533Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed 7/24/26.
Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges the amendment of claims 1,11 and cancellation of claim 16..
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reference of Sandoval teaches the controller releases the allocated gate device with the widened passageway for a use that is different than the specific use corresponding to the specific need of the user, when the specific use is not required because the gate allows specific needs such as wheelchair, bicycle, and luggage to pass through and allows persons without specific needs to pass through (paragraph 032, 051).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5,7-14,15,17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lobean et al. US Patent Application Publication 20120319814 in view of Finschi et al. US Patent Application Publication 20190020978 in view of Alqarni US Patent Application Publication 20180157227 in view of Albright US Patent Application Publication 20130205257 and further in view of Sandoval US Patent Application Publication 20050092831.
Regarding claim 1,3,10, Lobean teaches an indication system for generating an indication, wherein the system comprises:
at least one indication device (element 240 indicate the presence of a gait, paragraph 016-017),
at least one detection device configured to monitor at least one area inside a building to provide monitoring data (image acquisition device 130, paragraph 015), and
a control unit configured to:
detect based on the monitoring data obtained from the at least one detection device at least one predefined object with a specific need (disabled person in a wheelchair is detected, paragraph 015). Lobean is silent on teaching control the at least one indication device to generate a visual indication comprising guidance information to a gate device allocated for the detected at least one predefined object in response to the detection of the at least one predefined object. Finschi et al. in an analogous art teaches the use of an indicator device that provide guidance for a wheelchair bound person to a gate device (beacon device broadcast guidance to user’s mobile device, paragraph 035,037,42-43). Finschi teaches the at least one indication device comprises one or more displays on which the visual indication is displayed and/or one or more or projector devices configured to project the generated visual indication on a floor in a vicinity of the allocated gate device (paragraph 037need of a user such as a user in a wheelchair or a user using a wide stroller and directing the users to such passageway (paragraph 032). Sandoval in an analogous art further teaches an entry way that include a plurality of gates and the gates included a widened passage way for accommodating wheelchair access (paragraph 051). Sandoval teaches the controller releases the allocated gate device with the widened passageway for a use that is different than the specific use corresponding to the specific need of the user, when the specific use is not required (the gate allows specific needs such as wheelchair, bicycle, and luggage to pass through and allows persons without specific needs to pass through, paragraph 032, 051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Lobean as disclosed by Finschi in view of Alqarni because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Lobean by providing guidance to a wheelchair bound person to safely navigate his/her journey to the gate device. The modification of the passageway as disclosed by Albright in view of Sandoval allows the users with special need to be transported comfortably along the passageway.
Regarding claim 2, Lobean teaches the operation of the at least one detector is based on object recognition or pattern recognition (paragraph 015,017).
Regarding claim 4, Lobean teaches the monitored at least one area comprises an area surrounding at least the allocated gate device on at least one side of the allocated gate device (paragraph 015).
Regarding claim 5, Lobean teaches the object with the specific need is a wheelchair, rolling walker, stroller, luggage, trolley, a parcel delivery, and/or a specific outfit (paragraph 014-015).
Regarding claim 7, Lobean et al. teaches the allocated gate device allow access via the allocated gate device in response to identification of the user associated with the detected at least one predefined object (paragraph 04-05,014-015).
Regarding claim 8, Lobean teaches the identification is based on a biometric technology (paragraph 04-05,014-015).
Regarding claim 9, Lobean is silent on teaching the allocated gate device is configured to instruct an elevator control system to generate an elevator call to allocate an elevator car for said user associated with the detected at least one predefined object in response to identification of the user associated with the detected at least one predefined object. Finschi et al. in an analogous art teaches the allocated gate device is configured to instruct an elevator control system to generate an elevator call to allocate an elevator car for said user associated with the detected at least one predefined object in response to identification of the user associated with the detected at least one predefined object (paragraph 040-041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Lobean as disclosed by Finschi et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Lobean because such modification improves the accessibility and the safety of a wheelchair bound person in a building.
Regarding claim 11,13, and 20, Lobean et al. teaches a method for generating an indication, wherein the method comprising:
monitoring, by at least one detection device, at least one area inside a building to provide monitoring data (image acquisition device 130, paragraph 015),
detecting, by a control unit , at least one predefined object with a specific need based on the monitoring data obtained from the at least one detection device (disabled person in a wheelchair is detected, paragraph 015). Lobean is silent on teaching control the at least one indication device to generate a visual indication comprising guidance information to a gate device allocated for the detected at least one predefined object in response to the detection of the at least one predefined object. Finschi et al. in an analogous art teaches the use of an indicator device that provide guidance for a wheelchair bound person to a gate device (beacon device broadcast guidance to user’s mobile device, paragraph 035,037,42-43). Finschi teaches the at least one indication device comprises one or more displays on which the visual indication is displayed and/or one or more or projector devices configured to project the generated visual indication on a floor in a vicinity of the allocated gate device (paragraph 037specific use of the allocated gate device corresponds to a specific need of the user (an impaired person is directed to the elevator and not the step, paragraph 011, 042-44). Lobean in view of Finschi et al. is silent on teaching the at least one indication device comprises one or more projector devices configured to project the generated visual indication on a location associated with the allocated gate device. Alqarni et al. in an analogous art teaches an indication device comprises one or more projector devices configured to project the generated visual indication on a location associated with the allocated gate device and the generated visual indication indicates access of the user for the allocated gate device (paragraph 013,039). Lobean in view of Finschi in view of Alqarni is silent on teaching the allocated gate device has a widened passageway with a width of the passageway that is greater than a width of a passageway for each of a portion of the remaining plurality of gate devices, the widened passageway of the allocated gate device being configured to accommodate the specific need of the user. Albright in an analogous art teaches providing a widened passage way in order to provide for the specific need of a user such as a user in a wheelchair or a user using a wide stroller and directing the users to such passageway (paragraph 032). Sandoval in an analogous art further teaches an entry way that include a plurality of gates and the gates included a widened passage way for accommodating wheelchair access (paragraph 051). Sandoval teaches the controller releases the allocated gate device with the widened passageway for a use that is different than the specific use corresponding to the specific need of the user, when the specific use is not required (the gate allows specific needs such as wheelchair, bicycle, and luggage to pass through and allows persons without specific needs to pass through, paragraph 032, 051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Lobean as disclosed by Finschi in view of Alqarni et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Lobean by providing guidance to a wheelchair bound person to safely navigate his/her journey to the gate device. The modification of the passageway as disclosed by Albright in view of Sandoval allows the users with special need to be transported comfortably along the passageway.
Regarding claim 12, Lobean teaches the operation of the at least one detector is based on object recognition or pattern recognition (paragraph 015,017).
Regarding claim 14, Lobean teaches the monitored at least one area comprises an area surrounding at least the allocated gate device on at least one side of the allocated gate device (paragraph 015).
Regarding claim 15, Lobean teaches the object with the specific need is a wheelchair (paragraph 014-015).
Regarding claim 17, Lobean et al. teaches providing access via the allocated gate device in response to identification of the user associated with the detected at least one predefined object (paragraph 04-05,014-015).
Regarding claim 18, Lobean teaches the identification is based on a biometric technology (paragraph 04-05,014-015).
Regarding claim 19, Lobean is silent on teaching the allocated gate device is configured to instruct an elevator control system to generate an elevator call to allocate an elevator car for said user associated with the detected at least one predefined object in response to identification of the user associated with the detected at least one predefined object. Finschi et al. in an analogous art teaches the allocated gate device is configured to instruct an elevator control system to generate an elevator call to allocate an elevator car for said user associated with the detected at least one predefined object in response to identification of the user associated with the detected at least one predefined object (paragraph 040-041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Lobean as disclosed by Finschi et al. because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Lobean because such modification improves the accessibility and the safety of a wheelchair bound person in a building.
Conclusion
/VERNAL U BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686