DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an RCE filed on 03/19/2026. Claims 1-8, 11, 12, 14-18, and 27-30 are pending. Claims 1, 14 and 27 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the amendment filed on 03/19/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons set forth below.
Applicant argues mid page 2 of arguments:
Kang does not describe that configuration of the PUSCH including power control parameters, is based on which UE antenna panel is reported to the gNB in the BFRQ
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, rejection is based on combination of references and not just Kang. Second, Kang in para[0202] teaches DCI includes various resources for PUSCH uplink transmissions for UE to consider, and UE determines PUSCH transmission based on SRI, and TPMI (Transmission Power) of DCI, found in “SRS resource indicator” field of DCI, and “precoding information” field of DCI that UE receives. The TPMI indicates a precoder to be applied across an antenna port (i.e., antenna panel), that corresponds to an SRS resource which is selected/identified by SRI. As such, it is understood that PUSCH configuration and as configured by UE, is based on SRI that correlates with SRS resource, and wherein the antenna ports are applied to the SRS resource, wherein PUSCH is used for transmitting BFR/BFRQ to base station, and as such, PUSCH configuration, is based on UE antenna ports (i.e., antenna panels) that are reported/transmitted to the gNB for BFR/BFRQ. (Kang: See para[0202], para[0018], and para[0192])
Applicant’s all other arguments are based on above but repeated for other independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 14-18, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220295589 A1 to TSAI et al., (hereinafter TSAI) in view of US 20220060302 A1 to Zhang et al., (hereinafter Zhang) and in further view of US 20220368406 A1 to Kang et. al., (hereinafter Kang)
Claim 1. A method, performed by a user equipment (UE), of beam failure recovery (BFR) with uplink antenna panel selection, the method comprising:
determining a first UE antenna panel (i.e., antenna port) corresponding to a candidate beam detection (CBD) reference signal (RS) (i.e., CSI-RS resource configuration);
(TSAI: See para[0130] UE 200 may initiate one or more transmissions at the PCell in a specific slot n and according to the antenna port (i.e., a first UE antenna panel) quasi co-location (QCL) parameters associated with CSI-RS resource configuration (i.e., a candidate beam detection (CBD) reference signal (RS). See para [0126] UE 200 may also transmit the panel ID with CFRA. UE 200 panel ID may be signaled in a CFRA resource when UE 200 is equipped more than one panel)
reporting to a gNB a beam failure recovery request (BFRQ),
(TSAI: See para[0060] #282, and para[0160] the UE transmits and conveys to NW the beam failure (i.e., BFRQ) via PRACH preamble transmitting at the contention-free PRACH occasion (RO))
after receiving from the gNB a BFR response to the BFRQ, changing from a second UE antenna panel (i.e., antenna port) to the first UE antenna panel (i.e., antenna port) and corresponding configuration for uplink transmission.
(TSAI: See para[0053]-[0054] for when a beam failure is detected, the UE transmit PRACH of the best identified candidate beam (i.e., antenna panel ), according to PRACH configuration provided to UE by the RRC message “PRACH_ResourceDedicatedBFR”. See para[0130] UE 200 may initiate one or more transmissions at the PCell in a specific slot n and according to the antenna port (i.e., a first/Second UE antenna panel) quasi co-location (QCL) parameters associated with CSI-RS resource configuration (i.e., corresponding configuration for uplink transmission)
Although TSAI teaches the BFRQ, wherein UE transmits the beam failure request (i.e., BFRQ) (TSAI: See para[0053]-[0060]), wherein Panel ID is signaled in CFRA resource (TSAI: See para[0126]), and wherein CFRA is for beam recovery request (BFRQ) transmission (TSAI: See para[0112]), however, TSAI does not seem to explicitly disclose that BFRQ includes “UE antenna panel information”, as understood by:
the BFRQ including UE antenna panel information for the first UE antenna panel; and
However, in a similar field, Zhang in para[0373], teaches that the BFRQ transmitted and reported by the terminal device to network, includes antenna panel information. (Zhang: See para[0373])
TSAI teaches different beam failure detection and recovery techniques involving a UE/TRP that has multiple antenna panels, wherein the UE is first configured with a set of RS for beam failure detection. (TSAI: See Fig. 10, #220 and para[0108])
Zhang teaches beam failure detection and recovery techniques, such as transmitting a link recovery request message from terminal to network, wherein the link recovery request message includes antenna panel information. (Zhang: See para[0373])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have included BFRQ including antenna panel information, as taught by Zhang, with the teachings of TSAI, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a BFRQ transmitted by terminal to network, wherein such BFRQ includes terminal panel information included in it. (Zhang: See para[0373])
Although TSAI in view of Zhang teaches DCI has “Antenna Port(s)” (TSAI: see para0091]) and receiving configuration information that indicates a correspondence between a first resource set (SRS) and an antenna panel information (i.e., antenna panel ID) wherein the first resource set (SRS) is used to send the link failure recovery request message (BFRQ) (Zhang: see para[0080]) wherein the resource set can be SRS (Zhang: see para[0040]), and wherein BFR uses PUSCH (TSAI: see para[0113]) and wherein BFRQ may be carried on a PUSCH (Zhang: See para[0258])
however, they do not seem to explicitly indicate that the configuration of PUSCH is based on SRS resource that correlates with antenna panel/port and SRI, or alternatively, SRI corresponds to SRS resource as well as UE antenna port/panel, and as such, the PUSCH configuration is based on UE antenna panel that UE uses to report/transmit BFRQ to gNB/BS, as understood by:
Configuring a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) by employing a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set corresponding to the first UE antenna panel for SRS resource indicator (SRI) indication, wherein “configuration of the PUSCH”, including power control parameters, is based on which UE antenna panel is reported to the gNB in the BFRQ.
However, in a similar field, Kang in para[0202] teaches DCI includes resources for PUSCH uplink transmissions for UE to consider, and UE determines PUSCH transmission based on SRI, and TPMI of DCI, found in “SRS resource indicator” field of DCI, and “precoding information” field of DCI that UE receives. The TPMI indicates a precoder to be applied across an antenna port (i.e., antenna panel), that corresponds to an SRS resource which is selected/identified by SRI. As such, it is understood that PUSCH configuration and as configured by UE, is based on SRI that correlates with SRS resource, and wherein the antenna ports are applied to the SRS resource, wherein PUSCH is used for transmitting BFR/BFRQ to base station, and as such, PUSCH configuration, is based on UE antenna ports (i.e., antenna panels) that are reported/transmitted to the gNB for BFR/BFRQ. (Kang: See para[0202], para[0018], and para[0192])
TSAI teaches different beam failure detection and recovery techniques involving a UE/TRP that has multiple antenna panels, wherein the UE is first configured with a set of RS for beam failure detection. (TSAI: See Fig. 10, #220 and para[0108])
Zhang teaches beam failure detection and recovery techniques, such as transmitting a link recovery request message from terminal to network, wherein the link recovery request message includes antenna panel information. (Zhang: See para[0373])
Kang teaches DCI includes resources for PUSCH uplink transmissions, and UE determines PUSCH transmission based on SRI, and TPMI of DCI, found in “SRS resource indicator” field of DCI, and “precoding information” field of DCI that UE receives, wherein the TPMI indicates a precoder to be applied across an antenna port (i.e., antenna panel) that corresponds to an SRS resource which is selected/identified by SRI. (Kang: see para[0202])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have included PUSCH configuration, as taught by Kang, with the teachings of TSAI in view of Zhang, in order to benefit from enhancement of such PUSCH configuration techniques, wherein a precoder is applied across an antenna port (i.e., antenna panel) that corresponds to an SRS resource which is itself selected/identified by SRI. (Kang: see para[0202])
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, further comprising changing to the first UE antenna panel and the corresponding configuration for uplink transmission of signals within a component carrier.
(TSAI: See para[0053]-[0054] for when a beam failure is detected, the UE transmit PRACH of the best identified candidate beam (i.e., panel ID), according to PRACH configuration provided to UE by the RRC message “PRACH_ResourceDedicatedBFR” (i.e., network transmits PRACH ResourceDedicatedBFR to UE wherein this PRACH identifies the candidate beam (i.e., panel ID) provided by network, that UE uses for uplink transmissions ). See para[0077] for radio link is applicable in Serving CCs (i.e. component carrier) in a band )
Claim 3. The method of claim 1, further comprising changing to the first UE antenna panel and the corresponding configuration for uplink transmission of signals in multiple component carriers within a band or band group.
(TSAI: See para[0053]-[0054] for when a beam failure is detected, the UE transmit PRACH of the best identified candidate beam (i.e., panel ID), according to PRACH configuration provided to UE by the RRC message “PRACH_ResourceDedicatedBFR” (i.e., network transmits PRACH ResourceDedicatedBFR to UE wherein this PRACH identifies the candidate beam (i.e., panel ID) provided by network, that UE uses for uplink transmissions ). See para[0077] for radio link is applicable in Serving CCs (i.e. component carrier) in a band )
Claim 4. The method of claim 1, in which the BFRQ is a contention-free random access (CFRA) based BFRQ.
(TSAI: See para[0119] for BFRQ may use contention-free PRACH (CFRA))
Claim 5. The method of claim 4, in which the CFRA based BFRQ is provided in a contention-free physical random-access channel (PRACH) resource configured by the gNB to correspond to the first UE antenna panel.
(TSAI: See para[0053]-[0054] for when a beam failure is detected, the UE transmit PRACH of the best identified candidate beam (i.e., panel ID), according to PRACH configuration provided to UE by the RRC message “PRACH_ResourceDedicatedBFR” (i.e., network transmits PRACH ResourceDedicatedBFR to UE wherein this PRACH identifies the candidate beam (i.e., first UE panel ID) provided by network, that UE uses for uplink transmissions ). See para[0077] for radio link is applicable in Serving CCs (i.e. component carrier) in a band )
Claim 6. The method of claim 1, in which the BFRQ is a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) based BFRQ, the method further comprising reporting a panel entity index by MAC CE.
(TSAI: See para[0167] “contention-free RACH for BFR, wherein MAC-CE payload includes the panel ID (i.e., antenna panel ID) as shown in Fig. 22 UE having multiple antenna arrays. See para[0047] for the term “panel” may be referred to as an antenna array)
Claim 7. The method of claim 6, further comprising reporting the panel entity index per candidate beam.
(TSAI: See para[0126] for panel ID (i.e., antenna panel ID) is transmitted with CFRA resource)
Claim 8. The method of claim 6, further comprising reporting the panel entity index for multiple candidate beams.
(TSAI: See para[0126] for panel ID (i.e., antenna panel ID) is transmitted with CFRA resource. It is understood that this process can be repeated with multiple other beams (i.e. multiple panel IDs))
Claim 14. A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of a user equipment (UE) configured for beam failure recovery (BFR) with uplink antenna panel selection, the computer-readable storage medium including instructions that when executed by a processor of the UE, cause the UE to:
determine a first UE antenna panel corresponding to a candidate beam detection (CBD) reference signal (RS);
(TSAI: See para[0130] UE 200 may initiate one or more transmissions at the PCell in a specific slot n and according to the antenna port (i.e., a first UE antenna panel) quasi co-location (QCL) parameters associated with CSI-RS resource configuration (i.e., a candidate beam detection (CBD) reference signal (RS). See para [0126] UE 200 may also transmit the panel ID with CFRA. UE 200 panel ID may be signaled in a CFRA resource when UE 200 is equipped more than one panel)
report to a gNB a beam failure recovery request (BFRQ),
(TSAI: See para[0060] #282, and para[0160] the UE transmits and coveys to NW the beam failure (i.e., BFRQ) via PRACH preamble transmitting at the contention-free PRACH occasion (RO))
and after receiving from the gNB a BFR response to the BFRQ, change from a second UE antenna panel to the first UE antenna panel and corresponding configuration for uplink transmission.
(TSAI: See para[0053]-[0054] for when a beam failure is detected, the UE transmit PRACH of the best identified candidate beam (i.e., antenna panel ), according to PRACH configuration provided to UE by the RRC message “PRACH_ResourceDedicatedBFR”. See para[0130] UE 200 may initiate one or more transmissions at the PCell in a specific slot n and according to the antenna port (i.e., a first/Second UE antenna panel) quasi co-location (QCL) parameters associated with CSI-RS resource configuration (i.e., corresponding configuration for uplink transmission)
Although TSAI teaches the BFRQ, wherein UE transmits the beam failure request (i.e., BFRQ) (TSAI: See para[0053]-[0060]), wherein Panel ID is signaled in CFRA resource (TSAI: See para[0126]), and wherein CFRA is for beam recovery request (BFRQ) transmission (TSAI: See para[0112]), however, TSAI does not seem to explicitly disclose that BFRQ includes “UE antenna panel information”, as understood by:
the BFRQ including UE antenna panel information for the first UE antenna panel;
However, in a similar field, Zhang in para[0373], teaches that the BFRQ transmitted and reported by the terminal device to network, includes antenna panel information. (Zhang: See para[0373])
TSAI teaches different beam failure detection and recovery techniques involving a UE/TRP that has multiple antenna panels, wherein the UE is first configured with a set of RS for beam failure detection. (TSAI: See Fig. 10, #220 and para[0108])
Zhang teaches beam failure detection and recovery techniques, such as transmitting a link recovery request message from terminal to network, wherein the link recovery request message includes antenna panel information. (Zhang: See para[0373])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have included BFRQ including antenna panel information, as taught by Zhang, with the teachings of TSAI, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a BFRQ transmitted by terminal to network, wherein such BFRQ includes terminal panel information included in it. (Zhang: See para[0373])
Although TSAI in view of Zhang teaches DCI has “Antenna Port(s)” (TSAI: see para0091]) and receiving configuration information that indicates a correspondence between a first resource set (SRS) and an antenna panel information (i.e., antenna panel ID) wherein the first resource set (SRS) is used to send the link failure recovery request message (BFRQ) (Zhang: see para[0080]) wherein the resource set can be SRS (Zhang: see para[0040]), and wherein BFR uses PUSCH (TSAI: see para[0113]) and wherein BFRQ may be carried on a PUSCH (Zhang: See para[0258])
however, they do not seem to explicitly indicate that the configuration of PUSCH is based on SRS resource that correlates with antenna panel/port and SRI, or alternatively, SRI corresponds to SRS resource as well as UE antenna port/panel, and as such, the PUSCH configuration is based on UE antenna panel that UE uses to report/transmit BFRQ to gNB/BS, as understood by:
Configuring a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) by employing a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set corresponding to the first UE antenna panel for SRS resource indicator (SRI) indication, wherein “configuration of the PUSCH” including power control parameters, is based on which UE antenna panel is reported to the gNB in the BFRQ.
However, in a similar field, Kang in para[0202] teaches DCI includes resources for PUSCH uplink transmissions for UE to consider, and UE determines PUSCH transmission based on SRI, and TPMI of DCI, found in “SRS resource indicator” field of DCI, and “precoding information” field of DCI that UE receives. The TPMI indicates a precoder to be applied across an antenna port (i.e., antenna panel), that corresponds to an SRS resource which is selected/identified by SRI. As such, it is understood that PUSCH configuration and as configured by UE, is based on SRI that correlates with SRS resource, and wherein the antenna ports are applied to the SRS resource, whrein PUSCH is used for transmitting BFR/BFRQ to base station, and as such, PUSCH configuration, is based on UE antenna ports (i.e., antenna panels) that are reported/transmitted to the gNB for BFR/BFRQ. (Kang: See para[0202], para[0018], and para[0192])
TSAI teaches different beam failure detection and recovery techniques involving a UE/TRP that has multiple antenna panels, wherein the UE is first configured with a set of RS for beam failure detection. (TSAI: See Fig. 10, #220 and para[0108])
Zhang teaches beam failure detection and recovery techniques, such as transmitting a link recovery request message from terminal to network, wherein the link recovery request message includes antenna panel information. (Zhang: See para[0373])
Kang teaches DCI includes resources for PUSCH uplink transmissions, and UE determines PUSCH transmission based on SRI, and TPMI of DCI, found in “SRS resource indicator” field of DCI, and “precoding information” field of DCI that UE receives, wherein the TPMI indicates a precoder to be applied across an antenna port (i.e., antenna panel) that corresponds to an SRS resource which is selected/identified by SRI. (Kang: see para[0202])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have included PUSCH configuration, as taught by Kang, with the teachings of TSAI in view of Zhang, in order to benefit from enhancement of such PUSCH configuration techniques, wherein a precoder is applied across an antenna port (i.e., antenna panel) that corresponds to an SRS resource which is itself selected/identified by SRI. (Kang: see para[0202])
Claim 15. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, in which the instructions further cause the UE to change to the first UE antenna panel and the corresponding configuration for uplink transmission of signals within a component carrier.
(TSAI: See para[0053]-[0054] for when a beam failure is detected, the UE transmit PRACH of the best identified candidate beam (i.e., panel ID), according to PRACH configuration provided to UE by the RRC message “PRACH_ResourceDedicatedBFR” (i.e., network transmits PRACH ResourceDedicatedBFR to UE wherein this PRACH identifies the candidate beam (i.e., panel ID) provided by network, that UE uses for uplink transmissions ). See para[0077] for radio link is applicable in Serving CCs (i.e. component carrier) in a band )
Claim 16. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, in which the instructions further cause the UE to change to the first UE antenna panel and the corresponding configuration for uplink transmission of signals in multiple component carriers within a band or band group.
(TSAI: See para[0053]-[0054] for when a beam failure is detected, the UE transmit PRACH of the best identified candidate beam (i.e., panel ID), according to PRACH configuration provided to UE by the RRC message “PRACH_ResourceDedicatedBFR” (i.e., network transmits PRACH ResourceDedicatedBFR to UE wherein this PRACH identifies the candidate beam (i.e., panel ID) provided by network, that UE uses for uplink transmissions ). See para[0077] for radio link is applicable in Serving CCs (i.e. component carrier) in a band )
Claim 17. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, in which the BFRQ is a contention-free random access (CFRA) based BFRQ.
(TSAI: See para[0119] for BFRQ may use contention-free PRACH (CFRA))
Claim 18. The computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, in which the CFRA based BFRQ is provided in a contention-free physical random-access channel (PRACH) resource configured by the gNB to correspond to the first UE antenna panel.
(TSAI: See para[0053]-[0054] for when a beam failure is detected, the UE transmit PRACH of the best identified candidate beam (i.e., panel ID), according to PRACH configuration provided to UE by the RRC message “PRACH_ResourceDedicatedBFR” (i.e., network transmits PRACH ResourceDedicatedBFR to UE wherein this PRACH identifies the candidate beam (i.e., first UE panel ID) provided by network, that UE uses for uplink transmissions ). See para[0077] for radio link is applicable in Serving CCs (i.e. component carrier) in a band )
Claim 27. A method, performed by a gNB, of beam failure recovery (BFR) with uplink antenna panel selection, the method comprising:
transmitting a reference signal (RS) for candidate beam detection;
(TSAI: See Fig. 10, #220, UE is configured by network (i.e., gNB), with a first set of RS and a second set of RS for BFD (Beam Failure Detection). See Fig. 3, # 305, para[0055] and Table-2, UE is configured with failureDetectionResources provided for beam failure detection.)
receiving from a UE a beam failure recovery request (BFRQ),
(TSAI: See para[0060] #282, and para[0160] the UE transmits and coveys to NW the beam failure (i.e., BFRQ) via PRACH preamble transmitting at the contention-free PRACH occasion (RO))
based on the UE antenna panel information, configuring a physical random-access channel (PRACH) resource corresponding to the UE antenna panel.
(TSAI: See para[0053]-[0054] for when a beam failure is detected, the UE transmit PRACH of the best identified candidate beam (i.e., panel ID), according to PRACH configuration provided to UE by the RRC message “PRACH_ResourceDedicatedBFR” (i.e., network transmits PRACH ResourceDedicatedBFR to UE wherein this PRACH identifies the candidate beam (i.e., panel ID) provided by network, that UE uses for uplink transmissions ))
Although TSAI teaches the BFRQ, wherein UE transmits the beam failure request (i.e., BFRQ) (TSAI: See para[0053]-[0060]), wherein Panel ID is signaled in CFRA resource (TSAI: See para[0126]), and wherein CFRA is for beam recovery request (BFRQ) transmission (TSAI: See para[0112]), however, TSAI does not seem to explicitly disclose that BFRQ includes “UE antenna panel information”, as understood by:
the BFRQ including UE antenna panel information for a UE antenna panel; and
However, in a similar field, Zhang in para[0373], teaches that the BFRQ transmitted and reported by the terminal device to network, includes antenna panel information. (Zhang: See para[0373])
TSAI teaches different beam failure detection and recovery techniques involving a UE/TRP that has multiple antenna panels, wherein the UE is first configured with a set of RS for beam failure detection. (TSAI: See Fig. 10, #220 and para[0108])
Zhang teaches beam failure detection and recovery techniques, such as transmitting a link recovery request message from terminal to network, wherein the link recovery request message includes antenna panel information. (Zhang: See para[0373])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have included BFRQ including antenna panel information, as taught by Zhang, with the teachings of TSAI, in order to benefit from enhancements of having a BFRQ transmitted by terminal to network, wherein such BFRQ includes terminal panel information included in it. (Zhang: See para[0373])
Although TSAI in view of Zhang teaches DCI has “Antenna Port(s)” (TSAI: see para0091]) and receiving configuration information that indicates a correspondence between a first resource set (SRS) and an antenna panel information (i.e., antenna panel ID) wherein the first resource set (SRS) is used to send the link failure recovery request message (BFRQ) (Zhang: see para[0080]) wherein the resource set can be SRS (Zhang: see para[0040]), and wherein BFR uses PUSCH (TSAI: see para[0113]) and wherein BFRQ may be carried on a PUSCH (Zhang: See para[0258])
however, they do not seem to explicitly indicate that the configuration of PUSCH is based on SRS resource that correlates with antenna panel/port and SRI, or alternatively, SRI corresponds to SRS resource as well as UE antenna port/panel, and as such, the PUSCH configuration is based on UE antenna panel that UE uses to report/transmit BFRQ to gNB/BS, as understood by:
receiving a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) employing a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set corresponding to the antenna panel for SRS resource indicator (SRI) indication, wherein “configuration of the PUSCH” including power control parameters, is based on which UE antenna panel is reported to the gNB in the BFRQ.
However, in a similar field, Kang in para[0202] teaches DCI includes resources for PUSCH uplink transmissions for UE to consider, and UE determines PUSCH transmission based on SRI, and TPMI of DCI, found in “SRS resource indicator” field of DCI, and “precoding information” field of DCI that UE receives. The TPMI indicates a precoder to be applied across an antenna port (i.e., antenna panel), that corresponds to an SRS resource which is selected/identified by SRI. As such, it is understood that PUSCH configuration and as configured by UE, is based on SRI that correlates with SRS resource, and wherein the antenna ports are applied to the SRS resource, whrein PUSCH is used for transmitting BFR/BFRQ to base station, and as such, PUSCH configuration, is based on UE antenna ports (i.e., antenna panels) that are reported/transmitted to the gNB for BFR/BFRQ. (Kang: See para[0202], para[0018], and para[0192])
TSAI teaches different beam failure detection and recovery techniques involving a UE/TRP that has multiple antenna panels, wherein the UE is first configured with a set of RS for beam failure detection. (TSAI: See Fig. 10, #220 and para[0108])
Zhang teaches beam failure detection and recovery techniques, such as transmitting a link recovery request message from terminal to network, wherein the link recovery request message includes antenna panel information. (Zhang: See para[0373])
Kang teaches DCI includes resources for PUSCH uplink transmissions, and UE determines PUSCH transmission based on SRI, and TPMI of DCI, found in “SRS resource indicator” field of DCI, and “precoding information” field of DCI that UE receives, wherein the TPMI indicates a precoder to be applied across an antenna port (i.e., antenna panel) that corresponds to an SRS resource which is selected/identified by SRI. (Kang: see para[0202])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have included PUSCH configuration, as taught by Kang, with the teachings of TSAI in view of Zhang, in order to benefit from enhancement of such PUSCH configuration techniques, wherein a precoder is applied across an antenna port (i.e., antenna panel) that corresponds to an SRS resource which is itself selected/identified by SRI. (Kang: see para[0202])
Claim 28. The method of claim 27, in which the UE antenna panel information is specified in a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) format.
(TSAI: See para[0167] “contention-free RACH for BFR, wherein MAC-CE payload includes the panel ID (i.e., antenna panel ID) as shown in Fig. 22 UE having multiple antenna arrays. See para[0047] for the term “panel” may be referred to as an antenna array)
Claim 29. The method of claim 27, in which the UE antenna panel information is specified in a PRACH-ResourceDedicatedBFR information element.
(TSAI: See para[0053]-[0054] when a beam failure is detected, the UE transmit PRACH of the best identified candidate beam according to RACH configuration provided by the RRC message PRACH_ResourceDedicatedBFR, wherein BFR is done via contention-free random access (CFRA). (i.e., network transmits PRACH ResourceDedicatedBFR to UE wherein this PRACH includes a previously identified candidate beam (i.e., panel ID) by network that UE uses for uplink transmissions))
Claim 30. The method of claim 27, further comprising receiving from the UE an uplink transmission using the UE antenna panel and a reported beam.
(TSAI: See para[0053]-[0054] for when a beam failure is detected, the UE transmit PRACH of the best identified candidate beam (i.e., panel ID), according to PRACH configuration provided to UE by the RRC message “PRACH_ResourceDedicatedBFR”. (i.e., network transmits PRACH ResourceDedicatedBFR to UE wherein this PRACH is for a previously identified candidate beam (i.e., panel ID) by network))
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220295589 A1 to TSAI et al., (hereinafter TSAI) in view of US 20220060302 A1 to Zhang et al., (hereinafter Zhang) and US20220368406 A1 to Kang et al., (hereinafter Kang), and in further view of US 20210184812 A1 to Molavianjazi et al, (hereinafter Molavianjazi).
Claim 11. TSAI in view of Zhang and Kang teaches the method of claim 1, however, they do not seem to explicitly disclose:
further comprising transmitting, the PUSCH according to a schedule in downlink control information (DCI) format 0_0 until the UE receives beam indication signaling.
However, in a similar field, Molavianjazi teaches:
further comprising transmitting, a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) according to a schedule in downlink control information (DCI) format 0_0 until the UE receives beam indication signaling.
(Molavianjazi: See Fig. 7, #710, and UE receives configuration for CG PUSH including beam indication RS resource (i.e., beam indication signaling). See para[0168] for DCI format 0_0 configuration is used for CG PUSCH transmissions by UE, when CG PUSH beam follows SRS beam or a beam (i.e., antenna panel) corresponding to a DL RS)
TSAI teaches different beam failure detection and recovery techniques involving a UE/TRP that has multiple antenna panels, wherein the UE is first configured with a set of RS for beam failure detection. (TSAI: See Fig. 10, #220 and para[0108])
Zhang teaches beam failure detection and recovery techniques, such as transmitting a link recovery request message from terminal to network, wherein the link recovery request message includes antenna panel information. (Zhang: See para[0373])
Kang teaches DCI includes resources for PUSCH uplink transmissions, and UE determines PUSCH transmission based on SRI, and TPMI of DCI, found in “SRS resource indicator” field of DCI, and “precoding information” field of DCI that UE receives, wherein the TPMI indicates a precoder to be applied across an antenna port (i.e., antenna panel) that corresponds to an SRS resource which is selected/identified by SRI. (Kang: see para[0202])
Molavianjazi, teaches UE receives configuration for CG PUSH including beam indication RS resource (i.e., beam indication signaling), wherein DCI format 0_0 configuration is used for CG PUSCH transmissions by UE, and wherein CG PUSH beam follows SRS beam or a beam corresponding to a DL RS. (i.e., antenna panel as indicated in RS) (Molavianjazi: See Fig. 7, #710, and para[0168]-[0171)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have included DCI format 0_0 configuration to be applied to UE by network (i.e., BS), as taught by Molavianjazi, with the teachings of TSAI, Zhang, and Kang, in order to benefit from enhancement of a UE that is configured with a PUSCH by using a beam indication indicator, that corresponds to UE’s antenna panel. (Molavianjazi: See Fig. 7, #710, and para[0168]-[0171)
Claim 12. TSAI in view of Zhang teaches the method of claim 1, however, they do not seem to explicitly disclose:
further comprising skipping transmission of a sounding reference signal (SRS) until the UE receives beam indication signaling.
However, in a similar field, Molavianjazi teaches:
further comprising skipping transmission of a sounding reference signal (SRS) until the UE receives beam indication signaling.
(Molavianjazi: See para[0240] for UE is configured a single beam indication RS, such as SRI (i.e., SRS with Indicator) or TCI, for UL CG transmissions, wherein the UE skips the corresponding UL CG repetition. (Molavianjazi: See para[0238]-[0240])
TSAI teaches different beam failure detection and recovery techniques involving a UE/TRP that has multiple antenna panels, wherein the UE is first configured with a set of RS for beam failure detection. (TSAI: See Fig. 10, #220 and para[0108])
Zhang teaches beam failure detection and recovery techniques, such as transmitting a link recovery request message from terminal to network, wherein the link recovery request message includes antenna panel information. (Zhang: See para[0373])
Kang teaches DCI includes resources for PUSCH uplink transmissions, and UE determines PUSCH transmission based on SRI, and TPMI of DCI, found in “SRS resource indicator” field of DCI, and “precoding information” field of DCI that UE receives, wherein the TPMI indicates a precoder to be applied across an antenna port (i.e., antenna panel) that corresponds to an SRS resource which is selected/identified by SRI. (Kang: see para[0202])
Molavianjazi, teaches UE receives configuration for CG PUSH including beam indication RS resource (i.e., beam indication signaling), wherein DCI format 0_0 configuration is used for CG PUSCH transmissions by UE, and wherein CG PUSH beam follows SRS beam or a beam corresponding to a DL RS. (i.e., antenna panel as indicated in RS) (Molavianjazi: See Fig. 7, #710, and para[0168]-[0171)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have included DCI format 0_0 configuration to be applied to UE by network (i.e., BS), as taught by Molavianjazi, with the teachings of TSAI, Zhang, and Kang, in order to benefit from enhancement of a UE that is configured with a PUSCH by using a beam indication indicator, that corresponds to UE’s antenna panel. (Molavianjazi: See Fig. 7, #710, and para[0168]-[0171)
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MAJID ESMAEILIAN whose telephone number is (571)270-7830. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag G. Shah can be reached on 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/M. E./
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
/GREGORY B SEFCHECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477