DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to amendment filed 7/30/2026.
Claims 1-9 and 11-13 are pending. Claim 10 has been canceled. Claims 12-13 have been withdrawn. Claims 1, 2 and 4 have been amended.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 09/03/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN 202111032029.4 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Applicant’s 3/2/2026 remark alleges the limitation “the epitaxial layer is of a first doping type” in claim 1 defines “the epitaxial layer, in its entirety, has a uniform doping type, that is, only one doping type” (page 10). Such interpretation lacks adequate written description. The epitaxial layer 2 as disclosed by applicant is initially of the first doping type. However, as shown in FIG. 4, second doping type pillars 3 are doped in the epitaxial layer 2. As shown in FIG. 6, second doping type wells 5 are further doped in the epitaxial layer 2. The epitaxial layer 2 of the final device structure comprises not only first doping type, but also comprises second doping type in counter doped regions 3 and 5. The epitaxial layer 2 as disclosed does not “in its entirety, has a uniform doping type, that is, only one doping type” as alleged in Applicant’s remark. Applicant’s 7/30/2026 remark argues the pillars 3 and wells 5 are “distributed in” and “formed in” the epitaxial layer 2, but are distinct elements from the epitaxial layer 2 and are not part of the epitaxial layer 2 itself (page 12). However, Applicant’s original disclosure does not have support for an epitaxial layer that is completely separate and mutually excluding the pillars 3 and the wells 5. Such interpretation would require removing parts of the epitaxial layer 2 and subsequently filling in the space with separate material to form the pillars and wells 5. Applicant’s FIG. 3 clearly shows an epitaxial layer 2 that is globally provided, with pillars 3 and wells 5 are subsequently doped into parts of the epitaxial layer 2. That is, the region of the epitaxially layer 2 that is shown as being occupied by the pillars 3 and wells 5 in FIG. 6 are not separate, rather these are overlapping regions. As such, the limitation “the epitaxial layer is of a first doping type”, if interpreted as alleged by Applicant, is not support by Applicant’s original disclosure.
Other claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claims 1-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 reciting “the epitaxial layer is of a first doping type” renders the claim indefinite in light of interpretation as defined by Applicant in the 3/2/2026 and 7/30/2026 Remark. As explained above, Applicant’s own disclosure fails to provide support for an epitaxial layer that “in its entirety, has a uniform doping type, that is, only one doping type” and is separate from the wells and pillars. Rather, the epitaxial layer 2 as disclosed comprise (inclusive of) counter doped regions (e.g. p-doped regions 3,5) having second doping type. Therefore, it is unclear if “the epitaxial layer is of a first doping type” is intended to mean an epitaxial layer that in its entirety has only one doping type as argued by Applicant, or more broadly referring to an epitaxial layer that is formed of a first doping type, but may incorporate further regions of second doping type. It is unclear how can the pillars 3 and wells 5 be positioned in the epitaxial layer 2, but not part of the epitaxial layer itself. Such interpretation would require removing parts of the epitaxial layer 2 and subsequently filling in the space with separate material to form the pillars and wells 5. Applicant’s disclosure does not describe such an epitaxial layer structure. For the purpose of examination, the claimed “the epitaxial layer is of a first doping type” is understood to mean an epitaxial layer that is of a first doping type, but may also include regions of second doping type.
Claim 1 reciting “each of the structural gates comprises a top surface, which further comprises a first part of each of the structural gates and a second part of each of the structural gates, the first part being in direct contact with and covered by the Schottky metal contacts, and the second part being in direct contact with and covered by the insulating oxide layer” render the claim indefinite due to improper correspondence. Firstly, “the first part being in direct contact with and covered by the Schottky metal contacts” in indefinite because it is unclear if the intended meaning is “the first part of each of the structural gates being in direct contact with and covered by each of the Schottky metal contacts”, or “the first part of each of the structural gates being in direct contact with and covered by one of the Schottky metal contacts”, or “the first part of one of the structural gates being in direct contact with and covered by each of the Schottky metal contacts, or “the first part of one of the structural gates being in direct contact with and covered by one of the Schottky metal contacts. Furthermore, “the second part being in direct contact with and covered by the insulating oxide layer” is indefinite because it is unclear if the intended meaning is “the second part of one of the structural gates being in direct contact with and covered by the insulating oxide layer” or “the second part of each of the structural gates being in direct contact with and covered by the insulating oxide layer”.
Claim 2 reciting “a second portion of a back metal layer” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if “a back metal layer” is intended to be the same as the “back metal layer” previously recited in claim 1.
Other claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Darwish et al. US 2014/0252463 A1 (Darwish).
In re claim 1, as best understood, Darwish discloses (e.g. FIGs. 2-21) a super-junction MOS device (FIG. 14, device having super-junctions formed by p-shields 150 and N-epi 101; FIG. 21 showing a specific integrated embodiment, ¶ 63) with an integrated TMBS structure 1490 (e.g. any of TMBS structure shown in FIGs. 2-12 or FIG. 21, ¶ 55), comprising:
a main body 1480 (e.g. FIGs. 15A-15G) and a TMBS structure 1490 (e.g. FIGs. 2-12 or FIG. 21),
wherein the main body comprises a plurality of cells 1480,
wherein the TMBS structure 1490 is connected in parallel with and integrated between at least two of the plurality of cells 1480, and
wherein the TMBS structure 1490 (FIGs. 2-13, or FIG. 21 showing an integrated embodiment) comprises:
a first portion (portion in the region of Schottky barrier diode 1490) of an epitaxial layer 101 (310,301,312 are all within n epi layer 101, ¶ 38) disposed on a surface of a first portion of a substrate 100;
two structural gates 944,1344 located in the first portion of the epitaxial layer 101,310,301,312;
Schottky metal contacts consisting of metal (corresponding to lower contact portions of metal 103 and 1345,860,160,1660, including portions above n epi and portion above structural gates 944,1344, ¶ 35);
a first portion of an insulating oxide layer (including 940,1340 and oxide above 310);
a first portion of a front metal layer (upper planar portion of 103); and
a first portion of a back metal layer 102;
wherein the first portion of the epitaxial layer has a top surface including a first part (part of n- layer 101,310 top surface contacted by 160,860,1660) and second parts (parts of n- layer 101,310 top surface covered by an oxide, see FIGs. 12,14,21 annotated above) between the two structural gates, the first part (part of n- layer 101,310 top surface contacted by 160,860,1660) being in direct contact with and covered by the Schottky metal contacts 103,160,860,1660 such that the Schottky metal contacts form Schottky junction with the epitaxial layer 101,310 at each contact point of the first part (¶ 35,38,53), and each of the second parts (parts of n- layer 101,310 top surface contacted and covered by an oxide, see FIGs. 12,14,21 annotated above) being in direct contact with and covered by the insulating oxide layer;
wherein the epitaxial layer 101 (including 310,301,312) “is of a first doping type (n-type, ¶ 38)”;
wherein each of the structural gates 944,1344 comprises a trench, a gate oxide layer 140 formed on an inner surface of the trench, and a gate conductor 944,1344 filled in the trench, with the gate oxide layer 140 formed between the trench and the gate conductor 944,
wherein the trench of each of the structural gates 944,1344 is formed by etching the top surface of the first portion of the epitaxial layer 101 (in Schottky diode region),
wherein each of the structural gates 944,1344 comprises a top surface, which further comprises (see FIGs. 13A-13C) a first part of each of the structural gates (part contacting 1345) and a second part of each of the structural gates (part covered by 1340), “the first part” (part under 1345) being in direct contact with and covered by the Schottky metal contacts (contact part 1345), and “the second part” (part under 1340) being in direct contact with and covered by the insulating oxide layer (including 1340).
In an interpretation of FIGs. 12 and 14 as annotated above, the epitaxial layer including counter doped regions 452 and 656 (“second parts”) that directly contact the overlying insulating oxide layer. Counter doped regions 452,656 are formed in regions of the base epitaxial layer. Thus, these regions are “parts” of the epitaxial layer. In this case, the “second parts” are counter doped regions of the epitaxial layer. Claim does not require n-type regions directly contacting the insulating oxide layer, or otherwise preclude the epitaxial layer from further including counter doped regions. Nor does the claim require the first part and the second parts of the epitaxial layer to be of the same conductivity type.
In another interpretation of Darwish’s FIG. 21 as annotated above, the epitaxial layer include n-type 310 having lateral regions adjacent to 454 that directly contact the overlying insulating oxide layer. In this case, the “second parts” are the lateral regions of n-type 310 at the top surface of the epitaxial layer. In this interpretation, the middle part of the n-type 310 also directly contacts the Schottky metal contact 1660+103, teaching the “first part” of the epitaxial layer. In this case, both the first part and the second parts of the epitaxial layer are n-type regions.
In re claim 2, as best understood, Darwish discloses (e.g. FIGs. 14, 21 & 15A-15G) the super-junction MOS device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the main body 1480 (e.g. FIGs. 15B, 15E, 15G) further comprises:
a second portion of the substrate 100 (portion in the MOSFET region), wherein the substrate 100 is of the first doping (N) type;
a second portion of the epitaxial layer 101 (portion of n epi layer 101 in MOSFET region, including 310,301,312, ¶ 38) disposed on a surface of the second portion of the substrate 100;
a plurality of second pillars 150,550,1558 spaced apart and distributed in the epitaxial layer 101, wherein the plurality of second pillars 150,550,1558 is of a second doping (P) type, wherein pillar-like regions of the epitaxial layer 101 (regions of 301 between P regions 150,550,1558) between two of the plurality of second pillars 150,550,1558 are first pillars, wherein the first pillars (regions of 301 between P regions 150,550,1558) are of the first doping (N) type, and the second doping (P) type is different from the first doping (N) type;
a plurality of super-junction gates 1520 disposed in the first pillars (regions of 301 between P regions 150,550,1558) respectively, wherein each of the plurality of super-junction gates 1520 comprises a trench, a gate oxide layer formed on an inner surface of the trench, and wherein a gate conductor fills in the trench, wherein the gate oxide layer is formed between the trench and the gate conductor, and wherein the trench is formed by etching a top surface of the second portion of the epitaxial layer 101;
a plurality of wells 452, which are of the second doping (P) type, wherein one of the plurality of wells 452 is formed in the epitaxial layer 101 between every two adjacent super-junction gates 1520, and wherein a depth of one of the plurality of wells 452 is less than a depth of the trench of each of the plurality of super-junction gates 1520;
a plurality of source regions 1114, wherein one or more isolation regions 453 disposed in upper portions of the plurality of wells 452, wherein the plurality of source regions 1114 is of the first doping (N) type, wherein at least two of the source regions 1114 are on two sides of one of the one or more isolation regions 453 respectively, wherein each of the plurality of source regions 1114 has a top surface, which further comprises a first part (see FIG. 15E, part of N+ that physically contacts 103) and a second part (part of N+ that is separated from 103), wherein the first part of the top surface (part of N+ that physically contacts 103) is closer to the one of the one or more isolation region 453 (P+) than the second part (part of N+ that is separated from 103);
one or more sources (recessed portions of 103 contacting N+ source regions), wherein each of the one or more sources (recessed portions of 103) is disposed on a top surface of a corresponding one of the one or more isolation regions 453 and on the first part of the top surface (part of N+ that physically contacts 103) of one of the plurality of source regions 1114;
a second portion of the insulating oxide layer (oxide above gate 1520), disposed on the second part of the top surface (part of N+ that is separated from 103) of each of the plurality of source regions 1114 and on a top surface of each of the plurality of super-junction gates 1520;
a second portion of the front metal layer (planar upper portion of 103 in MOSFET region), disposed on a top surface of the insulating oxide layer and a top surface of each of the one or more sources (recessed portions of 103), wherein the front metal layer (planar upper portion of 103) inter-connects each of the one or more sources (recessed portions of 103); and
a second portion of “a back metal layer” 102 (in MOSFET region), disposed on a surface of the substrate 100 away from the epitaxial layer 101.
In re claim 4, Darwish discloses (e.g. FIG. 14) the super-junction MOS device of claim 1,
wherein the substrate 100 is of a first doping (N) type; and
the first portion of the front metal layer (upper planar portion of 103 in Schottky Barrier Diode region) is disposed on top surfaces of the Schottky metal contacts (lower portion of 103 including 1345,160,860,1660, see FIGs. 11-13) and a top surface of the insulating oxide layer (including 940,1340 and oxide above 310) for connecting all the Schottky metal contacts; and
the first portion of the back metal layer 102 (portion in Schottky Barrier Diode region) is disposed on a surface of the substrate 100 away from the epitaxial layer 101,310,301,312.
In re claim 5, Darwish discloses (see FIG. 22) wherein a distance between the two structural gates 144 is set at from 0.5 µm to 10 µm (spacing between field plates 144 is shown to be ~0.5 µm to 1 µm depending on the vertical location), and a depth of each of the structural gates is from 1 µm to 5 µm (¶ 70, depth is 1 µm).
In re claims 6 and 7, Darwish discloses (FIGs. 2-21) wherein the first doping type is N type and the second doping type is P type.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darwish as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Saito et al. US 2010/0096692 A1 (Saito).
In re claim 3, Darwish discloses (e.g. FIGs. 15A-15E) wherein a dopant ion concentration of the one or more isolation regions 453 (P+) is higher than a dopant ion concentration of the plurality of wells 452 (P). Darwish discloses a dopant ion concentration of the plurality of second pillars 150 is about 5x1015cm-3. Darwish further discloses the P-shield regions 150 are provided to reduce the electric field (¶ 35). However, Darwish does not explicitly disclose the dopant ion concentration of the plurality of wells 452 is higher than a dopant ion concentration of the plurality of second pillars 150.
Saito discloses a power device (e.g. FIG. 1) comprising a trench MOS integrated with Schottky diode, wherein the device body comprises p-type pillars 4 alternating with n-type pillars 3 forming a super junction structure, wherein the p-type pillar 4 has a lower p-type impurity concentration than the p-type base layer 5 of the MOSFET to allow channel to be formed in the p-type pillars (¶ 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Darwish’s p-type pillars to have a dopant ion concentration that is lower than the p-type wells 452 to allow for channel formation in the p-type pillars as taught by Saito.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darwish as applied to claims 2 and 4 above, and further in view of Grivna et al. US 2015/0325567 A1 (Grivna).
In re claims 8 and 9, Darwish discloses the claimed invention including an epitaxial layer 101 includes n-type regions 310,301,312. Darwish does not explicitly discloses a thickness of the epitaxial layer is between 10 µm and 100 µm, and a resistivity of the epitaxial layer is from 0.1 ohm∙cm to 10 ohm∙cm.
However, Grivna discloses (FIGs. 6-11) a power device having n-type epitaxial layer 604,606,608 having a total thickness of, e.g. 8µm+1.6µm+1µm=10.6 µm, and a resistivity of 1.0 ohm∙cm (¶ 55). Grivna discloses the parameters as suitable for a device of desired breakdown voltage (¶ 55).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Darwish’s epitaxial layer 101 to have a thickness that is between 10 µm and 100 µm, and a resistivity of the epitaxial layer is from 0.1 ohm∙cm to 10 ohm∙cm, such as 10.6 µm and 1.0 ohm∙cm as taught by Grivna as suitable for a power device with desired device characteristics.
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See MPEP 2144.05 II. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382; In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darwish as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Sakakibara et al. US 2008/0246096 A1 (Sakakibara).
In re claim 11, Darwish discloses the claimed invention including the super-junction MOS device having the N+ doped substrate 100 and p-type pillars 150,550,1558 in the n type epitaxial layer. The claimed ion implantation dose from 1e12 ions/cm2 to 1e14 ions/cm2 and an implantation energy from 10 keV to 200 keV pertains to processing conditions for forming the doped substrate. No specific substrate has been claimed that would structurally distinguish over Darwish’s N+ substrate 100. In regard to the product by process language, since a "product by process" claim is directed to the product per se, no matter how actually made, In re Hirao and Sato et al., 190 USPQ 15 at 17 (CCPA 1976) (footnote 3). “[T]he lack of physical description in a product-by-process claim makes determination of the patentability of the claim more difficult, since in spite of the fact that the claim may recite only process limitations, it is the patentability of the product claimed and not of the recited process steps which must be established. We are therefore of the opinion that when the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 102 or section 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith.” In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972). See also In re Luck and Gainer, 177 USPQ 523 (CCPA 1973); In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA 1974); and In re Marosi et al., 218 USPQ 289 (CAFC 1983). It is the final product per se which must be determined for patentability in a "product by, all of" claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product, whether claimed in "product by process" claims or not, is not patentable. Note that Applicant has the burden of proof in such cases, as the above case law makes clear. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based upon the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product is made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Darwish does not explicitly disclose a depth of one of the plurality of the second pillars 150,550,1558 is between 8 µm and 90 µm.
However, Sakakibara discloses (e.g. FIG. 17) an integrated super-junction MOS device having super-junction SJ structure comprising p columns 30 that extends a depth of about 1 µm to 100 µm (¶ 41), wherein the SJ structure is provided to reduce electric field in the device body (¶ 57).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form Darwish’s p-type pillars 150,550,1558 to a desired depth, e.g. 8 µm and 90 µm, to obtain desired device characteristics, e.g. reduced electric field as taught by Sakakibara.
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See MPEP 2144.05 II. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382; In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929). See also KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding priority claim, Applicant argues the priority document should be retrieved through the Electronic Priority Document Exchange agreement. Examiner note, foreign priority has not been obtained. It is noted, if retrieval fails applicants remain responsible for the submission of the certified copy of the foreign application.
Regarding claims rejected under 35 USC § 112(a) and § 112(b), Applicant argues the pillars 3 and wells 5 are counter-doped regions “distributed in” and “formed in” the epitaxial layer 2, but are distinct elements from the epitaxial layer 2 and are not part of the epitaxial layer 2 itself (Remark, pages 12-13).
This is not persuasive. Applicant’s original disclosure does not have support for an epitaxial layer that is completely separate and mutually excluding the pillars 3 and the wells 5. Such interpretation would require removing parts of the epitaxial layer 2 and subsequently filling the space with material to form the pillars and wells 5. Applicant’s FIG. 3 clearly shows an epitaxial layer 2 that is globally provided, with pillars 3 and wells 5 are subsequently counter doped into parts of the epitaxial layer 2. That is, the region of the epitaxially layer 2 that is shown as being occupied by the pillars 3 and wells 5 in FIG. 6 are not separate, rather these are overlapping regions of the base epitaxial layer and counter dopants. As such, the intended meaning of “the epitaxial layer is of a first doping type” as argued by Applicant remains indefinite, and if interpreted as alleged by Applicant, is not support by Applicant’s original disclosure.
Regarding claims rejected over Darwish, Applicant argues Darwish fails to teach any Schottky metal contact in direct contact with the first part of the epitaxial layer at each contact point and in direct contact with the first part of each of the structural gates (Remark, page 17).
This is not persuasive. Darwish teaches Schottky metal contacts includes a lower portion of metal 103 and includes contact 160,860,1660 that directly contacts the first part of the epitaxial layer (part of n- layer 101,310 top surface contacted by 160,860,1660, e.g. see FIGs. 12, 14, 21). The Schottky metal contacts corresponding to lower portion of metal 103 and further include contact 1345 that directly contacts the first part of each of the structural gates (part of 1344 contacting 1345, see FIGs. 13A-13C). Such interpretation is consistent with Applicant’s disclosure to Schottky metal contacts 13 formed from a Schottky metal layer that simultaneously forms Schottky contact with part of the epitaxial layer and directly contacts the gate structures 12.
Applicant further argues Darwish’s while 656 that directly contacts the oxide insulating layer is a P-guard ring region, which is different from the n-type 310, and 310 and 656 cannot teach “first part” and “second parts” of a top surface of the epitaxial layer, wherein the epitaxial layer is of the first doping type (Remark, pages 17-18).
This is not persuasive. Darwish teaches 101 is an n-type epitaxial layer that includes n-type regions 310,301,312 (¶ 38). P-type regions 452,656 are further formed in the n-type epitaxial layer 101 by counter doping. Therefore, a top surface of the n-type epitaxial layer 101 includes n-doped regions 310 and p-type regions 452,656. Such interpretation is consistent with Applicant’s disclosure to an epitaxial layer 2 that also includes p-type doped regions 3,5 in different regions.
As such, the first part may correspond to the part of the top surface exposing n-doped region 310 of the epitaxial layer 101, while second parts may correspond to the parts of the top surface exposing the p-doped region 656 of the epitaxial layer 101. In an interpretation of FIGs. 12 and 14 as annotated above, the epitaxial layer including counter doped regions 452 and 656 (“second parts”) that directly contact the overlying insulating oxide layer. Counter doped regions 452,656 are formed in regions of the base epitaxial layer. Thus, these regions are “parts” of the epitaxial layer. In this case, the “second parts” are counter doped regions of the epitaxial layer. Claim does not require n-type regions directly contacting the insulating oxide layer, or otherwise preclude the epitaxial layer from further including counter doped regions. Nor does the claim require the first part and the second parts of the epitaxial layer to be of the same conductivity type.
In another interpretation of Darwish’s FIG. 21 as annotated above, the epitaxial layer include n-type 310 having lateral regions adjacent to 454 that directly contact the overlying insulating oxide layer. In this case, the “second parts” are the lateral regions of n-type 310 at the top surface of the epitaxial layer. In this interpretation, the middle part of the n-type 310 also directly contacts the Schottky metal contact 1660+103, teaching the “first part” of the epitaxial layer. In this case, both the first part and the second parts of the epitaxial layer are n-type regions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
YU CHEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2896