DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 16, 18-20, 22, 24-26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 2021/0259303) in view of Zuber et al. (US 2014/0373856).
Claim 15. Hwang et al. discloses a cigarette which may be inserted into a holder. When the cigarette is inserted into the holder, a heater 130 is located in the cigarette. Thus, an aerosol generating material of the cigarette is heated by the heated heater 130, and an aerosol is generated ([0023]). A cigarette 600 may include a tobacco rod 610 (aerosol-generating substrate), a first support segment 620, a second support segment 630 (aerosol-cooling element) (the first support segment 620 and second support segment 630 together forming an intermediate hollow section), and a mouthpiece 640 ([0101]; Figure 6). A length of the mouthpiece 340/640 may be appropriately employed from within a range of 4 mm to 30 mm. For example, the length of the mouthpiece 340/640 may be about 12 mm ([0077]). A length of the tobacco rod 210/610 (aerosol-generating substrate) may be about 12 mm ([0038]). The length of the cooling structure 222/630 may be appropriately employed from within a range of 7 mm to 20 mm ([0055]). The cooling structure 222 made of the crimped polymer sheet may be formed from a material having a thickness between about 5 μm and about 300 μm, for example, between about 10 μm and about 250 μm ([0060]).
Hwang et al. does not disclose an upstream element provided upstream of the rod of aerosol-generating substrate.
Zuber et al. discloses a smoking article 1 comprising five elements, a front-plug 2 (upstream element), an aerosol-forming substrate 7, a hollow cellulose acetate tube 6, a transfer section 4, and a mouthpiece filter 3 ([0053]; Figure 1).
Zuber et al. teaches that one advantage of the front-plug is that it may prevent egress of the aerosol-forming substrate from the distal end of the rod during handling and shipping. Another advantage of the front-plug is that it may assist location of the aerosol-forming substrate at a predetermined distance from the distal end of the rod for optimum engagement with a heat source such as a heating element ([0022]). The aerosol-forming substrate may shrink into contact with a heating element during an aerosol-generating phase. The aerosol-forming substrate may also shrink such that its contact with the cigarette paper is reduced. Without a front-plug, the withdrawal of the heating element from the rod may also result in the withdrawal of the aerosol-forming substrate due to increased adhesion of the aerosol-forming substrate with the heating element coupled with decreased adhesion of the aerosol-forming substrate with the cigarette paper. However, the front-plug may facilitate removal or extraction of the heating element from the rod by restricting the movement of the aerosol-forming substrate towards the distal end of the rod. The front-plug blocks the passage of the aerosol-forming substrate and therefore prevents the aerosol-forming substrate from being withdrawn from the rod ([0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to include a front plug (upstream element) provided upstream of the rod of aerosol-generating substrate in the cigarette of Hwang et al. in order to prevent egress of the aerosol-forming substrate from the distal end of the rod and assist location of the aerosol-forming substrate at a predetermined distance from the distal end of the rod for optimum engagement with a heat source as taught by Zuber et al.
Claim 16. Modified Hwang et al. discloses that the length of the mouthpiece 340/640 may be appropriately employed from within a range of 4 mm to 30 mm. For example, the length of the mouthpiece 340/640 may be about 12 mm (Hwang [0077]). The length of the cooling structure 222/630 may be appropriately employed from within a range of 7 mm to 20 mm (Hwang [0055]). Thus, the length of the mouthpiece may be 12mm and the length of the cooling structure may be 7mm (the length of the mouthpiece is at least 2mm greater than the length of the cooling element).
Claim 18. Modified Hwang et al. discloses first support segment 620 (support element) between second support segment 630 (aerosol-cooling element) and tobacco rod 610 (aerosol-generating substrate) (Hwang Figure 6). The first support segment 620 may include a tube-shaped structure including a hollow therein (Hwang [0104]).
Claim 19. Modified Hwang et al. discloses that the first support segment 620 and the second support segment 630 may include a tube-shaped structure including a hollow therein. An inner diameter of the second support segment 630 may be larger than an inner diameter of the first support segment 620. According to an embodiment, a diameter of the first support segment 620 may be 7 mm to 9 mm, and the inner diameter of the first support segment 620 may be about 2.0 mm to about 4.5 mm. A diameter of the second support segment 630 may be 7 mm to 9 mm, and the inner diameter of the second support segment 630 may be about 3.0 mm to about 5.5 mm, for example, the inner diameter of the second support segment 630 may be 4.0 mm (thus, the ratio between the internal diameter of the second support segment 630 (aerosol-cooling element) and the internal diameter of the first support segment 620 is 4mm to 2mm) (Hwang [0104]; Figure 6).
Claim 20. Modified Hwang et al. discloses that the inner diameter of the second support segment 630 (aerosol-cooling element) may be 4.0 mm (Hwang [0104]; Figure 6).
Claim 22. Modified Hwang et al. discloses that the length of the cooling structure 222/630 may be appropriately employed from within a range of 7 mm to 20 mm. It is desirable that the length of the cooling structure 222/630 be about 14 mm. However, embodiments of the present disclosure are not limited thereto (Hwang [0055]; Figure 6). The first filter segment 221/620 may have an appropriate length within a range of 4 mm to 30 mm. However, embodiments of the present disclosure are not limited thereto (Hwang [0049]; Figure 6). Thus, the combined length of the first support segment 620 and second support segment 630 together forming an intermediate hollow section may be 11 mm (7mm cooling structure 222/630 and 4mm first filter segment 221/620).
Claims 24 and 25. Modified Hwang et al. discloses the article of claim 15 wherein the permeability of the front-plug may be varied to help control resistance to draw through the smoking article (Zuber [0025]). While Zuber does not explicitly disclose the front-plug (upstream element) has a RTD of at least 20 mm H2O, or an RTD at least 2 times that of the mouthpiece element, Zuber identifies the RTD of the front-plug as a result effective variable. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the RTD of the front-plug be in the claimed ranges as a matter of routine optimization (See MPEP §2144.05(II)).
Claim 26. Modified Hwang et al. discloses that the combined length of the first support segment 620 and second support segment 630 together forming an intermediate hollow section may be 11 mm (7mm cooling structure 222/630 and 4mm first filter segment 221/620) (Hwang [0049]; [0055]; Figure 6) while the length of the mouthpiece 340/640 may be appropriately employed from within a range of 4 mm to 30 mm. For example, the length of the mouthpiece 340/640 may be about 12 mm (Hwang [0077]).
Claim 27. Modified Hwang et al. discloses the article of claim 15 wherein the tobacco rod is heated by a heater 130 (Hwang [0036]; [0053]-[0054]) but does not explicitly disclose that the heater is an inductive heating member wherein the aerosol-generating substrate comprises an elongate susceptor element extending in a longitudinal direction through the rod of aerosol-generating substrate. However, inductor/susceptor heating configurations are notoriously well known in the art and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the article of Hwang et al. may be heated by an inductive heating arrangement.
Claims 17 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 2021/0259303) in view of Zuber et al. (US 2014/0373856) and further in view of Koltyga (WO 2014/158051).
Claim 17. Modified Hwang et al. discloses the article of claim 15 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the aerosol-cooling element further comprises a ventilation zone provided at a location along the hollow tubular segment of the aerosol-cooling element.
Koltyga discloses a wrapped rod 12 of tobacco cut filler which is attached at one end to an axially aligned filter 14. The filter 14 comprises a single segment 18 of cellulose acetate tow and a first cavity 16 provided between the tobacco rod 12 and the filter segment 18 (Page 7, lines 24-34). The mouthpiece wrapper may be provided with one or more ventilation zones about the first cavity. The ventilation zone may be provided around the upstream half of the first cavity, or the downstream half of the first cavity (Page 6, lines 1-8).
Koltyga teaches that the ventilation zone about the first cavity advantageously introduces cooler air into the first cavity as a consumer draws on the smoking article, which results in cooling of the aerosol entering the first cavity from the aerosol generating substrate. Cooling of the aerosol facilitates condensation of the particulate phase of the aerosol and therefore further reduces visible staining of the first segment of filtration material (Page 6, lines 1-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include a ventilation zone along the hollow tubular segment of the aerosol-cooling element in order to facilitate condensation of the particulate phase of the aerosol and therefore further reduce visible staining of the first segment of filtration material as taught by Koltyga.
Claim 29. Modified Hwang et al. does not explicitly disclose that the ventilation zone is located at about 2 millimetres from an upstream end of the second hollow tubular segment. However, Koltyga teaches that the ventilation zone may be provided around the upstream half of the first cavity, or the downstream half of the first cavity (Page 6, lines 1-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the ventilation zone may be located at about 2 millimetres from an upstream end of the second hollow tubular segment.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 2021/0259303) in view of Zuber et al. (US 2014/0373856) and further in view of Nappi et al. (WO 2017/148773).
Claim 21. Modified Hwang et al. discloses the article of claim 15 but does not explicitly disclose wherein a resistance to draw (RTD) of the aerosol-cooling element is less than 10 millimetres H20.
Nappi teaches a similar smoking article with a hollow tube segment wherein the resistance to draw of the hollow tube segment is between about 2 mm H20 and 10 mm H20 [0011]. Nappi also teaches that it is desired for the hollow tube to not substantially contribute to the resistance to draw (meaning low RTD) of the smoking article in order to allow smoke and air to freely flow through the hollow tubular area [0010] and [0011].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Hwang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Nappi to provide the hollow tubular segment with a resistance to draw between about 2-10 mm H2O because doing so would not substantially contribute to the resistance to draw of the smoking article in order to allow smoke and air to freely flow through the hollow tubular area, as recognized by Nappi
[0010] and [0011].
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 2021/0259303) in view of Zuber et al. (US 2014/0373856) and further in view of Terao (US 2017/0340005).
Claim 28. Modified Hwang et al. discloses the article of claim 15 but does not explicitly disclose that the rod of aerosol-generating substrate comprises a gel composition.
Terao teaches a gel-like composition for use in smoking goods (abstract). Terao also teaches that the advantage of this gel-like composition are at least in part to avoid the "loose end" phenomenon, make the formulation easily aerosolize with heat, and present a good smoking flavor [0005] and [0013].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Hwang et al. to incorporate the teachings of Terao to make the aerosol-generating substrate a gel formulation because doing so would avoid the "loose end" phenomenon and allow for the formulation to be easily aerosolized with heat, and present a good smoking flavor, as recognized by Terao [0005] and [0013].
Conclusion
/KATHERINE A WILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747