DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 13, 15-18, 21, 22, 29, 30, 34-37 and 41 are pending. Claims 1-5, 7, 9 and 13, drawn to a method of stapling oner or more amino acid sequences by reacting a compound of Formula I with a compound of Formula II are under examination. Claims 15-18, 21, 22, 29, 30 and 34-37 are withdrawn from examination.
This application claims priority as a 371 filing of PCT/US2021/017839 which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 62/976,599, filed February 14, 2020.
Response to Amendments
Applicants have amended the claims to overcome the rejection under 35 USC 112, second.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pentelute et al (US 20140113871) in view of Kobayshi et al (JACS, 2016, pages 14832-14835). This rejection is maintained for reasons below.
Stapling is a strategy used to Pentelute et al teach use of thiols and fluorinated compounds in stapling strategies.
Instant claim 1 recites that the method uses Formula I
combined with Formula II to staple one or more amino acids wherein the reaction solution is at pH 8.5 or lower. As to Formula II, the claims require,
Looking to Pentelute et al, the format of SH-linker-SH meets Formula 1 WHEN p, q and r are zero. The linker of Pentelute therefore does not comprise a halo-aryl substituted group.
This same structure is seen in claim 3 as formula (IV).
Pentelute teaches as shown to the right that the structure with Formula II reacts with a fluorinated form of a peptide sequence (as recited in instant claims 4 and 5) (see 1B. approach 1).
Pentelute does not teach Formula I. However, Kobayshi provides an improved chemical reactivity group between a fluoridated compound and a thiol group by providing a reactive compound called FAcK.
We demonstrated that fluoroacetamide installed on FAcK, previously thought inert to biological functional groups, actually reacted with the thiol group of cysteine when in proximity
FAcK meets the limitation of Formula 1 and III (as recited in instant claim 2) wherein F- X2, X1= NR1 and ( )n, n=4. FAcK was incorporated into proteins such as an Affibody protein (see page 14833, col 1) and reacted with a thiol group.
Our results showed that when in close proximity, a condition often encountered when small molecules bind with large biomolecules, fluoroacetamide reacted with the Cys thiol group readily under mild physiological conditions.
This reaction is performed at a pH of 7.4 as recited in claim 1 and 9 (see page 14834, col 1).
Based on such teachings, it would have prima facie been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the FAcK reactive group in place of the fluoroaryl of Pentelute. Such a modification would have resulted in a composition encompassed by claims 1-5, 7, 9 and 13. As noted above: 1) Pentelute teaches reaction of a thiol group matching Formula II in order to staple amino acid sequences; 2) Kobayshi teaches improved treatment for reacting thiol groups where the molecule reactivity is readily occurring under mild conditions. both Pentelute and Kobayshi are directed to covalent linkage between fluorinated compounds and Thiol (see abstract for Pentelute). Kobayshi teaches “we demonstrated that the “biologically inert” fluoroacetamide actually reacted with cysteine side chain selectively.” (page 14832, col 2). This is a feature that improves the reaction. Hence, one would substitute the FAcK in the scheme of Pentelute. The FAcK was incorporated (page 14833, col 2) into proteins (i.e. amino acid sequences) for linkage to a thiol group (SH). This reaction led to a bridge (staple) when tested in the same protein (see page 14835, col 1).
Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art, absent evidence to the contrary, would have reasonably expected that the use of FAcK would be a substitution of one known element used in similar reactions for another.
Response to Arguments
Applicants have argued that the action failed to address the limitations in the dependent claims or explain how the references relate. In order to make the teachings as they relate to the dependent claims clearer, each of the previously noted teachings are noted with the claim limitation to which they relate.
Secondly, applicants note that they have amended the claims to advance the prosecution. However, this amendment as set forth above has not been sufficient to overcome the art. This is expounded above in the claim rejection.
Conclusion
Claim 41 appears free of the art but is objected to as dependent on a rejected claim.
/MARIA MARVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1634