DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 13, 21 30-31 33 34 72 75 84 88-95 and 101-104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by Stewart US 20170312317.
Stewart discloses a method of treating or preventing acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) in a subject [0043], [0073] by comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of fibroblasts and/or fibroblast-derived products [0069], [0073]. Stewart teaches that ARDS can be caused by many etiologies such as sepsis and pneumonia [0006].
The reference anticipates the claim subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 13, 17-24, 30-31 33 34 72 75 84 88-95 and 101-104 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart (above) and Kassis, et al (Bone Marrow Transplantation) and Lacy et al (Am J of Resp Cell and Mol Biol)
Stewart discloses a method of treating or preventing acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) in a subject [0043], [0073] by comprising administering to the subject an effective amount of fibroblasts and/or fibroblast-derived products [0069], [0073]. Stewart teaches that ARDS can be caused by many etiologies such as sepsis and pneumonia [0006]. Stewart further discloses wherein the fibroblasts are derived from a
source of tissue selected from the group consisting of dermal tissue (dermal fibroblasts from the patient as the cells for gene transfer; paragraph [0069], [0073}); placental tissue; hair follicle; deciduous tooth; placenta; Wharton's jelly; bone marrow; adipose tissue; amniotic membrane; amniotic fluid; peripheral blood; and a combination thereof.
Stewart does not disclose wherein the fibroblasts are derived
from peripheral blood; or wherein the peripheral blood comprises mobilized peripheral blood. Stewart does not disclose wherein the mobilized peripheral blood comprises peripheral blood from an individual that is treated with G-CSF; M-CSF; GMCSF However, Kassis discloses wherein the peripheral blood comprises mobilized peripheral blood (cells with fibroblastic phenotype derived from mobilized peripheral blood from adult healthy human donors treated with a granulocyte colony-stimulating factor; abstract; page 974, column 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in
the art at the time of the invention to modify the Stewart invention to provide wherein the peripheral blood comprises mobilized peripheral blood treated with G-CSF, as taught by Kassis, in order to trigger fibroblastic stem cells to proliferate for collection from the blood, in order to treat or prevent pulmonary fibrosis, which is a complication of ARDS.
Stewart & Kasis don’t teach using fibroblast-derived products. However it would have been obvious to utilize fibroblast-derived products e.g. vesicles because Lacy teaches providing to the subject an effective amount extracellular vesicles, conditioned medium, & exosomes in a similar treatment to Stewart. Lacy treats with vesicles containing antifibrotic prostaglandins as they prevent fibrosis (Abstract). Lacy also teaches that the fibroblast-derived products comprise conditioned media derived from fibroblasts (conditioned medium of IL-1b—treated human lung fibroblasts inhibits TGF-b-induced myofibroblast differentiation; page 270, second column) and providing
microvesicles from fibroblasts (extracellular vesicles between 100 and 1000 nm are microvesicles; Total Extracellular Vesicles Size Distribution, Figure 5B). Lacy discloses using exosomes from fibroblasts (the antifibrotic effect of activated fibroblasts on nearby naive fibroblasts is carried by exosomes and other extracellular vesicles; Abstract). Lacy also teaches that lung fibroblasts exosomes contain MRNA, microRNA, and proteins, any of which could deliver antifibrotic signals; page 276, third column).
Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was made especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
BLAINE LANKFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 1657
/BLAINE LANKFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657