DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 11, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang (US 2005/0252640 A1).
Re. claim 1: Chang discloses a heat exchanger for an apparatus, comprising:
a bottom plate (12);
a top plate (11); and (see fig. 2, 4; para. 0024-0025)
a plurality of heat dissipating fins (43) extending between the top and bottom plates that form a plurality of air channels (44); (see fig. 2, 4, 5; para. 0026-0030)
wherein at least one of the top plate and bottom plate comprises a heat conducting material, the plurality of heat dissipating fins receive heat from the top or bottom plates, and (see para. 0024-0025)
individuals of at least a subset of the plurality of fins include a baffle (46, 47) that protrudes into an individual of the plurality of air channels. (see fig. 5-9; para. 0031-0035)
Re. claim 2: Chang discloses wherein all of the fins (43) of the plurality of heat dissipating fins include at least one baffle (46, 47). (see fig. 5-9; para. 0031-0035)
Re. claim 10: Chang discloses a method, comprising:
creating, from a heat dissipating material, a plurality of heat dissipating fins (43); (see fig. 2, 4, 5; para. 0026-0030)
forming a (46, 47) baffle into individuals of a subset of the plurality of fins; and
forming a plurality of air channels (44) by disposing the plurality of fins between a top plate (11) and a bottom plate (12), at least one of the top plate and bottom plate comprised of a heat conducting material, (see fig. 2, 4; para. 0024-0025)
wherein individuals of the baffles protrude into corresponding individuals of the plurality of air channels. (see fig. 5-9; para. 0031-0035)
Re. claim 11: Chang discloses wherein the subset of the plurality of fins (43) comprises all of the plurality of fins. (see fig. 5-9; para. 0031-0035)
Re. claim 17: Chang discloses a computer device, comprising:
a processor (3); (see fig. 3; para. 0025)
a heat exchanger (1) adapted to dissipate heat from the processor; and (see fig. 2, 3; para. 0024-0026)
a fan (2) disposed to pass air through the heat exchanger; (see fig. 2, 3; para. 0024-0026)
wherein the heat exchanger comprises: a top plate (11) and a bottom plate (12), at least one of the top plate or bottom plate being heat conducting, and (see fig. 2; para. 0024)
a plurality of heat dissipating fins (43) extending between the top and bottom plates to form a plurality of air channels (44), the plurality of heat dissipating fins disposed to receive heat from the top or bottom plates, and (see fig. 2, 4, 5; para. 0026-0030)
individuals of at least a subset of the plurality of fins include a baffle (46, 47) that protrudes into an individual of the plurality of air channels. (see fig. 5-9; para. 0031-0035)
Re. claim 18: Chang discloses a heat pipe (5) in contact (thermal contact) with the processor and the heat exchanger, and adapted to conduct heat generated by the processor to the heat exchanger. (see fig. 2-4; para. 0028)
Re. claim 19: Chang discloses wherein the computer device is a laptop computer. (see para. 0004-0007)
Re. claim 20: Chang discloses wherein the computer device is a mobile device. (see para. 0004-0007)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-8 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Lev et al. (US 2009/0027850 A1)
Re. claims 3-4 and 12-13: Chang fails to disclose:
wherein a subset of the plurality of fins do not have a baffle.
wherein the subset of the plurality of fins that do not have a baffle are interleaved with the subset of the plurality of fins that include a baffle.
However, Lev discloses:
at least a subset (104) of a plurality of fins (100) include a baffle (sawtooth shape) that protrudes into an individual of the plurality of air channels
wherein a subset of the plurality of fins (106) do not have a baffle; and
wherein the subset of the plurality of fins that do not have a baffle are interleaved with the subset of the plurality of fins that include a baffle. (see fig. 4A; para. 0012)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to shape the fins of Chang in the way that the fins of Lev are shaped. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to increase the rate of heat transfer and increase the convection away from the processor. (Lev para. 0012)
Re. claim 5: Lev discloses wherein the baffles (104) increase the surface area of the subset of the plurality of fins (surface area of baffled fins 104 are greater than straight fins 106). (see fig. 4; para. 0009, 0011, 0014)
Re. claims 6 and 14: Lev discloses wherein individuals of the baffles comprise a rounded rectangular depression (108) that protrudes from a plane defined by the baffle’s fin. (see fig. 4B; para. 0012)
Re. claims 7 and 15: Lev discloses wherein individuals of the baffles comprise the baffle’s fin formed into a sinusoidal pattern (102). (see fig. 2, 3; para. 0010-0012)
Re. claims 8 and 16: Lev discloses wherein individuals of the baffles comprise the baffle’s fin formed into a plurality of alternating angles (104). (see fig. 4A; para. 0012)
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kojima et al. (US 5,625,229).
Re. claim 9: Chang fails to specifically disclose:
wherein the heat exchanger is formed from copper or aluminum.
However, Kojima discloses:
wherein the heat exchanger (90, 100) is formed from copper or aluminum. (see fig. 10, 12; col. 6 ln. 17-40)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the heat exchanger of Chang out of copper or aluminum as taught by Kojima. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do this in order to create lightweight fins with a high thermal transfer rate. (Kojima col. 6 ln. 25-36)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu (US 2003/0164233 A1) discloses a heat exchanger with baffled fins for dissipating heat. Mira (US 5,709,263) discloses a sinusoidal shaped fin for a heat sink in an electronic device.
September 20, 2025
/ADAM B DRAVININKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835