DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments provided on July 16, 2026 is entered. In response to Applicant’s reply, Claims 1, 9, and 15 are amended. Claim 23 is canceled. Claims 1, 3-9, 11-15, and 17-22 are pending and examined.
Status of Application
The rejections set forth within the previous office action have been modified as necessitated by the Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa et al. [JP2010165590A, machine translation relied upon provided previously], hereafter Nakazawa.
Regarding Claim 1, Nakazawa discloses an explosion-proof valve applicable to a battery [Nakazawa 0001, 0028 and throughout], comprising:
a body [Nakazawa 0001, 0028 and throughout, Figs. 1-9, valve 11 of plate portion 6];
a first notch groove defined on a side surface of the body [Nakazawa 0011, 0015, 0024, 0035-0037 and throughout, Figs. 1-9 base grooves 12s and 14s (shallow grooves) on the upper side surface of valve 11 in plate 6 as shown in Fig. 3, wherein a thickness of the body where the first notch groove is defined is smaller than a thickness of the body where the first notch groove is not defined [Nakazawa 0036 and throughout Figs. 3, 6 , valve 11 of plate 6 is thinner in portion 12s/14s than the region of valve 11 of plate 6 where the notch 12s/14s is not defined]; and
a plurality of second notch grooves, wherein the plurality of second notch grooves are entirely contained within groove walls of the first notch groove [Nakazawa 0011, 0015, 0035, 0037 and throughout, Figs. 5 (shows 4 grooves 14d and 2 grooves 12d as the second notch grooves), 9 (shows 6 grooves 14d and 3 grooves 12d as the second notch groove), Nakazawa discloses 12d and 14d (deep grooves) within respective first notch grooves 12s and 14s.], and arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction of the body [Nakazawa 0011, 0015, 0035, 0037, Figs. 5 (shows 4 grooves 14d and 2 grooves 12d), Fig. 9 (shows 6 grooves 14d and 3 grooves 12d), at minimum the 14d grooves meet the limitation where the circumferential direction of the body is the outer perimeter of the valve 11 of plate 6].
Nakazawa does not explicitly teach the intervals of the second notch groove are non-uniform as required by claim 1; however, Nakazawa teaches an embodiment where the lengths of adjacent grooves are different from each other [Nakazawa 0054] and further teaches an embodiment where the grooves intervals are varied in continuity (i.e., Nakazawa teaches different shapes of the valve plate base groove and teaches the deep grooves d can be continuous or discontinuous which would result in non-uniform intervals) [Nakazawa 0054-0057]. Thus, with these embodiments the claimed “non-uniform” intervals of the second notch would be inherent. Further, with Nakazawa’s teachings [0055-0057 and throughout] such modification would be obvious per MPEP 2144.04 I, design changes; MPEP 2144.04 IV, changes in size (A)or shape (B); and/or MPEP 2144.04 VI C, rearrangement of parts. Further regarding inherency, per MPEP 2112, there is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Nakazawa’s embodiments as described to meet specific design requirements of the battery, such as the location of the tear and the operating pressure [Nakazawa 0009, 0013, 0043, 0056-0057], for the predictable result of a valve that ruptures as required by the specific battery design and/or energy storage device to prevent explosion of the battery.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Nakazawa discloses the explosion-proof valve of claim 1, wherein at least two of the plurality of second notch grooves have different lengths [Nakazawa 0054, Fig. 9, grooves 14d have different lengths and Nakazawa teaches different lengths].
Regarding Claim 4, modified Nakazawa discloses the explosion-proof valve of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of second notch grooves has a width smaller than the first notch groove [Nakazawa 0037, Figs. 3, 5, 6].
Regarding Claim 5, modified Nakazawa discloses the explosion-proof valve of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of second notch grooves has a polygonal cross-section [Nakazawa Figs. 3, 6, groove d is a polygon in cross-section].
Regarding Claim 6, modified Nakazawa discloses the explosion-proof valve of claim 1, wherein the body is provided with a boss at an edge of the side surface of the body [Nakazawa 0029, Figs. 3, 5, 9, and throughout, boss is 6b/6c], the first notch groove is adjacent to the boss [Nakazawa 0029, Figs. 3, 5, 9 and throughout], and the first notch groove is located at a radially inner side of the boss [Nakazawa 0029, Figs. 3, 5, 9, and throughout].
Regarding Claim 8, modified Nakazawa discloses the explosion-proof valve of claim 1, wherein the plurality of second notch grooves are defined on a bottom wall of the first notch groove, and a distance between the bottom wall of the first notch groove and a bottom wall of each of the plurality of second notch grooves is D [Nakazawa 0037-0039, Fig. 6, and throughout, see annotated Fig. below where D is shown]. Nakazawa does not explicitly disclose D satisfying 0.015 mm≤D≤0.025 mm as claimed; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that D is a result effective variable per Nakazawa. Nakazawa discloses that t1 and t2 are set such that by leaving a residual material portion b with a thickness t1 after the first engraving process, it is possible to suppress the pulling of the area directly beneath the workpiece (the back surface of the residual material portion b) as the material at the workpiece undergoes plastic flow and deformation. Therefore, even though the remaining material c becomes even thinner in thickness t2 after the second engraving process, deformation such as the back surface of the remaining material c becoming concave on the front surface is suppressed, resulting in smaller variations in the thickness of the remaining material c, and making it less likely for minute cracks to form inside the remaining material c [Nakazawa 0038]. Further, Nakazawa teaches the t2 must be greater than 0.15mm [Nakazawa 0039], which would be expected to be specific battery shown in Figs. 1-9. Further, the skilled artisan would recognize that the operable range for the distance between the bottom wall of the first notch groove and the bottom wall of the second notch groove would be dependent on design factors for the battery containing the valve, such as the thickness of the valve material, the materials properties of the valve material, and the volume of the battery, which would be related to the amount of gas that needs to vent. Therefore, the range for the distance between the bottom wall of the first notch groove and the bottom wall of the second notch groove is a result-effective variable that would account for the design factors. If the difference is too small or too large, the valve would not rupture at the predetermined abnormal pressure as taught by Nakazawa [Nakazawa 0041-0043]. Determining the workable range merely requires routine experimentation in consideration of the design factors discussed above to ensure the valve ruptures as designed, which would be obvious per MPEP 2144.05II.
Regarding Claim 21, modified Nakazawa discloses the explosion-proof valve of claim 1, wherein the first notch groove has a planar bottom wall [Nakazawa Figs. 3/6 show the bottom wall of notch s is planar with the second notch d recessed into the planar bottom wall].
Regarding Claim 22, modified Nakazawa discloses the explosion-proof valve of claim 1, wherein the explosion-proof valve has a planar surface on one side of the explosion-proof valve positioned facing away from the first notch groove [Nakazawa 0029 Figs. 3/6, The surface of valve 11 that is positioned facing away from first notch groove s is 6e. The broadest reasonable interpretation of Figs. 3 and 6 is surface 6e is a flat planar surface and meets the limitation.].
For purpose of compact prosecution, alternative obviousness rejection of Claim 22
Regarding Claim 22, modified Nakazawa discloses the explosion-proof valve of claim 1, wherein the explosion-proof valve has a planar surface on one side of the explosion-proof valve positioned facing away from the first notch groove [Nakazawa 0029 Figs. 3/6, The broadest reasonable interpretation of Figs. 3 and 6 is the side of valve 11 opposite the side with the first notch groove is surface 6e, which is a flat planar surface. If the surface of plate 6 away from the first notch groove shown in Figs. 3/6 is not planar, Nakazawa teaches an embodiment where recess 6e is omitted and the back surface of valve 11 surface 6d is flush and continuous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Nakazawa’s embodiments for the predictable result of an alternative valve structure for a battery designed to reliably expel gas when the pressure inside the battery is abnormally high [Nakazawa 0004 and throughout].].
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa, as applied to claim 1 and 6 above, and in further view of Ogawa [US20200395582A1].
Regarding Claim 7, modified Nakazawa discloses the explosion-proof valve of claim 6, wherein the first notch groove extends in an extension direction of the boss [Nakazawa Figs. 1-9, where the extension direction is parallel or perpendicular to the longitudinal side 6b/6c] of the boss but is silent to two ends of the first notch groove are spaced apart. Ogawa discloses a gas release valve for an energy storage device or battery [Ogawa abstract, 0040, 0044, and throughout], where a portion of the groove 430 is discontinuous [Ogawa 0065-0066 and throughout, Fig. 4(a)], thus two ends of the first notch groove 430 are spaced apart on both the left and right sides of Fig. 4(a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Ogawa’s two ends of the notch groove are spaced apart to Nakazawa’s battery by providing a discontinuity in Nakazawa’s first notch s described in claim 1 for the predictable result of a battery design in which the positioning of the discontinuity provides an area where the valve body remains attached in at least one region after rupture [Ogawa 0061 and throughout], which can support directing the released gas away from portions of the battery, such as preventing released gas from flowing near electrode terminals [Ogawa 0074, Fig. 5, and throughout]. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa [JP2010165590A, machine translation relied upon provided previously], hereafter Nakazawa, in further view of in further view of Kim [US20050181272A1].
Regarding Claim 9, Nakazawa discloses a battery [Nakazawa 0026 and throughout, Fig. 1, battery 1], comprising:
an explosion-proof valve applicable to the battery [Nakazawa 0026-0028 and throughout, Figs. 1-9, valve 11], comprising:
a body [Nakazawa 0001, 0028 and throughout, Figs. 1-9, valve 11 of plate portion 6];
a first notch groove defined on a side surface of the body [Nakazawa 0011, 0015, 0024, 0035-0037 and throughout, Figs. 1-9 base grooves 12s and 14s (shallow grooves) on the upper side surface of valve 11 in plate 6 as shown in Fig. 3, wherein a thickness of the body where the first notch groove is defined is smaller than a thickness of the body where the first notch groove is not defined [Nakazawa 0036 and throughout Figs. 3, 6 , valve 11 of plate 6 is thinner in portion 12s/14s than the region of valve 11 of plate 6 where the notch 12s/14s is not defined]; and
a plurality of second notch grooves, wherein the plurality of second notch grooves are entirely contained within groove walls of the first notch groove [Nakazawa 0011, 0015, 0035, 0037 and throughout, Figs. 5 (shows 4 grooves 14d and 2 grooves 12d as the second notch grooves), 9 (shows 6 grooves 14d and 3 grooves 12d as the second notch groove), Nakazawa discloses 12d and 14d (deep grooves) within respective first notch grooves 12s and 14s.], and arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction of the body [Nakazawa 0011, 0015, 0035, 0037, Figs. 5 (shows 4 grooves 14d and 2 grooves 12d), Fig. 9 (shows 6 grooves 14d and 3 grooves 12d), at minimum the 14d grooves meet the limitation where the circumferential direction of the body is the outer perimeter of the valve 11 of plate 6];
a housing [Nakazawa 0026-0027 and throughout, Fig. 1 container 2]; a power generation element located in the housing [Nakazawa 0026-0028, power generation element 3]; and a top cover assembly sealing the housing [Nakazawa 0026-0028, top cover assembly 5 made of plate 6] wherein the explosion-proof valve is installed in the top cover assembly [Nakazawa 0026-0028, Figs. 1, 3, and throughout, valve 11 in top cover assembly 5 made of plate 6].
Nakazawa does not explicitly teach the intervals of the second notch groove are non-uniform as required by claim 9; however, Nakazawa teaches an embodiment where the lengths of adjacent grooves are different from each other [Nakazawa 0054] and further teaches an embodiment where the grooves intervals are varied in continuity (i.e., Nakazawa teaches different shapes of the valve plate base groove and teaches the deep grooves d can be continuous or discontinuous which would result in non-uniform intervals) [Nakazawa 0054-0057]. Thus, with these embodiments the claimed “non-uniform” intervals of the second notch would be inherent. Further, with Nakazawa’s teachings [0055-0057 and throughout] such modification would be obvious per MPEP 2144.04 I, design changes; MPEP 2144.04 IV, changes in size (A)or shape (B); and/or MPEP 2144.04 VI C, rearrangement of parts. Further regarding inherency, per MPEP 2112, there is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Nakazawa’s embodiments as described to meet specific design requirements of the battery, such as the location of the tear and the operating pressure [Nakazawa 0009, 0013, 0043, 0056-0057], for the predictable result of a valve that ruptures as required by the specific battery design and/or energy storage device to prevent explosion of the battery.
Though Nakazawa teaches a power generation element located in the housing [0026-0028], Nakazawa is silent to a winding core located in the housing. Further, Nakazawa is silent to the first notch groove is defined at the side of the top cover assembly close to the winding core. Kim discloses a battery with a safety vent including a winding core located in the housing [Kim 0017, 0027, 0051, and throughout] and a notched structure for venting gas [Kim 0053-0056 and throughout] where a notch groove is defined on a the side of the top cover assembly close to the winding core [Kim 0067-0068, Figs. 3A-3D]. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Kim’s teaching in Nakazawa’s battery by providing a winding core within Nakazawa’s housing. Further, while Nakazawa discloses a first notch on the opposite side of the top cover assembly from the inside space of the battery where the internal pressure is applied [Nakazawa Figs. 1-9 and throughout], Kim’s teaches it is also possible to form a notch on the side of the top cover assembly close to the winding core for the predictable result of a controlled rupture of the valve notch groove [Kim 0067-0068 and throughout]. Therefore, it would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Kim’s teaching and apply Nakazawa’s notches to the opposite side of the top cover assembly in consideration of design factors such as the thickness of the valve body, the depth of the notches, and the size of the battery, which is related to the amount of gas pressure provided by the winding core. See MPEP 2144.04 VI, A and C. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Kim’s teachings as described in the battery of Nakazawa for the predictable result of a battery designed with notches for controlled rupture at a predetermined pressure [Kim 0067-0068 and throughout; Nakazawa 0004 and throughout]. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Nakazawa discloses the battery of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of second notch grooves has a width smaller than the first notch groove [Nakazawa 0037, Figs. 3, 5, 6].
Regarding Claim 12, modified Nakazawa discloses the battery of claim 9, wherein each of the plurality of second notch grooves has a polygonal cross-section [Nakazawa Figs. 3, 6, groove d is a polygon in cross-section].
Regarding Claim 13, modified Nakazawa discloses the battery of claim 9, wherein the body is provided with a boss at an edge of the side surface of the body [Nakazawa 0029, Figs. 3, 5, 9, and throughout, boss is 6b/6c], the first notch groove is adjacent to the boss [Nakazawa 0029, Figs. 3, 5, 9 and throughout], and the first notch groove is located at a radially inner side of the boss [Nakazawa 0029, Figs. 3, 5, 9, and throughout].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa in view of Kim, as applied to claim 9 above, and in further view of Ogawa [US20200395582A1].
Regarding Claim 14, modified Nakazawa discloses the battery of claim 13, wherein the first notch groove extends in an extension direction of the boss [Nakazawa Figs. 1-9, where the extension direction is parallel or perpendicular to the longitudinal side 6b/6c] of the boss but is silent to two ends of the first notch groove are spaced apart. Ogawa discloses a gas release valve for an energy storage device or battery [Ogawa abstract, 0040, 0044, and throughout], where a portion of the groove 430 is discontinuous [Ogawa 0065-0066 and throughout, Fig. 4(a)], thus two ends of the first notch groove 430 are spaced apart on both the left and right sides of Fig. 4(a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Ogawa’s two ends of the notch groove are spaced apart to Nakazawa’s battery by providing a discontinuity in Nakazawa’s first notch, as described in claim 1, for the predictable result of a battery design in which the positioning of the discontinuity provides an area where the valve body remains attached in at least one region after rupture [Ogawa 0061 and throughout], which can support directing the released gas away from portions of the battery, such as preventing released gas from flowing near electrode terminals [Ogawa 0074, Fig. 5, and throughout]. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 15, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa [JP2010165590A, machine translation relied upon previously provided], hereafter Nakazawa, in further view of Kim [US20050181272A1].
Regarding Claim 15, Nakazawa discloses an energy storage device [Nakazawa 0049 and throughout], comprising:
a battery [Nakazawa 0026 and throughout, sealed battery 1], comprising:
an explosion-proof valve applicable to the battery [Nakazawa 0026-0028 and throughout, Figs. 1-9, valve 11], comprising:
a body [Nakazawa 0001, 0028 and throughout, Figs. 1-9, valve 11 of plate portion 6];
a first notch groove defined on a side surface of the body [Nakazawa 0011, 0015, 0024, 0035-0037 and throughout, Figs. 1-9 base grooves 12s and 14s (shallow grooves) on the upper side surface of valve 11 in plate 6 as shown in Fig. 3, wherein a thickness of the body where the first notch groove is defined is smaller than a thickness of the body where the first notch groove is not defined [Nakazawa 0036 and throughout Figs. 3, 6 , valve 11 of plate 6 is thinner in portion 12s/14s than the region of valve 11 of plate 6 where the notch 12s/14s is not defined]; and
a plurality of second notch grooves, wherein the plurality of second notch grooves are entirely contained within groove walls of the first notch groove [Nakazawa 0011, 0015, 0035, 0037 and throughout, Figs. 5 (shows 4 grooves 14d and 2 grooves 12d as the second notch grooves), 9 (shows 6 grooves 14d and 3 grooves 12d as the second notch groove), Nakazawa discloses 12d and 14d (deep grooves) within respective first notch grooves 12s and 14s.], and arranged at intervals in a circumferential direction of the body [Nakazawa 0011, 0015, 0035, 0037, Figs. 5 (shows 4 grooves 14d and 2 grooves 12d), Fig. 9 (shows 6 grooves 14d and 3 grooves 12d), at minimum the 14d grooves meet the limitation where the circumferential direction of the body is the outer perimeter of the valve 11 of plate 6];
a housing [Nakazawa 0026-0027 and throughout, Fig. 1 container 2]; a power generation element located in the housing [Nakazawa 0026-0028, power generation element 3]; and a top cover assembly sealing the housing [Nakazawa 0026-0028, top cover assembly 5 made of plate 6] wherein the explosion-proof valve is installed in the top cover assembly [Nakazawa 0026-0028, Figs. 1, 3, and throughout, valve 11 in top cover assembly 5 made of plate 6].
Nakazawa does not explicitly teach the intervals of the second notch groove are non-uniform as required by claim 15; however, Nakazawa teaches an embodiment where the lengths of adjacent grooves are different from each other [Nakazawa 0054] and further teaches an embodiment where the grooves intervals are varied in continuity (i.e., Nakazawa teaches different shapes of the valve plate base groove and teaches the deep grooves d can be continuous or discontinuous which would result in non-uniform intervals) [Nakazawa 0054-0057]. Thus, with these embodiments the claimed “non-uniform” intervals of the second notch would be inherent. Further, with Nakazawa’s teachings [0055-0057 and throughout] such modification would be obvious per MPEP 2144.04 I, design changes; MPEP 2144.04 IV, changes in size (A)or shape (B); and/or MPEP 2144.04 VI C, rearrangement of parts. Further regarding inherency, per MPEP 2112, there is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Nakazawa’s embodiments as described to meet specific design requirements of the battery, such as the location of the tear and the operating pressure [Nakazawa 0009, 0013, 0043, 0056-0057], for the predictable result of a valve that ruptures as required by the specific battery design and/or energy storage device to prevent explosion of the battery.
Though Nakazawa teaches a power generation element located in the housing [0026-0028], Nakazawa is silent to a winding core located in the housing. Further, Nakazawa is silent to the first notch groove is defined at the side of the top cover assembly close to the winding core. Kim discloses a battery with a safety vent including a winding core located in the housing [Kim 0017, 0027, 0051, and throughout] and a notched structure for venting gas [Kim 0053-0056 and throughout] where a notch groove is defined on a the side of the top cover assembly close to the winding core [Kim 0067-0068, Figs. 3A-3D]. It would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Kim’s teaching in Nakazawa’s battery by providing a winding core within Nakazawa’s housing. Further, while Nakazawa discloses a first notch on the opposite side of the top cover assembly from the inside space of the battery where the internal pressure is applied [Nakazawa Figs. 1-9 and throughout], Kim’s teaches it is also possible to form a notch on the side of the top cover assembly close to the winding core for the predictable result of a controlled rupture of the valve notch groove [Kim 0067-0068 and throughout]. Therefore, it would be within the ambit of the skilled artisan to combine Kim’s teaching and apply Nakazawa’s notches to the opposite side of the top cover assembly in consideration of design factors such as the thickness of the valve body, the depth of the notches, and the size of the battery, which is related to the amount of gas pressure provided by the winding core. See MPEP 2144.04 VI, A and C. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Kim’s teachings as described in the battery of Nakazawa for the predictable result of a battery designed with notches for controlled rupture at a predetermined pressure [Kim 0067-0068 and throughout; Nakazawa 0004 and throughout]. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding Claim 17, modified Nakazawa discloses the energy storage device of claim 15, wherein at least two of the plurality of second notch grooves have different lengths [Nakazawa 0054, Fig. 9, grooves 14d have different lengths].
Regarding Claim 18, modified Nakazawa discloses the energy storage device of claim 15, wherein the body is provided with a boss at an edge of the side surface of the body [Nakazawa 0029, Figs. 3, 5, 9, and throughout, boss is 6b/6c], the first notch groove is adjacent to the boss [Nakazawa 0029, Figs. 3, 5, 9 and throughout], and the first notch groove is located at a radially inner side of the boss [Nakazawa 0029, Figs. 3, 5, 9, and throughout].
Regarding Claim 20, modified Nakazawa discloses the energy storage device of claim 15, wherein the plurality of second notch grooves are defined on a bottom wall of the first notch groove, and a distance between the bottom wall of the first notch groove and a bottom wall of each of the plurality of second notch grooves is D [Nakazawa 0037-0039, Fig. 6, and throughout, see annotated Fig. below where D is shown]. Nakazawa does not explicitly disclose D satisfying 0.015 mm≤D≤0.025 mm as claimed; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that D is a result effective variable per Nakazawa. Nakazawa discloses that t1 and t2 are set such that by leaving a residual material portion b with a thickness t1 after the first engraving process, it is possible to suppress the pulling of the area directly beneath the workpiece (the back surface of the residual material portion b) as the material at the workpiece undergoes plastic flow and deformation. Therefore, even though the remaining material c becomes even thinner in thickness t2 after the second engraving process, deformation such as the back surface of the remaining material c becoming concave on the front surface is suppressed, resulting in smaller variations in the thickness of the remaining material c, and making it less likely for minute cracks to form inside the remaining material c [Nakazawa 0038]. Further, Nakazawa teaches the t2 must be greater than 0.15mm [Nakazawa 0039], which would be expected to be specific battery shown in Figs. 1-9. Further, the skilled artisan would recognize that the operable range for the distance between the bottom wall of the first notch groove and the bottom wall of the second notch groove would be dependent on design factors for the battery containing the valve, such as the thickness of the valve material, the materials properties of the valve material, and the volume of the battery, which would be related to the amount of gas that needs to vent. Therefore, the range for the distance between the bottom wall of the first notch groove and the bottom wall of the second notch groove is a result-effective variable that would account for the design factors. If the difference is too small or too large, the valve would not rupture at the predetermined abnormal pressure as taught by Nakazawa [Nakazawa 0041-0043]. Determining the workable range merely requires routine experimentation in consideration of the design factors discussed above to ensure the valve ruptures as designed, which would be obvious per MPEP 2144.05II.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa in view of Kim, as applied to claim 15 and 18 above , and in further view of Ogawa [US20200395582A1].
Regarding Claim 19, modified Nakazawa discloses the energy storage device of claim 18, wherein the first notch groove extends in an extension direction of the boss [Nakazawa Figs. 1-9, where the extension direction is parallel or perpendicular to the longitudinal side 6b/6c] of the boss but is silent to two ends of the first notch groove are spaced apart. Ogawa discloses a gas release valve for an energy storage device or battery [Ogawa abstract, 0040, 0044, and throughout], where a portion of the groove 430 is discontinuous [Ogawa 0065-0066 and throughout, Fig. 4(a)], thus two ends of the first notch groove 430 are spaced apart on both the left and right sides of Fig. 4(a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Ogawa’s two ends of the notch groove are spaced apart to Nakazawa’s battery by providing a discontinuity in Nakazawa’s first notch, as described in claim 1, for the predictable result of a battery design in which the positioning of the discontinuity provides an area where the valve body remains attached in at least one region after rupture [Ogawa 0061 and throughout], which can support directing the released gas away from portions of the battery, such as preventing released gas from flowing near electrode terminals [Ogawa 0074, Fig. 5, and throughout]. See MPEP 2143 (A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Applicant amendments and arguments on pgs. 6-8, the limitation “arranged at non-uniform intervals in a circumferential direction of the body” overcomes the anticipation rejections provided in the Office Action dated May 26, 2026. Thus, those rejections are withdrawn. Regarding arguments on pgs. 7-8, the Examiner agrees that Nakasawa Fig. 5 shows deep groove parts d, as the claimed second notch, are arranged at uniform intervals in the circumferential direction; however, as provided above, Nakazawa teaches embodiments that obviate the claimed “non-uniform intervals” as described above. Further, such modifications are obvious per the MPEP sections recited above. Thus, evidence of obviousness outweighs evidence of novelty and nonobviousness and rejections are provided above accordingly.
Contact Information
/M. T. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724