DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/04/2025 have been entered. Claims 1-17 are pending, claims 3, 4, 7-12 and 13-16 have been withdrawn, and claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 17 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Response to arguments found below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thommen (U.S. 2018/0214016).
With respect to claim 1, Thommen teaches an endoscope system, comprising:
a sheath (110) device having an end portion (FIG. 6a); and
an optical sensing device (104) disposed to extend within the sheath device and fixed to the end portion (FIG. 6a,b, para [0156]-[0157]),
wherein the optical sensing device has a transmission portion (136) and an optical sensing portion (102), the transmission portion is connected to the optical sensing portion (FIG. 3A for example), the optical sensing device transmits an optical signal received by the optical sensing device through the transmission portion (para [0120] for example);
wherein a diameter of the optical sensing device is smaller than a diameter of the sheath device, so that the optical sensing device is movable in the sheath device in a direction perpendicular to an extension direction of the sheath device (FIG. 6A,B);
wherein an external portion of the transmission portion is made of a hard material (para [0129], [0207]).
With respect to claim 2, Thommen teaches the end part of the sheath device is a transparent tubular element (FIG. 6A, para [0044]).
With respect to claim 5, Thommen teaches the optical sensing portion is a CMOS sensor (para [0116]).
With respect to claim 6, Thommen teaches the optical sensing device has an illumination portion (116,118) disposed around the optical sensing portion (FIG. 3H for example).
With respect to claim 17, Thommen teaches a surgical device disposed in the sheath device (para [0150]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 8 Applicant argues Thommen does not teach that the external portion of the transmission portion of the camera module 102 is [] made of a hard material. This is not persuasive. First, the claim does not define what is considered “a hard material”. Further, housing 136 meets the plain meaning of a transmission portion and meets the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDRA L NEWTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799