DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This office action is in response to the communication(s) filed on 02/17/2026.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are currently presenting for examination.
Claim(s) 1, 11, and 16 is/are independent claim(s).
Claim(s) 11, 13, and 15 is/are rejected.
Claim(s) 12, and 14 is/are objected to.
Claim(s) 1-10, and 16-20 is/are allowed.
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US_20210117249_A1_Doshi.
Regarding claim 11, Doshi teaches a system comprising: a data mover accelerator and circuitry configured to (Doshi, paragraph 343, 397, , the DMA engine is corresponding to the claimed “data mover accelerator”): execute a service mesh (Doshi paragraphs 50, 142, 144, 288, and IPU can execute service mesh) that is to request (Doshi figure 32B, paragraph 316, “…IPU local control plane takes requests from the external Global Hierarchical Control Plane…”) a data mover accelerator to perform data copy operations (Doshi figure 33A, paragraph 343, “At (10), direct memory access (DMA) copies of data to target memory in Compute, XPU, Storage, Memory can occur. At (11), protocol processing can generate the necessary sub-command processing required to complete the request”) and receive indication of status of the data copy operations by user interrupt (Doshi figure 32B, paragraph 317, “At (15), the IPU local control plane can provide Completion Events and Status Changes to the global hierarchical services control plane to provide reporting of request completion status, resources utilized, and telemetry events…”, and paragraph 304, “…a user request for a new service or change in service can be issued using a command line interface (CLI) or graphical user interface (GUI) or other APL…”).
Regarding claim 13, Doshi teaches the system of claim 12, wherein the service mesh is to provide work requests to the allocated at least one queue by batching of work requests (Doshi figure paragraph 396, “Interrupt coalesce 3722 can perform interrupt moderation whereby network interface interrupt coalesce 3722 waits for multiple packets to arrive, or for a time-out to expire, before generating an interrupt to host system to process received packet(s). Receive Segment Coalescing (RSC) can be performed by network interface 3700 whereby portions of incoming packets are combined into segments of a packet. Network interface 3700 provides this coalesced packet to an application”).
Regarding claim 15, Doshi teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the operation after the data copy comprises a data encryption operation and/or a packet mirroring operation (Doshi figure paragraph 216, “The IPU can utilize cryptography to provide for encryption and decryption of content transferred between devices in an IPU or from one IPU to another IPU or from an IPU to another device…”, paragraph 310, mirroring).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, and 14 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 1-10, and 16-20 is/are allowed.
The art of record does not suggest the respective claim combinations together and nor would the respective claim combinations be obvious with: “allocation of at least one queue accessed by the data mover accelerator to the service mesh is based on occupancy of the at least one queue” as stated in independent claim 1, and “selecting a strict subset of threads to not use a data mover accelerator based on processor utilization” as stated in independent claim 16.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference US_10657084_B1_Thyamagondlu, teaches the interrupt engine receives completion requests from the interrupt sources, and each completion request identifies one of the completion queues; each of the data mover engines moves data from the host memory to a peripheral or from a peripheral to the host memory; The completion packet can also include a code that signals that issuing an interrupt request to the interrupt aggregation circuit (Thyamagondlu column 3 line(s) 23-36, column 4 line(s) 5-11, column 5 line(s) 7-21),
The reference US_20220070279_A1_Pang, teaches service mesh control Plane; a data mover module (Pang figure 3, paragraph 34, 81).
The reference US_20200319913_A1_Kumar, teaches data mover 100 may be a hardware accelerator configured to perform data movement operations offloaded from a CPU or other requester. (Kumar paragraph 22).
Conclusion
/W.H/Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471