DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiota (US Pub No. 2019/0260896 A1) in view of Tomii (JP 2017- 039589A).
Regarding Claim 1, Shiota discloses
an ultrasonic transmitter (30a) capable of outputting an ultrasonic wave;
an ultrasonic receiver (30b) opposed to the ultrasonic transmitter (Fig. 2), to receive the ultrasonic wave and output an ultrasonic signal corresponding to the received ultrasonic wave ([0058));
a sound receiver (33, also called a “path state detection sensor”) to receive a sound and generate a sound signal corresponding to the received sound ([0056]); and
a processor (40) to
determines altitude (i.e. use environment, [0024], [0068], [0097])
determine whether a medium conveyance abnormality has occurred, based on the sound signal (i.e. 33 outputs value in accordance with state change such as a jam, [0056]), and
modify sensitivity (i.e. threshold/sensitivity per [0017], [0074]) of the sound receiver, correct the sound signal, or modify a criterion for determination of a medium conveyance abnormality, based on altitude ([0068)).
Shiota does not explicitly disclose a relationship between altitude and atmospheric pressure.
Tomii discloses a relationship between altitude and atmospheric pressure (“when the sheet feeding device is installed in a low pressure environment (high altitude where the altitude exceeds 2000 m)”), for the purpose of adjusting for a weakened wave signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Shiota by including the relationship between altitude and atmospheric pressure as disclosed by Tomii, for the purpose of adjusting for a weakened wave signal. It is noted that by this modification, the pressure is determined and sensitivity is modified based on that pressure.
However, Shiota does not disclose detecting the pressure based on an ultrasonic signal.
Tomii discloses detecting pressure based on an ultrasonic signal outputted from the ultrasonic receiver when there is no medium between the ultrasonic transmitter and the ultrasonic receiver (“When the automatic document feeder 100 is set up by the user, the voltage level V1 at the time of no paper is measured for each wave number of the burst wave. A serviceman feeds the standard sheet (reference sheet) Sref to the automatic document feeder 100, measures the voltage level V0 of the ultrasonic reception signal when the standard sheet Sref is single-transmitted for each wave
number of the burst wave, and measures data. (Curve 42) is obtained. Then, from the search table of the ratio (V0 / V1) of the voltage level V1 when there is no paper and the voltage level V0 of the standard sheet Sref for each atmospheric pressure range stored in the memory 206, the ratio of the five burst waves (V0) Pressure range corresponding to the ratio of / V1). Thereby, the atmospheric pressure environment (atmospheric pressure range) P in which the automatic document feeder 100 is installed can be specified.”), for the purpose of adjusting for a weakened wave signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Shiota by including the pressure detection as disclosed by Tomii, for the purpose of adjusting for a weakened wave signal. It is noted that “based on” is broad and does not require a direct detection of pressure but allows for it to be performed with the use of reference sheets. Furthermore, Shiota does not preclude this since it teaches away from only a dedicated sensor, not multi-use of the existing ultrasonic sensor.
Regarding the new clause “Wherein when there is a medium on a medium conveyance path before detecting atmospheric pressure, the processor causes the medium to be ejected to an ejection tray or returned to a medium tray”, it is noted that this condition need not ever occur, since calibration is performed before sheet feeding (i.e. “When the automatic document feeder 100 is set up by the user” per the above passage). In other words, a sheet is not required to have first been fed.
Regarding Claim 4, Shiota discloses
wherein the processor determines whether a multi-feed of a medium has occurred, based on the ultrasonic signal (i.e. ultrasonic sensor 30 is disclosed to be a multi-sheet feed detector, [0058]).
Regarding Claim 5, Shiota discloses
outputting an ultrasonic wave by an ultrasonic transmitter (30a);
receiving the ultrasonic wave and outputting an ultrasonic signal ([0058]) corresponding to the received ultrasonic wave, by an ultrasonic receiver (30b) opposed to the ultrasonic transmitter (Fig. 2);
receiving a sound and generating a sound signal ([0056]) corresponding to the received sound, by a sound receiver (33, also called a “path state detection sensor’);
determining altitude (i.e. use environment, [0024], [0068], [0097])
determining whether a medium conveyance abnormality has occurred, based on the sound signal (i.e. 33 outputs value in accordance with state change such as a jam, [0056]); and
modifying sensitivity (i.e. threshold/sensitivity per [0017], [0074]) of the sound receiver, correcting the sound signal, or modifying a criterion for determination of a medium conveyance abnormality, based on altitude ([0068)).
Shiota does not explicitly disclose a relationship between altitude and atmospheric pressure.
Tomii discloses a relationship between altitude and atmospheric pressure (“when the sheet feeding device is installed in a low pressure environment (high altitude where the altitude exceeds 2000 m)”), for the purpose of adjusting for a weakened wave signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Shiota by including the relationship between altitude and atmospheric pressure as disclosed by Tomii, for the purpose of adjusting for a weakened wave signal. It is noted that by this modification, the pressure is determined and sensitivity is modified based on that pressure.
However, Shiota does not disclose detecting the pressure based on an ultrasonic signal.
Tomii discloses detecting pressure based on an ultrasonic signal outputted from the ultrasonic receiver when there is no medium between the ultrasonic transmitter and the ultrasonic receiver (“When the automatic document feeder 100 is set up by the user, the voltage level V1 at the time of no paper is measured for each wave number of the burst wave. A serviceman feeds the standard sheet (reference sheet) Sref to the automatic document feeder 100, measures the voltage level V0 of the ultrasonic reception signal when the standard sheet Sref is single-transmitted for each wave number of the burst wave, and measures data. (Curve 42) is obtained. Then, from the search table of the ratio (V0 / V1) of the voltage level V1 when there is no paper and the voltage level V0 of the standard sheet Sref for each atmospheric pressure range stored in the memory 206, the ratio of the five burst waves (V0) Pressure range corresponding to the ratio of / V1). Thereby, the atmospheric pressure environment (atmospheric pressure range) P in which the automatic document feeder 100 is installed can be specified.”), for the purpose of adjusting for a weakened wave signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Shiota by including the pressure detection as disclosed by Tomii, for the purpose of adjusting for a weakened wave signal. It is noted that “based on” is broad and does not require a direct detection of pressure but allows for it to be performed with the use of reference sheets. Furthermore, Shiota does not preclude this since it teaches away from only a dedicated sensor, not multi-use of the existing ultrasonic sensor.
Regarding the new clause “Wherein when there is a medium on a medium conveyance path before detecting atmospheric pressure, the processor causes the medium to be ejected to an ejection tray or returned to a medium tray”, it is noted that this condition need not ever occur, since calibration is performed before sheet feeding (i.e. “When the automatic document feeder 100 is set up by the user” per the above passage). In other words, a sheet is not required to have first been fed.
Regarding Claim 6, Shiota discloses
A computer-readable, non-transitory medium (42) storing a computer program, wherein the computer program causes a medium conveying apparatus including an ultrasonic transmitter (30a) capable of outputting an ultrasonic wave, an ultrasonic receiver (30b) opposed to the ultrasonic transmitter (Fig. 2), to receive the ultrasonic wave and output an ultrasonic signal corresponding to the received ultrasonic wave ([0058]), and a sound receiver (33, also called a “path state detection sensor’) to receive a sound and generate a sound signal corresponding to the received sound ([0056]), to execute a process, the process comprising:
determining altitude (i.e. use environment, [0024], [0068], [0097])
determining whether a medium conveyance abnormality has occurred, based on the sound signal (i.e. 33 outputs value in accordance with state change such as a jam, [0056]); and
modifying sensitivity (i.e. threshold/sensitivity per [0017], [0074]) of the sound receiver, correcting the sound signal, or modifying a criterion for determination of a medium conveyance abnormality, based on altitude ([0068)).
Shiota does not explicitly disclose a relationship between altitude and atmospheric pressure.
Tomii discloses a relationship between altitude and atmospheric pressure (“when the sheet feeding device is installed in a low pressure environment (high altitude where the altitude exceeds 2000 m)”), for the purpose of adjusting for a weakened wave signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Shiota by including the relationship between altitude
and atmospheric pressure as disclosed by Tomii, for the purpose of adjusting for a weakened wave signal. It is noted that by this modification, the pressure is determined and sensitivity is modified based on that pressure.
However, Shiota does not disclose detecting the pressure based on an ultrasonic signal.
Tomii discloses detecting pressure based on an ultrasonic signal outputted from the ultrasonic receiver when there is no medium between the ultrasonic transmitter and the ultrasonic receiver (“When the automatic document feeder 100 is set up by the user, the voltage level V1 at the time of no paper is measured for each wave number of the burst wave. A serviceman feeds the standard sheet (reference sheet) Sref to the automatic document feeder 100, measures the voltage level V0 of the ultrasonic reception signal when the standard sheet Sref is single-transmitted for each wave number of the burst wave, and measures data. (Curve 42) is obtained. Then, from the search table of the ratio (V0 / V1) of the voltage level V1 when there is no paper and the voltage level V0 of the standard sheet Sref for each atmospheric pressure range stored in the memory 206, the ratio of the five burst waves (V0) Pressure range corresponding to the ratio of / V1). Thereby, the atmospheric pressure environment (atmospheric pressure range) P in which the automatic document feeder 100 is installed can be specified.”), for the purpose of adjusting for a weakened wave signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the invention of Shiota by including the pressure detection as disclosed by Tomii, for the purpose of adjusting for a weakened wave signal. It is noted that “based on” is broad and does not require a direct detection of pressure but allows
for it to be performed with the use of reference sheets. Furthermore, Shiota does not preclude this since it teaches away from only a dedicated sensor, not multi-use of the existing ultrasonic sensor.
Regarding the new clause “Wherein when there is a medium on a medium conveyance path before detecting atmospheric pressure, the processor causes the medium to be ejected to an ejection tray or returned to a medium tray”, it is noted that this condition need not ever occur, since calibration is performed before sheet feeding (i.e. “When the automatic document feeder 100 is set up by the user” per the above passage). In other words, a sheet is not required to have first been fed.
Regarding Claims 9 and 12, Shiota discloses
determining whether a multi-feed of a medium has occurred, based on the ultrasonic signal (i.e. ultrasonic sensor 30 is disclosed to be a multi-sheet feed detector, [0058]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 7, 8, 10 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art of record shows a temperature sensor and detecting atmospheric pressure further based on temperature (Claims 2, 7 and 10) or a humidity sensor and detecting atmospheric pressure further based on humidity (Claims 3, 8 and 11).
Response to Arguments
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Shiota does not disclose or suggest detecting “atmospheric pressure, based on the ultrasonic signal”, it is noted that Tomii is replied upon for this as per the Claim rejections above.
In response to Applicant’s argument that (Shiota and Tomii do not disclose) “moves (ejects) the sheet, when the sheet is in the automatic document feeding apparatus 100 before detecting the atmospheric pressure range.”, it is noted that the claim does not require a sheet to first have been fed and furthermore, since the calibration in Tomii is performed before feeding of a sheet (during setup by a user), this condition need not necessarily ever occur.
In response to Applicant’s argument that “Tomii does not disclose or suggest detecting “atmospheric pressure, based on the ultrasonic signal outputted from the ultrasonic receiver when there is no medium…”, it is noted that Tomii discloses detecting pressure “based on” (i.e. broadly, requiring no specific correlation) the ultrasonic signal outputting from the ultrasonic receiver when there is no medium and when there is a medium (not precluded by the claim) as per the Claim rejections above.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/25/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PRASAD V GOKHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 August 12, 2025