DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
2. This action is in response to the amendment filed on 28 July 2026. Applicant's arguments and amendments to the claims have been fully considered but do not place the application in condition for allowance. All rejections not reiterated herein are hereby withdrawn. The previous rejection of claims 22-23, 25-27, 29, 30, and 34-39 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been obviated by the amendments to the claims. The previous rejection of claims 22 and 34 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tuch et al (Cancer Research. 2014. 74. 19_Supplement, Abstract 898; poster presented at meeting held April 5-9, 2014) has been obviated by the amendment to cancel claim 22 and the amendment to claim 34 so that it has priority to provisional application 61/875,954, filed 10 September 2013. Thereby, the Tuch reference is not prior art to the subject matter of claim 34.
Claim Status
3. Claims 21, 24-28, 31-34, and 40-45 are pending. Claims 41-45 are new. The claims have been examined herein to the extent that the claims read on the elected species of methods that detect the expression of the FCGR2B gene. The claims encompass the non-elected subject matter of methods that detect the expression of an Ig gene and methods that detect the expression of the combination of an Ig gene and the FCGR2B gene. Prior to the allowance of the claims, any non-elected subject matter which has not been rejoined with the elected subject matter will be required to be removed from the claims.
Priority
4. Claims 21, 24-25, 28, 32-35 and 41-44 are entitled to priority to provisional application 61/875,954, filed 10 September 2013. Claims 21, 24-25, 28, 32-35 and 41-44 are not entitled to priority to provisional application 61/863,809, filed 08 August 2013 because the ‘809 application does not disclose the presently claimed methods comprising administering a proteasome inhibitor to a subject to treat a tumor in the subject wherein the level of expression of FCGR2B in the tumor of the subject is higher as compared to a reference level. Claims 26, 27, 31, 40, 44 and 45 are entitled to priority to provisional application 62/005,904, filed 30 May 2014. Claims 26, 27, 31, 40, 44 and 45 are not entitled to priority to provisional applications 61/875,954 or 61/863,809 because neither of these applications disclose each of the limitations in these dependent claims, including methods wherein the subject has newly diagnosed multiple myeloma (present claims 26 and 44); methods wherein the subject received one to three prior lines of therapy (present claims 27 and 45); or methods wherein the level of expression of FCGR2B is 2-fold greater than the reference level (present claims 31 and 40). If Applicant asserts that the present claims are entitled to priority to the provisional applications, Applicant should point to specific teachings (e.g., by page and line number) in the priority applications to establish priority for each of the recitations set forth in the claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 21, 24-28, 32-34, and 41-45 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,870,889 (cited in the IDS of 01/28/2026). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims and the claims of ‘889 both are drawn to methods comprising administering a proteasome inhibitor to a subject having a tumor wherein the subject or tumor or a sample of tumor cells from the subject have an expression level of FCGR2B that is greater than a reference level, and wherein the proteasome inhibitor is carfilzomib (e.g., claims 2 and 13 of ‘889). T. Note that the claims of ‘889 recite “(c) determining the subject as responsive to treatment with a proteasome inhibitor when the level of expression of FCGR2B of the sample is greater than or equal to an FPKQ cutoff of 75 and (ii) administering to the subject an effective amount of a proteasome inhibitor.”
Regarding present claims 24-27, 34, and 42-45, claims 3 and 5 of ‘889 recite methods wherein the tumor is a hematological tumor, and specifically a multiple myeloma and claim 9 of ‘889 recites “(i) has previously been treated for multiple myeloma or (ii) has previously been diagnosed with multiple myeloma or (iii) is a human patient having or suspected of having multiple myeloma, refractory multiple myeloma, or relapsed multiple myeloma.”
Regarding claim 28, claim 6 of ‘889) recites that the method is one wherein measuring the level of expression of FCGR2B is performed in CD138-positive tumor cells obtained from the subject (claim 6 of ‘889).
6. Claims 31 and 40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10,870,889 (cited in the IDS of 01/28/2026) in view of Krishnappa et al (ecancer . 2011. 5:189, p. 1-7).
The claims of ‘889 are discussed above.
The claims of ‘889 do not recite that the method is one in which the level of expression of FCGR2B is at least 2-fold greater than that of the reference level.
However, Krishnappa teaches methods of analyzing for gene expression levels in tumor samples (e.g., “Methods” at p. 2). Krishnappa states: ‘Researchers generally’ use a cut off at least 2-fold change (linear value) between control and experiment to ‘screen significantly differentially expressed genes’.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically performed the method claimed in ‘889 by administering to the subject the proteasome inhibitor when the subject had an expression level of FCGR2 in tumor cells at least 2-fold higher than the reference value. One would have been motivated to have done so because Krishnappa teaches that a 2-fold change in the expression level compared to a control / reference level is generally considered by researches to be a significant level of differential expression. Thereby, such an application of the method claimed in ‘889 would have provided an effective means for selecting those patients most likely to benefit from treatment with the proteasome inhibitor based on their increased level of expression of FCGR2B. Response to Remarks regarding the non-statutory double patenting rejections:
The response states: “Applicant respectfully requests that the non-statutory obviousness-type double patenting rejections be held in abeyance until all other issues have been resolved and the pending claims are otherwise in condition for allowance, at which time Applicant will address the rejection as appropriate.
Applicant’s reply has been fully considered Applicant is reminded that a complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting (NDP) rejection is either a reply by applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims or the filing of a terminal disclaimer in accordance with 37 CFR 1.321 in the pending application(s) with a reply to the Office action (see MPEP § 1490 for a discussion of terminal disclaimers). Such a response is required even when the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is provisional. As filing a terminal disclaimer, or filing a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims, such a filing should not be held in abeyance.
The rejection over the claims as amended is maintained for the reasons set forth above.
Maintained / Modified Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24, 25, 26, 27, 32-34, 41-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryant et al (U.S. PGPUB 2006/0281122; cited in the IDS of 04/14/2023) OR Bryant (U.S. Patent No. 8,278,038; cited in the IDS of 04/14/2023), each in view of Fostier et al (OncoTargets and Therapy. 27 September 2012. 5:237-244; cited in the IDS of 04/14/2023).
It is noted that U.S. Patent 8,278,038 is the issued patent of U.S. application 11/449,195, which published as 2006/0281122. Unless otherwise stated, citations below are with respect to the published application.
Bryant teaches a method for treating a tumor in a subject from which a sample was obtained, wherein the level of expression of one of the marker genes recited in Table 1B has been measured from the sample and the level of the marker gene in the sample was greater than a reference level and the method comprises administering an effective amount of a proteasome inhibitor to the subject (e.g., para [0009-0010], [0015], [0059], [0073], [0122-0129], [0168-0170]). Table 1B includes the marker gene No. 873, which is the FCGR2B gene:
Bryant states:
[0015] The present invention is also directed to methods of treating a cancer patient, with a therapeutic regimen, in particular a proteasome inhibitor therapy (e.g., a proteasome inhibitor agent, alone, or in combination with an additional agent such as a chemotherapeutic agent) and/or glucocorticoid therapy regimen (a glucocorticoid agent, alone or in combination with an additional agent), which includes the step of selecting a patient whose predictive marker profile indicates that the patient will respond to the therapeutic regimen, and treating the patient with the proteasome inhibition therapy and/or glucocorticoid therapy.
[0041] The invention further provides methods for treating a tumor in a patient with a proteasome inhibition based regimen and/or glucocorticoid based regimen therapy. Such therapeutic methods comprise measuring the level of expression of at least one predictive marker in a patient's tumor; determining whether a proteasome inhibition based regimen and/or glucocorticoid based regimen for treating the tumor is appropriate based on the expression level of the predictive marker or markers, and treating a patient with a proteasome inhibition based therapy and/or glucocorticoid based therapy when the patient's expression level indicates a responsive patient.
Bryant further states:
[0064] A cancer may be predisposed to respond to an agent if one or more of the corresponding predictive markers identified in Table 1B, Table 2B, and Table 3 (as indicated by (+) in Table 3) demonstrate increased expression.
Claim 1 of the PGPUB recites:
A method for determining a cancer therapy regimen for treating a tumor in a patient comprising: a) determining the level of expression of at least one predictive marker in a patient sample; b) comparing the level of expression of the predictive marker or markers to a control expression level to determine whether the level of expression of the predictive marker is an informative expression level; and b) determining a cancer therapy regimen for treating the tumor based on the expression of the predictive marker or markers, wherein the predictive marker or markers is selected from the predictive markers identified in any one of Table 1A, Table 1B, Table 2A, Table 2B, and Table 3; and wherein an informative expression level is indicative that the patient is either a responsive patient or a non-responsive patient.
U.S. Patent No. 8,278,038 includes the following claim (emphasis added):
1. A method for determining a cancer therapy regimen for treating myeloma in a patient comprising:
a) measuring the level of expression of at least one nucleic acid sequence selected from the group consisting of sequences recognized by probe sets of predictive markers numbered 1-547 in Table 1A, 658-871 in Table 1B and 873-876 in Table 1B in a patient sample comprising tumor cells,
wherein the sequences recognized by probe sets of the predictive markers:
i) numbered 1-547 consist of SEQ ID NOs: 1-513,
ii) numbered 658-871 and 873-876 consist of SEQ ID NOs:614-830;
b) comparing the level of expression of the at least one nucleic acid sequence to a reference expression level of that sequence to determine whether the level of expression of the at least one nucleic acid sequence is upregulated in the patient sample comprising tumor cells; and
c) determining a cancer therapy regimen for treating myeloma based on the expression level of the predictive marker or markers,
wherein the cancer therapy regimen is proteasome inhibition-based therapy, wherein
i) upregulation of at least one nucleic acid sequence selected from the group consisting of sequences recognized by probesets of predictive markers numbered 1-547 indicates nonresponsiveness to proteasome inhibition therapy and the patient would not benefit from this cancer therapy regimen; and
ii) upregulation of at least one nucleic acid sequence selected from the group consisting of sequences recognized by probesets of predictive markers numbered 658-871 and 873-876 indicates responsiveness to proteasome inhibition therapy and the patient would benefit from this cancer therapy regimen.
Regarding reference levels, Bryant teaches:
[0011]….These methods typically include the determining the level of expression of one or more predictive markers in a patient's tumor (e.g., a patient's cancer cells), comparing the level of expression to a reference expression level, and identifying whether expression in the sample includes a pattern or profile of expression of a selected predictive marker or marker set which corresponds to response or non-response to proteasome inhibition therapy.
[0024] The "normal" level of expression of a marker is the level of expression of the marker in cells in a similar environment or response situation, in a patient not afflicted with cancer. A normal level of expression of a marker may also refer to the level of expression of a "reference sample", (e.g., sample from a healthy subjects not having the marker associated disease). A reference sample expression may be comprised of an expression level of one or more markers from a reference database. Alternatively, a "normal" level of expression of a marker is the level of expression of the marker in non-tumor cells in a similar environment or response situation from the same patient that the tumor is derived from.
[0106] Alternatively, the expression level can be provided as a relative expression level. To determine a relative expression level of a marker, the level of expression of the marker is determined for 10 or more samples of normal versus cancer cell isolates, preferably 50 or more samples, prior to the determination of the expression level for the sample in question. The mean expression level of each of the markers and marker sets assayed in the larger number of samples is determined and this is used as a baseline expression level for the marker. The expression level of the marker determined for the test sample (absolute level of expression) is then divided by the mean expression value obtained for that marker. This provides a relative expression level.
In the examples provided by Bryant, gene expression levels in test samples were compared to those in control samples as set forth below:
[0209] The Pooled Fold Change ("PFC") method is a measure of differential expression between two groups of samples, arbitrarily designated "control" and "tester." PFC finds genes with higher expression in the tester than in the control samples. For the two-class comparisons described in this invention, each class was used in turn as the tester. To qualify as having higher expression, tester samples must be above the k.sup.th percentile of the control sample. The fold-change values of tester samples are subjected to a nonlinear transformation that rises to a user-specified asymptote, in order to distinguish moderate levels of fold-change, but not make distinctions between very large fold-changes. The squashed fold-change values of the over-expressed tester samples are averaged to get the POOF score. In particular, PFC for a given tester sample, s, and gene, g, is computed as the average across tester samples of the compressed tester:control ratio R(s,g): R(s,g)=C(x.sub.gs/(k+x.sub.g.sup.Q)), where C(x) is the compression function C(z)=A(1-e.sup.-z/A) for z.gtoreq.T, and C(z)=0 for z<T, where T is a threshold value no less than 1.0. A is an upper asymptote on the fold-change value, k is a constant reflecting the additive noise in the data, i.e., the fixed component of the variance in repeated measurements. x.sub.gs is the expression value of gene g in sample s, x.sub.g.sup.Q is the Qth percentile of the control samples' expression value.
Thus, Bryant teaches that subjects having tumors and having an increase in the expression of the marker gene no. 873 – i.e., FCGR2B – relative to the reference level, are to be treated with proteasome inhibitor therapy.
Accordingly, Bryant teaches a method of treating a tumor in a subject from which a sample was obtained, the method comprising administering a proteasome inhibitor to the subject, wherein the level of expression of FCGR2B of the tumor / a sample of tumor cells is greater than a reference level.
Bryant teaches treating the patients having multiple myeloma and having an increased level of expression of FCGR2B as compared to a reference level with any proteasome inhibitor (e.g., para [0122-0129]) and exemplifies methods wherein the proteasome inhibitor is bortezomib (e.g., para [0036], [0080] and [0123-0124]).
Bryant does not specifically teach treating these patients with the proteasome inhibitor carfilzomib.
However, Fostier teaches methods for treating multiple myeloma comprising
administering the proteasome inhibitor carfilzomib (e.g., p. 237). It is disclosed that
carfilzomib is a selective and irreversible proteasome inhibitor (p. 237, Table 1); which is
well tolerated by patients (p. 242, col. 1) and has a fast response (p. 240, col. 2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bryant
so as to have administered the particular proteasome inhibitor of carfilzomib to the
multiple myeloma patients having increased expression levels of FCGFR2 in view of the
benefits set forth by Fostier that carfilzomib is a selective, irreversible proteasome
inhibition, with a low toxicity profile and is an effective, fast acting therapy for multiple
myeloma patients.
Regarding claims 24, 25, 34 and 42, Bryant teaches that the tumor is a hematological tumor and particularly a multiple myeloma (para [0017]).
Regarding claims 26 and 44, Bryant does not specifically recite administering the proteasome inhibitor to a patient newly diagnosed with multiple myeloma.
However, Bryant does teach that the methods disclosed therein are “designed for use in diagnostics and therapeutics for a patient suffering from cancer” and that the cancer includes multiple myeloma (para [0035]). Bryant also teaches that the predictive markers identified in Table 1b as correlated with a longer time to progression, and thereby the FCGR2B (#873) marker, are likely to be responsive to the proteasome inhibitor therapy (para [0054-0055]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have specifically applied the method of Bryant to patients newly diagnosed with multiple myeloma having an increase in the level of expression of FCGR2B relative to a reference level. One would have been motivated to have done so since Bryant teaches that the methods therein are applicable to all patients with multiple myeloma having an increase in the level of expression of FCGR2B relative to a reference level and this would have provided an effective means for treating the newly diagnosed multiple myeloma patients.
Regarding claims 27 and 45, Bryant teaches that the patient is one that has received at least two prior therapies and have demonstrated disease progression (para [0123]).
Regarding claims 41 and 43, Bryant teaches that the subjects include patients with relapsed or refractory multiple myeloma (e.g., para [0178-0179]).
8. Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryant et al (U.S. PGPUB 2006/0281122) OR Bryant (U.S. Patent No. 8,278,038), each in view of Fostier et al (OncoTargets and Therapy. 27 September 2012. 5:237-244; cited in the IDS of 04/14/2023) and each further in view of Shaughnessy et al (U.S. 20120015906; cited in the IDS of 04/14/2023).
The teachings of Bryant and Fostier are presented above. In particular, Bryant teaches that the level of expression of FCGR2B is measured in multiple myeloma tumor cells. Bryant does not specifically teach that the FCGR2B expression levels in CD138-positive tumor cells from the subject having multiple myeloma are higher than the reference level.
However, Shaughnessy teaches methods for predicting survival of patients having multiple myeloma comprising assaying for the level of gene expression in CD138 plasma cells obtained from bone marrow from patients prior to and following treatment with the proteasome inhibitor bortezomib (e.g., para [0051] and [0064]). Shaughnessy states that:
[0007] Emerging evidence suggests that the prognosis of patients with multiple myeloma is best captured by gene expression profiling analysis of CD138-purified plasma cells (PC).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bryant so as to have measured FCGR2B expression in CD138-positive tumor cells obtained from bone marrow of patients having multiple myeloma because Shaughnessy teaches that this is an effective source of tumor cells for measuring gene expression so as to evaluate a patient’s responsiveness to treatment with a proteasome inhibitor. Such a modification of the method of Bryant would have resulted in a method of treating a multiple myeloma tumor in a subject from which a sample of CD138-positive tumor cells was obtained, the method comprising administering a proteasome inhibitor to the subject, wherein the level of expression FCGR2B in the sample is greater than a reference level.
9. Claims 31 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bryant et al (U.S. PGPUB 2006/0281122) OR Bryant (U.S. Patent No. 8,278,038), each in view of Fostier et al (OncoTargets and Therapy. 27 September 2012. 5:237-244; cited in the IDS of 04/14/2023) and each further in view of Krishnappa et al (ecancer . 2011. 5:189, p. 1-7).
The teachings of Bryant and Fostier are presented above.
Bryant is silent as to the degree to which the expression level of FCGR2B is increased relative to the reference level and thereby Bryant does not specifically teach that the method is one in which the level of expression of FCGR2B in the sample / tumor of the subject is at least 2-fold greater than that of the reference level.
However, Bryant does state:
[0212] Markers using the 7,017 probe sets were analyzed for differential
expression across the 224 patient samples using the t-test and PFC methods described
above. Probe sets found to be significant by t-test with a p-value less than 0.01, or
having a PFC score other than 0, are reported in Table 1A, Table 1B, Table 2A, Table
2B and Table 3. These probe sets can be used in building marker sets as exemplified
below.
Further, Krishnappa teaches methods of analyzing for gene expression levels in tumor samples (e.g., “Methods” at p. 2). Krishnappa states: ‘Researchers generally’ use a cut off at least 2-fold change (linear value) between control and experiment to ‘screen significantly differentially expressed genes’.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bryant so as to have administered the proteasome inhibitor to subjects having an expression level of FCGR2B in tumor cells that was at least 2-fold higher than the reference value. One would have been motivated to have done so because Krishnappa teaches that a 2-fold change in the expression level of a biomarker compared to a control / reference level is generally considered by researches to be a significant level of differential expression. Thereby, such a modification of the method of Bryant would have provided an effective means for treating those patients most likely to benefit from treatment with the proteasome inhibitor based on their at least 2-fold increase in the level of expression of FCGR2B as compared to the reference level. Response to remarks regarding the rejections over Bryant et al (U.S. PGPUB 2006/0281122; cited in the IDS of 04/14/2023) OR Bryant (U.S. Patent No. 8,278,038; cited in the IDS of 04/14/2023):
The response states that the claims have been amended to require administration of the specific proteasome inhibitor carfilzomib. It is argued that neither the Bryant publication nor the Bryant patent teaches or suggests treating patients having elevated FCGR2B expression with carfilzomib. The response argues that there is nothing in Bryant that would have guided the ordinary artisan to select the 274th marker among the hundreds of disclosed biomarkers that are higher ranked. The response states that “the Office Action's rationale appears to rely upon Applicant's own disclosure as the basis for selecting FCGR2B, which is indicative of impermissible hindsight reconstruction.”
These arguments and the amendments to the claims have been fully considered but are not persuasive. As discussed in the rejection, the Bryant publication and the Bryant patent specifically teach and claim, respectively:
A method for determining a cancer therapy regimen for treating myeloma in a patient comprising:
a) measuring the level of expression of at least one nucleic acid sequence selected from the group consisting of sequences recognized by probe sets of predictive markers numbered 1-547 in Table 1A, 658-871 in Table 1B and 873-876 in Table 1B in a patient sample comprising tumor cells,
wherein the sequences recognized by probe sets of the predictive markers:
i) numbered 1-547 consist of SEQ ID NOs: 1-513,
ii) numbered 658-871 and 873-876 consist of SEQ ID NOs:614-830;
b) comparing the level of expression of the at least one nucleic acid sequence to a reference expression level of that sequence to determine whether the level of expression of the at least one nucleic acid sequence is upregulated in the patient sample comprising tumor cells; and
c) determining a cancer therapy regimen for treating myeloma based on the expression level of the predictive marker or markers,
wherein the cancer therapy regimen is proteasome inhibition-based therapy, wherein
i) upregulation of at least one nucleic acid sequence selected from the group consisting of sequences recognized by probesets of predictive markers numbered 1-547 indicates nonresponsiveness to proteasome inhibition therapy and the patient would not benefit from this cancer therapy regimen; and
ii) upregulation of at least one nucleic acid sequence selected from the group consisting of sequences recognized by probesets of predictive markers numbered 658-871 and 873-876 indicates responsiveness to proteasome inhibition therapy and the patient would benefit from this cancer therapy regimen.
Note that SEQ ID NO: 873 of Bryant is the FCGR2B gene. Thus, Bryant teaches treating the patients having multiple myeloma and having an increased level of expression of FCGR2B as compared to a reference level with any proteasome inhibitor (e.g., para [0122-0129]). Since Bryant specifically teaches to use the biomarker of SEQ ID NO: 873 – i.e., the FCGR2B gene - there is no requirement for the ordinary artisan to pick and choose FCGR2B amongst the additional biomarkers taught by Bryant since Bryant teaches to use any one or more of the biomarkers of SEQ ID NO: 658-871 and 873-876 to determine if a patient will be responsive to proteasome inhibitor therapy. Thereby, no hindsight is involved in modifying the method of Bryant to arrive at the claimed invention since Bryant specifically teaches to administer any proteasome inhibitor (which necessarily includes carfilzomib, as taught by Fostier) to those subjects having multiple myeloma and having an increased level of expression of FCGR2B. Again, Bryant discloses that an increased level of expression of FCGR2B is correlated with responsiveness to a proteasome inhibitor treatment in patients having multiple myeloma and exemplifies methods wherein the proteasome inhibitor is bortezomib (e.g., para [0036], [0080] and [0123-0124]).
The response argues:
“The biomarker analysis of the Bryant publication and the Bryant patent was derived exclusively from clinical outcome data obtained from patients treated with bortezomib or dexamethasone. Bryant therefore does not establish that the identified biomarkers-including FCGR2B-predict responsiveness to proteasome inhibitors generally, much less to the carfilzomib.”
This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. There is no requirement for Bryant to provide data showing the correlation between FCGR2B expression levels and responsiveness to carfilzomib since Bryant teaches a correlation between increased FCGR2B expression levels and responsiveness to any proteasome inhibitor. Applicant’s provide no evidence or cogent scientific arguments to support a conclusion that the results obtained with the particular proteasome inhibitor of bortezomib would not apply equally to other proteasome inhibitors, including carfilzomib. Note that prior to the current amendment, Applicant’s themselves claimed methods of treating patients having a tumor with any proteasome inhibitor when the patient had an increase in the level of expression of FCGR2B in the tumor. Yet, Applicant’s data for the expression level of FCGR2B alone is limited to only the proteasome inhibitor of carfilzomib.
The response argues that the secondary references do not teach or suggest that patients having elevated FCGR2B expression should be selected for treatment with carfilzomib.
This argument has also been fully considered but is not persuasive because the secondary references were not cited for such teachings since Bryant teaches that that patients having elevated FCGR2B expression should be selected for treatment with any proteasome inhibitor and Fostier teaches the identity of particular proteasome inhibitors, including carfilzomib and teaches the effectiveness of the particular proteasome inhibitor of carfilzomib for treating multiple myeloma.
The response argues that the claimed method provides results that are not predictable since the specification teaches that "the association between FCGR2B and response to carfilzomib ... is particularly strong" and has a significant p value.
This argument is not persuasive because it has not been established that the results obtained with carfilzomib are unexpected since Bryant teaches that FCGR2B expression levels are correlated with responsiveness to any proteasome inhibitor, which thereby includes carfilzomib. There is no showing that the results obtained with carfilzomib provide a significant and unexpected improvement over that obtained with bortezomib. Applicant’s provide no scientific explanation as to why the correlation identified by Bryant between FCGR2B expression levels and response to any proteasome inhibitor is in error and particularly as to why the results obtained with carfilzomib provide unexpected, improved results over that obtained with bortezomib.
Applicant’s attention is directed to MPEP 706.02 regarding unexpected results:
“Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (differences in sedative and anticholinergic effects between prior art and claimed antidepressants were not unexpected).” (Emphasis added).
See also MPEP 796.02(a):
I. GREATER THAN EXPECTED RESULTS ARE EVIDENCE OF NONOBVIOUSNESS
“A greater than expected result is an evidentiary factor pertinent to the legal conclusion of obviousness ... of the claims at issue.” In re Corkill, 771 F.2d 1496, 226 USPQ 1005 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In Corkhill, the claimed combination showed an additive result when a diminished result would have been expected. This result was persuasive of nonobviousness even though the result was equal to that of one component alone. Evidence of a greater than expected result may also be shown by demonstrating an effect which is greater than the sum of each of the effects taken separately (i.e., demonstrating “synergism”). Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989). However, a greater than additive effect is not necessarily sufficient to overcome a prima facie case of obviousness because such an effect can either be expected or unexpected. Applicants must further show that the results were greater than those which would have been expected from the prior art to an unobvious extent, and that the results are of a significant, practical advantage.” (Emphasis added).
Herein, Applicant has not shown any unexpected improved results and has not established that the claimed method is unobvious over the method disclosed by Bryant. The rejections are maintained for the reasons stated above.
10. Claims 26 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuch et al (Cancer Research. 2014. 74. 19_Supplement, Abstract 898; poster presented at meeting held April 5-9, 2014).
Tuch teaches the results of a clinical trial in which patients having multiple myeloma were treated with the proteasome inhibitor of carfilzomib. CD138+ tumor cells were obtained from the treated patients and screened by RNAseq for RNAs whose expression level was correlated with response to carfilzomib treatment. Tuch teaches that FCGR2B binds Ig and down-modulates its production in B cells. It is stated that “(h)igh FCGR2B expression, therefore, may demarcate a tumor that is experiencing particularly high levels of proteotoxic stress from Ig production. Combining FCGR2B and IGH expression, we are able to classify carfilzomib response with 70% sensitivity and 94% specificity. Median time to progression for IGH/FCGR2B+ patients was 7.3-fold longer than for IGH/FCGR2B- patients (8.9 vs. 1.2 months; P = 3x10-5).”
Accordingly, the method of Tuch is one for treating a tumor in a subject from which a sample was obtained, the method comprising administering the proteasome inhibitor of carfilzomib to the subject, wherein the level of expression of FCGR2B of the tumor / a sample of tumor cells is greater than a reference level.
Tuch teaches that the patients administered the proteasome inhibitor of carfilzomib had multiple myeloma but does not specifically recite administering the proteasome inhibitor to a patient newly diagnosed with multiple myeloma.
However, Tuch does teach the effectiveness of proteasome inhibitors in treating multiple myeloma in patients having high FCGR2B expression levels and states that “(p)roteasome inhibitors (PrIs), including carfilzomib and bortezomib, are one such class of drugs that has become a standard therapy across all lines of myeloma treatment.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Tuch so as to have specifically administered carfilzomib to patients newly diagnosed with multiple myeloma having an increase in the level of expression of FCGR2B relative to a reference level. One would have been motivated to have done so since Tuch teaches that carfilzomib therapy is effective in multiple myeloma patients having an increase in the level of expression of FCGR2B relative to a reference level and thereby such a modification of the method of Tuch would have provided an effective means for treating newly diagnosed multiple myeloma patients.
11. Claims 27 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuch et al (Cancer Research. 2014. 74. 19_Supplement, Abstract 898; poster presented at meeting held April 5-9, 2014) in view of Fostier et al (OncoTargets and Therapy. 27 September 2012. 5:237-244; cited in the IDS of 04/14/2023).
The teachings of Tuch are presented above.
Tuch teaches that the patients administered the proteasome inhibitor of carfilzomib had multiple myeloma but does not specifically recite administering the carfilzomib to a multiple myeloma patient that has received one to three prior lines of therapy.
However, Fostier teaches methods for treating multiple myeloma comprising
administering the proteasome inhibitor carfilzomib (e.g., p. 237). It is disclosed that
carfilzomib is a selective and irreversible proteasome inhibitor (p. 237, Table 1); which is
well tolerated by patients (p. 242, col. 1) and has a fast response (p. 240, col. 2). Fostier teaches that carfilzomib is particularly useful in relapsed / refractory multiple myeloma patients (p. 242 “Conclusion” and abstract) - i.e., patients treated previously with at least one type / line of a different therapy. Fostier (p. 238, final para to p. 239 first para) teaches that patients in their study “Patients were eligible if they had relapsed from more than two prior therapies, failed bortezomib and at least one immunomodulatory agent (thalidomide or lenalidomide), and were refractory to last treatment (defined as progressing on or within 60 days of last therapy or had less than a 25% response to the last treatment regimen). Patients in the PX-171-004 study had received 1 to 3 prior lines of therapy (p. 239, col. 2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Tuch
so as to have administered the proteasome inhibitor of carfilzomib to relapsed / refractory multiple myeloma patients having increased expression levels of FCGFR2 and who had had previously received 1 to 3 lines of a different therapy. One would have been motivated to have specifically treated these relapsed / refractory multiple myeloma patients with carfilzomib in view of the benefits set forth by Fostier that carfilzomib is a selective, irreversible proteasome inhibition, with a low toxicity profile and is an effective, fast acting therapy for relapsed / refractory multiple myeloma patients.
12. Claims 31 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuch et al (Cancer Research. 2014. 74. 19_Supplement, Abstract 898; poster presented at meeting held April 5-9, 2014) in view of Krishnappa et al (ecancer . 2011. 5:189, p. 1-7).
The teachings of Tuch are presented above.
Tuch teaches that patients having “high FCGR2B expression” were responsive to carfilzomib. Tuch is silent as to the degree to which the expression level of FCGR2B is increased relative to a reference level and thereby Tuch does not specifically teach that the method is one in which the level of expression of FCGR2B in the sample / tumor of the subject is at least 2-fold greater than that of the reference level.
However, Krishnappa teaches methods of analyzing for gene expression levels in tumor samples (e.g., “Methods” at p. 2). Krishnappa states: ‘Researchers generally’ use a cut off at least 2-fold change (linear value) between control and experiment to ‘screen significantly differentially expressed genes’.
In view of the teachings of Krishnappa, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Tuch so as to have administered the carfilzomib to subjects having an expression level of FCGR2B in tumor cells that was at least 2-fold higher than a reference, control value. One would have been motivated to have done so because Krishnappa teaches that a 2-fold change in an expression level of a biomarker compared to a control / reference level is a generally considered by researches to be a significant level of differential expression. Thereby, such a modification of the method of Tuch would have provided an effective means for treating those patients most likely to benefit from treatment with the proteasome inhibitor of carfilzomib based on the detection of an at least 2-fold increase in the level of expression of FCGR2B.
Response to remarks regarding the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tuch et al:
The response states:
“The obviousness rejections in view of the Tuch Poster is improper as this reference is not available as prior art to the instant claims. Present claims 26, 27, 29, 30, 31, 37-40 corresponds to former claim 23 or 35, which the Office Action expressly acknowledges is entitled to the benefit of U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 61/875,954, filed September 10, 2013.”
This argument has been fully considered but is not persuasive. It is first noted that claims 29, 30, and 37-39 have been cancelled. Regarding the remaining claims (and newly added claims 44 and 45), these arguments are not persuasive because claims 26, 27, 31, 40, 44 and 45 do not have priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 61/875,954, filed September 10, 2013, for the reasons discussed in detail above. Further, it is noted that these claims are not limited to the subject matter of previous claims 23 and 35, which recited methods wherein the proteasome inhibitor is carfilizomib but did not recite each of the additional limitations in claims 26, 27, 31, 40, 44 and 45.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARLA J MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682