DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Remark
The Examiner notes that claim language “grouping… in a column direction” is interpreted as grouping contiguous blocks in one direction based on the description of Figure 6 in applicant’s specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figure 6, the “16” and “32” should be “8” and “16” respectively. Based on pg. 6 of applicant’s clean specification, it seems the number of blocks is unchanged and only the grouping of the first column changes between Fig. 5 and Fig. 6. Furthermore, pg. 6 line 23 suggests “G1” should be “G4”
Claim Objections
Claims 9-16 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 9-16, change instances of “the processor” to “the reconfigurable processor” for clearer antecedent.
Claim 9, change “instructions is executed” to “instructions are executed”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-10, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (Optimization of GPU-based Sparse Matrix Multiplication for Large Sparse Networks, hereinafter “Lee”).
As per claim 1, Lee teaches A method for processing sparse data, performed by a reconfigurable processor, wherein the reconfigurable processor comprises a processing element (PE) array, and the PE array comprises PxQ PE units, the method comprising: dividing a sparse weight matrix to be calculated into at least one unit block (Lee: Fig. 4; Section IV.A second paragraph; each shared memory (SM) corresponding to a processing element);
grouping a plurality of unit blocks into a computing group (Lee: Fig. 6; Section IV.C.2);
and obtaining an effective weight address corresponding to each effective weight in the computing group (Lee: Fig. 5; Section IV.C.1; wherein the pointer and index corresponds to an effective weight address).
As per claim 2, Lee further teaches The method of claim 1, wherein dividing the sparse weight matrix to be calculated into at least one unit block comprises: dividing the sparse weight matrix into the at least one unit block by taking PxQ unit blocks as a division unit in a row direction and a column direction of the sparse weight matrix, wherein each unit block comprises at least one effective weight (Lee: Fig. 6; Section IV.C.2 paragraphs 4-5).
As per claim 8, Lee further teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the PxQ PE units in the PE array are 8x8 PE units (Lee does not explicitly state 8x8 SMs, however Lee does not suggest a limit. It would be reasonable for one of ordinary skill to duplicate SMs such that there is an equivalent of 8x8 SMs. (MPEP 2144.04.VI.B)).
As per claims 9-10, 16, the claims are directed to an apparatus that implements the same or similar features as the method of claims 1-2, 8, respectively, and is therefore rejected for at least the same reasons therein. Furthermore, Lee teaches a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor (Lee: Fig. 1, global memory).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ro et al. (US 20210117761 A1, hereinafter “Ro”).
As per claim 4, Lee further teaches The method of claim 1,
However, while Lee discloses a method of relative addressing of nonzero weights, Lee does not explicitly disclose the method determining number of zero weights between each pair of nonzero weights. Thus, Lee does not teach wherein obtaining the effective weight address corresponding to each effective weight in the computing group comprises: reading each effective weight in the computing group sequentially by the PE array; and determining a number of zero weights between a current effective weight and a previous effective weight as an effective weight address of the current effective weight, and storing the number of zero weights into a storage address corresponding to the current effective weight of the computing group.
Ro teaches wherein obtaining the effective weight address corresponding to each effective weight in the computing group comprises: reading each effective weight in the computing group sequentially by the PE array (Ro: Fig. 5 element 520; [0108]);
and determining a number of zero weights between a current effective weight and a previous effective weight as an effective weight address of the current effective weight, and storing the number of zero weights into a storage address corresponding to the current effective weight of the computing group (Ro: Fig. 4 element 420; [0097]-[0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute, with a reasonable expectation of success, the relative addressing of Lee with the relative addressing of Ro. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose addressing nonzero weight data, and it is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (addressing nonzero weight data).
As per claim 5, Lee further teaches The method of claim 1,
However, while Lee discloses a matrix multiplication, Lee does not explicitly disclose the matrix multiplication is used for convolution. Thus, Lee does not teach further comprising: reading a convolution computation value; and performing convolution computation or fully connected layer computation.
Ro teaches further comprising: reading a convolution computation value; and performing convolution computation or fully connected layer computation (Ro: [0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify, with a reasonable expectation of success, the matrix multiplication of Lee with the teachings of Ro. One would have been motivated to combine these references because both references disclose matrix multiplication with weight matrix, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (of performing a convolution operation).
As per claim 6, Lee/Ro further teaches The method of claim 5, wherein reading the convolution computation value comprises: obtaining an effective weight corresponding to an effective weight address and a storage address of the effective weight in a non-sparse weight matrix according to the effective weight address of each computing group of the sparse weight matrix through the PxQ PE units in the PE array (Lee: Fig. 2; Section II.B.1);
and reading the convolution computation value corresponding to the effective weight according to the storage address of the effective weight in the non-sparse weight matrix (Ro: Fig. 5; [0108]).
As per claim 7, Lee/Ro further teaches The method of claim 5, wherein performing convolution computation or fully connected layer computation comprises: performing convolution computation or fully connected layer computation in a neural network model based on deep learning according to the convolution computation value corresponding to the effective weight in each computing group (Ro: [0051]; [0075]).
As per claims 12-15, the claims are directed to an apparatus that implements the same or similar features as the method of claims 4-7, respectively, and is therefore rejected for at least the same reasons therein.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 3, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest a combination as claimed including:
grouping the plurality of unit blocks in the sparse weight matrix into a computing group in a column direction of the sparse weight matrix;
determining whether a total number of effective weights in the computing group is more than (PxQ)/2;
in response to the total number of effective weights in the computing group being more than (PxQ)/2, splitting the computing group into two computing groups evenly in the column direction of the sparse weight matrix;
repeating the above determining and splitting until the total number of effective weights in each computing group is less than (PxQ)/2
Lee discloses optimizing workload across a plurality of shared memories (SM), that contain processing cores (Section III). The workload balancing of Lee determines blocks with a large number of nonzero elements and splits said blocks further (Fig. 4; section IV). Lee does not suggest workload balancing that divides blocks such that the number of nonzero elements are no more than half of available SMs. Therefore, Lee does not teach or suggest a combination as claimed including the limitations identified above.
Chinya et al. (US 20210042617 A1, hereinafter “Chinya”) discloses a method of assigning weights to a plurality of processing elements (abstract). Chinya assigns mutually exclusive partitions of nonzero weights, and their corresponding sparsity representation, to each processing element (Fig. 1; [0018]). Chinya does not suggest splitting the partitions further based on the number of nonzero values and number of processing elements. Therefore, Chinya does not teach or suggest a combination as claimed including the limitations identified above.
Pool et al. (US 11392829 B1, hereinafter “Pool”) discloses a method of managing sparse matrices by enforcing sparsity constraints on submatrices (abstract). Pool divides the matrix into equal blocks (Figs. 3A-3B) and arranging data such that each submatrix satisfies a sparsity constraint (Fig. 6), wherein each set of submatrices have relatively equivalent workloads (col 6 lines 7-13). Pool does not suggest determining the set of submatrices, or the sparsity constraint, is based on the number of processing elements. Therefore, Pool does not teach or suggest a combination as claimed including the limitations identified above.
Han et al. (US 20210182666 A1, hereinafter “Han”) discloses a weight data storage method to store only nonzero weights and their corresponding indexes (abstract). Han continually divides the weight matrix to isolate nonzero weights (Fig. 3A; [0044]). Han does not suggest the dividing the weight matrix to obtain nonzero weights to be based on the number of processing elements. Therefore, Han does not teach or suggest a combination as claimed including the limitations identified above.
As to claim 11, the claim recites the same or similar limitations as claim 3 discussed above and are therefore allowable for at least the same reasons.
Conclusion
/P.N.L./
Phat LeExaminer, Art Unit 2182 (571) 272-0546
/ANDREW CALDWELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2182