DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 02/09/2026 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
In view of the amendment, the rejection of claims 1-3, 4-7 and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn.
New analysis follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and claims dependent on claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 17, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US20140234714A1) in view of Niu (US20110039690A1) and supporting evidence Roumi (US20130224632A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses a nano-silicon agglomerate composite negative electrode material (¶[0028]), characterized in that it comprises
nano-sized core particles (i.e. carbonaceous base with an average diameter of 1 µm -10 µm, ¶[0049]). Roumi, related to the electrochemical systems, teaches the term nano-sized includes particles up to 1 µm (¶[0058] of Roumi). Furthermore, the particle size of 1 µm in Cho is an average where one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the size distribution resulting in this average would include particles less than 1 µm.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
a nano-silicon agglomerate of pine needle and branch-shaped three-dimensional network structure growing around the nano-sized core particles (¶[0095), and
a composite coating layer over the nano-silicon agglomerate (¶[0105]) of pine needle and branch-shaped three-dimensional network structure (¶[0053], Fig. 2, see needle and branch shapes), wherein
the nano-sized core particles comprise metal particles and carbon particles (¶[0095], see spherical graphite and Ag catalyst on surface);
the nano-silicon agglomerate of pine needle and branch-shaped three-dimensional network structure is formed by interconnected silicon nanowires (Fig. 2) having a diameter of 30 to 50 nm and a length of 1.5 micrometers (¶[0099]); and
the composite coating layer comprises carbon and an inorganic metal oxide (¶[0105]-[0106] see carbon and titanium dioxide) which improves conductivity (¶[0043]),
but does not disclose wherein the nano-silicon agglomerate of pine needle and branch-shaped three-dimensional network structure is present in an amount of 90.6 to 96.17 wt % and wherein, in the nano-silicon agglomerate of pine needle and branch-shaped three-dimensional network structure, chemical cross-linking is formed between at least a portion of the silicon nanowires.
He, related to anode materials, teaches a silicon-graphene composite material where the silicon is present in a range of 10% to 99%, resulting in high capacity and good cycle stability (¶[0010) in part due to the high theoretical capacity of silicon (¶[0004]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Cho further discloses the silicon nanowires may be grow from a carbonaceous base using vapor-liquid-solid(VLS)(¶[0095])
Niu, related to nano silicon-and carbon composites for electronic devices and electrodes(¶[0008]), teaches a silicon nanowires on a carbon core via a vapor-liquid-solid(VLS) method (¶[0164) and that the silicon nanowires may be chemically crosslinked(¶[0084]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized chemically crosslinking the nanowires of Cho would result in protection from breakage(¶[0146]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to chemically crosslinking the nanowires of Cho would result in protection from breakage(¶[0146]).
Applying a known technique to a known product ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Regarding claim 2, modified Cho discloses a nano-silicon agglomerate composite negative electrode material according to claim 1 and additionally discloses that the metal particles are particles of at least one selected from the group consisting of silver, copper, iron, nickel, and cobalt (¶[0058).
Regarding claim 3, modified Cho discloses a nano-silicon agglomerate composite negative electrode material according to claim 1 and additionally discloses that the inorganic metal oxide includes titanium dioxide and/or zirconium dioxide (¶[0035]).
Regarding claim 6, Cho discloses a nano-silicon agglomerate composite negative electrode material according to claim 1 and additionally discloses within the composite coating layer, the electrically conductive carbon is present in an amount of 0.1 to 30% by weight(¶[0042]), and the inorganic metal oxide is present in an amount of 0.1 to 10% by weight (¶[0037]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 7, modified Cho discloses a nano-silicon agglomerate composite negative electrode material according to claim 1 and additionally discloses that the nano-silicon agglomerate composite negative electrode material has an average particle size between 5 to 20 μm as shown in the SEM image in Fig. 4 which is representative of the particles average size present in the negative material (¶[0102]) where the core may be 1-30 µm(¶[0049]) with a nanoscale coating. Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). MPEP §2125.I.
Regarding claim 17, modified Cho discloses a nano-silicon agglomerate composite negative electrode material according to claim 1 and additionally discloses that the inorganic metal oxide includes titanium dioxide and/or zirconium dioxide (¶[0035]).
Regarding claim 20, modified Cho discloses a nano-silicon agglomerate composite negative electrode material according to claim 1 and additionally discloses within the composite coating layer, the electrically conductive carbon is present in an amount of 0.1 to 30% by weight(¶[0042]), and the inorganic metal oxide is present in an amount of 0.1 to 10% by weight (¶[0037]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 21, modified Cho discloses a nano-silicon agglomerate composite negative electrode material according to claim 1 and Niu further teaches the crosslinking may be accomplished with Si which one of ordinary skill would recognize as forming Si-Si covalent bonds between the silicon nanowires(¶[0079]).
Claims 5 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US20140234714A1) in view of Niu (US20110039690A1) and further in view of He (CN102306757, reference made to attached English translation).
Regarding claim 5, modified Cho discloses a nano-silicon agglomerate composite negative electrode material according to claim 1 and additionally discloses in example 1 a composite carbon core with carbon being 92% of the core (¶[0099]), then the material is coated in 10% pitch and 0.5% titanium before being made into the negative electrode active material in Example 9 ([¶[0122] and ¶[0114]) where additional 75 parts of graphite and 2 parts binder area added to the mixture. The preparation may be further modified where the wt. % of carbon may be as low as 60 wt% relative to the silicon, the binder may be up to 50% (¶[0065) of the active material, the carbon coating may be present in up to 30% (¶[0042]) and the metal oxide coating may be present in up to 10% (¶[0037]) leading to metal particles and carbon particles within the core within the claimed ranges within claim 5.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
In the alternative, He, related to anode materials, teaches a silicon-graphene composite material where the silicon is present in a range of 10% to 99%, resulting in high capacity and good cycle stability (¶[0010) in part due to the high theoretical capacity of silicon (¶[0004]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized increasing the Si content of the negative electrode material of Cho would reduce the content of the metal and carbon within the core particles to within 0 to 2.6 wt% and 0 to 2.7 wt% respectively while improving the capacity and stability of the electrode material.
Therefore, is would have been obvious to have increased the Si content of the negative electrode material of Cho to the levels reported in He to improve the capacity and stability of the electrode material.
Regarding claim 18, modified Cho discloses a nano-silicon agglomerate composite negative electrode material according to claim 2, but does not disclose wherein the nano-silicon agglomerate of pine needle and branch-shaped three-dimensional network structure is present in an amount of 90.6 to 96.17 wt %.
He, related to anode materials, teaches a silicon-graphene composite material where the silicon is present in a range of 10% to 99%, resulting in high capacity and good cycle stability (¶[0010) in part due to the high theoretical capacity of silicon (¶[0004]).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 19, modified Cho discloses a nano-silicon agglomerate composite negative electrode material according to claim 2 and additionally discloses in example 1 a composite carbon core with carbon being 92% of the core (¶[0099]), then the material is coated in 10% pitch and 0.5% titanium before being made into the negative electrode active material in Example 9 ([¶[0122] and ¶[0114]) where additional 75 parts of graphite and 2 parts binder area added to the mixture. The preparation may be further modified where the wt. % of carbon may be as low as 60 wt% relative to the silicon, the binder may be up to 50% (¶[0065) of the active material, the carbon coating may be present in up to 30% (¶[0042]) and the metal oxide coating may be present in up to 10% (¶[0037]) leading to metal particles and carbon particles within the core within the claimed ranges within claim 5.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP §2144.05.
In the alternative, He, related to anode materials, teaches a silicon-graphene composite material where the silicon is present in a range of 10% to 99%, resulting in high capacity and good cycle stability (¶[0010) in part due to the high theoretical capacity of silicon (¶[0004]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized increasing the Si content of the negative electrode material of Cho would reduce the content of the metal and carbon within the core particles to within 0 to 2.6 wt% and 0 to 2.7 wt% respectively while improving the capacity and stability of the electrode material.
Therefore, is would have been obvious to have increased the Si content of the negative electrode material of Cho to the levels reported in He to improve the capacity and stability of the electrode material.
Conclusion
/K.J.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1726 /RYAN S CANNON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726