Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment of 03/12/2026 has been entered.
Disposition of claims:
Claim 2 has been cancelled.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 9 have been amended.
Claims 1, 3–18 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments (see page 27 of the reply filed on 03/12/2026) regarding the rejection of Claims 9 under 35 U.S.C. §112(d) as being of improper dependent form set forth in the Office Action of 12/12/2025 has been fully considered and has been withdrawn since Applicant has amended claim 9 to recite hydrogen as an option for Ar1 and Ar2.
Applicant’s arguments (see page 28 of the reply filed on 03/12/2026) regarding the rejections of Claims 1, 3–8, and 10–18 under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0280796 A1) set forth in the Office Action of 12/12/2025 have been fully considered and have been withdrawn since independent claims 1 has been amended to narrow the scope wherein the compound must be represented by Chemical Formula 1B or Chemical Formula 1D, rendering the rejections moot.
Applicant’s arguments (see page 29 of the reply filed on 03/12/2026) regarding the rejection of Claim 9 under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Miyazaki et al. (US 2019/0131534 A1) set forth in the Office Action of 12/12/2025 has been fully considered and has been withdrawn since independent claims 1 has been amended to narrow the scope wherein the compound must be represented by Chemical Formula 1B or Chemical Formula 1D, rendering the rejections moot.
A new round of rejections has been necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3–18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2021/0280796 A1) in view of Suh et al. (US 2021/0351360 A1, hereafter “Suh”).
Regarding Claim 1, 3–18, Kim teaches Compound C-195 [pg. 35] which nearly reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1B.
However, the benzofurocarbazole in Compound C-195 (Benzofuro[3,2-b]carbazole, hereafter “Moiety B”) must be modified so that the oxygen and nitrogen are on the same side of the molecule (Benzofuro[2,3-a]carbazole, hereafter “Moiety A”) to read on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1B.
Kim further teaches Compound C-149 wherein the nitrogen and oxygen of the benzofurocarbazole are on the same side of the molecule (Moiety A), therefore this benzofurocarbazole isomer is within the scope of Kim’s teachings.
Additionally, Suh teaches Compound 4 and Compound 7 (shown below), which comprise a benzofurocarbazole and a triazine within their structures, like Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1B. The only difference between Compound 4 and Compound 7 is that Compound 4 comprises Moiety A (oxygen and nitrogen on the same side) while Compound 7 comprises Moiety B (oxygen and nitrogen on opposite sides). Suh teaches that Compound 4 has a reduced voltage and higher efficiency in comparison to Compound 7 [Table1]. Therefore, when a compound comprising Moiety A (oxygen and nitrogen on the same side) instead of Moiety B (oxygen and nitrogen on opposite sides) is used as the host material in an organic light emitting device, the voltage is reduced and the efficiency is increased.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Compound C-195 by changing the benzofurocarbazole from Moiety B to Moiety A, based on the teaching of Suh. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce the voltage and increase the efficiency of an organic light emitting device, as taught by Suh.
Additionally, Kim’s Formula 1 does not specify the bonding of ring A and ring B. Therefore, a structural isomer of Compound C-195 may be made wherein the 1 position of the benzofurocarbazole in Moiety A is bonded (shown below). Kim further teaches organic electroluminescent device comprising host materials of present disclosure result in lower driving voltage, high luminous efficiency, and long lifespan [0142].
Given the general formula and teachings of Kim, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the positional isomer of Compound C-195 wherein position 1 is bonded. One of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Formula 1/the positional isomers of the compound represented by Compound C-195 in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp and would expect the isomeric compounds to be useful as the host in the light-emitting layer of the organic light emitting device of Kim and possess the properties taught by Kim. A prima facie case of obviousness exists when chemical compounds have very close structural similarity and similar utilities. See MPEP 2144.09 I. When compounds which are position isomers or homologs are of sufficiently close structural similarity, there is an expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. See MPEP 2144.09 II.
Per Claim 1, the resulting compound, hereafter “Modified C-195”, reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1B (shown below),
wherein:
X1 is O,
n1 is 1,
Z1 to Z3 are each CRe, while Z4 to Z6 are each N,
Re and R1 to R4 are each hydrogen,
m6 and m8 are each 4, m7’ is 3, m9’ is 2,
Ar1 is hydrogen, Ar2 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group,
L1 and L2 are each a single bond.
Per Claim 3, Modified C-195 is represented by Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1B-II (shown below), wherein Ar1, Ar2, L1, L2, X1, X2, m6, m7’, m8, m9’, Z1 to Z6, n1, and R1 to R4 are the same as defined above.
Per Claim 4, n1 is 1 in Modified C-195.
Per Claim 5, Modified C-195 is represented by Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1B-IIa (shown below), wherein Ar1, Ar2, L1, L2, X1, X2, m6, m7’, m8, m9’, Z1 to Z6, n1, and R1 to R4 are the same as defined above
Per Claim 6, X1 is O in Modified C-195. X2 is not present as it is not represented in Applicant’s Chemical Formula 1B.
Per Claim 7, Ar1 is hydrogen while Ar2 is an unsubstituted phenyl group in Modified C-195.
Per Claim 8, *-L1Ar1 is hydrogen while *-L2-Ar2 is represented by
in Modified C-195.
Per Claim 9, Modified C-195 is identical to Applicant’s Compound 1-37 (shown below).
Per Claim 10, Kim teaches an organic electroluminescent material comprising at least one compound from C-1 to C-202 as the first host material represented by Formula 1 and at least one compound from H1 to H84 as the second host material represented by Formula 11 [0099]. Modified C-195 is a derivative of C-195 and is represented by Formula 1. H-1 [pg. 40] (shown below) is a compound taught by Kim which is represented by formula 11. Kim further teaches organic electroluminescent device comprising host materials of present disclosure result in lower driving voltage, high luminous efficiency, and long lifespan [0142].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to H-1 as a second host material with Modified C-195, because it would have been choosing between H-1 to H-84, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the host in the light emitting layer of the organic light emitting device of Kim and possessing the benefits taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising H-1 having the benefits taught by Kim in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
H-1 reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 2 (shown below),
wherein:
Ar3 and Ar4 are each an unsubstituted C6 aryl group (phenyl),
L3 and L4 are each a single bond,
n2 is 0,
R6–R15 are each a hydrogen atom, R16 is not present since n2 is 0,
m3 is 3, m4 is 3, and m5 is not present since n2 is 0.
An organic electroluminescent material comprising Compound 1 and H-1 (hereafter called Composition 1) reads on Applicant’s limitation.
Per Claim 11, Composition 1 reads on Applicants’ limitation since H-1 reads on Chemical Formula 2-8 (shown below), and *L3-Ar3 and *L4-Ar4 are each represented by C-1, a substituent of Group II.
Regarding Claim 12, Kim teaches an organic electroluminescent material comprising at least one compound from C-1 to C-202 as the first host material represented by Formula 1 and at least one compound from H1 to H84 as the second host material represented by Formula 11 [0099]. Modified C-195 is a derivative of C-195 and is represented by Formula 1. H-71 [pg. 54] (shown below) is a compound taught by Kim which is represented by formula 11. Kim further teaches organic electroluminescent device comprising host materials of present disclosure result in lower driving voltage, high luminous efficiency, and long lifespan [0142].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to H-71 as a second host material with Modified C-195, because it would have been choosing between H-1 to H-84, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful as the host in the light emitting layer of the organic light emitting device of Kim and possessing the benefits taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional devices comprising H-71 having the benefits taught by Kim in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
H-71 reads on Applicant’s Chemical Formula 3C (shown below),
wherein:
Ld3 and Ld4 are each a single bond,
L5 and L6 are each a single bond,
R17–R24, Rf3, and Rf4 are each a hydrogen atom,
Ar5 and Ar6 are each an unsubstituted phenyl group.
Regarding Claims 13, 14, 16 and 17, Kim teaches an organic electroluminescent device according to one embodiment may comprise a first electrode; a second electrode; and at least one organic layer(s) between the first and second electrodes. The organic layer may include a light-emitting layer, and the light-emitting layer may include an organic electroluminescent compound represented by formula 1 (Claims 13 and 14), or a plurality of host materials comprising at least one first host material(s) represented by formula 1 and at least one second host material(s) represented by formula 11 (Claims 16 and 17) [0098]. Kim further teaches organic electroluminescent device comprising host materials of present disclosure result in lower driving voltage, high luminous efficiency, and long lifespan [0142].
Per Claim 13 and 14, However, Kim does not teach an exemplified organic electroluminescent device comprising C-195 as a host material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce an organic electroluminescent device comprising with Modified C-195 as a host material, based on the teaching of Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to produce a device with low driving voltage, high luminous efficiency, and long lifespan, as taught by Kim.
The organic electroluminescent device comprising Modified C-195 reads on Applicant’s limitations of Claim 13 and 14.
Per Claim 16 and 17, However, Kim does not teach an exemplified organic electroluminescent device comprising C-195 and H-1 as host materials.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce an organic electroluminescent device comprising with Modified C-195 and H-1 as host materials, based on the teaching of Kim. The motivation for doing so would have been to produce a device with low driving voltage, high luminous efficiency, and long lifespan, as taught by Kim.
The organic electroluminescent device comprising Modified C-195 and H-1 reads on Applicant’s limitations of Claim 16 and 17.
Regarding Claim 15 and 18, Kim teaches that their disclosure can provide display devices such as smartphones, tablets, notebooks, PCs, TVs, or display devices for vehicles, or lighting devices such as outdoor or indoor lighting, by using an organic electroluminescent device [0122].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.R.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789