DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 08/12/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 5-17, 19-27, 30-31, and 34 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Zhu et al. (US 2023/0048881), hereinafter Zhu.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10, 12-17, 19-20, 23-24, 26-27, 30-31, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US 2019/0349161), hereinafter Jin, in further view of Zhu et al. (US 2023/0048881), hereinafter Zhu.
Regarding Claim 1, Jin teaches: A method of operating a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a single media access control (MAC) command element (CE) including spatial relation information, at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) identifier: “the gNB may indicate activation and deactivation of the SRS resource set in which the SP SRS is configured through the MAC CE. The MAC CE includes a serving cell ID in which the SRS resource set is configured, a BWP ID, an SRS resource set ID” (Jin ¶ 0108), and an indication of the list of cells: “aspect of the disclosure is to provide a method of generating a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for, when a beam through which the corresponding sounding reference signal to be transmitted is indicated, indicating not only the current serving cell and a bandwidth part (BWP) but also a neighboring serving cell and a BWP” (Jin ¶ 0009); and wherein the list of cells comprises a plurality of cells: “aspect of the disclosure is to provide a method of generating a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for, when a beam through which the corresponding sounding reference signal to be transmitted is indicated, indicating not only the current serving cell and a bandwidth part (BWP) but also a neighboring serving cell and a BWP” (Jin ¶ 0009).
Jin does not teach: determining an identification of each cell in a list of cells based on higher-layer signaling that configures a cell list parameter identified via a cell list identifier; applying, in response to the single MAC CE, the spatial relation information with respect to at least one set of SRS resources associated with the at least one SRS identifier across all cells in the list of cells.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhu teaches: determining an identification of each cell in a list of cells based on higher-layer signaling that configures a cell list parameter identified via a cell list identifier: “In certain embodiments, a MAC CE may be used to update a spatial relationship for all SRS resources in multiple SRS resource sets and/or multiple CCs if at least one SimultaenousSpatialRelationCellList is configured” (Zhu ¶ 0084) configuring, based on higher-layer signaling, a cell list parameter identified via a cell list identifier, wherein the cell list parameter comprises an identification of each cell in a list of cells: “In various embodiments, spatialRelationInfo may be configured for a resource, not for a resource set. In some embodiments, multiple SRS resources in different CCs may be updated together if a CC list SimultaenousSpatialRelationCellList is configured” (Zhu ¶ 0066); applying, in response to the single MAC CE, the spatial relation information with respect to at least one set of SRS resources associated with the at least one SRS identifier across all cells in the list of cells: “The MAC CE 600 of FIG. 6 may be used to update spatialRelationInfo for multiple SRS resources within a same CC and BWP, and if SimultaenousSpatialRelationCellList i is configured and includes a serving cell ID, all SRS resources with the same SRS resource ID in the other CCs in the same list may be updated with the same spatialRelationInfo” (Zhu ¶ 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Jin with Zhu for the purpose of quickly updating spatial relationship information. According to Zhu: “In various embodiments, a MAC CE may be used for quickly updating spatialRelationInfo for SRS resources. In some embodiments, a UE may be configured with up to 64 spatialRelationInfos, and a gNB may quickly update a TX beam of an aperiodic or semi-persistent SRS using a MAC CE” (Zhu ¶ 0055).
Regarding Claim 2, Jin teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining, before the MAC CE is received, an identification of each cell in the list of cells: “For example, all of the serving cell ID of the QCLed reference signal, the BWP IP, and the reference signal type and ID are configured for SP SRS resources through RRC configuration, which is indicated by a spatial relation inform ID” (Jin ¶ 0119 and Fig. 1E below).
Regarding Claim 3, Jin teaches: The method of claim 2, wherein the determining is based on a cell group level parameter, a UE level parameter, or an SRS configuration parameter: “For example, all of the serving cell ID of the QCLed reference signal, the BWP IP, and the reference signal type and ID are configured for SP SRS resources through RRC configuration, which is indicated by a spatial relation inform ID” (Jin ¶ 0119).
Regarding Claim 5, Jin teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the list of cells is expressly identified within the MAC CE via a cell list identifier: “aspect of the disclosure is to provide a method of generating a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for, when a beam through which the corresponding sounding reference signal to be transmitted is indicated, indicating not only the current serving cell and a bandwidth part (BWP) but also a neighboring serving cell and a BWP” (Jin ¶ 0009).
Regarding Claim 6, Jin teaches: The method of claim 5, wherein each of the plurality of cells is indicated via the cell list identifier: “aspect of the disclosure is to provide a method of generating a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for, when a beam through which the corresponding sounding reference signal to be transmitted is indicated, indicating not only the current serving cell and a bandwidth part (BWP) but also a neighboring serving cell and a BWP” (Jin ¶ 0009).
Regarding Claim 10, Jin teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the MAC CE comprises a single SRS identifier: “an indication of a list of cells, and applying, in response to the MAC CE, the spatial relation information with respect to at least one set of SRS resources associated with the at least one SRS identifier across all cells in the list of cells” (Jin ¶ 0005).
Regarding Claim 12, Jin teaches: The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one set of SRS resources corresponds to at least one set of aperiodic (AP) or semi-persistent (SP) SRS resources: “When SRS resources in the SP SRS resource set have a common value because the number of cross-carrier indication serving cells is one, the second method of the related art of expanding the SP SRS MAC CE adds a field indicating the same and corresponding information” (Jin ¶ 0112).
Regarding Claim 13, Jin teaches: The method of claim 12, wherein the at least one set of SRS resources comprises all AP or SP SRS resources associated with the at least one SRS identifier for all BWPs for each cell in the list of cells: “According to an embodiment of the disclosure, it is possible to indicate not only a current serving cell and a BWP but also a neighboring serving cell and a BWP when a semi-persistent sounding reference signal is activated/deactivated through a MAC CE in a next-generation mobile communication system” (Jin ¶ 0013) meaning one set of SP SRS resources is applicable to both a current serving cell and a neighboring serving cell
Regarding Claim 14, Jin teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising: performing one or more communicative functions on each cell of the list of cells based on the applied spatial relation information: “The MAC CE includes a serving cell ID in which the SRS resource set is configured, a BWP ID, an SRS resource set ID, and an indicator for indicating whether there is a supplementary uplink (SUL), and also includes type and index information of the QCLed reference signal . . . the UE 1e-01 may transmit the SRS for the SRS resource set configured in the current serving cell through a resource type and a beam direction configured in another neighboring cell, and the gNB 1e-03 may more flexibly transmit and receive the SRS” (Jin ¶ 0108).
Regarding Claim 15, Jin teaches: A method of operating a network component, comprising: obtaining spatial relation information to be applied by a user equipment (UE) with respect to at least one set of sounding reference signal (SRS) resources associated with at least one SRS identifier across all cells in the list of cells: “the gNB may indicate activation and deactivation of the SRS resource set in which the SP SRS is configured through the MAC CE. The MAC CE includes a serving cell ID in which the SRS resource set is configured, a BWP ID, an SRS resource set ID” (Jin ¶ 0108); and transmitting, to the UE, a single media access control (MAC) command element (CE) including the spatial relation information, the at least one SRS identifier, and an indication of the list of cells: “According to an embodiment of the disclosure, it is possible to indicate not only a current serving cell and a BWP but also a neighboring serving cell and a BWP when a semi-persistent sounding reference signal is activated/deactivated through a MAC CE in a next-generation mobile communication system” (Jin ¶ 0013) meaning one set of SRS resources is applicable to both a current serving cell and a neighboring serving cell.
Jin does not teach: configuring, based on higher-layer signaling , a cell list parameter identified via a cell list identifier, wherein the cell list parameter comprises an identification of each cell in a list of cells
Regarding Claim 15, Zhu teaches: configuring, based on higher-layer signaling , a cell list parameter identified via a cell list identifier, wherein the cell list parameter comprises an identification of each cell in a list of cells: “In various embodiments, spatialRelationInfo may be configured for a resource, not for a resource set. In some embodiments, multiple SRS resources in different CCs may be updated together if a CC list SimultaenousSpatialRelationCellList is configured” (Zhu ¶ 0066).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Jin with Zhu for the purpose of quickly updating spatial relationship information. According to Zhu: “In various embodiments, a MAC CE may be used for quickly updating spatialRelationInfo for SRS resources. In some embodiments, a UE may be configured with up to 64 spatialRelationInfos, and a gNB may quickly update a TX beam of an aperiodic or semi-persistent SRS using a MAC CE” (Zhu ¶ 0055).
Regarding Claim 16, Jin teaches: The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, to the UE before the MAC CE is received, an identification of each cell in the list of cells: “For example, all of the serving cell ID of the QCLed reference signal, the BWP IP, and the reference signal type and ID are configured for SP SRS resources through RRC configuration, which is indicated by a spatial relation inform ID” (Jin ¶ 0119 and Fig. 1E above).
Regarding Claim 17, Jin teaches: The method of claim 16, wherein the determining is based on a cell group level parameter, a UE level parameter, or an SRS configuration parameter: “For example, all of the serving cell ID of the QCLed reference signal, the BWP IP, and the reference signal type and ID are configured for SP SRS resources through RRC configuration, which is indicated by a spatial relation inform ID” (Jin ¶ 0119).
Regarding Claim 19, Jin teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein the list of cells is expressly identified within the MAC CE via a cell list identifier: “aspect of the disclosure is to provide a method of generating a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for, when a beam through which the corresponding sounding reference signal to be transmitted is indicated, indicating not only the current serving cell and a bandwidth part (BWP) but also a neighboring serving cell and a BWP” (Jin ¶ 0009).
Regarding Claim 20, Jin teaches: The method of claim 19, wherein each of the plurality of cells is indicated via the cell list identifier: “aspect of the disclosure is to provide a method of generating a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for, when a beam through which the corresponding sounding reference signal to be transmitted is indicated, indicating not only the current serving cell and a bandwidth part (BWP) but also a neighboring serving cell and a BWP” (Jin ¶ 0009).
Regarding Claim 23, Jin teaches: The method of claim 22, wherein the expressly identified subset includes a single cell: “The terminal includes a transceiver, and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to receive information for a SRS configuration, to receive a MAC CE for activating a SP SRS, and to transmit an SRS on a first cell based on the information for the SRS configuration and the MAC CE for activating the SP SRS, wherein the MAC CE for activating the SP SRS includes an indicator for indicating whether serving cell information and BWP information for a reference signal associated with spatial relationship are present” (Jin ¶ 0016).
Regarding Claim 24, Jin teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein the MAC CE comprises a single SRS identifier: “an indication of a list of cells, and applying, in response to the MAC CE, the spatial relation information with respect to at least one set of SRS resources associated with the at least one SRS identifier across all cells in the list of cells” (Jin ¶ 0005).
Regarding Claim 26, Jin teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein the at least one set of SRS resources corresponds to at least one set of aperiodic (AP) or semi-persistent (SP) SRS resources: “When SRS resources in the SP SRS resource set have a common value because the number of cross-carrier indication serving cells is one, the second method of the related art of expanding the SP SRS MAC CE adds a field indicating the same and corresponding information” (Jin ¶ 0112).
Regarding Claim 27, Jin teaches: The method of claim 26, wherein the at least one set of SRS resources comprises all AP or SP SRS resources associated with the at least one SRS identifier for all BWPs for each cell in the list of cells: “According to an embodiment of the disclosure, it is possible to indicate not only a current serving cell and a BWP but also a neighboring serving cell and a BWP when a semi-persistent sounding reference signal is activated/deactivated through a MAC CE in a next-generation mobile communication system” (Jin ¶ 0013) meaning one set of SP SRS resources is applicable to both a current serving cell and a neighboring serving cell.
Regarding Claim 30, Jin teaches: A user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; at least one communications interface; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory: “FIG. 1I is a block diagram illustrating an internal structure of a UE according to an embodiment of the disclosure” (Jin ¶ 0029 and Fig. 1i below), the at least one communications interface, the at least one processor configured to: determine an identification of each cell in a list of cells based on higher-layer signaling that configures a cell list parameter identified via a cell list identifier; receive a single media access control (MAC) command element (CE) including spatial relation information, at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) identifier: “the gNB may indicate activation and deactivation of the SRS resource set in which the SP SRS is configured through the MAC CE. The MAC CE includes a serving cell ID in which the SRS resource set is configured, a BWP ID, an SRS resource set ID” (Jin ¶ 0108), and an indication of the list of cells: “aspect of the disclosure is to provide a method of generating a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for, when a beam through which the corresponding sounding reference signal to be transmitted is indicated, indicating not only the current serving cell and a bandwidth part (BWP) but also a neighboring serving cell and a BWP” (Jin ¶ 0009); and wherein the list of cells comprises a plurality of cells: “aspect of the disclosure is to provide a method of generating a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for, when a beam through which the corresponding sounding reference signal to be transmitted is indicated, indicating not only the current serving cell and a bandwidth part (BWP) but also a neighboring serving cell and a BWP” (Jin ¶ 0009).
Jin does not teach: determine an identification of each cell in a list of cells based on higher-layer signaling that configures a cell list parameter identified via a cell list identifier; apply, in response to the single MAC CE, the spatial relation information with respect to at least one set of SRS resources associated with the at least one SRS identifier across all cells in the list of cells.
Regarding Claim 30, Zhu teaches: determine an identification of each cell in a list of cells based on higher-layer signaling that configures a cell list parameter identified via a cell list identifier: “In certain embodiments, a MAC CE may be used to update a spatial relationship for all SRS resources in multiple SRS resource sets and/or multiple CCs if at least one SimultaenousSpatialRelationCellList is configured” (Zhu ¶ 0084) configuring, based on higher-layer signaling, a cell list parameter identified via a cell list identifier, wherein the cell list parameter comprises an identification of each cell in a list of cells: “In various embodiments, spatialRelationInfo may be configured for a resource, not for a resource set. In some embodiments, multiple SRS resources in different CCs may be updated together if a CC list SimultaenousSpatialRelationCellList is configured” (Zhu ¶ 0066); applying, in response to the single MAC CE, the spatial relation information with respect to at least one set of SRS resources associated with the at least one SRS identifier across all cells in the list of cells: “The MAC CE 600 of FIG. 6 may be used to update spatialRelationInfo for multiple SRS resources within a same CC and BWP, and if SimultaenousSpatialRelationCellList i is configured and includes a serving cell ID, all SRS resources with the same SRS resource ID in the other CCs in the same list may be updated with the same spatialRelationInfo” (Zhu ¶ 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Jin with Zhu for the purpose of quickly updating spatial relationship information. According to Zhu: “In various embodiments, a MAC CE may be used for quickly updating spatialRelationInfo for SRS resources. In some embodiments, a UE may be configured with up to 64 spatialRelationInfos, and a gNB may quickly update a TX beam of an aperiodic or semi-persistent SRS using a MAC CE” (Zhu ¶ 0055).
Regarding Claim 31, Jin teaches: A network component, comprising: a memory; at least one communications interface; and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory, the at least one communications interface: “FIG. 1J is a block diagram illustrating a configuration of an NR NB according to an embodiment of the disclosure” (Jin ¶ 0030), the at least one processor configured to: configure, based on higher-layer signaling , a cell list parameter identified via a cell list identifier, wherein the cell list parameter comprises an identification of each cell in a list of cells; obtain spatial relation information to be applied by a user equipment (UE) with respect to at least one set of sounding reference signal (SRS) resources associated with at least one SRS identifier across all cells in the list of cells: “the gNB may indicate activation and deactivation of the SRS resource set in which the SP SRS is configured through the MAC CE. The MAC CE includes a serving cell ID in which the SRS resource set is configured, a BWP ID, an SRS resource set ID” (Jin ¶ 0108); and transmit, to the UE, a single media access control (MAC) command element (CE) including the spatial relation information, the at least one SRS identifier, and an indication of the list of cells: “According to an embodiment of the disclosure, it is possible to indicate not only a current serving cell and a BWP but also a neighboring serving cell and a BWP when a semi-persistent sounding reference signal is activated/deactivated through a MAC CE in a next-generation mobile communication system” (Jin ¶ 0013) meaning one set of SRS resources is applicable to both a current serving cell and a neighboring serving cell.
Fig. 1J
Jin does not teach: configuring, based on higher-layer signaling , a cell list parameter identified via a cell list identifier, wherein the cell list parameter comprises an identification of each cell in a list of cells
Regarding Claim 31, Zhu teaches: configuring, based on higher-layer signaling, a cell list parameter identified via a cell list identifier, wherein the cell list parameter comprises an identification of each cell in a list of cells: “In various embodiments, spatialRelationInfo may be configured for a resource, not for a resource set. In some embodiments, multiple SRS resources in different CCs may be updated together if a CC list SimultaenousSpatialRelationCellList is configured” (Zhu ¶ 0066); applying, in response to the single MAC CE, the spatial relation information with respect to at least one set of SRS resources associated with the at least one SRS identifier across all cells in the list of cells: “The MAC CE 600 of FIG. 6 may be used to update spatialRelationInfo for multiple SRS resources within a same CC and BWP, and if SimultaenousSpatialRelationCellList i is configured and includes a serving cell ID, all SRS resources with the same SRS resource ID in the other CCs in the same list may be updated with the same spatialRelationInfo” (Zhu ¶ 0068).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Jin with Zhu for the purpose of quickly updating spatial relationship information. According to Zhu: “In various embodiments, a MAC CE may be used for quickly updating spatialRelationInfo for SRS resources. In some embodiments, a UE may be configured with up to 64 spatialRelationInfos, and a gNB may quickly update a TX beam of an aperiodic or semi-persistent SRS using a MAC CE” (Zhu ¶ 0055).
Regarding Claim 34, Jin teaches: The method of claim 15, wherein the network component corresponds to a base station: “Another aspect is directed to a method of operating a base station (BS), comprising obtaining spatial relation information to be applied by a user equipment (UE) with respect to at least one set of sounding reference signal (SRS) resources associated with at least one SRS identifier across all cells in a list of cells, and transmitting, to the UE, a media access control (MAC) command element (CE) including the spatial relation information, the at least one SRS identifier, and an indication of the list of cells.” (Jin ¶ 0006).
Claims 7-9 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin and Zhu as applied to claims 1 and 15 above and in further view of Svedman et al. (US 2022/0109547), hereinafter Svedman.
Regarding Claim 7, Jin and Zhu teach: The method of claim 1.
Jin and Zhu do not teach: the list of cells is implicitly indicated within the MAC CE.
Regarding Claim 7, Svedman teaches: the list of cells is implicitly indicated within the MAC CE: “In various embodiments, enabling BFD on a cell, e.g. using RRC signaling such as described previously, is combined with BFD activation/deactivation using a MAC CE. In various embodiments, a cell is a BFD cell if and only if the cell has BFD enabled and BFD is MAC CE activated. In various embodiments, a cell is a BFD cell if the cell has BFD MAC CE activated, even if it doesn't have BFD enabled, e.g. using a default and/or implicit BFD, NBI and/or BFR configuration” (Svedman ¶ 0364).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Jin and Zhu with Svedman for the purpose of managing BFD functions to remain within UE limitations. According to Svedman: “Thus, a UE equipped to adapt the number of cells on which it will perform BFD, and/or the BWP and/or reference signals of the cells on which it will perform BFD so the UE capability is not exceeded” (Svedman ¶ 0010).
Regarding Claim 8, Jin teaches: The method of claim 7, wherein the MAC CE expressly identifies a subset of the plurality of cells: “aspect of the disclosure is to provide a method of generating a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for, when a beam through which the corresponding sounding reference signal to be transmitted is indicated, indicating not only the current serving cell and a bandwidth part (BWP) but also a neighboring serving cell and a BWP” (Jin ¶ 0009).
Jin and Zhu not teach: the UE interprets the express identification of the subset of the plurality of cells as an implicit reference to the plurality of cells.
Regarding Claim 8, Svedman teaches: the UE interprets the express identification of the subset of the plurality of cells as an implicit reference to the plurality of cells: “In FIG. 6(b), a set of BFD cells is a set of cells on which BFD has been MAC CE activated, even though some of these cells are not BFD enabled. A UE may perform BFD. NBI and/or BFR on a cell that has not BFD enabled, e.g. with a corresponding BFD, NBI and/or BFR RRC configuration, e.g. by applying a default and/or implicit configuration/parameter(s) such as implicitly defined BFR-RS, according to various embodiments” (Svedman ¶ 0368).
Svedman Fig. 6
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Jin and Zhu with Svedman to arrive at the predictable result of managing BFD functions to remain within UE limitations. According to Svedman: “Thus, a UE equipped to adapt the number of cells on which it will perform BFD, and/or the BWP and/or reference signals of the cells on which it will perform BFD so the UE capability is not exceeded” (Svedman ¶ 0010).
Regarding Claim 9, Jin teaches: The method of claim 8, wherein the expressly identified subset includes a single cell: “The terminal includes a transceiver, and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to receive information for a SRS configuration, to receive a MAC CE for activating a SP SRS, and to transmit an SRS on a first cell based on the information for the SRS configuration and the MAC CE for activating the SP SRS, wherein the MAC CE for activating the SP SRS includes an indicator for indicating whether serving cell information and BWP information for a reference signal associated with spatial relationship are present” (Jin ¶ 0016).
Regarding Claim 21, Jin teaches: The method of claim 15.
Jin does not teach: the list of cells is implicitly indicated within the MAC CE.
Regarding Claim 21, Svedman teaches: the list of cells is implicitly indicated within the MAC CE: “In various embodiments, enabling BFD on a cell, e.g. using RRC signaling such as described previously, is combined with BFD activation/deactivation using a MAC CE. In various embodiments, a cell is a BFD cell if and only if the cell has BFD enabled and BFD is MAC CE activated. In various embodiments, a cell is a BFD cell if the cell has BFD MAC CE activated, even if it doesn't have BFD enabled, e.g. using a default and/or implicit BFD, NBI and/or BFR configuration” (Svedman ¶ 0364).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Jin with Svedman for the purpose of managing BFD functions to remain within UE limitations. According to Svedman: “Thus, a UE equipped to adapt the number of cells on which it will perform BFD, and/or the BWP and/or reference signals of the cells on which it will perform BFD so the UE capability is not exceeded” (Svedman ¶ 0010).
Regarding Claim 22, Jin teaches: The method of claim 21, wherein the MAC CE expressly identifies a subset of the plurality of cells: “aspect of the disclosure is to provide a method of generating a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for, when a beam through which the corresponding sounding reference signal to be transmitted is indicated, indicating not only the current serving cell and a bandwidth part (BWP) but also a neighboring serving cell and a BWP” (Jin ¶ 0009)
Jin does not teach: the express identification of the subset of the plurality of cells is configured to implicitly reference the plurality of cells to the UE.
Regarding Claim 22, Svedman teaches: the UE interprets the express identification of the subset of the plurality of cells as an implicit reference to the plurality of cells: “In FIG. 6(b), a set of BFD cells is a set of cells on which BFD has been MAC CE activated, even though some of these cells are not BFD enabled. A UE may perform BFD. NBI and/or BFR on a cell that has not BFD enabled, e.g. with a corresponding BFD, NBI and/or BFR RRC configuration, e.g. by applying a default and/or implicit configuration/parameter(s) such as implicitly defined BFR-RS, according to various embodiments” (Svedman ¶ 0368).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Jin with Svedman to arrive at the predictable result of managing BFD functions to remain within UE limitations. According to Svedman: “Thus, a UE equipped to adapt the number of cells on which it will perform BFD, and/or the BWP and/or reference signals of the cells on which it will perform BFD so the UE capability is not exceeded” (Svedman ¶ 0010).
Regarding Claim 23, Jin teaches: The method of claim 22, wherein the expressly identified subset includes a single cell: “The terminal includes a transceiver, and at least one processor coupled with the transceiver and configured to receive information for a SRS configuration, to receive a MAC CE for activating a SP SRS, and to transmit an SRS on a first cell based on the information for the SRS configuration and the MAC CE for activating the SP SRS, wherein the MAC CE for activating the SP SRS includes an indicator for indicating whether serving cell information and BWP information for a reference signal associated with spatial relationship are present” (Jin ¶ 0016).
Claims 11 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin and Zhu as applied to claims 1 and 15 above in further view of Agiwal et al. (US 2021/0013949) hereinafter Agiwal.
Regarding Claim 11, Jin and Zhu teach: The method of claim 1.
Jin and Zhu do not teach: the MAC CE comprises multiple SRS identifiers, and wherein the applying is performed with respect to a respective set of SRS resources for each of the multiple SRS identifiers across all cells in the list of cells.
Regarding Claim 11, Agiwal teaches: the MAC CE comprises multiple SRS identifiers, and wherein the applying is performed with respect to a respective set of SRS resources for each of the multiple SRS identifiers across all cells in the list of cells: “Upon detecting beam failure for an SCell, UE triggers BFR for that SCell. UE further triggers SR for BFR if UL grant is not available for transmitting BFR MAC CE for SCell BFR. SR information for SCell BFR consists of one or more SR identifiers for SCell BFR. If multiple SRs are linked (SR information for SCell BFR includes multiple SR identifiers) with the BFR for the SCell, multiple SRs are triggered simultaneously” (Agiwal ¶ 0023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Jin and Zhu with the disclosure of Agiwal to arrive at the predictable result of providing a method of SCell and SpCell BFR. According to Agiwal: “In another scenario, while BFR for SCell is ongoing, SpCell BFR may be triggered. Issue is whether to terminate SCell BFR or not. So, a method to handle concurrent occurrence of SCell and SpCell BFR is needed.” (Agiwal ¶ 0025).
Regarding Claim 25, Jin teaches: The method of claim 15.
Jin does not teach: the MAC CE comprises multiple SRS identifiers, and wherein the applying is performed with respect to a respective set of SRS resources for each of the multiple SRS identifiers across all cells in the list of cells.
Regarding Claim 25, Agiwal teaches: the MAC CE comprises multiple SRS identifiers, and wherein the applying is performed with respect to a respective set of SRS resources for each of the multiple SRS identifiers across all cells in the list of cells: “Upon detecting beam failure for an SCell, UE triggers BFR for that SCell. UE further triggers SR for BFR if UL grant is not available for transmitting BFR MAC CE for SCell BFR. SR information for SCell BFR consists of one or more SR identifiers for SCell BFR. If multiple SRs are linked (SR information for SCell BFR includes multiple SR identifiers) with the BFR for the SCell, multiple SRs are triggered simultaneously” (Agiwal ¶ 0023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosure of Jin with the disclosure of Agiwal to arrive at the predictable result of providing a method of SCell and SpCell BFR. According to Agiwal: “In another scenario, while BFR for SCell is ongoing, SpCell BFR may be triggered. Issue is whether to terminate SCell BFR or not. So, a method to handle concurrent occurrence of SCell and SpCell BFR is needed.” (Agiwal ¶ 0025).
Conclusion
/BRADLEY D LYTLE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473