DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 08/08/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
3. Applicant has canceled claims 20-31 and 33-37 and has added claims 38-54 and argues the references of record do not teach or suggest the independent claims. Applicant continues, in particular, the references of record do not teach or suggest that, in response to determining that the traveling environment gradient is a downhill condition, each of the first and second drone units is configured to measure a state of charge (SOC) value of the respective high-voltage battery, to perform a regenerative braking only when the SOC value is below a maximum value, and to perform a mechanical braking when the SOC value is equal to a maximum value.
4. However, Applicant has not provided any reasons or rationale as why the references of record fails to teach the limitation above, and instead only provides conclusory statements. Indeed, the canceled claims recited similar limitations and were rejected in the previous Office Action. Yokoo et al. (US-20220340048-A1) teaches with the wheels 114 retarded, the propulsion supersystem 132 is employable to decelerate the FCV 100, maintain the speed of the FCV 100 (e.g., on downhill ground) and otherwise drive the FCV 100 along the ground. As the combined product of generating electrical energy, and consequently retarding the wheels 114, and storing electrical energy, the propulsion supersystem 132 and the energy supersystem 130 are operable to regeneratively brake the FCV 100 at the wheels 114 ([0041]). The sensor system 122 monitors the state of charge (SOC) of a battery of battery system 162 ([0044]). The auxiliary systems 134 are operable to perform auxiliary functions, and satisfy corresponding auxiliary demands. The global auxiliary demands include demands to frictionally brake the FCV 100 ([0054]-[0055]) which encompasses a mechanical braking apparatus. None of the power sources is made to operate above/beyond its maximum capabilities ([0107]) which means if the battery is already at its maximum state of charge, and braking is needed, then frictionally braking or mechanical braking is used.
5. As such, this argument is unpersuasive.
6. Applicant argues dependent claim(s) is/are patentable by the virtue of their dependency on allowable independent claims and the additional features recited in the dependent claims.
7. This argument is unpersuasive as each independent claim and dependent claim has been fully rejected and for the reasons given above.
Prior Art of Record
8. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. The prompt development of a clear issue requires that the replies of the Applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims. Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure (see MPEP §2163.06). Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation (BRI) of the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims. SEE MPEP 2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
10. Claim 38-54 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
11. In regards to claim 38
, the claims recites “under an application of a constant driving force.” It is noted that Applicant has canceled the previous set of claims and added a new set of claims. However, claim 38 is substantially an amended version of claim 20 in the previous set of claims. Applicant has failed to provide support for this amendment within the specification and support for this amendment is nowhere to be found within the specification.
12. In regards to independent claims 45 and 51, the claims are rejected for the same reason given above in regards to claim 38.
13. The dependent claims are rejected by virtue of their dependency on an already rejected independent claim.
15. Claim 39 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
16. The term “Selectively” in claim 39 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “Selectively” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Accordingly, it is not clear when the high-voltage battery is charged by the regenerative braking system or the fuel cell stack. For the purpose of prior art rejection, the limitation above was interpreted as the high-voltage battery configured to be charged by the regenerative braking system or the fuel cell stack.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
18. Claim(s) 38-41, and 51-54
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoo et al. (US-20220340048-A1) in view of Hosokawa et al. (JP-2009273274-A).
In regards to claim 38
, Yokoo teaches An apparatus comprising: (Fig. 1-4, [0022] A dual battery fuel cell system [0029] that power is distributed from/by each fuel cell.)
a first drone unit located on a first end of a vehicle; and ([0057] FCV 100 has two or more power modules 150 that each module includes an energy system 152 and a propulsion system 154 which is the first drone unit.)
a second drone unit located on a second end of the vehicle, each of the first and second drone units comprising: ([0057] FCV 100 has two or more power modules 150 that each module includes an energy system 152 and a propulsion system 154 which is the second drone unit.)
an acceleration sensor configured to measure a traveling environment gradient of the vehicle; ([0089] FCV 100 has various sensors 122 including accelerometers. [0094] The driving conditions is sensed by the sensors 122, indicating that the FCV is traveling on an uphill grade which is measuring the travelling environment gradient.)
an electric motor configured to apply a driving force for driving the vehicle; ([0058]-[0060] The power module 150 has an energy system 152 and a propulsion system 154. Each energy system 152 generates electrical energy. Propulsion system 154 performs propulsion functions using electrical energy. Propulsion system 154, and the power module 150 to which it belongs, includes a motor system 166. Inside power module 150, the motor system 166 is electrically connected to the fuel cell system 160.)
a fuel cell stack configured to supply power to the electric motor; and ([0060] Energy system 152, and the power module 150 to which it belongs, includes a fuel cell system 160 which is the fuel cell stack.)
a high-voltage battery electrically connected to the fuel cell stack and configured to store and supply electrical energy, ([0067] The battery converter 214 is a DC/DC converter operable to convert higher voltage DC electrical energy from the fuel cell converter 204 into lower voltage DC electrical energy and the lower voltage DC electrical energy to medium voltage DC electrical energy. The battery 212 stores electrical energy from the battery converter 21.)
wherein each of the first and second drone units is configured to autonomously manage the driving force in response to determining the traveling environment gradient, (Fig. 6, [0105]-[0107], Fig. 6 is a flow chart illustrating operations that is performed to control and selectively use one or more power sources of an FCV including a fuel cell stack and a dual battery support system/architecture to supplement the fuel cell stack. At operation 600, driving conditions associated with an FCV are obtained. At operation 604, based on the driving conditions, which power source(s) of the FCV are considered to provide power to an FCV system, is determined. At operation 604, operating conditions of each of the power sources is assessed, one or more of the power sources is controlled to deliver power to the FCV system based on the operating conditions of each of the power sources. That is, driving conditions is ascertained to determine which power source(s) to use for a particular driving condition/conditions which is autonomously managing the driving force in response to determining the traveling environment gradient.)
wherein, in response to determining the traveling environment gradient as the downhill condition, each of the first and second drone units is configured to:
measure a state of charge (SOC) value of the respective high-voltage battery, ([0044] The sensor system 122 monitors the state of charge (SOC) of a battery of battery system 162.)
perform a regenerative braking only when the SOC value is below a maximum value, and ([0041] As the combined product of generating electrical energy, and consequently retarding the wheels 114, and storing electrical energy, the propulsion supersystem 132 and the energy supersystem 130 are operable to regeneratively brake the FCV 100 at the wheels 114. [0044] The sensor system 122 monitors the state of charge (SOC) of a battery of battery system 162. [0107] None of the power sources is made to operate above/beyond its maximum capabilities which means regenerative braking is performed only when the SOC value is below the maximum capability of the battery.)
perform a mechanical braking when the SOC value is equal to the maximum value. ([0044] The sensor system 122 monitors the state of charge (SOC) of a battery of battery system 162. [0054]-[0055] The auxiliary systems 134 are operable to perform auxiliary functions, and satisfy corresponding auxiliary demands. The global auxiliary demands include demands to frictionally brake the FCV 100 which encompasses a mechanical braking apparatus. [0107] None of the power sources is made to operate above/beyond its maximum capabilities which means if the battery is already at its maximum state of charge, and braking is needed, then frictionally braking or mechanical braking is used.)
Yokoo does not teach wherein the traveling environment gradient is determinable based on a wheel acceleration detected by the acceleration sensor, under an application of a constant driving force, such that the gradient is identified as an uphill condition when the wheel acceleration is smaller than that of a flatland condition and as a downhill condition when the wheel acceleration is larger than that of the flatland condition, and
However, Hosokawa teaches a power generator 30 that is driven by an engine or generates power by a fuel cell or the like is connected to the power storage device 14 via an inverter 13. (Page 6, Figs. 1-2). The climbing state in step S9 includes a state in which the vehicle is traveling on a flat road having no inclination or the traveling road surface is a downhill road. The determination as to whether the vehicle is traveling uphill or downhill is performed by determining the vehicle body acceleration of the vehicle body and the wheel accelerations of the wheels 1 to 4 from the detection values of the longitudinal acceleration sensor 23 and the wheel speed sensor 26 (Pages 12-13, Fig. 3). The sum of the driving forces Ff and Fr expressed by the equations (12) and (13) is larger than the total driving force F, that is, within the grip limit region under the total driving force F. If a positive determination is made in step S7 due to the presence of the driving force distribution between the front wheels 1 and 2 and the rear wheels 3 and 4 in the pitching suppression control or bouncing suppression control, the process proceeds to step S8. The road surface gradient (including the front road surface) on which the vehicle is traveling is detected, and further, based on the detected road surface gradient, whether the traveling road surface is an uphill road (Page 12, equations 12, 13). According to Newton’s second law, acceleration and applied driving force are directly proportional. As such, when the mass and the applied force are kept constant, and the inclination or the gradient of the surface changes, the total force changes accordingly. The total force is the sum of the applied driving force and the force component that is contributed by the mass on a slope. When the slope increases and the vehicle condition is uphill, some part of the applied driving force must overcome the force component that is contributed by the mass in the opposite direction of the applied driving force. Since the mass is constant, and the total force applied to the mass is decreased, and as the result the acceleration decreases. When the vehicle condition is downhill, the total force is the applied driving force and the force component that is contributed by the mass in the same direction of the applied driving force. Therefore, the total force increases. As a result the acceleration must increase. As such, the limitation of the traveling environment gradient is identified as an uphill condition when the wheel acceleration is smaller than that of a flatland condition, and as a downhill condition when the wheel acceleration is larger than that of the flatland condition, is no more than stating Newton’s second law.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the dual battery fuel cell system of Yokoo, by incorporating the teachings of Hosokawa, such that acceleration sensors are used to determine the wheel accelerations of the vehicle, and the determined acceleration is compared to the acceleration on flatland for the same magnitude of driving force, and based on the difference between the determined acceleration and the acceleration on flatland, it is determined whether the vehicle is traveling uphill or downhill. When the determined acceleration is larger than acceleration on flatland, the vehicle is moving downhill and vice versa.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Hosokawa, to suppress fluctuations in vehicle behavior such as pitching and bouncing, the driving force distribution generated before and after the driving force or braking force independently generated in the front and rear wheels (Page 4) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the ride to be smooth and comfortable for the occupants.
In regards to claim 39
, Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa, teaches The apparatus of claim 38, wherein each electric motor comprises:
the fuel cell stack configured to provide the driving force for the vehicle ([0060] Energy system 152, and the power module 150 to which it belongs, includes a fuel cell system 160.), wherein the fuel cell stack includes a compressor configured to compress air to supply the air to a cathode of the fuel cell stack and a hydrogen storage tank configured to supply hydrogen to an anode of the fuel cell stack, ([0071] The FCV 100 includes the fuel cell stack 202 among the energy elements of the fuel cell system 160. Fuel cell stack 202 is fluidly connected to a fuel supply system 200B and to a fuel/hydrogen tank 200A. [0072] Also among the energy elements of the fuel cell system 160, the FCV 100 includes an air compressor, filter, and humidifiers, which are a part of air supply system 224. The air supply system 224 is operable to pump air into the fuel cell stack 202 using electrical energy from a compressor inverter which encompasses.)
a regenerative braking system configured to be operated by a controller during braking of the motor, and ([0041] As the combined product of generating electrical energy, and consequently retarding the wheels 114, and storing electrical energy, the propulsion supersystem 132 and the energy supersystem 130 are operable to regeneratively brake the FCV 100 at the wheels 114.)
the high-voltage battery configured to be selectively charged by the regenerative braking system or the fuel cell stack. ([0067] The battery converter 214 is a DC/DC converter operable to convert higher voltage DC electrical energy from the fuel cell converter 204 into lower voltage DC electrical energy and the lower voltage DC electrical energy to medium voltage DC electrical energy. The battery 212 is stores electrical energy from the battery converter 21.)
In regards to claim 40
, Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa, teaches The apparatus of claim 38, further comprising a controller configured to operate a regenerative braking system until the SOC value of each high-voltage battery becomes a maximum SOC value when the traveling environment gradient is the downhill condition. ([0041] With the wheels 114 retarded, the propulsion supersystem 132 decelerates the FCV 100, maintain the speed of the FCV 100 on downhill ground. The energy supersystem 130, in turn, stores electrical energy from the propulsion supersystem 132. [0044] The sensor system 122 monitors the state of charge (SOC) of a battery of battery system 162. [0107] None of the power sources is made to operate above/beyond its maximum capabilities which means if the battery is already at its maximum state of charge, then generative braking will not be used.)
In regards to claim 41
, Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa, teaches The apparatus of claim 38, further comprising:
a controller; and ([0048]-[0049] A control module orchestrates the operation of the FCV 100 which includes one or more power control units.)
a mechanical braking apparatus configured to provide the mechanical braking,
wherein the controller is configured to apply the mechanical braking when the high- voltage battery of each of the first and second drone units reached the maximum SOC value and when the traveling environment gradient is the downhill condition. ([0044] The sensor system 122 monitors the state of charge (SOC) of a battery of battery system 162. [0054]-[0055] The auxiliary systems 134 are operable to perform auxiliary functions, and satisfy corresponding auxiliary demands. The global auxiliary demands include demands to frictionally brake the FCV 100 which encompasses a mechanical braking apparatus. [0107] None of the power sources is made to operate above/beyond its maximum capabilities which means if the battery is already at its maximum state of charge, and braking is needed, then frictionally braking or mechanical braking is used.)
In regards to claim 51
, Yokoo teaches A method for controlling driving of a vehicle, the method comprising: (Fig. 6, [0024] Fig. 6 is a flow chart illustrating operations that are performed to control a dual battery fuel cell system.)
determining a traveling environment gradient of the vehicle as a downhill condition; ([0041] With the wheels 114 retarded, the propulsion supersystem 132 decelerates the FCV 100, maintain the speed of the FCV 100 on downhill ground. The energy supersystem 130, in turn, stores electrical energy from the propulsion supersystem 132. [0105] At operation 600, driving conditions associated with an FCV are obtained. Such driving conditions includes current speed, road grade, operating mode/state of the FCV such as accelerating and at what rate or to what speed, cruising, etc.)
measuring a state of charge (SOC) value for each of at least one drone unit mounted on the vehicle; ([0044] The sensor system 122 monitors the state of charge (SOC) of a battery of battery system 162.)
determining whether the SOC value of each drone unit is smaller than a maximum SOC value; and ([0044] The sensor system 122 monitors the state of charge (SOC) of a battery of battery system 162. [0107] None of the power sources is made to operate above/beyond its maximum capabilities which requires determining whether the SOC of the battery is at its maximum capacity or not.)
carrying out mechanical braking in response to determining that the SOC value of each drone unit exceeds the maximum SOC value, ([0044] The sensor system 122 monitors the state of charge (SOC) of a battery of battery system 162. [0054]-[0055] The auxiliary systems 134 are operable to perform auxiliary functions, and satisfy corresponding auxiliary demands. The global auxiliary demands include demands to frictionally brake the FCV 100 which encompasses a mechanical braking apparatus. [0107] None of the power sources is made to operate above/beyond its maximum capabilities which means if the battery is already at its maximum state of charge, and braking is needed, then frictionally braking or mechanical braking is used.)
wherein the at least one drone unit comprises a first drone unit and a second drone unit, ([0057] FCV 100 has two or more power modules 150 that each module includes an energy system 152 and a propulsion system 154 which is the first drone unit.)
wherein driving amounts of each drone unit is independently controlled, (Fig. 6, [0105]-[0107], Fig. 6 is a flow chart illustrating operations that is performed to control and selectively use one or more power sources of an FCV including a fuel cell stack and a dual battery support system/architecture to supplement the fuel cell stack. At operation 600, driving conditions associated with an FCV are obtained. At operation 604, based on the driving conditions, which power source(s) of the FCV are considered to provide power to an FCV system, is determined. At operation 604, operating conditions of each of the power sources is assessed, one or more of the power sources is controlled to deliver power to the FCV system based on the operating conditions of each of the power sources. That is, driving conditions is ascertained to determine which power source(s) to use for a particular driving condition/conditions.)
wherein, when the traveling environment gradient is determined as the downhill condition, each drone unit measures the state of charge (SOC) value of a respective high-voltage battery, and performs regenerative braking only when the SOC value is below a maximum value, and performs the mechanical braking when the SOC value is equal to the maximum value. ([0041] As the combined product of generating electrical energy, and consequently retarding the wheels 114, and storing electrical energy, the propulsion supersystem 132 and the energy supersystem 130 are operable to regeneratively brake the FCV 100 at the wheels 114. [0044] The sensor system 122 monitors the state of charge (SOC) of a battery of battery system 162. [0107] None of the power sources is made to operate above/beyond its maximum capabilities which means regenerative braking is performed only when the SOC value is below the maximum capability of the battery and when the battery is already at its maximum state of charge, and braking is needed, then frictionally braking or mechanical braking is used.)
Yokoo does not teach wherein the traveling environment gradient is determined based on a wheel acceleration detected by an acceleration sensor, under an application of a constant driving force, such that the gradient is identified as an uphill condition when the wheel acceleration is smaller than that of a flatland condition and as the downhill condition when the wheel acceleration is larger than that of the flatland condition, and
However, Hosokawa teaches a power generator 30 that is driven by an engine or generates power by a fuel cell or the like is connected to the power storage device 14 via an inverter 13. (Page 6, Figs. 1-2). The climbing state in step S9 includes a state in which the vehicle is traveling on a flat road having no inclination or the traveling road surface is a downhill road. The determination as to whether the vehicle is traveling uphill or downhill is performed by determining the vehicle body acceleration of the vehicle body and the wheel accelerations of the wheels 1 to 4 from the detection values of the longitudinal acceleration sensor 23 and the wheel speed sensor 26 (Pages 12-13, Fig. 3). The sum of the driving forces Ff and Fr expressed by the equations (12) and (13) is larger than the total driving force F, that is, within the grip limit region under the total driving force F. If a positive determination is made in step S7 due to the presence of the driving force distribution between the front wheels 1 and 2 and the rear wheels 3 and 4 in the pitching suppression control or bouncing suppression control, the process proceeds to step S8. The road surface gradient (including the front road surface) on which the vehicle is traveling is detected, and further, based on the detected road surface gradient, whether the traveling road surface is an uphill road (Page 12, equations 12, 13). According to Newton’s second law, acceleration and applied driving force are directly proportional. As such, when the mass and the applied force are kept constant, and the inclination or the gradient of the surface changes, the total force changes accordingly. The total force is the sum of the applied driving force and the force component that is contributed by the mass on a slope. When the slope increases and the vehicle condition is uphill, some part of the applied driving force must overcome the force component that is contributed by the mass in the opposite direction of the applied driving force. Since the mass is constant, and the total force applied to the mass is decreased, and as the result the acceleration decreases. When the vehicle condition is downhill, the total force is the applied driving force and the force component that is contributed by the mass in the same direction of the applied driving force. Therefore, the total force increases. As a result the acceleration must increase. As such, the limitation of the traveling environment gradient is identified as an uphill condition when the wheel acceleration is smaller than that of a flatland condition, and as a downhill condition when the wheel acceleration is larger than that of the flatland condition, is no more than stating Newton’s second law.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the dual battery fuel cell system of Yokoo, by incorporating the teachings of Hosokawa, such that acceleration sensors are used to determine the wheel accelerations of the vehicle, and the determined acceleration is compared to the acceleration on flatland for the same magnitude of driving force, and based on the difference between the determined acceleration and the acceleration on flatland, it is determined whether the vehicle is traveling uphill or downhill. When the determined acceleration is larger than acceleration on flatland, the vehicle is moving downhill and vice versa.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Hosokawa in regards to claim 38.
In regards to claim 52
, Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa, teaches The method of claim 51, further comprising carrying out the regenerative braking of each drone unit in response to determining that the SOC value of each drone unit is smaller than the maximum SOC value. ([0041] As the combined product of generating electrical energy, and consequently retarding the wheels 114, and storing electrical energy, the propulsion supersystem 132 and the energy supersystem 130 are operable to regeneratively brake the FCV 100 at the wheels 114. [0044] The sensor system 122 monitors the state of charge (SOC) of a battery of battery system 162. [0107] None of the power sources is made to operate above/beyond its maximum capabilities which means if the battery is not at its maximum state of charge, then the battery will be charged.)
In regards to claim 53
, Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa, teaches The method of claim 51,
wherein the first drone unit is located on a first end of the vehicle ([0057] FCV 100 has two or more power modules 150 that each module includes an energy system 152 and a propulsion system 154 which encompasses the first drone unit.) and a second drone is unit located on a second end of the vehicle, ([0057] FCV 100 has two or more power modules 150 that each module includes an energy system 152 and a propulsion system 154 which encompasses the second drone unit.)
wherein each drone unit comprises the acceleration sensor measuring the traveling environment gradient of the vehicle ([0089] FCV 100 has various sensors 122 including accelerometers which is the sensor unit. [0094] The driving conditions is sensed by the sensors 122, indicating that the FCV is traveling on an uphill grade which is measuring the travelling environment gradient.) and an electric motor applying a driving force of the vehicle, and ([0058]-[0060] The power module 150 has an energy system 152 and a propulsion system 154. Each energy system 152 generates electrical energy. Propulsion system 154 performs propulsion functions using electrical energy. Propulsion system 154, and the power module 150 to which it belongs, includes a motor system 166. Inside power module 150, the motor system 166 is electrically connected to the fuel cell system 160.)
wherein the vehicle comprises the controller controlling driving amounts of each drone unit based on the traveling environment gradient of the vehicle. ([0048]-[0049] A control module orchestrates the operation of the FCV 100 which includes one or more power control units. The power control modules 128P orchestrate the operation of the energy supersystem 130 and the propulsion supersystem 132. [0029] Power is distributed according to triggers/indicators characterizing a set of conditions, such as, grade, rate of acceleration, and so on. The control module is the control unit.)
In regards to claim 54
, Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa, teaches The method of claim 51, wherein each electric motor comprises:
a fuel cell stack configured for providing the driving force of the vehicle, ([0060] Energy system 152, and the power module 150 to which it belongs, includes a fuel cell system 160 which is the fuel cell stack.)
a regenerative braking system configured to generate electric energy in a braking environment of the vehicle, and ([0041] As the combined product of generating electrical energy, and consequently retarding the wheels 114, and storing electrical energy, the propulsion supersystem 132 and the energy supersystem 130 are operable to regeneratively brake the FCV 100 at the wheels 114.)
a high-voltage battery electrically connected with the fuel cell stack or the regenerative braking system. ([0067] The battery converter 214 is a DC/DC converter operable to convert higher voltage DC electrical energy from the fuel cell converter 204 into lower voltage DC electrical energy and the lower voltage DC electrical energy to medium voltage DC electrical energy. The battery 212 stores electrical energy from the battery converter 21.)
19. Claim(s) 42 and 44-46, and 48
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoo et al. (US-20220340048-A1) in view of Hosokawa et al. (JP-2009273274-A) and further in view of Healy (US-10500975-B1) and further in view of Ishii (JP-2021023015-A).
In regards to claim 42
, Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa, teaches The apparatus of claim 38, further comprising:
a controller, ([0048]-[0049] A control module orchestrates the operation of the FCV 100 which includes one or more power control units.)
wherein the controller is configured to select one of the first drone unit or the second drone unit for applying the driving force when the traveling environment gradient is the flatland condition, ([0041] In conjunction with the drivetrain, the propulsion supersystem 132 is operable to power the wheels 114 using electrical energy from the energy supersystem 130. With the wheels 114 powered, the propulsion supersystem 132 accelerates the FCV 100, maintain the speed of the FCV 100 on level or uphill ground which encompasses applying the driving force of the vehicle. [0087] A battery management system or mechanism is used to balance and optimize the power output from each battery.)
Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa, does not teach wherein a selected one of the first drone unit or the second drone unit has a driving amount value that is smaller than an average driving amount value, and
wherein the average driving amount value is based on driving amounts of the first and second drone units in the flatland condition.
However, Healy teaches an energy management system and related methods in which Equivalent Consumption Minimization Strategy (ECMS) is employed (Col4, lines 29-31) to simultaneously optimize the fuel consumption of the powered vehicle and the energy usage (e.g., battery charge) of the hybrid suspension system 100 (Col 19, lines 38-40, Figs. 1A-1D). In block 504, computing the total estimated torque includes computing one or more of a plurality of forces acting on the hybrid trailer vehicle system/HTVS (Col 17, 61-63, Figs. 5A-5B). The total estimated torque computed at block 504 includes a currently-applied HTVS torque. Based on the total estimated torque and an estimate and/or prediction of a driver-applied torque, a specified torque is applied by way of the hybrid suspension system 100 to one or more trailer axles (Col 18, lines 14-19, Figs. 1A-1D). As part of block 508 of the method 500, the specified torque is applied to the one or more trailer axles, and/or to the electric axle of the tractor 165 (Col 19, lines 46-48, Figs. 5A-5B). The hybrid suspension system 100 in the front of the back of the car are the first drone and the second drone units. Minimizing the torques using Equivalent Consumption Minimization Strategy (ECMS) means the energy management system must choose one of the suspension system 100 that requires a smaller torque that satisfies the required total estimated torque.
Ishii teaches the threshold value is set to a value higher than the average value of the required driving force during normal load driving or low load driving of the vehicle (Page 5-6). Normal load driving encompasses the driving force in the flatland condition and the average value of the required driving force is the average driving amount.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the dual battery fuel cell system of Yokoo, as already modified by Hosokawa, by incorporating the teachings of Healy and Ishii, such that when the vehicle is driven on level or uphill ground, the total estimated torque for maintaining the speed of the vehicle is calculated and the required torque is optimized by using one of the suspension systems that requires a smaller torque than the average value of the required driving force that satisfies the required total estimated torque and the average value of the required driving force is set based on the normal load driving of the vehicle.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Healy, the U.S. trucking industry consumes about 51 billion gallons of fuel per year, accounting for over 30% of overall industry operating costs. In addition, the trucking industry spends over $100 billion on fuel annually, and the average fuel economy of a tractor-trailer (e.g., an 18-wheeler) is only about 6.5 miles per gallon. For trucking fleets faced with large fuel costs, techniques for reducing those costs would be worth considering (Col 1, lines 24-31) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized optimizing fuel consumption allows the trucking industry to save the const and expand their service.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Ishii, to appropriately suppress the depletion of the electric power of the battery (Page 1) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the vehicle to be more reliable.
In regards to claim 44
, Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa, teaches The apparatus of claim 38, further comprising a controller configured to: ([0048]-[0049] A control module orchestrates the operation of the FCV 100 which includes one or more power control units.)
when the traveling environment gradient is the uphill condition. ([0041] In conjunction with the drivetrain, the propulsion supersystem 132 is operable to power the wheels 114 using electrical energy from the energy supersystem 130. With the wheels 114 powered, the propulsion supersystem 132 accelerates the FCV 100, maintain the speed of the FCV 100 on level or uphill ground which encompasses applying the main driving force of the vehicle. [0087] A battery management system or mechanism is used to balance and optimize the power output from each battery.)
Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa, does not teach select one of the first drone unit or the second drone unit with a smaller average driving amount value as a main driving electric motor, and
select another one of the first drone unit or the second drone unit with a larger average driving amount value as a sub driving electric motor.
However, Healy teaches an energy management system and related methods in which Equivalent Consumption Minimization Strategy (ECMS) is employed (Col4, lines 29-31) to simultaneously optimize the fuel consumption of the powered vehicle and the energy usage (e.g., battery charge) of the hybrid suspension system 100 (Col 19, lines 38-40, Figs. 1A-1D). In block 504, computing the total estimated torque includes computing one or more of a plurality of forces acting on the hybrid trailer vehicle system/HTVS (Col 17, 61-63, Figs. 5A-5B). The total estimated torque computed at block 504 includes a currently-applied HTVS torque. Based on the total estimated torque and an estimate and/or prediction of a driver-applied torque, a specified torque is applied by way of the hybrid suspension system 100 to one or more trailer axles (Col 18, lines 14-19, Figs. 1A-1D). As part of block 508 of the method 500, the specified torque is applied to the one or more trailer axles, and/or to the electric axle of the tractor 165 (Col 19, lines 46-48, Figs. 5A-5B). The hybrid suspension system 100 in the front of the back of the car are the first drone and the second drone units. Minimizing the torques using Equivalent Consumption Minimization Strategy (ECMS) means the energy management system must choose one of the suspension system 100 that requires a smaller torque that satisfies the required total estimated torque which encompasses setting that suspension system for providing the main driving force and the other suspension system for providing sub driving force.
Ishii teaches the threshold value is set to a value higher than the average value of the required driving force during normal load driving or low load driving of the vehicle (Page 5-6). Normal load driving encompasses the driving amount value on the flatland condition.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the dual battery fuel cell system of Yokoo, as already modified by Hosokawa, by incorporating the teachings of Healy and Ishii, such that when the vehicle is driven on level or uphill ground, the total estimated torque for maintaining the speed of the vehicle is calculated and required torque is optimized by using one of the suspension system that requires a smaller torque than the average value of the required driving force that satisfies the required total estimated torque is used for applying the main driving force and the other suspension system is used for providing the sub driving force.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Healy in regards to claim 42.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Ishii in regards to claim 42.
In regards to claim 45
, Yokoo teaches A method comprising: (Fig. 6, [0024] Fig. 6 is a flow chart illustrating operations that may be performed to control a dual battery fuel cell system.)
determining, by a controller of a vehicle, a traveling environment gradient of the vehicle as a flatland traveling condition or an uphill traveling condition, ([0048] The FCV 100 includes a global control unit which is the vehicle controller. [0089] FCV 100 has various sensors 122 including accelerometers which is the sensor unit. [0094] The driving conditions is sensed by the sensors 122, indicating that the FCV is traveling on an uphill grade which encompasses measuring a gradient and determining whether the vehicle is travelling on a flat land on an uphill.)
wherein driving amounts of the first drone unit and the second drone unit are independently controlled, (Fig. 6, [0105]-[0107], Fig. 6 is a flow chart illustrating operations that is performed to control and selectively use one or more power sources of an FCV including a fuel cell stack and a dual battery support system/architecture to supplement the fuel cell stack. At operation 600, driving conditions associated with an FCV are obtained. At operation 604, based on the driving conditions, which power source(s) of the FCV are considered to provide power to an FCV system, is determined. At operation 604, operating conditions of each of the power sources is assessed, one or more of the power sources is controlled to deliver power to the FCV system based on the operating conditions of each of the power sources. That is, driving conditions is ascertained to determine which power source(s) to use for a particular driving condition/conditions.)
wherein the first drone unit is located on a first end of the vehicle and the second drone unit located on a second end of the vehicle, ([0057] FCV 100 has two or more power modules 150 that each module includes an energy system 152 and a propulsion system 154 which is the first drone unit.)
wherein each of the first and second drone units comprises an acceleration sensor measuring the traveling environment gradient of the vehicle (Fig. 1, [0089] FCV 100 has various sensors 122 including accelerometers which is the sensor unit. [0094] The driving conditions is sensed by the sensors 122, indicating that the FCV is traveling on an uphill grade which encompasses measuring a gradient.) and an electric motor applying a driving force to the vehicle, ([0060] Propulsion system 154, and the power module 150 to which it belongs, includes a motor system 166 which acts as the driving electric motor for applying a driving force of the vehicle.)
wherein the controller is a single controller for controlling the driving amounts of the first drone unit and the second drone unit based on the traveling environment gradient of the vehicle, (Fig. 1, [0048]-[0049] A control module orchestrates the operation of the FCV 100 which includes one or more power control units. The power control modules 128P orchestrate the operation of the energy supersystem 130 and the propulsion supersystem 132. [0029] Power is distributed according to triggers/indicators characterizing a set of conditions, such as, grade, rate of acceleration, and so on. The control module is the control unit.)
wherein, when the traveling environment gradient is determined as the downhill condition, each of the first and second drone units measures a state of charge (SOC) value of a respective high-voltage battery of the first drone unit or the second drone unit, and performs regenerative braking only when the SOC value is below a maximum value, and performs mechanical braking when the SOC value is equal to the maximum value. ([0044] The sensor system 122 monitors the state of charge (SOC) of a battery of battery system 162. [0054]-[0055] The auxiliary systems 134 are operable to perform auxiliary functions, and satisfy corresponding auxiliary demands. The global auxiliary demands include demands to frictionally brake the FCV 100 which encompasses a mechanical braking apparatus. [0107] None of the power sources is made to operate above/beyond its maximum capabilities which means if the battery is already at its maximum state of charge, and braking is needed, then frictionally braking or mechanical braking is used.)
Yokoo does not teach determining, by the controller, an average driving amount of a first drone unit and a second drone unit, wherein the average driving amount is determined as a sum of outputs generated by each of the first and second drone units multiplied by their respective operation times, and divided by a number of first and second drone units;
measuring, by the controller, a driving amount of the first drone unit;
determining, by the controller, whether the driving amount of the first drone unit is smaller than the average driving amount; and
in response to determining the traveling environment gradient as the flatland traveling condition and to determining that the driving amount of the first drone unit is smaller than the average driving amount, selecting the first drone unit for driving the vehicle,
wherein the traveling environment gradient is determined based on a wheel acceleration detected by the acceleration sensor, under an application of a constant driving force, such that the gradient is identified as an uphill condition when the wheel acceleration is smaller than that of a flatland condition, and as a downhill condition when the wheel acceleration is larger than that of the flatland condition, and
However, Healy teaches an energy management system and related methods in which Equivalent Consumption Minimization Strategy (ECMS) is employed (Col4, lines 29-31) to simultaneously optimize the fuel consumption of the powered vehicle and the energy usage (e.g., battery charge) of the hybrid suspension system 100 (Col 19, lines 38-40, Figs. 1A-1D). In block 504, computing the total estimated torque includes computing one or more of a plurality of forces acting on the hybrid trailer vehicle system/HTVS (Col 17, 61-63, Figs. 5A-5B). The total estimated torque computed at block 504 includes a currently-applied HTVS torque. Based on the total estimated torque and an estimate and/or prediction of a driver-applied torque, a specified torque is applied by way of the hybrid suspension system 100 to one or more trailer axles (Col 18, lines 14-19, Figs. 1A-1D). As part of block 508 of the method 500, the specified torque is applied to the one or more trailer axles, and/or to the electric axle of the tractor 165 (Col 19, lines 46-48, Figs. 5A-5B). The hybrid suspension system 100 in the front of the back of the car are the first drone and the second drone units. Minimizing the torques using Equivalent Consumption Minimization Strategy (ECMS) means the energy management system must choose one of the suspension system 100 that satisfies the required total estimated torque and optimizes the fuel consumption based on a predetermined criteria.
Ishii teaches the threshold value is set to a value higher than the average value of the required driving force during normal load driving or low load driving of the vehicle (Page 5-6). The average value of the required driving force is the average driving amount.
Hosokawa teaches a power generator 30 that is driven by an engine or generates power by a fuel cell or the like is connected to the power storage device 14 via an inverter 13. (Page 6, Figs. 1-2). The climbing state in step S9 includes a state in which the vehicle is traveling on a flat road having no inclination or the traveling road surface is a downhill road. The determination as to whether the vehicle is traveling uphill or downhill is performed by determining the vehicle body acceleration of the vehicle body and the wheel accelerations of the wheels 1 to 4 from the detection values of the longitudinal acceleration sensor 23 and the wheel speed sensor 26 (Pages 12-13, Fig. 3). The sum of the driving forces Ff and Fr expressed by the equations (12) and (13) is larger than the total driving force F, that is, within the grip limit region under the total driving force F. If a positive determination is made in step S7 due to the presence of the driving force distribution between the front wheels 1 and 2 and the rear wheels 3 and 4 in the pitching suppression control or bouncing suppression control, the process proceeds to step S8. The road surface gradient (including the front road surface) on which the vehicle is traveling is detected, and further, based on the detected road surface gradient, whether the traveling road surface is an uphill road (Page 12, equations 12, 13). According to Newton’s second law, acceleration and applied driving force are directly proportional. As such, when the mass and the applied force are kept constant, and the inclination or the gradient of the surface changes, the total force changes accordingly. The total force is the sum of the applied driving force and the force component that is contributed by the mass on a slope. When the slope increases and the vehicle condition is uphill, some part of the applied driving force must overcome the force component that is contributed by the mass in the opposite direction of the applied driving force. Since the mass is constant, and the total force applied to the mass is decreased, and as the result the acceleration decreases. When the vehicle condition is downhill, the total force is the applied driving force and the force component that is contributed by the mass in the same direction of the applied driving force. Therefore, the total force increases. As a result the acceleration must increase. As such, the limitation of the traveling environment gradient is identified as an uphill condition when the wheel acceleration is smaller than that of a flatland condition, and as a downhill condition when the wheel acceleration is larger than that of the flatland condition, is no more than stating Newton’s second law.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the dual battery fuel cell system of Yokoo, by incorporating the teachings of Hosokawa and Healy and Ishii, such that the average value of the required driving force is determined and compared with the output of each propulsion system to select the power source(s) of the FCV to provide power to an FCV system for the flatland and acceleration sensors are used to determine the wheel accelerations of the vehicle, and the determined acceleration is compared to the acceleration on flatland for the same magnitude of driving force, and based on the difference between the determined acceleration and the acceleration on flatland, it is determined whether the vehicle is traveling uphill or downhill. When the determined acceleration is larger than acceleration on flatland, the vehicle is moving downhill and vice versa.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Hosokawa in regards to claim 38.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Healy in regards to claim 42.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Ishii in regards to claim 42.
In regards to claim 46
, Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa and Healy and Ishii, teaches The method of claim 45, further comprising, in response to determining the traveling environment gradient as the flatland traveling condition ([0089] FCV 100 has various sensors 122 including accelerometers which is the sensor unit. [0094] The driving conditions is sensed by the sensors 122, indicating that the FCV is traveling on an uphill grade which encompasses measuring a gradient and determining whether the vehicle is travelling on a flat land on an uphill.)
Further Yokoo teaches a control module orchestrates the operation of the FCV 100 which includes one or more power control units. The power control modules 128P orchestrate the operation of the energy supersystem 130 and the propulsion supersystem 132 (Fig. 1, [0048]-[0049]). Power is distributed according to triggers/indicators characterizing a set of conditions, such as, grade, rate of acceleration, and so on ([0029]) which suggests the drone units are selected based on the driving condition and encompasses selecting the second drone unit for driving the vehicle.
Further, Healy teaches an energy management system and related methods in which a control Equivalent Consumption Minimization Strategy (ECMS) control strategy is employed (Col4, lines 29-31). In block 504, computing the total estimated torque may include computing one or more of a plurality of forces acting on the hybrid trailer vehicle system or HTVS (Col 17, 61-63, Figs. 5A-5B). The total estimated torque computed at block 504 includes a currently-applied HTVS torque. Based on the total estimated torque and an estimate and/or prediction of a driver-applied torque, a specified torque is applied by way of the hybrid suspension system 100 to one or more trailer axles (Col 18, lines 14-19, Figs. 1A-1D). As part of block 508 of the method 500, the specified torque is applied to the one or more trailer axles, and/or to the electric axle of the tractor 165 (Col 19, lines 46-48, Figs. 5A-5B). The hybrid suspension system 100 in the front of the back of the car are the first drone and the second drone units. Minimizing the torques using Equivalent Consumption Minimization Strategy (ECMS) means the energy management system must choose one of the suspension system 100 that requires a smaller torque that satisfies the required total estimated torque which encompasses setting the vehicle to be driven through the second drone unit when it requires a smaller torque that satisfies the required total estimated torque compared to the first unit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the dual battery fuel cell system of Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa and Healy and Ishii, by further incorporating the teachings of Healy, such that when the vehicle is driven on level or uphill ground, the total estimated torque for maintaining the speed of the vehicle is calculated and required torque is optimized by using one of the suspension system that requires a smaller torque than the average value of the required driving force that satisfies the required total estimated torque.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Healy in regards to claim 42.
In regards to claim 48
, Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa and Healy and Ishii, teaches The method of claim 45, further comprising:
in response to determining the traveling environment gradient as the uphill traveling condition ([0089] FCV 100 has various sensors 122 including accelerometers which is the sensor unit. [0094] The driving conditions is sensed by the sensors 122, indicating that the FCV is traveling on an uphill grade which encompasses measuring a gradient and determining whether the vehicle is travelling on a flat land on an uphill.)
Further, Healy teaches an energy management system and related methods in which a control Equivalent Consumption Minimization Strategy (ECMS) control strategy is employed (Col4, lines 29-31). In block 504, computing the total estimated torque may include computing one or more of a plurality of forces acting on the hybrid trailer vehicle system or HTVS (Col 17, 61-63, Figs. 5A-5B). The total estimated torque computed at block 504 includes a currently-applied HTVS torque. Based on the total estimated torque and an estimate and/or prediction of a driver-applied torque, a specified torque is applied by way of the hybrid suspension system 100 to one or more trailer axles (Col 18, lines 14-19, Figs. 1A-1D). As part of block 508 of the method 500, the specified torque is applied to the one or more trailer axles, and/or to the electric axle of the tractor 165 (Col 19, lines 46-48, Figs. 5A-5B). The hybrid suspension system 100 in the front of the back of the car are the first drone and the second drone units. Minimizing the torques using Equivalent Consumption Minimization Strategy (ECMS) means the energy management system must choose one of the suspension system 100 that requires a smaller torque that satisfies the required total estimated torque which encompasses setting the first drone unit as the main driving unit and setting the second drone unit as the sub driving unit when the first drone unit requires a smaller torque that satisfies the required total estimated torque.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the dual battery fuel cell system of Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa and Healy and Ishii, by further incorporating the teachings of Healy, such that when the vehicle is driven on level or uphill ground, the total estimated torque for maintaining the speed of the vehicle is calculated and required torque is optimized by using one of the suspension system that requires a smaller torque than the average value of the required driving force that satisfies the required total estimated torque as the main driving electric motor and the other one as the sub-driving electric motor.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Healy in regards to claim 42.
20. Claim(s) 43, 47 and 49-50
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoo et al. (US-20220340048-A1) in view of Hosokawa et al. (JP-2009273274-A) and further in view of Healy (US-10500975-B1) and further in view of Ishii (JP-2021023015-A) and further in view of Gaither et al. (US-20180079405-A1).
In regards to claim 43
, Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa and Healy and Ishii, teaches The apparatus of claim 42, further comprising:
wherein the controller is configured to select another one of the first drone unit or the second drone unit when the traveling environment gradient is the flatland condition, and
wherein another one of the first drone unit or the second drone unit is selected
Further, Healy teaches an energy management system and related methods in which Equivalent Consumption Minimization Strategy (ECMS) is employed (Col4, lines 29-31) to simultaneously optimize the fuel consumption of the powered vehicle and the energy usage (e.g., battery charge) of the hybrid suspension system 100 (Col 19, lines 38-40, Figs. 1A-1D). In block 504, computing the total estimated torque includes computing one or more of a plurality of forces acting on the hybrid trailer vehicle system/HTVS (Col 17, 61-63, Figs. 5A-5B). The total estimated torque computed at block 504 includes a currently-applied HTVS torque. Based on the total estimated torque and an estimate and/or prediction of a driver-applied torque, a specified torque is applied by way of the hybrid suspension system 100 to one or more trailer axles (Col 18, lines 14-19, Figs. 1A-1D). As part of block 508 of the method 500, the specified torque is applied to the one or more trailer axles, and/or to the electric axle of the tractor 165 (Col 19, lines 46-48, Figs. 5A-5B). The hybrid suspension system 100 in the front of the back of the car are the first drone and the second drone units. Minimizing the torques using Equivalent Consumption Minimization Strategy (ECMS) means the energy management system must choose one of the suspension system 100 that satisfies the required total estimated torque and optimizes the fuel consumption based on a predetermined criteria.
Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa and Healy and Ishii, does not teach in response to reaching a time limit.
However, Gaither teaches the ECU 302 detects whether the expected driving power demand exceeds the detected driving power demand for at least a period of time exceeding a demand difference time threshold by starting a timer when the expected driving power demand exceeds the detected driving power demand or when the expected driving power demand exceeds the detected driving power demand by the demand difference percentage threshold, and detecting when the timer has exceeded the demand difference time threshold ([0081]). The demand difference time threshold is the time limit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the dual battery fuel cell system of Yokoo, as already modified by Hosokawa and Healy and Ishii, by incorporating the teachings of Healy and Gaither, such that when the power demand duration for one of the suspension systems exceeds a time duration threshold, then the other suspension system will be used to supply the required total estimated torque.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Healy in regards to claim 42.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Gaither, performance and efficiency improvements ([0003]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the battery to last longer by preventing overheating of the battery.
In regards to claim 47
, Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa and Healy and Ishii, teaches The method of claim 45.
Further, Healy teaches an energy management system and related methods in which Equivalent Consumption Minimization Strategy (ECMS) is employed (Col4, lines 29-31) to simultaneously optimize the fuel consumption of the powered vehicle and the energy usage (e.g., battery charge) of the hybrid suspension system 100 (Col 19, lines 38-40, Figs. 1A-1D). In block 504, computing the total estimated torque includes computing one or more of a plurality of forces acting on the hybrid trailer vehicle system/HTVS (Col 17, 61-63, Figs. 5A-5B). The total estimated torque computed at block 504 includes a currently-applied HTVS torque. Based on the total estimated torque and an estimate and/or prediction of a driver-applied torque, a specified torque is applied by way of the hybrid suspension system 100 to one or more trailer axles (Col 18, lines 14-19, Figs. 1A-1D). As part of block 508 of the method 500, the specified torque is applied to the one or more trailer axles, and/or to the electric axle of the tractor 165 (Col 19, lines 46-48, Figs. 5A-5B). The hybrid suspension system 100 in the front of the back of the car are the first drone and the second drone units. Minimizing the torques using Equivalent Consumption Minimization Strategy (ECMS) means the energy management system must choose one of the suspension system 100 that satisfies the required total estimated torque and optimizes the fuel consumption based on a predetermined criteria.
Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa and Healy and Ishii, does not teach determining whether a driving time of the first drone unit exceeds a time limit; and
in response to determining that the driving time of the first drone unit exceeds the time limit,
However, Gaither teaches the ECU 302 detects whether the expected driving power demand exceeds the detected driving power demand for at least a period of time exceeding a demand difference time threshold by starting a timer when the expected driving power demand exceeds the detected driving power demand or when the expected driving power demand exceeds the detected driving power demand by the demand difference percentage threshold, and detecting when the timer has exceeded the demand difference time threshold ([0081]). The demand difference time threshold is the setting time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the dual battery fuel cell system of Yokoo, as already modified by Hosokawa and Healy and Ishii, by incorporating the teachings of Healy and Gaither, such that when the power demand duration for one of the suspension systems exceeds a time duration threshold, then the other suspension system will be used to supply the required total estimated torque.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Healy in regards to claim 42.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Gaither in regards to claim 43.
In regards to claim 49
, Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa and Healy and Ishii, teaches The method of claim 48, further comprising:
switching the sub-driving electric motor and the main driving electric motor.
Further, Healy teaches an energy management system and related methods in which a control Equivalent Consumption Minimization Strategy (ECMS) control strategy is employed (Col4, lines 29-31). In block 504, computing the total estimated torque may include computing one or more of a plurality of forces acting on the hybrid trailer vehicle system or HTVS (Col 17, 61-63, Figs. 5A-5B). The total estimated torque computed at block 504 includes a currently-applied HTVS torque. Based on the total estimated torque and an estimate and/or prediction of a driver-applied torque, a specified torque is applied by way of the hybrid suspension system 100 to one or more trailer axles (Col 18, lines 14-19, Figs. 1A-1D). As part of block 508 of the method 500, the specified torque is applied to the one or more trailer axles, and/or to the electric axle of the tractor 165 (Col 19, lines 46-48, Figs. 5A-5B). The hybrid suspension system 100 in the front of the back of the car are the first drone and the second drone units. Minimizing the torques using Equivalent Consumption Minimization Strategy (ECMS) means the energy management system must choose one of the suspension system 100 that requires a smaller torque that satisfies the required total estimated torque which is switching that suspension system for providing the main driving force and the other suspension system for providing sub driving force.
Yokoo, as modified by Hosokawa and Healy and Ishii, does not teach determining whether a driving amount of the main driving electric motor is smaller than a threshold of power output; and
in response to determining that the driving amount of the main driving electric motor exceeds the threshold of power output.
However, Gaither teaches the ECU 302 detects whether the expected driving power demand exceeds the detected driving power demand for at least a period of time exceeding a demand difference time threshold by starting a timer when the expected driving power demand exceeds the detected driving power demand or when the expected driving power demand exceeds the detected driving power demand by the demand difference percentage threshold, and detecting when the timer has exceeded the demand difference time threshold ([0081]). The expected driving power demand is the threshold of power output.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the dual battery fuel cell system of Yokoo, as already modified by Hosokawa and Healy and Ishii, by incorporating the teachings of Healy and Gaither, such that when the driving power demand exceeds for the main suspension system exceeds a threshold, then the other suspension system will be used as the main suspension system to supply the required total estimated torque.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Healy in regards to claim 42.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Gaither in regards to claim 43.
In regards to claim 50
, as modified by Hosokawa and Healy and Ishii and Gaither, teaches The method of claim 49, wherein each electric motor comprises:
a fuel cell stack for providing the driving force of the vehicle, ([0060] Energy system 152, and the power module 150 to which it belongs, includes a fuel cell system 160.)
a regenerative braking system for generating electric energy in a braking environment of the vehicle, and ([0041] As the combined product of generating electrical energy, and consequently retarding the wheels 114, and storing electrical energy, the propulsion supersystem 132 and the energy supersystem 130 are operable to regeneratively brake the FCV 100 at the wheels 114.)
the high-voltage battery electrically connected with the fuel cell stack or the regenerative braking system. ([0067] The battery converter 214 is a DC/DC converter operable to convert higher voltage DC electrical energy from the fuel cell converter 204 into lower voltage DC electrical energy and the lower voltage DC electrical energy to medium voltage DC electrical energy. The battery 212 is stores electrical energy from the battery converter 21.)
Conclusion
21. The prior art made of record
and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Jang (US-20190143958-A1) teaches a hybrid electric vehicle that determines whether an uphill section is present on a driving route and calculates a regenerative braking amount at a downhill section following the uphill section by determining the state of charge (SOC) of the battery.
Amano (US-9114726-B2) teaches when the ECU recognizes, based on the inclination detected by the inclination detecting unit, that the vehicle is traveling on a road surface having a slope, the ECU eases up at least one of an upper limit value and a lower limit value of SOC of the power storage device.
Kawasaki (JP-2003004128-A) teaches a road surface gradient determination device that determines the gradient of a road surface on which a vehicle is traveling and improves traveling performance.
Niitsuma (JP-2005106676-A) teaches by calculation the rotation angle information output from the angular velocity sensor.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661 /RAMYA P BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661