DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/04/25.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 11/04/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The instant claims contain the transitional phrase “comprising”. Per MPEP 2111.03 ‘The transitional term “comprising”, which is synonymous with “including,” “containing,” or “characterized by,” is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps'. This open-ended definition has been taken into consideration in the following rejections.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Effects of REFe2 on microstructure and magnetic properties of Nd-Ce-Fe-B sintered magnets” by Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a final cerium magnet; and the final cerium magnet comprises a 2-14-1 main phase, an enhanced REFe2 phase, and a rare earth-enriched phase; the 2-14-1 main phase is selected from the group consisting of a (Ce,RE")₂Fe₁₄B main phase, ((Ce,Nd)2Fe14B main phase (page 23, para 1)), and a (Ce,RE',RE”)2Fe₁₄B main phase, ((Pr,Nd,Ce)2Fe14B main phase (page 23, para 3)), the enhanced REFe₂ phase is selected from the group consisting of a (Ce,RE")Fe₂ phase and a (Ce,RE',RE")Fe₂ phase; and RE" is one or more selected from the group consisting of Pr and Nd (page 23, para 1 and 3). The reference does not expressly disclose “(Ce,RE)Fe2” or “(Ce,RE’RE”)Fe2” as written in the instant claim. However, the reference does teach both CeFe2 and REFe2. Therefore, (Ce,RE”)Fe2 and (Ce,RE’,RE”)Fe2 are understood to be present. The magnet also includes a rare-earth enriched phase (page 23, para 1). The REFe2 and RE rich phases are also disclosed as grain boundary phases (page 24, para 2).
Every limitation prior to the recitation of the final cerium magnet is drawn to a method of obtaining the final cerium magnet, particularly citing “a grain boundary diffusion cerium-based magnet containing a REFe2 phase, wherein an original cerium magnet has a chemical composition of (Cex,RE’1-x)aFe99-a-bB0.9-1.2TMb, x is greater than or equal to 20 wt.% and less than or equal to 85 wt.%, a is greater than or equal to 28 and less than or equal to 35, and b is greater than or equal to 0 and less than or equal to 10; TM is one or more selected from the group consisting of Co, Al, Cu, Ga, Nb, Mo,Ti, Zr, and V; the original cerium magnet is prepared by sintering or hot pressing, and comprises a 2-14-1 main phase, the REFe2 phase, and a rare earth-enriched phase; the REFe2 phase is selected from the group consisting of a Ce Fe2phase and a (Ce,RE')Fe2 phase, and RE' is one or more selected from the group consisting of La, Pr, Nd, Pm, Eu, Gd, Tb, Dy, Ho, Er, Tm, Yb, Lu, and Y; and
an RE" element of a rare earth diffusion source is diffused into the original cerium magnet through the grain boundary diffusion at a melting point of the REFe2 phase as a diffusion temperature; a treated original cerium magnet is directly cooled to room temperature or cooled to room temperature after tempering to obtain a final cerium magnet”. These are product-by-process limitations.
Zhang discloses an overlapping magnet, as discussed above. Zhang does not explicitly teach the claimed process as written, however, MPEP 2113 states “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).
MPEP 2113 also states “The structure implied by the process steps should be considered when assessing the patentability of product-by-process claims over the prior art, especially where the product can only be defined by the process steps by which the product is made, or where the manufacturing process steps would be expected to impart distinctive structural characteristics to the final product. See, e.g., In re Garnero, 412 F.2d 276, 279, 162 USPQ 221, 223 (CCPA 1979)”. In the instant case, it is found that the instantly claimed process of making the claimed product does not impart any structural or functional characteristics to the claimed product. The limitations directed to the method for producing the claimed magnet are not considered to add patentable weight to the examination of the product claims.
It is well settled that if the examiner can find a product in the prior art that is the same or so similar as to have been obvious, the burden can be shifted to the applicant to demonstrate that the process for producing the composition somehow imparts a patentable distinction to the composition under examination.
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the grain boundary diffusion cerium-based magnet containing a REFe₂ phase according to claim 1, wherein the RE" element (Nd) forms a (Ce,RE")₂Fe₁₄B main phase (page 23, para 1).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the grain boundary diffusion cerium-based magnet containing a REFe₂ phase according to claim 1, but is silent regarding the limitation “wherein an anisotropy field of the RE"2Fe₁₄B phase is larger than that of the Ce₂Fe₁₄B phase or the (Ce,RE')₂Fe₁₄B phase”. However, Zhang does teach an overlapping magnet comprising the same main phases and similar grain boundary phases. See MPEP 2112.01(I), which states that ‘Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established..."When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not…"…Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product’. As discussed above, the magnets overlap. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect overlapping properties including but not limited to a larger anisotropy field under similar conditions, absent evidence to the contrary.
Claims 4-6 are product by process claims. Zhang discloses the grain boundary diffusion cerium-based magnet containing a REFe₂ phase according to claim 1. As discussed above, Zhang does not explicitly teach the claimed process as written, however, see MPEP 2113 cited above. In the instant case, it is found that the instantly claimed process of making the claimed magnet does not impart any structural or functional characteristics to the claimed product.
The limitations directed to the method for producing the claimed composition are not considered to add patentable weight to the examination of the product claims. It is well settled that if the examiner can find a product in the prior art that is the same or so similar as to have been obvious, the burden can be shifted to the applicant to demonstrate that the process for producing the composition somehow imparts a patentable distinction to the composition under examination.
Conclusion
/L.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/Matthew E. Hoban/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734