DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on March 16, 2026. Claims 1-7, 15, and 17-28 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 120 and 119(e) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on December 18, 2025 and January 13, 2026 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because reference number 56 in figure 2 should be reference number 46 to properly match the description of figure 2 in paragraph 0043.
Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office Action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended”. If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the Examiner, the Applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office Action. If a response to the present Office Action fails to include proper drawing corrections, corrected drawings or arguments therefor, the response can be held NON-RESPONSIVE and/or the application could be ABANDONED since the objections/corrections to the drawings are no longer held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 5 of paragraph 0053, replace “54in” with --54 in--; and
On line 17 of paragraph 0063 and on line 12 of paragraph 0076, replace “(e.g.”
with --(e.g.,--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 15, and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 3 of claim 1 and on line 4 of claims 15 and 21, insert --a-- before “user”; and
On line 3 of claim 2, replace “signal” with --signaling--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 15, 19-23, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2013/0053103 A1) in view of Koskela et al. (US 9,883,484 B2) and further in view of Nokia (Clarification on NS_203 support for n258).
Consider claim 1, Kim et al. disclose an electronic device (figure 8 – eNB) comprising:
a transceiver 805 (figure 8) configured to transmit one or more network signaling flags indicating a plurality of frequency ranges (SIB1 and SIB2 are received by the UE from eNB 105/505 (see steps 115 and 125 in figure 1 and steps 515 and 525 in figure 5) with the SIB1 including a frequency band indicator (read as network signaling flag) indicating a frequency band supported by the base station and an additional frequency band indicator (read as another network signaling flag) indicating at least one frequency band supported by the base station (see the abstract, figure 4 steps 400, 415, and 420, figure 5 step 515, and paragraphs 0013-0016, 0064, 0068, and 0069) with each frequency band having a plurality of frequency ranges (see figure 2 and 3)); and
processing circuitry (figure 8 – controller 810) communicatively coupled to the transceiver 805, the processing circuitry configured to configure a user equipment based on the one or more frequency ranges (see, for example, figure 1 step 150 and paragraph 0050 – Afterward, UE 100 performs normal operation at step 150. For example, the UE 100 is capable of performing one of cell reselection, paging message reception monitoring, system information change monitoring, RRC connection configuration, and data communication, as needed which means that, at the very least, implicitly or inherently the UE has been configured by the eNB to based on the one or more frequency ranges).
However, Kim et al. do not specifically disclose receive, from user equipment, an indication indicative of one or more frequency ranges of the plurality of frequency ranges
supported by the user equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, Koskela et al. disclose sending an indication indicative of the one or more frequency ranges of the plurality of frequency ranges supported by the user equipment from the user equipment to the base station based on broadcast system information received by the user equipment (see the abstract, column 1 lines 37-40 and 58-61, column 2 lines 25-28 and 51-53, column 5 lines 27-62, and column 8 lines 1-5 - receiving an indication from the user equipment that the user equipment supports at least one of the plurality of network-signaling values corresponding to the frequency band without the previously defined network-signaling value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an indication of the frequency range supported by the user equipment from the user equipment to the base station as disclosed by Koskela et al. in the electronic device disclosed by Kim et al. in order to allow the network to know which network signaling value associated with the frequency band supported by the user equipment and thus letting the network know the A-MPR usage of the user equipment (see, for
example, column 5 lines 54-62 of Koskela et al.).
Although Koskela et al. clearly suggest that the indication sent by the UE includes a
maximum power reduction requirement associated with the frequency band supported by the UE since the network signaling value being indicated as being supported by the UE corresponds to a network signaling value that corresponds to a different requirement in emissions and/or an additional maximum power reduction (see column 1 lines 54-61 of Koskela et al.), Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al., fail to disclose wherein the indication being sent specifically includes one or more modified maximum power reduction behavior bits indicative of one or more frequency ranges supported by the user equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, Nokia discloses that the indication sent by the UE includes
one or more maximum power reduction behavior bits indicative of one or more frequency ranges supported by the user equipment (see section H.1 and Table H.1-1 which discloses and shows one or more modifiedMPR-Behavior bits per supported NR band which are then provided to the base station by the UE to explicitly indicate the NS values supported by the UE. The bits in the field can explicitly indicate NS value(s) supported by a UE. For n258, bit index 2 indicates NS_203 or both NS_203 and CA_NS_203. Nokia’s Other comments section in page 1 states “UEs to reflect this CR content explicitly signal newly supported requirements via modifiedMPR and network can differentiate UEs based on this CR and the legacy UEs”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one or more modifiedMPR-Behavior bits as disclosed by Nokia in the electronic device disclosed by Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al., in order to explicitly indicate the NS values supported by the UE so that the network can differentiate UEs and appropriately treat them (see, for example, section H.1 and other comments
section in page 1 of Nokia).
Consider claim 2, and as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al., as modified by Koskela
et al. and Nokia disclose the claimed invention on claim 1. Additionally, Nokia discloses wherein the one or more maximum power reduction behavior bits correspond to the one or more network signaling values (flags) (see section H.1 and Table H.1-1 which discloses and shows the setting of one or more modifiedMPR-Behavior bits per supported NR band which are then provided to the base station by the UE to explicitly indicate the NS values supported by the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one or more modifiedMPR-Behavior bits as disclosed by Nokia in the method disclosed by Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al., in order to explicitly indicate the NS values supported by the UE (see, for example, section H.1 of Nokia).
Consider claim 3, and as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al., as modified by Koskela
et al. and Nokia further disclose wherein the plurality of frequency ranges is supported by the transceiver (see the abstract, figure 2, 3, and 4 steps 400, 415, and 420, figure 5 step 515, and paragraphs 0013-0016, 0064, 0068, and 0069).
Consider claim 4, and as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al. and Nokia, also disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to establish communication with the user equipment over a channel within the one or more frequency ranges (see, for example, figure 1 step 150 and paragraph 0050 – Afterward, UE 100 performs normal operation at step 150. For example, the UE 100 is capable of performing one of cell reselection, paging message reception monitoring, system information change monitoring, RRC connection configuration, and data communication, as needed).
Consider claim 7, and as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al., as modified by Koskela
et al. and Nokia, further disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to configure uplink resources and downlink resources for the user equipment on the one or more frequency ranges (see, for example, figure 1 step 150 and paragraph 0050 – Afterward, UE 100 performs normal operation at step 150. For example, the UE 100 is capable of performing one of cell reselection, paging message reception monitoring, system information change monitoring, RRC connection configuration, and data communication, as needed which means that, at the very least, implicitly or inherently uplink and downlink resources have been configured by the eNB to allow communication in the one or more frequency ranges).
Consider claim 15, Kim et al. disclose a method comprising:
transmitting, using a transceiver (transceiver 805 - figure 8), a plurality of frequency ranges supported by a base station (eNB – figure 8 (SIB1 and SIB2 are received by the UE from eNB 105/505 (see steps 115 and 125 in figure 1 and steps 515 and 525 in figure 5) with the SIB1 including a frequency band indicator indicating a frequency band supported by the base station and an additional frequency band indicator indicating at least one frequency band supported by the base station (see the abstract, figure 4 steps 400, 415, and 420, figure 5 step 515, and paragraphs 0013-0016, 0064, 0068, and 0069) with each frequency band having a plurality of frequency ranges (see figure 2 and 3))); and
configuring, using the transceiver (transceiver 805 - figure 8), the user equipment based on the one or more frequency ranges (see, for example, figure 1 step 150 and paragraph 0050 – Afterward, UE 100 performs normal operation at step 150. For example, the UE 100 is capable of performing one of cell reselection, paging message reception monitoring, system information change monitoring, RRC connection configuration, and data communication, as needed which means that, at the very least, implicitly or inherently the UE has been configured by the eNB to
based on the one or more frequency ranges).
However, Kim et al. do not specifically disclose receiving, using then transceiver and from user equipment, an indication indicative of one or more frequency ranges of the plurality of frequency ranges supported by the user equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, Koskela et al. disclose sending an indication indicative of the one or more frequency ranges of the plurality of frequency ranges supported by the user equipment from the user equipment to the base station based on broadcast system information received by the user equipment (see the abstract, column 1 lines 37-40 and 58-61, column 2 lines 25-28 and 51-53, column 5 lines 27-62, and column 8 lines 1-5 - receiving an indication from the user equipment that the user equipment supports at least one of the plurality of network-signaling values corresponding to the frequency band without the previously defined network-signaling value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an indication of the frequency range supported by the user equipment from the user equipment to the base station as disclosed by Koskela et al. in the method disclosed by Kim et al. in order to allow the network to know which network signaling value associated with the frequency band supported by the user equipment and thus letting the network know the A-MPR usage of the user equipment (see, for example, column 5 lines 54-62 of Koskela et al.).
Although Koskela et al. clearly suggest that the indication sent by the UE includes a
maximum power reduction requirement associated with the frequency band supported by the UE since the network signaling value being indicated as being supported by the UE corresponds to a network signaling value that corresponds to a different requirement in emissions and/or an additional maximum power reduction (see column 1 lines 54-61 of Koskela et al.), Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al., fail to disclose wherein the indication being sent specifically includes one or more maximum power reduction bits indicating one or more frequency ranges of the plurality of frequency ranges supported by the user equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, Nokia discloses that the indication sent by the UE includes
one or more maximum power reduction behavior bits indicative of one or more frequency ranges supported by the user equipment (see section H.1 and Table H.1-1 which discloses and shows one or more modifiedMPR-Behavior bits per supported NR band which are then provided to the base station by the UE to explicitly indicate the NS values supported by the UE. The bits in the field can explicitly indicate NS value(s) supported by a UE. For n258, bit index 2 indicates NS_203 or both NS_203 and CA_NS_203. Nokia’s Other comments section in page 1 states “UEs to reflect this CR content explicitly signal newly supported requirements via modifiedMPR and network can differentiate UEs based on this CR and the legacy UEs”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one or more modifiedMPR-Behavior bits as disclosed by Nokia in the method disclosed by Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al., in order to explicitly indicate the NS values supported by the UE so that the network can differentiate UEs and appropriately treat them (see, for example, section H.1 and other comments
section in page 1 of Nokia).
Consider claim 19, and as applied to claim 15 above, Kim et al., as modified by
Koskela et al. and Nokia, further disclose wherein configuring, using the transceiver (transceiver 805 - figure 8), the user equipment based on the one or more frequency ranges comprises configuring, using the transceiver (transceiver 805 - figure 8), uplink resources and downlink resources for the user equipment on the one or more frequency ranges (see, for example, figure 1 step 150 and paragraph 0050 – Afterward, UE 100 performs normal operation at step 150. For example, the UE 100 is capable of performing one of cell reselection, paging message reception monitoring, system information change monitoring, RRC connection configuration, and data communication, as needed which means that, at the very least, implicitly or inherently uplink and downlink resources have been configured by the eNB to allow communication in the one or more frequency ranges).
Consider claim 20, and as applied to claim 19 above, Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al. and Nokia, further disclose wherein the one or more frequency ranges include a first frequency range and a second frequency range (see figures 2 and 3), the method comprising configuring, using the transceiver (transceiver 805 - figure 8), the uplink resources and downlink resources for the user equipment on the first frequency range and the second frequency range (see, for example, figure 1 step 150 and paragraph 0050 – Afterward, UE 100 performs normal operation at step 150. For example, the UE 100 is capable of performing one of cell reselection, paging message reception monitoring, system information change monitoring, RRC connection configuration, and data communication, as needed which means that, at the very least, implicitly or inherently uplink and downlink resources have been configured by the eNB to allow communication in the first frequency range and the second frequency range).
Consider claim 21, Kim et al. disclose processing circuitry (figure 8 – controller 810) configured to:
cause a transmitter (transceiver 805 - figure 8) couple to the processing circuitry (figure 8 – controller 810) to transmit a plurality of frequency ranges supported by a base station (eNB – figure 8 (SIB1 and SIB2 are received by the UE from eNB 105/505 (see steps 115 and 125 in figure 1 and steps 515 and 525 in figure 5) with the SIB1 including a frequency band indicator indicating a frequency band supported by the base station and an additional frequency band indicator indicating at least one frequency band supported by the base station (see the abstract, figure 4 steps 400, 415, and 420, figure 5 step 515, and paragraphs 0013-0016, 0064, 0068, and 0069) with each frequency band having a plurality of frequency ranges (see figure 2 and 3))); and
configure resources to the user equipment based on the one or more frequency ranges (see, for example, figure 1 step 150 and paragraph 0050 – Afterward, UE 100 performs normal operation at step 150. For example, the UE 100 is capable of performing one of cell reselection, paging message reception monitoring, system information change monitoring, RRC connection configuration, and data communication, as needed which means that, at the very least, implicitly or inherently the UE has been configured by the eNB to based on the one or more frequency ranges).
However, Kim et al. do not specifically disclose cause a receiver coupled to the processing circuitry to receive, from user equipment, an indication indicative of one or more frequency ranges of the plurality of frequency ranges supported by the user equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, Koskela et al. disclose sending an indication indicative of the one or more frequency ranges of the plurality of frequency ranges supported by the user equipment from the user equipment to the base station based on broadcast system information received by the user equipment (see the abstract, column 1 lines 37-40 and 58-61, column 2 lines 25-28 and 51-53, column 5 lines 27-62, and column 8 lines 1-5 - receiving an indication from the user equipment that the user equipment supports at least one of the plurality of network-signaling values corresponding to the frequency band without the previously defined network-
signaling value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an indication of the frequency range supported by the user equipment from the user equipment to the base station as disclosed by Koskela et al. in the processing circuitry disclosed by Kim et al. in order to allow the network to know which network signaling value associated with the frequency band supported by the user equipment and thus letting the network know the A-MPR usage of the user equipment (see, for example, column 5 lines 54-62 of Koskela et al.).
Although Koskela et al. clearly suggest that the indication sent by the UE includes a
maximum power reduction requirement associated with the frequency band supported by the UE since the network signaling value being indicated as being supported by the UE corresponds to a network signaling value that corresponds to a different requirement in emissions and/or an additional maximum power reduction (see column 1 lines 54-61 of Koskela et al.), Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al., fail to disclose wherein the indication being sent specifically includes one or more maximum power reduction bits indicating one or more frequency ranges of the plurality of frequency ranges supported by the user equipment.
In the same field of endeavor, Nokia discloses that the indication sent by the UE includes
one or more maximum power reduction behavior bits indicative of one or more frequency ranges supported by the user equipment (see section H.1 and Table H.1-1 which discloses and shows one or more modifiedMPR-Behavior bits per supported NR band which are then provided to the base station by the UE to explicitly indicate the NS values supported by the UE. The bits in the field can explicitly indicate NS value(s) supported by a UE. For n258, bit index 2 indicates NS_203 or both NS_203 and CA_NS_203. Nokia’s Other comments section in page 1 states “UEs to reflect this CR content explicitly signal newly supported requirements via modifiedMPR and network can differentiate UEs based on this CR and the legacy UEs”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use one or more modifiedMPR-Behavior bits as disclosed by Nokia in the processing circuitry disclosed by Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al., in order to explicitly indicate the NS values supported by the UE so that the network can differentiate UEs and appropriately treat them (see, for example, section H.1 and other comments
section in page 1 of Nokia).
Consider claim 22, and as applied to claim 21 above, Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al. and Nokia, further disclose wherein the processing circuitry (figure 8 – controller 810) is configure to cause the transmitter (transceiver 805 - figure 8) to transmit the plurality of frequency ranges by transmitting one or more network signal flags indicating a plurality of frequency ranges (SIB1 and SIB2 are received by the UE from eNB 105/505 (see steps 115 and 125 in figure 1 and steps 515 and 525 in figure 5) with the SIB1 including a frequency band indicator (read as network signaling flag) indicating a frequency band supported by the base station and an additional frequency band indicator (read as another network signaling flag) indicating at least one frequency band supported by the base station (see the abstract, figure 4 steps 400, 415, and 420, figure 5 step 515, and paragraphs 0013-0016, 0064, 0068, and 0069) with each frequency band having a plurality of frequency ranges (see figure 2 and 3)).
Consider claim 23, and as applied to claim 22 above, Kim et al., as modified by
Koskela et al. and Nokia, further disclose wherein the processing circuitry (figure 8 – controller 810) is configure to cause the transmitter (transceiver 805 - figure 8) to transmit a system information block comprising the one or more network signal flags (SIB1 and SIB2 are received by the UE from eNB 105/505 (see steps 115 and 125 in figure 1 and steps 515 and 525 in figure 5) with the SIB1 including a frequency band indicator (read as network signaling flag) indicating a frequency band supported by the base station and an additional frequency band indicator (read as another network signaling flag) indicating at least one frequency band supported by the base station (see the abstract, figure 4 steps 400, 415, and 420, figure 5 step 515, and paragraphs 0013-0016, 0064, 0068, and 0069) with each frequency band having a plurality of frequency ranges (see figure 2 and 3)).
Consider claim 25, and as applied to claim 21 above, Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al. and Nokia, further disclose wherein the processing circuitry (figure 8 – controller 810) is configure to cause the transmitter (transceiver 805 - figure 8) to transmit the plurality of frequency ranges by transmitting a first network signaling flag corresponding to a first frequency range of the plurality of frequency ranges (SIB1 and SIB2 are received by the UE from eNB 105/505 (see steps 115 and 125 in figure 1 and steps 515 and 525 in figure 5) with the SIB1 including a frequency band indicator (read as first network signaling flag) indicating a frequency band (first frequency range) supported by the base station and an additional frequency band indicator (read as another network signaling flag) indicating at least one frequency band supported by the base station (see the abstract, figures 2 and 3, figure 4 steps 400, 415, and 420, figure 5 step 515, and paragraphs 0013-0016, 0064, 0068, and 0069)).
Consider claim 26, and as applied to claim 25 above, Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al. and Nokia, further disclose wherein the user equipment is configured to transmit signals having frequencies in the first frequency range and a second frequency range of the plurality of frequency ranges (see, for example, figure 1 step 150, figures 2 and 3, and paragraph 0050 – Afterward, UE 100 performs normal operation at step 150. For example, the UE 100 is capable of performing one of cell reselection, paging message reception monitoring, system information change monitoring, RRC connection configuration, and data communication, as needed which means that the UE has been configured by the eNB to allow communication and transmit signals in the first frequency range and the second frequency range).
Consider claim 27, and as applied to claim 26 above, Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al. and Nokia, further disclose wherein the user equipment is configured to transmit an indication of the first frequency range and not the second frequency range based on the first network signaling flag (see paragraph 0070 where, for example, a legacy UE can communicate on the first frequency range indicate by the frequency band indicator (first network signaling flag) and not on the second frequency range).
Consider claim 28, and as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al., as modified by Koskela
et al. and Nokia disclose the claimed invention on claim 1. Additionally, Nokia discloses wherein the one or more network signaling flags correspond to an eight integer value for each frequency range of the plurality of frequency ranges (Nokia discloses Table 6.2.3.1-2 (“Mapping of Network Signaling label”), which maps each NR Band to values of the information element additionalSpectrumEmission. For each NR Band (e.g., n257, n258, n260, n261), the table defines columns numbered 0 through 7, each column corresponding to an integer value of the additionalSpectrumEmission field. Each integer value maps to a distinct network signaling (NS) label (e.g., for n258: value 0 → NS_200, value 1 → NS_201, value 2 → NS_202, value 3 → NS_203). Because the additionalSpectrumEmission field accommodates values 0–7 (i.e., eight integer values) for each frequency band/range entry, the network signaling flags (NS labels) correspond to an eight integer value for each frequency range of the plurality of
frequency ranges. Nokia further confirms that the additionalSpectrumEmission field
“corresponds to an information element of the same name defined in clause 6.3.2 of TS 38.331,” which is the RRC specification governing how the network signals these values to the UE. See Nokia, Table 6.2.3.1-2, NOTE 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Nokia’s eight integer value-per-band mapping of the additionalSpectrumEmission field into the device of Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al. because Nokia’s mapping was an established 3GPP NR standard mechanism for associating network signaling values with frequency bands (Nokia, Tables 6.2.3.1-1 and 6.2.3.1-2), and one of ordinary skill would have recognized that adopting the standardized eight-value integer field per band provides a structured, backward-compatible framework for signaling multiple emission requirements per frequency range while enabling the network to differentiate UE capabilities based on the signaled NS values (See Nokia, “Consequences if not approved” (“A way to support NS_203/CA_NS_203 may be misinterpreted”) and Koskela et al., column 5 lines 26-34 (teaching that NS values map to UE capabilities and A-MPR table versions)). The combination amounts to applying a known technique (eight-integer NS mapping per band) to a known device to yield the predictable result of standardized per-band emission signaling. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Claims 5, 6, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2013/0053103 A1) in view of Kokila et al. (US 9,883,484 B2), further in view of Nokia (Clarification on NS_203 support for n258), as applied to claims 1 and 15 above,
and further in view of Yui (WO 2020/069174 A1).
Consider claim 5, and as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al. and Nokia, fail to disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to allocate a secondary cell to the user equipment over a channel within the one or more frequency ranges.
In the same field of endeavor, Yiu discloses the processing circuitry is configured to allocate a secondary cell to the user equipment over a channel within the one or more frequency ranges (serving cell 204/source base station allocates a target cell 206/target base station (i.e., secondary cell) to the UE 202 over a channel based on the UE capability information indicated by the UE which could include frequencies supported – see figure 2 steps 207-218 and paragraphs 0039-0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allocate a secondary cell to the UE as disclosed by Yiu in the device disclosed by Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al. and Nokia, in order to configure the UE for multi-connectivity (see, for example, the abstract of Yiu).
Consider claim 6, and as applied to claim 1 above, Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al. and Nokia, fail to disclose wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform a handover event of the user equipment with an additional base station by sending an indication of the one or more frequency ranges to the additional base station.
In the same field of endeavor, Yiu discloses the processing circuitry is configured to
perform a handover event of the user equipment with an additional base station by sending an indication of the one or more frequency ranges to the additional base station (serving cell 204/source base station sends a handover request to a target cell 206/target base station (i.e., additional base station) by sending an indication of simultaneous support of the UE 202 based the UE capability information indicated by the UE which could include frequencies supported –
see figure 2 steps 207-218 and paragraphs 0039-0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allocate a secondary cell to the UE as disclosed by Yiu in the device disclosed by Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al. and Nokia, in order to configure the UE for multi-connectivity handover (see, for example, the abstract of Yiu).
Consider claim 17, and as applied to claim 15 above, Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al. and Nokia, fail to disclose allocating a secondary cell to the user equipment over a channel within the one or more frequency ranges.
In the same field of endeavor, Yiu discloses allocating a secondary cell to the user equipment over a channel within the one or more frequency ranges (serving cell 204/source base station allocates a target cell 206/target base station (i.e., secondary cell) to the UE 202 over a channel based on the UE capability information indicated by the UE which could include frequencies supported – see figure 2 steps 207-218 and paragraphs 0039-0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allocate a secondary cell to the UE as disclosed by Yiu in the method disclosed by Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al. and Nokia, in order to configure the UE for multi-connectivity (see, for example, the abstract of Yiu).
Consider claim 18, and as applied to claim 15 above, Kim et al., as modified by
Koskela et al. and Nokia, fail to disclose performing a handover event of the user equipment with an additional base station by sending an indication of the one or more frequency ranges indicated by the user equipment to the additional base station.
In the same field of endeavor, Yiu discloses performing a handover event of the user equipment with an additional base station by sending an indication of the one or more frequency ranges indicated by the user equipment to the additional base station (serving cell 204/source base station sends a handover request to a target cell 206/target base station (i.e., additional base station) by sending an indication of simultaneous support of the UE 202 based the UE capability information indicated by the UE which could include frequencies supported – see figure 2 steps 207-218 and paragraphs 0039-0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to allocate a secondary cell to the UE as disclosed by Yiu in the method disclosed by Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al. and Nokia, in order to configure the UE for multi-connectivity handover (see, for example, the abstract of Yiu).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2013/0053103 A1) in view of Kokila et al. (US 9,883,484 B2), further in view of Nokia (Clarification on NS_203 support for n258), as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view
of Firouzbakht et al. (US 2022/0116790 A1).
Consider claim 24, and as applied to claim 21 above, Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al. and Nokia, fail to disclose wherein the plurality of frequency ranges comprises a first frequency range between 3.45 gigahertz (GHz) to 3.55 GHz, and a second frequency range between 3.7 GHz to 3.98 GHz.
In the same field of endeavor, Firouzbakht et al. discloses a first frequency range between 3.45 gigahertz (GHz) to 3.55 GHz (paragraph 0067), and a second frequency range between 3.7
GHz to 3.98 GHz (see paragraph 0005 and 0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate in the frequency ranges disclosed by Firouzbakht et al. in the processing circuitry of Kim et al., as modified by Koskela et al. and Nokia, in order to efficiently use the spectrum available to network providers to provide increased throughput (see, for example, paragraph 0060 of Firouzbakht et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 15, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
SPE interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez
R.P.G./rpg
/Rafael Pérez-Gutiérrez/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2642
September 22, 2026