DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is in reply to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 12/17/2025.
Claims 1-9, 11-22, and 24-30 are pending.
Claims 10 and 23 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103
With respect to applicant argument about amended claims 1, 5, 14, 18 and 27-30 with “information regarding a number of secondary component carriers” and corresponding dependent claims, are not persuasive.
The Examiner presents that “a number” can be any number including ‘1’, and “secondary component carriers” can be interpreted as a second carrier or frequency.
Chakraborty discloses (Figs. 3-5, [39] FIG. 5 is a diagram 500 illustrating a communication system that includes the gNB 202 and the UE 204 according to some aspects of the disclosure. In an aspect of the disclosure, the gNB 202 and the UE 204 may maintain multiple beam pairs.
[40] Data transfer may occur through a preferred beam pair. For example, the preferred beam pair may include a first downlink beam 212 (DL Beam #1) and a first uplink beam 214 (UL Beam #1) corresponding to the first downlink beam 212. One or more backup beam pairs may be maintained as a fallback option if the preferred beam pair is blocked…….. the multiple beam pairs can be from different transmission points (TxPs). Although FIG. 5 shows a single TxP (a single gNB 202) transmitting multiple downlink beams (DL Beam #1 and DL Beam #2), the multiple downlink beams may be transmitted from two or more gNBs.
[41] In an aspect of the disclosure, if the UE 204 determines that the preferred beam pair is blocked, the UE 204 may send an indication of the blockage using the fallback beam pair. The gNB 202 may monitor the fallback beam pair(s) using a lower duty cycle.
[42] with respect to FIG. 3, UE 204 may use the fallback beam pair to provide feedback information related to an uplink beam transmission power. The gNB 202 may use such information to make better power control decisions. ….with respect to FIG. 4, the UE 204 may use the fallback beam pair to provide feedback information related to a preferred uplink beam being blocked and/or the use of an alternative candidate beam for transmitting an uplink signal.
(Construed UE reporting MPE event and providing information of use of at least one alternate or secondary beam frequency or carrier or secondary component carriers for UL)).
Therefore, claims 1, 5, 14, 18 and 27-30 and associated dependent claims are rejected over Chakraborty in view of Pratas.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 14-15, 17-19 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chakraborty et al. (WO 2018175002 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘CHAKRABORTY’) in view of Kiilerich Pratas et al. (US 20220256473 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘PRATAS’).
Regarding claim 1, CHAKROBORTY teaches a method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 5 UE 204, [0039] diagram 500 illustrating a communication system that includes the gNB 202 and the UE 204 according to some aspects of the disclosure. In an aspect of the disclosure, the gNB 202 and the UE 204 may maintain multiple beam pairs.
Fig. 6, [44] FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an example hardware implementation of an apparatus 600 configured to communicate according to one or more aspects of the disclosure. The apparatus 600 could embody or be implemented within a UE, a CPE, a TRP, a base station (BS).
Fig. 7, [59] FIG. 7 illustrates a process 700 for communication (or a method of communication) in accordance with some aspects of the disclosure. The process 700 may take place within a processing circuit (e.g., the processing circuit 610 of FIG. 6), which may be located in a UE, a CPE, a TRP, a BS), comprising:
detecting a potential maximum permissible exposure (MPE) event (Fig. 5, [40] Data transfer may occur through a preferred beam pair. For example, the preferred beam pair may include a first downlink beam 212 (DL Beam #1) and a first uplink beam 214 (UL Beam #1) corresponding to the first downlink beam 212. One or more backup beam pairs may be maintained as a fallback option if the preferred beam pair is blocked. For example, a fallback beam pair may include a second downlink beam 222 (DL Beam #2) and a second uplink beam 224 (UL Beam #2) corresponding to the second downlink beam 222.
[41] if the UE 204 determines that the preferred beam pair is blocked, the UE 204 may send an indication of the blockage using the fallback beam pair. The gNB 202 may monitor the fallback beam pair(s) using a lower duty cycle.
See also Fig. 7, Blocks 706, 708, Detection of Condition associated with Transmitting Signal at a First Power, [61] At block 706, the apparatus detects at least one condition (e.g., a restrictive condition) associated with transmitting the signal via the first uplink beam at a first transmission power. The at least one condition may include the first uplink beam exceeding a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) limit.); and
providing MPE assistance information to a network entity in response to the detection ([41] the UE 204 may send an indication of the blockage using the fallback beam pair. The gNB 202 may monitor the fallback beam pair(s) using a lower duty cycle. The UE 204 may use an uplink control channel (e.g., via a scheduling request) to indicate the blocked event. The UE 204 may also indicate a maximum power limit from the moment of the blockage (i.e., indicate quality of the preferred beam pair….
[42] with respect to FIG. 3, UE 204 may use the fallback beam pair to provide feedback information related to an uplink beam transmission power. The gNB 202 may use such information to make better power control decisions.).
See also Fig. 7, Blocks 712, [64] the apparatus transmits the signal to the second apparatus using a second uplink beam different from the first uplink beam…….. may determine an amount for a power backoff such that the second uplink beam does not exceed the MPE limit),
wherein the MPE assistance information indicates information regarding a number of secondary component carriers (
Figs. 3-5, [39] FIG. 5 is a diagram 500 illustrating a communication system that includes the gNB 202 and the UE 204 according to some aspects of the disclosure. In an aspect of the disclosure, the gNB 202 and the UE 204 may maintain multiple beam pairs.
[40] Data transfer may occur through a preferred beam pair. For example, the preferred beam pair may include a first downlink beam 212 (DL Beam #1) and a first uplink beam 214 (UL Beam #1) corresponding to the first downlink beam 212. One or more backup beam pairs may be maintained as a fallback option if the preferred beam pair is blocked…….. the multiple beam pairs can be from different transmission points (TxPs). Although FIG. 5 shows a single TxP (a single gNB 202) transmitting multiple downlink beams (DL Beam #1 and DL Beam #2), the multiple downlink beams may be transmitted from two or more gNBs.
[41] In an aspect of the disclosure, if the UE 204 determines that the preferred beam pair is blocked, the UE 204 may send an indication of the blockage using the fallback beam pair. The gNB 202 may monitor the fallback beam pair(s) using a lower duty cycle.
[42] with respect to FIG. 3, UE 204 may use the fallback beam pair to provide feedback information related to an uplink beam transmission power. The gNB 202 may use such information to make better power control decisions. ….with respect to FIG. 4, the UE 204 may use the fallback beam pair to provide feedback information related to a preferred uplink beam being blocked and/or the use of an alternative candidate beam for transmitting an uplink signal.
(Construed UE reporting MPE event and providing information of an alternate or secondary beam frequency or reduced preferred maximum secondary component carriers for UL)).
CHAKROBORTY does not explicitly disclose wherein the MPE assistance information indicates an increased minimum periodicity for uplink transmission (
Please note CHAKRABORTY discloses
[41] The gNB 202 may monitor the fallback beam pair(s) using a lower duty cycle, and
[42] with respect to FIG. 3, UE 204 may use the fallback beam pair to provide feedback information related to an uplink beam transmission power.
In [41, 42] CHAKRABORTY indicates corresponding to gNB monitoring of fallback beam, UL transmission using fallback beam also have a lower duty cycle or increased minimum periodicity).
In an analogous art, PRATAS teaches wherein the MPE assistance information indicates an increased minimum periodicity for uplink transmission (
Fig. 6 UE detecting MPE event at 606, sending msgA 610 red. in max UL duty cycle to BS,
[0047] ….an UL duty cycle of the UE may include a percentage (or portion) of slots that are available to a UE for UL transmission (e.g., a percentage of slots for which UL resources have been allocated to the UE for UL transmission to the BS).
[0048] According to an example embodiment, power exposure to a user may be measured over a period of time, e.g., over 10ms, or other time period. Thus, both the UE output power and/or the UE UL duty cycle (….. percentage of subframes, that the UE is actually performing UL transmission) will impact the power exposure to the user over such period of time. Thus, according to an example embodiment, a UE may address or respond to a detected power exposure (e.g., MPE) event by, e.g., reducing a maximum UE output power and/or reducing a maximum UE uplink (UL) duty cycle (or both).
[0066] the UE may determine an uplink duty cycle budget for the UE, e.g., based on the power exposure (e.g., MPE) event. ….. the method may include performing at least one of the following: wherein the sending comprises sending, by the user equipment, a random access procedure (RACH) message using a full maximum output power of the user equipment that is greater than the reduced maximum output power and using a full maximum uplink duty cycle for the user equipment that is greater than the reduced maximum uplink duty cycle, while omitting or skipping, by the user equipment, a scheduled uplink transmission of data in order to comply with the uplink duty cycle budget and the power exposure restriction; or wherein the sending comprises sending, by the user equipment, a random access procedure (RACH) message using at least one of a the reduced maximum output power of the user equipment or the reduced maximum uplink duty cycle, while also sending, by the user equipment, a scheduled uplink transmission of data, in order to comply with the uplink duty cycle budget and the power exposure restriction…
[0070] The UE may than take steps to reduce the power exposure ….reducing a maximum UL duty cycle (e.g., from 50% UL duty cycle to 20% UL duty cycle.
[0077] At 610, the UE sends/transmits a message (e.g., RACH message A of the 2-step RACH or other message), including a payload sent within physical uplink shared data channel (PUSCH), via a layer 2 (L2) MAC control element (MAC CE), including, e.g., the UE identity (UE ID), a cause or trigger (of the sending of this message) indicated as MPE event, and at least one of a reduced maximum output power of the UE (or power backoff value), and/or a reduced maximum UE UL duty cycle.
(It is obvious that reducing the percentage of available subframes from 50% to 20% for uplink transmission or skipping a scheduled UL transmission implies gaps or off period between uplink transmission is increased indicating MPE assistance information by msgA indicates an increased minimum periodicity for uplink transmission)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of including indication for reduced uplink duty cycle in msgA as MPE assistance information to BS of NOKIA to the system of to managing the transmission of uplink beams in case of MPE scenario of CHAKROBORTY in order to take the advantage of providing a method for allowing the BS to become aware of the actions taken by the UE in response to the power exposure event, and then perform actions to maintain the radio link between the UE and BS (PRATAS: [0070]).
Regarding claim 2, CHAKROBORTY, in view of PRATAS, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the MPE assistance information comprises at least one of:
a preferred number of uplink cells, a preferred number of simultaneous uplink secondary cells, a preferred total uplink bandwidth, or a preferred number of uplink MIMO layers (Fig. 3, [38] the gNB 202 and the UE 204 may decide upon one or more alternative candidate uplink beams for closing the communication link (or continuing the data exchange) in case the blockage condition occurs with respect to a preferred uplink beam (e.g., uplink beam 214). For example, the gNB 202 may schedule to receive the uplink beam 214 from the UE 204 at time n + K2, where n is a current time and K2 is a parameter negotiated by the gNB 202 and the UE 204. Accordingly, if the UE 204 knows that it may not be able to use the preferred TX beam at n + K2, the UE 204 may transmit an indication signal (e.g., a scheduling request (SR)) prior to n + K2 to indicate that the UE 204 intends to use an alternative beam(s) for transmitting an uplink signal (e.g., physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), sounding reference signal (SRS), etc.).
Fig. 5, [39] FIG. 5 is a diagram 500 illustrating a communication system that includes the gNB 202 and the UE 204 according to some aspects of the disclosure. In an aspect of the disclosure, the gNB 202 and the UE 204 may maintain multiple beam pairs.
[40] Data transfer may occur through a preferred beam pair. For example, the preferred beam pair may include a first downlink beam 212 (DL Beam #1) and a first uplink beam 214 (UL Beam #1) corresponding to the first downlink beam 212. One or more backup beam pairs may be maintained as a fallback option if the preferred beam pair is blocked. For example, a fallback beam pair may include a second downlink beam 222 (DL Beam #2) and a second uplink beam 224 (UL Beam #2) corresponding to the second downlink beam 222.
(Construed as the MPE assistance information comprises at least one of:
a preferred number of uplink cells, a preferred number of simultaneous uplink secondary cells)).
Regarding claim 4, CHAKROBORTY, in view of PRATAS, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the MPE assistance information comprises at least one of: a preferred number of simultaneous UL beams (Fig. 5, [42] with respect to FIG. 3, UE 204 may use the fallback beam pair to provide feedback information related to an uplink beam transmission power. The gNB 202 may use such information to make better power control decisions.
(Construed that fallback beam pair indicates at least one preferred simultaneous UL beams)).
CHAKROBORTY does not explicitly disclose wherein the MPE assistance information comprises at least one of: a preferred minimum UL periodicity, a preferred Multiplexing Mode, or a preferred uplink repetition interval.
PRATAS teaches wherein the MPE assistance information comprises at least one of: a preferred minimum UL periodicity, a preferred Multiplexing Mode, or a preferred uplink repetition interval (
Fig. 6 UE detecting MPE event at 606, sending msgA 610 red. in max UL duty cycle to BS,
[0077] At 610, the UE sends/transmits a message … a cause or trigger (of the sending of this message) indicated as MPE event, and at least one of …. a reduced maximum UE UL duty cycle. ).).
(It is obvious that reduced maximum UE UL duty cycle indicates a preferred minimum UL periodicity)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of including indication for reduced uplink duty cycle in msgA as MPE assistance information to BS of NOKIA to the system of to managing the transmission of uplink beams in case of MPE scenario of CHAKROBORTY in order to take the advantage of providing a method for allowing the BS to become aware of the actions taken by the UE in response to the power exposure event, and then perform actions to maintain the radio link between the UE and BS (PRATAS: [0070]).
Regarding claim 5, CHAKROBORTY in view of PRATAS, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the information regarding a number of secondary component carriers comprises a reduced preferred maximum secondary component carriers for UL (
Figs. 3-5, [39] FIG. 5 is a diagram 500 illustrating a communication system that includes the gNB 202 and the UE 204 according to some aspects of the disclosure. In an aspect of the disclosure, the gNB 202 and the UE 204 may maintain multiple beam pairs.
[40] …….. the multiple beam pairs can be from different transmission points (TxPs). Although FIG. 5 shows a single TxP (a single gNB 202) transmitting multiple downlink beams (DL Beam #1 and DL Beam #2), the multiple downlink beams may be transmitted from two or more gNBs.
[42] with respect to FIG. 3, UE 204 may use the fallback beam pair to provide feedback information related to an uplink beam transmission power. The gNB 202 may use such information to make better power control decisions. ….with respect to FIG. 4, the UE 204 may use the fallback beam pair to provide feedback information related to a preferred uplink beam being blocked and/or the use of an alternative candidate beam for transmitting an uplink signal.
(Construed UE reporting MPE event and providing information of an alternate or secondary beam frequency or reduced preferred maximum secondary component carriers for UL)).
Regarding claim 6, CHAKROBORTY in view of PRATAS, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the UE indicates it is no longer experience the MPE event by re-transmitting the MPE assistance information ([41] The UE 204 may later indicate a higher maximum power limit once the blockage condition (e.g. MPE condition) no longer exists).
Regarding claim 14, CHAKROBORTY teaches a method for wireless communications by a network entity (Fig. 5 gNB 202, [0039] diagram 500 illustrating a communication system that includes the gNB 202 and the UE 204 according to some aspects of the disclosure. In an aspect of the disclosure, the gNB 202 and the UE 204 may maintain multiple beam pairs.
Fig. 6, [44] FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an example hardware implementation of an apparatus 600 configured to communicate according to one or more aspects of the disclosure. The apparatus 600 could embody or be implemented within a UE, a CPE, a TRP, a base station (BS).
Fig. 9, [72] FIG. 9 illustrates a process 900 for communication (or a method of communication) in accordance with some aspects of the disclosure. The process 900 may take place within a processing circuit (e.g., the processing circuit 810 of FIG. 8), which may be located in a TRP, a BS, an eNB, a gNB, a UE …), comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE), maximum permissible exposure (MPE) assistance information indicating the UE has detected an MPE event (Fig. 5, [40] Data transfer may occur through a preferred beam pair. For example, the preferred beam pair may include a first downlink beam 212 (DL Beam #1) and a first uplink beam 214 (UL Beam #1) corresponding to the first downlink beam 212. One or more backup beam pairs may be maintained as a fallback option if the preferred beam pair is blocked. For example, a fallback beam pair may include a second downlink beam 222 (DL Beam #2) and a second uplink beam 224 (UL Beam #2) corresponding to the second downlink beam 222.
[41] if the UE 204 determines that the preferred beam pair is blocked, the UE 204 may send an indication of the blockage using the fallback beam pair. The gNB 202 may monitor the fallback beam pair(s) using a lower duty cycle. The UE 204 may use an uplink control channel (e.g., via a scheduling request) to indicate the blocked event. The UE 204 may also indicate a maximum power limit from the moment of the blockage (i.e., indicate quality of the preferred beam pair….
[42] with respect to FIG. 3, UE 204 may use the fallback beam pair to provide feedback information related to an uplink beam transmission power. The gNB 202 may use such information to make better power control decisions.).
See also Fig. 7, Blocks 706-712, See also Fig. 7, Blocks 712,
[61] At block 706, the apparatus detects at least one condition (e.g., a restrictive condition) associated with transmitting the signal via the first uplink beam at a first transmission power. The at least one condition may include the first uplink beam exceeding a maximum permissible exposure (MPE) limit.
[64] the apparatus transmits the signal to the second apparatus using a second uplink beam different from the first uplink beam…….. may determine an amount for a power backoff such that the second uplink beam does not exceed the MPE limit.
See also Fig. 9, Block 912, [77] receives the uplink signal from the second apparatus using a second uplink beam different from the first uplink beam),
wherein the MPE assistance information indicates information regarding a number of secondary component carriers (
Figs. 3-5, [39] FIG. 5 is a diagram 500 illustrating a communication system that includes the gNB 202 and the UE 204 according to some aspects of the disclosure. In an aspect of the disclosure, the gNB 202 and the UE 204 may maintain multiple beam pairs.
[40] Data transfer may occur through a preferred beam pair. For example, the preferred beam pair may include a first downlink beam 212 (DL Beam #1) and a first uplink beam 214 (UL Beam #1) corresponding to the first downlink beam 212. One or more backup beam pairs may be maintained as a fallback option if the preferred beam pair is blocked…….. the multiple beam pairs can be from different transmission points (TxPs). Although FIG. 5 shows a single TxP (a single gNB 202) transmitting multiple downlink beams (DL Beam #1 and DL Beam #2), the multiple downlink beams may be transmitted from two or more gNBs.
[41] In an aspect of the disclosure, if the UE 204 determines that the preferred beam pair is blocked, the UE 204 may send an indication of the blockage using the fallback beam pair. The gNB 202 may monitor the fallback beam pair(s) using a lower duty cycle.
[42] with respect to FIG. 3, UE 204 may use the fallback beam pair to provide feedback information related to an uplink beam transmission power. The gNB 202 may use such information to make better power control decisions. ….with respect to FIG. 4, the UE 204 may use the fallback beam pair to provide feedback information related to a preferred uplink beam being blocked and/or the use of an alternative candidate beam for transmitting an uplink signal.
(Construed UE reporting MPE event and providing information of an alternate or secondary beam frequency or reduced preferred maximum secondary component carriers for UL)); and
using the MPE assistance information to adjust uplink scheduling of the UE in an effort to reduce impact of the MPE event (
[42] with respect to FIG. 3, UE 204 may use the fallback beam pair to provide feedback information related to an uplink beam transmission power. The gNB 202 may use such information to make better power control decisions. In another example, with respect to FIG. 4, the UE 204 may use the fallback beam pair to provide feedback information related to a preferred uplink beam being blocked and/or the use of an alternative candidate beam for transmitting an uplink signal. The gNB 202 may use such information to adjust a scheduling behavior or probe a new beam for the UE 204.
[77] At block 912, the apparatus receives the uplink signal from the second apparatus using a second uplink beam different from the first uplink beam…..may receive the uplink signal via the second uplink beam at the first transmission power, wherein the second uplink beam is directed in a different direction than the first uplink beam.).
CHAKROBORTY does not explicitly disclose wherein the MPE assistance information indicates an increased minimum periodicity for uplink transmission.
In an analogous art, PRATAS teaches wherein the MPE assistance information indicates an increased minimum periodicity for uplink transmission (
Fig. 6 UE detecting MPE event at 606, sending msgA 610 red. in max UL duty cycle to BS,
[0047] ….an UL duty cycle of the UE may include a percentage (or portion) of slots that are available to a UE for UL transmission (e.g., a percentage of slots for which UL resources have been allocated to the UE for UL transmission to the BS).
[0048] According to an example embodiment, power exposure to a user may be measured over a period of time, e.g., over 10ms, or other time period. Thus, both the UE output power and/or the UE UL duty cycle (….. percentage of subframes, that the UE is actually performing UL transmission) will impact the power exposure to the user over such period of time. Thus, according to an example embodiment, a UE may address or respond to a detected power exposure (e.g., MPE) event by, e.g., reducing a maximum UE output power and/or reducing a maximum UE uplink (UL) duty cycle (or both).
[0066] the UE may determine an uplink duty cycle budget for the UE, e.g., based on the power exposure (e.g., MPE) event. ….. the method may include performing at least one of the following: wherein the sending comprises sending, by the user equipment, a random access procedure (RACH) message using a full maximum output power of the user equipment that is greater than the reduced maximum output power and using a full maximum uplink duty cycle for the user equipment that is greater than the reduced maximum uplink duty cycle, while omitting or skipping, by the user equipment, a scheduled uplink transmission of data in order to comply with the uplink duty cycle budget and the power exposure restriction; or wherein the sending comprises sending, by the user equipment, a random access procedure (RACH) message using at least one of a the reduced maximum output power of the user equipment or the reduced maximum uplink duty cycle, while also sending, by the user equipment, a scheduled uplink transmission of data, in order to comply with the uplink duty cycle budget and the power exposure restriction…
[0070] The UE may than take steps to reduce the power exposure ….reducing a maximum UL duty cycle (e.g., from 50% UL duty cycle to 20% UL duty cycle.
[0077] At 610, the UE sends/transmits a message (e.g., RACH message A of the 2-step RACH or other message), including a payload sent within physical uplink shared data channel (PUSCH), via a layer 2 (L2) MAC control element (MAC CE), including, e.g., the UE identity (UE ID), a cause or trigger (of the sending of this message) indicated as MPE event, and at least one of a reduced maximum output power of the UE (or power backoff value), and/or a reduced maximum UE UL duty cycle.
(It is obvious that reducing the percentage of available subframes from 50% to 20% for uplink transmission or skipping a scheduled UL transmission implies gaps or off period between uplink transmission is increased indicating MPE assistance information by msgA indicates an increased minimum periodicity for uplink transmission)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of including indication for reduced uplink duty cycle in msgA as MPE assistance information to BS of NOKIA to the system of to managing the transmission of uplink beams in case of MPE scenario of CHAKROBORTY in order to take the advantage of providing a method for allowing the BS to become aware of the actions taken by the UE in response to the power exposure event, and then perform actions to maintain the radio link between the UE and BS (PRATAS: [0070]).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 29, CHAKROBORTY teaches an apparatus for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 5 UE 204, [0039] diagram 500 illustrating a communication system that includes the gNB 202 and the UE 204 according to some aspects of the disclosure. In an aspect of the disclosure, the gNB 202 and the UE 204 may maintain multiple beam pairs.
Fig. 6, [44] FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an example hardware implementation of an apparatus 600 configured to communicate according to one or more aspects of the disclosure. The apparatus 600 could embody or be implemented within a UE, a CPE, a TRP, a base station (BS).
Fig. 7, [59] FIG. 7 illustrates a process 700 for communication (or a method of communication) in accordance with some aspects of the disclosure. The process 700 may take place within a processing circuit (e.g., the processing circuit 610 of FIG. 6), which may be located in a UE, a CPE, a TRP, a BS), comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 6 Apparatus e.g. UE 600, Processing Circuit 610),
a transmitter (Fig. 6 Apparatus e.g. UE 600, Transmitter 614).
Further claim 29 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 30, CHAKROBORTY teaches an apparatus for wireless communications by a network entity (Fig. 5 GNB 202, [0039] diagram 500 illustrating a communication system that includes the gNB 202 and the UE 204 according to some aspects of the disclosure. In an aspect of the disclosure, the gNB 202 and the UE 204 may maintain multiple beam pairs.
Fig. 6, [44] FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an example hardware implementation of an apparatus 600 configured to communicate according to one or more aspects of the disclosure. The apparatus 600 could embody or be implemented within a UE, a CPE, a TRP, a base station (BS).
Fig. 9, [72] FIG. 9 illustrates a process 900 for communication (or a method of communication) in accordance with some aspects of the disclosure. The process 900 may take place within a processing circuit (e.g., the processing circuit 810 of FIG. 8), which may be located in a TRP, a BS, an eNB, a gNB, a UE …), comprising:
a receiver (Fig. 8 Apparatus 800 e.g. GNB, Receiver 816), and at least one processor ((Fig. 8 Apparatus 800 e.g. GNB, Processing Circuit 810).
Further claim 30 is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 14, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 14.
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 29, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 29.
Regarding claim 28, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 30, and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 30.
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chakraborty et al. (WO 2018175002 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘CHAKRABORTY’) in view of Kiilerich Pratas et al. (US 20220256473 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘PRATAS’) and with further in view of Caporal del Barrio et al. (US 20210282096 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘BARRIO’).
Regarding claim 3, CHAKROBORTY, in view of PRATAS, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the MPE assistance information comprises at least one of: a preferred number of frequency-bands (Fig. 5, [42] with respect to FIG. 3, UE 204 may use the fallback beam pair to provide feedback information related to an uplink beam transmission power. The gNB 202 may use such information to make better power control decisions
(Construed that fallback beam indicates at least one preferred frequency-band)).
CHAKROBORTY and PRATAS do not explicitly disclose wherein the MPE assistance information comprises at least one of: preferred values for a set of parameters including target received power (PO), pathloss compensation factor (alpha), and bits per resource element (BPRE).
In an analogous art, BARRIO teaches wherein the MPE assistance information comprises at least one of: a preferred number of frequency-bands, preferred values for a set of parameters including target received power (PO), pathloss compensation factor (alpha), and bits per resource element (BPRE) (Fig. 5, messages: 505 message of worst P-PBO, 513 P-PBOR, 519 RSRP (alt. link,),
[0038] If the network receives a predictive—power back-off report (P-PBOR) after an MPE warning region is triggered, the network may determine which alternative links to evaluate with the UE during the MPE warning region.
[0045] At 505, UE 530 may transmit at least one warning indication to NE 540 indicating that the at least one warning & monitoring region has been entered, the likelihood of at least one MPE event occurring, the calculated at least one P-PBO value, and/or the worst-case P-PBO calculated at 503.
[0046] In some example embodiments, the at least one warning indication may depend on at least one reporting configuration and/or may be similar to a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) element, such as a power headroom report (PHR) structure described in 3GPP technical specification (TS) 38.321, section 6.1.3.8, as shown in FIG. 6. In general, a PHR reports any changes in path loss, including UL and DL.
[0047] indication includes at least one maxP-PBO.
[0053] At 513, UE 530 may transmit at least one warning indication to NE 540 indicating at least one P-PBO curve over a predetermined number of future frames. ….The at least one P-PBOR may be configured similar to the vectors illustrated in FIG. 8.
[0054] The at least one P-PBOR may be generated based at least partially upon data from active and/or inactive arrays. At least one active array may be connected to at least one network entity, such as a gNB similar to NE 540, while at least one inactive array may not be connected in a similar way but may instead monitor the at least one user/object and/or provide user/object trajectory data configured for generation of the at least one P-PBOR.
[0056] the at least one P-PBOR vector of at least one P-PBO may include at least one indication of an actual severity of the at least one MPE event, as well as a period of time that NE 540 may adjust and/or redirect at least one alternative link.
[0057] At 515, NE 540 may perform at least one action based upon the at least one P-PBOR received from UE 530 at 513. ….if the severity of the MPE event indicated by UE 530 is equal to or above the predetermined threshold, NE 540 may determine to switch at least one UL transmission to a different frequency, such as FR1.
[0058] At 517, based upon the at least one action in 515, NE 540 may transmit at least one message to UE 530 configured to cause UE 530 to monitor at least one specific alternative link. At 519, UE 530 may transmit to NE 540 at least one received reference signal receive power (RSRP) indicating at least one alternative link.
(Construed as indicating at least preferred number of frequency-bands, preferred values for a set of parameters including P0, pathloss as shown in Fig. 5 and Fig. 8)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of reporting P-PBOR and RSRP of alternative links as assistance information of BARRIO to the system of to managing the transmission of uplink beams in case of MPE scenario of CHAKROBORTY and PRATAS in order to take the advantage of providing a method for improving link redirection with an MPE warning & monitoring region for early user proximity detection since the network has time to determine which available alternative link would be best to minimize link failures (BARRIO: [0037]).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Claims 7-9, 11-12, 20-22 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chakraborty et al. (WO 2018175002 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘CHAKRABORTY’) in view of Kiilerich Pratas et al. (US 20220256473 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘PRATAS’) and with further in view of Hooli et al. (WO 2020069740 A1, hereinafter ‘HOOLI’).
Regarding claim 7, CHAKROBORTY, in view of PRATAS, teaches the method of claim 1.
CHAKROBORTI and PRATAS do not explicitly disclose wherein, after detecting the potential MPE event, the UE includes a reduced number of simultaneous UL transmissions in the MPE Assistance information.
In an analogous art, HOOLI teaches wherein, after detecting the potential MPE event, the UE includes a reduced number of simultaneous UL transmissions in the MPE Assistance information (
Fig. 1, EMBODIMENTS
[0011] An antenna panel of the UE 1021 , 102b and/or the TRP 104a, 104b, 104c may form multiple beams. The beams may be implemented using a digital architecture, where the beams may be simultaneously multiplexed in frequency domain.
Fig. 3, UE with CG (Configured Grant) PUSCH for transmission simultaneously on 2 beams decides to selects 1 beam for reduced number of simultaneous transmission due to MPE,
[0025] Fig. 3 illustrates an example of adapting use of beams for uplink transmission.
[0026] As part of CG PUSCH configuration, the UE may be configured with two beam pair links 304, 306; one 304 towards TRP#A and the other 306 towards TRP#B 306. …. The UE measures Layer 1 Reference Signal Received Power (L1- RSRP) values y.sub.A and y.sub.B for TRP#A and TRP#B gNB beams, using the corresponding UE beams in the measurement. The UE may use the measured L1-RSRP values as beam pair link metric. In the example, the UE may be configured to select the beam pair link with the higher metric…. It is noted that there may be also additional factors that the UE may take into account when determining metric for the uplink beam pair link from measurement of DL reference signals. These can be e.g. a power reduction due to maximum permissible exposure (MPE) limits to certain direction (e.g. toward human body), etc.
[0027] the UE will select the beam pair link 306 with TRP#B beam.
[0028] Accordingly, there is provided that the access node is allowed to dynamically balance the load of CG PUSCH reserved resources with minimal overhead and considering each UEs propagation conditions.
(It is obvious that access node gets assistance information through UE beam selection and UL transmission)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of reduced number of simultaneous UP transmission due MPE or blocked transmission identified when configured with transmission using multiple UL beams of HOOLI to the system of to managing the transmission of uplink beams in case of MPE scenario of CHAKROBORTY and PRATAS in order to take the advantage of providing a method for providing information to network for dynamically balance the load of CG PUSCH reserved resources with minimal overhead and considering UEs propagation conditions (HOOLI: [0003, 002, 00287]).
Regarding claim 8, CHAKROBORTY, in view of PRATAS, teaches the method of claim 1.
CHAKROBORTI and PRATAS do not explicitly disclose wherein, after detecting the potential MPE event, the UE includes a reduced maximum aggregated UL bandwidth in the MPE assistance information.
HOOLI teaches wherein, after detecting the potential MPE event, the UE includes a reduced maximum aggregated UL bandwidth in the MPE assistance information (
Fig. 1, [0011] An antenna panel of the UE 1021 , 102b and/or the TRP 104a, 104b, 104c may form multiple beams. The beams may be implemented using a digital architecture, where the beams may be simultaneously multiplexed in frequency domain.
Fig. 3, UE with CG (Configured Grant) PUSCH for transmission simultaneously on 2 beams decides to selects 1 beam for reduced number of simultaneous transmission due to MPE,
See [0025-0028] presented above of claim 7.
(It is obvious the with UE configured with multiple beams for simultaneous UL transmission using frequency multiplexing, selecting less number of beams due to MPE for UL transmission and correspondingly access point dynamically balancing the load of CG PUSCH reserved resources indicates assistance information to access point indicates reduced maximum aggregated UL bandwidth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of reduced number of simultaneous UP transmission due MPE or blocked transmission identified when configured with transmission using multiple UL beams of HOOLI to the system of to managing the transmission of uplink beams in case of MPE scenario of CHAKROBORTY and PRATAS in order to take the advantage of providing a method for providing information to network for dynamically balance the load of CG PUSCH reserved resources with minimal overhead and considering UEs propagation conditions (HOOLI: [0003, 002, 00287]).
Regarding claim 10, CHAKROBORTY, in view of PRATAS, teaches the method of claim 1.
CHAKROBORTI and PRATAS do not explicitly disclose wherein, after detecting the potential MPE event, the UE includes at least one of a reduced maximum number of uplink multiple input multiple output (UL-MIMO) or a reduced number of frequency bands in the MPE assistance information.
HOOLI teaches wherein, after detecting the potential MPE event, the UE includes at least one of a reduced maximum number of uplink multiple input multiple output (UL-MIMO) or a reduced number of frequency bands in the MPE assistance information (Fig. 1, [0011] An antenna panel of the UE 1021 , 102b and/or the TRP 104a, 104b, 104c may form multiple beams. The beams may be implemented using a digital architecture, where the beams may be simultaneously multiplexed in frequency domain.
Fig. 3, UE with CG (Configured Grant) PUSCH for transmission simultaneously on 2 beams decides to selects 1 beam for reduced number of simultaneous transmission due to MPE,
See [0025-0028] presented above of claim 7.
(It is obvious the with UE configured with multiple beams for simultaneous UL transmission using frequency multiplexing, selecting less number of beams due to MPE for UL transmission and correspondingly access point dynamically balancing the load of CG PUSCH reserved resources indicates reduced number of frequency bands in the MPE assistance information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of reduced number of simultaneous UP transmission due MPE or blocked transmission identified when configured with transmission using multiple UL beams of HOOLI to the system of to managing the transmission of uplink beams in case of MPE scenario of CHAKROBORTY and PRATAS in order to take the advantage of providing a method for providing information to network for dynamically balance the load of CG PUSCH reserved resources with minimal overhead and considering UEs propagation conditions (HOOLI: [0003, 002, 00287]).
Regarding claim 11, CHAKROBORTY, in view of PRATAS, teaches the method of claim 1.
CHAKROBORTI and PRATAS do not explicitly disclose wherein, after detecting the potential MPE event, the UE includes a reduced multiplexing mode in the MPE assistance information.
HOOLI teaches wherein, after detecting the potential MPE event, the UE includes a reduced multiplexing mode in the MPE assistance information (
Fig. 1, [0011] An antenna panel of the UE 1021 , 102b and/or the TRP 104a, 104b, 104c may form multiple beams. The beams may be implemented using a digital architecture, where the beams may be simultaneously multiplexed in frequency domain.
Fig. 3, UE with CG (Configured Grant) PUSCH for transmission simultaneously on 2 beams decides to selects 1 beam for reduced number of simultaneous transmission due to MPE,
See [0025-0028] presented above of claim 7.
(It is obvious the with UE configured with multiple beams for simultaneous UL transmission using frequency multiplexing, selecting less number of beams due to MPE for UL transmission and correspondingly access point dynamically balancing the load of CG PUSCH reserved resources indicates assistance information to access point indicates a reduced frequency multiplexing mode in the MPE assistance information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of reduced number of simultaneous UP transmission due MPE or blocked transmission identified when configured with transmission using multiple UL beams of HOOLI to the system of to managing the transmission of uplink beams in case of MPE scenario of CHAKROBORTY and PRATAS in order to take the advantage of providing a method for providing information to network for dynamically balance the load of CG PUSCH reserved resources with minimal overhead and considering UEs propagation conditions (HOOLI: [0003, 002, 00287]).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 9.
Claims 13 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chakraborty et al. (WO 2018175002 A1, of IDS, hereinafter ‘CHAKRABORTY’) in view of Kiilerich Pratas et al. (US 20220256473 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘PRATAS’) and with further in view of Jung et al. (US 20230046727 A1, hereinafter ‘JUNG’).
Regarding claim 13, CHAKROBORTY in view of PRATAS, teaches the method of claim 1.
CHAKROBORTY does not explicitly disclose wherein, after detecting the potential MPE event, the UE includes an increased repetition interval in the MPE assistance information.
PRATAS teaches wherein, after detecting the potential MPE event, the UE includes an increased repetition interval in the MPE assistance information (
[0066] the UE may determine an uplink duty cycle budget for the UE, e.g., based on the power exposure (e.g., MPE) event. ….. the method may include performing at least one of the following: wherein the sending comprises sending, by the user equipment, a random access procedure (RACH) message using a full maximum output power of the user equipment that is greater than the reduced maximum output power and using a full maximum uplink duty cycle for the user equipment that is greater than the reduced maximum uplink duty cycle, while omitting or skipping, by the user equipment, a scheduled uplink transmission of data in order to comply with the uplink duty cycle budget and the power exposure restriction; or wherein the sending comprises sending, by the user equipment, a random access procedure (RACH) message using at least one of a the reduced maximum output power of the user equipment or the reduced maximum uplink duty cycle, while also sending, by the user equipment, a scheduled uplink transmission of data, in order to comply with the uplink duty cycle budget and the power exposure restriction…
(It is obvious when UE is configured with UL repetition, sending RACH with information for skipping a scheduled UL transmission or reducing UL duty cycle causing fewer available slots for UL transmission (see [0047-0048]) indicates an increased repetition interval between at least one pair of consecutive repetition)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of including indication for reduced uplink duty cycle in msgA as MPE assistance information to BS of PRATAS to the system of to managing the transmission of uplink beams in case of MPE scenario of CHAKROBORTY in order to take the advantage of providing a method for allowing the BS to become aware of the actions taken by the UE in response to the power exposure event, and then perform actions to maintain the radio link between the UE and BS (PRATAS: [0070]).
CHAKROBORTI and PRATAS do not explicitly disclose the UE includes an increased repetition interval in the MPE assistance information.
JUNG teaches the UE includes an increased repetition interval in the MPE assistance information (
[0014] In RAN #84 meeting, a new Rel-17 NR Work Item “New WID: Further enhancements on MIMO for NR” (RP-193133) was approved. The Work Item includes the detailed objectives to extend specification support in the following areas [RAN1].
[0015] A first area can be enhancement on multi-beam operation, mainly targeting frequency range 2 (FR2, e.g. 24250 MHz-52600 MHz according to 3GPP TS 38.101) while also applicable to frequency range 1 (FR1, 410 MHz-7125 MHz according to 3GPP TS 38.101). …… This area can also include identifying and specifying features to facilitate UL beam selection for UEs equipped with multiple panels, considering UL coverage loss mitigation due to MPE, based on UL beam indication with the unified TCI framework for UL fast panel selection.
[0022] At least some embodiments can also provide enhanced uplink beam management to handle MPE issues …. provide methods to determine default UL beams for PUSCH/PUCCH repetition and methods to simultaneously report UL and DL beams and enable fast UL beam adaptation.
[0080] the UE PHR MAC CE report may include an indication of whether the current transmit power-setting (e.g., associated with the PUSCH transmission comprising the PHR MAC CE) for Y additional seconds with a reference UL duty cycle the UE would result in a need for the UE to take action to reduce MPE/SAR (e.g., large P-MPR backoff or temporarily turn-off the antenna panel/array). Y may be a single value or a set of values, predetermined, configured by gNB or indicated by the UE from a set of possible values (e.g., 0.5 sec, 1 sec, 3 sec, 5 sec—based on the reference UL duty cycle).
[0081] In one example, the UE includes the indication and/or the value of Y (e.g., smallest value) if the UE would need to take action related to MPE/SAR power management.
[0083] In this case, the value of Y=Y′ (potentially selected from a different set of values (e.g., 0, 100 ms, 300 ms, 500 ms) for a reference UL duty cycle indicates the minimum amount time before the UE would stop applying the MPE/SAR reductions actions (with the current transmit power setting and reference UL duty cycle). In one example, the reference UL duty cycle may be predetermined, configured by gNB.
(It is obvious that when configured with PUSCH/PUCCH repetition, temporarily turning off the antenna panel/array causes increased repetition interval and UE reporting the corresponding MPE/SAR reductions actions as MPE assistance information)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of reporting UL duty cycle reduction applying the MPE/SAR reductions to gNB of JUNG to the system of to managing the transmission of uplink beams in case of MPE scenario of CHAKROBORTY in order to take the advantage of providing a method for efficient UL beam management procedure taking into account MPE related maximum transmit power reduction (JUNG: [0002, 0083]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bhamri et al. (US 20230022915 A1), describing TRANSMISSION SKIPPING BASED ON A BEAM CORRESPONDENCE
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413