DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The Amendment filed 19JUN2026 has been entered. No new matter has been entered. Applicant’s amendments have overcome each and every 112(a), 112(b), rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 19MAR2026.
Applicant's arguments filed 19JUN2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that any modification of SORENSON by WEGENER would render the device of SORENSON to be unsatisfactory for its intended purpose and change the principle of operation of the device. This is unpersuasive, because the rejection suggests that it is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the manual actuator of SORENSON with the automated linear actuator of WEGENER. This would improve the precision of the magnetic carrier position and control and would neither be unsatisfactory for its intended purpose (a method and device are provided for separating magnetized particles from biological fluids (SORENSON abstract) nor change the principle of operation of the device (move the magnetic carrier towards or away from the floor holding a container).
The Applicant argues that any combination would fail to disclose the elements of the claims including direct contact between the blood bag and the magnetic carrier. This is unpersuasive, because the proposed modification suggests modifying the actuator of SORENSON to be a linear actuator, which does not require placing the magnetic carrier in contact with the blood bag.
In response to applicant's argument, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
The Applicant argues that for claims 21-23 modification of WEGENER by SORENSON would render the device of WEGENER to be unsatisfactory for its intended purpose and change the principle of operation of the device. This is unpersuasive, because the rejection suggests that it is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the magnetic selector of WEGENER including a magnet carrier disposed opposite the floor and a separate door of SORENSON in order to provide a device that is independently operated and easier to control. This modification is neither unsatisfactory for its intended purpose (a cell processing system including a container with a magnet applied to target cells associated with magnetic particles (WEGENER abstract) nor change the principle of operation of the device (operating a magnetic selector to effect magnetic separation).
The Applicant further argues that such a modification would fail. Applicant’s arguments on P15 is not understood as SORENSON teaches a magnet that is opposite to a floor and WEGENER’s modified device would provide such a feature as allowing the magnet to be operated independently of the floor.
In response to applicant's argument, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SORENSEN (US 4910148) in view of WEGENER (US 20170315121).
Regarding claims 1,11, SORENSEN teaches magnetic separation of magnetized particles from biological fluids (title, Figs.) including a method of operating a biological fluid (abstract) separation system incorporating a magnetic selector comprising:
a housing (cassette, Fig. 1 #K) including a floor (Fig. 1 #15) having a floor surface of the selector;
a magnet carrier (Fig. 1 #MP) disposed on an opposite side of the floor from the floor surface and having e.g. a magnet (Fig. 1 #M) disposed thereon;
an actuator (Fig. 2 #RB) capable of moving the magnet carrier relative to the floor while remaining on the opposite side of the floor between:
a first state (e.g. any of 10-100% magnetic intensity; Fig. 2 #25; C4/L48-49) wherein the magnet carrier is adjacent the floor, and
a second state wherein the magnet carrier is spaced from the floor (e.g. 0% magnetic intensity; Fig. 2 #25);
wherein the housing of the magnetic selector further comprises a door (Fig. 3b #9) moveable relative to the floor between an open state (Fig. 3b) and a closed state (Fig. 3c), the door having a uniform facing door surface (Fig. 3b #9; see Figs. 3b and 3c showing a flat, uniform set distance of 2mm to accommodate the bag; C2/L6-14) being a distance apart from the floor surface (the distance such that the container fits into the device) in the closed state (Fig. 3c) and defining a selected spacing therebetween, the method comprising:
disposing a container connected to a fluid pathway (see hoses e.g. Fig. 3a #4-5; C2/L61-62) on the floor surface (Fig. 1 #BP; C4/L36-38);
moving the door from the open state (so as to allow disposing of the container into the device; Fig. 3b) to the closed state (so as to allow magnetic separation within the container; Fig. 3c);
adding a fluid having magnetic particles to a fluid in the container so as to form a complex with target cells in the fluid (abstract; Example);
moving the magnet carrier to the first state to apply a magnetic field to a fluid in the container (C4/L48-49); and,
moving the door to the open state (obviously the door has to be opened in order to remove the container);
removing the container (C4/L67-68).
Note that use of the apparatus will inherently anticipate the method under normal operation, see MPEP 2112.02.
SORENSEN is silent (not explicit) as to moving the magnet carrier to the second state (e.g. 0% magnetic intensity) from the first state to disengage the magnetic field from the container; however, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that such a step may be necessary when the magnetic field is not needed such as during an incubation step or resetting the device when the separation step is finished (see also “0” marker/groove in Fig. 2).
In considering the disclosure of SORENSEN, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01).
SORENSEN does not teach a linear actuator or one fluid pathway. However, WEGENER teaches a method for selecting and culturing cells (title, Figs) including a method of operating a biological fluid separation system (abstract) incorporating a magnetic selector (Figs. 11,13 #900), the magnetic selector comprising:
a housing (e.g. Fig. 13 #906,918);
a magnet carrier (e.g. Fig. 13 #904) and having a magnet disposed thereon (par. [0099]); and,
a linear actuator (Fig. 13 #916) operated by a controller (Fig. 12 #700; par. [0098]), with the linear actuator being programmed to move the magnet carrier directly vertically between a first state wherein the magnet carrier is close to a door (Fig. 13 #902) and a second state wherein the magnet carrier is spaced from the door (par. [00100]);
wherein the door is moveable between an open state and a closed state (par. [0100]), the door having a uniform facing door surface (two flat parallel plates having a uniform distance therebetween) being a distance apart from the magnetic carrier in the closed state and defining a space therebetween (note that either plate or both plates may be moved between the open state and closed state; par. [0100]), the method comprising:
disposing a container (Fig. 11 #150; par. [0098]) on the magnetic carrier surface;
wherein the container is configured for transfer of all fluids into and out of the container through one fluid pathway during operation of the magnetic selector (see flow line connecting bidirectional pump #206 to the magnetic selector #900 of Fig. 11);
moving the door from the open state to the closed state (par. [0111]);
moving the magnet carrier to the first state to apply a magnetic field to a fluid in the container (par. [0111]);
moving the magnet carrier to the second state from the first state to disengage the magnetic field from the container (par. [0111]);
moving the door to the open state (par. [0111]); and
removing the container (par. [0111]).
WEGENER teaches that either a linear actuator or other manual means may be utilized to move the plates open and closed (par. [0100]). Note that the court held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means (such as actuators) to replace a manual activity (of lifting or lowering parts) which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958). MPEP 2144.04.III.
Note that one having ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the automated linear actuator of WEGENER would provide an improved precision of the magnetic carrier position and control.
Regarding the fluid pathway, whether fluid flows into and out of the container through a single inlet/outlet pipe as taught by WEGENER or a separate inlet pipe and a separate outlet pipe as taught by SORENSEN, it achieves the same result of flowing fluid into and out of the device. Such engineering design choices are known in the art and would be obvious absent persuasive evidence that a new and unobvious result is produced.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of SORENSEN to automate a manual means for moving the magnetic carrier with an automated linear actuator as is known in the art for the purpose of providing an improved precision of the magnetic carrier position and control. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of separations. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Regarding claims 2,13, SORENSEN teaches agitating the fluid in the container while the container is disposed on the floor surface (C4/L36-38).
Regarding claims 3,14, SORENSEN implies agitating the fluid in the container after moving the magnet carrier to the second state (the agitation step is without magnetic separation; C4/L36-38; 44-46).
In considering the disclosure of SORENSEN, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01).
Regarding claim 7, SORENSEN teaches adding a magnetic particle to the fluid in the container (C4/L32-33) prior to moving the magnet carrier to the first state to apply a magnetic field (C4/L48-49) to the fluid in the container;
the magnetic particle forming a complex with a target cell in the fluid (C4/L34-35).
Regarding claim 9-10,19, SORENSEN teaches the container is e.g. flexible (“plastic bag”, C2/L8; and clearly shown in Fig. 3a) and conforms to the space between the floor surface and the facing door surface when the door is in the closed state (Figs. 3a-3c; clearly a compressed plastic bag will conform to the device; C2/L6-14).
Regarding claims 4,6,12,15, SORENSEN teaches:
incubating the fluid (C4/L36) in the container after adding the fluid having magnetic particles (C4/L32-33);
moving the magnet carrier to the first state to apply a magnetic field to the fluid in the container after agitating the fluid in the container (C4/L36-51);
moving the magnet carrier to the second state from the first state to disengage the magnetic field from the container (implied when the magnetic field is no longer required; Example); and,
removing a portion of the fluid (“discharge”; C4/L52-59).
SORENSEN does not teach adding a diluent or incubating after moving the magnet carrier to the first state. However, WEGENER teaches a method for selecting and culturing cells (title, Figs) including a method of operating a biological fluid separation system (abstract) incorporating a magnetic selector (Figs. 11,13 #900), the method comprising:
disposing a container (par. [0098]);
adding a fluid having magnetic particles to a fluid in the container so as to form a complex with target cells in the fluid (par. [0004]);
using a magnet to apply a magnetic field to the fluid in the container (Fig. 10);
and adding diluent to the container after moving the magnet carrier to the second state (Fig. 10 #538; par. [0093]) and removing a portion of fluid and diluent (Fig. 10, steps #532; par. [0092]); and,
incubating (Fig. 10 #540) the fluid in the container after adding the fluid having magnetic particles and moving the magnet carrier to the first state.
WEGENER teaches that adding a diluent may be in preparation of a post-separation incubation step for growth of the desired cells (par. [0093]).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of SORENSEN with a step of adding a diluent and incubating after activating the magnet of WEGENER in order to dilute the concentration of cells for growth of the desired cells with incubation. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of magnetic separations. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Regarding claims 5,16-17, SORENSEN teaches:
moving the magnet carrier to the first state to apply a magnetic field to the fluid in the container (C4/L47-51);
removing a portion of the fluid and/or removing the negative fraction unbound cells from the container (“discharge”; C4/L47-59; C1/L19-20); and,
moving the magnet carrier to the second state from the first state to disengage the magnetic field from the container (implied when the magnetic field is no longer required; Example).
SORENSEN does not teach adding a diluent. However, WEGENER teaches a method for selecting and culturing cells (title, Figs) including a method of operating a biological fluid separation system (abstract) incorporating a magnetic selector (Figs. 11,13 #900), the method comprising:
disposing a container (par. [0098]);
adding a fluid having magnetic particles to a fluid in the container so as to form a complex with target cells in the fluid (par. [0004]);
using a magnet to apply a magnetic field to the fluid in the container (Fig. 10); and,
moving the magnet carrier to the first state to apply a magnetic field to the fluid in the container after adding the diluent to the container (Fig. 10, steps #514,530); and removing a portion of the fluid and diluent from the container (Fig. 10, steps #532).
WEGENER teaches that adding a diluent may be made in order to remove platelets and plasma in preparation of associating the conjugated antibody beads with the target cells (par. [0083-0084]). The magnet may be activated of course to remove material not held in place by the magnet (par. [0092]).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of SORENSEN with a step of apply a magnetic field to the fluid after adding a diluent and removing fluid and diluent of WEGENER in order to remove platelets and plasma and remove materials not held by the magnet for purification. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of magnetic separations. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Regarding claim 20, SORENSEN teaches a pump (C4/L57) on a fluid processor configured to transfer into and out of the container.
SORENSEN is silent as to a controller. However, WEGENER teaches a method for selecting and culturing cells (title, Figs) including a method of operating a biological fluid separation system (abstract) incorporating a magnetic selector (Figs. 11,13 #900) and a controller coupled to a fluid processor, the magnetic selector, and a pump (abstract; Fig. 12; par. [0104]).
WEGENER teaches the process is automated by the controller (par. [0026,0045]).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the method of SORENSEN with a controller of WEGENER in order to easily control and automate the purification process. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of magnetic separations. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Claim(s) 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WEGENER (US 20170315121) in view of SORENSEN (US 4910148).
Regarding claim 21, WEGENER teaches a method for selecting and culturing cells (title, Figs.) including a method of operating a fluid processing system comprising:
a fluid processor (par. [0026],[0097-0098]; Fig. 11 #200) that operates on a disposable fluid circuit (Fig. 11 #100) that is connectable to a source container (e.g. Fig. 11 #102; par. [0108]) filled with a biological fluid and configured to separate the biological fluid from the source container into at least two volumes of material (par. [0026]);
a container (Fig. 11 #150) configured to be a selection container received by a magnetic selector (Figs. 11-13 #900) and being connected to the fluid processor along a fluid pathway (par. [0028]);
the magnetic selector (Figs. 11-13 #900) comprising:
a housing (e.g. Fig. 13 #906,918) configured to receive the container (Fig. 11 #150; par. [0098]);
a magnet carrier (e.g. Fig. 13 #904) and having a magnet disposed thereon (par. [0099]); and,
a linear actuator (Fig. 13 #916) operated by a controller (Fig. 12 #700; par. [0098]), with the linear actuator being programmed to move the magnet carrier directly vertically;
wherein the housing of the magnetic selector further comprises a door (Fig. 13 #902) moveable relative to the floor between an open state and a closed state;
the door having a facing door surface being spaced a uniform distance apart from the magnetic carrier in the closed state and defining a selected spacing therebetween (the plates #902,904 are parallel and movable relative to each other and have a selected spacing for the container #150; par. [0098,0100]; Fig. 13); the method comprising:
pre-processing, processing, and post-processing states (use of the apparatus will inherently anticipate the method under normal operation, see MPEP 2112.02);
the pre-processing state further comprising:
selection of a procedure protocol, procedure setup (or parameters; par. [0045,0107]);
installation of the disposable fluid circuit on the fluid processor (par, [0052,0107]); and
attaching the source container and a solution container to the fluid processor (par, [0052,0107]) and moving the door from the open state to the closed (par. [0100,0111]);
the processing state further comprising:
introduction of the biologic fluid in the source container to the disposable fluid circuit (par. [0108]);
washing (rinse), harvesting (reduction) and dilution of the of the biologic fluid (par. [0108,0115-0116]; Fig. 14);
incubation with magnetic particles to perform negative selection incubation (Fig. 14 #820,830; par. [0117],[0121],[0125]);
moving the magnet carrier between a first closed state to subject the container to a magnetic field (Fig. 16) and a second open state to remove the magnetic field (Fig. 15); and
removal of negative fraction comprising unbound cells that remain in suspension in the container (par. [0125]);
the post-processing state further comprising:
sealing the container, moving the door to the open state (clearly the plates #902,904 are separated in order to allow removal of the container) and removing the final product (par. [0111]); and
removing the disposable fluid circuit (it’s disposable, after all).
In considering the disclosure of WEGENER, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01).
WEGENER is sparse as to the details of the magnet carrier of the magnetic selector. However, SORENSEN teaches magnetic separation of magnetized particles from biological fluids (title, Figs.) including a method of operating a biological fluid (abstract) separation system incorporating a magnetic selector comprising:
a housing (cassette, Fig. 1 #K) including a floor (Fig. 1 #15) having a floor surface of the selector;
a magnet carrier (Fig. 1 #MP) disposed on an opposite side of the floor from the floor surface and having e.g. a magnet (Fig. 1 #M) disposed thereon;
an actuator (Fig. 2 #RB) capable of moving the magnet carrier relative to the floor while remaining on the opposite side of the floor between:
a first state (e.g. any of 10-100% magnetic intensity; Fig. 2 #25; C4/L48-49) wherein the magnet carrier is adjacent the floor, and
a second state wherein the magnet carrier is spaced from the floor (e.g. 0% magnetic intensity; Fig. 2 #25);
wherein the housing of the magnetic selector further comprises a door (Fig. 3b #9) that is separate from the magnet carrier, the door being moveable relative to the floor between an open state (Fig. 3b) and a closed state (Fig. 3c), the door having a uniform facing door surface (Fig. 3b #9; see Figs. 3b and 3c showing a flat, uniform set distance of 2mm to accommodate the bag; C2/L6-14) a distance apart from the floor surface (the distance such that the container fits into the device) in the closed state (Fig. 3c) and defining a selected spacing therebetween.
SORENSEN teaches the magnetic selector permits sterile, rapid, efficient, and clean separation of cells and allows for the enclosure to operate independently of the magnetic carrier for easier control (C1/L32-36).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the magnetic selector of WEGENER with a magnet carrier disposed opposite the floor and separate from a door as taught by SORENSEN in order to provide an independently operated, easier control, sterile, rapid, efficient and clean separation. The references are combinable, because they are in the same technological environment of magnetic separations. See MPEP 2141 III (A) and (G).
Regarding claim 22, WEGENER does not teach a positive selection. However, SORENSEN teaches that such separation techniques may use positive separation and/or negative separation while the magnet is active (C1/L16-20). It is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the choice of positive separation and/or negative separation may be made as an obvious engineering design choice to provide the desired protocol for separation.
It is obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try positive separation and/or negative separation by choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (positive, negative, or in combination) with a reasonable expectation of success by reaching a workable as desired in order to successfully separate the desired and/or undesired fraction. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
Regarding claim 23, WEGENER teaches the fluid processor further comprises hardware and a controller (abstract; par. [0004]) configured to operate the hardware while the disposable fluid circuit is installed on the hardware and is connected to the source container and the container disposed on the floor of the magnetic selector (par. [0056],[0104]).
Telephonic Inquiries
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LIAM A. ROYCE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1773
/Liam Royce/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773