Detailed Action
This office action is a response to applicant’s communication submitted November 7, 2025, wherein claims 1 and 11 are amended, claims 2-10 are amended, and new claims 27 and 28 are introduced. This application is a national stage application of PCT/US2021, filed February 15, 2021, which claims benefit of provisional applications 63/001165, filed March 27, 2020, and 62/976672, filed February 14, 2020.
Claims 1, 11-18, and 25-28 are pending in this application.
Claims 12-18, 25, and 26 are withdrawn from consideration for being drawn to non-elected subject matter.
Claims 1, 11, 27, and 28 as amended are examined on the merits herein.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s amendment, submitted November 7, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-8 under 35 USC 112(b) for failing to define the symbol *, has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as the claims have been amended to define * as a point of attachment. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, submitted November 7, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 9 under 35 USC 112(d) for failing to further limit the scope of base claim 1, has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as claim 9 has been canceled. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, submitted November 7, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 9, and 10 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) for being anticipated by Suga et al., has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as claim 1 has been amended to specifically require a narrow definition of R1 and R2 not including the amino acids described by Suga et al., and claims 9 and 10 are canceled. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, submitted November 7, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 9, and 10 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) for being anticipated by Bain et al., has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as claim 1 has been amended to specifically require a narrow definition of R1 and R2 not including the amino acids described by Bain et al., and claims 9 and 10 are canceled. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, submitted November 7, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 3, and 8-10 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) for being anticipated by Dedkova et al., has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as claim 1 has been amended to specifically require a narrow definition of R1 and R2 not including the amino acids described by Dedkova et al., and claims 3 and 8-10 have been canceled Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, submitted November 7, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 2 and 7 under 35 USC 103 for being obvious over Suga et al. in view of Harker et al., has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as claims 2 and 7 have been canceled. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, submitted November 7, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 2-5, 7, and 8 under 35 USC 103 for being obvious over Suga et al. in view of Surolia et al., has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as claims 2-5 and 7-8 have been canceled. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, submitted November 7, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 9-11 under 3 5 USC 102(a)(1) for being anticipated by Lee et al., have been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection as Applicant has demonstrated that the effective filing date of the present claims is prior to the publication of Lee et al. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
The following rejections of record in the previous action are maintained:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suga et al. (US pre-grant publication 2011/0275119, of record in previous action)in view of Cabrele et al. (NPL Reference 2 included with 9/5/2024 PTO-1449)
Suga et al. discloses a method of synthesizing a polypeptide comprising using an ARS ribozyme to acylate tRNA with an amino acid, including nonnatural amino acids such as beta-amino acids, gamma- amino acids, and delta- amino acids, among various other amino acids. (p. 2 paragraph 22, p. 4 paragraph 72, also figure 3)
Suga et al. does not disclose an aminoacyl tRNA wherein the amino acid is a cyclic amino acid as recited in claim 1 as amended. However, Cabrele et al. discloses construction of peptides containing beta amino acid building blocks. (p. 9718 left column first paragraph) Specific beta amino acids discussed as being incorporated into peptides include cyclic amino acids falling within claims 1, 11, 27, and 28 as amended. (p. 9719 figure 1B)
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the method of Suga et al. to make acylated tRNAs bearing any of the beta-amino acids described by Cabrele et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen the disclosure of Cabrele et al. as suggesting that producing peptides containing these amino acids is useful, and would have seen the disclosure of Suga et al. as demonstrating generally that a variety of beta-amino acids could be attached to tRNAs in order to be incorporated into peptides.
Therefore the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Claims 1, 11, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suga et al. (US pre-grant publication 2011/0275119, of record in previous action)in view of Torres et al. (Reference included with PTO-892)
Suga et al. discloses a method of synthesizing a polypeptide comprising using an ARS ribozyme to acylate tRNA with an amino acid, including nonnatural amino acids such as beta-amino acids, gamma- amino acids, and delta- amino acids, among various other amino acids. (p. 2 paragraph 22, p. 4 paragraph 72, also figure 3)
Suga et al. does not disclose an aminoacyl tRNA wherein the amino acid is a cyclic amino acid as recited in claim 1 as amended. However, Torres et al. discloses that inclusion of unusual beta-amino acids into peptides is useful. (p. 16569 left column first paragraph – right column second paragraph) Thee include cyclobutene peptides having amino acids as recited in present claim 11, (p. 5670 chart 1) as well as beta amino acids having a cyclobutyl in the side chain as recited in claim 6. (p. 5670 scheme 1)
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the method of Suga et al. to make acylated tRNAs bearing any of the cyclobutene acids described by Torres et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have seen the disclosure of Torres et al. as suggesting that producing peptides containing these amino acids is useful, and would have seen the disclosure of Suga et al. as demonstrating generally that a variety of beta-amino acids could be attached to tRNAs in order to be incorporated into peptides.
Therefore the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, submitted November 7, 2025, with respect to the above grounds of rejection, have been fully considered and not found to be persuasive to remove the rejections, With respect to Torres et al., Applicant argues that Torres et al. only broadly discloses beta-amino acids and fails to disclose the cyclic amino acid structures of claim 1. However, Torres et al. dies specifically disclose cyclobutyl beta peptides, for example in chart 1 on p. 5670. Therefore Torres et al. does in fact suggest constructing peptides out of cyclobutyl beta-amino acids falling within the scope of the present claims and can be relied upon as a secondary reference.
Furthermore with respect to both Torres et al. and Cabrele et al., Applicant argues that these references only teach peptides containing the recited amino acids, and do not suggest modification of tRNA molecules, such as aminoacylation as disclosed in the present claims. However, there is no need for these secondary references to directly teach aminoacylated tRNAs. The primary reference Suga et al. already discloses that peptides containing unnatural amino acids, such as beta amino acids, can be synthesized by in vitro translation using ribozymes and aminoacylated tRNAs. This is already sufficient motivation to suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art that any particular peptide containing beta-amino acids could be produced by such a method of in vitro translation using an appropriate aminoacylated tRNA. Thus Suga et al. is seen as providing this element of the claimed invention, rendering the claims obvious.
For these reasons the rejection are deemed proper and maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREA OLSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693 1/12/2026