Claim 1 is pending. Claims 2-87 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
3. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Rassman et al (US 2003/0224370; hereinafter referred to as Rassman).
Rassman discloses the use of an evanescent-field-perturbing amplifier element (e.g., antibody; as seen as Applicants' instantly recited antibody) in a probe-target reaction (e.g., the nucleic acid hybridization in WANG), wherein the amplifier element reacts uniquely with and binds to the probe-target pair (e.g., DNA/RNA duplex) to amplify the detection signal (paragraph [15, 16, 18, 21, 39]). Capture probes for the analyte may comprise DNA, RNA, LNA for capturing DNA or RNA targets (para [15, 16, 124]; claims 34, 57, 59).
Figure 4 discloses a system in which total internal reflection (TIR) is used to observe the result of amplification by the antibody amplifier element. The TIR system measure changes in polarization state on specimen slide (138) as binding reactions occur on the specimen slide and interact with the evanescent field associated with TIR ([0116] to [0119]). Changes in evanescent field or polarization state are considered changes in an optical property of the TIR system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
5. Claim 1 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 7,796,262; hereinafter referred to as Wang) in view of Rassman et al (US 2003/0224370; hereinafter referred to as Rassman).
Wang discloses a system for detecting an analyte of interest in a sample, comprising:
- an optical sensor comprising a ring resonator (12) coupled with at least two waveguides (14,16) serving as input and output waveguides;
- nucleic acid capture probes covalently attached to a surface of the ring resonators, wherein the capture probes bind analyte (column 3, line 62 to col. 4, I. 17; col. 12, I. 41 to col. 14, I. 27); and
- a detector (col. 3, II. 30-35) for processing the output signal from the optical sensors, wherein a change in the resonance (i.e. an optical property) of the ring resonator upon binding of analyte is related to the analyte concentration (col. 5, penultimate paragraph; claims 1 and 27).
Wang differs from the instant invention in failing to teach that the system comprises an antibody capable of binding to a duplex of the nucleic acid capture probe and the nucleic acid molecule of interest.
Rassman discloses the use of an evanescent-field-perturbing amplifier element (e.g., antibody; as seen as Applicants' instantly recited antibody) in a probe-target reaction (e.g., the nucleic acid hybridization in WANG), wherein the amplifier element reacts uniquely with and binds to the probe-target pair (e.g., DNA/RNA duplex) to amplify the detection signal (paragraph [15, 16, 18, 21, 39]). Capture probes for the analyte may comprise DNA, RNA, LNA for capturing DNA or RNA targets (para [15, 16, 124]; claims 34, 57, 59).
It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made, to modify the system of Wang to further comprise an antibody capable of binding to a duplex of the nucleic acid capture probe and the nucleic acid molecule of interest in order to amplify the assay signal and increase the sensitivity of the sensor, as taught by Rassman. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in performing such a modification since the system of Wang detects the attachment of analyte contained in samples to a micro-ring resonator using an evanescent wave and Rassman discloses the use of evanescent-field-perturbing amplifier elements to perturb an evanescent optical field to develop, enhance or "amplify" a probe-target reaction so that the target compound can be detected with less sensitive equipment or the detection limit of sensitive equipment may be effectively lowered so that smaller quantities of the target may be detected.
Double Patenting
7. Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 10-16 of U.S. Patent No. 9,921,165. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because patent ‘165 claims a system that anticipates the instant invention.
Patent ‘165 claims:
3. A system for detecting an analyte of interest in a sample comprising:
an optical sensor that comprises a ring resonator;
a plurality of capture probes attached to a surface of the ring resonator, wherein the capture probes are capable of binding to the analyte;
a plurality of antibodies capable of specifically binding to the analyte or a plurality of complexes formed between the analyte and the capture probes;
a plurality of particles attached to the antibodies or capable of binding to the antibodies; and
a detector,
wherein said optical sensor has a resonant wavelength that is shifted by said antibodies bound to said complexes or analyte bound to the capture probes, such that said optical sensor is configured to sense said antibodies combined with said analyte or complexes, and the particles amplify the shift of the resonant wavelength, and
wherein the detector is configured to determine the concentration of the analyte in the sample based on the shift of the resonant wavelength resulting from multiple bound particles at the ring resonator.
10. The system of claim 3, wherein the analyte is a nucleic acid.
11. The system of claim 10, wherein the nucleic acid comprises ribonucleic acid (RNA).
12. The system of claim 10, wherein the capture probes comprise a DNA oligonucleotide.
13. The system of claim 3, wherein the optical sensor comprises a silicon waveguide structure.
14. The system of claim 13, wherein the optical sensor has an output portion configured to output an optical signal, and wherein the optical output yields different outputs when said capture probe binds to the analyte of interest forming said complex and said antibody binds said complex, and when said antibody does not bind to said complex.
15. The system of claim 3, wherein the ring resonator comprises an input portion and an output portion, and wherein the optical sensor further comprises an input waveguide and an output waveguide having the ring resonator therebetween configured to increase coupling of said light from said input waveguide to said output waveguide when said capture probes bind to the analyte of interest forming said complexes and said antibodies bind to said complexes.
16. The system of claim 3, wherein said optical sensor is integrated on an integrated optical chip comprising optical waveguides.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER L CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1677
4/6/2026