the second connector are configured to be inserted into an adapter in a same insertion direction (Chen/Fig12 [Contact elements are both disposed on the right side of the module as pictured]) to respectively connect with a third connector and a fourth connector. Chen is silent regarding whether or not the light source module is configured to be pluggably connected to an optical communications board. However, the practice of configuring a light source module to connect to an optical communications board exists in the art as exemplified by Matiss.
Chen and Matiss are considered to be analogous in the field of pluggable optic modules. Chen discloses a light source module with first and second connectors. Matiss discloses a light source module (Matiss/Light source module 200) configured to be pluggably connected to an optical communications board, the optical communications board comprising:
a board body (Matiss/Fig2c/Board body as outlined below);
an adapter fastened on the board body (Matiss/Fig2c/Adaptor 300), the adapter comprising a third connector (Matiss/Fig2c/Third connector 310) configured to be connected to the first connector in a pluggable manner and a fourth connector (Matiss/Fig2c/Fourth connector [Zoomed in portion of fig2c]) configured to be connected to the second connector in a pluggable manner;
an optical connector (Matiss/Fig2c/Optical connector 250-4) disposed on the board body;
an on-board optics component (Matiss/Fig2c/On-board optics component 620) disposed on the board body; and
an application-specific integrated circuit (Matiss/Fig2c/Application-specific integrated circuit 600) disposed on the board body,
wherein the optical connector and the adapter are optically connected to the on-board optics component (Matiss/Paragraph 58), and wherein the on-board optics component is electrically connected to the application-specific integrated circuit (Paragraphs 58 and 64 [Element 620 is electrically connected to element 630, which is itself electrically connected to element 600]), and wherein the optical connector and the adapter are disposed on a same side of the board body (Fig2c [Top side]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the light source module of Chen such that it was configured to connect to an optical communications board as suggested by Matiss since doing so would allow the light source module of Chen to interface with and contribute towards the operation of a larger opto-electronic system.
With regards to claim 2, Chen and Matiss together disclose the light source module according to claim 1 as previously discussed, wherein the first connector and the second connector are stacked one atop the other (Chen/Fig3).
With regards to claim 16, Chen and Matiss together disclose the light source module according to claim 1, wherein the first connector is connected to an external optical path of the light source module, to propagate an optical signal (Chen/Fig13/Element 42 is oriented to interface with a device that is not located within the light source module).
With regards to claim 17, Chen and Matiss together disclose the light source module according to claim 1, wherein the second connector is connected to an external power supply circuit of the light source module (Chen/Fig13/Element 31 is oriented to interface with a device that is not located within the light source module).
With regards to claim 18, Chen and Matiss together disclose the light source module according to claim 1, wherein the second connector is fastened to a support protrusion located on a lower plate of the housing (Chen/figs1,3&13/Paragraph 61/Portion of element 3 in contact with the lower portion of the housing within assembled device).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 108051893 A) in view of Matiss (US 20190129112 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Isenhour (US 20140099061 A1).
With regards to claim 3, Chen and Matiss together disclose the light source module according to claim 2, but do not teach the first connector and the second connector as being disposed side by side. However, the practice of locating individual connectors side by side is known in the art, as exemplified by Isenhour. Chen, Matiss, and Isenhour are considered to be analogous in the field of optical communication system components.
Isenhour discloses connectors disposed side by side within an optoelectronic module (Isenhour/Fig3/First connector 330 and second connector 236a [Optical interface and electrical contact]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the connectors disclosed by Chen and Matiss side by side as suggested by Isenhour since doing so would allow for a reduced connector silhouette in the height direction. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the connectors disclosed by Chen and Matiss side by side as suggested by Isenhour, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
With regards to claim 4, Chen, Matiss, and Isenhour together disclose the light source module according to claim 3 as previously discussed, wherein the first connector is a multi-channel standard pluggable optical connector (Chen/Fig 13/First connector 42 [Optical interface with multiple channels visible]) or an LC/FC connector.
With regards to claim 5, Chen, Matiss, and Isenhour together teach the light source module according to claim 4 as previously discussed, wherein the second connector is a gold finger connector (Chen/Gold finger connector 31 [Gold fingers]) or a plug connector.
Claims 6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matiss (US 20190129112 A1) in view of Chen (CN 108051893 A).
With regards to claim 6, Matiss discloses an optical communications board, comprising
a board body (Matiss/Fig2c/Board body as outlined below) and
an adapter fastened on the board body (Matiss/Fig2c/Adaptor 300),
wherein the adapter comprises a third connector (Matiss/Fig2c/Third connector 310) and a fourth connector (Matiss/Fig2c/Fourth connector [Zoomed in portion of fig2c]), the third connector being configured to be connected to a first connector (Fig2c/First connector 250-2) of a light source module in a pluggable manner, wherein the fourth connector is configured to be connected to a second connector (Fig2c/Second connector [Inserted elements of zoomed in portion of fig2c]) of the light source module in a pluggable manner (Matiss/Fig2c),
an optical connector (Matiss/Fig2c/Optical connector 250-4) disposed on the board body;
an on-board optics component (Matiss/Fig2c/On-board optics component 620) disposed on the board body; and
an application-specific integrated circuit (Matiss/Fig2c/Application-specific integrated circuit 600) disposed on the board body,
wherein the optical connector and the adapter are optically connected to the on-board optics component (Matiss/Paragraph 58), and wherein the on-board optics component is electrically connected to the application-specific integrated circuit (Paragraphs 58 and 64 [Element 620 is electrically connected to element 630, which is itself electrically connected to element 600]), wherein the optical connector and the adapter are disposed on a same side of the board body (Fig2c [Top side]),
a light source module (Matiss/Light source module 200),
wherein the first connector and the second connector are disposed on the same side of the light source module (Fig2c), the first connector as being an optical signal connector (Fig2c [Connections to waveguide elements 270-1 and 270-3]), and second connector as being an electrical signal connector (Fig2c [Connections to electrical elements 324 and 322]), both the first connector and the second connector as being pluggable connectors. Mattis is silent regarding the light source module comprising a housing including an upper housing and a lower housing and the first connector and the second connector separately connected to the light source emission module. However, the practices of incorporating the above features into an optical communications board and associated light source module exist in the art as exemplified by Chen. Matiss and Chen are considered to be analogous in the field of optical communication systems.
Chen teaches a light source module, comprising a housing (Chen/Fig3/Housing 2 [Shell]) including an upper housing (Chen/Fig3/Upper housing 21) and a lower plate (Chen/Fig3/Lower plate 22) that together define an accommodating space (Chen/Fig3/Accommodating space [Space in between elements 21 and 22]), the accommodating space configured to receive a light source emission module (Chen/Light source emission module [Light chip; Not shown]/Paragraph 62; "wherein the light chip may be a chip, not only capable of receiving optical signals and produce a corresponding electrical signal according to the optical signal provided to the circuit board 3, but also the electric signal provided by circuit board 3 into an optical signal and output the optical signal.") disposed in the housing, and a first connector (Chen/First connector 42 [First optical interface]) and a second connector (Chen/Second connector 31 [Gold fingers]) are disposed on a same side (Chen/Fig3 [Both connectors visible to the far end of the device along axis A]) of the housing, wherein the first connector and the second connector are separately connected to the light source emission module (Chen/Paragraph 78/"one end of the internal optical fiber 41 is connected with the second optical interface 44, and the other end is connected with light chip"; Chen/Fig3/Second connector 31 integrated into circuit board 3; "wherein the light chip may be a chip, not only capable of receiving optical signals and produce a corresponding electrical signal according to the optical signal provided to the circuit board 3, but also the electric signal provided by circuit board 3 into an optical signal and output the optical signal."), the first connector is an optical signal connector (Chen/First connector 42 [Optical interface]), and the second connector is an electrical signal connector (Chen/Second connector 31 [Gold fingers]); and both the first connector and the second connector are pluggable connectors (Chen [Connectors can be received by Optical plug 72 and Electrical socket 71]), wherein the light source emission module is configured to emit light to an optics component through the first connector (Chen/First connector 42 is an optical interface), and wherein the first connector and the second connector are configured to be inserted into an adapter in a same insertion direction (Chen/Fig12 [Contact elements are both disposed on the right side of the module as pictured]) to respectively connect with a third connector and a fourth connector. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a light emission module into the optical communications board disclosed by Matiss as suggested by Chen since doing so would provide a better protected light emitting device while maintaining compatibility with the extant board.
With regards to claim 9, Matiss and Chen together disclose the optical communications board according to claim 6 as previously discussed, wherein the third connector and the fourth connector are disposed within a same housing (Matiss/Fig2c/Housing [Element 710 and associated unlabeled top and bottom wall elements]).
With regards to claim 8, Matiss and Chen together disclose the optical communications board according to claim 6 as previously discussed, wherein the third connector and the fourth connectors are stacked one atop the other (Matiss/Fig2c).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matiss (US 20190129112 A1) and Chen (CN 108051893 A) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Isenhour (US 20140099061 A1).
With regards to claim 7, Matiss and Chen together disclose the optical communications board according to claim 6, but do not teach the third connector and the fourth connector as being disposed side by side. However, the practice of locating individual connectors side by side is known in the art, as exemplified by Isenhour. Chen, Matiss, and Isenhour are considered to be analogous in the field of optical communication system components.
Isenhour discloses connectors disposed side by side within an optoelectronic module (Isenhour/Fig3/First connector 330 and second connector 236a [Optical interface and electrical contact]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the connectors taught by Chen side by side as suggested by Isenhour since doing so would allow for a reduced connector silhouette in the height direction. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the connectors disclosed by Chen and Matiss side by side as suggested by Isenhour, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matiss (US 20190129112 A1) and Chen (CN 108051893 A) as applied to claim 6 above, in further view of David (JP 3542890 B2).
With regards to claim 10, Matiss and Chen together disclose the optical communications board according to claim 6, but are silent regarding a positioning post being disposed on the housing, and a positioning hole corresponding to the positioning post is formed on the board body. However, the practice of incorporating a positioning post and corresponding positioning hole within a respective housing and board body exists in the art as exemplified by David.
Matiss, Chen, and David are considered to be analogous in the field of optical communication systems. Matiss and Chen together disclose a housing and board body. David discloses a positioning post (David/Fig6/Positioning post 23 [Screw]) disposed on a housing, and a positioning hole (David/Fig6/Positioning hole; Paragraph 43/"...includes a tab 22 having a hole for receiving a screw 23...") corresponding to the positioning post formed on a board body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a positioning post and positioning hole into the optical communications board of Matiss and Chen as suggested by David since doing so would increase the ease which the communications board could be assembled.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 108051893 A) in view of Matiss (US 20190129112 A1).
With regards to claim 11, Chen discloses an optical communications system comprising a light source module comprising a housing (Chen/Fig3/Housing 2 [Shell]) including an upper housing (Chen/Fig3/Upper housing 21) and a lower plate (Chen/Fig3/Lower plate 22) that together define an accommodating space (Chen/Fig3/Accommodating space [Space in between elements 21 and 22]), configured to receive a light source emission module (Chen/Optical chip [Not shown]/Paragraph 62; "wherein the light chip may be a chip, not only capable of receiving optical signals and produce a corresponding electrical signal according to the optical signal provided to the circuit board 3, but also the electric signal provided by circuit board 3 into an optical signal and output the optical signal.") disposed in the housing, wherein a first connector (Chen/First connector 42 [First optical interface]) and a second connector (Chen/Second connector 31 [Gold finger]) are disposed on a same side (Chen/Fig3 [Both connectors visible to the far end of the device along axis A]) of the housing, the first connector and the second connector are separately connected to the light source emission module (Chen/Paragraph 78/"one end of the internal optical fibre 41 is connected with the second optical interface 44, and the other end is connected with light chip"), the first connector is an optical signal connector (Chen/First connector 42 [Optical interface]), and the second connector is an electrical signal connector (Chen/Second connector 31 [Gold fingers]); and both the first connector and the second connector are pluggable connectors (Chen/Gold finger connector 31 [Gold fingers]), wherein the light source emission module is configured to emit light to an optics component through the first connector (Chen/First connector 42 is an optical interface), and wherein the first connector and the second connector are configured to be inserted into an adapter in a same insertion direction (Chen/Fig12 [Contact elements are both disposed on the right side of the module as pictured]) to respectively connect with a third connector and a fourth connector. Chen discloses the module as being connected to a connection interface (Chen/Figures 14 and 15) but is silent regarding whether or not the interface comprises an optical communications board. However, the practice of including such features within an optical communication system exists in the art as exemplified by Matiss. Chen and Matiss are considered to be analogous in the field of optical communication systems.
Matiss teaches an optical communications system wherein an optical communications board comprises
a board body (Matiss/Fig2c/Board body as outlined below) and
an adapter fastened on the board body (Matiss/Fig2c/Adaptor 300), the adapter comprising a third connector (Matiss/Fig2c/Third connector 310) configured to be connected to the first connector in a pluggable manner,
wherein the optical communications board further comprises an optical connector (Matiss/Fig2c/Optical connector 250-4) disposed on the board body,
an on-board optics component (Matiss/Fig2c/On-board optics component 620) disposed on the board body, and
an application specific integrated circuit (Matiss/Fig2c/Application-specific integrated circuit 600) disposed on the board body,
wherein the optical connector and the adapter are optically connected to the on-board optics component (Matiss/Paragraph 58), wherein the on-board optics component is electrically connected to the application-specific integrated circuit (Paragraphs 58 and 64 [Element 620 is electrically connected to element 630, which is itself electrically connected to element 600]), and wherein the optical connector and the adapter are disposed on the same side of the board body. (Fig2c [Top side]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the optical communication system of Chen such that it was configured to connect to an optical communications board as suggested by Matiss since doing so would allow the light source module of Chen to interface with and contribute towards the operation of a larger opto-electronic system.
With regards to claim 12, Chen, Matiss, and Matiss together disclose the optical communications system according to claim 11 as previously discussed, wherein the first connector and the second connector are stacked one atop the other (Chen/Fig3).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 108051893 A) and Matiss (US 20190129112 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Isenhour (US 20140099061 A1).
With regards to claim 13, Chen and Matiss together disclose the optical communications system according to claim 12 as previously discussed, but do not teach the first connector and the second connector as being disposed side by side. However, the practice of locating individual connectors side by side is known in the art, as exemplified by Isenhour. Chen, Matiss, and Isenhour are considered to be analogous in the field of optical communication system components.
Isenhour discloses connectors disposed side by side within an optoelectronic module (Isenhour/Fig3/First connector 330 and second connector 236a [Optical interface and electrical contact]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the connectors taught by Chen side by side as suggested by Isenhour since doing so would allow for a reduced connector silhouette in the height direction. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to locate the connectors disclosed by Chen and Matiss side by side as suggested by Isenhour, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
With regards to claim 14, Chen, Matiss, and Isenhour together disclose the optical communications system according to claim 13 as previously discussed, wherein the first connector is a multi-channel standard pluggable optical connector (Chen/Fig 13/First connector 42 [Optical interface with multiple channels visible]) or an LC/FC connector.
With regards to claim 15, Chen, Matiss, and Isenhour together disclose the optical communications system according to claim 14 as previously discussed, wherein the second connector is a gold finger connector (Chen/Gold finger connector 31 [Gold fingers]) or a plug connector.
Conclusion
/MARC E MANHEIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874