DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Withdrawal of Rejections
The response and amendments filed on 12/04/2025 are acknowledged. Any previously applied minor objections and/or minor rejections (i.e., formal matters), not explicitly restated here for brevity, have been withdrawn necessitated by Applicant’s formality corrections and/or amendments. For the purposes of clarity of the record, the reasons for the Examiner’s withdrawal, or maintaining, if applicable, of the substantive or essential claim rejections are detailed directly below and/or in the Examiner’s Response to Arguments section.
Briefly, the previous claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 for obviousness have been withdrawn necessitated by Applicant’s amendments; however, new grounds of rejection are set forth below.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: the L4P substitution is listed twice. Appropriate correction is required. This is an objection, not a rejection, because this appears to be a typographical error.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b), Indefiniteness
Claims 11-15, 17, and 19-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 11 and 15 recite “(SEQ ID NO: 1)” in parentheses; however, it is unclear if what is in parentheses is a preferred embodiment or part of the claimed invention. For the purposes of applying prior art, the Examiner has interpreted SEQ ID NO: 1 recited in parentheses to be part of the claimed invention.
Claims 12-14, 17, and 19-27 are included in this rejection for depending on independent claims 11 and 15 and failing to rectify the noted deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103, Obviousness
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okhamafe (WO 2011/097335; Date of Publication: August 11, 2011 – previously cited) in view of Huisman (US 2017/0191050; Date of Publication: July 6, 2017 – newly cited).
Okhamafe’s general disclosure relates to the production of phenylalanine ammonia-lyase (PAL) variants produced by prokaryotes, wherein the “PAL variant has a greater phenylalanine-converting activity and/or a reduced immunogenicity as compared to a wild-type PAL” (see, e.g., Okhamafe, abstract).
Regarding claim 11 pertaining to the variant PAL enzyme, Okhamafe teaches SEQ ID NO: 4, which is a PAL enzyme from Anabaena variabilis, and which has 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see, e.g., Office Action Appendix). Additionally, Okhamafe teaches SEQ ID NO: 11, which is the PAL enzyme from Anabaena variabilis and which comprises amino acid substitutions C530S and C565S (see, e.g., Okhamafe, [0011], [0014], and Figure 5E). Additionally, Okhamafe’s SEQ ID NO: 11 has 99.8% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 2 (see, e.g., Office Action Appendix). Okhamafe teaches “the step of transforming a cDNA or DNA encoding for all or a part of a prokaryotic PAL or a biologically active fragment, mutant, variant or analog thereof into a cell suitable for the expression thereof. In one embodiment, an expression vector is used to transfer the DNA into a suitable cell or cell line for expression thereof. In a specific embodiment, the cDNA or DNA is transformed into E. coli and recombinant prokaryotic PAL is overexpressed” (see, e.g., Okhamafe, [0042]). Pertaining to the method of preparing a variant PAL enzyme, Okhamafe teaches “the step of transforming a cDNA or DNA encoding for all or a part of a prokaryotic PAL or a biologically active fragment, mutant, variant or analog thereof into a cell suitable for the expression thereof. In one embodiment, an expression vector is used to transfer the DNA into a suitable cell or cell line for expression thereof. In a specific embodiment, the cDNA or DNA is transformed into E. coli and recombinant prokaryotic PAL is overexpressed” (see, e.g., Okhamafe, [0042]). Furthermore, Okhamafe teaches isolating the variant PAL enzyme by “(a) lysing bacterial cells containing the AvPAL variant by homogenization to generate a cell lysate; (b) heating the cell lysate to 65°C for 30 to 120 minutes; (c) centrifuging the heated cell lysate, wherein a supernatant comprising the AvPAL variant is retained; (d) filtering the supernatant to remove precipitates; (e) separating the AvPAL variant from contaminating proteins by sequential chromatography over an anion exchange (AIEX) column, such as a Toyopearl Giga Cap Q 650M column, followed by a hydrophobic interaction (HIC) column, such as a Toyopearl Butyl 650M column, wherein the eluate from the HIC column comprises the AvPAL variant; (f) ultrafiltering or ultrafiltering/diafiltering the eluate from the HIC column comprising the AvPAL variant” (see, e.g., Okhamafe, [0046]).
Regarding claim 12 pertaining to treating a disease or disorder, Okhamafe teaches that the PAL enzyme “has been shown to metabolize phenylalanine and is being developed as an enzyme substitution therapy (EST) for patients disorders or diseases associated with elevated levels of phenylalanine, such as HP A, including PKU, as well as in cancer therapy” (see, e.g., Okhamafe, [0003]). Furthermore, Okhamafe teaches administration of a pegylated recombinant Anabaena variabilis PAL (rAvPAL-PEG), “wherein the rAvPAL protein was derivatized by covalent attachment of polyethylene glycol (PEG) to increase its half-life and optimize its pharmacokinetic profile and/or reduce its immunogenicity” (see, e.g., Okhamafe, [0003]). Pertaining to administration of the variant PAL enzyme, Okhamafe teaches administration of the variant PAL enzyme to subjects that have above normal concentration of plasma phenylalanine (see, e.g., Okhamafe, [0025]-[0029]).
Regarding claim 13 pertaining to administration of the variant PAL enzyme, Okhamafe teaches that the PAL enzyme can be administered subcutaneously (see, e.g., Okhamafe, [0031]).
Regarding claim 14 pertaining to the disease or disorder, Okhamafe teaches that the PAL variant can be administered for therapeutic purposes to treat phenylketonuria (PKU) (see, e.g., Okhamafe, [0001], [0003]).
However, Okhamafe does not teach: one or more amino acid substitution of (ii) within the PAL enzyme of SEQ ID NO: 1 (claim 11).
Huisman’s general disclosure relates engineered PAL polypeptides (see, e.g., Huisman, abstract), wherein the polypeptides are used for therapeutic and industrial purposes (see, e.g., Huisman, [0003]). Moreover, Huisman discloses “PAL enzymes may be used as a therapeutic protein for the treatment of the metabolic disorder, phenylketonuria (PKU)” (see, e.g., Huisman, [0004]). Additionally, Huisman discloses that for the present invention “the engineered PAL polypeptides are optimized to provide enhanced catalytic activity, as well as reduced sensitivity to proteolysis and increased tolerance to acidic pH levels” (see, e.g., Huisman, [0011]).
Regarding claim 11 pertaining to the amino acid substitutions of (ii) within the PAL enzyme, Huisman teaches SEQ ID NO: 4, which has 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see, e.g., Office Action Appendix) and which comprises the N453G substitution (see, e.g., Huisman, [0016]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Okhamafe’s PAL variant, wherein the PAL variant also contains the N453G substitution, as taught by Huisman. One would have been motivated to do so because Huisman teaches that the N453G substitution results in a PAL variant having reduced sensitivity to proteolysis and/or increased tolerance to acidic pH (see, e.g., Huisman, [0022], [0033], [0296], [0320], Table 3). Moreover, Okhamafe teaches “PAL variants, including optimization of such compositions to enhance prokaryotic PAL catalytic activity and/or stability, while reducing immunogenicity and/or proteolytic sensitivity of prokaryotic PAL” (see, e.g., Okhamafe, abstract). Therefore, based on the teachings of Okhamafe and Huisman, it would have been obvious to produce a variant PAL enzyme, wherein the enzyme contains C503S, C565S, and N453G substitutions because this would result in a PAL enzyme with enhanced properties. One would have expected success because Okhamafe and Huisman both teach the generation of PAL enzyme variants with enhanced activities.
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okhamafe and Huisman as applied to claims 11-14 above, and further in view of Novick (US 2020/0017845; Date of Publication: January 16, 2020 – previously cited).
The teachings of Okhamafe and Huisman, herein referred to as modified-Okhamafe-Huisman, are discussed above as it pertains to generation of PAL variants.
Regarding claim 23 pertaining to the amino acid variant from (ii), modified-Okhamafe-Huisman teaches SEQ ID NO: 4, which 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and which contains the N453G substitution (see, e.g., Huisman, [0016] & Office Action Appendix).
However, modified-Okhamafe-Huisman does not teach: a PAL enzyme comprising a T102E substitution (claims 22 and 24).
Novick’s general disclosure relates to engineered PAL enzymes that exhibit enhanced catalytic activity for industrial processes and pharmaceutical compositions (see, e.g., Novick, abstract). Moreover, Novick discloses amino acid substitutions within the PAL enzyme to produce the engineered enzymes with enhanced catalytic activity (see, e.g., Novick, pg. 5, col. 1, lines 15-19).
Regarding claims 22 and 24 pertaining to the amino acids substitutions within the PAL enzyme, Novick teaches SEQ ID NO: 256, which has 97% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1, and which contains the T102E substitution (see, e.g., Office Action Appendix & Novick, pg. 6, col. 4, line 65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce modified-Okhamafe-Huisman PAL variant, wherein the PAL variant also contains the T102E substitution, as taught by Novick. One would have been motivated to do so because Novick teaches that the sequences that contain the T102E substitution, such as, for example, SEQ ID NOs: 103-110, have significantly increased catalytic activity over the positive control (see, e.g., Novick, Table 5.1). Moreover, modified-Okhamafe-Huisman teaches “PAL variants, including optimization of such compositions to enhance prokaryotic PAL catalytic activity and/or stability, while reducing immunogenicity and/or proteolytic sensitivity of prokaryotic PAL” (see, e.g., Okhamafe, abstract). Furthermore, modified-Okhamafe-Huisman teaches the N453G substitution, which results in a PAL variant having reduced sensitivity to proteolysis and/or increased tolerance to acidic pH (see, e.g., Huisman, [0022], [0033], [0296], [0320], Table 3). Therefore, based on the teachings of modified-Okhamafe-Huisman and Novick, it would have been obvious to produce a variant PAL enzyme, wherein the enzyme contains C503S, C565S, N453G, and T102E substitution because this would result in a PAL enzyme with enhanced catalytic activity and stability. One would have expected success because modified-Okhamafe-Huisman and Novick both teach the generation of variant PAL enzymes with enhanced activity.
Claims 15, 17, 19-21, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weiner (US 2011/0027346; Date of Publication: February 3, 2011 – previously cited) in view of Okhamafe (previously cited), Huisman (previously cited), Novick (previously cited), and Falb (US 2019/0282628; Date of Publication: September 19, 2019 – previously cited).
Weiner’s general disclosure relates to the synthesis of polypeptides have lyase activity, such as PAL enzymes, for use in pharmaceutical, agricultural, and industrial contexts (see, e.g., Weiner, abstract). Additionally, Weiner discloses methods of producing PAL variants to degrade phenylalanine (see, e.g., Weiner, [0002]-[0003]).
Regarding claim 15 pertaining to a method of obtaining a PAL enzyme variant, Weiner teaches “a transformed cell comprising a nucleic acid sequence of the invention, e.g., a sequence encoding an ammonia lyase, e.g., phenylalanine ammonia lyase, tyrosine ammonia lyase and/or histidine ammonia lyase enzyme of the invention, or a vector of the invention. The host cell may be any of the host cells familiar to those skilled in the art, including prokaryotic cells, eukaryotic cells, such as bacterial cells, fungal cells, yeast cells, mammalian cells, insect cells, or plant cells” (see, e.g., Weiner, [0186]). Moreover, Weiner teaches culturing a transformed cell in minimal media supplemented with phenylalanine (see, e.g., Weiner, [0672]). Additionally, Weiner teaches “Made competent cells and transformed with PAL vector to generate a positive control for selection development” (see, e.g., Weiner, [0674]). Furthermore, Weiner teaches “The sequence of potentially homologous polypeptides or fragments may be determined by ammonia lyase, e.g., phenylalanine ammonia lyase, tyrosine ammonia lyase and/or histidine ammonia lyase enzyme assays (see, e.g., Examples 1, 2 and 3, below), gel electrophoresis and/or microsequencing. The sequence of the prospective polypeptide or fragment of the invention can be compared to an exemplary polypeptide of the invention, or a fragment” (see, e.g., Weiner, [0483]).
Regarding claim 17 pertaining to transformed cells, Weiner teaches transformed cells and codon optimization of the PAL enzyme in E. coli (see, e.g., Weiner, [0434]-[0435]).
Regarding claim 20 pertaining to the minimal media, Weiner teaches that the minimal media is supplemented with phenylalanine (see, e.g., Weiner, [0672]).
However, Weiner does not teach: wherein the variant of PAL enzyme is a variant of Anabaena variabilis (claim 15); or wherein the variant PAL enzyme comprises amino acid substitutions to SEQ ID NO: 1 that comprise C503S and C565S (claim 15); or wherein there is one or more amino acid substitution of (ii) within the PAL enzyme of SEQ ID NO: 1 (claim 15); or wherein the minimal media does not contain glycerol (claim 19); or wherein the phenylalanine concentration is 20-40 mM (claim 20); or wherein culturing comprises subculturing the transformed cells by removing the cells from the culture media after the culture media reaches an OD600 of at least about 1.8-2.2 and placing the transformed cells into fresh minimal media supplemented with phenylalanine (claim 21); or wherein the enzyme further comprises a T102E substitution (claims 25 and 27); or wherein the one or more amino acid substitution of (ii) is N453C (claim 26).
Okhamafe’s general disclosure is discussed above as it pertains to a variant PAL enzyme with C503S and C565S substitutions.
Regarding claim 15 pertaining to the variant PAL enzyme, Okhamafe teaches a PAL enzyme from Anabaena variabilis (see, e.g., Okhamafe, [0003]). Additionally, Okhamafe teaches SEQ ID NO: 4, which is a PAL enzyme from Anabaena variabilis, and which has 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see, e.g., Office Action Appendix). Additionally, Okhamafe teaches SEQ ID NO: 11, which is the PAL enzyme from Anabaena variabilis and which comprises amino acid substitutions C530S and C565S (see, e.g., Okhamafe, [0011], [0014], and Figure 5E).
Huisman’s general disclosure is discussed above as it pertains to an engineered PAL enzyme with a N453G substitution.
Regarding claims 15 and 26 pertaining to the amino acid substitutions of (ii) within the PAL enzyme, Huisman teaches SEQ ID NO: 4, which has 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see, e.g., Office Action Appendix) and which contains the N453G substitution (see, e.g., Huisman, [0016]).
Novick’s general disclosure is discussed above as it pertains to a engineered variant PAL enzyme with a T102E amino acid substitution and increased catalytic activity.
Regarding claims 25 and 27 pertaining to the amino acids substitutions within the PAL enzyme, Novick teaches SEQ ID NO: 256, which has 97% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 1, and which contains the T102E substitution (see, e.g., Office Action Appendix & Novick, pg. 6, col. 4, line 65).
Falb’s general disclosure relates to “recombinant bacterial cells that have been engineered with genetic circuitry which allow the recombinant bacterial cells to sense a patient's internal environment and respond by turning an engineered metabolic pathway on or off” (see, e.g., Falb, abstract). Additionally, Falb discloses methods of treating phenylketonuria (PKU) and disorders characterized by hyperphenylalaninemia (see, e.g., Falb, [0076]-[0080]).
Regarding claim 19 pertaining to the minimal media, Falb teaches M9 minimal medium supplemented with glucose (see, e.g., Falb, [1370]). M9 minimal medium contains salts; therefore, the disclosed minimal medium by Falb does not contain glycerol.
Regarding claim 20 pertaining to the phenylalanine concentration within the minimal media, Falb teaches that the minimal medium contains 4 mM phenylalanine (see, e.g., Falb, [1368]).
Regarding claim 21 pertaining to culturing the transformed cells, Falb teaches “Cultures of E. coli Nissle transformed with a plasmid comprising the PAL gene driven by the Tet promoter were grown overnight and then diluted 1:100 in LB. The cells were grown with shaking (200 rpm) to early log phase. Anhydrous tetracycline (ATC) was added to cultures at a concentration of 100 ng/mL to induce expression of PAL, and bacteria were grown for another 2 hrs. Bacteria were then pelleted, washed, and resuspended in minimal media, and supplemented with 4 mM phenylalanine” (see, e.g., Falb, [1368]).
It would have been first obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Weiner’s PAL enzyme, wherein the PAL enzyme comprises C503S and C565S amino acid substitutions, as taught by Okhamafe. One would have been motivated to do so because Okhamafe teaches that the PAL enzyme derived from Anabaena variabilis is a prokaryotic PAL enzyme that can be manipulated via amino acid substitutions and pegylated to form a PAL enzyme variant with “improved specific activity, enhanced stability, reduced immunogenicity and/or proteolytic sensitivity” (see, e.g., Okhamafe, [0016]). Additionally, Okhamafe teaches “PAL variants, including optimization of such compositions to enhance prokaryotic PAL catalytic activity and/or stability, while reducing immunogenicity and/or proteolytic sensitivity of prokaryotic PAL” (see, e.g., Okhamafe, abstract).Moreover, Weiner teaches PAL enzymes that have thermostable and thermotolerant activity (see, e.g., Weiner, abstract). Therefore, based on the teachings of Weiner and Okhamafe, it would have been obvious to produce Weiner’s PAL enzyme comprising C503S and C565S amino acid substitutions, as taught by Okhamafe because this would produce a PAL enzyme with thermostable and thermotolerant activity, as well as improved specific activity, enhanced stability, reduced immunogenicity and/or proteolytic sensitivity. One would have expected success because Weiner and Okhamafe both teach variant PAL enzymes.
It would have been secondly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Weiner’s PAL variant, wherein the PAL variant also contains the N453 substitution, as taught by Huisman. One would have been motivated to do so because Huisman teaches that the N453G substitution results in a PAL variant having reduced sensitivity to proteolysis and/or increased tolerance to acidic pH (see, e.g., Huisman, [0022], [0033], [0296], [0320], Table 3). Moreover, Weiner teaches expression of PAL enzymes with thermostability and thermotolerant properties (see, e.g., Weiner, abstract). Therefore, based on the teachings of Weiner and Huisman, it would have been obvious to produce a variant PAL enzyme, wherein the enzyme contains a N453G substitution because this would result in a PAL enzyme with enhanced properties. One would have expected success because Weiner and Huisman both teach the generation of PAL enzyme variants with enhanced activities.
It would have been thirdly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Weiner’s PAL variant, wherein the PAL variant also contains the T102E substitution, as taught by Novick. One would have been motivated to do so because Novick teaches that the sequences that contain the T102E substitution, such as, for example, SEQ ID NOs: 103-110, have significantly increased catalytic activity over the positive control (see, e.g., Novick, Table 5.1). Moreover, Weiner teaches expression of PAL enzymes with thermostability and thermotolerant properties (see, e.g., Weiner, abstract). Therefore, based on the teachings of Weiner and Novick, it would have been obvious to produce a variant PAL enzyme, wherein the enzyme contains a T102E substitution because this would result in a PAL enzyme with enhanced catalytic activity. One would have expected success because Weiner and Novick both teach the generation of variant PAL enzymes with enhanced catalytic activity.
It would have been fourthly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce Weiner’s PAL variant through expression by a transformed cell, wherein the cell is grown in minimal media that is supplemented with phenylalanine, as taught by Falb. One would have been motivated to do so because Falb teaches that growth of transformed cells in phenylalanine allows for phenylalanine catabolism to be displayed, which also allows for the verification of positively transformed cells that are expressing a PAL enzyme or PAL enzyme variant (see, e.g., Falb, [1368]). Moreover, Weiner teaches expression of PAL enzymes with thermostability and thermotolerant properties (see, e.g., Weiner, abstract). Therefore, based on the teachings of Weiner and Falb, it would be obvious to grow cells expressing Weiner’s PAL enzyme in media containing phenylalanine because this would allow for one to select for cells that are positively transformed and that are expressing the PAL enzyme.
It would have been fifthly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to culture Weiner’s transformed cells by subculturing the transformed cells, as taught by Falb. One would have been motivated to do so because Falb teaches that first culturing the cells to a specific OD allows for expression of the PAL enzyme in the transformed cells, and placing the transformed cells into fresh media supplemented with phenylalanine allows for phenylalanine catabolism to be displayed, which also allows for the verification of positively transformed cells that are expressing a PAL enzyme or PAL enzyme variant (see, e.g., Falb, [1368]). Moreover, Weiner teaches expression of PAL enzymes with thermostability and thermotolerant properties (see, e.g., Weiner, abstract). Therefore, based on the teachings of Weiner and Falb, it would be obvious to subculture the transformed cells in media up to a specific OD, followed by placing the transformed cells into fresh minimal media supplemented with phenylalanine because this would allow for one to confirm the presence of positively transformed cells that are expressing Weiner’s PAL enzyme. One would have expected success because Weiner and Falb both teach PAL enzymes.
Regarding claim 20’s concentration of phenylalanine, MPEP 2144.05 states that “Generally, differences in concentrations or temperatures will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. Where the general conditions of a claims are disclosure in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. Those working in the biological and/or pharmaceutical arts would understand that the adjustments of particular conventional working conditions (e.g., concentration or amount of a compound) is deemed a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization, which is within the purview of the skilled artisan. For example, Falb teaches that the PAL enzyme is able to efficiency degrade 4 mM phenylalanine, alone and in combination with expression of a phenylalanine transporter, PheP (see, e.g., Falb, [1368]). Additionally, Weiner states “culture conditions, such as temperature, pH and the like, are those previously used with the host cell selected for expression and will be apparent to the ordinarily skilled artisan” (see, e.g., Weiner, [0194]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand that the amount of phenylalanine added to the culture selects for transformed cells that can grow in the presence of phenylalanine, and furthermore, degrade phenylalanine if the transformants express the PAL enzyme. This is motivation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to practice or test the parameter widely to find those that are functional or optimal which then would be inclusive or cover the steps as instantly claimed. Absent any teaching of criticality by the Applicant concerning the concentration, it would be prima facie obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize these limitations are result effective variables which can be met as a matter of routine optimization.
Regarding claim 21’s OD limitation, those working in the biological and/or pharmaceutical arts would understand that adjustments of particular conventional working conditions is deemed a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization, which is within the purview of the skilled artisan (see, e.g., MPEP 2144.05). For example, Falb teaches that the cultures were grown to early log phase and then grown for another 2 hours after addition of ATC; therefore, OD600 levels could be around 0.2-0.3. However, measuring cell growth to an OD600=0.2-0.3 is a matter of routine optimization. Weiner states “culture conditions, such as temperature, pH and the like, are those previously used with the host cell selected for expression and will be apparent to the ordinarily skilled artisan” (see, e.g., Weiner, [0194]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand that the higher the OD600 value results in greater growth and a higher concentration of transformed cells. This is motivation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to practice or test the parameter widely to find those that are functional or optimal which then would be inclusive or cover the steps as instantly claimed. Absent any teaching of criticality by the Applicant concerning the range/bacterial concentration, it would be prima facie obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize these limitations are result effective variables which can be met as a matter of routine optimization.
Examiner’s Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on 12/04/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive and deemed insufficient to overcome the prior arts of record.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments that based on the amendments to independent claims 11 and 15, the cited references do not disclose or suggest the claimed methods (remarks, pages 7-8), this is not persuasive because, as discussed above, all rejections have been withdrawn and new rejections are presented due to Applicant’s amendments on 12/04/2025. While Okhamafe, Novick, Weiner, and Falb are relied upon in the above-presented rejections, they are not relied upon for teaching the amino acid substitutions recited in claims 11(ii) and 15(ii). As such, Applicants arguments are moot.
Conclusion
Claims 11-15, 17, and 19-27 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
Correspondence Information
/NATALIE IANNUZO/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653