DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on December 26, 2025 for the application filed September 02, 2022. Claims 1-6, 8-11, and 13-20 are currently amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkintzis (US2022/0116327A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US2022/0353788A1), Foy et al. (US2023/0074838A1) and Maigat et al. (US2021/0399965A1).
Regarding claim 1, Salkintzis teaches a method implemented by a session management function (SMF) network element, wherein the method comprises: receiving, from a terminal device, a first message requesting to establish or update a protocol data unit (PDU) session (Paragraph [0008]: One method of an SMF for steering the traffic of the multi-access data connection over a plurality of steering connections includes receiving a first message via the AMF to establish a multi-access data connection between a UE and a UPF in the mobile communication network over a first access network and a second access network. Here, the first message indicates that the UE supports a first type of steering functionality that creates a plurality of steering connections over each of the first access network and the second access network. In one embodiment, the first message comprises a PDU Session Establishment Request. Paragraph [0065]: Referring to FIG. 3A, the procedure 300 begins at Step 1 a when, to request the establishment of a MA PDU Session, the UE 205 sends an UL NAS Transport message with Request Type=MA PDU Request and with an embedded PDU Session Establishment Request message, which includes the ATSSS capabilities of the UE 205 in the SGSM Capability information element (see messaging 311). Paragraph [0066]: As an example, the ATSSS capabilities of the UE 205 may indicate that the UE 205 supports the ATSSS-LL steering functionality defined in TS 23.501. At Step 1 b, the UL NAS Transport message is forwarded by the 5G Access Network to the AMF within an NGAP Uplink NAS Transport message (see messaging 313).);
and sending, to the terminal device, a second message indicating that the PDU session is
successfully established or updated (Paragraph [0072], Fig 3A: At Step 6, from the PCC rules received by PCF 309, the SMF 305 derives rules for the UE 205 (see block 329). [0075], Fig 3B: At Step 8 a, the SMF 305 creates a PDU Session Establishment Accept message for the UE 205 and encapsulates this message into an N1N2 Message Transfer Request that is sent to the AMF 303 (see messaging 337). The PDU Session Establishment Accept contains the QoS rules derives by the SMF 305 and an ATSSS Container (defined in TS 24.501). Paragraph [0077]: At Step 9 b, a DL NAS Transport message is sent to the UE 205 which contains the PDU Session Establishment Accept message (see messaging 343). Because the UE 205 receives an ATSSS Container including ATSSS rules (with or without separate QUIC rules), the UE 205 determines that its MA PDU Session establishment request was accepted by the network. Paragraph [0078]: At Step 10 a, the AMF 303 forwards N2 SM information (e.g., PDU Session ID, AN Tunnel Info, List of accepted/rejected QFI(s), etc.) received from the 5G-AN 301 in the to the SMF 305 (see messaging 347). At Step 10 b, the SMF 305 initiates an N4 Session Modification procedure with the UPF 250 (see messaging 349). The SMF 305 provides AN Tunnel Info to the UPF 250 as well as the corresponding forwarding rules. At Step 10 c, the UPF 250 provides an N4 Session Modification Response to the SMF 305 (see messaging 351). After this step, the UPF 250 delivers any down-link packets to the UE 205 that may have been buffered for this PDU Session. At Step 10 d, the SMF 305 sends an UpdateSMContext Response to the AMF 303 (see message in 353). Here, the SMF 305 may subscribe to the UE mobility event notification from the AMF 303.)
Salkintzis does not explicitly teach comprising first indication information indicating that the terminal device supports multi-path (MP)-QUIC capability; determining whether a traffic flow in the PDU session is transmitted using an MP-QUIC method; second indication information indicating that the traffic flow is transmitted using the MP-QUIC method; wherein the second indication information comprises an MP-QUIC function parameter, a second indication parameter of an MP-QUIC omitted connection identifier, a first MP-QUIC connection identifier allocated by the terminal device to an MP-QUIC connection, an MP-QUIC capability indication parameter, an MP-QUIC request indication parameter, or first MP-QUIC version information.
However, Zhou teaches comprising first indication information indicating that the terminal device supports multi-path (MP)-(QUIC capability; determining whether a traffic flow in the PDU session is transmitted using an MP-QUIC method; second indication information indicating that the traffic flow is transmitted using the MP-QUIC method (Paragraph [0061]: For event (c), assistance from the Session Management Function (SMF) 617 may be needed in Operation 603 c. For existing PDU session(s) or during the PDU session establishment procedure, the UDM sends the Nsmf_EventExposure_Subscribe to the SMF(s) to serve the requested user. Paragraph [0063]: In Operation 606 e, when the SMF 617 learns from the PDU session establishment procedure that the UE supporting ATSSS-LL, MPTCP or MP-QUIC or any combined of multi-access traffic steering related capabilities, the SMF 617 sends the event report by Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify message (including NEF reference ID) to the AMF 613 indicated as the notification endpoint.)
wherein the second indication information comprises an MP-QUIC function parameter (Paragraph [0063]: In Operation 606 e, when the SMF 617 learns from the PDU session establishment procedure that the UE supporting ATSSS-LL, MPTCP or MP-QUIC or any combined of multi-access traffic steering related capabilities, the SMF 617 sends the event report by Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify message (including NEF reference ID) to the AMF 613 indicated as the notification endpoint. Paragraph [0065]: The PCF can create or update the UE Route Selection Policies (URSP) based on the received traffic routing related information. Paragraph [0079]: Operation 901: An AF (e.g., MEC AF) creates an AF request about multi-access traffic steering requirements for one or more user devices. The one or more user devices can be one or more UEs or one or more groups of UEs. The request can include application traffic descriptor(s) and steering functionality information. The steering functionality information can include the following: Paragraph [0082]: MP-QUIC server information, such as FQDN, IP address, and/or port number.)
wherein the second indication information comprises an MP-QUIC capability indication parameter (Paragraph [0038]: (3) A third event indicating a capability of the one or more user devices related to access traffic steering, switching, splitting (ATSSS). Paragraph [0039]: The method 200 also includes, at operation 220, receiving, by the application function, a response from the network function indicating that the subscription has been created. In some embodiments, the capability of the one or more user devices related to ATSSS comprises at least one of: (1) ATSSS low-layer, (2) multipath TCP protocol, or (3) multipath extensions for QUIC. In some embodiments, the network function comprises a network exposure function. Paragraph [0061]: For event (c), assistance from the Session Management Function (SMF) 617 may be needed in Operation 603 c. For existing PDU session(s) or during the PDU session establishment procedure, the UDM sends the Nsmf_EventExposure_Subscribe to the SMF(s) to serve the requested user. Paragraph [0063]: In Operation 606 e, when the SMF 617 learns from the PDU session establishment procedure that the UE supporting ATSSS-LL, MPTCP or MP-QUIC or any combined of multi-access traffic steering related capabilities, the SMF 617 sends the event report by Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify message (including NEF reference ID) to the AMF 613 indicated as the notification endpoint.)
an MP-QUIC request indication parameter (Paragraph [0079]: Operation 901: An AF (e.g., MEC AF) creates an AF request about multi-access traffic steering requirements for one or more user devices. The one or more user devices can be one or more UEs or one or more groups of UEs. The request can include application traffic descriptor(s) and steering functionality information. The steering functionality information can include the following: Paragraph [0082]: MP-QUIC server information, such as FQDN, IP address, and/or port number.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide that first indication information indicating that the terminal device supports a multi-path (MP)-(QUIC capability; determining whether a traffic flow in the PDU session is transmitted using an MP-QUIC method; second indication information indicating that the traffic flow is transmitted using the MP-QUIC method, wherein the second indication information comprises an MP-QUIC function parameter, wherein the second indication information comprises an MP-QUIC capability indication parameter, an MP-QUIC request indication parameter, as taught by Zhou in the system of Salkintzis, in order to indicate that the user device has multi-access traffic steering capability, and that the parameters can be used for indicating traffic routing information and for providing access type preference for the user devices for multi-access traffic steering capabilities, and the parameters can be used for traffic routing related information (Zhou: Paragraphs [0004], [0025], [0065], [0079], [0082], Abstract).
The combination of Salkintzis and Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter comprises an MP-QUIC proxy function, a security parameter, or a transmission parameter.
However, Foy teaches wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter comprises an MP-QUIC proxy function, a security parameter, or a transmission parameter (Paragraph [0078]: Multipath protocols may exist at multiple layers including at a physical layer, link layer, and/or at a transport layer. In particular, transport layer multipath protocols may include Multipath Transmission Control Protocol (TCP) (MPTCP), Stream Control Transmission Protocol (SCTP), and Multipath QUIC (MP-QUIC). Paragraph [0079]: In one or more embodiments described herein, there may be a multi-hop (MH), multipath (MP) mechanism (MHMP) at the transport layer, which may use QUIC and its multipath extensions (MP-QUIC) as base technologies, since it is a secure transport protocol. The intermediate nodes in an MHMP connection may be called proxy nodes. Paragraph [0099]: In one or more embodiments, there may be protocol extensions to handle indirect (e.g., proxied) paths, using as a base the existing QUIC protocol and its proposed multipath extension, since QUIC may be a secure transport protocol. Paragraph [0102]: An MP-QUIC connection between two endpoints is composed of one or more paths. An MP-QUIC path may be a uni- or bi-directional data flow between two endpoints. From the standpoint of each endpoint, a flow may be associated with a 4-tuple source/destination IP address and transport (e.g., UDP) port (as seen by the endpoint). Each endpoint may see a different 4-tuple for the same path, for example, when network address translation (NAT) is applied on the path. Table 2: Advertisement of a proxied connection in MP-QUIC; Endpoint sends ADD_ADDRESS frame type enhanced with proxy-related information elements. Paragraph [0113]: There may be QUIC frame types used as building blocks used for efficiently connecting through a proxy for QUIC or MP-QUIC procedures. Paragraph [0119]: There may be a SWITCH frame used for efficiently connecting through a proxy for QUIC or MP-QUIC procedures. Paragraph [0122]: once the encapsulated protocol is sufficiently well encrypted/protected (e.g., once the traffic is at “1-RTT encryption level”); later on, such as during normal QUIC-over-QUIC operation; and/or, as early as with a NEW_CONNECTION request. Using SWITCH once reaching the 1-RTT encryption level may keep earlier unprotected and 0-RTT-protected packets encapsulated, and therefore encrypted, over the outer QUIC connection. This way, no clear packets may be visible to an eavesdropper between client and proxy, which hides the fact that a proxied connection is being established. Paragraph [0125]: Regarding the steps shown in FIGS. 11A and 11B, at 1101, the Endpoint1 may establish a QUIC connection to the proxy. The proxy may authenticate the client (e.g., based on a certificate provided by the client). In some cases, QUIC may support server authentication by the client only, but may be extended to support client authentication by the server. Paragraph [0146]: Proxies may be used in multipath transport protocols for efficiently connecting through a proxy in QUIC or MP-QUIC procedures. An MP-QUIC signaling and procedure may be used to establish individual indirect paths as part of a multipath connection. Paragraph [0159]: Regarding the steps as shown in FIG. 12 , at 1201, an Endpoint1, denoted by element 1250, may establish a multipath transport connection with Endpoint2, denoted by element 1270, over one or more paths (e.g., using existing MP-QUIC procedure for direct path(s) and/or a method described herein for indirect path(s)). Paragraph [0160]: The existence and IP address/port of a proxy may be made available to Endpoint2 (e.g., over a management plane communication mechanism, possibly along with policy information on the usage conditions for this proxy).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter comprises an MP-QUIC proxy function, a security parameter, or a transmission parameter, as taught by Foy in the combined system of Salkintzis and Zhou, so that proxies/indirect paths can be used to improve path diversity, and use direct paths as backup paths, as part of the multipath connection (Foy: Paragraphs [0102]. [0109], [0125], [0146], [0160])
The combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, and Foy does not explicitly teach wherein the security parameter comprises a non-encryption indication.
However, Maigat teaches wherein the security parameter comprises a non-encryption indication (Paragraph [0041]: a mechanism for disabling the encryption of the packet numbering. Paragraph [0042]: should said connection be a multipath connection, a mechanism for adding, in said connection, another path between the end devices that does not encrypt the packet numbering. Paragraph [0135]: mechanism with the identifier “multipath_1”: in the case of a multipath connection, creation of another path between the end devices, on which there is no encryption of the packet numbering (“Packet Number” field) (for example in the QUIC packet header).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the security parameter comprises a non-encryption indication, as taught by Maigat in the combined system of Salkintzis, Zhou, and Foy, so that encryption can be enabled or disabled based on the indication in the packet header (Maigat: Paragraphs [0041], [0042], [0135]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, Foy, and Maigat teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat does not explicitly teach the method further comprising obtaining the MP-QUIC function parameter.
However, Zhou teaches the method further comprises obtaining the MP-QUIC function parameter (Paragraph [0063]: In Operation 606 e, when the SMF 617 learns from the PDU session establishment procedure that the UE supporting ATSSS-LL, MPTCP or MP-QUIC or any combined of multi-access traffic steering related capabilities, the SMF 617 sends the event report by Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify message (including NEF reference ID) to the AMF 613 indicated as the notification endpoint. Paragraph [0065]: The PCF can create or update the UE Route Selection Policies (URSP) based on the received traffic routing related information. Paragraph [0079]: Operation 901: An AF (e.g., MEC AF) creates an AF request about multi-access traffic steering requirements for one or more user devices. The one or more user devices can be one or more UEs or one or more groups of UEs. The request can include application traffic descriptor(s) and steering functionality information. The steering functionality information can include the following: Paragraph [0082]: MP-QUIC server information, such as FQDN, IP address, and/or port number.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the method further comprises obtaining the MP-QUIC function parameter, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat so that the parameters can be used for traffic routing related information (Zhou: Paragraphs [0065], [0079], [0082]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, Foy, and Maigat teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising (see rejection for claim 2);
Salkintzis further teaches sending, to a user plane function (UPF) network element, the second indication information; and receiving, from the UPF network element (Paragraph [0057]: FIG. 2 depicts a first network deployment 200 where data traffic is exchanged between a UE 205 (e.g., one embodiment of the remote unit 105) and a UPF 250 (e.g., one embodiment of the UPF 141) over a MA PDU Session using QUIC-LL. Paragraph [0070]: At Step 5, the SMF 305 selects a PCF 309 and initiates the establishment of a SM Policy Association by sending an SM Policy Control Create Request to the selected PCF 309 (see messaging 323). This request triggers the PCF 309 to create SM policy for the PDU Session, i.e., rules (called PCC rules) that define how the various data flows of the PDU Session will be charged. Paragraph [0071]: In one example, the PCF 309 decides to route the data flows across 3GPP access and non-3GPP access by applying the QUIC-LL steering functionality supported by the UE 205. In this case, the PCF 309 may provide PCC rules to SMF 305 (in step 5 b) that include MA PDU Session Control information. Paragraph [0074]: Continuing on FIG. 3B, at Step 7 the SMF 305 selects a UPF 250 and creates an N4 Session with this UPF 250. In the N4 Session Establishment Request message the SMF 305 includes the derived N4 rules that contain QUIC rules, which are used for selecting a QUIC connection for every downlink data packet (see messaging 333). As noted above, the couple [IP address, UDP port] identifies a QUIC connection refers to an IP address and a UDP port on the UPF side. This couple for each QUIC connection is either allocated by the SMF 305, or is allocated by the UPF 250 itself and is provided to SMF 305 in step 7 b (see messaging 335). In this latter case, the SMF 305 derives the QUIC rules after the completion of step 7.);
The combination of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat does not explicitly teach sending second indication information; and receiving the MP-QUIC function parameter.
However, Zhou teaches sending second indication information; and receiving the MP-QUIC function parameter (Paragraph [0048]: In some embodiments, the one or more parameters further comprise at least one of: a traffic descriptor, a preferred Internet Protocol (IP) type, a time window for data transfer, or a location criterion. Paragraph [0049]: In some embodiments, the traffic routing information comprises traffic steering requirements. In some embodiments, the one or more parameters comprise server information of Multipath Transmission Control Protocol or Multipath QUIC, the server information comprising at least one of a fully qualified domain name, an Internet Protocol address, or a port number. Paragraph [0063]: In Operation 606 e, when the SMF 617 learns from the PDU session establishment procedure that the UE supporting ATSSS-LL, MPTCP or MP-QUIC or any combined of multi-access traffic steering related capabilities, the SMF 617 sends the event report by Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify message (including NEF reference ID) to the AMF 613 indicated as the notification endpoint. Paragraph [0065]: The PCF can create or update the UE Route Selection Policies (URSP) based on the received traffic routing related information. Paragraph [0079]: Operation 901: An AF (e.g., MEC AF) creates an AF request about multi-access traffic steering requirements for one or more user devices. The one or more user devices can be one or more UEs or one or more groups of UEs. The request can include application traffic descriptor(s) and steering functionality information. The steering functionality information can include the following: Paragraph [0082]: MP-QUIC server information, such as FQDN, IP address, and/or port number.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide sending second indication information; and receiving the MP-QUIC function parameter, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat, so that the parameters can be used for traffic routing related information (Zhou: Paragraphs [0065], [0079], [0082]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, Foy, and Maigat teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising (see rejection for claim 2);
Salkintzis further teaches allocating; and sending, to a UPF network element (Paragraph [0056]: The remote unit 105 may therefore establish a MA PDU Session with the UPF 141 that enables traffic steering across 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses using the QUIC-LL steering functionality (in short, an MA PDU Session using QUIC-LL). Additionally, after the establishment of the MA PDU Session using QUIC-LL, data traffic exchanged between the remote unit 105 and UPF 141 can be steered across the 3GPP and the non-3GPP accesses using the steering policy 110 with QUIC rules (and corresponding Multi-Access Rules with QUIC rules at the UPF 141). Paragraph [0057]: FIG. 2 depicts a first network deployment 200 where data traffic is exchanged between a UE 205 (e.g., one embodiment of the remote unit 105) and a UPF 250 (e.g., one embodiment of the UPF 141) over a MA PDU Session using QUIC-LL. Paragraph [0070]: At Step 5, the SMF 305 selects a PCF 309 and initiates the establishment of a SM Policy Association by sending an SM Policy Control Create Request to the selected PCF 309 (see messaging 323). This request triggers the PCF 309 to create SM policy for the PDU Session, i.e., rules (called PCC rules) that define how the various data flows of the PDU Session will be charged. Paragraph [0071]: In one example, the PCF 309 decides to route the data flows across 3GPP access and non-3GPP access by applying the QUIC-LL steering functionality supported by the UE 205. In this case, the PCF 309 may provide PCC rules to SMF 305 (in step 5 b) that include MA PDU Session Control information. Paragraph [0074]: Continuing on FIG. 3B, at Step 7 the SMF 305 selects a UPF 250 and creates an N4 Session with this UPF 250. In the N4 Session Establishment Request message the SMF 305 includes the derived N4 rules that contain QUIC rules, which are used for selecting a QUIC connection for every downlink data packet (see messaging 333). As noted above, the couple [IP address, UDP port] identifies a QUIC connection refers to an IP address and a UDP port on the UPF side. This couple for each QUIC connection is either allocated by the SMF 305, or is allocated by the UPF 250 itself and is provided to SMF 305 in step 7 b (see messaging 335). In this latter case, the SMF 305 derives the QUIC rules after the completion of step 7.);
The combination of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat does not explicitly teach allocating and sending the MP-QUIC function parameter.
However, Zhou teaches allocating and sending the MP-QUIC function parameter (Paragraph [0007]: The request includes one or more parameters indicating traffic routing information for one or more user devices. The one or more parameters comprise at least an access type preference for the one or more user devices. The method also includes receiving a response from the network function indicating the creation or the update of the policy or the rule for traffic routing. Paragraph [0047]: FIG. 4 illustrates an example method 400 for wireless communication in accordance with the present technology. The method 400 includes, at operation 410, transmitting a request from an application function to a network function to enable a creation or an update of a policy or a rule for traffic routing. The request includes one or more parameters indicating traffic routing information for one or more user devices. The one or more user devices can be any user device(s) or user device group(s). The one or more parameters comprise at least an access type preference for the one or more user devices. The method 400 includes, at operation 420, receiving a response from the network function indicating the creation or the update of the policy or the rule for traffic routing. Paragraph [0049]: In some embodiments, the traffic routing information comprises traffic steering requirements. In some embodiments, the one or more parameters comprise server information of Multipath Transmission Control Protocol or Multipath QUIC, the server information comprising at least one of a fully qualified domain name, an Internet Protocol address, or a port number. Paragraph [0063]: In Operation 606 e, when the SMF 617 learns from the PDU session establishment procedure that the UE supporting ATSSS-LL, MPTCP or MP-QUIC or any combined of multi-access traffic steering related capabilities, the SMF 617 sends the event report by Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify message (including NEF reference ID) to the AMF 613 indicated as the notification endpoint. Paragraph [0065]: The PCF can create or update the UE Route Selection Policies (URSP) based on the received traffic routing related information. Paragraph [0079]: Operation 901: An AF (e.g., MEC AF) creates an AF request about multi-access traffic steering requirements for one or more user devices. The one or more user devices can be one or more UEs or one or more groups of UEs. The request can include application traffic descriptor(s) and steering functionality information. The steering functionality information can include the following: Paragraph [0082]: MP-QUIC server information, such as FQDN, IP address, and/or port number.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide allocating and sending the MP-QUIC function parameter, as taught by Zhou in the combinedsystem of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat, in order to provide policy and rule for traffic routing (Zhou: Paragraphs [0007], [0047]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, Foy, and Maigat teaches the method of claim 2 (see rejection for claim 2);
The combination of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat does not explicitly teach wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an MP-QUIC function IP address.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an MP-QUIC function IP address (Paragraph [0048]: In some embodiments, the network function comprises a network exposure function or a policy control function. In some embodiments, the access type preference indicates a preference for (1) a first access technology in a first protocol suite, (2) a second access technology different from a first protocol suite, or (3) a combination of the first access technology and the second access technology. In some embodiments, the one or more parameters further comprise at least one of: a traffic descriptor, a preferred Internet Protocol (IP) type, a time window for data transfer, or a location criterion. Paragraph [0063]: In Operation 606 e, when the SMF 617 learns from the PDU session establishment procedure that the UE supporting ATSSS-LL, MPTCP or MP-QUIC or any combined of multi-access traffic steering related capabilities, the SMF 617 sends the event report by Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify message (including NEF reference ID) to the AMF 613 indicated as the notification endpoint. Paragraph [0065]: The PCF can create or update the UE Route Selection Policies (URSP) based on the received traffic routing related information. Paragraph [0079]: Operation 901: An AF (e.g., MEC AF) creates an AF request about multi-access traffic steering requirements for one or more user devices. The one or more user devices can be one or more UEs or one or more groups of UEs. The request can include application traffic descriptor(s) and steering functionality information. The steering functionality information can include the following: Paragraph [0082]: MP-QUIC server information, such as FQDN, IP address, and/or port number.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an MP-QUIC function IP address, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat, so that the parameters can be used for traffic routing related information (Zhou: Paragraphs [0065], [0079], [0082]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, Foy, and Maigat teaches the method of claim 2 (see rejection for claim 2);
The combination of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat does not explicitly teach wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an MP-QUIC function port number.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an MP-QUIC function port number (Paragraph [0048]: In some embodiments, the network function comprises a network exposure function or a policy control function. In some embodiments, the access type preference indicates a preference for (1) a first access technology in a first protocol suite, (2) a second access technology different from a first protocol suite, or (3) a combination of the first access technology and the second access technology. In some embodiments, the one or more parameters further comprise at least one of: a traffic descriptor, a preferred Internet Protocol (IP) type, a time window for data transfer, or a location criterion. Paragraph [0063]: In Operation 606 e, when the SMF 617 learns from the PDU session establishment procedure that the UE supporting ATSSS-LL, MPTCP or MP-QUIC or any combined of multi-access traffic steering related capabilities, the SMF 617 sends the event report by Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify message (including NEF reference ID) to the AMF 613 indicated as the notification endpoint. Paragraph [0065]: The PCF can create or update the UE Route Selection Policies (URSP) based on the received traffic routing related information. Paragraph [0079]: Operation 901: An AF (e.g., MEC AF) creates an AF request about multi-access traffic steering requirements for one or more user devices. The one or more user devices can be one or more UEs or one or more groups of UEs. The request can include application traffic descriptor(s) and steering functionality information. The steering functionality information can include the following: Paragraph [0082]: MP-QUIC server information, such as FQDN, IP address, and/or port number.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an MP-QUIC function port number, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat, so that the parameters can be used for traffic routing related information (Zhou: Paragraphs [0065], [0079], [0082]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, Foy, and Maigat teaches the method of claim 6 (see rejection for claim 6);
The combination of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat does not explicitly teach wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises a sub-connection identifier of an MP-QUIC sub-connection, an access technology indication parameter, or a tunnel identifier information, and wherein the sub-connection identifier corresponds to the access technology indication parameter or the tunnel identifier information.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an access technology indication parameter (Paragraph [0048]: In some embodiments, the network function comprises a network exposure function or a policy control function. In some embodiments, the access type preference indicates a preference for (1) a first access technology in a first protocol suite, (2) a second access technology different from a first protocol suite, or (3) a combination of the first access technology and the second access technology. In some embodiments, the one or more parameters further comprise at least one of: a traffic descriptor, a preferred Internet Protocol (IP) type, a time window for data transfer, or a location criterion. Paragraph [0050]: FIG. 5 illustrates an example method 500 for wireless communication in accordance with the present technology. The method 500 includes, at operation 510, receiving, by a policy control function, a request including one or more parameters indicating traffic routing information for one or more user devices. The one or more user devices can be any user device(s) or user device group(s). The one or more parameters comprise at least an access type preference for the one or more user devices. The method 500 also includes, at operation 510, creating or updating a policy or a rule for traffic routing based on the one or more parameters. Paragraph [0063]: In Operation 606 e, when the SMF 617 learns from the PDU session establishment procedure that the UE supporting ATSSS-LL, MPTCP or MP-QUIC or any combined of multi-access traffic steering related capabilities, the SMF 617 sends the event report by Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify message (including NEF reference ID) to the AMF 613 indicated as the notification endpoint. Paragraph [0065]: The PCF can create or update the UE Route Selection Policies (URSP) based on the received traffic routing related information. Paragraph [0079]: Operation 901: An AF (e.g., MEC AF) creates an AF request about multi-access traffic steering requirements for one or more user devices. The one or more user devices can be one or more UEs or one or more groups of UEs. The request can include application traffic descriptor(s) and steering functionality information. The steering functionality information can include the following: Paragraph [0082]: MP-QUIC server information, such as FQDN, IP address, and/or port number.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an access technology indication parameter, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat, so that the parameters can be used for indicating access type for traffic routing related information (Zhou: Paragraphs [0050], [0065], [0079], [0082]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, Foy, and Maigat teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat does not explicitly teach receiving MP-QUIC method indication information from a policy control function (PCF) network element, and wherein the MP-QUIC method indication information indicates that the traffic flow is transmitted using the MP-QUIC method.
However, Zhou teaches receiving MP-QUIC method indication information from a policy control function (PCF) network element, and wherein the MP-QUIC method indication information indicates that the traffic flow is transmitted using the MP-QUIC method (Paragraph [0061]: For event (c), assistance from the Session Management Function (SMF) 617 may be needed in Operation 603 c. For existing PDU session(s) or during the PDU session establishment procedure, the UDM sends the Nsmf_EventExposure_Subscribe to the SMF(s) to serve the requested user. Paragraph [0063]: In Operation 606 e, when the SMF 617 learns from the PDU session establishment procedure that the UE supporting ATSSS-LL, MPTCP or MP-QUIC or any combined of multi-access traffic steering related capabilities, the SMF 617 sends the event report by Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify message (including NEF reference ID) to the AMF 613 indicated as the notification endpoint. Paragraph [0065]: After the AF (e.g., MEC AF) subscribes to user events, the AF can transmit information to the PCF to impact the creation or update of rules and/or policies for ATSSS control. This embodiment describes that an AF provides traffic routing related information to the PCF directly or via the NEF. The PCF can create or update the UE Route Selection Policies (URSP) based on the received traffic routing related information. Paragraph [0071]: The PCF then sends the response message to the NEF, which sends the response message to the AF correspondingly. Based on local policy, the AMF can contact the PCF to create the UE policy association with the PCF and to retrieve the UE policy. The AMF invokes the Npcf_UEPolicyControl_Create service operation. The AMF sends a response to the PCF, and the PCF sends the UE policy including the created or updated URSP to the UE via the AMF by invoking the Namf_Communication_N1N2MessageTransfer service operation.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving MP-QUIC method indication information from a policy control function (PCF) network element, and wherein the MP-QUIC method indication information indicates that the traffic flow is transmitted using the MP-QUIC method, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat, to indicate that the user device has multi-access traffic steering capability, and to create policies related to traffic routing (Zhou: Paragraphs [0004], [0025], [0065]).
Regarding claim 9, Salkintzis teaches a method implemented by a terminal device, wherein the method comprises sending, to a session management function network element, a first message requesting a protocol data unit (PDU) to establish or update a PDU session; receiving, from the session management function network element, a second message indicating that the PDU session is successfully established or updated (see rejection for claim 1);
Salkintzis does not explicitly teach comprising first indication information indicating that the terminal device supports a multi-path (MP)-QUIC capability; and comprising second indication information indicating that a traffic flow is transmitted using an MP-QUIC method; wherein the second indication information comprises an MP-QUIC function parameter, a second indication parameter of an MP-QUIC omitted connection identifier, a first MP-QUIC connection identifier allocated by the terminal device to an MP-QUIC connection, an MP-QUIC capability indication parameter, an MP-QUIC request indication parameter, or first MP-QUIC version information.
However, Zhou teaches comprising first indication information indicating that the terminal device supports a multi-path (MP)-QUIC capability; and comprising second indication information indicating that a traffic flow is transmitted using an MP-QUIC method; wherein the second indication information comprises an MP-QUIC function parameter; an MP-QUIC capability indication parameter, an MP-QUIC request indication parameter (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide that first indication information indicating that the terminal device supports a multi-path (MP)-QUIC capability; and second indication information indicating that a traffic flow is transmitted using an MP-QUIC method, wherein the second indication information comprises an MP-QUIC function parameter, an MP-QUIC capability indication parameter, an MP-QUIC request indication parameter, as taught by Zhou in the system of Salkintzis, in order to indicate that the user device has multi-access traffic steering capability, and that the parameters can be used for indicating traffic routing information and for providing access type preference for the user devices for multi-access traffic steering capabilities, and the parameters can be used for traffic routing related information (Zhou: Paragraphs [0004], [0025], [0065], [0079], [0082], Abstract).
The combination of Salkintzis and Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter comprises an MP-QUIC proxy function, an MP- QUIC version information, a security parameter, or a transmission parameter.
However, Foy teaches wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter comprises a MP-QUIC proxy function, a security parameter, or a transmission parameter (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter comprises a MP-QUIC proxy function, a security parameter, or a transmission parameter, as taught by Foy in the combined system of Salkintzis and Zhou, so that proxies/indirect paths can be used to improve path diversity, and use direct paths as backup paths, as part of the multipath connection (Foy: Paragraphs [0102]. [0109], [0125], [0146], [0160])
The combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, and Foy does not explicitly teach wherein the security parameter comprises a non-encryption indication.
However, Maigat teaches wherein the security parameter comprises a non-encryption indication (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the security parameter comprises a non-encryption indication, as taught by Maigat in the combined system of Salkintzis, Zhou, and Foy, so that encryption can be enabled or disabled based on the indication in the packet header (Maigat: Paragraphs [0041], [0042], [0135]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, Foy, and Maigat teaches the method of claim 9 (see rejection for claim 9);
The combination of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat does not explicitly teach wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an MP-QUIC function IP address.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an MP-QUIC function IP address (see rejection for claim 5);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an MP-QUIC function IP address, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat, so that the parameters can be used for traffic routing related information (Zhou: Paragraphs [0065], [0079], [0082]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, Foy, and Maigat teaches the method of claim 9 (see rejection for claim 9);
The combination of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat does not explicitly teach wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an MP-QUIC function port number.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an MP-QUIC function port number (see rejection for claim 6);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an MP-QUIC function port number, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat, so that the parameters can be used for traffic routing related information (Zhou: Paragraphs [0065], [0079], [0082]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, Foy, and Maigat teaches the method of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
The combination of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat does not explicitly teach wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an access technology indication parameter or a sub-connection identifier of an MP-QUIC sub-connection corresponding to the access technology indication parameter.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an access technology indication parameter (see rejection for claim 7);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an access technology indication parameter, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat, so that the parameters can be used for indicating access type for traffic routing related information (Zhou: Paragraphs [0050], [0065], [0079], [0082]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, and Foy teaches the method of claim 9 further comprising (see rejection for claim 9);
Salkintzis further teaches establishing connection to a user plane function (UPF) network element based on the second message (Paragraph [0037]: This new steering functionality is termed as QUIC-Low Layer (QUIC-LL). The QUIC protocol is used between the UE and the UPF and it creates multiple QUIC connection over each access network, each QUIC connection used to carry the data traffic of a QoS flow. Paragraph [0056]: The remote unit 105 may therefore establish a MA PDU Session with the UPF 141 that enables traffic steering across 3GPP and non-3GPP accesses using the QUIC-LL steering functionality (in short, an MA PDU Session using QUIC-LL). Additionally, after the establishment of the MA PDU Session using QUIC-LL, data traffic exchanged between the remote unit 105 and UPF 141 can be steered across the 3GPP and the non-3GPP accesses using the steering policy 110 with QUIC rules (and corresponding Multi-Access Rules with QUIC rules at the UPF 141). Paragraph [0057]: FIG. 2 depicts a first network deployment 200 where data traffic is exchanged between a UE 205 (e.g., one embodiment of the remote unit 105) and a UPF 250 (e.g., one embodiment of the UPF 141) over a MA PDU Session using QUIC-LL. Paragraph [0070]: At Step 5, the SMF 305 selects a PCF 309 and initiates the establishment of a SM Policy Association by sending an SM Policy Control Create Request to the selected PCF 309 (see messaging 323). This request triggers the PCF 309 to create SM policy for the PDU Session, i.e., rules (called PCC rules) that define how the various data flows of the PDU Session will be charged. Paragraph [0071]: In one example, the PCF 309 decides to route the data flows across 3GPP access and non-3GPP access by applying the QUIC-LL steering functionality supported by the UE 205. In this case, the PCF 309 may provide PCC rules to SMF 305 (in step 5 b) that include MA PDU Session Control information. Paragraph [0074]: Continuing on FIG. 3B, at Step 7 the SMF 305 selects a UPF 250 and creates an N4 Session with this UPF 250. In the N4 Session Establishment Request message the SMF 305 includes the derived N4 rules that contain QUIC rules, which are used for selecting a QUIC connection for every downlink data packet (see messaging 333). As noted above, the couple [IP address, UDP port] identifies a QUIC connection refers to an IP address and a UDP port on the UPF side. This couple for each QUIC connection is either allocated by the SMF 305, or is allocated by the UPF 250 itself and is provided to SMF 305 in step 7 b (see messaging 335). In this latter case, the SMF 305 derives the QUIC rules after the completion of step 7.);
The combination of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat does not explicitly teach establishing an MP-QUIC connection and performing data transmission using the MP-QUIC connection.
However, Zhou teaches establishing an MP-QUIC connection and performing data transmission using the MP-QUIC connection Paragraph [0049]: In some embodiments, the traffic routing information comprises traffic steering requirements. In some embodiments, the one or more parameters comprise server information of Multipath Transmission Control Protocol or Multipath QUIC, the server information comprising at least one of a fully qualified domain name, an Internet Protocol address, or a port number. Paragraph [0061]: For event (c), assistance from the Session Management Function (SMF) 617 may be needed in Operation 603 c. For existing PDU session(s) or during the PDU session establishment procedure, the UDM sends the Nsmf_EventExposure_Subscribe to the SMF(s) to serve the requested user. Paragraph [0063]: In Operation 606 e, when the SMF 617 learns from the PDU session establishment procedure that the UE supporting ATSSS-LL, MPTCP or MP-QUIC or any combined of multi-access traffic steering related capabilities, the SMF 617 sends the event report by Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify message (including NEF reference ID) to the AMF 613 indicated as the notification endpoint. Paragraph [0065]: The PCF can create or update the UE Route Selection Policies (URSP) based on the received traffic routing related information. Paragraph [0079]: Operation 901: An AF (e.g., MEC AF) creates an AF request about multi-access traffic steering requirements for one or more user devices. The one or more user devices can be one or more UEs or one or more groups of UEs. The request can include application traffic descriptor(s) and steering functionality information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide establishing an MP-QUIC connection and performing data transmission using the MP-QUIC connection, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat, so that the data transmission includes multi-access traffic steering capability (Zhou: Paragraphs [0004], [0025]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, and Foy teaches the method of claim 13 (see rejection for claim 13);
Salkintzis further teaches wherein the second message further comprises a traffic flow identifier or an application identifier, and wherein performing the data transmission comprises transmitting, a traffic flow data packet corresponding to the traffic flow identifier or the application identifier (Paragraph [0037]: The QUIC protocol is used between the UE and the UPF and it creates multiple QUIC connection over each access network, each QUIC connection used to carry the data traffic of a QoS flow. Paragraph [0057]: Essentially, a MA PDU Session using QUIC-LL 211 creates two QUIC tunnels between the UE and UPF: one QUIC tunnel over 3GPP access 225 and another QUIC tunnel over non-3GPP access 227. Each QUIC tunnel is composed of one or more QUIC connections and each QUIC connection is used to carry the traffic of a specific QoS flow. The QUIC connections are established over each access right after the establishment of the MA PDU Session 211, assuming the UE 205 is registered over both accesses. Paragraph [0060]: The QUIC Connection Selection is based on the QUIC rules. In the depicted embodiment, the QUIC tunnel over 3GPP access 225 includes a first QUIC connection 229 that carries a first QoS Flow (QoS to Flow 1) and a second QUIC connection 231 that carries a second QoS Flow (QoS Flow 2). Similarly, the QUIC tunnel over non-3GPP access 227 includes a first QUIC connection 233 that carries a first QoS Flow (QoS Flow 1) and a second QUIC connection 235 that carries a second QoS Flow (QoS Flow 2). Paragraph [0061]: Note that each QUIC connection may be identified by the IP address and UDP port. Paragraph [0083]: Each QUIC rule 415 has a Traffic Descriptor component, which identifies the data traffic that matches this rule, and a QUIC Connection Selection Descriptor component (e.g., QUIC connection selection rule 417), which identifies the QUIC connection via which the data traffic should be sent. The QUIC connection itself is identified with the couple [IP address, UDP port], i.e., with the IP address and the UDP port on the UPF side where the QUIC connection is established to. Alternatively, the QUIC connection can be identified by other means, such as a QUIC connection identifier. Paragraph [0084]: Each QoS rule 420 has a Packet Filter List component, which identifies the data traffic that matches this rule, and a QoS Flow Identity (QFI) component, which identifies the QoS flow (i.e., the QoS parameters) that should be used to transfer this data traffic. Note from FIG. 4 that each QoS rule matches the data traffic of a single QUIC connection via the couple [IP address, UDP port], thus, one QoS flow is used to transfer the traffic of one QUIC connection. In other words, there is one-to-one mapping between QoS flows and QUIC connections.)
The combination of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat does not explicitly teach performing the data transmission comprises transmitting, using the MP-QUIC connection.
However, Zhou teaches performing the data transmission comprises transmitting, using the MP-QUIC connection (Paragraph [0061]: For event (c), assistance from the Session Management Function (SMF) 617 may be needed in Operation 603 c. For existing PDU session(s) or during the PDU session establishment procedure, the UDM sends the Nsmf_EventExposure_Subscribe to the SMF(s) to serve the requested user. Paragraph [0063]: In Operation 606 e, when the SMF 617 learns from the PDU session establishment procedure that the UE supporting ATSSS-LL, MPTCP or MP-QUIC or any combined of multi-access traffic steering related capabilities, the SMF 617 sends the event report by Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify message (including NEF reference ID) to the AMF 613 indicated as the notification endpoint.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide performing the data transmission comprises transmitting, using the MP-QUIC connection, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat, in order to indicate that the user device has multi-access traffic steering capability (Zhou: Paragraphs [0004], [0025]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, Foy, and Maigat teaches the method of claim 13 (see rejection for claim 13);
Salkintzis further teaches wherein performing the data transmission comprises: performing packet header encapsulation on a to-be-transmitted data packet, and sending an encapsulated packet to the UPF network element (Paragraph [0061]: After a QUIC connection is selected, the IP packet 209 is forwarded to this QUIC connection and goes through the normal processing of the QUIC protocol (e.g., at QUIC protocol layer 215). In the depicted embodiment, the UE 205 selects the first QoS flow 233 of the QUIC tunnel over non-3GPP access 227. During this processing of the QUIC protocol, the IP packet 209 is encapsulated in a QUIC Datagram Frame (specified in draft-pauly-quic-datagram-05) that is further included in a QUIC packet 237. Note that each QUIC packet may carry one or multiple QUIC Datagram Frames and/or other QUIC frame types, as specified in draft-ietf-quic-transport-25. Each QUIC packet is encapsulated in another IP packet (e.g., at UDP/IP layer 219) that is forwarded to a specific IP address and UDP port of the UPF 250. Note that each QUIC connection may be identified by the IP address and UDP port. Paragraph [0083]: The QUIC connection itself is identified with the couple [IP address, UDP port], i.e., with the IP address and the UDP port on the UPF side where the QUIC connection is established to.
The combination of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat does not explicitly teach MP-QUIC packet header encapsulation, and wherein an MP-QUIC packet header comprises at least one of the MP-QUIC function parameter; and sending an encapsulated MP-QUIC packet.
However, Zhou teaches MP-QUIC packet header encapsulation, and wherein an MP-QUIC packet header comprises at least one of the MP-QUIC function parameter; and sending an encapsulated MP-QUIC packet (Paragraph [0048]: In some embodiments, the network function comprises a network exposure function or a policy control function. In some embodiments, the access type preference indicates a preference for (1) a first access technology in a first protocol suite, (2) a second access technology different from a first protocol suite, or (3) a combination of the first access technology and the second access technology. In some embodiments, the one or more parameters further comprise at least one of: a traffic descriptor, a preferred Internet Protocol (IP) type, a time window for data transfer, or a location criterion. Paragraph [0049]: In some embodiments, the one or more parameters comprise server information of Multipath Transmission Control Protocol or Multipath QUIC, the server information comprising at least one of a fully qualified domain name, an Internet Protocol address, or a port number. Paragraph [0063]: In Operation 606 e, when the SMF 617 learns from the PDU session establishment procedure that the UE supporting ATSSS-LL, MPTCP or MP-QUIC or any combined of multi-access traffic steering related capabilities, the SMF 617 sends the event report by Nsmf_EventExposure_Notify message (including NEF reference ID) to the AMF 613 indicated as the notification endpoint. Paragraph [0065]: The PCF can create or update the UE Route Selection Policies (URSP) based on the received traffic routing related information. Paragraph [0079]: Operation 901: An AF (e.g., MEC AF) creates an AF request about multi-access traffic steering requirements for one or more user devices. The one or more user devices can be one or more UEs or one or more groups of UEs. The request can include application traffic descriptor(s) and steering functionality information. The steering functionality information can include the following: Paragraph [0082]: MP-QUIC server information, such as FQDN, IP address, and/or port number.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide MP-QUIC packet header encapsulation, and wherein an MP-QUIC packet header comprises at least one of the MP-QUIC function parameter and sending an encapsulated MP-QUIC packet, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat, so that the data packets’ headers comprise MP-QUIC function parameter for steering functionality information (Zhou: Paragraphs [0079], [0082]).
Regarding claim 16, Salkintzis teaches an apparatus comprising a processor configured to determine whether a traffic flow in a protocol data unit (PDU) session is transmitted (Paragraph [0092]: In various embodiments, the processor 605 sends a first message (e.g., a PDU Session Establishment Request) to establish a multi-access data connection with the mobile communication network over the first access network and the second access network, where the first message indicates that the apparatus supports a first type of steering functionality (e.g., QUIC-LL) that creates a plurality of steering connections (e.g., QUIC connections) over each of the first access network and the second access network. Also see rejection for claim 1);
and a transceiver coupled to the processor and configured to receive, from a terminal device, a first message requesting to establish or update the PDU session (Paragraph [0089]: As depicted, the transceiver 625 includes at least one transmitter 630 and at least one receiver 635. Here, the transceiver 625 communicates with a mobile core network (e.g., a 5GC) via one or more access networks. Additionally, the transceiver 625 may support at least one network interface 640. Paragraph [0091]: The processor 605 is communicatively coupled to the memory 610, the input device 615, the output device 620, and the transceiver 625. Also see rejection for claim 1);
and send, to the terminal device, a second message indicating that the PDU session is successfully established or updated (see rejection for claim 1);
Salkintzis does not explicitly teach to determine whether a traffic flow in a protocol data unit (PDU) session is transmitted using a multi-path (MP)-QUIC method; and comprising first indication information indicating that the terminal device supports an MP-QUIC capability; and comprising second indication information indicating that the traffic flow is transmitted using the MP-QUIC method; wherein the second indication information comprises an MP-QUIC function parameter, a second indication parameter of an MP-QUIC omitted connection identifier, a first MP-QUIC connection identifier allocated by the terminal device to an MP-QUIC connection, an MP-QUIC capability indication parameter, an MP-QUIC request indication parameter, or first MP-QUIC version information.
However, Zhou teaches to determine whether a traffic flow in a protocol data unit (PDU) session is transmitted using a multi-path (MP)-QUIC method; and comprising first indication information indicating that the terminal device supports an MP-QUIC capability; and comprising second indication information indicating that the traffic flow is transmitted using the MP-QUIC method; wherein the second indication information comprises an MP-QUIC function parameter, an MP-QUIC capability indication parameter, an MP-QUIC request indication parameter (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to determine whether a traffic flow in a protocol data unit (PDU) session is transmitted using a multi-path (MP)-QUIC method; and comprising first indication information indicating that the terminal device supports an MP-QUIC capability; and comprising second indication information indicating that the traffic flow is transmitted using the MP-QUIC method, wherein the second indication information comprises an MP-QUIC function parameter, an MP-QUIC capability indication parameter, an MP-QUIC request indication parameter, as taught by Zhou in the system of Salkintzis, in order to indicate that the user device has multi-access traffic steering capability, and that the parameters can be used for indicating traffic routing information and for providing access type preference for the user devices for multi-access traffic steering capabilities, and the parameters can be used for traffic routing related information (Zhou: Paragraphs [0004], [0025], [0065], [0079], [0082], Abstract).
The combination of Salkintzis and Zhou does not explicitly teach wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter comprises an MP-QUIC proxy function, an MP-QUIC version information a security parameter, or a transmission parameter.
However, Foy teaches wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter comprises an MP-QUIC proxy function, a security parameter, or a transmission parameter (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter comprises an MP-QUIC proxy function, a security parameter, or a transmission parameter, as taught by Foy in the combined system of Salkintzis and Zhou, so that proxies/indirect paths can be used to improve path diversity, and use direct paths as backup paths, as part of the multipath connection (Foy: Paragraphs [0102]. [0109], [0125], [0146], [0160])
The combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, and Foy does not explicitly teach wherein the security parameter comprises a non-encryption indication.
However, Maigat teaches wherein the security parameter comprises a non-encryption indication (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the security parameter comprises a non-encryption indication, as taught by Maigat in the combined system of Salkintzis, Zhou, and Foy, so that encryption can be enabled or disabled based on the indication in the packet header (Maigat: Paragraphs [0041], [0042], [0135]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, Foy, and Maigat teaches the apparatus of claim 16 wherein the transceiver is further configured to (see rejection for claim 16);
The combination of Salktintzis, Foy, and Maigat does not explicitly teach further configured to obtain the MP-QUIC function parameter.
However, Zhou teaches further configured to obtain the MP-QUIC function parameter (see rejection for claim 2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to be further configured to obtain the MP-QUIC function parameter, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat, so that the parameters can be used for traffic routing related information (Zhou: Paragraphs [0065], [0079], [0082]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, Foy, and Maigat teaches the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the transceiver is further configured to (see rejection for claim 17);
Salkintzis further teaches to send, to a user plane function (UPF) network element, the second indication information; and receive, from the UPF network element (see rejection for claim 3);
The combination of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat does not explicitly teach to send second indication information; and receive the MP-QUIC function parameter.
However, Zhou teaches to send second indication information; and receive the MP-QUIC function parameter (see rejection for claim 3);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to send second indication information; and receive the MP-QUIC function parameter, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat, so that the parameters can be used for traffic routing related information (Zhou: Paragraphs [0065], [0079], [0082]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, and Foy teaches the apparatus of claim 17 (see rejection for claim 17);
Salkintzis further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to allocate, and wherein the transceiver is further configured to send to a UPF network element (Paragraph [0117]: Via the transceiver 725, the processor 705 receives a first message via the AMF to establish a multi-access data connection between a UE and a UPF in the mobile communication network over a first access network and a second access network. Here, the first message indicates that the UE supports a first type of steering functionality that creates a plurality of steering connections (e.g., QUIC connections) over each of the first access network and the second access network. In one embodiment, the first message comprises a PDU Session Establishment Request and the first type of steering functionality is the QUIC-LL functionality described herein. Paragraph [0119]: The processor 705 determines a second set of rules (e.g., rules for the UE) from the first set of rules and determines a third set of rules (e.g., rules for the UPF) from the first set of rules. The second set of rules indicate how to route an uplink data packet across the first access network and the second access network and how to route the uplink data packet across a plurality of steering connections and the third set of rules indicate how to route a downlink data packet across the first access network and the second access network and how to route the downlink packet across a plurality of steering connections. The processor 705 selects a UPF that supports the first type of steering functionality and controls the transceiver 725 to send the second set of rules to the remote unit via the AMF and to send the third set of rules to the selected UPF. Also see rejection for claim 4);
The combination of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat does not explicitly teach to allocate and send the MP-QUIC function parameter.
However, Zhou teaches to allocate and send the MP-QUIC function parameter (see rejection for claim 4);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to allocate and send the MP-QUIC function parameter, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat, in order to provide policy and rule for traffic routing (Zhou: Paragraphs [0007], [0047]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, Foy, and Maigat teaches the apparatus of claim 17 (see rejection for claim 17);
The combination of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat does not explicitly teach wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an MP-QUIC function IP address.
However, Zhou teaches wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an MP-QUIC function IP address (see rejection for claim 5);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter further comprises an MP-QUIC function IP address, as taught by Zhou in the combined system of Salkintzis, Foy, and Maigat, so that the parameters can be used for traffic routing related information (Zhou: Paragraphs [0065], [0079], [0082]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 26, 2025 with respect to claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-19 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkintzis et al. (US2022/0116327A1), in view of Zhou et al. (US2022/0353788A1), and Foy et al. (US 2023/0074838A1); claims 5, 10, and 20 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkintzis in view of Zhou, and Foy, and further in view of Pan et al. (US2023/0247007A1) have been fully considered.
Applicant argues that the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, and Pan fails to disclose all of the limitations set forth in amended independent claims 1, 9, and 16, and consequently does not render obvious claims 1-20. Applicant argues that combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, and Pan does not teach “wherein the MP-QUIC function parameter comprises a MP-QUIC proxy function, a security parameter, or a transmission parameter, and wherein the security parameter comprises a non-encryption indication”, as recited in amended independent claim 1, as well as in amended independent claims 9 and 16, which recite similar limitations. However, Foy teaches that the MP-QUIC function parameter comprises a MP-QUIC proxy function, a security parameter, or a transmission parameter. Foy teaches that QUIC and its multipath extensions (MP-QUIC) use intermediate nodes called proxy nodes, for protocol extensions to handle indirect (e.g., proxied) paths, using as a base the existing QUIC protocol and its proposed multipath extension, since QUIC may be a secure transport protocol. An MP-QUIC path may be a uni- or bi-directional data flow where the flow may be associated with a 4-tuple source/destination IP address and transport (e.g., UDP) port. The existence and IP address/port of a proxy may be made available to the endpoint. The proxy may authenticate the client based on a certificate provided by the client. Maigat et al. (US2021/0399965A1) teaches a mechanism for disabling the encryption, and in the case of a multipath connection, creation of a path without encryption in the packet numbering by indicating in the QUIC packet header. Maigat teaches the security parameter comprises a non-encryption indication. Thus, the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, Foy, and Maigat teaches amended independent claims 1, 9, and 16.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-15, and 17-20 are also taught by the combination of Salkintzis, Zhou, Foy, and Maigat.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461