DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 21-40 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 recites “wherein said access point is configured to use the AID and the pre-determined algorithm exclusively for the association such that the AID and said pre-determined algorithm are not shared by said access point with any other access point for identifying the wireless network device”. The Examiner can find no recitation of this subject matter in the specification and claims as originally filed. The nearest subject matter from the specification is that the resultant A-AMAC, calculated using the AID and the pre-determined algorithm, is “unique to the access point and wireless network device”. However, this is not the same as claiming that the AID and the pre-determined algorithm are not shared by the access point with any other access point. For instance, the pre-determined algorithm could be shared by many access points, and still used to calculate an A-AMAC which is unique based on, e.g. a secret AID or the introduction of a nonce or key. There is nothing in the specification and claims as originally filed which explicitly prohibits this. Therefore, “the AID and said pre-determined algorithm are not shared by said access point with any other access point for identifying the wireless network device” constitutes new matter. For the purposes of art rejection, “the AID and said pre-determined algorithm are not shared by said access point with any other access point for identifying the wireless network device” will be interpreted as the AID, when processed by the pre-determined algorithm, are “unique to” the access point/wireless network device, i.e. “not shared by” any other access points, which assign their own AIDs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adrangi et al (PGPUB 2016/0269359), and further in view of Cherian et al (PGPUB 2021/0168712) and Cariou Laurent (WO 2018/160994), hereinafter Cariou.
Regarding Claims 1, 8, and 15:
Adrangi teaches a method, an access point, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium of an access point storing one or more computer-readable instructions for generating an association identifier association media access control (A-AMAC) identifier for communicating with a wireless network device (EXAMINER NOTE: BRI of “A-AMAC” appears to cover a generated identifier for a wireless network device; abstract, apparatus related to receiving, at an access point and from a wireless communication station, a media access control (MAC) address of the wireless communication station; assigning, at the access point, a prefix to the MAC address of the wireless communication station; receiving, at the access point and from the wireless communication station, a frame comprising the prefix and a random MAC address; [0037] the random MAC address portion may include a random MAC address of the STA 120 (i.e. “A-AMAC”), which in some embodiments may be generated by the STA 120 based at least in part on the prefix), comprising:
a memory storing one or more computer-readable instructions ([0063]-[0064], memory comprising instructions); and
a processor configured to execute the one or more computer-readable instructions to perform one or more operations to ([0064] processor executing instructions):
receiving one or more capabilities from the wireless network device, wherein at least one of the one or more capabilities is related to generation of an A-AMAC identifier ([0023] the AP 110 may broadcast and/or transmit the advertisement beacon to the STA 120 (or one or more STAs 120, though for illustrative purposes a single STA 120 is described); upon receipt of the advertisement beacon, the STA 120 may generate an identity response message at block 208 that is sent back to the AP 110; the identity response message includes an identity of the STA 120 (e.g., the MAC address of the STA 120) and further indicates that the STA 120 supports AP-administered MAC address randomization, i.e. capabilities related to generation of a randomized MAC identifier, herein considered an “A-AMAC”);
determining that the wireless network device supports A-AMAC identifier functionality based on the at least one of the one or more capabilities ([0023] the identity response message includes an identity of the STA 120 (e.g., the MAC address of the STA 120) and further indicates that the STA 120 supports AP-administered MAC address randomization; [0024] the AP 110 may determine that AP-administered MAC address randomization is supported by the STA 120 if the STA 120 transmitted to the AP 110 an identity response message to the AP 110 that indicates that the STA 120 indeed supports AP-administered MAC address randomization);
generating an association identifier (AID) that is assigned by the access point when the wireless network device associates with the access point to form an association ([0025] the AP 110 may determine the MAC address (e.g., the real MAC address) of the STA 120 using the identity response message and generate a prefix message using the MAC address in the identity response message; the prefix message may include and/or indicate a prefix (i.e. “association identifier”) that is to be included in each transmission frame (e.g., message, data, and/or the like) transmitted by the STA 120; for example, the prefix may be included in a prefix portion (e.g., a preamble) of a transmission frame transmitted by the STA 120; [0026] the prefix may serve to identify and/or indicate the identity of the STA 120; for example, the prefix message may include an indication a user of the STA 120 and/or the STA 120, the real MAC address of the STA 120, and/or the like); and
sending an association response frame to the wireless network device, wherein the association response frame comprises an AID field that indicates to the wireless network device to generate the A-AMAC identifier using a pre-determined algorithm based on the AID ([0031] the AP 110 may transmit to the STA 120, via the secure communication connection 218, the prefix and/or the range of prefixes assigned to the STA 120 (e.g., the prefix and/or the range of prefixes mapped to the real MAC address of the STA 120), as may have been generated at block 212; the prefix and/or range of prefixes indicates to the STA 120 which prefix(es) is to be included in transmissions to the AP 110; [0037] the random MAC address portion may include a random MAC address of the STA 120, which in some embodiments may be generated by the STA 120 based at least in part on the prefix; for example, a random number may be generated by the STA 120 in a predetermined format and/or of a predetermined size (e.g., 3 bytes) using a predetermined algorithm specified by a prefix included in the prefix portion).
Adrangi does not explicitly teach [at the access point,] generating the A-AMAC identifier based on the association identifier (AID); and
wherein the A-AMAC identifier remains unique within said association and a different A-AMAC identifier is generated based upon a different association with a different access point.
However, Cherian teaches the concept of generating an A-AMAC identifier based on an association identifier (AID) that is assigned by the access point when the wireless network device associates with the access point to form an association ([0049] the AP 102 assigns an association identifier (AID) to the STA 104 at the culmination of the association operations, which the AP 102 uses to track the STA 104; [0141] each of the wireless stations may be uniquely identified by a combination of BSS color and associated identifier (AID));
wherein the A-AMAC identifier remains unique within said first association and a different A-AMAC identifier is generated based upon a different said association with a different said access point ([0141] each of the wireless stations may be uniquely identified by a combination of BSS color (EXAMINER’S NOTE: BSS color is a value unique to each AP) and associated identifier (AID)).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the generating a unique A-AMAC at an access point teachings of Cherian with the generating an A-AMAC based on shared data teachings of Adrangi, with the benefit of providing the access point with a means of identifying a wireless network device using unique values which uniquely distinguish said device from other devices in a crowded wireless space, thereby improving performance by reducing identifier collisions, but also improving privacy by avoiding use of trackable device characteristics such as permanent device MAC address or similar.
Neither Adrangi nor Cherian explicitly teaches the access point to generate the A-AMAC identifier using a pre-determined algorithm; and
wherein said access point is configured to use the AID and the pre-determined algorithm exclusively for the association such that the AID and said pre-determined algorithm are not shared by said access point with any other access point for identifying the wireless network device.
However, Cariou teaches the concept of an access point to generate an A-AMAC identifier using a pre-determined algorithm ([abstract] access point may determine an access point group identification (ID) associated with the first access point and a second access point, wherein the first access point is associated with a first basic service set (BSS) and the second access point is associated with a second BSS; [0051] STAs in AP Group 1 211, may be addressed by a combination of their AIDs assigned by their servicing APs and a BSSID of their servicing APs (i.e. “A-AMAC identifier”; combining AID and BSSID seen as “algorithm”); the STAs may keep their AIDs assigned by their own APs but they would identify themselves by a combination of BSSID and AID, which results in a unique way to identify an STA within a group of APs; in order to uniquely identify STA6 or STA1, an AP of the AP Group 1, would need to use the combination of BSSID and AID in its frames when communicating with either of STA6 and/or STA1; for example, API may be associated with a BSSID1, AP3 may be associated with a BSSID3, and AP4 may be associated with a BSSID4; therefore, if for example, AP3 wants to trigger STA1, the AP3 may include the AID1 and the BSSID1 in its frames; when the STA1 receives the trigger frame from the AP3, it may decode the trigger frame and identify this pair of information (e.g., BSSID1 and AID1) and determine that this trigger frame is intended for it; the APs in each group (e.g., AP Group 1) share the BSSIDs and the AIDs assigned to their respective serviced STAs with each other so that they can use the specific BSSID and AID combination when communicating with a specific STA, even when the STA is from a different BSS and even if the AID is the same value as another STA from a different BSS);
indicat[ing] to a wireless network device to generate the A-AMAC identifier using said pre-determined algorithm based on an AID ([0051] when the STA1 receives the trigger frame from the AP3, it may decode the trigger frame and identify this pair of information (e.g., BSSID1 and AID1) and determine that this trigger frame is intended for it); and
wherein said access point is configured to use the AID and the pre-determined algorithm exclusively for the association such that the AID and said pre-determined algorithm are not shared by said access point with any other access point for identifying the wireless network device ([0051] STAs in AP Group 1 211, may be addressed by a combination of their AIDs assigned by their servicing APs and a BSSID of their servicing APs (i.e. “A-AMAC identifier”; combining AID and BSSID seen as “algorithm”); the STAs may keep their AIDs assigned by their own APs but they would identify themselves by a combination of BSSID and AID, which results in a unique way to identify an STA within a group of APs; EXAMINER’S NOTE: the combined identifier is unique to an association between an AP and a STA based on the combination of AID and BSSID; therefore, it is “not shared” with other associations with other APs).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the shared algorithm teachings of Cariou with the generating an A-AMAC based on shared data teachings of Adrangi in view of Cherian, with the benefit of allowing the sending and receiving devices to generate the combined identifier on their own, improving cross network mobility, and improving efficiency by eliminating the need for complicated mapping operations between received identifiers and true identifiers.
Regarding Claims 2, 9, and 16:
Adrangi in view of Cherian and Cariou teaches the method of claim 1, the access point of claim 8, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15. In addition, Cariou teaches wherein the A-AMAC identifier is based on a basic service set identifier (BSSID) of the access point ([0051] STAs in AP Group 1 211, may be addressed by a combination of their AIDs assigned by their servicing APs and a BSSID of their servicing APs).
The rationale to combine Adrangi and Cariou is the same as provided for claims 1, 8, and 15, due to the overlapping subject matter between claims 1 and 2, 8 and 9, 15 and 16.
Regarding Claims 3, 10, and 17:
Adrangi in view of Cherian and Cariou teaches the method of claim 2, the access point of claim 9, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16. In addition, Cariou teaches wherein the A-AMAC identifier comprises three bytes associated with a lower three bytes of the BSSID ([0051] STAs in AP Group 1 211, may be addressed by a combination of their AIDs assigned by their servicing APs and a BSSID of their servicing APs; as Carious teaches using the entire BSSID, therefore the A-AMAC identifier also comprises three bytes associated with the lower three bytes); and
Adrangi teaches wherein the A-AMAC identifier comprises two bytes associated with the AID ([0037] the random MAC address portion may include a random MAC address of the STA 120, which in some embodiments may be generated by the STA 120 based at least in part on the prefix (i.e. “AID”); for example, a random number may be generated by the STA 120 in a predetermined format and/or of a predetermined size (e.g., 3 bytes) using a predetermined algorithm specified by a prefix included in the prefix portion), and a locally administered address bit set to true ([0036] the prefix portion may include a locally-administered bit to indicate whether a MAC address randomization has been administered at the STA 120 and is therefore included in the random MAC address portion of the transmission frame; for example, a locally-administered bit set to “1” may indicate that the STA 120 has executed a MAC address randomization operation, whereas a locally-administered bit set to “0” may indicate that the STA has not executed a MAC address randomization operation; [0044] the STA 120 may generate a transmission frame including a random MAC address of a predetermined length (e.g., 48 bits) including a prefix portion (e.g., a locally-administered bit set to “1” and a unicast/multicast bit set to “0”), for transmission to the AP 110).
The rationale to combine Adrangi and Cariou is the same as provided for claims 2, 9, and 16, due to the overlapping subject matter between claims 2 and 3, 9 and 10, 16 and 17.
Regarding Claim 4, 11, and 18:
Adrangi in view of Cherian and Cariou teaches the method of claim 2, the access point of claim 9, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16. In addition, Adrangi teaches wherein a two most significant bits of the AID field of the association response frame indicate to the wireless network device to generate and use the A-AMAC identifier based on the AID ([0037] the random MAC address portion may include a random MAC address of the STA 120, which in some embodiments may be generated by the STA 120 based at least in part on the prefix (i.e. “AID”); for example, a random number may be generated by the STA 120 in a predetermined format and/or of a predetermined size (e.g., 3 bytes) using a predetermined algorithm specified by a prefix included in the prefix portion; [0035]-[0036] the transmission frame may include a random MAC address portion and a prefix portion, where the prefix portion precedes the random MAC address portion (e.g., where the prefix portion is received and/or processed by the AP 110 prior to the random MAC address portion)); and
Cariou teaches generating and using the A-AMAC identifier based on the BSSID ([0051] STAs in AP Group 1 211, may be addressed by a combination of their AIDs assigned by their servicing APs and a BSSID of their servicing APs).
The rationale to combine Adrangi and Cariou is the same as provided for claims 2, 9, and 16, due to the overlapping subject matter between claims 2 and 4, 9 and 11, 16 and 18.
Regarding Claims 5, 12, and 19:
Adrangi in view of Cherian and Cariou teaches the method of claim 1, the access point of claim 8, and the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15. In addition, Adrangi teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more computer-readable instructions to perform one or more further operations to:
communicating with the wireless network device using the A-AMAC identifier post association ([0037] the STA 120 may determine, based at least in part on a local policy, preferences, settings, and/or the like, whether to generate a different random MAC address for each transmission frame or a single random MAC address that may be used for the duration of the communication connection, a predetermined number of transmission frames, and/or the like).
Claim(s) 6, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adrangi in view of Cherian and Cariou, and further in view of Huang et al (PGPUB 2020/0267541).
Regarding Claims 6 and 13:
Adrangi in view of Cherian and Cariou teaches the method of claim 1 and the access point of claim 8.
Neither Adrangi nor Cherian nor Cariou explicitly teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more computer-readable instructions to perform one or more further operations to:
generating a pairwise master key (PMK) for a robust security network (RSN) association.
However, Huang teaches the concept of generating a pairwise master key (PMK) for a robust security network (RSN) association ([0023] in current 802.11, security and authentication are achieved with robust security network association (RSNA), where 802.1X is utilized, between two station devices (STAs); [0054] there are two steps for the robust security network association (RSNA) protocols: step 1 is to generate a PMK; this step uses sequence introduced in FIG. 2 for extensive authentication protocol (EAP) method).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the PMK generation teachings of Huang with the generating an A-AMAC based on shared data teachings of Adrangi in view of Cherian and Cariou. It is well-known in the art that one of the most common security protocols in 802.11 wireless communication networks involves use of a PMK for encryption. Therefore, it would be obvious to incorporate the teachings of Huang to improve security and compatibility with common types of Wi-Fi networks.
Claim(s) 7, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adrangi in view of Cherian and Cariou, and further in view of Wang et al (PGPUB 2023/0043950).
Regarding Claims 7 and 14:
Adrangi in view of Cherian and Cariou teaches the method of claim 1 and the access point of claim 8.
Neither Adrangi nor Cherian nor Cariou explicitly teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute the one or more computer-readable instructions to perform one or more further operations to:
storing the A-AMAC identifier in an association database of the access point, wherein the A-AMAC identifier is associated with the wireless network device in the association database.
However, Wang teaches the concept of storing an A-AMAC identifier in an association database of an access point, wherein the A-AMAC identifier is associated with a wireless network device in the association database ([0002] MAC address randomization is provided to allow the user device to connect to the AP by using different MAC addresses; [0019] in order to provide a better privacy, the station STA1 may use a random MAC address to connect to the AP 110, that is the MAC address used by the station STA1 in this reconnection process is different from the MAC address MAC.sub.STA1 used in the previous connection; the new MAC address MAC.sub.STA1new; [0025] the AP 110 updates the cache table by replacing MAC.sub.STA1 by MAC.sub.STA1new).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the storing an A-AMAC identifier teachings of Wang with the generating an A-AMAC based on shared data teachings of Adrangi in view of Cherian and Cariou, with the benefit of allowing a user STA to improve privacy by increasing the frequency of address randomization while also allowing an access point to create a permanent association with the end user device to improve security and efficiency by reusing the shared security parameters upon subsequent reconnections with different randomized MAC addresses.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adrangi in view of Cherian and Cariou, and further in view of Huang and Wang.
Regarding Claim 20:
Adrangi in view of Cherian and Cariou teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15.
Neither Adrangi nor Cherian nor Cariou explicitly teaches wherein the one or more computer-readable instructions when further executed cause the access point to perform one or more further operations comprising at least one of:
generating a pairwise master key (PMK) for a robust security network (RSN) association.
However, Huang teaches the concept of generating a pairwise master key (PMK) for a robust security network (RSN) association ([0023] in current 802.11, security and authentication are achieved with robust security network association (RSNA), where 802.1X is utilized, between two station devices (STAs); [0054] there are two steps for the robust security network association (RSNA) protocols: step 1 is to generate a PMK; this step uses sequence introduced in FIG. 2 for extensive authentication protocol (EAP) method).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the PMK generation teachings of Huang with the generating an A-AMAC based on shared data teachings of Adrangi in view of Cherian and Cariou. It is well-known in the art that one of the most common security protocols in 802.11 wireless communication networks involves use of a PMK for encryption. Therefore, it would be obvious to incorporate the teachings of Huang to improve security and compatibility with common types of Wi-Fi networks.
Neither Adrangi nor Cherian nor Cariou nor Huang explicitly teaches storing the A-AMAC identifier in an association database of the access point, wherein the A-AMAC identifier is associated with the wireless network device in the association database.
However, Wang teaches the concept of storing an A-AMAC identifier in an association database of an access point, wherein the A-AMAC identifier is associated with a wireless network device in the association database ([0002] MAC address randomization is provided to allow the user device to connect to the AP by using different MAC addresses; [0019] in order to provide a better privacy, the station STA1 may use a random MAC address to connect to the AP 110, that is the MAC address used by the station STA1 in this reconnection process is different from the MAC address MAC.sub.STA1 used in the previous connection; the new MAC address MAC.sub.STA1new; [0025] the AP 110 updates the cache table by replacing MAC.sub.STA1 by MAC.sub.STA1new).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the storing an A-AMAC identifier teachings of Wang with the generating an A-AMAC based on shared data teachings of Adrangi in view of Cherian, Cariou, and Huang, with the benefit of allowing a user STA to improve privacy by increasing the frequency of address randomization while also allowing an access point to create a permanent association with the end user device to improve security and efficiency by reusing the shared security parameters upon subsequent reconnections with different randomized MAC addresses.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claims under 35 USC 103:
Examiner’s response to applicant’s arguments, page 9 last paragraph-page 10 first paragraph: Applicant’s arguments consist of the mere assertion that the prior art of record, Adrangi, does not teach the elements which Adrangi is not recited as teaching.
Examiner’s response to applicant’s arguments, page 10 paragraph 2: Examiner notes that the argued limitation comprises new matter, as shown above. Further, Examiner notes that the phrase “not shared by” can be interpreted multiple ways. Applicant appears to be arguing the meaning which is synonymous with “not distributed to”. However, “not shared by” can also mean “not in common with”, e.g. an individual has DNA which is “not shared by” a friend. Much like DNA, this meaning is especially appropriate when discussing unique identifiers of an association. Cherian teaches identifying devices uniquely by a combination of associated identifier (AID) and BSS color, a value unique to each AP; therefore, despite Cherian teaching that the identifiers are distributed, they are still unique, i.e. “not shared by” any other association between a STA and an AP. Therefore, Cherian does not contradict the claims.
Examiner’s response to applicant’s arguments, page 10 paragraph 3-page 11 paragraph 2:
With regard to applicant’s first argument, Examiner disagrees. An algorithm is not defined by its complexity; simply decoding a frame and using the pair of values as a unique identifier can be seen as an algorithm. In Cariou, when each STA receives a frame and obtains the AID and BSSID, it knows to pair them to determine which STA it identifies; therefore, the combination of values indicates the pre-determined algorithm. Examiner also notes that, upon further consideration, “indicat[ing] to the wireless network device to generate the A-AMAC identifier using said pre-determined algorithm based on the AID” is already taught by Adrangi: [0037] “For example, a random number may be generated by the STA 120 in a predetermined format and/or of a predetermined size (e.g., 3 bytes) using a predetermined algorithm specified by a prefix included in the prefix portion.” The above 103 rejection has been updated accordingly. Therefore, it is not necessary for Cariou to teach this also.
Examiner’s response to applicant’s second argument is similar to the response regarding Cherian, above: the association between STA1 and its corresponding access point is uniquely identified using AID1 and BSSID1; therefore, it is “not shared by” any other association. Even though Cariou teaches multiple access points addressing a station using the combination, the combination is still unique, i.e. “not shared by” any other AP/STA combination.
Examiner’s response to applicant’s arguments, page 11 paragraph 3-page 12 paragraph 1: However, as shown above, applicant’s arguments only apply in the case where “not shared by” means “not distributed to”. The combining of AID and BSSID to create a unique association, as taught by Cariou, allows a STA and an AP to create an association which is “not shared by”, i.e. “not in common with” any other AP and the STA. Therefore, the teachings of Cariou are compatible with Adrangi and Cherian, and not impermissible hindsight.
Applicant’s arguments with regard to independent claims 8 and 15 are similar to those regarding claim 1 and are therefore responded to in a similar way.
Applicant further argues that the dependent claims are allowable due to depending on an allowable independent claim. However, as shown above, the independent claims are not allowable.
Conclusion
/FORREST L CAREY/Examiner, Art Unit 2491
/WILLIAM R KORZUCH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2491