DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the position” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 7, the term “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the position” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The recitation in claim 10 of “the calibration pattern (3) is a grid with rectangular, in particular square, grid lines” is indefinite because the recited limitation is contradictory because the limitation recites both rectangular and square grid lines. It is unclear what is meant by the recited limitation.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The recitation in claim 1, line 1 of “a playing field (1) comprising” should be changed to --a playing field (1) comprising:--.
The recitation in claim 13, line 3 of “(4', 4", 4"') wherein” should be changed to --4', 4", 4"'); wherein--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amron (20050183273) in view of Athavale (20150054963).
Regarding claim 1, Amron (Figures 1-8) teaches a system for variable marking of a playing field comprising: at least two marking devices designed as laser projectors (Fig. 1-3, Part No. 120a, 130a) (Para. 0032), a control device designed to determine the position of a marking pattern on the playing field (Para. 0039-0040, 0048).
Amron does not teach an analysis device designed to analyse a calibration pattern projected onto the playing field by means of a marking device and designed to determine a distortion function from the calibration pattern, a transformation device designed to apply the distortion function to the marking pattern to obtain a target marking.
Athavale (Figures 1-10) teaches an analysis device designed to analyse a calibration pattern projected onto a surface by means of a marking device and designed to determine a distortion function from the calibration pattern (Para. 0028), a transformation device designed to apply the distortion function to the marking pattern to obtain a target marking (Para. 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Amron with a transformation device designed to apply the distortion function to the marking pattern to obtain a target marking as taught by Athavale as a means of allowing for correction of a distortion caused by projecting a marking onto a surface (Athavale: Para. 0040).
Regarding claim 2, the modified Amron (Figures 1-8) teaches at least two marking devices designed as laser projectors (Fig. 3, Part No. 120a, 130a) (Para. 0032).
The modified Amron does not teach the analysis device comprises an imaging device, wherein the imaging device is designed as a camera.
Athavale (Figures 1-10) teaches the analysis device comprises an imaging device, wherein the imaging device is designed as a camera (Para. 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Amron with the imaging device is designed as a camera as taught by Athavale as a means of allowing for correction of a distortion caused by projecting a marking onto a surface (Athavale: Para. 0040).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Amron (Figures 1-8) teaches four marking devices (Fig. 1, Part No. 120a-b, 130a-b) are provided (Para. 0032).
Regarding claim 4, the modified Amron (Figures 1-8) teaches the control device is connected to a tracking device (Para. 0040).
Regarding claim 5, the modified Amron (Figures 1-8) teaches an arrangement of a system according to claim 1 with a playing field, characterised in that the marking devices (Fig. 3, Part No. 120a, 130a) (Para. 0032) are arranged outside an edge of the playing field (See fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, the modified Amron (Figures 1-8) teaches an angle a between the marking device and each position of a marking is between 30° and 90° (Para. 0032).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Amron (Figures 1-8) teaches playing field comprises at least two, preferably four, marking areas (See fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 8, Amron (Figures 1-8) teaches a method for variable marking of a playing field comprising the following steps: determining the position of a marking pattern on the playing field by means of a control device (Para. 0039-0040, 0048).
Amron does not teach applying, by means of a transformation device, a distortion function to the marking pattern to obtain a target marking, projecting the target marking onto the playing field by means of a marking device.
Athavale (Figures 1-10) teaches applying, by means of a transformation device, a distortion function to the marking pattern to obtain a target marking, projecting the target marking onto the surface by means of a marking device (Para. 0028, 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Amron with a distortion function to the marking pattern to obtain a target marking as taught by Athavale as a means of allowing for correction of a distortion caused by projecting a marking onto a surface (Athavale: Para. 0040).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Amron (Figures 1-8) teaches determining the position of a marking pattern on the playing field by means of a control device (Para. 0039-0040, 0048).
The modified Amron does not teach the distortion function is determined by: projecting a calibration pattern onto the playing field by means of a marking device, analysing a calibration projection by means of an analysis device, determining the distortion function from the calibration projection by means of the analysis device.
Athavale (Figures 1-10) teaches the distortion function is determined by: projecting a calibration pattern onto the playing field by means of a marking device (Para. 0028), analysing a calibration projection by means of an analysis device, determining the distortion function from the calibration projection by means of the analysis device (Para. 0041).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Amron with determining the distortion function from the calibration projection by means of the analysis device as taught by Athavale as a means of allowing for correction of a distortion caused by projecting a marking onto a surface (Athavale: Para. 0040).
Regarding claim 10, the modified Amron (Figures 1-8) teaches determining the position of a marking pattern on the playing field by means of a control device (Para. 0039-0040, 0048).
The modified Amron does not teach the calibration pattern is a grid with rectangular, in particular square, grid lines.
Athavale (Figures 1-10) teaches the calibration pattern is a grid pattern with grid lines (Para. 0042, 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Amron with the calibration pattern is a grid pattern with grid lines as taught by Athavale as a means of allowing for correction of a distortion caused by projecting a grid marking onto a surface (Athavale: Para. 0042, 0028).
Regarding claim 11, the modified Amron (Figures 1-8) teaches determining the position of a marking pattern on the playing field by means of a control device (Para. 0039-0040, 0048).
The modified Amron does not teach the distortion function is determined by means of the analysis device by comparing the calibration pattern with the calibration projection.
Athavale (Figures 1-10) teaches the distortion function is determined by means of the analysis device by comparing the calibration pattern with the calibration projection (Para. 0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Amron with t the distortion function is determined by means of the analysis device by comparing the calibration pattern with the calibration projection as taught by Athavale as a means of allowing for correction of a distortion by comparing comparing a projected pattern to an original pattern (Athavale: Para. 0042, 0028).
Regarding claim 12, the modified Amron (Figures 1-8) teaches determining the position of a marking pattern on the playing field by means of a control device (Para. 0039-0040, 0048).
The modified Amron does not teach the distortion function is determined for a plurality of points Xi, X2,...,Xn of the playing field is determined.
Athavale (Figures 1-10) teaches the distortion function is determined for a plurality of points Xi, X2,...,Xn of the surface is determined (Para. 0028, 0041-0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Amron with the distortion function is determined for a plurality of points Xi, X2,...,Xn of the surface is determined as taught by Athavale as a means of allowing for correction of a distortion caused by projecting a marking onto a surface (Athavale: Para. 0040).
Regarding claim 13, the modified Amron (Figures 1-8) teaches the marking pattern is formed by a plurality of marking parts; wherein the marking parts are projected onto the playing field by several marking devices (Fig. 1-3, Part No. 120a, 130a) (Para. 0032) (Para. 0039-0040, 0048).
Regarding claim 14, the modified Amron (Figures 1-8) teaches the method comprises the following further steps: determining an edge of the playing field, and preventing the marking device from projecting onto areas that are outside the edge of the playing field (Para. 0032).
Regarding claim 15, the modified Amron (Figures 1-8) teaches a plurality of marking devices (Fig. 1-3, Part No. 120a, 130a) (Para. 0032).
The modified Amron does not teach the calibration pattern is projected by a marking device onto a plurality of marking areas.
Athavale (Figures 1-10) teaches the calibration pattern is projected by a marking device onto a plurality of marking areas (Para. 0028, 0041-0042).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the modified Amron with the calibration pattern is projected by a marking device onto a plurality of marking areas as taught by Athavale as a means of allowing for correction of a distortion caused by projecting a marking onto a surface (Athavale: Para. 0040, 0042).
Regarding claim 16, the modified Amron (Figures 1-8) teaches the determining of the position of a marking pattern on the playing field is carried out by means of a tracking device connected to the control device (Para. 0040).
Conclusion
/C.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3711
/JOSEPH B BALDORI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711