DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of 16-25, 27, 28, 29, and 30 in the reply filed on 10/17/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Examiner note: Claims 26 and 28-30 are not supported by the elected specie (Fig 1-7).
In regard to claims 28-30; there is no support for a stack of roll of flexible polymer gel loaded substrate. Stacked configurations are supported by the species of group II, Fig 10 and group III, Fig 11. Additionally, there is no support for an anode and cathode coated with an activated carbon extending through the outer shell.
Claims 26 and 28-30 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected specie, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/17/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the flexible outer shell of actuator, inlet of actuator, connector, actuator hydrating solution reservoir, inlet of actuator hydrating solution reservoir, fluid gate, and electrodes must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-20, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banister et al (US 20100268200 A1) in view of Krivoy et al. (US 20070106199 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Banister discloses a wearable device for metering fluids comprising (Figs 1-2; [0032]); a rigid or semi rigid outer shell (exterior shell 8, Fig 1); at least one metered fluid chamber (chamber 1000, Annotated Fig 1; [0098]) having at least one inlet, at least one outlet (one inlet or outlet port, claim 1; [0097]), and at least one sidewall (side wall 1001, Annotated Fig 1, claim 1), wherein an interior of the sidewall is in contact with and retains or separates fluid (fluid or gas volume 6, Fig 1) in the fluid chamber (1000, Annotated Fig 1) from other components of the device (Figs 1-2), said device comprising at least one actuator assembly (assembly actuator: actuator material 1+ wicking material; claim 88, [0098]; claim 1) comprising a flexible outer shell (actuator material 1, Fig 2) containing at least one polymer actuator material ([0097]) and a wicking material in contact with the polymer actuator material (claim 88), said actuator assembly (actuator assembly; [0098]; claim 1) having an inlet (inlets from which the hydrates solution enters after passing through a gate; [0007]) configured to provide a fluid path for a polymer actuator hydrating solution (solution 4 hydrating the actuator material 1, [0097]); a connector (connector where the fluid gate is located, clam 1) configured to allow introduction of a hydrating solution (4) into the actuator assembly (actuator assembly; [0098]; claim 1) ; at least one platen (plunger material 5, Fig 1) located between an exterior wall of the actuator assembly outer shell (1002, Annotated Fig 2) and an exterior wall the metered fluid chamber (1003, Annotated Fig 2) (See annotated Fig 2); an actuator hydrating solution reservoir (actuator hydrating solution reservoir, claim 1) having one or more inlets (inlet port of hydrating solution reservoir, claim 1) or outlets, in fluid communication via a fluid path for delivering the actuator hydrating solution (4) to the polymer actuator assembly (actuator assembly; [0098]; claim 1); and a fluid gate (fluid gate, claim 1) configured to open or close the fluid path between the hydrating solution reservoir and the actuator assembly (claim 88: wherein the fluid gate can be opened and closed like a valve), effectively keeping the actuator material dry until the gate is opened (claim 1: “ (…) a fluid gate located at some point between actuator hydrating solution reservoir and the polymer actuator, effectively keeping actuator dry”); wherein the rigid or semi rigid external shell (8) is configured to encase the actuator assembly (actuator assembly; [0098]; claim 1) (Fig 1-2), the platen (5) and the metered fluid chamber (1000, Annotated Fig 1) and hold all components other than the hydration solution reservoir (Fig 1), whereby the polymer actuator assembly (actuator assembly; [0098]; claim 1) in contact with the at least one platen (5), once hydrated is configured to expand and apply pressure to the at least one platen (5) which in turn in contact with the fluid chamber (1000, Annotated Fig 1), applies pressure to the fluid chamber (1000, Annotated Fig 1) whereby to force fluid from fluid (6) chamber (1000, Annotated Fig 1).
Banister discloses a one way valve (one way valve, not shown; [0112]), but is silent regarding the one way valve configured to allow flow of hydrating fluid into but not out of the actuator assembly.
Krivoy discloses a device (Fig 2A) comprising an actuator assembly (10, Fig 2B ) including a one way valve (40) configured to allow flow of a fluid into but not out of the actuator assembly (Fig 3-4, shows the arrow 60 indicating movement of the fluid away from valve 40).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Banister with similar one way check valve in the input conduit of actuator assembly the as taught by Krivoy for the purpose of preventing fluid from exiting the actuator assembly ([0048]).
Regarding claim 17, Banister/Krivoy discloses the device of claim 16. Banister discloses where the fluid chamber and/or the polymer actuator assembly and/or the hydration solution reservoir is/are removable (claim 88: “(…) wherein the fluid chamber is removable”).
Regarding claim 18, Banister/Krivoy discloses the device of claim 16. Banister discloses characterized by one or more of the following features: (a) wherein the fluid chamber inlet is capped or sealed by a pierceable septum (claim 88: “ (…) wherein one or more of the fluid chambers inlet/outlet ports are capped or sealed by a pierce able septum”); (b) wherein the polymer actuator material comprises a hydrophilic material, or a combination of a hydrophilic and a hydrophobic material; (c) wherein the fluid gate is configured to open or close by piercing, dissolving, tearing, pushing, bursting, pinching the connector, or by pulling the fluid gate out of the way of the hydrating solution path to allow path of hydration fluid to the polymer actuator; (d) wherein the fluid gate comprises a mechanical valve; and (e) further comprising tubing removably attached to the device for introducing the hydrating solution into the device.
Regarding claim 19, Banister/Krivoy discloses the device of claim 16. Banister discloses characterized by one or both of the following features: (a) wherein the metered fluid chamber (1000, Annotated Fig 1) is configured for filling in the device (chamber 1000, annotated Fig 1, has inlet port structurally capable of permitting filling of the device; claim 1); (b) wherein the metered fluid chamber is configured for filling via an injection of fluid into the septum and fluid in the metered fluid chamber is released through to a desired wearer contact point; and (c) said device optionally further comprising a subcutaneous needle, an intramuscular needle, an intravenous needle, a catheter or a luer connection configured to allow metering of released fluid directly to a desired contact point of a wearer.
Regarding claim 20, Banister/Krivoy discloses the device of claim 16. Banister discloses characterized by one or more of the following features: (a) wherein the actuator material has varying layers of density and porosity (Claim 88: “ (…) wherein the actuator material has varying layers of density and porosity”); (b) wherein the actuator material has both reacted and unreacted molecular sites, preferably varying degrees of reacted and unreacted molecular sites; (c) wherein the actuator hydrating solution comprises a combination of actuator materials having a ratio of reacted to unreacted molecular sites selected to determine a speed and pressure generation of the actuator material, and preferably wherein protonation of reactive molecular sites within the actuator material, by interaction with the actuator hydrating solution or chemical byproduct of that interaction, determines the speed and pressure generation of the actuator material; (d) wherein the actuator materials are selected by density or porosity to determine a speed and pressure generation of the actuator material; (e) wherein the actuator material surface in fluid contact with the actuator hydrating solution material is configured to determine a speed and pressure generation of the actuator; and (f) wherein the actuator hydrating solution pH or chemical makeup is selected to determine a speed and pressure generation of the actuator material.
Regarding claim 27, Banister/Krivoy discloses the device of claim 16. Banister discloses wherein the fluid in the fluid chamber comprises a medication, a therapeutic material, a gene therapy or a protein, and optionally wherein said device is configured to deliver said medication, therapeutic material, gene therapy or protein to a predetermined site on or in a patient ([0090]; Claim 88: “wherein the fluid in the fluid chamber is a medicine or has therapeutic value”).
Claims 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banister et al (US 20100268200 A1) in view of Krivoy et al. (US 20070106199 A1) in further view of Rhinehart et al. (US 20160158519 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Banister/Krivoy discloses the device of claim 16. Banister/Krivoy are silent regarding characterized by one or more of the following features: (a) the device rigid or semi rigid exterior case has one or more windows configured to allow visualization of a metered fluid volume indicator; (b) wherein the device rigid or semi-rigid exterior case has a door or hatch configured to cover the two fill ports and latch closed when the fluid chamber is filled and the actuator activated, so that the device cannot be reopened during the use; and (c) wherein the device rigid or semi-rigid exterior case has an interior pocket configured to shield and protect outlet tubing running from the exterior case, and wherein the outlet tubing has a flow restrictor or anti siphon valve in the fluid path to stop un-authorized removal or theft of medications from the device; (d) wherein the rigid or semi rigid outer shell comprises a syringe.
Gyory teaches a device a device ([0051]) comprising a rigid or semi rigid exterior case (the top housing 242, Fig 2) has one or more windows (visualization window; [0051]) configured to allow visualization of a metered fluid volume indicator (fluid level indicator 244).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Banister/Krivoy with similar visualization window and metered fluid volume indicator as taught by Gyory for the purpose of indicating the percentage and volume of fluid delivered as well as volume remaining in the reservoir ([0051]).
Claims 22-23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banister et al (US 20100268200 A1) in view of Krivoy et al. (US 20070106199 A1) in further view of Davis et al. (US 20140276415 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Banister/Krivoy discloses the device of claim 16. Banister discloses wherein the actuator hydrating solution container is contained within the outer shell (8) of the device (Fig, 1) (Claim 88: “(…)porous actuator housing, actuator hydrating solution reservoir are enclosed together as a sealed unit with an elastic membrane”); and wherein the device optionally is configured so that shutting the clam shell activates the metering device, and wherein activation triggers a spring loaded subcutaneous needle and canula to project through a side of the exterior case into a wearer's skin, wherein the needle is configured to retract back into the exterior case in the same action, leaving the canula in a subcutaneous layer below the skin of the wearer and in fluid connectivity to the fluid chamber (underlined claimed language is directed to an optional configuration).
Banister/Krivoy are silent regarding the outer shell is hinged like a clam shell and is configured to release the actuator hydrating solution into the actuator assembly when the outer shell is shut.
Davis teaches a device (Fig 4) comprising an outer shell (rigid, fixed volume housing 247, Fig 7A) is hinged like a clam shell ([0040]: “The housing 247 can include halves 247a, 247b coupled together by one or more hinge elements 249 and a closure mechanism 248”) and is configured to release the actuator solution (solution from drive fluid reservoir 230) into the actuator assembly (drive chamber 235 and divider 240) when the outer shell is shut (the housing 247 needs to be closed for the device to function as intended and the actuator fluid from 230 be released into the actuator assembly 235+240).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the shell of device of Banister/Krivoy with similar hinged structure as taught by Davis for the purpose of facilitating opening and closing of the device ([0040]).
Regarding claim 23, Banister/Krivoy/Davis discloses the device in claim 22. Banister discloses a septum configured to be pierced (septum; [0022]).
Banister is silent wherein the device is configured so the action of closing the device additionally pierces a septum or housing of a prefilled fluid container thereby making fluid connectivity between prefilled fluid container and subcutaneous fluid exit point.
Davis teaches a device (Fig 4) comprising an outer shell (rigid, fixed volume housing 247, Fig 7A) is hinged like a clam shell ([0040]).
Banister/Krivoy/Davis as modified teaches the device configured so the action of closing the device additionally pierces a septum or housing of a prefilled fluid container (The exterior shell 8 of Banister is modified with teaching of Davis to open and close via a hinge mechanism. The device is structured to function when the shell 8 of Banister, modified with teaching of Davis, is in the closed position. Before the device is used, the shell 8 needs to be closed. The action of closing is necessary for the septum ([0022] of Banister) to be pierced).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the shell of device of Banister/Krivoy with similar hinged structure as taught by Davis for the purpose of facilitating opening and closing of the device ([0040]).
Claims 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banister et al (US 20100268200 A1) in view of Krivoy et al. (US 20070106199 A1) in further view of Banister et al. (US 20120029430 A1), hereinafter Banister-2.
Regarding claim 24, Banister/Krivoy discloses the device of claim 16. Banister/Krivoy are silent wherein the actuator is electrically activatable and the actuator assembly includes electrodes configured to eliminate electrolysis gas production at the electrodes via double layer capacitor, and wherein said device also contains a power source and electrical controller connected to the actuator.
Banister-2 teaches a device (Fig 4) comprising an actuator (actuator assembly; [0032], [0073]) is electrically activatable ([0032]) and the actuator assembly includes electrodes configured to eliminate electrolysis gas production at the electrodes (electrodes; [0073]) ([0074]: “Once the discharge occurs, the charging process starts again, thereby eliminating gas generation at the electrode by using charge and discharge cycles”) via double layer capacitor (claim 43; [0032]), and wherein said device also contains a power source and electrical controller (controller and power source [0073]) connected to the actuator ([0032]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Banister/Krivoy with similar electrically activable actuator having electrode comprising a double layer capacitor as taught by Banister-2 for the purpose of providing improvement to the actuator ([0032]) and eliminate gas generation ([0073]-[0074]).
Claims 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banister et al (US 20100268200 A1) in view of Krivoy et al. (US 20070106199 A1) in further view of Banister et al. (US 20120029430 A1), hereinafter Banister-2, in further view of Couvillon et al. (US 20040068224 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Banister/Krivoy discloses the device of claim 16. Banister/Krivoy are silent wherein the actuator is electrically activatable and the actuator assembly includes electrodes configured to eliminate electrolysis gas production at the electrodes via carbon double layer capacitor, and wherein said device also contains a power source and electrical controller connected to the actuator and said controller is in wireless communication with a sensor and or hand held device wireless device.
Banister-2 teaches a device (Fig 4) comprising the actuator (actuator assembly; [0032],[0073]) is electrically activatable ([0032]) and the actuator assembly includes electrodes (electrodes; [0073]) configured to eliminate electrolysis gas production ([0074]: “Once the discharge occurs, the charging process starts again, thereby eliminating gas generation at the electrode by using charge and discharge cycles”) at the electrodes via carbon double layer capacitor (claim 43; [0032]), and wherein said device also contains a power source and electrical controller (controller and power source [0073]) connected to the actuator (actuator assembly; [0032],[0073]) and said controller is in communication with a sensor (claim 20-21) and or hand held device wireless device.
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Banister/Krivoy with similar electrically activable actuator having electrode comprising a double layer capacitor as taught by Banister-2 for the purpose of providing improvement to the actuator ([0032]) and eliminate gas generation ([0073]-[0074]).
Banister/Krivoy/Banister-2 are silent wherein the communication of the controller with the sensor is wireless.
Couvillon teaches a device comprising a controller is in wireless communication with a sensor ([0080]).
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to modify the device of Banister/Krivoy/Banister-2 with similar wireless communication between the controller and the sensor as taught by Couvillon, for the purpose of improving user experience, facilitating mobility and portability ([0083]; [0080]).
Conclusion
/GUILLERMO G PAZ ESTEVEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/Lauren P Farrar/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783