DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of clams 1-11 in the reply filed on 9/26/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,6,is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallourd (US20180331332) in view of Sherwood et al. (US20150364264).
As to claim 1, Fallourd discloses a microbattery (paragraph 0004) comprising: a case (paragraph 0007) including a first terminal (figure 2b number 119a) and having a hole (119b in the hole); a second terminal (119b) located in the hole of the case and electrically separated from the first terminal (119a).
Fallourd fail to disclose a first electrode with a hole, the first electrode electrically connected to the first terminal; a second electrode; and a pin that extends through the hole in the first electrode, wherein the pin has one end that is electrically connected to the second terminal and an opposite end that is electrically connected to the second electrode.
Sherwood et al. teaches a first electrode with a hole, the first electrode electrically connected to the first terminal; a second electrode; and a pin that extends through the hole in the first electrode, wherein the pin has one end that is electrically connected to the second terminal and an opposite end that is electrically connected to the second electrode (figure 3b number 338) for the purpose of increasing yield and improving performance of the energy storage device (paragraph 0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Fallourd a first electrode with a hole, the first electrode electrically connected to the first terminal; a second electrode; and a pin that extends through the hole in the first electrode, wherein the pin has one end that is electrically connected to the second terminal and an opposite end that is electrically connected to the second electrode for the purpose of increasing yield and improving performance of the energy storage device (paragraph 0003).
As to claim 2, Fallourd discloses wherein the first electrode comprises first electrode material mounted on a conductive carrier that contacts a base of the case (figure 2b number 110a, 151).
As to claim 3, Fallourd discloses wherein the second electrode comprises second electrode material mounted on a conductive carrier that contacts the opposite end of the pin (figure 2b number 154 and 110b).
As to clam 4, Fallourd discloses further comprising: a separator between the first electrode and the second electrode (figure 2b number 153). Fallourd fail to disclose, the separator having a hole with the pin extending through the hole in the separator.
Sherwood et al. teaches the separator having a hole with the pin extending through the hole in the separator (figure 3b number 320,340) for the purpose of increasing yield and improving performance of the energy storage device (paragraph 0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Fallourd with the separator having a hole with the pin extending through the hole in the separator for the purpose of increasing yield and improving performance of the energy storage device (paragraph 0003).
As to claim 6, Fallourd fail to disclose further comprising: a third electrode that is electrically connected to the first terminal of the case; wherein the first electrode and the second electrode form a first battery cell having the first terminal and second terminal as terminals, and the second electrode and the third electrode form a second battery cell having the second terminal and first terminal as terminals.
Sherwood et al. teaches further comprising: a third electrode that is electrically connected to the first terminal of the case; wherein the first electrode and the second electrode form a first battery cell having the first terminal and second terminal as terminals, and the second electrode and the third electrode form a second battery cell having the second terminal and first terminal as terminals (figure 3b third electrode 322, first terminal 314, second electrode 306) for the purpose of increasing yield and improving performance of the energy storage device (paragraph 0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Fallourd with a third electrode that is electrically connected to the first terminal of the case; wherein the first electrode and the second electrode form a first battery cell having the first terminal and second terminal as terminals, and the second electrode and the third electrode form a second battery cell having the second terminal and first terminal as terminals for the purpose of increasing yield and improving performance of the energy storage device (paragraph 0003).
2. Claim(s) 5,9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallourd in view of Sherwood et al. and in further view of Yan et al. (US20190287736).
Fallourd and Sherwood et al. discloses the microbattery described above. Fallourd fail to disclose wherein the case further includes a third terminal, the microbattery further comprising: a third electrode that is electrically connected to the third terminal; wherein the first electrode and the second electrode form a first battery cell having the first terminal and second terminal as terminals, and the second electrode and the third electrode form a second battery cell having the second terminal and third terminal as terminals.
Yan et al. teaches wherein the case further includes a third terminal (figure 1 number 115), the microbattery further comprising: a third electrode that is electrically connected to the third terminal; wherein the first electrode (130) and the second electrode (120) form a first battery cell having the first terminal and second terminal as terminals, and the second electrode and the third electrode form a second battery cell having the second terminal and third terminal as terminals for the purpose of providing ultra high power performance and save space of thick lithium metal (paragraph 0002).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Fallourd with wherein the case further includes a third terminal, the microbattery further comprising: a third electrode that is electrically connected to the third terminal; wherein the first electrode and the second electrode form a first battery cell having the first terminal and second terminal as terminals, and the second electrode and the third electrode form a second battery cell having the second terminal and third terminal as terminals for the purpose of providing ultra high power performance and save space of thick lithium metal (paragraph 0002).
As to claim 9, Fallourd discloses a microbattery (paragraph 0004) comprising: a case (paragraph 0007) including a first terminal (figure 2b number 119a) and having a hole (119b in a hole); a second terminal (119b) located in the hole of the case and electrically separated from the first termina (119a)l; a pin (119b top) that extends from the second terminal (119b bottom) to an interior of the case, and electrical insulation (117b) to electrically isolate a side of the pin, a battery stack inside the case, the battery stack comprising, in order extending away from the second terminal: a flat first electrode (152) comprising first electrode material mounted on a first conductive carrier (151) that contacts the first terminal (119a); a flat first separator (153), wherein the first separator has a hole and the pin extends through the hole; a flat second electrode (154) comprising second electrode material mounted on both sides of a flexible second conductive carrier (110b), wherein the second conductive carrier is electrically connected to a top of the pin (119b); and an electrolyte occupying an interior of the case (153).
Fallourd fail to disclose wherein the first electrode has a hole and the pin extends through the hole but is electrically separated from the first electrode by the electrical insulation.
Sherwood et al. teaches wherein the first electrode has a hole and the pin extends through the hole but is electrically separated from the first electrode by the electrical insulation for the purpose of increasing yield and improving performance of the energy storage device (paragraph 0003).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Fallourd with wherein the first electrode has a hole and the pin extends through the hole but is electrically separated from the first electrode by the electrical insulation for the purpose of increasing yield and improving performance of the energy storage device (paragraph 0003).
Fallourd fail to disclose a flat second separator; and a flat third electrode comprising third electrode material mounted on a third conductive carrier that contacts a cap of the case; wherein the first and third electrodes are both either anode or cathode, and the second electrode is the other of anode or cathode.
Yan et al. teaches a flat second separator; and a flat third electrode comprising third electrode material mounted on a third conductive carrier that contacts a cap of the case; wherein the first and third electrodes are both either anode or cathode, and the second electrode is the other of anode or cathode for the purpose of providing ultra high power performance and save space of thick lithium metal (paragraph 0002, figure 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Fallourd with a flat second separator; and a flat third electrode comprising third electrode material mounted on a third conductive carrier that contacts a cap of the case; wherein the first and third electrodes are both either anode or cathode, and the second electrode is the other of anode or cathode for the purpose of providing ultra high power performance and save space of thick lithium metal (paragraph 0002, figure 1).
As to claim 10, Fallourd fail to disclose wherein: the electrodes comprise at least one of carbon, lithium, lithium cobalt oxide, nickel cobalt manganese or nickel cobalt aluminum; the electrolyte comprises a mixture of an organic compound and a salt; and the separators comprise at least one of a porous polypropylene or polyethylene separator.
Yan et al. teaches wherein: the electrodes comprise at least one of carbon, lithium, lithium cobalt oxide, nickel cobalt manganese or nickel cobalt aluminum; the electrolyte comprises a mixture of an organic compound and a salt; and the separators comprise at least one of a porous polypropylene or polyethylene separator (paragraph 0003,0032-0035) for the purpose of providing ultra high power performance and save space of thick lithium metal (paragraph 0002).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Fallourd with wherein: the electrodes comprise at least one of carbon, lithium, lithium cobalt oxide, nickel cobalt manganese or nickel cobalt aluminum; the electrolyte comprises a mixture of an organic compound and a salt; and the separators comprise at least one of a porous polypropylene or polyethylene separator (paragraph 0003,0032-0035) for the purpose of providing ultra high power performance and save space of thick lithium metal (paragraph 0002).
As to claim 11, Fallourd discloses wherein the battery stack occupies more than fifteen percent (15%) of an interior volume of the case (figure 2b paragraph 0007).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fallourd in view of Brenner et al. (EP2690687A).
Fallourd discloses the microbattery described above. Fallourd fail to disclose
wherein the case has a thickness of not more than one mm and a width of not more than 2.5 mm and wherein the case is small enough to fit into an electronic contact lens. Brenner et al. teaches wherein the case has a thickness of not more than one mm and a width of not more than 2.5 mm and wherein the case is small enough to fit into an electronic contact lens (paragraph 0032) for the purpose of providing a simpler and more reproducible mass production of the button cell (paragraph 0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to provide Fallourd with wherein the case has a thickness of not more than one mm and a width of not more than 2.5 mm and wherein the case is small enough to fit into an electronic contact lens for the purpose of providing a simpler and more reproducible mass production of the button cell (paragraph 0011).
Conclusion
/JANE J RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724