DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments to the claims, filed 11/13/2025, are accepted and appreciated by the
Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 11/13/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 8, and 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the amendments. Neither Bokarev (US 20180073357 A1) or Schnieder (US 20040021066 A1) explicitly teach data quality control and normalizing the data. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bokarev (US 20180073357 A1), Schneider (US 20040021066 A1), and Liang (US 20220342111 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, 15, 17, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bokarev (US 20180073357 A1) as modified by Schneider (US 20040021066 A1) and Liang (US 20220342111 A1).
With respect to claim 1,
Bokarev teaches,
A computer-implemented method for conducting a measurement while drilling (MWD) operation in a wellbore of a reservoir, the method comprising: accessing data encoding measurements obtained from a bit tool during the MWD operation in the wellbore of the reservoir, wherein the bit tool includes a gamma ray detector; (Para. [0003] teaches “In general, in one aspect, embodiments are directed to map the filtration area of a reservoir formation around a wellbore. A set of directional measurements are obtained for multiple measured depth intervals along the length of a wellbore. Based on the directional measurement set, the locations corresponding to a portion of the well exposed to the reservoir rock are selected” Para. [0016] teaches “In one or more embodiments, various survey tools and/or data acquisition tools are adapted to measure the formation and detect the characteristics of the geological structures of the formation.” Para. [0035] teaches “For example, the MWD tools may log a bulk density image using a Gamma-Gamma detector. Radioactive Gamma-Gamma logging is an industry standard method for bulk density evaluation.”)
extracting, from the data encoding measurements, recordings of the gamma ray detector, wherein the recordings comprise gamma ray measurements taken from a depth location in the wellbore; (Para. [0035] teaches “In one or more embodiments, the directional measurement is from a logging tool that has the capability to obtain measurements for multiple positions around the wellbore. For example, MWD technologies allow to measure bulk density around the wellbore because the tool is continuously rotating while taking measurements.” Para. [0039] further teaches “In one or more embodiments, the reservoir production from an oilfield well is evaluated using azimuthal measurements while drilling (MWD) such as Bulk Density Image and Borehole Radius Array.”)
and based on, at least in part, the estimated bulk density, causing an adjustment of the MWD operation. (Para. [0067] teaches “In one or more embodiments, using LWD bulk density measurements a wellbore image strip view may be created at each depth interval. The image strip displays a section through the wellbore (701) with the values of the bulk density measurements projected on a circle representing the wellbore section. In one or more embodiments, the image strip may be composed of pixels, each pixel representing the value of measurement in one location sector. Further, by analyzing the values of the pixels, a reservoir rock contact zone may be defined from comparing the measurements to a bulk density threshold obtained from rock samples studies. As a result, non-reservoirs pixels of image strip are filtered out so further analysis is based on reservoir pixels. The wellbore section is divided in a multitude of sectors (703), and the sectors that contain the reservoir pixels (705) are flagged for further calculations.”)
Bokarev does not explicitly teach,
and a magnetometer, extracting, from the data encoding measurements, recordings of the magnetometer; assigning, as assigned data, each gamma ray measurement to an azimuthal sector of a plurality of azimuthal sectors, based on sensed directional data from magnetometer; performing, to generate quality control data, data quality control to remove from further processing outlier data from the assigned data; normalizing, as normalized data, the quality control data; estimating, as an estimated bulk density, a bulk density at the depth location in the wellbore using an average of the normalized data corresponding to the plurality of azimuthal sectors based on the directional data associated with each azimuthal sector.
Schneider teaches,
and a magnetometer. (Para. [0012] teaches “The logging while drilling (LWD) tool includes magnetometers and accelerometers placed orthogonally in a cross-sectional plane”)
extracting, from the data encoding measurements, recordings of the magnetometer; assigning, as assigned data, each gamma ray measurement to an azimuthal sector of a plurality of azimuthal sectors, based on sensed directional data from the magnetometer; (Para. [0019] teaches “the MWD tool is also provided with a magnetometer or other direction sensitive device. When such directional measurements are made, each of the standoff bins are further subdivided into azimuthal bins defining an azimuthal sector around the tool. Compensated density determinations within an azimuthal sector are combined to give an azimuthal bulk density measurement. This difference may be used for controlling the drilling direction or as an indicator of proximity to a nearby interface.” Para. [0030] teaches “the sensor arrangement includes a magnetometer 134 as shown in FIG. 4a. Magnetometer M1 makes measurements of the direction of the earth's magnetic field. Except for the rare case wherein the borehole is being drilled along the direction of the earth's magnetic field, the magnetometer output in conjunction with borehole survey information can be used to determine the relative orientation of the sensor R1 to the vertical. In such a case, the standoff bins shown in FIG. 4b may be further subdivided into azimuthal and sectors (not shown).”)
estimating, as an estimated bulk density, a bulk density at the depth location in the wellbore using an average of the normalized data corresponding to the plurality of azimuthal sectors based on the directional data associated with each azimuthal sector. (Para. [0005] teaches “It thus becomes possible to measure some parameter of the earth's formations as a function of depth,” (i.e. measurements are made as a function of depth) Para. [0019] teaches “each of the standoff bins are further subdivided into azimuthal bins defining an azimuthal sector around the tool.” Para. [0031] teaches “Counts from each NaI (gamma) detector are binned by tool stand-off.” (i.e. the normalized variables correspond to gamma ray measurements. It would be obvious to normalize the gamma ray measurements as seen below.) Para. [0039] teaches “The parameter A is not used for the final estimate of formation density. Once the variances for B and C have been reduced, new parameters B′ and C′ are used to obtain formation density based on the data from different standoff bins:” Para. [0041] teaches “The eqn. (7) averages the measurements in different standoff bins compensated by a common rib. The eqn. (6) averages the measurements in different standoff bins compensated by an adaptive rib. In the present invention, the adaptive rib is obtained by using a common rib defined by the curves such as that shown in FIG. 1 plus a second order compensation using B′ and C′ and is given by” (i.e. the measurements are averaged to find the formation density))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bokarev with a magnetometer, extracting, from the data encoding measurements, recordings of the magnetometer; assigning, as assigned data, each gamma ray measurement to an azimuthal sector of a plurality of azimuthal sectors, based on sensed directional data from magnetometer; estimating, as an estimated bulk density, a bulk density at the depth location in the wellbore using an average of the normalized data corresponding to the plurality of azimuthal sectors based on the directional data associated with each azimuthal sector such as that of Schneider.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Bokarev, because according to Para(s). [0042-0043] of Bokarev, “In one or more embodiments, the formation measurements may come from the MWD tools (also known as logging while drilling (LWD) tools). For example, the MWD tools may log a bulk density image using a Gamma-Gamma detector. Radioactive Gamma-Gamma logging is an industry standard method for bulk density evaluation. The MWD bulk density image measurements around the wellbore are associated each with a sector of the wellbore.” Therefore, assigning data to specific sectors around the wellbore and finding bulk density is suggested by Bokarev. Finding bulk density of a wellbore enables the calculation of porosity, identifying the lithology, and many other factors that help improve the characterization of the wellbore.
The combination of Bokarev and Schnieder does not explicitly teach,
performing, to generate quality control data, data quality control to remove from further processing outlier data from the assigned data;
normalizing, as normalized data, the quality control data;
Liang teaches,
performing, to generate quality control data, data quality control to remove from further processing outlier data from the assigned data; (Para. [0019] teaches “For example, outlier values can be removed, missing values can be extrapolated or ignored, and/or flattened or lazy signals caused by stick-and-slip effects can be removed or ignored.”)
normalizing, as normalized data, the quality control data; (Para. [0019] teaches “In some embodiments, performing the data preprocessing 104 can also include normalizing each well log such that each well log has a consistent or equal magnitude. For example, utilizing a Z-score normalization such that both the first well log 201 and the second well log 202 have consistent distribution in terms of magnitude of gamma-ray or other values.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bokarev and Schneider with performing, to generate quality control data, data quality control to remove from further processing outlier data from the assigned data; normalizing, as normalized data, the quality control data such as that of Liang.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Bokarev and Schneider, because normalizing data reduces redundancy, ensures data integrity, and prevents data anomalies. Removing outliers from the data ensures that the conclusions drawn from the data are accurate.
With respect to claim 3,
Bokarev further teaches,
the computer-implemented method of claim 1,
further comprising: based on the estimated bulk density, synthesizing a bulk density log over a range of depth locations. (Para. [0023] teaches “In one or more embodiments, the formation measurements (211) may be from logging while drilling tools. For example, formation measurements may represent a logging while drilling bulk density image, a formation resistivity log, or a gamma ray log.” Para. [0024] teaches “In other words, at each depth, a number of formation measurements acquired at multiple points on the circumference of the wellbore exist, each point of a formation measurement (211) at the same MD corresponds to a distinct and unique position on the circumference of the wellbore.”)
With respect to claim 4,
Bokarev further teaches,
the computer-implemented method of claim 1,
further comprising: obtaining an estimated total porosity using the estimated bulk density at the depth location. (Para. [0043] teaches “a formation measurement of a sector around the wellbore is selected from the depth interval measurements.” Para. [0044] teaches “In one or more embodiments, conversion function is defined between the measured bulk density and formation porosity:”)
With respect to claim 7,
Bokarev further teaches,
the computer-implemented method of claim 1,
further comprising: calibrating the estimated bulk density again bulk density measured at a core sample extracted from the wellbore at the depth location. (Para. [0067] teaches “Further, by analyzing the values of the pixels, a reservoir rock contact zone may be defined from comparing the measurements to a bulk density threshold obtained from rock samples studies”)
With respect to claim 8,
Bokarev teaches,
A computer system for conducting a measurement while drilling (MWD) operation in a wellbore of a reservoir, the computer system comprising one or more computer processors configured to perform operations of: (Para. [0017] teaches “Generally, the E&P computer system (118) is configured to analyze, model, control, optimize, or perform management tasks of the aforementioned field operations based on the data provided from the surface unit (112). In one or more embodiments, the E&P computer system (118) is provided with functionality for manipulating and analyzing the data, such as performing simulation, planning, and optimization of production operations of the wellsite system A (114-1)” Para. [0069] teaches “The E&P computing system (900) may include one or more computer processors (902)” Para. [0003] teaches “In general, in one aspect, embodiments are directed to map the filtration area of a reservoir formation around a wellbore. A set of directional measurements are obtained for multiple measured depth intervals along the length of a wellbore. Based on the directional measurement set, the locations corresponding to a portion of the well exposed to the reservoir rock are selected” Para. [0016] teaches “In one or more embodiments, various survey tools and/or data acquisition tools are adapted to measure the formation and detect the characteristics of the geological structures of the formation.” Para. [0035] teaches “For example, the MWD tools may log a bulk density image using a Gamma-Gamma detector. Radioactive Gamma-Gamma logging is an industry standard method for bulk density evaluation”)
accessing data encoding measurements obtained from a bit tool during the MWD operation in the wellbore of the reservoir, wherein the bit tool includes a gamma ray detector; (Para. [0035] teaches “For example, the MWD tools may log a bulk density image using a Gamma-Gamma detector. Radioactive Gamma-Gamma logging is an industry standard method for bulk density evaluation”)
extracting, from the data encoding measurements, recordings of a gamma ray detector, wherein the recordings comprise gamma ray measurements taken from a depth location in the wellbore; (Para. [0035] teaches “In one or more embodiments, the directional measurement is from a logging tool that has the capability to obtain measurements for multiple positions around the wellbore. For example, MWD technologies allow to measure bulk density around the wellbore because the tool is continuously rotating while taking measurements.” Para. [0039] further teaches “In one or more embodiments, the reservoir production from an oilfield well is evaluated using azimuthal measurements while drilling (MWD) such as Bulk Density Image and Borehole Radius Array.”)
and based on, at least in part, the estimated bulk density, causing an adjustment of the MWD operation. (Para. [0067] teaches “In one or more embodiments, using LWD bulk density measurements a wellbore image strip view may be created at each depth interval. The image strip displays a section through the wellbore (701) with the values of the bulk density measurements projected on a circle representing the wellbore section. In one or more embodiments, the image strip may be composed of pixels, each pixel representing the value of measurement in one location sector. Further, by analyzing the values of the pixels, a reservoir rock contact zone may be defined from comparing the measurements to a bulk density threshold obtained from rock samples studies. As a result, non-reservoirs pixels of image strip are filtered out so further analysis is based on reservoir pixels. The wellbore section is divided in a multitude of sectors (703), and the sectors that contain the reservoir pixels (705) are flagged for further calculations.”)
Bokarev does not explicitly teach,
and a magnetometer, extracting, from the data encoding measurements, recordings of the magnetometer; assigning, as assigned data, each gamma ray measurement to an azimuthal sector of a plurality of azimuthal sectors, based on sensed directional data from magnetometer; estimating a bulk density at the depth location in the wellbore using an average of the gamma ray measurements corresponding to the plurality of azimuthal sectors based on the directional data associated with each azimuthal sector.
Schneider teaches,
and a magnetometer. (Para. [0012] teaches “The logging while drilling (LWD) tool includes magnetometers and accelerometers placed orthogonally in a cross-sectional plane”)
extracting, from the data encoding measurements, recordings of the magnetometer; assigning, as assigned data, each gamma ray measurement to an azimuthal sector of a plurality of azimuthal sectors, based on sensed directional data from the magnetometer; (Para. [0019] teaches “the MWD tool is also provided with a magnetometer or other direction sensitive device. When such directional measurements are made, each of the standoff bins are further subdivided into azimuthal bins defining an azimuthal sector around the tool. Compensated density determinations within an azimuthal sector are combined to give an azimuthal bulk density measurement. This difference may be used for controlling the drilling direction or as an indicator of proximity to a nearby interface.” Para. [0030] teaches “the sensor arrangement includes a magnetometer 134 as shown in FIG. 4a. Magnetometer M1 makes measurements of the direction of the earth's magnetic field. Except for the rare case wherein the borehole is being drilled along the direction of the earth's magnetic field, the magnetometer output in conjunction with borehole survey information can be used to determine the relative orientation of the sensor R1 to the vertical. In such a case, the standoff bins shown in FIG. 4b may be further subdivided into azimuthal and sectors (not shown).”)
estimating, as an estimated bulk density, a bulk density at the depth location in the wellbore using an average of the normalized data corresponding to the plurality of azimuthal sectors based on the directional data associated with each azimuthal sector. (Para. [0031] teaches “Counts from each NaI (gamma) detector are binned by tool stand-off.” (Para. [0005] teaches “It thus becomes possible to measure some parameter of the earth's formations as a function of depth,” (i.e. measurements are made as a function of depth) Para. [0019] teaches “each of the standoff bins are further subdivided into azimuthal bins defining an azimuthal sector around the tool.” Para. [0031] teaches “Counts from each NaI (gamma) detector are binned by tool stand-off.” (i.e. the normalized variables correspond to gamma ray measurements. It would be obvious to normalize the gamma ray measurements as seen below.) Para. [0039] teaches “The parameter A is not used for the final estimate of formation density. Once the variances for B and C have been reduced, new parameters B′ and C′ are used to obtain formation density based on the data from different standoff bins:” Para. [0041] teaches “The eqn. (7) averages the measurements in different standoff bins compensated by a common rib. The eqn. (6) averages the measurements in different standoff bins compensated by an adaptive rib. In the present invention, the adaptive rib is obtained by using a common rib defined by the curves such as that shown in FIG. 1 plus a second order compensation using B′ and C′ and is given by” (i.e. the measurements are averaged to find the formation density))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bokarev with a magnetometer, extracting, from the data encoding measurements, recordings of the magnetometer; assigning, as assigned data, each gamma ray measurement to an azimuthal sector of a plurality of azimuthal sectors, based on sensed directional data from magnetometer; estimating, as an estimated bulk density, a bulk density at the depth location in the wellbore using an average of the normalized data corresponding to the plurality of azimuthal sectors based on the directional data associated with each azimuthal sector such as that of Schneider.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Bokarev, because according to Para(s). [0042-0043] of Bokarev, “In one or more embodiments, the formation measurements may come from the MWD tools (also known as logging while drilling (LWD) tools). For example, the MWD tools may log a bulk density image using a Gamma-Gamma detector. Radioactive Gamma-Gamma logging is an industry standard method for bulk density evaluation. The MWD bulk density image measurements around the wellbore are associated each with a sector of the wellbore.” Therefore, assigning data to specific sectors around the wellbore and finding bulk density is suggested by Bokarev. Finding bulk density of a wellbore enables the calculation of porosity, identifying the lithology, and many other factors that help improve the characterization of the wellbore.
The combination of Bokarev and Schnieder does not explicitly teach,
performing, to generate quality control data, data quality control to remove from further processing outlier data from the assigned data;
normalizing, as normalized data, the quality control data;
Liang teaches,
performing, to generate quality control data, data quality control to remove from further processing outlier data from the assigned data; (Para. [0019] teaches “For example, outlier values can be removed, missing values can be extrapolated or ignored, and/or flattened or lazy signals caused by stick-and-slip effects can be removed or ignored.”)
normalizing, as normalized data, the quality control data; (Para. [0019] teaches “In some embodiments, performing the data preprocessing 104 can also include normalizing each well log such that each well log has a consistent or equal magnitude. For example, utilizing a Z-score normalization such that both the first well log 201 and the second well log 202 have consistent distribution in terms of magnitude of gamma-ray or other values.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bokarev and Schneider with performing, to generate quality control data, data quality control to remove from further processing outlier data from the assigned data; normalizing, as normalized data, the quality control data such as that of Liang.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Bokarev and Schneider, because normalizing data reduces redundancy, ensures data integrity, and prevents data anomalies. Removing outliers from the data ensures that the conclusions drawn from the data are accurate.
With respect to claim 10,
Bokarev further teaches,
the computer system of claim 8,
wherein the one or more computer processors are configured to perform operations that further comprise: based on the estimated bulk density, synthesizing a bulk density log over a range of depth locations. (Para. [0023] teaches “In one or more embodiments, the formation measurements (211) may be from logging while drilling tools. For example, formation measurements may represent a logging while drilling bulk density image, a formation resistivity log, or a gamma ray log.” Para. [0024] teaches “In other words, at each depth, a number of formation measurements acquired at multiple points on the circumference of the wellbore exist, each point of a formation measurement (211) at the same MD corresponds to a distinct and unique position on the circumference of the wellbore.”)
With respect to claim 11,
Bokarev further teaches,
the computer system of claim 8,
wherein the one or more computer processors are configured to perform operations further comprise: obtaining an estimated total porosity using the estimated bulk density at the depth location. (Para. [0043] teaches “a formation measurement of a sector around the wellbore is selected from the depth interval measurements.” Para. [0044] teaches “In one or more embodiments, conversion function is defined between the measured bulk density and formation porosity:”)
With respect to claim 14,
Bokarev further teaches,
the computer system of claim 8,
wherein the one or more computer processors are configured to perform operations that further comprise: calibrating the estimated bulk density against bulk density measured at a core sample extracted from the wellbore at the depth location. (Para. [0067] teaches “Further, by analyzing the values of the pixels, a reservoir rock contact zone may be defined from comparing the measurements to a bulk density threshold obtained from rock samples studies”)
With respect to claim 15,
Bokarev teaches,
A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising software instructions, when executed by a computer processor, cause the computer processor to perform operations for conducting a measurement while drilling (MWD) operation in a wellbore of a reservoir: (Para. [0017] teaches “Generally, the E&P computer system (118) is configured to analyze, model, control, optimize, or perform management tasks of the aforementioned field operations based on the data provided from the surface unit (112). In one or more embodiments, the E&P computer system (118) is provided with functionality for manipulating and analyzing the data, such as performing simulation, planning, and optimization of production operations of the wellsite system A (114-1)” Para. [0069] teaches “For example, as shown in FIG. 9.1, the E&P computing system (900) may include one or more computer processors (902), non-persistent storage (904) (e.g., volatile memory, such as random-access memory (RAM), cache memory), persistent storage (906) (e.g., a hard disk, an optical drive such as a compact disk (CD) drive or digital versatile disk (DVD) drive, a flash memory, etc.),” Para. [0003] teaches “In general, in one aspect, embodiments are directed to map the filtration area of a reservoir formation around a wellbore. A set of directional measurements are obtained for multiple measured depth intervals along the length of a wellbore. Based on the directional measurement set, the locations corresponding to a portion of the well exposed to the reservoir rock are selected” Para. [0016] teaches “In one or more embodiments, various survey tools and/or data acquisition tools are adapted to measure the formation and detect the characteristics of the geological structures of the formation.” Para. [0035] teaches “For example, the MWD tools may log a bulk density image using a Gamma-Gamma detector. Radioactive Gamma-Gamma logging is an industry standard method for bulk density evaluation”)
accessing data encoding measurements obtained from a bit tool during the MWD operation in the wellbore of the reservoir, wherein the bit tool includes a gamma ray detector; (Para. [0035] teaches “For example, the MWD tools may log a bulk density image using a Gamma-Gamma detector. Radioactive Gamma-Gamma logging is an industry standard method for bulk density evaluation”)
extracting, from the data encoding measurements, recordings of a gamma ray detector, wherein the recordings comprise gamma ray measurements taken from more than one azimuthal sectors of a depth location in the wellbore; (Para. [0035] teaches “In one or more embodiments, the directional measurement is from a logging tool that has the capability to obtain measurements for multiple positions around the wellbore. For example, MWD technologies allow to measure bulk density around the wellbore because the tool is continuously rotating while taking measurements.” Para. [0039] further teaches “In one or more embodiments, the reservoir production from an oilfield well is evaluated using azimuthal measurements while drilling (MWD) such as Bulk Density Image and Borehole Radius Array.”)
and based on, at least in part, the estimated bulk density, causing an adjustment of the MWD operation. (Para. [0067] teaches “In one or more embodiments, using LWD bulk density measurements a wellbore image strip view may be created at each depth interval. The image strip displays a section through the wellbore (701) with the values of the bulk density measurements projected on a circle representing the wellbore section. In one or more embodiments, the image strip may be composed of pixels, each pixel representing the value of measurement in one location sector. Further, by analyzing the values of the pixels, a reservoir rock contact zone may be defined from comparing the measurements to a bulk density threshold obtained from rock samples studies. As a result, non-reservoirs pixels of image strip are filtered out so further analysis is based on reservoir pixels. The wellbore section is divided in a multitude of sectors (703), and the sectors that contain the reservoir pixels (705) are flagged for further calculations.”)
Bokarev does not explicitly teach,
and a magnetometer, extracting, from the data encoding measurements, recordings of the magnetometer; assigning each gamma ray measurement to an azimuthal sector of a plurality of azimuthal sectors, based on sensed directional data from magnetometer; estimating a bulk density at the depth location in the wellbore using an average of the gamma ray measurements corresponding to the plurality of azimuthal sectors based on the directional data associated with each azimuthal sector.
Schneider teaches,
and a magnetometer. (Para. [0012] teaches “The logging while drilling (LWD) tool includes magnetometers and accelerometers placed orthogonally in a cross-sectional plane”)
extracting, from the data encoding measurements, recordings of the magnetometer; assigning, as assigned data, each gamma ray measurement to an azimuthal sector of a plurality of azimuthal sectors, based on sensed directional data from the magnetometer; (Para. [0019] teaches “the MWD tool is also provided with a magnetometer or other direction sensitive device. When such directional measurements are made, each of the standoff bins are further subdivided into azimuthal bins defining an azimuthal sector around the tool. Compensated density determinations within an azimuthal sector are combined to give an azimuthal bulk density measurement. This difference may be used for controlling the drilling direction or as an indicator of proximity to a nearby interface.” Para. [0030] teaches “the sensor arrangement includes a magnetometer 134 as shown in FIG. 4a. Magnetometer M1 makes measurements of the direction of the earth's magnetic field. Except for the rare case wherein the borehole is being drilled along the direction of the earth's magnetic field, the magnetometer output in conjunction with borehole survey information can be used to determine the relative orientation of the sensor R1 to the vertical. In such a case, the standoff bins shown in FIG. 4b may be further subdivided into azimuthal and sectors.”)
estimating, as an estimated bulk density, a bulk density at the depth location in the wellbore using an average of the normalized data corresponding to the plurality of azimuthal sectors based on the directional data associated with each azimuthal sector. (Para. [0031] teaches “Counts from each NaI (gamma) detector are binned by tool stand-off.” (Para. [0005] teaches “It thus becomes possible to measure some parameter of the earth's formations as a function of depth,” (i.e. measurements are made as a function of depth) Para. [0019] teaches “each of the standoff bins are further subdivided into azimuthal bins defining an azimuthal sector around the tool.” Para. [0031] teaches “Counts from each NaI (gamma) detector are binned by tool stand-off.” (i.e. the normalized variables correspond to gamma ray measurements. It would be obvious to normalize the gamma ray measurements as seen below.) Para. [0039] teaches “The parameter A is not used for the final estimate of formation density. Once the variances for B and C have been reduced, new parameters B′ and C′ are used to obtain formation density based on the data from different standoff bins:” Para. [0041] teaches “The eqn. (7) averages the measurements in different standoff bins compensated by a common rib. The eqn. (6) averages the measurements in different standoff bins compensated by an adaptive rib. In the present invention, the adaptive rib is obtained by using a common rib defined by the curves such as that shown in FIG. 1 plus a second order compensation using B′ and C′ and is given by” (i.e. the measurements are averaged to find the formation density))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bokarev with a magnetometer, extracting, from the data encoding measurements, recordings of the magnetometer; assigning, as assigned data, each gamma ray measurement to an azimuthal sector of a plurality of azimuthal sectors, based on sensed directional data from magnetometer; estimating, as an estimated bulk density, a bulk density at the depth location in the wellbore using an average of the normalized data corresponding to the plurality of azimuthal sectors based on the directional data associated with each azimuthal sector such as that of Schneider.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify Bokarev, because according to Para(s). [0042-0043] of Bokarev, “In one or more embodiments, the formation measurements may come from the MWD tools (also known as logging while drilling (LWD) tools). For example, the MWD tools may log a bulk density image using a Gamma-Gamma detector. Radioactive Gamma-Gamma logging is an industry standard method for bulk density evaluation. The MWD bulk density image measurements around the wellbore are associated each with a sector of the wellbore.” Therefore, assigning data to specific sectors around the wellbore and finding bulk density is suggested by Bokarev. Finding bulk density of a wellbore enables the calculation of porosity, identifying the lithology, and many other factors that help improve the characterization of the wellbore.
The combination of Bokarev and Schnieder does not explicitly teach,
performing, to generate quality control data, data quality control to remove from further processing outlier data from the assigned data;
normalizing, as normalized data, the quality control data;
Liang teaches,
performing, to generate quality control data, data quality control to remove from further processing outlier data from the assigned data; (Para. [0019] teaches “For example, outlier values can be removed, missing values can be extrapolated or ignored, and/or flattened or lazy signals caused by stick-and-slip effects can be removed or ignored.”)
normalizing, as normalized data, the quality control data; (Para. [0019] teaches “In some embodiments, performing the data preprocessing 104 can also include normalizing each well log such that each well log has a consistent or equal magnitude. For example, utilizing a Z-score normalization such that both the first well log 201 and the second well log 202 have consistent distribution in terms of magnitude of gamma-ray or other values.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bokarev and Schneider with performing, to generate quality control data, data quality control to remove from further processing outlier data from the assigned data; normalizing, as normalized data, the quality control data such as that of Liang.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Bokarev and Schneider, because normalizing data reduces redundancy, ensures data integrity, and prevents data anomalies. Removing outliers from the data ensures that the conclusions drawn from the data are accurate.
With respect to claim 17,
Bokarev further teaches,
the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15,
wherein the operations further comprise: based on the estimated bulk density, synthesizing a bulk density log over a range of depth locations. (Para. [0023] teaches “In one or more embodiments, the formation measurements (211) may be from logging while drilling tools. For example, formation measurements may represent a logging while drilling bulk density image, a formation resistivity log, or a gamma ray log.” Para. [0024] teaches “In other words, at each depth, a number of formation measurements acquired at multiple points on the circumference of the wellbore exist, each point of a formation measurement (211) at the same MD corresponds to a distinct and unique position on the circumference of the wellbore.”)
With respect to claim 18,
Bokarev further teaches,
the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15,
wherein the computer processor performs operations that further comprise: obtaining an estimated total porosity using the estimated bulk density at the depth location. (Para. [0043] teaches “a formation measurement of a sector around the wellbore is selected from the depth interval measurements.” Para. [0044] teaches “In one or more embodiments, conversion function is defined between the measured bulk density and formation porosity:”)
With respect to claim 20,
Bokarev further teaches,
the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15,
wherein the computer processor performs operations that further comprise: calibrating the estimated bulk density again bulk density measured at a core sample extracted from the wellbore at the depth location. (Para. [0067] teaches “Further, by analyzing the values of the pixels, a reservoir rock contact zone may be defined from comparing the measurements to a bulk density threshold obtained from rock samples studies”)
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bokarev (US 20180073357 A1), Schneider (US 20040021066 A1), and Liang (US 20220342111 A1) as applied to claims 4 and 11 above, and further in view of Crawford (US 20230063340 A1).
With respect to claim 5,
the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, and Liang, does not explicitly teach,
the computer-implemented method of claim 4, further comprising: obtaining an estimated share of gas and shale at the depth location based on pulsed neutron measurements.
Crawford teaches,
further comprising: obtaining an estimated share of gas and shale at the depth location based on pulsed neutron measurements. (Para. [0016] “Such data may provide physical properties of the wellbore strata, for example strata density, compressibility, and gas/oil ratio, among others. The drilling string and/or downhole logging tool may further provide estimates of fluid types, such as water, oil, and gas and the contact locations of such fluids.” Para. [0018] teaches “Additional near-range wellbore measurement data may include nuclear data such as pulse neutron” Shale is a type of Strata.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, and Liang further comprising: obtaining an estimated share of gas and shale at the depth location based on pulsed neutron measurements such as that of Crawford.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, and Liang, because the share of gas and shale affects the accuracy of the porosity measurement.
With respect to claim 12,
the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, and Liang does not explicitly teach,
the computer system of claim 11,
wherein the one or more computer processors are configured to perform operations further comprise: obtaining an estimated share of gas and shale at the depth location based on pulsed neutron measurements.
Crawford teaches,
further comprising: obtaining an estimated share of gas and shale at the depth location based on pulsed neutron measurements. (Para. [0016] “Such data may provide physical properties of the wellbore strata, for example strata density, compressibility, and gas/oil ratio, among others. The drilling string and/or downhole logging tool may further provide estimates of fluid types, such as water, oil, and gas and the contact locations of such fluids.” Para. [0018] teaches “Additional near-range wellbore measurement data may include nuclear data such as pulse neutron” Shale is a type of Strata.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, and Liang further comprising: obtaining an estimated share of gas and shale at the depth location based on pulsed neutron measurements such as that of Crawford.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, and Liang, because the share of gas and shale affects the accuracy of the porosity measurement.
Claims 6, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bokarev (US 20180073357 A1) as modified by Schneider (US 20040021066 A1), Liang (US 20220342111 A1), and Crawford (US 20230063340 A1) as applied to claims 5 and 12 above, and further in view of Smithson (Defining Porosity; 2019).
With respect to claim 6,
The combination of Bokarev, Schneider, Liang, and Crawford, does not explicitly teach,
The computer-implemented method of claim 5, further comprising: obtaining an estimated effective porosity that removes the estimated share of gas and shale from the estimated total porosity.
Smithson teaches,
further comprising: obtaining an estimated effective porosity that removes the estimated share of gas and shale from the estimated total porosity. (The section under Complementary measurements teaches “The effects of shale also give rise to another term—effective porosity. Petrophysicists derive total porosity values by combining different measurements and correcting for environmental and lithologic conditions. This total porosity includes fluids associated with shale. Because the fluids in shales cannot usually be produced, their contributions to the measurement can be subtracted from the total porosity. By quantifying the shale contribution and removing it from the total porosity measurement, log analysts are able to compute the effective porosity, which more accurately portrays a reservoir's potential.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, Liang, and Crawford further comprising: obtaining an estimated share of gas and shale at the depth location based on pulsed neutron measurements such as that of Crawford.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, Liang, and Crawford, because the share of gas and shale affects the accuracy of the porosity measurement and removing it more accurately portrays a reservoirs potential as seen in the above cited section.
With respect to claim 13,
The combination of Bokarev, Schneider, Liang, and Crawford, does not explicitly teach, the computer system of claim 12,
wherein the one or more computer processors are configured to perform operations that further comprise: obtaining an estimated effective porosity that removes the estimated share of gas and shale from the estimated total porosity.
Smithson teaches,
wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining an estimated effective porosity that removes the estimated share of gas and shale from the estimated total porosity. (The section under Complementary measurements teaches “The effects of shale also give rise to another term—effective porosity. Petrophysicists derive total porosity values by combining different measurements and correcting for environmental and lithologic conditions. This total porosity includes fluids associated with shale. Because the fluids in shales cannot usually be produced, their contributions to the measurement can be subtracted from the total porosity. By quantifying the shale contribution and removing it from the total porosity measurement, log analysts are able to compute the effective porosity, which more accurately portrays a reservoir's potential.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, Liang, and Crawford wherein the operations further comprise: obtaining an estimated effective porosity that removes the estimated share of gas and shale from the estimated total porosity such as that of Smithson.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, Liang, and Crawford, because the share of gas and shale affects the accuracy of the porosity measurement and removing it more accurately portrays a reservoirs potential as seen in the above cited section.
With respect to claim 19,
the combination of Bokarev and Schneider does not explicitly teach,
the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the computer processor performs operations that further comprise: obtaining an estimated share of gas and shale at the depth location based on pulsed neutron measurements;
and obtaining an estimated share of gas and shale at the depth location based on pulsed neutron measurements.
Crawford teaches,
further comprising: obtaining an estimated share of gas and shale at the depth location based on pulsed neutron measurements. (Para. [0016] “Such data may provide physical properties of the wellbore strata, for example strata density, compressibility, and gas/oil ratio, among others. The drilling string and/or downhole logging tool may further provide estimates of fluid types, such as water, oil, and gas and the contact locations of such fluids.” Para. [0018] teaches “Additional near-range wellbore measurement data may include nuclear data such as pulse neutron” Shale is a type of Strata.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, and Liang, further comprising: obtaining an estimated share of gas and shale at the depth location based on pulsed neutron measurements such as that of Crawford.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, and Liang because the share of gas and shale affects the accuracy of the porosity measurement.
the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, Liang and Crawford, does not explicitly teach,
and obtaining an estimated effective porosity that removes the estimated share of gas and shale from the estimated total porosity.
Smithson teaches,
and obtaining an estimated effective porosity that removes the estimated share of gas and shale from the estimated total porosity. (The section under Complementary measurements teaches “The effects of shale also give rise to another term—effective porosity. Petrophysicists derive total porosity values by combining different measurements and correcting for environmental and lithologic conditions. This total porosity includes fluids associated with shale. Because the fluids in shales cannot usually be produced, their contributions to the measurement can be subtracted from the total porosity. By quantifying the shale contribution and removing it from the total porosity measurement, log analysts are able to compute the effective porosity, which more accurately portrays a reservoir's potential.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, Liang, and Crawford, wherein the operations further comprise: and obtaining an estimated effective porosity that removes the estimated share of gas and shale from the estimated total porosity such as that of Smithson.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, Liang, and Crawford, because the share of gas and shale affects the accuracy of the porosity measurement and removing it more accurately portrays a reservoirs potential as seen in the above cited section.
Claims 21, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bokarev (US 20180073357 A1), Schneider (US 20040021066 A1), and Liang (US 20220342111 A1) as applied to claims 1, 8, and 15 above, and further in view of Blum (GAMMA-RAY DENSIOMETRY; 2019) and Kurkoski (US 6584837 B2).
With respect to claim 21,
The combination of Bokarev, Schneider, and Liang, does not explicitly teach,
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: calculating a synthetic bulk density at the depth location in the well bore using a logarithmic function of a ratio between gamma ray measurements corresponding to two or more azimuthal sectors.
Blum teaches,
using a logarithmic function of a ratio between gamma ray measurements. (Equation 5 on page 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, and Liang, with using a logarithmic function of a ratio between gamma ray measurements such as that of Blum.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, and Liang, because as seen in Para. [0002] of pg. 1 “The principle is based on the facts that medium-energy gamma rays (0.1–1 MeV) interact with the formation material mainly by Compton scattering, that the elements of most rock-forming minerals have similar Compton mass attenuation coefficients, and that the electron density measured can easily be related to the material bulk density.”
Kurkoski teaches,
calculating a synthetic bulk density at the depth location in the well bore using measurements corresponding to two or more azimuthal sectors. (Col. 3 Ln(s). [52-58] teaches “Compensated density determinations within an azimuthal sector are combined to give an azimuthal bulk density measurement. Relative strike and dip may be determined by analysis of the azimuthal density variation. The azimuthal density measurements may further be combined to give density differences between an "up" and a "down" direction (and "left" and "right"). This difference may be used for controlling the drilling direction or as an indicator of proximity to a nearby interface.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, Liang, and Blum, with calculating a synthetic bulk density at the depth location in the well bore using measurements corresponding to two or more azimuthal sectors such as that of Kurkoski.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, Liang, and Blum, because density could be different between different sectors and as seen in Col.3 Ln. 58.
With respect to claim 22,
The combination of Bokarev, Schneider, and Liang, do not explicitly teach,
The computer system of claim 8, further comprising: calculating a synthetic bulk density at the depth location in the well bore using a logarithmic function of a ratio between gamma ray measurements corresponding to two or more azimuthal sectors.
Blum teaches,
using a logarithmic function of a ratio between gamma ray measurements. (Equation 5 on page 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, and Liang, with using a logarithmic function of a ratio between gamma ray measurements such as that of Kurkoski.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, and Liang, because as seen in Para. [0002] of pg. 1 “The principle is based on the facts that medium-energy gamma rays (0.1–1 MeV) interact with the formation material mainly by Compton scattering, that the elements of most rock-forming minerals have similar Compton mass attenuation coefficients, and that the electron density measured can easily be related to the material bulk density.”
Kurkoski teaches,
calculating a synthetic bulk density at the depth location in the well bore using measurements corresponding to two or more azimuthal sectors. (Col. 3 Ln(s). [52-58] teaches “Compensated density determinations within an azimuthal sector are combined to give an azimuthal bulk density measurement. Relative strike and dip may be determined by analysis of the azimuthal density variation. The azimuthal density measurements may further be combined to give density differences between an "up" and a "down" direction (and "left" and "right"). This difference may be used for controlling the drilling direction or as an indicator of proximity to a nearby interface.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, Liang, and Blum, with calculating a synthetic bulk density at the depth location in the well bore using measurements corresponding to two or more azimuthal sectors such as that of Kurkoski.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, Liang, and Blum, because density could be different between different sectors and as seen in Col.3 Ln. 58.
With respect to claim 23,
The combination of Bokarev, Schneider, and Liang, does not explicitly teach,
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, further comprising: calculating a synthetic bulk density at the depth location in the well bore using a logarithmic function of a ratio between gamma ray measurements corresponding to two or more azimuthal sectors.
Blum teaches,
using a logarithmic function of a ratio between gamma ray measurements. (Equation 5 on page 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, and Liang, using a logarithmic function of a ratio between gamma ray measurements such as that of Kurkoski.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify The combination of Bokarev, Schneider, and Liang, because as seen in Para. [0002] of pg. 1 “The principle is based on the facts that medium-energy gamma rays (0.1–1 MeV) interact with the formation material mainly by Compton scattering, that the elements of most rock-forming minerals have similar Compton mass attenuation coefficients, and that the electron density measured can easily be related to the material bulk density.”
Kurkoski teaches,
calculating a synthetic bulk density at the depth location in the well bore using measurements corresponding to two or more azimuthal sectors. (Col. 3 Ln(s). [52-58] teaches “Compensated density determinations within an azimuthal sector are combined to give an azimuthal bulk density measurement. Relative strike and dip may be determined by analysis of the azimuthal density variation. The azimuthal density measurements may further be combined to give density differences between an "up" and a "down" direction (and "left" and "right"). This difference may be used for controlling the drilling direction or as an indicator of proximity to a nearby interface.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, Liang, and Blum, with calculating a synthetic bulk density at the depth location in the well bore using measurements corresponding to two or more azimuthal sectors such as that of Kurkoski.
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to modify the combination of Bokarev, Schneider, Liang, and Blum, because density could be different between different sectors and as seen in Col.3 Ln. 58.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to JOSHUA L FORRISTALL whose telephone number is 703-756-4554. The examiner
can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:30 AM- 5 PM.
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Andrew Schechter can be reached on 571-272-2302. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or
571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA L FORRISTALL/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ANDREW SCHECHTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857